The Rishabh Pant thread

Not really, while doing the averages for WK Bats, you only take the averages in the matches they kept wickets. The physical burden is way more while keeping vs not keeping.

Yes but Sanagkara kept for a long period so his average must have been affected by the same burden.

Rizwan has played 14 matches away, including 4 versus. Zimbabwe and BD.

Pant has played 21 matches away, and no matches versus Zim or BD.

You can say whatever you want Pant and Rizwan are actually not the same players. Pant is by nature more inconsistent and up and down batsmen which is reflected by his average. Long term he is probably 38 average range batsmen. But he has ability to win match on his own when its his day.

Rizwan will need to average higher than Pant to have the same value as his model is based on consistency and not on big impact innings.

Wrong conception. Rohit Sharma can also walk into Australian team but this doesn't mean he will be better than Smith.

In a similar manner, Rizwan can walk in place of Shreyas Iyer. But Pant is at a level superior as batsman.

Batting/bowling averages are meaningless unless you look at impact.

Jadeja averages same as Stokes with bat. Does that make both equal level with bat?

Its actually not true generally speaking in Tests. Over a period of time specially if the roles are similar average will tell who is better. Jadeja / stokes comparison is wrong as one is number 5 batters the other lower order.

When it comes to Pant and Rizwan. Pant is more hit and miss style batsmen who takes risk and when it comes of impact is greater a luxury you can afford in strong batting line up.

Rizwan model is based on consistency however he must average higher than Pant to be classed equal to Pant due to Pants high risk high reward nature.

So far Rizwan is averaging higher and obviously hands down a better keeper (which people dont consider much these days)

Yes but Sanagkara kept for a long period so his average must have been affected by the same burden.

Sanga's avg as a Wk was 43.

Now Sanga is a very unique case, he kept during the early part of his career, the formation part. The same stage Rizwan or Pant are going through. They are yet to find their feet.

This is the toughest part, when you are new to the international game.

Its actually not true generally speaking in Tests. Over a period of time specially if the roles are similar average will tell who is better. Jadeja / stokes comparison is wrong as one is number 5 batters the other lower order.

When it comes to Pant and Rizwan. Pant is more hit and miss style batsmen who takes risk and when it comes of impact is greater a luxury you can afford in strong batting line up.

Rizwan model is based on consistency however he must average higher than Pant to be classed equal to Pant due to Pants high risk high reward nature.

So far Rizwan is averaging higher and obviously hands down a better keeper (which people dont consider much these days)

But why even compare the two. They are at very different points in their careers. Rizwan is at his peak years. Pant is 5-6 years away.

I agree, very little is made of keeping these days. But what stats are used to judge a keeper?

Rizwan has played 14 matches away, including 4 versus. Zimbabwe and BD.

Pant has played 21 matches away, and no matches versus Zim or BD.

Rizwan has played 14 but his 4 Innings against Zimbabwe and West Indies he averages less than his his overall average.

Attacking game doesn't mean hit and miss and inconsistency.

Slower game doesn't mean consistency.

When people say that attacking players are hit and miss they expect either high scores or very low scores from such players. That's not the case with Pant.

Rizwan
Innings: 31
Runs: 1111
100s: 2
50s: 7

Pant
Innings: 51
Runs: 1920
100s: 4
50s: 9

Rizwan's runs per innings: 35.8
Pant's runs per innings: 37.6

Rizwan's innings per 100: 15.5
Pant's innings per 100: 12.75

Rizwan's innings per 50+ score: 3.44
Pant's innings per 50+ score: 3.9

Rizwan's number of innings with 19 or less runs: 11 (35.5%)
Pant's number of innings with 19 or less runs: 18 (35.29%)

When people say that attacking players are hit and miss they expect either high scores or very low scores from such players. That's not the case with Pant.

Rizwan

Pant

Rizwan's innings per 100: 15.5
Pant's innings per 100: 12.75

Rizwan's innings per 50+ score: 3.44
Pant's innings per 50+ score: 3.9

Rizwan's number of innings with 19 or less runs: 11 (35.5%)
Pant's number of innings with 19 or less runs: 18 (35.29%)

Why does he average,s higher then?

But he kept wickets in about 33% of the matches he played in. So he cannot be compared to someone like gilchrist who kept for the entirety or a significant majority of their career.

Rizwan

Pant

38 runs per inning are pretty high for a keeper. Many good batsmen score 35-40 runs per inning.

This is not average which can be boosted by not taking risks. These are actual runs you have scored. You win matches by outscoring the other team and picking 20 wickets. Adding 38 runs per inning by a keeper is simply top class.

He could have scored more if he bat more in those innings where he was not out? Like he could have scored 150 in last match.

Sure.

Point is Rizwan averaging 46 isn't big deal. Even Pant was averaging 45 after 20 matches with more runs and more centuries.

Rizwan is already at peak of his career and age. Pant is yet to get there and already played more many notable knocks for India.

Not matter how much a player scores, if they are poor with their attitude towards team, drop them and select different players.

Pant is better than Rizwan. You have to be delusional to argue otherwise.

That doesn’t mean Rizwan isn’t an excellent player. He clearly is, but Pant is a once in a lifetime talent.

Just imagining the massacre that would have unfolded if Pant got to bat on these pitches.

Lyon would have definitely retired after that series, that's for sure.

Pant has already played 4-5 innings which 99% of the test batsman struggle to play once in their lifetime. Rizwan is pretty good but Pant is a level above in test matches.

Looking at this incredible Aussie team and how they managed to almost win 2-0 and win the series in the end on some of the flattest surfaces against a decent team (Pakistan), puts into perspective those 2 innings played by Pant in SCG and Gabba.

Not to forget his 100’s in Eng, SA and previous Aus tour.

Nitpicking on Pant cannot come from a place of watching or understanding cricket for sure.

As I have said time and again, Pant is the Gilchrist of this era while Rizwan is more on the lines of BJ Watling.

Averages are irrelevant when you have just completed 1000 test runs, they only matter once you reach 3000 test runs mark. In terms of impact and fear factor, Pant is simply at another level. :inti

When did this Rizwan vs Pant comparison start?

Rizman is a fine player.

But comparison with Pant is a joke.

Pant is Gilly 2.0 (not only will he match Gilly but is likely to take Gilly's style of batting to a WHOLE new level).

There is no comparison.

Just no comparison at all.

It's nearly impossible to like these kind of individuals.
They have nothing in the head. The new young Indian generation of cricketers is completely lost.

If it wasn't for the big money, guys like Watson would have never come. I am sure he was thinking "what the hell are these guys doing, stopping a match for a no ball appeal".

Classless, Disgraceful Pant, but no-one should really be surprised. This is how they are. Money can't buy respect.

They have nothing in the head. The new young Indian generation of cricketers is completely lost.

If it wasn't for the big money, guys like Watson would have never come. I am sure he was thinking "what the hell are these guys doing, stopping a match for a no ball appeal".

Classless, Disgraceful Pant, but no-one should really be surprised. This is how they are. Money can't buy respect.

What happened now? It seems I missed something. :inti

Did he use sandpaper like Steve Smith? Or maybe he beat up a man to death like Ben Stokes?

These days the best cricketer in the world usually have some sort of controversial things / events associated with them.
This also applies to the best cricketer and wicket keeper bastman in world cricket Rishabh Pant.

Did he use sandpaper like Steve Smith? Or maybe he beat up a man to death like Ben Stokes?

You are being unfair by only mentioning Smith. You left out Warner and the other guy whose name I cannot remember. Of course the bowlers, who "knew nothing"!

Came across this interesting article today. :inti

'Rishabh is a kid. You can't just call players back like that': Shoaib Akhtar on Pant's angry outburst in RR match

Former Pakistan pacer Shoaib Akhtar called Rishabh Pant a 'kid' and said that as captain, one should have enough maturity to 'be the bigger man'.

akhtar-pant_1652345319014_1652345327154.jpg

Controversy erupted in match 34 of IPL 2022 when against Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals Rishabh Pant lost his cool and asked his batters to walk off when the umpire did not declare a waist-high no-ball. Off the final over, DC required to knock off 36 runs, with Rovman Powell dispatching the first three balls over the ropes, with the third ball bowled by Obed McCoy being a high full-toss. Pant was not pleased as he felt that it should have been called a waist-high no-ball, and signalled Powell and his partner to come back. Assistant coach Shane Watson mediated the proceedings, while Pravin Amre walked onto the field to have a word with the umpire, triggering the first big controversy of this year's IPL.

As a result of his actions, Pant was penalised his entire match fee, while Amre was slapped with a one-match ban. Looking back at the incident, former Pakistan pacer Shoaib Akhtar called Pant a 'kid' and said that as captain, one should have enough maturity to 'be the bigger man'

"I have had several disagreements during my playing career but I never misbehaved with umpires, officials or authorities. I’m saying this because there are times when you need to be the bigger guy. With Rishabh Pant, he is a kid, a youngster. My advice to him is that whenever such a scenario arises, always show grace. I felt that it was a childish mistake from Pant. He is a kid. He’s just become the captain, is passionate… there is no doubt about it. He is extremely talented. He his entire career ahead of him. Shane Watson was trying to save him from controversy," Akhtar told SportsKeeda.

Akhtar highlighted Pant's need to be more gracious through an example of Pakistan's walkout during the 2006 Oval Test against England. On Day 4 of the Test match, the on-field umpires had awarded the England team five runs without mentioning to Pakistan or its captain Inzamam-Ul-Haq that the condition of the ball had been altered. Pakistan refused to take the field in the final session and they forfeited the game to England. Akhtar said that he wasn’t in favour of the decision even back then.

"It was a no-ball, I agree. Pant was right. But when the umpire declared it then you take down your protest. You can’t just call teams back like that. When in 2005 during the Oval Test, Inzamam took the entire team back and walked out, I was very unhappy. I told the chairman this is not the right thing to do. This is against the spirit of the game. Finish the game and do not forfeit," Akhtar pointed out.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...outburst-in-rr-match-101652344850472-amp.html

The Delhi Capitals were knocked out from playoff contention in the 2022 Indian Premier League on Saturday when the side conceded a five-wicket defeat to the Mumbai Indians. The Rishabh Pant-led side faced a must-win clash against Mumbai, but failed to conquer the final frontier at the Wankhede Stadium. Posting a competitive score of 159/7 in 20 overs, the Capitals had made a strong start, dismissing MI captain Rohit Sharma on 2; however, Pant dropped Dewald Brevis early in his innings and proceeded to not take a review for caught-behind against Tim David, which eventually proved to be a game-changing decision.

There was a faint edge off the bat from David as Pant took the catch; however, neither the bowler not the DC captain were as enthusiastic in taking the review. The replays eventually confirmed that David would've been out – and the MI batter made the most of this opportunity, slamming a brilliant 34 off just 11 deliveries to take the game away from Delhi's grasp.

Former India head coach Ravi Shastri, who oversaw Pant's formative years in the Indian team, spoke in detail about the moment and was baffled with the DC skipper, as well as the team, for not opting to take the review.

“Go straight to the moment. Common sense, what does common sense demand? There was Rishabh, there was Shardul, but what were the others doing? Common sense demands that with five overs left, 2 reviews (remaining), Tim David had just come in, and you had a great opportunity of getting two wickets quickly. You still had five overs to go, and you had the upper hand. You had to take it! (the review) This was a no-brainer,” Shastri said in the post-match show on Star Sports.

“He (Pant) will have to go back (to the moment). This is a tough pill to swallow. It was like a balloon bursting.. all over. So they will have sleepless nights over this one. Such are these games, it's the place for playoffs that you have missed after playing for 2 months,” the former India coach further added.

With DC's loss, Royal Challengers Bangalore secured the fourth and final spot in the playoffs, and will meet KL Rahul's Lucknow Super Giants in the eliminator. Gujarat Titans and Rajasthan Royals, meanwhile, will meet for a place in the final of the season.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-mi-vs-dc-ipl-2022-clash-101653212119627.html

Looks like he has gained some weight. Imagine his fitness when he turns 34-35. Will be nowhere near MS Dhoni when it comes to fitness. Mark Cosgrove will be proud of him one day. :inti

r2pco46g_ricky-ponting-rishabh-pant-bcciipl_625x300_22_May_22.jpg

I see IPL as a reality show more than a sports event. With falling TRPs, of course they need some drama. If there's one arena where Pant needs to be judged, it's international Cricket, and not only is he a gun Test player, but his temperament too hasn't let anyone down.

New Delhi: Rishabh Pant was conned by Haryana cricketer Mrinank Singh for an estimated INR 1.63 crore as the latter offered the wicket-keeper batter expensive watches at a reasonable rate.

The India wicket-keeper batsman’s lawyer, Eklavya Dwivedi revealed the entire case in an official statement.

“This is basically a case under negotiable instruments act where the cheque issued by the accused Mr. Mrinank Singh has been dishonoured on account of insufficient funds. To take the story back a little bit, how these two met, how it actually transpired and why this cheque was issued was sometime in 2020 or 2021. Mr. Mrinank Singh, who was known to my client Rishabh Pant through their cricketing commonalities. They met somewhere in the zonal cricket academy camp,” he said

“So in 2021, Mr. Mrinank Singh falsely misrepresented to my client that he has just started a new business dealing in luxury items and he could procure the same items for it at a very reasonable cost. Therefore, on this proposal, he transferred a sizeable account to Mr. Mrinank Singh and also parted with certain luxurious items, jewellery etc which were also for, relatively high amounts, anticipating that the accused Mrinank Singh would be able to resell the same and give him huge profits for it,” he told

“After a while, when he was not able to obtain those articles, we gave him a legal notice and a mutual settlement was arrived at Rs 1.63 crore for which Mr. Mrinank Singh issues us a cheque. Now, once we presented this cheque before the bank authorities, we got a return memo saying that there has been a dishonourment of the cheque and it has bounced because of insufficient funds,” he explained.

“He was not present in the last listing of our case before the magistrate. So, the magistrate has issued directors to the SHO over there (police authorities) to connect him virtually at the next date of hearing, which is July 19. He will be present that day and his statement will be recorded. We have also filed an application under section 143A for interim compensation. That will also be taken up and arguments will be heard on that,” Dwivedi concluded.

https://www.india.com/sports/delhi-...-1-63-crore-google-trending-ipl-2022-5409133/

Comparisons with the legendary MS Dhoni have been a part of Rishabh Pant's career right from the onset. Even two years after Dhoni's international retirement, Pant is often compared to the former India skipper. Another noted former India skipper and current BCCI president Sourav Ganguly is firmly against these comparisons. The former opening batter said Pant should never be compared with Dhoni as the latter has captained so many matches in international cricket as well as in the IPL.

"Don't compare Pant with MS Dhoni. Dhoni has so much experience, has captained in 500-plus games in IPL, Tests and ODIs. So it's not fair for Rishabh to be compared with Dhoni," Ganguly told reporters ahead of the first Qualifier match between Rajasthan Royals and Gujarat Titans at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Tuesday.

Pant did not have the best of IPLs. While he did score 340 runs at a strike rate of 151 but none of his innings had a telling impact on the outcome of the match. In fact, if anything, Pant squandered a number of opportunities to notch up a match-winning big score despite getting off to good starts.

To make matters worse, Pant's captaincy was criticised by noted former cricketers particularly when he did not bowl ace spinner Kuldeep Yadav his full quota in a couple of matches.

DC failed to take make it to the playoffs after they lost their must-win last match against Mumbai Indians. The Delhi-based franchise finished at number five in the points table with 14 points in as many matches. The Royal Challengers Bangalore also finished with 14 points but they went through because of a higher net run rate.

Pant will next be seen in action in the five-match T20I series against South Africa which begins on June 9 in New Delhi.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-ms-dhoni-sourav-ganguly-101653391991561.html

After KL Rahul was ruled out of the South Africa T20Is with a groin injury, wicket-keeper batter Rishabh Pant was elevated to the captaincy position for the series.

Giving his first press conference as India captain, the 24-year-old had a big smile on his face when he quipped, "I haven't been able to digest it yet. I got to know just an hour ago."

While the news of Rahul's injury is a cause of concern, Pant is grateful for the opportunity to lead the India side and hopes he can live up to the expectations.

"It is a very good feeling; it did not come under very good circumstances but at the same time I am feeling happy. I would like to thank the BCCI for giving me this opportunity to lead the Indian side," he said.

"I will try to make the most out of it. Thank you to all my well-wishers for supporting me in my journey through the thick and thin of my cricketing career. I will look to make it a base and keep improving and keep making my life better and better each and every day."

Pant is not a newbie when it comes to captaining. The left-hander has been leading the Delhi Capitals for the last two Indian Premier League (IPL) seasons and has also led Delhi in the Ranji Trophy. Pant believes the two experiences will help him a lot in this new challenge.

"I think as a captain, it will help me a lot (leading in the IPL) because when you are doing the same thing again and again, you improve. I am someone who keeps learning from his mistakes and I think it will help me in the coming days," Pant said.

Asked if the batting order will change in the absence of Rahul, Pant replied, "I think there would not be much change in the batting order as KL would have opened. We do not have many openers, we will discuss about it after sometime.

"I think as a team we have thought about certain goals we want to achieve as a team. At the end, we have the World Cup at the back of our head and we are preparing for that. In the coming days, you will see there will be changes and how we play cricket I guess."

The five-match T20I series against South Africa begins on Thursday, 9 June, with the first match in Delhi.

https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2641968

Neither Rahul nor Pant are captaincy material. Having said that, Dravid don't have the audacity to take big calls either. Sticks with the same traditional approach which simply doesn't work in T20s.

Leave alone captaincy, he is a poor international player too.

His IPL 'exploits' don't matter one bit in the grand scheme of things.

Not in IPL too... The only format he has done well so far in his career is "Tests". But he has age in his hands to settle (even Rohit Sharma took lots of years to settle in). We need to give him some more time... But certainly we should not have rushed and made him captain so early!

I think in T20s, he should be dropped now. Can't keep sticking with him because he does seems to have the habit of going after deliveries which are not there. The shot selection needs improvement. Who knows maybe dropping him turns things like it did in test cricket when he was dropped before Aus series. He trained harder and looked more fitter after the break and brought his best form too in that Aus series so a break always helps.

I think in a full strength Indian t20 team, we can go with Kishan at 4 or maybe try Jadeja higher up the order at 5 with Surya at 4 and then Pandya and DK for finisher role. Jadeja may do better with bat at 4-5 rather than coming at 7.

He also has weight on his side but you will have to remove those rainbow tinted IPL shades to see it. :91: :inti

I think in T20s, he should be dropped now. Can't keep sticking with him because he does seems to have the habit of going after deliveries which are not there. The shot selection needs improvement. Who knows maybe dropping him turns things like it did in test cricket when he was dropped before Aus series. He trained harder and looked more fitter after the break and brought his best form too in that Aus series so a break always helps.

I think in a full strength Indian t20 team, we can go with Kishan at 4 or maybe try Jadeja higher up the order at 5 with Surya at 4 and then Pandya and DK for finisher role. Jadeja may do better with bat at 4-5 rather than coming at 7.

You are 1.5 years late. I have been saying this for a very long time. It is not your fault though. Not everyone has an eye for these things. :inti

I am just thinking in what manner Pant is going to shut his haters in t20s.

Gabba was sweet, now I think an unforgettable innings in the next t20 WC will close this matter.

You are 1.5 years late. I have been saying this for a very long time. It is not your fault though. Not everyone has an eye for these things. :inti

A player with insane ability and coming with performances in domestic as well as IPL behind him cannot be dropped untill given full backing by team management. Anyone who wanted him to be dropped 1 year ago or 1.5 year ago was talking absolute nonsense and not making sense at all. :inti

I am just thinking in what manner Pant is going to shut his haters in t20s.

Gabba was sweet, now I think an unforgettable innings in the next t20 WC will close this matter.

Oh so you are desperately waiting for that one-off fluke inning again to silence his critics? Consistency naam ki bhi ek chidiya hoti hai saxena sahab. :91: :inti

A player with insane ability and coming with performances in domestic as well as IPL behind him cannot be dropped untill given full backing by team management. Anyone who wanted him to be dropped 1 year ago or 1.5 year ago was talking absolute nonsense and not making sense at all. :inti

You can throw IPL performances into bin now. We are talking about International cricket here. He wasn't setting the world on fire in T20Is 1.5 year ago also. :inti

Pant already averages 41 in test, has improved a lot in Odis (check his latest performances) and now t20 is the only format where he has to prove his mettle.

I think this will also be sorted in the coming months, coz it's basically impossible to stop him from achieving great things. He is a prodigy.

You can throw IPL performances into bin now. We are talking about International cricket here. He wasn't setting the world on fire in T20Is 1.5 year ago also. :inti

Naah..IPL is a benchmark for t20 cricket..it is the pinnacle of t20 cricket along with World T20s. Indians don't care about bilateral T20s which is why they didn't mentioned the names of replacements of KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav in this series. They could care least of who is winning this series and are more bothered with tests where we have won some 25-26 matches out of last 31-32 games :inti

Pant already averages 41 in test, has improved a lot in Odis (check his latest performances) and now t20 is the only format where he has to prove his mettle.

I think this will also be sorted in the coming months, coz it's basically impossible to stop him from achieving great things. He is a prodigy.

If this is about gaining 'kilos', then I completely agree with you. :inti

Naah..IPL is a benchmark for t20 cricket..it is the pinnacle of t20 cricket along with World T20s. Indians don't care about bilateral T20s which is why they didn't mentioned the names of replacements of KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav in this series. They could care least of who is winning this series and are more bothered with tests where we have won some 25-26 matches out of last 31-32 games :inti

If we don't care about bilateral T20s then you shouldn't have any problem if some fans want Pant out of the T20 team. Anyone can play in place of him, and you should be ok. :rabada2 :inti

Thanks for caring so much about me :bumrah

Yes, I don't have problem if someone doesn't want Pant in our T20 team, even I said the same now as a temporary fix .

Thanks for caring so much about me :bumrah

Yes, I don't have problem if someone doesn't want Pant in our T20 team, even I said the same now as a temporary fix .

The benchmark for T20 is international cricket and will remain so unless IPL is allowed to field at-least 7/8 international players per side and at-least half to the tournament gets played outside of India.

The above will test Indian local players to somewhat same extent as international T20s will.

Getting back to Pant again unless someone hyped him to be next Gilchrist he is not over hyped he is a good international quality keep/ batter with his stronger suit being batting. And as with most players who are somewhat makeshift keepers they will find it harder to sustain both as they age and career progresses.

He also has weight on his side but you will have to remove those rainbow tinted IPL shades to see it. :91: :inti

What's with weight? Even Tendulkar had weight. Weight is better than tough body training (like how it affected Kohli, KL Rahul, etc). Even Rohit doesn't care about weight...

It is you who has heavily tinted IPL glasses. It is "you" who bring IPL everywhere. You dream, sleep, eat, s*** everything IPL... As I have clearly said his IPL record is not that great! The only format where he has done well is Tests... I think you don't even care about his feat in that Australian tour, those special performances (even if it was fluke! But definitely it was not that fluke compared to Rajesh Chauhan, Hrishikesh Kanitkar or even Joginder Sharma!) You keep treating him like a trash and feel better about other guys who have not even achieved 5% of him (What has DK achieved in his entire instrumental career? Any really earth-shattering innings he has played apart from that Bangladesh T20 finals? I guess you cared that more...)

What's with weight? Even Tendulkar had weight. Weight is better than tough body training (like how it affected Kohli, KL Rahul, etc). Even Rohit doesn't care about weight...

It is you who has heavily tinted IPL glasses. It is "you" who bring IPL everywhere. You dream, sleep, eat, s*** everything IPL... As I have clearly said his IPL record is not that great! The only format where he has done well is Tests... I think you don't even care about his feat in that Australian tour, those special performances (even if it was fluke! But definitely it was not that fluke compared to Rajesh Chauhan, Hrishikesh Kanitkar or even Joginder Sharma!) You keep treating him like a trash and feel better about other guys who have not even achieved 5% of him (What has DK achieved in his entire instrumental career? Any really earth-shattering innings he has played apart from that Bangladesh T20 finals? I guess you cared that more...)

I agree weight / extreme fitness is not necessary in mainly a talent based sport like cricket. Most people laughed at me for saying that Virat extreme fitness is just a personal obsession and marketing scheme that it has made him the player he has.. It was his talent which made him the player he was his extreme fitness has not helped him for the last 2/3 years since his form has deserted him.

High time we drop him from the T20 team before it affects his Test form. We have plenty of other WK batting options. At the moment, he is just way too important for the Test team.

The benchmark for T20 is international cricket and will remain so unless IPL is allowed to field at-least 7/8 international players per side and at-least half to the tournament gets played outside of India.

The above will test Indian local players to somewhat same extent as international T20s will.

Getting back to Pant again unless someone hyped him to be next Gilchrist he is not over hyped he is a good international quality keep/ batter with his stronger suit being batting. And as with most players who are somewhat makeshift keepers they will find it harder to sustain both as they age and career progresses.

Naah, bilateral T20s aren't benchmark at all. If that was the case, India would have named replacements for Rahul and Kuldeep especially with a lot of other key Indian players resting now. Also, these Indian players have had a lot of t20 cricket in last 2 months so may not necessarily be at their best in this series. This is just an undercooked version of Indian team we are seeing in this series and they know it well. The bigger deal has completed some days ago and now these bilaterals are just part of preparation for next WT20 which is the next bigger deal in this format.

Yes fair enough some of these Indian players may have been over cooked etc and BCCI might allow them to rest in internationals rather than IPL which is their own product. However none of your point invalidates my point which is you will be test harder in international cricket than in an IPL (domestic) tournament. Actually IPL is good for international players who gets the taste of local Indian conditions when it comes to T20 cricket not the other way around.

Indian cricket will be tested more when they start playing international cricket in different condition against international sides.

You are more than welcome join his IPL performances because you have started to sound like a frustrated sore loser.

Why will I talk about his test performances now when the T20 series is going on? You want me to sing praises for his test performances in Australia ignoring his performances in NZ, SA and WC. You are taking f@nboyism to a whole new level. :91: :inti

I agree weight / extreme fitness is not necessary in mainly a talent based sport like cricket. Most people laughed at me for saying that Virat extreme fitness is just a personal obsession and marketing scheme that it has made him the player he has.. It was his talent which made him the player he was his extreme fitness has not helped him for the last 2/3 years since his form has deserted him.

He is a wicketkeeper also and fitness is very important for them. You may not notice it now but afted 2-3 years you will start seeing him huffing and puffing. On one hand people compare him with Gilchrist and on the other hand they are ok with a 'tond' he is carrying. He can lose weight if he wants to. Although it is ok if his role model is Mohammed Shahzad of Afghanistan. :inti

89*in Gabba
97 in Sydney
100* in Capetown
148 in Sydney
114 in Oval

:inti

Some amount of fitness is required however he is only 23/24 atleast on paper. At this age most people will have the required minimum fitness to play the sport like cricket.

Yes if he gets over weight that maybe an issue particularly because I feel he is more of a batsman who can keep rather than a natural wicket keeper batsman like Gilchrist. This kind of keeper find it hard to sustain both as they get older and the career develops and all the pressure etc it comes with.

But I do like him and think he has a big future either way.