To the Western Muslims, are you big on Halal? Ever get tempted by a tasty KFC crispy chicken wing?

You can have Vodka with Fanta or Coke. Best of both worlds, etc. etc.

In fact if you're a first-timer I would recommend a small shot of Smirnoff with RedBull. Try it out this Saturday night.

To Russia with love!

What's the point :)) why not just drink Fanta or Coke given the taste, am not into the intoxication and throwing up bit :mv

Do both. Drink Fanta & Coke during the day, and splash some Grey Goose (once you've got past Smirnoff) at night. You won't throw up.

Like I said, best of both worlds. Try it and get back to us on Sunday morning.

Do both. Drink Fanta & Coke during the day, and splash some Grey Goose (once you've got past Smirnoff) at night. You won't throw up.

You're so funny. A thread about halal food and you are suggesting washing it down with vodka. Ha ha. Ho ho. My sides are splitting.

No thanks, I look forward to me tasty and highly spiritual Beef Biryani though perhaps you should try that and give up the bottle :yk3

No way. How can I consume haram after all the sacrifices of my prophet pbuh? When he was pelted head to toe in Taif but still forgive them saying oh Allah guide my ummah because they're unaware. How will I show my face to him after going against his teachings? InshAllah I'll never consume haram. My beloved prophet saw said:
"By the one in whose hand lays the life of Muhammad, verily a servant places a morsel of Haram in his stomach (and as a result) forty days of worship will not be accepted from him. (Recorded by Imam Tabrani)

Although there are different interpretations its enough to refrain from haram.

No thanks, I look forward to me tasty and highly spiritual Beef Biryani though perhaps you should try that and give up the bottle :yk3

You'll be happy to know I eat all kinds of meat.

No way. How can I consume haram after all the sacrifices of my prophet pbuh? When he was pelted head to toe in Taif but still forgive them saying oh Allah guide my ummah because they're unaware. How will I show my face to him after going against his teachings? InshAllah I'll never consume haram. My beloved prophet saw said:
"By the one in whose hand lays the life of Muhammad, verily a servant places a morsel of Haram in his stomach (and as a result) forty days of worship will not be accepted from him. (Recorded by Imam Tabrani)

Although there are different interpretations its enough to refrain from haram.

Because it's not haraam. It just pakistani and indians that take this too seriously

You'll be happy to know I eat all kinds of meat.

If a person of Hindu origin consumes meat (or specifically beef) does he get looked down upon by other Hindus who choose to remain vegetarian?

I had a Hindu friend in Karachi, we never really talked about each others religions but I knew that he would have chicken on most days except for maybe Monday (or Wednesday) and those days were designated as veggie days. Is this a common practice?

If a person of Hindu origin consumes meat (or specifically beef) does he get looked down upon by other Hindus who choose to remain vegetarian?

I had a Hindu friend in Karachi, we never really talked about each others religions but I knew that he would have chicken on most days except for maybe Monday (or Wednesday) and those days were designated as veggie days. Is this a common practice?

One of my best mates is Brahmin which is an esteemed class amongst hindu's given that they specialise in the field of priests, his grand parents are very strict but his mum allows him to eat chicken although the consumption of beef is limited. I accidentally gave him some kebabs which me mom made and later apologised after realising but he said it was cool and that from time to time he does eat beef and enjoys a good kebab although he is not supposed to

I agree with you about the pig, it's a very filthy animal; even a lot of non-muslim friends of mine don't eat it. I have been repulsed by the smell of alcohol and probably will never drink it because a close fam member abused it a lot much like CM Punk's abah rofl. Would you say what you drink tastes better then a fanta or coke? or is more about the intoxication then anything else
Pig is like narcotics, people who eat it since their childhood can't stop actually, and better have an ice cream shake rather than those achari drinks

Only eat Halal. There are enough Halal meat places where I live. Besides, the Halal restaurants are good and my mom makes good food.

Obviously sometimes Shaitan whispers me to eat Haram, but I don't listen to him.
appreciate the style though:misbah4
You are right it is your life.

But here's what Quran has to say about eating Non-Halal.

"He only prohibits for you the eating of animals that die of themselves (without human interference), blood, the meat of pigs, and animals dedicated to other than God. If one is forced (to eat these), without being malicious or deliberate, he incurs no sin. God is Forgiver, Most Merciful" 2:173

So what does it really take for some meat to be halal?

If there are rules, I don't care about them. *Nom Nom* *Glug Glug*

If you're in the west then you're all good, many of my hindu friends do not need to worry about anything. But if you're caught eating a cow in India then you are screwed, the nom nom glug glug can't really be enjoyed sadly

[MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] it depends where you are in India tbh. the Northern Hindutva heartland it isnt safe to eat Beef or sell it. But in places like Kerala in West Bengal i know Indian Muslims from there who say that their Hindu friends are chill about Beef eating tbh and its more a Northie thing. But Hindu nationalists are trying to take the beef ban into these areas too.

Generally there doesn't seem to be a respect for the beliefs and personal choices of others, you hear all these hindu fatwas being handed out about hunting down those who are seen eating a cow and what not; it's quiet scary and intimidating for these people the minorities and hindu folk who have a big appetite which is why one of my friends left India to thailand and then here to the UK so he can live in peace and eat what he wants

If you're in the west then you're all good, many of my hindu friends do not need to worry about anything. But if you're caught eating a cow in India then you are screwed, the nom nom glug glug can't really be enjoyed sadly

I live in India though. Never been to the West.

most Desi Muslims are really strict when it comes to Halal. Arab Muslims or Persian in the West are a lot more chill about Halal. I know quite a few Arab guys at Uni who say that the Fiqh they follow i think Maliki or Shafi'i says that if Halal isnt available then any meat slaughtered by the People of Book i.e Jews or Christians is ok. Hanafi is the strictest when it comes to Meat. and because most Western countries are nominally Christian its ok to eat non halal meat here. Obvs they might be bending the interpretation but Arabs Persians Turks arent as bothered by it as Desi Muslims are.

I don't think they are bending the interpretation, I just think for them the food issue isn't as big a deal in the fiqh they follow. Maybe for Arabs and Iranians, wearing headscarves is more important than it would be for desis.

People of the book are very hard to find now. I wouldn't go to anyone if I believed that. Then which Christians slaughter in UK? Jews are more practicing.

[MENTION=383]ataullah[/MENTION] like i said because most western countries are nominally Christian they say that meat sold in supermarkets mcdonalds etc is ok to eat. Tbh the difference between all industrially slaughtered meat is very little just sticking a halal or non halal label on it makes littlr difference both methods have their pros and cons.

the true christians are only the orthodox one's, catholics don't even know what's written in the bible so can't be called christians, hence, there ways of slaughtering the animal are same as that of a normal athiest.

[MENTION=136528]super hitter[/MENTION] unless you are an expert in Christian theology and scripture you cant say whether a Protestant a Catholic an Orthodox are the true Christians. All these sects claim to be following the proper form of Christianity. To say Catholics or Catholic clergy and theologians dont know whats in the Bible is a highly ignorant statement the Catholic Church is the oldest Church in Christianity they just have different interpretations of Christianity. As far as i know Orthodox dont follow the Kosher method of slaughter either thats in the Torah or dont see it as something that is necessary. Most Christian sects dont due to a passage in the New Testament that is interpreted as meaning Mosaic dietary laws dont apply to followers of the new covenant of Jesus.

There is no atheist way to slaughter an animal. Atheism doesnt have any holy book or scripture. Most slaughterhouses use the stun method because that is believed to be the quickest way to kill the animal and most efficient way to produce Meat for mass consumption.

No offense intended, I'm asking this because I don't know. But are Muslims allowed to eat meat only when those animals are halaled? Once again, please don't take it in the wrong way, I'm asking this because I really don't know.

Yeah

[MENTION=136528]super hitter[/MENTION] unless you are an expert in Christian theology and scripture you cant say whether a Protestant a Catholic an Orthodox are the true Christians. All these sects claim to be following the proper form of Christianity. To say Catholics or Catholic clergy and theologians dont know whats in the Bible is a highly ignorant statement the Catholic Church is the oldest Church in Christianity they just have different interpretations of Christianity. As far as i know Orthodox dont follow the Kosher method of slaughter either thats in the Torah or dont see it as something that is necessary. Most Christian sects dont due to a passage in the New Testament that is interpreted as meaning Mosaic dietary laws dont apply to followers of the new covenant of Jesus.

There is no atheist way to slaughter an animal. Atheism doesnt have any holy book or scripture. Most slaughterhouses use the stun method because that is believed to be the quickest way to kill the animal and most efficient way to produce Meat for mass consumption.

Don't know about the scriptures but one thing is for sure, the bible never said that Jesus is the God and always referred to him as the son of god like several other prophets and neither did Jesus himself ever gave any such kind of statements which basically shows the amount of knowledge catholics have about there religion.

As for orthodox christians, I've just heard it from people so I may accept your sayings just for now.

About the atheists way of slaughtering; that is what I actually meant. They don't have a procedure and simply cut it off so no arguments here as well.

[MENTION=136528]super hitter[/MENTION] All major Christian sects nowadays believe in Jesus as the Son of God what they differ on are other theological and political issues i.e like accepting Papal authority whether you should follow the priests interpretations or can any person interpret for their selves similar to Salafism in relation to traditional Sunni Islam. and if you have just learnt Christianity from second hand sources or hearsay its better to read the Gospels yourself to see what the Bible says Jesus said. Cutting someones head off in a clean strike will cause less pain than slitting their throat.

But there meaning of Jesus, as the son of god, is different to that of the other prophets in the bible.

They take it as if God was the father of Jesus and both shared the ultimate powers but the bible...

Is the firstborn Son equal to God, as some believe? That is not what the Bible teaches. As we noted in the preceding paragraph, the Son was created. Obviously, then, he had a beginning, whereas Jehovah God has no beginning or end. (Psalm 90:2) The only-begotten Son never even considered trying to be equal to his Father. The Bible clearly teaches that the Father is greater than the Son.

And a lot of christians today can be referred to as 'tri-theists', believing in three gods! whilst the bible said that there is only one god.(Lord Jesus Christ, God, fellowship of the Holy Spirit).

They oppose there own doctrine (the one that is stated by the Bible itself),
In fact, the Qur'an itself declares in Surah 5:73 (see also 4:171) that Christians believe in three gods, and that this is blasphemy against Allah. Islam arose in the Christian era, when theologians and laity still hotly debated the great Trinitarian formulas. Some Christians were teaching heretical notions of the Trinity in Mecca, where Muhammad lived. One such heresy claimed something like this: God has a wife named Mary, with whom he had intercourse, resulting in Jesus.

Its absolutely unreal and amateur to compare the human attributes to that of God.

The divine lordship and the deity of Jesus Christ were denied in the fourth century by a man named Arius. He was sincere. He was well read. He did not deny that the Bible was true. But he said, Jesus Christ is a creature. He's higher than any other creature. But he is not God. Arius denied that Jesus was the same essence, the same fundamental reality, as God. At the Council of Nicea, the church had to say, No, we can't go that way either. The one we adore and worship and love in Jesus our Redeemer is of the same essence as the Father. We're not talking about two different gods. We're talking about the one God, but the one God who has forever known himself as Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. This says to us that the fundamental reality of God is relationship—it's community. If we can ever grasp that, we'll understand what our fundamental differences are with Islam.

The third central Christian affirmation is that the Holy Spirit is personal. This affirmation also has had a divisive history. About 70 years after the Council of Nicea, some people said they would go along with God the Father and God the Son, but they could not affirm that the Holy Spirit is God—that was just too much for them. They claimed that the Holy Spirit is a force, an energy, a power, but not God. Over against these people, who were known as the Spirit-fighters (because they fought against the deity of the Holy Spirit), the church declared that God is one in essence, and three in person—Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

God was in Christ, reaching out to us in love, accommodating himself to our condition, to save us.

So many believes, all at the same time...!!!

As you've seen already it various upon muslims. Some think only zabiha is halal others don't believe in that

I don't mind. There's more than enough Halal meat around where I'm from but I do be tempted at University tho, especially when attractive nice peri peri wrap is screaming at me to be eaten.

Most British Aapneh are funny though. While they may drink, smoke etc, they'd never ever ever eat pig and/or haram foods :))

I don't mind. There's more than enough Halal meat around where I'm from but I do be tempted at University tho, especially when attractive nice peri peri wrap is screaming at me to be eaten.

Most British Aapneh are funny though. While they may drink, smoke etc, they'd never ever ever eat pig and/or haram foods :))

Can never imagine them eating the pig regardless its a filthy animal that eats its own tutti innit, but i do see where you coming from when they do other stuff but always eat halal lol

That's an inherent thing. Alcohol some deem to be a light sin. Though many nowadays eat haram/dubious meat without an issue. Such as wants in here like all desi foods being boring etc.

Would like to try Rio's 5 but again, no establishment selling haram can be trusted.

First of all its not ONLY birmingham these days that are lucky to have halal options. London has a diverse and extensive range that can beat any other regions in UK

- I go to many seminars and conferences in Lodon and halal is almost standard.
- GBK trains its staff properly about Halal, they will tell you their chicken and lamb are both halal however chicken not contaminated with non halal meat
- Dominos all say their chicken is halal but cant promote it as things can get contaminated like the slicer they use. My locals have muslim staff and I request them.
- Alot of Thai restaraunts will have halal chicken atleast all around London
- If you are going to high end steak restaraunts, just request them and they usually cater.

My story is a bit different after moving to UK

-Intially I thought Halal was to avoid pork and alcohol. Even after I learnt about it, I thought since I was a student and in forgein country stick to what is wasy to buy . All changed after Biwi na lifestyle badal diya.

- Tbh I dont crave in the UK about eating at Mcdonalds or Burger King. I can eat burger at home/KFC/other Halal places. Even though eating out might be a bit more expensive than Mcdonalds, but Allhamdullilah I can manage. When I travel to Asia however, I make sure I go through Dubai to enjoy McDess there.

- Also as you start growing up and have a family, I started moving away (not totally) from eating unhealthy fried stuff. Me and my wife learnt to cook and eat healthy.

- In terms of Halal approved products, there is so much you can do. Allah knows best. So as long as it says its Halal with a label, I consume it. Although I have never had kosher meat even though it is allowed.

Hmm I don't know any Muslim that eats non Halal but ok.. good for you I'm still Happy with freshie veg options.

It's not non halal, it's just non zabiha. Loads of Muslims perhaps the majority in America eat non zabiha, which means any meat aside from pork.

Yes yes we get it. You dont care about halal/haram

But no need to justify it by saying loads of muslim do this and that.

Yes yes we get it. You dont care about halal/haram

But no need to justify it by saying loads of muslim do this and that.

Well the majority in america don't eat zabiha. If i didn't care about halal/halam then I would be eating pork and drinking.

Maybe in Hong kong but American Muslim shaykhs arw divided on this issue. Chicken and Beef are not haram, only pork is.

End of discussion.

ah not end of discussion.

Like i said, you could use those justifications for yourself

Halal is when you slaughter an animal with a cut to the jugular vein, carotid artery and windpipe, while reciting god's name.

If that is not followed the meat is Haram.

Now you may eat halal or haram thats no ones business, but please dont try to change the basic definition just to justify your own conscious

This is a lie that many Muslims abroad tell themselves. I sometimes eat non halal as well but I acknowledge that it’s non halal

Maybe in Hong kong but American Muslim shaykhs arw divided on this issue. Chicken and Beef are not haram, only pork is.

End of discussion.
I have never heard that from anyone. Any animal that is slaughtered without reciting the dua is Haraam. Simple. No two opinions about it.

End of discussion.

lol what :)) :)) ??!!

Seems like a proper coping mechanism. Halal and Haram have proper definitions, please read up on it.

So much for food not having religion then ,lol also which chick a fil is halal?Could you give the location?

lol what :)) :)) ??!!

Seems like a proper coping mechanism. Halal and Haram have proper definitions, please read up on it.

You should travel more and meet more other Muslim communities, this is a much talked about subject in the American Muslim community. We aren't some monolith with one interpretation.

So much for food not having religion then ,lol also which chick a fil is halal?Could you give the location?

You don't seem to understand. In the American Muslim community anything that isn't pork is basically halal even if not cut in a zabiha way. You frst claimed that no "Muslim" you know eats at chick fil a which I said wasn't true, as an American Muslim that's been here all my life I know how often people go there.

I have never heard that from anyone. Any animal that is slaughtered without reciting the dua is Haraam. Simple. No two opinions about it.

Like I said, you're not from here so won't understand. Granted it's mostly Arab shayks in America that push this but it's a pretty common practice here.

This is a lie that many Muslims abroad tell themselves. I sometimes eat non halal as well but I acknowledge that it’s non halal

I started eating non zabiha and believed it was haram too however I met many Muslims from different backgrounds, desis, arab, blacka etc and learned about their perspective.

Now it may or not be haram but Islam isn't a monolith and there are various schools of thoughts and a million fatwas and counter-fatwas.

People that are so adamant in pushing their PoV are the same people who think shias and sufis are infidels, so would suggest not being so judgemental.

You should travel more and meet more other Muslim communities, this is a much talked about subject in the American Muslim community. We aren't some monolith with one interpretation.

I have traveled to almost every developed Muslim country (heck I live in Malaysia myself) and each of them has very clear guidelines on what constitutes Halal and what constitues Haram based on the Sunni tradition.

If the North American Muslim community thinks otherwise then good on them, however, please don't state phrases like 'end of discussion' on something that is universally accepted i.e. the difference between halal and haram in most communities that are governend by Islamic principles.

The fact that I said it is a coping mechanism is because clearly, North American Muslim do not have the supply chain or the infrastructure in place to sustain a procedure that would give them 100% Halal meat and it is ok to accept that rather than refuting something which is principly ingrained in the Islamic tradition.

I do not want to offend anyone with my posts neither am I trying to pick a fight but you just simply can't put a blind eye on something that has been clearly prescriped in script as well via practice.

Like I said, you're not from here so won't understand. Granted it's mostly Arab shayks in America that push this but it's a pretty common practice here.

Islam is the same in Hong Kong,the U.S. and elsewhere. Still Haraam.

Eat it all you want but don’t justify it using Islam. Islamic rituals are the same everywhere.

I have traveled to almost every developed Muslim country (heck I live in Malaysia myself) and each of them has very clear guidelines on what constitutes Halal and what constitues Haram based on the Sunni tradition.

If the North American Muslim community thinks otherwise then good on them, however, please don't state phrases like 'end of discussion' on something that is universally accepted i.e. the difference between halal and haram in most communities that are governend by Islamic principles.

The fact that I said it is a coping mechanism is because clearly, North American Muslim do not have the supply chain or the infrastructure in place to sustain a procedure that would give them 100% Halal meat and it is ok to accept that rather than refuting something which is principly ingrained in the Islamic tradition.

I do not want to offend anyone with my posts neither am I trying to pick a fight but you just simply can't put a blind eye on something that has been clearly prescriped in script as well via practice.

There is Zabiha Halal almost everywhere in Chicago even in downtown, they do have a supply chain, all my Muslim colleagues eat only Zabiha Halal, hell there is even an app to identify.

Exactly they specify a difference between zabiha halal and non zabiha halal. This is a much talked about subject in the Muslim community in America.

Some hilarious posts in this thread.

Haraam vs zabih etc. etc., bas inhi fazul baaton me musalmano ki zindagi guzar gai hai. This is why we are struggling and haven’t made any progress.

Let’s not eat chicken and beef because the animals weren’t murdered the way we wanted them to be murdered.

Don’t complicate your life with these petty issues.

Some hilarious posts in this thread.

Haraam vs zabih etc. etc., bas inhi fazul baaton me musalmano ki zindagi guzar gai hai. This is why we are struggling and haven’t made any progress.

Let’s not eat chicken and beef because the animals weren’t murdered the way we wanted them to be murdered.

Don’t complicate your life with these petty issues.

Who on this thread is forcing people to eat halal? I myself often don’t care about it when I eat out but when I buy groceries to cook food I always opt for halal because it’s so easily available

If it is easily available, which is the case as far as halal grocery stores are concerned, then it is a different issue.

However, I don’t think God is sitting up there keeping a track of where you get your beef and chicken from, and updating your “list of sins” notebook based on that.

Halal is a big thing to majority muslims in UK. In Europe, UK is blessed with so many options these days.

My father in law told me they could had no other option but to eat non halal meat (ones not slaughtered in the halal way) back in the 70s and 80s as there wasnt mucn options. But these days its easily available in most major cities and town to find halal meat.

I was once in a business meeting abroad and had to go for chicken that was non halal, as there was no other option. Allah knows best but as I am a traveller I have heard it is permissible under such circumstances.

But in UK I always stick to Halal food at home or eating outside.

You don't seem to understand. In the American Muslim community anything that isn't pork is basically halal even if not cut in a zabiha way. You frst claimed that no "Muslim" you know eats at chick fil a which I said wasn't true, as an American Muslim that's been here all my life I know how often people go there.

The Arabs and Iranians who come to the UK are similar, the ones I see don't seem to have any problem eating non-certified meat other than pork. I don't know if they just have a different idea to what is halal, or they just aren't religious.

In the end it all comes down to gluttony. If you give in to your desires then most likely you will come up with any sort of justification that what you are doing is right. These are the people with pride. Although there are some who do accept they are doing wrong.

The Prophet pbuh rarely ate meat. So it would be easy for him to eat Halal in the modern Western age. So why is it hard for us? We are human just like him.

Eating healthy is important. You need to care about your body. About what goes inside and how it looks on outside. Both matter.

A lot of these arguments on this thread would go away if we just controlled our meat consumption.

Please stop speaking for the rest of the American Muslims.

Just because you want to justify eating non-zabhia, a way to sacrifice to be halal, does not make it Halal.

You do what you wish too but do not term it halal when it does not follow the guideline of being halal.

An American Muslim.

The Arabs and Iranians who come to the UK are similar, the ones I see don't seem to have any problem eating non-certified meat other than pork. I don't know if they just have a different idea to what is halal, or they just aren't religious.

One thing I have notice with Iranian Muslims is that they only celebrate 'symbolic' muslims holiday to celebrate, i.e Eid without Eid prayers.

Asked one Iranian about Islam, and he went, 'we aren't in Iran anymore, we do not have to pray'

One thing I have notice with Iranian Muslims is that they only celebrate 'symbolic' muslims holiday to celebrate, i.e Eid without Eid prayers.

Asked one Iranian about Islam, and he went, 'we aren't in Iran anymore, we do not have to pray'

Not that surprising when you consider many Iranians leave Iran to get away from theocracy. In the UK it is slightly different as Arabs who are here are often war refugees rather than political so they might still be religious. Iranians not so much...or as they like to describe themselves over here - Persians.

I haven't tasted KFC in almost 3 years :(. Suffice to say I miss it but sadly not many halal kfc outlets in Sydney

I can eat non-halal outside but when it comes to cooking fresh meat for me even now its always halal.

lol so many fake Muslims here. Might as well go chow down on pork and donkey as well. :yk

I'm not a great Muslim, I'm the first to admit it. I don't fast, I don't pray and I like to enjoy myself partying etc when I'm at University. Last year I went through this crazy phase where I just started to hate every religion and the overall concept of religion in general so I would, just for the sake of it, eat non-halal or bacon etc just to prove a point. I regret that phase so much, but thankfully I'm out of it, so these days, most likely I won't eat anything that's not halal. A lot of restaurants etc here in UK are halal anyway so not too much of a problem for me.

In the end does it really matter what you eat or drink (Excluding the pig and alcohol) ? when the animal is slaughtered the thing with halal is that they got to be glorifying Allah during the process right, why can't we just eat whatever we want so long we say "Bismillah" :hafeez2

Even if I was lucky enough to live in Birmingham or Mississauga I wouldn't care about all this Halal Haraam business. Just eat whatever you like and be merry.

Since KFC's crispy chicken is mentioned in the thread I would say that I am lucky to live in Nashville, the capital of hot fried chicken in US. I often get my fix of hot fried chicken from the local outlets like Prince and Hattie B's but never KFC.

Even if I was lucky enough to live in Birmingham or Mississauga I wouldn't care about all this Halal Haraam business. Just eat whatever you like and be merry.

Since KFC's crispy chicken is mentioned in the thread I would say that I am lucky to live in Nashville, the capital of hot fried chicken in US. I often get my fix of hot fried chicken from the local outlets like Prince and Hattie B's but never KFC.

I really dont understand this type of mentality. Those who want to eat what they like can and those who want to adhere to their beliefs will. There is no need to tell others what to do.

And fried chicken is a poor mans food, basic and not average, nothing to be excited about.

I really dont understand this type of mentality. Those who want to eat what they like can and those who want to adhere to their beliefs will. There is no need to tell others what to do.

And fried chicken is a poor mans food, basic and not average, nothing to be excited about.

I'm a big fan of fried chicken, and the American south has a big reputation for doing it right. They eat it with weird sides like collared greens and mash potato which doesn't sound right to me, but I have to salute them for taking such pride in the dish nonetheless. Not that it would be of any use to me, I eat halal only and the US don't have the spread of halal joints that we do here.

Didn’t meant to preach to others what to eat or not, was just stating my own personal philosophy. I really don’t care what others do to be honest.

As for fried chicken, I agree, there is nothing fancy about it but it’s hard to describe to you in words how addictive the fried chicken we have here can be. Something to do with endorphins being released when you are the precipice of pain and pleasure while eating spicy foods. I’ve wrote a whole blog about it once on a newspaper’s website.

Didn’t meant to preach to others what to eat or not, was just stating my own personal philosophy. I really don’t care what others do to be honest.

As for fried chicken, I agree, there is nothing fancy about it but it’s hard to describe to you in words how addictive the fried chicken we have here can be. Something to do with endorphins being released when you are the precipice of pain and pleasure while eating spicy foods. I’ve wrote a whole blog about it once on a newspaper’s website.

Fair enough.

Here I've noticed the quality of the chicken isn't very good. Instead of being soft and juicy, its often hard and stringy. What is it like where you are, considering it's the area which invented this food?

It's not haram. Food of the people of the book is lawful for us to eat just as their women are lawful for us to marry according to the same ayat. Moreover, no where in Quran is it mentioned to slaughter the animal in such and such way. Animals slaughtered in the name of any other god are haram as per Quran, the context being that people back in the day used to sacrifice animals for the sake of their gods and such meat was prohibited for muslims to eat.

I dont think this reffers to what KFC do. Their chicken is kept in tight pens, possibly injected and killed with broken bones. This can never be halal. Kosher is a different story, yes.

Fair enough.

Here I've noticed the quality of the chicken isn't very good. Instead of being soft and juicy, its often hard and stringy. What is it like where you are, considering it's the area which invented this food?

Fried chicken done right is crispy on the outside and tender and juicy on the inside. It’s that crispy and tender combo in one bite which makes it delightful and refreshing. As for how they do the spicy chicken also called “hot”chicken here in Nashville, there is cayenne pepper, paprika, salt, ground pepper, garlic powder and brown sugar mixed in eggs and milk and fried till it’s well cooked from inside but still not over cooked to loose it’s juiciness and crispy and flaky on the outside. Its served over a piece of white bread and topped with pickles. The heat levels go from mild to very hot, I usually get hot, which is in the middle and it’s still pretty hot.

If you ever visit, you will see long lines outside each well known hot chicken establishment. It’s served hot and you are supposed to eat it while steam is still coming off the beautiful brown cooked to perfection bird in front of you. As one takes their first bite, the mixture of hot and spicy, of crispy and tender, of pleasure and pain makes one dizzy for a second. The eating experience can look like punishment to some, eyes welling up, snot rolling down your nose, sweat dripping off your forehead. After a first few bites you are on a mission to finish it off as fast as you can, both in a hurry to end this practice in sadism and also to savor the meat before it gets cold. The spice hitting your tongue, folkowed by your throat and then making its way down your stomach into your blood stream feels like a steam engine roaring inside of you full speed ahead. The feeling of pain crossing into pleasure and ultimately ecstasy comes over you as you take your last bite and you are left wrecked, exhausted and somewhat comatose at the end. It’s why people keep coming for more like disciples of a cult. I’m happy to count myself as one of the followers as well.