Unlike PSL, IPL isn't producing players for the national team - Why?

Kohli The King of Chase

Local Club Captain
After seeing the IPL stars failing, it's really heart breaking.

It's been 10 years still not fulfilling the basic cause to produce players for national team.

Undakat, Rahul, Pant, Pandey, Sran, Rishi, Samson all either failing or not getting chances.

At max we have Pandya, Chahal and Kuldeep.

Whereas, PSL, despite being a new league, is producing atleast 2 players every year. "Above all, all have become permanent members of the team."

2016 - Sharjeel khan, Hassan Ali, Nawaz.

2017 - Fakhar, Shadab, Rumman, Usman.

2018 - It looks like Hussain, Shaheen and Asif would get a look into.

Note: Please don't quarrel. Just discuss. And yes, anyone can disagree with my view.

Yes, we got Bumrah, Ashwin, Jadeja from sabzi market.
More importantly, how do you define a “IPL/PSL product”? Please clarify in your posts. These tournaments go on for a short while, however the players play domestics the whole year. If you think KL Rahul, Manish Pandey etc. are IPL products (as mentioned in your post) then there could be something really wrong with your definition.

Yes, we got Bumrah, Ashwin, Jadeja from sabzi market.
More importantly, how do you define a “IPL/PSL product”? Please clarify in your posts. These tournaments go on for a short while, however the players play domestics the whole year. If you think KL Rahul, Manish Pandey etc. are IPL products (as mentioned in your post) then there could be something really wrong with your definition.

Yes I was a kid when Ashwin and Jadhav came into IPL. So in 10 years we just have 5 players. Yes , I missed Bumrah.

When I say IPL/ PSL products, I mean these leagues are used to give them necessary big stage experience. How much ever u play domestics, the big stage pressure is different. And IPL/ PSL serves good to build temperament, performing under pressure, etc.

If u look even Sharjeel, Hassan was there before PSL. It's just the necessary bridge between domestics and International.

Depending upon PSL to give us players isn't exactly a good thing. These players aren't being 'produced' so to say by the PSL. PSL has now become the final test for LO cricket as far as Pakistan is concerned. We can no longer trust our domestic tournaments to give us batsmen so the top performers have to be tested out in PSL first to see if they have any substance. India doesn't use IPL as a litmus test, it's mostly a money making mechanism and I don't think any consideration goes to local talent in the IPL. BCCI simply uses the money to strengthen the LA and FC systems which end up giving you players.

Just so you know I haven't watched the IPL in a long time. I only watched the first 2-3 editions and my comments are based on that experience plus the occasional thread on PP and cricinfo scorecard. I may be completely wrong about the IPL but this is simply my impression.

As far as the final test of substance India uses A-team tours and matches against weaker teams to test out the next crop. You sent plenty of newbies to the recent tri-series and your last tour of Zimbabwe basically featured your A-team.

Kuldeep and Chahal's emergence has a lot to do with IPL. Bumrah would be a nobody today if it wasn't for the IPL. Pandaya brothers are two great prospects, again thanks to IPL.

Also do not forget that Pakistan has been a terrible team from 2016-2018. It is easier to break into World #8 team compared to a very established Indian side.

As far as the final test of substance India uses A-team tours and matches against weaker teams to test out the next crop. You sent plenty of newbies to the recent tri-series and your last tour of Zimbabwe basically featured your A-team.

And our newbies got centuries and 5fers.

Yes I was a kid when Ashwin and Jadhav came into IPL. So in 10 years we just have 5 players. Yes , I missed Bumrah.

When I say IPL/ PSL products, I mean these leagues are used to give them necessary big stage experience. How much ever u play domestics, the big stage pressure is different. And IPL/ PSL serves good to build temperament, performing under pressure, etc.

If u look even Sharjeel, Hassan was there before PSL. It's just the necessary bridge between domestics and International.

By that definition, Kohli (played IPL under the under-22 quota for RCB), Saha, Yadav, Bhuvi, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, practically every Indian player these days is an IPL product.

I'd just argue it's simply harder to standout in a tougher league, doesn't mean the players are poorer. Throw in Bilal Asif into an IPL side and make him face Starc and he'll go from dynamic middle order hitter to someone easily bullied by intelligent and well directed short stuff, for example. For the players you already have, it hones their skills better and players that genuinely do shine, like Bumrah, go on to transfer their skills internationally very well. You said Nawaz, what exactly has he done for example? What about Sami and his consistent PSL performances? Akmal a season or two ago? The PSL is very necessary to spot and refine talent, it is however delusional to think it is the gold standard for said tasks.

Here is a question to the OP. How many of the PSL products would have made it to the Indian side?

Kuldeep and Chahal's emergence has a lot to do with IPL. Bumrah would be a nobody today if it wasn't for the IPL. Pandaya brothers are two great prospects, again thanks to IPL.

Also do not forget that Pakistan has been a terrible team from 2016-2018. It is easier to break into World #8 team compared to a very established Indian side.

I hope u understand. Chahal, Pandya, Bumrah, Ash, Jadeja and Kuldeep. Apart from these, who else in these 10 yeats?

Yes the same #8 team beat us into hiding, and our old Buddha's couldn't do anything.

And if u look that #8 team had, Fakhar, Shadab, Hassan and Rumman.(PSL products).

Pakistan LOI teams needs players desperately. So they pick anybody who performs well on tv.

Indian LOI team has been very good with no dearth of players coming in from other domestic competitions.

By that definition, Kohli (played IPL under the under-22 quota for RCB), Saha, Yadav, Bhuvi, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, practically every Indian player these days is an IPL product.

I didn't include Babar, Amir and Faheem and said PSL products.

Please make sense.

I can see you are a biased fan, and I can't waste my time with u.

Here is a question to the OP. How many of the PSL products would have made it to the Indian side?

Bro , try to understand. My question is regarding IPL/ PSL. Not about Pakistan or India cricket. Be mature enough.

I hope u understand. Chahal, Pandya, Bumrah, Ash, Jadeja and Kuldeep. Apart from these, who else in these 10 yeats?

Yes the same #8 team beat us into hiding, and our old Buddha's couldn't do anything.

And if u look that #8 team had, Fakhar, Shadab, Hassan and Rumman.(PSL products).

Out of these, Hasan is the only player who would make it to the Indian team.

Also, one victory doesn't turn mediocre players into world beaters.

Sharjeel, shadab, Faheem, Rumman, Hasan ali would have made it easily. Maybe even Fakhar but i think you will go with Sharjeel.

Dont say no, its pointless. You know current Indian team needs such players. Quality fast bowlers, all rounders ( a leggie and a pace bowling one), a belligerent left handed opener (maybe a second choice one but required nevertheless)

Most folks have covered it here:
1 - Pakistan’s National team is short on talent, so there’s a greater desperation to use PSL to find players
2 - India relies a lot more on A tours: I think they have the best talent Managment system in terms of quantity and quality of tours (no doubt, it’s BCCI clout, but used for good)
3 - picking players basis ipl solely has not always lead to longevity: yousuf Pathan, robin uthappa we’re players who debuted not via IPL but around the same fine and they had productive years at the Ipl, but it didn’t lead to longevity in the national team

Thanks for ur response bro. I am not going to answer any out of topic discussion. I am a professional, and I make sure my time doesn't get wasted on illogical statements.

Bro , try to understand. My question is regarding IPL/ PSL. Not about Pakistan or India cricket. Be mature enough.

Your question is simple. Why aren't there as many IPL products in the Indian side?

Answer too should be quite simple. It is easier to replace players in a bottom ranked side compared to a well established top team.

I didn't include Babar, Amir and Faheem and said PSL products.

Please make sense.

I can see you are a biased fan, and I can't waste my time with u.

Dude, you can’t have illogical definitions and argue for nothing.

Your question is simple. Why aren't there as many IPL products in the Indian side?

Answer too should be quite simple. It is easier to replace players in a bottom ranked side compared to a well established top team.

It's not just about replacing. Rather about performing. Read my full post.

Rahul, Pant, Pandey, Undakat and the list continues (No time to type). All got chances, but couldn't perform.

KL Rahul is an IPL product ?

Not at all. He first made huge runs in domestic competitions like Ranji, then did decently on A tours (his innings of 190 or something in a Ranji final with a broken back was really the standout). He was primarily seen as a longer format batsman those days. IIRC he failed terribly in 1-2 IPL seasons and looked like a second coming of Pujara.

His first decent season in IPL was after he had already made a Test hundred in Australia. That was when he really started playing his shots and came into reckoning for an LOI berth.

Because Pakistani selectors only hear about these players during the PSL.

Most of these players were good before PSL and simply continued their form in the big tournament.

what Dinesh karthick did yesterday would not have been possible without his IPL experience

India and Pakistan will start with similar odds next time they meet. Pakistan will have as much of a chance as India in the one-off matches they play every year.

On what basis? They're a clearly superior side. Our bowling is better but in the same ball park while the Indian top 3 will outscore our top 6 7/8 times out of 10...It's like saying Bangladesh and South Africa is always a tossup. Of course we can beat India, we've proven that, but they should be deserved favorites in all encounters in the near future.

For OP's sake, I'll summarise all the points people have put forward this thread -

a) Half of India's (World #1 ODI team) players today are IPL products, so OP makes little sense.
b) India has a far more robust system to induct players, so IPL isn't all there is.
c) It is much harder to replace players in a top ranked Indian side compared to the kind of competition PSL players get.

All great points.

Completely agree. Gone are the days of our batting being stuck in the 90s and bowlers being the only reason we win matches.

On what basis? They're a clearly superior side. Our bowling is better but in the same ball park while the Indian top 3 will outscore our top 6 7/8 times out of 10...It's like saying Bangladesh and South Africa is always a tossup. Of course we can beat India, we've proven that, but they should be deserved favorites in all encounters in the near future.
India is a superior side who should be able to beat Pakistan in a bilateral series 7 times out of 10. But in the one-offs we play Pakistan will have similar odds. Hence, the arrogance displayed by this poster is not justified since the last time Indian fans were so confident they got the phainty of their lifetime in a final.

PSL doesn't produce players. It gives opportunities to players who have been performing in domestic to impress in a higher quality tournament on TV.

India is a superior side who should be able to beat Pakistan in a bilateral series 7 times out of 10. But in the one-offs we play Pakistan will have similar odds. Hence, the arrogance displayed by this poster is not justified since the last time Indian fans were so confident they got the phainty of their lifetime in a final.

We even won the last bilateral in 2012 when our team wasnt as good as now

Sharjeel, shadab, Faheem, Rumman, Hasan ali would have made it easily. Maybe even Fakhar but i think you will go with Sharjeel.

Dont say no, its pointless. You know current Indian team needs such players. Quality fast bowlers, all rounders ( a leggie and a pace bowling one), a belligerent left handed opener (maybe a second choice one but required nevertheless)
Really?
Dhawan, rohit>>>>>>>>>>>>>>sharjeel(so sharjeel would only have been a bench warmer, justblike kl rahul)
Pandya has not perforemed consistently but he already has some really good innings including a man of the series vs aus, faheem has potential but he hasn't proved anything yet, so pandya is atm better.
Hassan can easily be the lead bowler, no doubt about that.
Kuldeep, chahal have performed better than shadab, and we also have some untested talents like Washington and krunal.
Rumman not at all.
Fakhar is brilliant but no batting lineup in the world can replace our top 3.

Really? Before the PSL started we had threads on how Indian cricket has surged ahead thanks to IPL products who learn to play under pressure scenario's from when they were young. The difference is that India has also got a really strong first class circuit; I'd put them on par with England and Australia especially in the past few years. Quite a few of the new names came through their First Class competition, and then honed their skills playing in the IPL.

I'm not a huge follower of the IPL, especially in the last two seasons, but the impression I have is that Sundar and Chahal came through the IPL system, as did Bumrah. Bhuvneshwar went from being a trundler to a decent death bowler through the IPL, and Kartik is apparently an IPL team captain. (Did not expect the last one tbh!)

Pakistan's talent pool is much smaller, so there's a fast track to the first-team that isn't there with India. Take that Nair (sp?) guy who scored a triple; he isn't even in the team anymore! Can't imagine that happening with Pakistan.

Really? Before the PSL started we had threads on how Indian cricket has surged ahead thanks to IPL products who learn to play under pressure scenario's from when they were young. The difference is that India has also got a really strong first class circuit; I'd put them on par with England and Australia especially in the past few years. Quite a few of the new names came through their First Class competition, and then honed their skills playing in the IPL.

I'm not a huge follower of the IPL, especially in the last two seasons, but the impression I have is that Sundar and Chahal came through the IPL system, as did Bumrah. Bhuvneshwar went from being a trundler to a decent death bowler through the IPL, and Kartik is apparently an IPL team captain. (Did not expect the last one tbh!)

Pakistan's talent pool is much smaller, so there's a fast track to the first-team that isn't there with India. Take that Nair (sp?) guy who scored a triple; he isn't even in the team anymore! Can't imagine that happening with Pakistan.

Don't be surprised if the OP conveniently ignores the names mentioned in your post. Washington Sundar, Chahal, Kuldeep, Bumrah, Pandya, etc. are all recent names that have gained recognition/benefited from IPL. In the earlier part, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan and tons of other players benefited from IPL. Rohit Sharma honed his captaincy skills as MI captain.

In fact, and understandably so, PSL in comparison is yet to add a lot of value as it is a new league and will take time to establish itself. Moreover, once more International players start taking part, you would see an improved professionalism in the young players. However, it has indeed allowed the selectors an additional data point to select players and increased the selection team's accountability.

The OP had a hypothesis in his mind, which has been unanimously rejected by the forum and his logic has been challenged by everyone, but all that seems to have gone in vain.

Jeez ! One more IPL vs PSL thread ! :facepalm:

On topic, agree with summary post #30 [MENTION=146612]BlackShadow[/MENTION] :19:

Really?
Dhawan, rohit>>>>>>>>>>>>>>sharjeel(so sharjeel would only have been a bench warmer, justblike kl rahul)
Pandya has not perforemed consistently but he already has some really good innings including a man of the series vs aus, faheem has potential but he hasn't proved anything yet, so pandya is atm better.
Hassan can easily be the lead bowler, no doubt about that.
Kuldeep, chahal have performed better than shadab, and we also have some untested talents like Washington and krunal.
Rumman not at all.
Fakhar is brilliant but no batting lineup in the world can replace our top 3.

I mentioned Sharjeel as a second choice opener.

Shadab is a leg spin all rounder. Advantage over chahal and kuldeep. And he is a better fielder than them as well. The lesser said about chahal's batting and fielding the better.

Obviously Pandya will be the 1st choice pace bowling allrounder in the side, but are you telling me these thakurs and all will be playing ODI cricket ahead of Faheem who is the leading wicket taker in PSL at the moment? Faheem is a vastly superior bowler to Pandya anyway.

Rummaj not at all? Lol nice joke. Remind me what your pace bowling options are that Rumman wont find a place. And Dont mention Shami now.

Yes for Fakhar it would be hard to break in. At least not yet.

OP wrote PSL, that's the biggest mistake. There is no comparsion between both leagues where IPL is superior. Criticize IPL, but that won't make PSL better.

For OP's sake, I'll summarise all the points people have put forward this thread -

a) Half of India's (World #1 ODI team) players today are IPL products, so OP makes little sense.
b) India has a far more robust system to induct players, so IPL isn't all there is.
c) It is much harder to replace players in a top ranked Indian side compared to the kind of competition PSL players get.

All great points.

Exactly!

For example, once the Pakistani bowling attack is set, newcomers will have a hard time breaking in, irrespective of their PSL performance and even if they do get a chance, they will be under too much pressure to play to their potential.

I don't watch the IPL so I may be wrong here.
India have a lot of good young players in the national team, and the fact that they aren't coming from the IPL is a good thing- it just means that the selectors are doing a good job scouting players before they even get to the IPL

In Pakistan on the other hand, selectors for the last 15 years haven't gone out and selected youngsters. PSL just makes their job easier when the entire country can see someone perform...

The fact that selectors have to wait till the PSL to find talent every year shows how incompetent they are and how much the system sucks

Depends on your definition of "IPL product". I could argue that Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav all either joined the national team in the "IPL era" (2008-present) or grew as players and became famous because of it.

of the players you listed only KL is not a IPL success story , rather hes come thrugh from age group / domestic etc the rest made it to the indian team based on their IPL performances .

It's been 10 years still not fulfilling the basic cause to produce players for national team.

Undakat, Rahul, Pant, Pandey, Sran, Rishi, Samson all either failing or not getting chances.

Whereas, PSL, despite being a new league, is producing atleast 2 players every year. "Above all, all have become permanent members of the team."

2016 - Sharjeel khan, Hassan Ali, Nawaz.

2017 - Fakhar, Shadab, Rumman, Usman.

2018 - It looks like Hussain, Shaheen and Asif would get a look into.

Note: Please don't quarrel. Just discuss. And yes, anyone can disagree with my view.

What do you mean by "produce" here ?

we have 8-9 players in the team who made it to the national side cos of IPL . You seem to have named few players who either are not IPL hits like KL or some random players like Rishi , sran etc .

India has never won a world t20 since the start of the IPL, did not reach the ko/semi stages for 3 tournaments after and has not produced the quality t20 players Pakistan has. It isn't even on Windies level.

So as a way of producing top t20 players it has failed miserably.

India has never won a world t20 since the start of the IPL, did not reach the ko/semi stages for 3 tournaments after and has not produced the quality t20 players Pakistan has. It isn't even on Windies level.

So as a way of producing top t20 players it has failed miserably.
That's because PAK have been the best T20 team of the last 11 years. Only had a dry spell between late 2015-2016.

Thats true, with the Windies being their closest competitors (although Pak wiped them out in the recent bilaterals). Both have produced the best/most entertaining T20 cricketers.

I'd say NZ, without the finances of the BCCI, CA or ECB is easily third.

But in terms of leagues, the PSL has either helped highlight or select guys who have gone on to become very good young limited overs players for Pakistan. This is just the 3rd edition and we could have 4 or 5 more for the coming years. The IPL has not been able to do that, not as consistently anyway.

That raises some serious questions. What happens in the IPL? Are the domestic batsmen only good enough for Asian wickets? Were are the bowlers like Ajmal, Hasan, Shadab? Where are the all rounders? And what is the point of the IPL beyond bhangra and Bollywood?

In that case either Pakistan has the best WL in t20 or the highest number of T20 world cups.

IND and PAK have the highest Win-Loss ratios out of all the Test playing nations.
IND: 64.3
PAK: 61.4
IND: 2 Finals, 1 WINNER
PAK: 1 Final, 1 WINNER, Current #1 T20 Team.

Psl isn't producing talented players, the talent is already there, psl just allows them to get a good coach and be able to get noticed (because our domestic is terrible and so is our selector)

BTW, are you Indian? Because I thought you'd be because of the name but you're always posting about Pakistan

India has an established, more complete and proper domestic system with almost appropriate selection happening, so if a guy rips it at the domestic, he is already highlighted enough to not rely solely on the IPL.

For Pakistan, team is (was a couple years ago) full of dead horses lingering about. The domestic performers get overlooked, the selectors are biased and clueless. The domestic system is very flawed and weak. So when the PSL happens, it is a truer case of dudh ka dudh aur paani ka paani situation in majority of cases with the players. And, once a player shines, then the nepotism has to step down a wee bit and let that player into the central setup, hence making it look like PSL is producing these stars.

Me thinks....

in maybe next 3-4 years when the actual central contracted pool of players gets stronger and dead horses are mostly gone, you will be on a par statement for PSL and IPL that these leagues are useless they don't give us any stars.... maybe psl still might be the same because with our domestic scene its a hopeless case...

PCB can not ignore players if they perform in the PSL.
The likes of Nasir Nawaz get tossed to the side for non-cricketing reasons.

PSL isn't just producing players for Pakistan, but other countries as well. England have a lot to thank for PSL Malan bhai :afridi

PCB can not ignore players if they perform in the PSL.
The likes of Nasir Nawaz get tossed to the side for non-cricketing reasons.

ussay kis ne kaha tha hero banay aur sleeping marketing manager ko nakhrey dikhaye.... sad to see him sidelined... yeh toh pcb ka haal hai... and no one has the walnuts to question stuff like that on air... kaash aik rameez raja ya bazid khan ya kisi aur cricket related person ya hamaray so called legendary cricketers mein dam hota ke yeh sawal on air pooch saktay ya pcb se pooch saktay aur highlight kartay ke us bachay ko kyon sideline kar dia geya hai... ya us bachay ko apni team mein chance deitay.... par yahan har koi apna ulu seedha karnay ko baitha howa hai...

ussay kis ne kaha tha hero banay aur sleeping marketing manager ko nakhre dikhaye.... sad to see him sidelined... yeh toh pcb ka haal hai... and no one has the walnuts to question stuff like that on air... kaash aik rameez raja ya bazid khan ya kisi aur cricket related person ya hamaray so called legendary cricketers mein dam hota ke yeh sawal on air pooch saktay ya pcb se pooch saktay aur highlight kartay ke us bachay ko kyon sideline kar dia geya hai... ya us bachay ko apni team mein chance deitay.... par yahan har koi apna ulu seedha karnay ko baitha howa hai...

Why would anyone ignore receiving a healthy paycheck for little to no work by upsetting those that pay them to keep quiet? There are far more talented commentators out there for PAK but they won't behave like those on air. When the PCB Chairman has been appointed not out of merit but out of a game of political musical chairs, what do you expect the rest of them to do?

PSL isn't just producing players for Pakistan, but other countries as well. England have a lot to thank for PSL Malan bhai :afridi

yah, a lot of no-name players are becoming stalwarts.... plus some like ronchi are probably gona get a nice loaded contract next time around.

ronchi bhai green passport chahiyay? lolz... having said that sarfi is useless, and Mohamad Rizwan if you are reading this, bhai ap ne sahi dil tora hai.... thori himat aur mehnat karo aur batting ko improve kar loh... and Rohail Nazir if you are reading this, then please bhai apni batting ko already shine karna shuru kar doh extra, we deserve a dhoni/sanga type wkt batsman.... and sarfi if you are reading this, choro yar, ap biryani khao bhai... kahin patlay na ho jana....

Why would anyone ignore receiving a healthy paycheck for little to no work by upsetting those that pay them to keep quiet? There are far more talented commentators out there for PAK but they won't behave like those on air. When the PCB Chairman has been appointed not out of merit but out of a game of political musical chairs, what do you expect the rest of them to do?

aik din aye ga jab chiryaa wala bhi chala jaye ga... aik neya suraj ubhray ga, lekin tabh tak soccer popular ho jaye ga... :)

Am sorry but this article does no justice to reality.
To get into the ODI/T20 team performance in the IPL is paramount along with domestic results but the selectors are wise not to awrd just about anybody who scores or takes a lot of wickets in the IPL. I believe Chahal, Kuldeep, Hardik, Washington are some of the other success stories of IPL to International transitioning while folks like Rahul, Kedar, Manish, Dinesh have performed admirably at the domestic circuit to warrant a place in the side. The system in India is quite organised and streamlined and selections happening on impulse is a thing of the past, there still exists zone based selection which sucks but hopefully that will give away soon (Courtesy Lodha committee)

Now coming to PSL and Pakistan cricket, Pakistan domestic cricket isnt half as organised as India's is and most senior cricketers are critics and don't help development. Pakistan is always known to pick kids from the dark throw them into fire and see them perform or perish. While it has worked wonders with Afridi, Waqar, Amir to some extent, it also hasnt with some others like Hasan Raza. Point to prove is if you look at the number of teenagers who made their debut for Pakistan its way more than that for India. Since they dont have a very organised structure PSL is an easy solution to push guys in the team. I dont really agree its to with team rankings or probably i would say this reflects in the Team Rankings.

I don't know if this is a good thing or a bad thing.

I mean, India's domestic cricket is in much better position then Pakistans. I mean, I would rather have a strong domestic structure that produces world class talent. Rather then wait an year to see whether someone is ready in the PSL.

Also, how about those players that are not suited for T20 cricket? It's all perspective, I guess at this point.

I mentioned Sharjeel as a second choice opener.

Shadab is a leg spin all rounder. Advantage over chahal and kuldeep. And he is a better fielder than them as well. The lesser said about chahal's batting and fielding the better.

Obviously Pandya will be the 1st choice pace bowling allrounder in the side, but are you telling me these thakurs and all will be playing ODI cricket ahead of Faheem who is the leading wicket taker in PSL at the moment? Faheem is a vastly superior bowler to Pandya anyway.

Rummaj not at all? Lol nice joke. Remind me what your pace bowling options are that Rumman wont find a place. And Dont mention Shami now.

Yes for Fakhar it would be hard to break in. At least not yet.
Faheem is not a vastly superior bowler.
Why should i exclude shami from indian bowling side he has permission to play in ipl and there are good chances that he'll get back in team. I will have umesh yadav instead of rumman.
Chahal and kuli are superior bowlers so shadab has less chances and we also have sundar who is a capable batsman. Krunal pandya is also there.
Though i agred that these psl products can be backup for our team.

Don't be a drama queen, your heart shouldn't be that fragile.

Only 11 get to play for the national team. However well a player may do in the IPL, he is not going to displace Kohli or Pujara. Also Indian selectors go with older players like Dhawan and Rohit rather than newer players like Rahul or Nair.

It is not as if the current Indian team was doing poorly. If it was doing poorly you could ask why IPL isn't letting us discover talent.

Reality check for you is that India is currently ranked #1 in Tests, #1 in ODIs and Pakistan is ranked #7 in Tests and #6 in ODIs, so stop complaining.

Faheem is not a vastly superior bowler.
Why should i exclude shami from indian bowling side he has permission to play in ipl and there are good chances that he'll get back in team. I will have umesh yadav instead of rumman.
Chahal and kuli are superior bowlers so shadab has less chances and we also have sundar who is a capable batsman. Krunal pandya is also there.
Though i agred that these psl products can be backup for our team.

Save that Faheem-Pandya comparison for the thread. As of now...
Padya > Faheem (batsman)
Pandya < Faheem (bowler)

Umm. Perhaps Indian selectors and not counting IPL performances too much. India has much better and more competitive domestic setup and one need to perform consistently in domestic circuit, before they can be picked in the national team.

Who is the IPL star failing in Indian National Team? The ones you named (Unadakat, Pant, Samson etc) are not even getting picked for National A Squads. Because List A and First class performance count far more.

And from PSL, with a exception of possibly Hasan Ali, none of the other PSL played you named would be even considered for Indian National Team.

Tbf IPL has produced talent, but it hasn’t always been selected
Best example of this is last year
Krunal Pandya, Basil Thampi and Rahul Tripathi all could have been part of the Champions Trophy squad

Nitish Rana also looked like an awesome talent last year

As an IPL fan as well as a PSL fan, I see that both leagues have produced talent
But in the past IPL talent may be overlooked due to other big names in the squad

IPL is a franchise cricket..producing players is the responsibility of BCCI, academies and first class structure. If any country, including India, are looking to franchise cricket to produce and develop cricketers for their international team, then their FC setup is already screwed up..

Shadab would too

He is miles ahead of any all rounder in India

Shadab would be well behind Washington Sundar and Yuz Chahal.

He's a promising prospect, but I know any Pakistani "talent" gets automatically rated much higher around here regardless of the facts!

Shadab would be well behind Washington Sundar and Yuz Chahal.

He's a promising prospect, but I know any Pakistani "talent" gets automatically rated much higher around here regardless of the facts!

Yes Washington Sundar the poor man's Imad Wasim :))

Shadab would too

He is miles ahead of any all rounder in India

Do you mean to say in ODI and T20I. Because in Tests, both Ashwin and Jadeja are miles ahead of Shadab. In ODI also, India will only select a fast bowling all round. That is why, only Hasan Ali has any chance of getting picked into Indian Team.

The question op is asking is wrong in the first place.

Bcci selects players based upon domestic performance. Hence ipl performance is irrelevant in the first place.

Pakistani players already don't play IPL and we hope it stays that way. Can Indians take their worries about which Pak player would get picked in IPL or not to some Indian cricket forum?.......oh wait

Agreed. Since ipl doesn't allow Pak players, this whole who will get picked or not picked is pointless.

The question op is asking is wrong in the first place.

Bcci selects players based upon domestic performance. Hence ipl performance is irrelevant in the first place.

Hence you see players like Vijay Shankar, Karthik, Pandey making their way back repeatedly. They are all performing domestically in FC, List A and T20

To question the Op's answer, IPL facilitated the come backs of quite a few players. Raina, Ashwin, Jadeja, Rohit, Dhawan can thank IPL. Rohit was persisted with in the middle overs and even moved to opening slot just so that he can be in the team. This was after his exploits with Deccan Chargers. Bumrah and Pandya haven't done much in first class and are products of IPL.

However, players are just a small part of the impact of IPL. It's the attitude of the players and the way Indian team went to the next level because of IPL. Players aren't scared to face great bowlers or batsman in other countries anymore. Indian players have found ways to win from difficult situations because of the IPL experience. No Indian player is awe struck anymore.

In Test, Shadab is not even a rookie yet.
In ODI’s and T20’s, he’s up there with the current best.