[VID] "Don't call them Bengalis call them Bangladesh or you also risk being banned" : Sarfaraz Ahmed

Not sure if Sarfaraz actually understands the issue - atleast not from this video clip

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Question: Do you not think Shoaib Malik deserved a farewell match against the Bengalis?<br><br>Sarfaraz Ahmed: Don't call them Bengalis, call them Bangladesh, or you also risk being banned.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a> <a href="https://t.co/5P5P07fZ8G">pic.twitter.com/5P5P07fZ8G</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1147876662882832389?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 7, 2019</a></blockquote>

Not sure if Sarfaraz actually understands the issue - atleast not from this video clip

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Question: Do you not think Shoaib Malik deserved a farewell match against the Bengalis?<br><br>Sarfaraz Ahmed: Don't call them Bengalis, call them Bangladesh, or you also risk being banned.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a> <a href="https://t.co/5P5P07fZ8G">pic.twitter.com/5P5P07fZ8G</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1147876662882832389?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 7, 2019</a></blockquote>

He clearly thinks he did nothing wrong with this Andile situation. Absolutely embarrassing stuff.

Hes clueless not just on the field but off it too.

This is really idiotic from him

Really embarrassing.

Shows he has no remorse

Bengali is not a derogatory term.

And Sarfaraz apology for his racist remark was not sincere it seems

Keep digging hole for yourself sarfraz .hopefully pcb shows some spine and save us from further embarrassment

He didn't say it the right way, but his essence was right. Those who have grown up in Pakistan specifically Karachi would know that the term "Bengali" is often referred in detest. He was right in correcting the reporter in using the right term which is "Bangladeshi".... however his lack of education took over and he added a few unnecessary points which diluted his message.

Calling Bangladeshis "Bangali" is reminiscent of pre-1971 mindset. But Sarfaraz could've corrected that journalist without mocking his own suspension for racist comments. Pakistan needs a non-paindu Captain.

Not only pre-1971..... the reality is someone who is of a slightly darker skin tone is often called a "Bengali" maybe it came about before succession of Bangladesh .... it is used as a derogatory word. The reporter was too naive, ignorant or uninformed to realize it. Good of Sarfaraz to correct her but shouldn't have run his mouth.

As a Bangladeshi, I don't get offended if someone calls me "Bengali". However, others may get offended.

As captain, he should be a bit more diplomatic and careful. No issue with me though.

His reasons are wrong but what he is saying is right. To better identify the people of Bengal region, people in West Bengal = Bengali and people in Bangladesh = Bangladeshi.

Can my Pakistani friends help me out here? I mean, so as I understand, Bengali is a bad word in your Country? I mean, Sourav Ganguly is a Bengali. So If we call him Bengali its a gaali ?

A person of slightly darker skin tone is often called a "Bengali" in a mocking manner.

And Saurav will be referred to being from Bengal, rather than Bengali.... semantics

I personally have no issue with being called "Bengali". I have better things to do. Still, better to be careful.

You have to take in it's historic context.
The term 'Bengali' said by a Pakistani was 90% of the time in disgust at the other part of the country that wouldn't speak Urdu and clung on to Sanskrit and Pali derived Bengali.

If what the above poster saying is right, then i take my words back against Sarfraz on this.

Good for him for pointing it out then, but he used his own example of that case in a very poor taste, shouldn't had done that

A few BD posters on PP have asked to not be called Bengali before, IIRC. Bengali is an ethnicity; in itself, nothing wrong with it, but it is used in a derogatory manner sometimes. Point is valid.

But Sarfaraz had to push in that 'also' like a clown... :facepalm:

Don't run mouth without knowledge. "Bengali" is used as a derogatory term in Pakistan.

There are different rules in different areas, just like P.aki is a bad term in the UK but perfectly acceptable in rest of the world.

Umm no, it's a derogatory term worldwide.

noun informal•offensive
plural noun: *****
a person from Pakistan or South Asia by birth or descent, especially one living in Britain.

BENGALI
plural noun: Bengalis

1. a native or inhabitant of Bengal.
2. an Indic language spoken in Bangladesh and parts of northeastern India

adjective: Bengali
1. relating to Bengal, its people, or their language.

Eh? Don't have any problems with you guys calling us "Bengalis". Sarfaraz needs to realize that saying "kaale" or the N-word is different from calling someone "Bengali". One is fine and the other would earn you a slap

If Bengalis dont find the word offensive it doesnt matter what others think. Ive never come across a single Bengali who has been offended by this term.

Non-story , not worth a thread imo.

I believe this thread is more about how Sarfraz doesn't know what to say and how to say. He does not seem as polished as Misbah.

Bangladeshis are very sensitive about their nationality and so they should be.

I believe this thread is more about how Sarfraz doesn't know what to say and how to say. He does not seem as polished as Misbah.

Its turning into old aunties gossiping. Who cares what he has said? We are out of the world cup, discuss cricket not this nonsense.

Am a bit lost with whats wrong here. Anyone wants to fill in the gap? Bengalis is a derogatory term? Since when? I refer to my BD friends as Bengali and they are fine with that. Never seen any objection from it. Is this term used as a derogatory word in PAK? Similar to how pak"i" is used as one in UK but not here in canada?

To be fair, Bangladesh have more than one ethnic group living and representing the country. So it's inaccurate to call them Bengalis. Plus, Bengali is used as derogatory term to mock ppl with darker skins in Pakistan. So saifi is not completely wrong.

Am a bit lost with whats wrong here. Anyone wants to fill in the gap? Bengalis is a derogatory term? Since when? I refer to my BD friends as Bengali and they are fine with that. Never seen any objection from it. Is this term used as a derogatory word in PAK? Similar to how pak"i" is used as one in UK but not here in canada?

People with dark skin tone are called "Bengali" in Pak in a derogatory manner. Even in Canada I refrain from using that term to refer my B.Deshi friends.

I had no clue. Should have a discussion with my Bd friends and see if they take offence to it. You learn something new everyday.

So the rest of us in the world must not use this word because some backward people in Pakistan use it as derogatory term? :inti

Not only pre-1971..... the reality is someone who is of a slightly darker skin tone is often called a "Bengali" maybe it came about before succession of Bangladesh .... it is used as a derogatory word. The reporter was too naive, ignorant or uninformed to realize it. Good of Sarfaraz to correct her but shouldn't have run his mouth.

Sarfaraz is an illiterate fool, nothing else.

Bengalis r one of the largest ethnic group in the world. Only idiots of highest caliber would consider that term as something derogatory.

That reporter said nothing wrong. Sarfaraz has just shown his poor upbringing here.

I had no clue. Should have a discussion with my Bd friends and see if they take offence to it. You learn something new everyday.

Different rules apply to different places. Your BD friends probably won't have an issue with it. Much like the P-word is considered racist in UK but perfectly fine everywhere else. I just don't use the word Bengali for my BD friends because of the negative connotations of the word ingrained into me.

Sarfaraz is an illiterate fool, nothing else.

Bengalis r one of the largest ethnic group in the world. Only idiots of highest caliber would consider that term as something derogatory.

That reporter said nothing wrong. Sarfaraz has just shown his poor upbringing here.

In Pak it is a negative word.

So the rest of us in the world must not use this word because some backward people in Pakistan use it as derogatory term? :inti

The press conference was in Pakistan, and was being conducted by Pakistanis with Pakistanis in attendance. The rules of the rest of the world do not apply. The rules of Pakistan apply, and in Pakistan the term "Bengali" is used in a negative sense. Don't act like an expert without having any knowledge of the ground realities. Spending a couple of summers in Pakistan during your life does not make you an expert on Pakistani culture.

U won't have to ask anyone.

Why would a bengali take offence if he's called by his origin.

Too uncouth to be our captain, embarrasing.

I think that's going too far. He may not be Oxford educated or speak polished English but he's a straight forward guy who speaks his heart usually and doesn't easily get offended (even when insulted in front of his kid). He may not be the best captain but speaking perfect polished society talk is no criteria to judge someone's efficacy as a captain. Let his leadership skills or lack of it be the yardstick, not his command over language and manners.

I personally have no issue with being called "Bengali". I have better things to do. Still, better to be careful.

If u r a bengali, why would u take offence if u r called a bengali.

Bengalis r one of the largest ethnicities in the world and every single bengali takes extreme pride in their culture, language and ethnicity

Even if u didn't have anything better to do, u wouldn't have taken any offence by that.

What an idiot. Isn't Bengali the main language of Bangladesh? I know a lot of folks from Punjab, Pakistan and are fine with being addressed as Punjabis'

The press conference was in Pakistan, and was being conducted by Pakistanis with Pakistanis in attendance. The rules of the rest of the world do not apply. The rules of Pakistan apply, and in Pakistan the term "Bengali" is used in a negative sense. Don't act like an expert without having any knowledge of the ground realities. Spending a couple of summers in Pakistan during your life does not make you an expert on Pakistani culture.

Well if that is the case then this should nopt have been broadcast or shared with an international audience. What you say on a public forum as a representative or a leading personality will be analyzed by everyone who listens or watches it that's why public figures and personbalities have a higher burden on their conduct in public

The reporter said Bengali.... he corrected her.

Honestly I agree with you, at least captain shouldn't be this ignorant and paindu.

Lol PCB should have saved us from this national embarrassment by sacking this good for nothing captain. Sarfraz being captain just shows far behind Pakistan is compare to top teams. You can never become a top team if you don't have good leaders. Pakistan has players to break into top 4 but lack leadership.

Stop getting personal with each other - if you cant control your emotions - dont post on this thread.

Honestly I agree with you, at least captain shouldn't be this ignorant and paindu.
Then sarfraz complains when people abuse him when his own manners are of a really illiterate guy. This guy has no shame.

Then sarfraz complains when people abuse him when his own manners are of a really illiterate guy. This guy has no shame. Expected better from a so called hafiz e Quran.

Are you even serious? The reporter used racist term and he corrected her, but you are bringing everything from his upbringing to religious education etc.

Some people :facepalm: :facepalm: :facepalm:

I watched the press conference. He said to the reporter it is 'GHAIR AKHLAKI' don't say this. I don't understand the hue and cry. It was a good response from Saifi.

What an idiot. Isn't Bengali the main language of Bangladesh? I know a lot of folks from Punjab, Pakistan and are fine with being addressed as Punjabis'

This guy just wanted to show he did nothing wrong by calling someone by his race than name. Zero remorse.

Are you even serious? The reporter used racist term and he corrected her, but you are bringing everything from his upbringing to religious education etc.

You are spot on. And I liked how he corrected the reporter.

Just wait till he becomes a pundit after the retirement. He will wreak havoc with his stupid comments.

Read OP. It clearly says how Sarfraz is mocking that ban he received by calling pheluk by his skin color than name.

The term 'Bengali' said by a Pakistani was 90% of the time in disgust at the other part of the country that wouldn't speak Urdu and clung on to Sanskrit and Pali derived Bengali.

If you took Sanskrit out of Urdu, you would be left with a language without a grammar. Good luck with that.

Read OP. It clearly says how Sarfraz is mocking that ban he received by calling pheluk by his skin color than name.

This is the issue in summary. Uptil that point, Sarfaraz was merely correcting the reporter. Once he mocked the ban, that put a new light to it and we all knew what he really thought about that ban

Agree. Am a critic of Sarfraz but he was trying to do the right thing here, people attacking him for nothing.

Got to defend sarfaraz here. Almost 99% of the time the term used in karachi has negative connotations associated with it. And the way the paindu reporter pronuced it was 100% derogatory. So I can see where sarfaraz was coming from

If u r a bengali, why would u take offence if u r called a bengali.

Bengalis r one of the largest ethnicities in the world and every single bengali takes extreme pride in their culture, language and ethnicity

Even if u didn't have anything better to do, u wouldn't have taken any offence by that.

I am a Bengali and always thought myself to be so. Hindi and Bengali are sister languages and together are one of the largest language groups.

In large parts of South India, Bengali is stereotyped as well educated, well spoken and smart (sometimes cunning) individual. As far as I know the same term is a bit of a slur in Pakistan as it refer to their skin color. So Sarfaraz is right in correcting the reporter but by bringing his ban into picture he seems to imply she shouldn’t be doing it as she will get banned not because it is wrong. Doesn’t seem to understand why he was banned. He desperately needs media coaching. The he was doing something while that lady was talking also doesn’t send good message. He needs to make eye contact when someone is talking and asking questions to him

I believe people are missing a key point.

In pakistan, perhaps it is insulting.

Rest of the world including bangladesh, it is ok.

I think that's going too far. He may not be Oxford educated or speak polished English but he's a straight forward guy who speaks his heart usually and doesn't easily get offended (even when insulted in front of his kid). He may not be the best captain but speaking perfect polished society talk is no criteria to judge someone's efficacy as a captain. Let his leadership skills or lack of it be the yardstick, not his command over language and manners.

I agree with you to a certain extent. However, there needs to be a certain degree of sophistication when being captain of your national team. Just look at the interview between Virat and Sarfaraz regarding India vs Pakistan. with Sarfaraz unable to even articulate a simple answer. Even here, it's quite obvious that he isn't educated enough to understand why the comments he made against Andile landed him in deep water.

Of course, it would be easier to overlook if he were an exceptional player or genius on the field but that clearly isn't the case

As is with the word ghora, as I was made aware bye a few close friends.
some consider it derogatory

One aspect is sure though. His apology wasnt sincere. He most probably lied about being apologetic.

Sarfraz was right to tell that the reporter shouldn't term us as Bangalese. Yes we should be called as Bangladeshi. Bangalese are those who those whose mother tongue is the language Bangla. A good number of people ,a few crores speak Bangla. But they are not Bangladeshi. Pakistan were playing against a country named Bangladesh. It's a fool act really to use that term

Surprising to see most people focusing on the technicality of the first part of his sentence, rather than his shameless attitude in its second part, where he shamelessly jokes about his ban for #Abaykaalaygate, acting as if there was an overreaction to his stupidity in South Africa. That should be the real issue here.

Got to defend sarfaraz here. Almost 99% of the time the term used in karachi has negative connotations associated with it. And the way the paindu reporter pronuced it was 100% derogatory. So I can see where sarfaraz was coming from

Well I was unaware of this. I thought bengali is a normal Urdu word to refer to.

There needs to be a balanced line here.

What next "Punjabi" being considered a derogatory word too just because some ignorant Afghans use it in a negative sense?

Well I was unaware of this. I thought bengali is a normal Urdu word to refer to.

There needs to be a balanced line here.

What next "Punjabi" being considered a derogatory word too just because some ignorant Afghans use it in a negative sense?

Even if this is the case, I don't understand why Sarfraz is being partially praised for what he said. He basically says this in a mocking context, as if to say: "Ooh, be careful with what you're saying, those snowflakes might ban you for something minor like they did with me". This is basically what his disappointingly unremorseful statement implies.

Yes it's pretty embarrassing.

From Razzaq to Tanvir Ahmed to Sarfaraz all these cricketers have no clue about how to talk in public.

Shameful and humiliating stuff as a Pakistani.

Hopefully the next batch of new players have some sense and manners.

Since when Bengali an offensive term?

East Pakistanis dominated political scene in 50s (three PMs). There was a political campaign in 60s in West Pakistan to portray East Pakistanis as 3rd class citizens not capable enough to lead country or any institute. Hence Bengali became offensive word. It evolved just like present day words of Patwari, Noora, ******** etc. Ironically these words also represent particular sections of society.

PCB needs to end this embarrassment.

It's getting way too much.

Bhai Mani & Wasim, what's your use? If you can't kick out this unparh. :danish

And Sarfaraz apology for his racist remark was not sincere it seems

It not the first time Sarfraz making us embarrassed .
I am happy to be called Punjabi, similarly I'm sure other folks have no problem being called Sindhi or Baloch or Balochi, what's wrong with calling people from Bengal,as Bengali

Nothing wrong with the term Bengalis, that's who they are

It not the first time Sarfraz making us embarrassed .
I am happy to be called Punjabi, similarly I'm sure other folks have no problem being called Sindhi or Baloch or Balochi, what's wrong with calling people from Bengal,as Bengali

Ironically if he had referred to that South African player as "abby afriki" it would have been perfectly acceptable culturally and linguistically.

For those who are saying Bengali is a negative word in Pakistan, open up the English-Urdu Dictionary and define what Bengali means. If it's offensive, then it should be written, like how P*KI is defined as offensive in English dictionaries.

Some of you people live in your own fantasy world and think whatever your opinions are must be solid truth. The egos on this forum are hilarious.

http://udb.gov.pk/

Its a shame that Sarfaraz didn’t understand the critical nature of referring to a SA player as “Kaale”.

Calling Bangladeshi as Bengali might not be the correct usage of the word but its no way a racist thing so the comparison which Sarfaraz tried to make here was in pretty poor taste and uncalled for in my opinion.

Its a shame that Sarfaraz didn’t understand the critical nature of referring to a SA player as “Kaale”.

Calling Bangladeshi as Bengali might not be the correct usage of the word but its no way a racist thing so the comparison which Sarfaraz tried to make here was in pretty poor taste and uncalled for in my opinion.

It's not what he said, it's how he said it. He was making a mockery of the whole Bengali-Bangladeshi thing. Overall, it just shows his upbringing and lack of education.

I agree. All I can think of is that he might be a bit frustrated, angry and under pressure due to his captaincy and team performances of last 2 years being under scrutiny from everywhere which can be understandable but he needs get hold of himself rather than making senseless comments.

He didn’t mean it in a racist way but his background does not enable him to understand the differences in cultures.

I think the guy is just mentally shot; tired and ready to go home.

Good luck to him but please, do us all favor and give up the reigns.