"To play Test cricket on this surface is unfair" : Sourav Ganguly criticises pitch for 3rd Test

Bizarre comments from Holding. It's easily 6 or 7 out of 10. Everyone moans about how test cricket has lost relevance and often makes for a poor spectacle, and then when someone has the gall to prepare a raging turner or a bowling green, which induce compelling cricket they start chirruping and sniveling about it. It's rather droll, they should pack in test cricket if they hate it so much.

Well this is a game we can potentially win and the game might get called off. What are the odds? ::J

Really? This is not fair. Let SA have bat here and take blows on their bodies. This is unbelievable if match got called off

Match should be called off. The pitch has deteriorated beyond repair now. SA want to save their faces because cricketing world will come down heavily on them if the match gets called off. Player safety cant be risked.

According to SA media "I've just heard from the SA media liaison that there has been no suggestion from the umpires that the match could be abandoned. While they discussed their concern about the divets and trouble areas on the pitch, there was no ultimatum as has been suggested in some parts."

Variable bounce? In what universe are you watching this match? :)
Again why were the no complaints when he was bowling in his first spell and went for runs? The ball was definitely new. He came back in the 60th over and bowled tighter lines, is that where the problems started? Was a "quota" suppose to go at four to the over? Did everything not go according to script?

Have you seen Phehlukwayo bowl in domestic cricket by the way?

Probably in same universe where referee and umpire are watching the game.

Variable bounce? In what universe are you watching this match? :)
Again why were the no complaints when he was bowling in his first spell and went for runs? The ball was definitely new. He came back in the 60th over and bowled tighter lines, is that where the problems started? Was a "quota" suppose to go at four to the over? Did everything not go according to script?

Have you seen Phehlukwayo bowl in domestic cricket by the way?

The same universe where your team chickened out.

Kohli is going to say something stupid at the post match or presser. Just wait and watch.

"Faf isn't my friend anymore blah blah"

The umpires were right to take the players off and have a discussion about the pitch, however the game should not be called off. Try the rollers again, maybe even try to repair the pitch a little and let the game continue. India should be happy with that since they still get to play for a consolation win and the South Africans won't have to fear for their lives.

Did he complain when South Africa toured India? Genuine question, because if he didn't...

I think he was one of the more sympathetic Indians. The guy has class. Not that I agree with him here though, this pitch is nowhere near what NZ got in the Spring.

Oh these Indians need to stop moaning. Anyone remember the Pune pitch? Or pretty much 90% of pitches in India?

Plus, I had a chance to watch a lot of the days play and apart from some swing and seam early, the pitch and conditions were more in favour of the batsmen an hours or so after lunch. Yes it still had bounce but cmon, not everything can be a flat road. If they can't play then they shouldnt tour.

What about the minefield that hindustan puts out where the spinners become the second coming of Murali and Warne :ashwin

India can't wait to go back home and make pitches that turn square from ball one.... That'll show these Saffers :sree

Moaning.......

That's behavior acceptable of a team at number 6. But losing 0-3 for a team that's number 1? That's poor.

No need for SA to produce these kind of seaming tracks against Ind, theyd even wipe the floor with Ind preparing flat tracks.

But it's ok to have dust bowls which turn square on day 1?

Match shuru hua nahi, par rona shuru. :dada :sree

Is he forgetting Kohli decided to bat first? If SA batted first and were bowled out for 150, woud he have said the same thing?

You can't fault a pitch if you decide to make first use of it.

Poor comment by Sourav. These sort of wickets give India a chance to win as both teams struggle. I don't think SA will be able to score too high either. This will be again another close Test with SA probably edging India once again.

This. If the pitch was minefield, kohli should have had bat second so that, if by any chance RSA gets out at cheap score, indian team would have had a psychological advantage.

This is unnecessary whining too in my opinion.

India won the toss didnt they? They chose to bat so its their own fault.

And what you are saying has been the case throughout the history of cricket. Thats why winning toss is considered important, thats why teams have lengthy discussions what to do after winning the toss. Not sure why all of a sudden it has become a problem. It is part of cricket that conditions wont stay the same over 5 days.

Abhi aek din howa hai aur inka rona shoro... :sree

If India win this test then pitch will automatically become ok?

It's fair because your captain chose to bat first. Also, since when did rank turners behave the same for both teams? India had a massive advantage batting first in Mohali and Nagpur back in 2015.

Chupp kar rondhu!! Kan te na khaali ek chaped!! He is really awful along with that ganja sehwag!! Where was he when his precious india was producing rank turners.Hate him so much.

Rabada lasted 2 hours on this pitch. Scored quicker than Pujara.

So when Ganguly said it he was derided called rondu, hypocrite and now most of you guys are with umpires/SA that match should be abandoned.. Most of you guys are saying this because India is in winning position and if SA was in winning position most of you would say they should Be playing on..

Hypocrisy at its best..

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=140308]blue_champion[/MENTION] @jatagk [MENTION=136571]akki[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

So when Ganguly said it he was derided called rondu, hypocrite and now most of you guys are with umpires/SA that match should be abandoned.. Most of you guys are saying this because India is in winning position and if SA was in winning position most of you would say they should Be playing on..

Hypocrisy at its best..

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=140308]blue_champion[/MENTION] @jatagk [MENTION=136571]akki[/MENTION]

What do you expect from some people?

Pitch was good till India losing, and now pitch is dangerous. You can easily identify hypocrites feeble persons from comments 😂😂

Hypocrisy at its best..

Lol, many of these guys aren't going to turn up anytime soon.

Hypocrisy at its best..

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=140308]blue_champion[/MENTION] @jatagk [MENTION=136571]akki[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

There is a difference between criticizing this pitch after only watching one session of play and doing so during the fourth innings. Ganguly was crying more about the seam movement on offer, not the invariable bounce that wasn't even there during India's first innings. The former is no reason to criticize a pitch, the second is because it can lead to death.

Hypocrisy at its best..

Sorry dada was right.not defending SA cowardness though.

The game should go on. The pitch on Day 5 of the 2nd Test during PAK's tour to WI was bad also. SA should face the fire. :smith

Then you have my respect sir.

PS: Are you a medical doctor? The DR before your name?

yes post graduate trainee of 2nd year. done with MBBS and about to get MD from US in few months as well.lolz got a chance to show myself here.regarding match u can see post #111

yes post graduate trainee of 2nd year. done with MBBS and about to get MD degree from US in few months as well.lolz got a chance to show myself here.regarding match u can see post #111

A doctor, no wonder you dont run away.

Hypocrisy at its best..

Haha...good catch.

If any of them defend, they will be called as hypocrites.

If not, they are fine.

We Indians didn't like when others commented on our pitch before ball 1, so fair to say people won't like Ganguly doing the same before ball one. As long as yardsticks remain consistent, its ok.

O MY God!

Ganguly called it perfectly before almost anyone. Hatsoff.. real astute reader of the game n pitches. No wonder he was so respected by the Indian players as captain!

Well done Sir! I doff my hat to you!

Hypocrisy at its best..

I think you're confusing me with someone else. Where have I said imo the game should be abandoned? I've said the opposite,.

The difference between Ganguly and Kohli is that if the former was playing this match, he would in all probability have developed a mysterious niggle which would have rendered him incapable to bat in the second innings. Whereas the latter batted like the best batsman in the world in the second innings and only got out because Rabada produced a peach of a delivery. I honestly doubt Ganguly would even have played this match if he was captain.

I think you're confusing me with someone else. Where have I said imo the game should be abandoned? I've said the opposite,.

Ok.. I read one of your posts on some thread about this issue and I would say you are a genuine cricket fan wanting this match to complete..

Of course it should end, it's unfair on India if a match is abandoned after 4 days!

Once the ball gets past 25 overs, you will see the batsmen will play with much more ease and SA could even win the game. If SA win , India will be heavily criticised because people will think the pitch was a minefield and they still didnt win.

Hypocrisy at its best..

LOL who is running away? Gujjaron ka munda hu! hum bhagte nahin hain! When did I say that match should be stopped? This match should be completed and we are still very much in the game.This is evenly poised! Don't see India winning match

Hypocrisy at its best..

Can you quote where I said the match should be called off? Don't generalise in your bias, it makesy ou look bad.

I haven't actually posted about the situation but let me do so now:

There was much more of a deterioration in the pitch towards the end of India's batting and in SA start of their final inning. However, I felt the likes of Mikey calling for the match to be off was going too far. It is nowhere near as bad as the Sabina Park pitch he alluded to or several other pitches since. If modern batsmen can't even play the odd weird bounce, they shouldn't be international cricketers.

As for the little bit of the match I saw this morning, the pitch is pretty flat now and the ball isn't doing much. As I type this, with the match in the background, Sharma seems to have just bowled one which sparked up the pitch when it shouldnt have. Yep, looks like a good length. Thats the pitch misbehaving but nothing to call off the match.

That is my opinion on it.

Hypocrisy at its best..

What a ridiculous accusation aimed at respectable posters :srini:

Ganguly was complaining about the exaggerated seam movement on this pitch. I have no problem with seam and swing.

The problem arose when the pitch became dangerous and balls bounced unpredictably.

I still disagree with Ganguly's opinion on day 1.

Well if it is inevitable, then I suggest you look into some betting sites. Should be an easy way to earn some money.
One thing I learned was to never doubt SA’s ability to choke. Well done [MENTION=139108]Sachin136[/MENTION].

Lol, many of these guys aren't going to turn up anytime soon.

Sourav's comment was nothing to do with how dangerous the pitch was. He was complaining about the exaggerated movement and bounce of the track. So I stand by my comment. If he had said that the pitch can be dangerous to the batsman or something he might have been vindicated but he was not. He also mentioned New Zealand of 2003 in his comment which clearly tells us that he was talking about the pace and movement in the pitch. So what I said still holds true and Ganguly's comment was very poor. The only way India can compete overseas against these teams is when they receive tracks like these.

And Ganguly also said a similar statement when India were dishing out spin pitches against SA. He has been consistent about his views be it about pitches in India or abroad.