“You (Babar Azam) were a fraud from the beginning”: Shoaib Akhtar

There is something so petulant and small minded about Pakistani cricket culture that it makes me nauseas. Both ex and current players go at each other in ways that are just unbecoming of sportspeople and media pundits alike. They sit there in their studios with pens in their hands as if that makes them intellectuals when they are actually illiterate buffoons. True Pak cricket has a lot of flaws and yes there is a long way to go before we see some improvements. However you can be constructive in your debate instead of hurling insults.

They’ve given them a long enough rope. A lot of these pundits have refrained from insulting them for a while now - even with failure after failure. Not a single pak player would get in to the Afghanistan team and most would struggle to get in to the Zimbabwe team. That is how bad they are. If nice constructive criticism didn’t work, it’s time - it’s become intolerable. I welcome it - time to put the big boy pants on and suck it up.

Let's be honest, the bowling and fielding quality in the PSL is not that great. I will not put much value in his PSL performances. Vast majority of PSL performers have been found wanting in international cricket.

Kohli was mostly playing against very inferior Pakistani spinners. Sarfaraz plays spin much better than Babar because he uses the sweep shots to put the spinners off guard and that pressurizes them into changing their lengths.
You’re responding to something I never said. I just said he plays aerial shots in PSL. Not talking about success.

Sweep is not necessary to dominate spinners. If Kohli bothers you, even though he dominated test cricket at home for a long time on rank turners WITHOUT sweep shots, then look at Dravid, Kallis, and Yousuf. they hardly ever played sweep shots.

Babar’s problem is mental first and foremost. He lacks heart.

Yograj Singh, father of Yuvraj Singh, while speaking to a local channel:

"Such big players like Wasim Akram-saying such disgusting things? And people around him are laughing. They should be ashamed. Shoaib Akhtar, such a big player-you are comparing Pakistan's players with Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli? Wasim ji, you are sitting there and making money, no? Go back to your country and conduct a camp. I want to see which of you greats can help Pakistan win a World Cup. If not, resign."

"If I go there (to Pakistan), I will make the team better within a year. You will all remember me. It's all about passion."

"Talking big while sitting in the commentary box doesn't make a difference."

"So many Pakistan players are there, sitting outside and talking about the team -- it doesn't paint a good picture. Have you ever seen ex-Indian players using such harsh words for their own team? It has a big effect. At a time when your players are low on confidence and the team's morale is going down, if they hear what you all are saying, they will be under even more pressure. You are all legends-they will listen to you."

"I am saying this to everyone. All these players came because of Imran Khan. Today, is there anyone like him to mentor youngsters? Tell Wasim Akram ji, Waqar Younis ji, and Shoaib Akhtar ji-you keep talking about talent. Pakistan is full of talent. You were also identified once. Someone helped you become good cricketers."

"I don't like anyone from any country using such words for their own players."
Facts.

"Such big players like Wasim Akram-saying such disgusting things? And people around him are laughing. They should be ashamed. Shoaib Akhtar, such a big player-you are comparing Pakistan's players with Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli? Wasim ji, you are sitting there and making money, no? Go back to your country and conduct a camp. I want to see which of you greats can help Pakistan win a World Cup. If not, resign."

"If I go there (to Pakistan), I will make the team better within a year. You will all remember me. It's all about passion."

"So many Pakistan players are there, sitting outside and talking about the team -- it doesn't paint a good picture. Have you ever seen ex-Indian players using such harsh words for their own team? It has a big effect. At a time when your players are low on confidence and the team's morale is going down, if they hear what you all are saying, they will be under even more pressure. You are all legends-they will listen to you."

"I am saying this to everyone. All these players came because of Imran Khan. Today, is there anyone like him to mentor youngsters? Tell Wasim Akram ji, Waqar Younis ji, and Shoaib Akhtar ji-you keep talking about talent. Pakistan is full of talent. You were also identified once. Someone helped you become good cricketers."

Says the guy who constantly make vindictive comments about MSD who won three tournaments for country.

They’ve given them a long enough rope. A lot of these pundits have refrained from insulting them for a while now - even with failure after failure. Not a single pak player would get in to the Afghanistan team and most would struggle to get in to the Zimbabwe team. That is how bad they are. If nice constructive criticism didn’t work, it’s time - it’s become intolerable. I welcome it - time to put the big boy pants on and suck it up.
You are missing the point entirely which is kind of sad really.
Criticism help us improve. Critique helps us reflect and reform. Insults however berate and degrade the whole system. They point to a rottenness and small mindedness in the viewership, punditry and the team. Focus on individuals divides and disparages the team. It suggests that all the problems are due to one person.

This simply should not be the way. A persons cricketing failures should not be used to bolster a pundits you tube clicks. This is the small mindedness and petulance that drags Pak cricket down.

There are indeed many issues in certain players technique. There’s def a mental issue and ability to soak up pressure on the field. Perhaps the right talent isn’t developed in the right way. But a pundits role is to offer insights that an average guy on the street might not analyse. If everybody just sits and hurls insults however is this any better than a village mob?

Pak has to do a lot more all round to improve its cricket but bad punditry, self serving jesters need to understand the responsibility to the viewership

How could you want that for Pakistan when you continue to advocate for Rizwan as a batter?

It’s very suspicious. It makes no sens

How could you want that for Pakistan when you continue to advocate for Rizwan as a batter?

It’s very suspicious. It makes no sense?
There is absolutely no comparison between Rizwan and Shakeel. Rizwan has played some wonderful knocks, few match winning knocks in LOIs. Rizwan has a good ODI and T20Is record too. While Saud after playing 19 matches still to play a significant innings of mention and average only 27. Still no one is ready to replace Rizwan and perform better than him .

Yes ,if you compare Pakistani batsmen with Indians , Australians ,South Africans they won't match.

You are missing the point entirely which is kind of sad really.
Criticism help us improve. Critique helps us reflect and reform. Insults however berate and degrade the whole system. They point to a rottenness and small mindedness in the viewership, punditry and the team. Focus on individuals divides and disparages the team. It suggests that all the problems are due to one person.

This simply should not be the way. A persons cricketing failures should not be used to bolster a pundits you tube clicks. This is the small mindedness and petulance that drags Pak cricket down.

There are indeed many issues in certain players technique. There’s def a mental issue and ability to soak up pressure on the field. Perhaps the right talent isn’t developed in the right way. But a pundits role is to offer insights that an average guy on the street might not analyse. If everybody just sits and hurls insults however is this any better than a village mob?

Pak has to do a lot more all round to improve its cricket but bad punditry, self serving jesters need to understand the responsibility to the viewership
Sorry bro, but that is all blah blah blah.

Shoaib has been fairly measured recently, but this has gone on too long. Whether he says it nicely or not makes no difference to these shameless players. They play their usual selfish games. So there is a level of satisfaction in these insults.

Babar has built his reputation on paid social media pushing his useless stats. If you’re going about things in such a deceptive manner, don’t cry when someone calls you a fraud - that is what he is.

He is right! Everyone in pakistan wants to do tuktuk! We need to kick Misbah’s Relatives freinds off PCB
When you look at Pak teams, they are so turgid and meak when Fakhar or Saim are out who are both hit n miss. There is not one player you think ok will come in and can take the game away.

Just look at the Indian game, their prime bowler is out but the players still keck their pants and go into tuk tuk mode on the false premise of "taking the game deep". I mean show a bit of balls and at least attack.

All these losers need to be booted, some proper fitness standards imposed and develop batting for the modern era. At this point, Pak cricket is a sunken ship no amount of learning by Riz is going to save it.

Rizwan’s "learning" phase is never-ending. Might as well give him a university degree in it at this point.

This fraud team defeated Australia in Australia and SA in SA. Something the previous Pakistan teams rarely did. We are champions at over exaggerating.

If Fakhar & Saim were fit and Faheem wasn’t politically forced into the team at the expense of Sufiyan, we would have put a better show.

If a modern team like England who had all bases covered can get knocked out then any team can get knocked out.

Guess Joginder is better than Shoaib @Major coz this is weird ICC logic only Pakistani fans have

*only Major has

But I'm glad you pointed this out because Major always does a grand job of exposing his lack of intelligence.

Wasim Akram, while speaking on a show on a local sports media outlet:

"People still on and off either criticize me or have a go at me that all he does is talk and nothing else. When I see Pakistan coaches - I see Waqar here, who has been sacked quite a few times after becoming a coach - and their condition. Aap log badtameezi karte hain (You guys disrespect them), I cannot tolerate it."

yograj singh just posted a video where he is saying give me 1 year with pakistan team i will make them world champions again i have a good feeling he can turn it around he is a punjabi warrior which pakistani players needs pcb should get him as soon as possible.

Shoaib should be ashamed of his words. He himself was labeled a liar and an exaggerator by his best friends in India. Previously, he accused Sachin of fearing his bowling and Wasim of not selecting him out of jealousy and later on took a uturn. He should not make himself a laughingstock.
A pindi boy will always remains a typical pindi boy.

Salman Butt during a program on a local TV channel:

"If I say something wrong, if Wasim Bhai says something wrong, if Javed Bhai or even Imran Khan Sahib says something wrong, then it remains wrong. Just because someone says it doesn’t make it right."

"Arguments should be based on facts and original information, not just on what cricketers or politicians say. So what if a cricketer or a politician said something? Who in this country hasn’t made a wrong statement?"

"Even if Shoaib Akhtar was disheartened, even if he was upset, he [Shoaib Akhtar] is one of the best cricketers Pakistan has ever produced. I think if he reconsiders what he said, he will realize it was in the heat of the moment."

"Babar is struggling with form, and I think we have gotten into his head. He doesn’t come from an academic background, so maybe he takes time to gauge and understand things. But he is still better than all the available players we have, and we have cut him down with all this talk."

"He is not a good captain, so we took the captaincy away from him. But look at his batting for Pakistan over a period of time. How consistent has he been? Is that not worth acknowledging? He is not Kohli, he is not Root, he is not Kane Williamson, but he is the best that we have."

"People still on and off either criticize me or have a go at me that all he does is talk and nothing else. When I see Pakistan coaches - I see Waqar here, who has been sacked quite a few times after becoming a coach - and their condition. Aap log badtameezi karte hain (You guys disrespect them), I cannot tolerate it."
Wasim Akram is a Grifter!

I have respect for Waqar Younis that at least he has put himself forward to try to help Pakistan Cricket, he has failed because maybe lacks the skills but at least he has tried. Btw, Waqar has already been tried and shouldn't be the Coach!

Akhtar got absolutely pummeled by Hafeez and Malik on a show recently, and honestly his attitude clearly shows one of the reasons why Pakistan regressed so much in recent times.

Malik and Hafeez rightly pointed out how Pakistan only won ICC tournaments in 2009 and 2017, and the all-conquering mega super-stars in the 90s couldn’t do much after Imran Khan’s genius in 1992.

Akhtar feebly pointed out that the 90s players were the main reason for 70-odd victories against India, and it looked very clear he was rattled.

All these ex-players from the 90s just sit on tv and bash the current lot for having no talent, while having done worse than them in ICC tournaments when they were playing. At a time when only Australia was really strong and South Africa was a close second, they were content on bashing mediocre teams like India, New Zealand, England etc yet also managed to start off the streak that India has in ICC tournaments right now. Got smashed by Australia and South Africa more often than not, even at home.

They achieved literally nothing with all the talent at their disposal and it would suit them better to shut up about how good they actually were and focus on making Pakistan cricket better moving forward.

The only good thing about them was they were entertaining to watch, while the current lot is just putting off casual fans.

Babar is a fraud king. The Real king consistently delivers on the big stage.
Babar Azam may be all they say but not a fraud..He didn't do cheating like Salman Butt or aamir or Akhtar himself who were banned from playing cricket for year(s)..all he doing is playing selfishly for himself..his style of batting may be suited for 90s but not the modern era..if a term has to be given to him, we can call him ethical hacker..who just hack runs and ensure his records and ranking are high..

Calling him a fraud from the beginning is not right. He is struggling for 2-3 years and has been a passenger in the team b ut now he has been rightfully dropped from the T20 squad. Let's see what the new team has got after getting rid of 'fraud'.

When Wasim talks like this, it freshens up my wounds of his own wrong doings. Disrespect my foot! He needs to learn not to react to every Tom Dick & Harry.

I loved Wasim as a cricketer, him along with Sachin and Warne were best.

In analyst role I also find him very balanced and non biased. But he is very easy to sway.

I remember he lost his cool after someone commented on his armpit hair on Instagram. He is in his 50s but sometimes acts like someone is their 70s when provoked by online trolls.

There's no comparison between these 2 players. The only people who compare them are die-hard Pakistani loyal supporters.

I can assure you, nobody outside of Pakistan thinks these two players belong in the same sentence.
Don't forget, some at PP was comparing UMAR AKMAL v KOHLI at one point ... Umar > Kohli back then apprently and would have ended his career > Kohli :LOL:. So comparing Babar to Kohli is a step up atleast lol