This Pakistani team will surprise the world

Lots of humple pies to be handed out.

Only the most positive fans believed.
#SpiritSquad
[MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION] [MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION]

#SpiritSquad

[MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION] [MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION]

We continue to believe.

The CT is ours for the taking. :salute

#SpiritSquad

This CT has taken a life of it's own man !! With the Rashid vs Viru stuff going on behind the scenes and if somehow Pakistan and India make it to the final - it will be an epic contest....

And YES !!! IF WE SOMEHOW MEET INDIA AGAIN IN THIS TOURNAMENT WE WILL GIVE YOU GUYS YOURE WORST HIDING EVER !! BE PREPARED TO CRY BACK HOME BHARTIS !!!!

PAKISTAN ZINDABAD :junaid

Lol SD after the India game l remember you saying that you dont care anymore :)) lets be honest here that loss was really hard to digest.

That was just the immediate reaction after that painful loss from a man who had slept merely 5 hours out of the last 32 ish hours of his life, not to mention in an extreme state of hunger due to Ramadan.

Itna toh banta hai bhai :azhar :yk

#SpiritSquad

Absolutely man!

It's very easy to turn your back on the team when the going gets tough - however - we have to believe!!

Alhudmullilah the boys have already put in 1 great performance & inshAllah hoping for many more going forward.

Sure - the team has their weaknesses - however they are looking to weed them out and its visible on the field IMO.

Sarfraz is learning and growing as a captain. You can already see examples of where he has improved since the games in WI, where he was waaaaay to excitable and constantly running up to bowlers and shouting at fielders. Over here he's calmed down and reigned it in which is good to see. inshAllah he will continue to learn, grow and develop.

Meanwhile we have lots of young and promising players in and around the team - Fakhar, Babar, Hasan, Shadab, Fahim, Haris - these are all guys who can win matches for Pakistan InshAllah

Then you have you 'solid bets'. The likes of Malik and Amir, who may win you the odd game here or there, but even if they aren't winning you matches, they are putting in consistent, solid performances.

We do have our 'weaker players'. Azhar who isn't the strongest in LO cricket, however, even he is looking to be more aggressive and also - more importantly IMO - rotate the strike more often. Junaid can be very temperamental, however, masahllah even he looked to be bowling with a level head VS SA and seemed to know his plans and executing them well

We have a young team, we will get good result, we will get bad result - but there is a lot of promise and we have to be patient.

:pkflag

Ahem.

#8 ranked team, fans whining about the squad selected, people asking for Sarfaraz/Amir/Azhar/Hafeez/Imad/Junaid/Hassan to be dropped, thrashing at the hands of India and yet...

... We're halfway to the final and arguably, have the best ODI bowling attack in the world. Time for the batting to surprise everyone now.

Great thread [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION]!

Kudos to you for being one of those who believed. :14:

They barely made it into this tournament, are competing with the West Indies and Bangladesh for a qualifying spot in the 2019 World Cup and have lost more One Day Internationals than almost any other team in the last two years. Oh, and because this is Pakistan, two of their opening batsmen went and got themselves into un-selectable territory by associating themselves with bookies and not informing the authorities of said bookies.

All of this, along with a squad selection that is hardly crowd-pleasing has meant that the Pakistani cricket team is not only going to get bashed by opposing fans in England, but they won't get the kind of support every team dreams of from their own fans. "A team containing Junaid, Azhar, Hafeez and Wahab will go far?" "Inzamam is only selecting his friends" "Where is Haris Sohail?" are just some of the oft-repeated phrases making the rounds among the Pakistani fans. As if they weren't fickle enough as it were, the non-selection of their favorites and a couple of perceived 'tried and tested failures' making the cut has meant that their displeasure has reached maximum intensity.

So with turmoil within and criticism bombarding them from outside, the Pakistan cricket team seemingly has nothing going for it. The players are not in any rich vein of form, barring Babar Azam and perhaps Shoaib Malik, and their last showing in the Champions Trophy, also held in England for some strange reason, was hardly encouraging and they failed to make the second round. You would think it was a foregone conclusion that this team is going to flop, embarrass themselves and all the critics would be proven right...

... Except that this is Team Pakistan! :junaid :irfan :broad :srt

With fan expectations at an all-time low and no pressure on their shoulders, we will see an unshackled Pakistani team take the field, come June. The fans may not agree with the selection of Hafeez, Azhar, Junaid, Riaz and Akmal but there is no doubt that each and every single one of these players has proven themselves in the past and have shown that they can come good against the very best. Not all of them will play and not all of them should, but whoever is given a chance will be gunning to prove his critics wrong and you can be dead sure that it will make for beautiful viewing.

Hurt, humiliated and with their backs against the wall, the cornered tigers shall launch their assault.

Man hats off to you for supporting our team in crisis... These are the real fans we need and not Fake Pakistani who criticise on every opportunity... Hell will be full of these Sadists...
f

A more suitable title would be this next generation of Pakistani players will be a surprise. You can already see it in Rumman Raees, Hasan Ali, Shahdab Khan, Fakhar Zaman....they act confident, they're edgy, they have attitude and they have talent...and the best thing is they know how to field.

Finally a future to look forward too.

Guys don't start celebrating early and pray for once that your batting gets the job done without much drama. Hoping you guys win it!!

Man hats off to you for supporting our team in crisis... These are the real fans we need and not Fake Pakistani who criticise on every opportunity... Hell will be full of these Sadists...
f

Easy there, buddy. We'll all go to Jannah, InshAllah.

Guys don't start celebrating early and pray for once that your batting gets the job done without much drama. Hoping you guys win it!!

We've already performed far, far above what was expected of us.

:)) Well [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] has already promised to change his signature to "I love Inzy: the greatest selector of all time" if we win CT so why not ?

Obviously these forfeits are safe in the knowledge that it won't happen.

Myself and [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] are getting a tad worried....

Ramadan as well....

Oh god what have i done

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] better not chicken out. ^ I'm sure the guy from McGregor land will be a man about it.

Like your passionate support for your team, good luck!

You're quite passionate about India yourself. Good luck, just not against us. :)

If India make it to the finals, you will get another bite at the apple.

Very well played today, as an Indian I am quite impressed and concerned by the Pakistani bowling.

Although I don't agree with your views on Ajmal, this post is inspiring.

Congrats [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] and all Pakistani posters

Although I don't agree with your views on Ajmal, this post is inspiring.

Congrats [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] and all Pakistani posters

Jinx making an appearance, even though Dhoni and Yuvraj still out there. Not over by any means

This Bilal7 is 1 awsome poster. I like the passion in such people.

On days like this a certain poster is missing BIG time.

This can be a thread for the ages. Right up there with Umar Akmal vs Kohli

I hope you show up once this team starts getting those inevitable drubbings.

Outside of Babar Azam, I do not see anyone that can score significant runs to challenge the likes of Aus/Eng/SA/India/NZ.

Batting looks super weak.

Optimism is good but don't dwindle too far away from reality as well.

Gone are the days when we use to call pakistan as cornered tiger and unpredictable.
now they lost these tags too and not now log ago actually .
now they are simply minnows.
more than that what hurts me more is they are soo torturous to watch that one would prefer watching afghan and bangladesh team playing instead of this current pak team.
*special mention : Azhar,shehzad,hafeez

Hah hah, okay no luck then to either of us... let the best team win :)

Yeah who's laughing now :inti

Wow tons of humble pie served, GOAT thread there are way to many posters on PakPassion who like to look at the negative side of things.

They barely made it into this tournament, are competing with the West Indies and Bangladesh for a qualifying spot in the 2019 World Cup and have lost more One Day Internationals than almost any other team in the last two years. Oh, and because this is Pakistan, two of their opening batsmen went and got themselves into un-selectable territory by associating themselves with bookies and not informing the authorities of said bookies.

All of this, along with a squad selection that is hardly crowd-pleasing has meant that the Pakistani cricket team is not only going to get bashed by opposing fans in England, but they won't get the kind of support every team dreams of from their own fans. "A team containing Junaid, Azhar, Hafeez and Wahab will go far?" "Inzamam is only selecting his friends" "Where is Haris Sohail?" are just some of the oft-repeated phrases making the rounds among the Pakistani fans. As if they weren't fickle enough as it were, the non-selection of their favorites and a couple of perceived 'tried and tested failures' making the cut has meant that their displeasure has reached maximum intensity.

So with turmoil within and criticism bombarding them from outside, the Pakistan cricket team seemingly has nothing going for it. The players are not in any rich vein of form, barring Babar Azam and perhaps Shoaib Malik, and their last showing in the Champions Trophy, also held in England for some strange reason, was hardly encouraging and they failed to make the second round. You would think it was a foregone conclusion that this team is going to flop, embarrass themselves and all the critics would be proven right...

... Except that this is Team Pakistan! :junaid :irfan :broad :srt

With fan expectations at an all-time low and no pressure on their shoulders, we will see an unshackled Pakistani team take the field, come June. The fans may not agree with the selection of Hafeez, Azhar, Junaid, Riaz and Akmal but there is no doubt that each and every single one of these players has proven themselves in the past and have shown that they can come good against the very best. Not all of them will play and not all of them should, but whoever is given a chance will be gunning to prove his critics wrong and you can be dead sure that it will make for beautiful viewing.

Hurt, humiliated and with their backs against the wall, the cornered tigers shall launch their assault.

This deserves the Post of the week

Bro if you put some money on an online betting, you would've been a millionaire [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION]

Pakistan had almost the same odds to pulling this off as Leicester winning the Premier league..

The timing of this thread was beautiful, but the fact is that it is a humungous fluke. The OP is one of the most optimistic posters on this forum, and explicitly a win for Pakistan before every tournament when the majority are dismissive of the team's chances.

It is a safe position to take. If the team doesn't do well, no one will criticize you because you were simply being positive and supportive, but if you hit the jackpot for once, you can take all the plaudits home.

The timing of this thread was beautiful, but the fact is that it is a humungous fluke. The OP is one of the most optimistic posters on this forum, and explicitly a win for Pakistan before every tournament when the majority are dismissive of the team's chances.

It is a safe position to take. If the team doesn't do well, no one will criticize you because you were simply being positive and supportive, but if you hit the jackpot for once, you can take all the plaudits home.

I see you're still bitter about the defeat. 158 all out and losing by 180 runs, the biggest margin in any final. It would have been a larger deficit but sarfi brought on spinners to entertain pandya. It's tough for you to accept the defeat but don't worry time will heal the wounds but the mind is not always so resilient.

You don't need to provide a summary of the match. It didn't take place 10 years ago, I do remember every single event. The Champions Trophy win was a wonderful moment for me, and it is one of the greatest triumphs in Pakistan's cricket history.

However, I won't let the occasion dull my senses. The fact is that we rode our luck throughout the tournament and it was a one-off affair. Nonetheless, I do understand that it is the new 92 World Cup for most Pakistani fans and they will continue to talk about it for centuries.

It was great, but please move on now.

Wow. What a thread. I was not expecting us to win the CT at all. Looking back at the comments before the CT even started is so ironic as there were sarcastic posts about how we would win the CT but we actually did go on to win it.

I never wanted a prize for making this thread. Winning the CT was reward enough and InshAllah, we will keep winning in the future.

You don't need to provide a summary of the match. It didn't take place 10 years ago, I do remember every single event. The Champions Trophy win was a wonderful moment for me, and it is one of the greatest triumphs in Pakistan's cricket history.

However, I won't let the occasion dull my senses. The fact is that we rode our luck throughout the tournament and it was a one-off affair. Nonetheless, I do understand that it is the new 92 World Cup for most Pakistani fans and they will continue to talk about it for centuries.

It was not a one-off affair. Our bowling attack is superb and that is why we won the CT.

No need to lie. I know it hurts you that we won. In your mind anything Pakistan does is by fluke :)

It was not a one-off affair. Our bowling attack is superb and that is why we won the CT.

We rode our luck. The bowling attack is good, but the batting is still way behind the top teams.

No need to lie. I know it hurts you that we won. In your mind anything Pakistan does is by fluke :)

I am not interested in changing your perception. If that is what you think then that is what you think.

InshaAllah we keep riding our luck in ICC tournaments...

Surely you’d take it?

There is always luck involved when you go onto win a world tournament. Two biggest examples.

1. Sachin was dropped FOUR times in the 2011 WC semi and ended up scoring 80 odd and that ended up being the difference between the sides. If those catches were held then India might have lost and not won the tournament.

2. Australia were clearly struggling against Pakistan in the 2015 WC QF. Shane Watson who eventually went onto to score the bulk of the runs skied one from Wahab and was dropped. Had he been taken Aus would be 4 down and staring down the barrel. If that catch had been taken Aus might have lost and not won the tournament.

But NOOOOO as per some it is only Pakistan that wins due to luck.

There is always luck involved when you go onto win a world tournament. Two biggest examples.

1. Sachin was dropped FOUR times in the 2011 WC semi and ended up scoring 80 odd and that ended up being the difference between the sides. If those catches were held then India might have lost and not won the tournament.

2. Australia were clearly struggling against Pakistan in the 2015 WC QF. Shane Watson who eventually went onto to score the bulk of the runs skied one from Wahab and was dropped. Had he been taken Aus would be 4 down and staring down the barrel. If that catch had been taken Aus might have lost and not won the tournament.

Butbutbut “India don’t need luck to beat Pakistan. They are the better side and if we played them 10 times they would win 7 of them” :)))

Pakistanis dropping catches is a very common phenomenon, even in 2017 with much better players, you still dropping them dollies. And in 2011 WC, Yuvi was in great form and got a great delivery from Wahab as his first ball which caused his dismissal.Had he came earlier, scoreline could have been crossing 300.

Butbutbut “India don’t need luck to beat Pakistan. They are the better side and if we played them 10 times they would win 7 of them” :)))

You can put down one or two drops due to luck, but when you drop 6 catches in an innings, you have nothing to blame but your butterfingers. Pakistan lost the Mohali SF due to their incompetence in the field, and our pathetic batting was always going to crumble under pressure once India went past 250.

India did not bank on luck to beat us. They were the best ODI team in the world at that time in Asian conditions, and they rightfully won the World Cup.

Secondly, it is a myth that Australia would have collapsed if Rahat would have held on. Australia had a deep batting lineup and they had Smith on the other end who was looking invincible. They would have won the match anyway.

India are definitely a better side than Pakistan and would win more often than not. The final was a fluke.

Pakistan might have been lucky but india too were lucky to reach the finals.They didn't face any favourites ENG/AUS in Semi final.India's knockout match was against SA where SA batting was beyond pathetic.they should've scored 300-310(after they were 110+ for 2) runs instead of 190.If they had scored 300+,it could've been repeat of CT finals.In the end,Pakistan was Best team throughout the tournament and were deserved winners.

We rode our luck. The bowling attack is good, but the batting is still way behind the top teams.

This is now getting tiresome. There was no luck involved in us beating South Africa, England or India.

Yeah who's laughing now :inti

It was definitely a good game for cricket, brings back intensity to the India-Pak rivalry. After 4 consecutive Indian victories it was becoming a bit one-sided.

Looking forward to exciting games in the 2018 Asia Cup and 2019 WC. Amir still remains the most dangerous Pakistani player for me.

It was definitely a good game for cricket, brings back intensity to the India-Pak rivalry. After 4 consecutive Indian victories it was becoming a bit one-sided.

Looking forward to exciting games in the 2018 Asia Cup and 2019 WC. Amir still remains the most dangerous Pakistani player for me.

You should be scared of Fakhar’s inital onslaught, Babar’s steady accumulation, Faheem’s late hitting before you are blown away by the brilliance of Amir and Hasan.

Since 1999 I have never seen a Pakistan team filled with so many match winners as this one.

Babar,Fakhar,Sarfaraz,Amir,Hassan,Shadab

Imam, Imad, and Fahim have huge potential too.

We just need a good number 4 and number 6 and we can really be one of the best ever ODI sides

Definitely our best since 1999

when is Pakistan playing their next game? PCB needs to organise some series for Pakistan as having a lot of downtime can spoil the momentum a team has gained by wins.

In New Zealand early next year.

Since 1999 I have never seen a Pakistan team filled with so many match winners as this one.

Babar,Fakhar,Sarfaraz,Amir,Hassan,Shadab

Imam, Imad, and Fahim have huge potential too.

We just need a good number 4 and number 6 and we can really be one of the best ever ODI sides

Definitely our best since 1999

2005 ODI team that beat India away, whitewashed WI in Caribbean and England at home had a stronger batting unit with more powerhitting.

However I agree the bowling is very exciting, some credit must go towards Azhar Mahmood as discipline and tactics-wise, our bowling is unrecognisable from the one that got thumped for 444 at Trent Bridge or 300+ at Edgbaston v India.

The New Zealand tour will be a barometer for how strong this ODI team really is. Sri Lanka's ODI team is in shambles at the moment whereas NZ have more explosive batsmen and a superior attack. They've also consistently beaten Asian opposition at home in LOIs recently as well as teams like Australia. Big test coming up.

2005 ODI team that beat India away, whitewashed WI in Caribbean and England at home had a stronger batting unit with more powerhitting.

However I agree the bowling is very exciting, some credit must go towards Azhar Mahmood as discipline and tactics-wise, our bowling is unrecognisable from the one that got thumped for 444 at Trent Bridge or 300+ at Edgbaston v India.

The New Zealand tour will be a barometer for how strong this ODI team really is. Sri Lanka's ODI team is in shambles at the moment whereas NZ have more explosive batsmen and a superior attack. They've also consistently beaten Asian opposition at home in LOIs recently as well as teams like Australia. Big test coming up.

The 2005 team had Rana as the main bowler lol..

Batting vise yes agreed it was superior..

Rana was at his peak at that time and would always take wickets.

Fun fact: Rana is one of the fastest amongst Pakistani bowlers to 50 ODI wickets. I think he is number 3 or 4 on that list. Sadly age caught up with him even before his career started.

Shades of Pakistan's 2017 CT form. Batsmen somehow getting juuust enough runs and the bowlers catching fire at the right moments.

If they go into the World Cup batting and more importantly, bowling like this, it could be a fantastic occasion.