I don't mean that the way Najam Sethi says that we want to play India, its just that Virat is just too smart and media-savvy to say anything like that about our fast bowlers (I mean come on Mohammad Irfan). Virat knows exactly what he says in his press conferences, he never says anything without a reason. He can say alot of things indirectly without having to say them directly.
"Hardik Pandya has an ipod. He has only English songs. He doesn't know even 5 words from any song"
"Hardik Pandya is a 'lost soul'.He doesn't have control over what he says,One time He came to me & said " Yaar wo 'Ravikashyap Ashvin' kya Bowling dalta hai""
����Lost it there.
Such a great interview,You can see the typical Delhi guy in him & feel like you know him.
Now I'm really stoked for a MSD interview since he doesn't make much media appearances.
Virat is a typical delhi guy.. the way he swears and reacts in situatio is typical of delhi. Delhites are always on your face attitude with no fear as straight forward as you can get around the world.Punjabiya di balle balle. ....how you define a delhi guy ? delhi has alot of cultures. ...
Virat is a typical delhi guy.. the way he swears and reacts in situatio is typical of delhi. Delhites are always on your face attitude with no fear as straight forward as you can get around the world.
Virat Kohli will bypass SRT in terms of popularity - that is no statement on what type of player SRT was but more a testament to how well VK is able to handle and project himself to the media/public
Not being disrespectful towards you at all, but trust me, it can never happen even if he ends up averaging more than Bradman and scores 200 international centuries. That spot has already been taken by Sachin. Indian fans will allude with what I'm saying.
SRT will always be referred as The Great One by fans but the popularity = Virat K.
Not really, any Indian fan will realize what I'm saying. Kohli is immensely popular, but no cricketer can come even close to Sachin in terms of popularity and love from Indian fans.
You are talking about now. Think 10 years ahead if VK keeps on doing what he is doing now.
And also you dont need to refer to Indian fans in every other post! I am sure they will express themselves in this thread soon
Sorry if I offended you, but I have lived all my life in India and I know what Sachin meant to the people here and still does. No other celebrity, let alone a cricketer, has enjoyed such an emotional bond with his fans.
I agree, Sachin was just not centuries and statistics, he was the HOPE for a nation, nowadays there are many people excelling not only in cricket but also other sports in India.
Most Pakistani cricketer in Indian team would be Virender Sehwag rather than Kohli. Super agressive but often knew one way to play,not much about technique, would demolish anyone on his day but then would look like an absolute hack on his bad days and was a lazy runner and fielder.Nice interview. He's the most Pakistani cricketer in Indian team's history
A bit cringy for me tho, watched forwarding in pieces.
Also, VK has dyed his hair and beard![]()
Virat is not even half the batsman Sachin was and not even have 10% of his popularity.
Now this is just embarrassing hyperbole and is the kind of saccharine hero worship that utterly encapsulates why most Pakistanis prefer the likes of Kohli and Dhoni to Tendulkar.
And Bhaijan, you dont have much to talk about hero worship also.You guys adore somebody like Afridi who has lost you more matches than he had won and have never done justice to his talent.Now this is just embarrassing hyperbole and is the kind of saccharine hero worship that utterly encapsulates why most Pakistanis prefer the likes of Kohli and Dhoni to Tendulkar.
Kohli at his peak of his career still struggles against moving ball and Sachin has murdered ATGs in both pace and spin at his peak.I dont think Kohli is capable of playing that innings Sachin played against a marauding Dale Steyn in 2011 at the fag end of his career.So as a batsman, he is nowhere near Sachin.
However, I will still keep Kohli in both my ODI and Test team even before Sachin as he is mentally much stronger and aggressive and has the Australian trait to go for win at any cost which Sachin never had.
And regarding popularity, I am from India and I know better than you for obvious reasons.
which inning? The one where he was out to steyn earlier in the inning and was saved by the absence of DRS? I think Virat's 119 in Johannesburg trumps that by a good distance.
I don't mean that the way Najam Sethi says that we want to play India, its just that Virat is just too smart and media-savvy to say anything like that about our fast bowlers (I mean come on Mohammad Irfan). Virat knows exactly what he says in his press conferences, he never says anything without a reason. He can say alot of things indirectly without having to say them directly.
Have you even seen that match? Steyn was bowling like a dream and it was contest to watch praised by all the cricketing world.And he did that at an age of 38 when his reflexes on the downhill. Kohli at his peak is a bunny against moving ball and looked like a tail ender against Anderson last time we toured England.which inning? The one where he was out to steyn earlier in the inning and was saved by the absence of DRS? I think Virat's 119 in Johannesburg trumps that by a good distance.
Wow he's very down to earth. It felt like I was just having a chat with a mate over a cup of tea, he seems very relaxed and easy to talk to without any ego. Enjoyed that interview. Thanks for sharing.
Why do SC fans have to nitpick every little thing ? Not every comment from a cricketer has an ulterior motive or hidden conspiracy behind it.
Obviously when you face a bowler like Irfan, the preparations are going to be unusual given he's 7 frickin' foot.
Have you even seen that match? Steyn was bowling like a dream and it was contest to watch praised by all the cricketing world.And he did that at an age of 38 when his reflexes on the downhill. Kohli at his peak is a bunny against moving ball and looked like a tail ender against Anderson last time we toured England.
Kohli's peak was 2014? at 25? whaaaaaat? Also we all know how Sachin fared against Anderson in the 3 tours against him.
And yes I did see the match, Steyn was bowling well and should have had Sachin at the start of the day. It was a really good knock tbh. But I hate it when batsmen go on to score big and they were out earlier on.
Too early for the Virat vs. Sachin debate for me, and Virat I'm sure will eventually match and outdo Sachin in tests. Sachin didn't play many impactful innnings like Lara or a Dravid did. Virat now is starting to go big when he scores a 100+ which is a good habit to have.
So true, often sachin getting his hundred has been more important then India winning the game that's how special the bond has been between sachin and his fans and what he stands for in India
No. Mark Boucher didn't collect the ball cleanly.
Sure? I faintly remember it was out. Can't find a video of that ball though.
I watched that match live. The ball wasn't caught cleanly, the replays confirmed it.
Kohli's peak was 2014? at 25? whaaaaaat? Also we all know how Sachin fared against Anderson in the 3 tours against him.
And yes I did see the match, Steyn was bowling well and should have had Sachin at the start of the day. It was a really good knock tbh. But I hate it when batsmen go on to score big and they were out earlier on.
Too early for the Virat vs. Sachin debate for me, and Virat I'm sure will eventually match and outdo Sachin in tests. Sachin didn't play many impactful innnings like Lara or a Dravid did. Virat now is starting to go big when he scores a 100+ which is a good habit to have.
SRT will always be referred as The Great One by fans but the popularity = Virat K.
So true, often sachin getting his hundred has been more important then India winning the game that's how special the bond has been between sachin and his fans and what he stands for in India
Ultimately memory is fickle. We mix "memory and desire" as Eliot said.
Fact is, Borde, Mankad, Pataudi, Solkar, Engineer, Amarnath were hailed and revered. How many in the public remember them, outside of fans?
I saw Sunny Gavaskar hailed and revered. In 10 years, or 5 minutes after he quits commentating, he'll be a memory.
Given how public consciousness flows, perhaps in 10 years, when Kohli retired, they may be saying he's greater than SRT. Who knows?
Not every day you face a bowler who can swing at 95+ miles an hour every ball so ofcourse Kohli would be a bit apprehensive playing Shoaib any batsmen would be initially playing such a bowler.. Same goes for Irfan once you get used to playing such a bowler then it's a different story.. Shoaib was a beast no doubt pity he didn't start playing earlier at his peak..
There are more lethal bowlers in Australia that he has played
Quotes from above interview
"I never faced Shoaib Akhtar as I had got out before that, but I have seen him bowl in a game against India in Dambulla"
"Even in the latter part of his career, he looked lethal"
"After watching him bowl in that game, I said to myself that when he was at his peak, then it would be better to be on the other (non-striker's) end when he was bowling"
"With M Irfan, Sanjay Bangar our batting coach was using a stool which was about one foot high to simulate bowling from this guy"
"In a T20I game in Bangalore when batting against Irfan, Yuvraj told me that the ball is bouncing, try to cut the ball, but couldnt do it, then he told me OK, leave it then!"
its amazing to hear him talk about his rough patch in England - and how he learned from it
compare it to guys like Shehzad and Akmal, who are more interested in blaming everyone else for their failures rather than trying to learn from it
http://www.espncricinfo.com/series/8532/scorecard/455234/India-vs-Pakistan-4th-Match-asia-cup/
This is the game Kohli is talking about, interestingly its the game Harbhajan hit Amir for a six in the last over to win the match. Both Amir and Akhtar went wicketless at 6 RPO. Virat is just toying with us![]()
Sometime you have to take words of cricketers at face value. Not every single word is well thought out plan.
Well that is just one part of the story. Kohli's Indian GF seemed to have been a major factor in giving him confidence and molding him. While our Shehzad and Akmal are married but that doesn't seem to have any positive effect on them.
To think about it Malik sahab also improved his attitude towards the game by marrying an Indian.
Hmmm this has me thinking now.
To be fair Kohli has no problems facing pace. He looked slightly iffy against short ball early in his career but that doesn't cause him any problems now.
The only issue with Kohli is movement - especially decent away movement he can't help himself but to play shots so becomes vulnerable behind his wicket.
I also think it's fair to say Sachin had better footwork when comparing the two and looked more classy in shots but Kohli is. mentally stronger, especially chasing big scores.
The best interview I have ever seen by a cricketer EVER!!! Amazing sense of humour.
The way he showed his respect to Sachin. None could say it better. I have always been Kohlis fan but this interview took it to another level.
The best interview I have ever seen by a cricketer EVER!!! Amazing sense of humour.
The way he showed his respect to Sachin. None could say it better. I have always been Kohlis fan but this interview took it to another level.