[VIDEO] Gamesmanship? Ravindra Jadeja and his concussion replacement Yuzvendra Chahal

Well correct me if I am wrong but in case a like to like sub is not available you play one bowler short and complete the four over quota with your part timers. If you don't have a proper sub available it's your fault. Plain and simple.

Q. What would have happened if Chahal or any other spinner/ spinner - all-rounder wouldn't have been part of the bench. Who would have replaced Jadeja?

Then either a fast bowler or Iyyer

Well correct me if I am wrong but in case a like to like sub is not available you play one bowler short and complete the four over quota with your part timers. If you don't have a proper sub available it's your fault. Plain and simple.

Q. What would have happened if Chahal or any other spinner/ spinner - all-rounder wouldn't have been part of the bench. Who would have replaced Jadeja?

Care to show me such playing conditions? Don't make up things

I saw the whole match. I didn't call the referee corrupt. I called him incompetent. You may not have any self-esteem to say only "sub-continent teams cheat" but I do. However, this is about a lapse in judgment. Jadeja was injured but not because of the ball hitting his helmet. Let's not pretend otherwise.

You know better than doctors on field?

I saw the whole match. I didn't call the referee corrupt. I called him incompetent. You may not have any self-esteem to say only "sub-continent teams cheat" but I do. However, this is about a lapse in judgment. Jadeja was injured but not because of the ball hitting his helmet. Let's not pretend otherwise.

You are match refree whom you are going to allow ,this is for you.
Another thing Jadeja was indeed concussed as his medical report stated.
And indeed india benefitted big time today.
As I said many times before I hate sub rule, I want to go to old rule no sub apart from fielding

Like for like means similar not same or a copy of the original, its a relative term. if we had axar or ashwin on the bench chahal wouldn't be like for like but given what we had chahal is considered a like for like replacement. The concussion protocols have been brought in to make sure that head injuries don't lead to teams gettting screwed over, being inflexible in such case would do the exact opposite of why the rules were introduced.

You can replace a batsman with all-rounder but in that case all-rounder cant bowl, but in case of good all-rounder this rule do become tricky or easy to exploit, as [MENTION=138508]aloo paratha[/MENTION] and [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] said rule need to go.

Truth is Jadeja would not be able to bowl after Hamstring. So Brat and cheerleader thought to invent this cheating and loophole for their advantage. We already know how desperate they can be to win a series (See SA tour of India 2015). If substitutes ain't allowed like earlier for runners etc then why this.
Also I would remind my fellow posters that this is not first time India resorted to such cheap and unethical things. Under Dhoni they would replace someone like Munaf with Jadeja in fielding to gain unfair advantage. I am sure if Aussies did this and the player turned out to be MOM , here comments would have been like once a cheat always a cheat. Kohli would abuse everyone's mother and his press conference would be so explosive.

lol ended up being MoM too . This rule was always going to be hard to implement, just like the runner for batsman rule this rule will comeback to bite ICC and will be changed later.

Why was the 12 player thing changed in 2006? Does anyone remember , remember we utilized Raina very well then
Not really, iirc Venugopal Rao is super sub most of the time and he'll score big zero almost all the time.. we call him he's son in law of Greg Chappell those days..

It is more to do with who is the closest possible to ‘like-for-like’ replacement in the squad for the concussed player, if you try to look for a ‘like-for-like’ replacement in the current Indian T20 squad for Jadeja then it happened to be only one which was chahal as india didn't had no AR nor a left arm spinner but had a spinner which was closest possible replacement to jadeja

No wonder the match referee had to agree.

What if there was no spinner available, would a fast bowler have been okay? Let’s say Glenn McGrath.

Truth is Jadeja would not be able to bowl after Hamstring. So Brat and cheerleader thought to invent this cheating and loophole for their advantage. We already know how desperate they can be to win a series (See SA tour of India 2015). If substitutes ain't allowed like earlier for runners etc then why this.
Also I would remind my fellow posters that this is not first time India resorted to such cheap and unethical things. Under Dhoni they would replace someone like Munaf with Jadeja in fielding to gain unfair advantage. I am sure if Aussies did this and the player turned out to be MOM , here comments would have been like once a cheat always a cheat. Kohli would abuse everyone's mother and his press conference would be so explosive.

Every team does that..

What if there was no spinner available, would a fast bowler have been okay? Let’s say Glenn McGrath.

If say there was no chahal which means no spinner in the Indian T20 squad on the bench, then the other closest possible ‘like-for-like’ replacement would be in this case be Bumrah or Saini as per the regulation of concussion

I dont know why u brought Mcgrath in there but what I understand is u are referring to an ace or top bowler being substituted for concussion for a Spin AR then yes in India case had chahal or no spinner or no AR was in T20 squad then it is very possible that Bumrah who wasn't in the playing xi could have been substituted for Jadeja within the rules set up by ICC

The rules are surely flawed and India did took advantage of this flawed rules set up by ICC but again India did it within the rules and nothing wasn't out of the rules and regulations

If say there was no chahal which means no spinner in the Indian T20 squad on the bench, then the other closest possible ‘like-for-like’ replacement would be in this case be Bumrah or Saini as per the regulation of concussion

I dont know why u brought Mcgrath in there but what I understand is u are referring to an ace or top bowler being substituted for concussion for a Spin AR then yes in India case had chahal or no spinner or no AR was in T20 squad then it is very possible that Bumrah who wasn't in the playing xi could have been substituted for Jadeja within the rules set up by ICC

The rules are surely flawed and India did took advantage of this flawed rules set up by ICC but again India did it within the rules and nothing wasn't out of the rules and regulations

Yeah I agree, not blaming India since they did what they could, but even if fair within the rules it feels unfair overall.

So australia would have an injury to maxwell or some other spinner and they have no backup spinners in the squad and their only bowling option is a 50 year old retired cricketer. Do you fan fiction by any chance?

Yeah I agree, not blaming India since they did what they could, but even if fair within the rules it feels unfair overall.

yes the rule is flawed no doubt about it, was unfair for AUS but then again Cricket has such unfair rules like Duckworth Lewis method that comes to mind

Also the final decision to substitute a player for concussion has to be done with the approval of match referee so IMO blaming India makes no sense(I am not implying u did but I am saying it in general to whoever is blaming India for it)

Quite funny people are mentioning Phil Hughes in this thread and still saying concussion rule shouldn't be there :))

There would be more bouncers if not for this rule

You can replace a batsman with all-rounder but in that case all-rounder cant bowl, but in case of good all-rounder this rule do become tricky or easy to exploit, as [MENTION=138508]aloo paratha[/MENTION] and [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] said rule need to go.

I think its fair to reintroduce Supersub rule again in ODI/T20. It was implemented in mid 2000s for brief period of time. 1 replacement should be allowed in innings break. It would help teams to play 6 specialist batsman and 5 specialist bowlers. Also, it would get rid of these concussion controversies. Injuries cant be judged without full medical examination. Teams will try to cheat if possible.

So we’ve destroyed spinners, are currently destroying fast bowlers, and you want to destroy all rounders too?

I don't see a big issue here. The law needs to be clearer, maybe. But I don't think Indian team cheated. They had a situation with concussion, proposed a substitute and the match referee allowed the substitute to play. Had Chahal bowled poorly, it would've been a different discussion altogether.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have no issue with Jadeja being substitute with Chahal. But I do have an issue with a Doctor & Physio not being present after Jadeja was struck on the helmet which I believe is protocol now? <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AusvInd?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AusvInd</a></p>— Tom Moody (@TomMoodyCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/TomMoodyCricket/status/1334808916396367872?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">No Doctor or Physio came out to Test Jadeja for concussion ... he then looks like his has done something to his leg ... then they pull the concussion replacement .. !!!!! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RatSniffed?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RatSniffed</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnOn?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnOn</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AUSvIND?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AUSvIND</a></p>— Michael Vaughan (@MichaelVaughan) <a href="https://twitter.com/MichaelVaughan/status/1334811533973594112?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Wow...aur kya dekhna baki....hai....... cancellation of toss in india matches

India wicketkeeper-batsman gave details of what happened inside the Indian dressing room after the visitors rode on a sensational innings from Ravindra Jadeja to post 161/7 in 20 overs. Jadeja was struck on helmet by Aussie fast bowler Mitchell Starc during his unbeaten 44-run innings, and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal came in as his concussion substitute when India returned to defend the target.

Chahal, who was not in original playing XI, grabbed 3 for 25 in a match-winning performance in the first T20 International against Australia, and was declared the man-of-the-match.

Speaking to reporters at the post-match virtual press conference, India wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson said: “He got hit on the helmet in the last over (off Mitchell Starc) and when he came back to the dressing room, he was asked by the physio (Nitin Patel) how he felt. He (Jadeja) said that he was feeling a little dizzy.”

“He is under observation as per team doctor’s (Dr Abhijit Salvi) advice,” he further revealed. On being asked about Jadeja’s hamstring strain, Samson said that the physio is taking care of the situation.

“I don’t know how Jaddu bhai is feeling as the physio is taking care of that,” he said.

Speaking on Chahal’s sensational bowling, Samson said: “That is the standard that has been set by this team. The quality of players is so high that anytime you ask, they are ready. Chahal grabbed his chance and it was a great lesson for everyone that they need to be ready all the time.”

“A few years back I would have said yes (pressure factor) to that question. But now I have played a few matches for India and have been around good people, who have helped keep a positive mindset.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...essing-room/story-fQvpBIhqHn6kW24tthLKtM.html

I agree that India did exploit the concussion regulation but they had everything going for them within the rules set-up by ICC for concussion

I agree. Though at the same time I do need to question whether Jadeja was really concussed, I've seen batsman get hit flush on the head and be fine. In Jadeja's case it was a glancing blow. I would expect such exaggerations of injury to happen with a rule like this, just like how the runner rule was exploited by fake/miniscule injuries.

India wicketkeeper-batsman gave details of what happened inside the Indian dressing room after the visitors rode on a sensational innings from Ravindra Jadeja to post 161/7 in 20 overs. Jadeja was struck on helmet by Aussie fast bowler Mitchell Starc during his unbeaten 44-run innings, and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal came in as his concussion substitute when India returned to defend the target.

Chahal, who was not in original playing XI, grabbed 3 for 25 in a match-winning performance in the first T20 International against Australia, and was declared the man-of-the-match.

Speaking to reporters at the post-match virtual press conference, India wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson said: “He got hit on the helmet in the last over (off Mitchell Starc) and when he came back to the dressing room, he was asked by the physio (Nitin Patel) how he felt. He (Jadeja) said that he was feeling a little dizzy.”

“He is under observation as per team doctor’s (Dr Abhijit Salvi) advice,” he further revealed. On being asked about Jadeja’s hamstring strain, Samson said that the physio is taking care of the situation.

“I don’t know how Jaddu bhai is feeling as the physio is taking care of that,” he said.

Speaking on Chahal’s sensational bowling, Samson said: “That is the standard that has been set by this team. The quality of players is so high that anytime you ask, they are ready. Chahal grabbed his chance and it was a great lesson for everyone that they need to be ready all the time.”

“A few years back I would have said yes (pressure factor) to that question. But now I have played a few matches for India and have been around good people, who have helped keep a positive mindset.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...essing-room/story-fQvpBIhqHn6kW24tthLKtM.html

Sanju Samson is as credible as Kamran Akmal. He is the banter sponge of the Indian cricket team.

The decision to bring in leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal as concussion substitute for allrounder Ravindra Jadeja became a huge topic point from the first T20I between India and Australia. Jadeja was struck on the helmet by Mitchell Starc during India’s batting. The left-handed batsman, though, quickly got up and resumed batting. He later was also seen struggling with a hamstring niggle, but carried on batting and smashed an unbeaten 44 runs in 23 balls to help India to a good total of 161/7 in 20 overs.

When India came out to defend the total, Jadeja was replaced by Chahal as the concussion substitute. When the match referee David Boon told the Australian Cricket Team about the call, a visible miffed Australian coach Justin Langer was seen having a discussion with Boon at the boundary line.

Chahal weaved magic with the balls registering figures of 3/25 in his 4 overs as India beat Australia by 11 runs to take 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

On being asked about the chat at the boundary ropes, Finch said that the Australian team would never question a medical expert.

Source HT

Can anyone explain does this rule specifically applies on Head injury/concussions or all major injuries like fractured hand/foot or broken ribs etc?

I agree. Though at the same time I do need to question whether Jadeja was really concussed, I've seen batsman get hit flush on the head and be fine. In Jadeja's case it was a glancing blow. I would expect such exaggerations of injury to happen with a rule like this, just like how the runner rule was exploited by fake/miniscule injuries.

Jadeja really being concussed or faking it is very debatable and yes if u ask me I have my doubts too if was real or faked considering, The concussion assessment was carried out by India's team doctor and BCCI's anti-doping manager Abhijit Salvi, and their physio Nitin Patel

But we might really not know if it was fake or real but definitely debatable

But at the end of the day the match referee David Boon approved it, which is why Langer the AUS coach was arguing with Boon but not Indian team

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have no issue with Jadeja being substitute with Chahal. But I do have an issue with a Doctor & Physio not being present after Jadeja was struck on the helmet which I believe is protocol now? <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AusvInd?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AusvInd</a></p>— Tom Moody (@TomMoodyCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/TomMoodyCricket/status/1334808916396367872?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">No Doctor or Physio came out to Test Jadeja for concussion ... he then looks like his has done something to his leg ... then they pull the concussion replacement .. !!!!! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RatSniffed?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RatSniffed</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnOn?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnOn</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AUSvIND?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AUSvIND</a></p>— Michael Vaughan (@MichaelVaughan) <a href="https://twitter.com/MichaelVaughan/status/1334811533973594112?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Chahal just happened to do well. He was the most out of form bowler in this tour. Jadeja has actually shown better form than Chahal recently. But any way.

Hmmm....

Saeed Anwar used to score hundreds for fun by having a runner regularly (including his then world record 194) and coolly stay away from fielding. Was he and his team cheating the opposition then as well?

Pretty sure India used a loop hole to gain an advantage which was within the rules as of the time the match was going on, just like the Pakistan team that Anwar was playing in then. But cheating?cmon..

David Boon the match refree is an accomplished Aussie ex player himself and he did not have an issue wit with the whole thing. So tone down the rhetoric please..

And the reason why Chahal was left out of the first eleven was his due to his current form remember...he did well by luck and the knives are out...cmon guys!

Hmmm....

Saeed Anwar used to score hundreds for fun by having a runner regularly (including his then world record 194) and coolly stay away from fielding. Was he and his team cheating the opposition then as well?

Pretty sure India used a loop hole to gain an advantage which was within the rules as of the time the match was going on, just like the Pakistan team that Anwar was playing in then. But cheating?cmon..

David Boon the match refree is an accomplished Aussie ex player himself and he did not have an issue wit with the whole thing. So tone down the rhetoric please..

What's Saeed Anwar and Pakistan got to do with this? Take your whataboutery somewhere else!

Hmmm....

It seems Saeed Anwar's 194 still hurts you. Saeed wasn't the only batsman to bat with a runner and that runner surely didn't bat for Saeed. You are comparing apples with oranges here. Understand the topic of this thread first. :inti

Super sub rule will work equally only if teams are allow to name super sub after the toss, old super rule allowed the winner of the toss gets benefits which already have advantage of winning of toss and can decide bat or bowl according to conditions.
So old rule was double whammy for teams which ended up loosing the toss

If not chahal then Bumrah was the other option to sub, I don't know if Chahal was not in the team and Bumrah was going to be sub then how many people was going to moan.

Ravindra Jadeja has been ruled out of the rest of the AUSvIND T20I series and is replaced in the squad by Shardul Thakur.

Jadeja suffered a concussion after being hit on the left side of his forehead in the first T20I against Australia

As far as I am aware, this is a cricket forum and Australia v India is a cricket series.

Exactly. Saeed Anwar was a cricketer and the 194 runs scored in.a cricket match. So very much relevant here [MENTION=143714]Kroll[/MENTION] seems to disagree.

So it was a serious injury after all. And if the opposing captain doesn't have any problems with the substitute why should anyone else be having stomach ache?
Was he subbed off for a concussion or Hamstring?

If Jadeja and Chahal and an Aus vs Ind match could be discussed because they happen to be cricket related, so would Saeed Anwar, his runners and Ind vs Pak cricket matches be discussed.

My point is that every team has taken advantage of situations within the framework of rules - apples, oranges, lemons sab fruits hi hai!

If he had a concussion why did he bat on?

Because apparently there is a thing called delayed concussion...which happens when the team India doctor tells you that you have a concussion in the dressing room...on the orders of Kohli and Shastri

Same reason Steve Smith batted for two sessions in Ashes before being subbed

A physio didn't even come on on to check.

Anyway it seems he has been ruled out of the series so he did have a concussion and he wasn't kept out because of his hamstring like it initially seemed live.

Really need to review like for like replacements though.

India clearly had an unfair advantage with a bowler coming in.

Anyway it seems he has been ruled out of the series so he did have a concussion and he wasn't kept out because of his hamstring like it initially seemed live.

He has been ruled out because of a hamstring. No matter what the Team India doctors says

Physio didn't come because only 4 balls or so were remaining

if nothing had happened,Jadeja would have bowled 4 overs of spin

Thats what Chahal did

People are going on in hindsight when Chahal bowled badly in ODIs. No one could have predicted this

He has been ruled out because of a hamstring. No matter what the Team India doctors says

Yes coz you know better than them. Why would they let go an inform batsmen for remainder of the series :))

Physio didn't come because only 4 balls or so were remaining

if nothing had happened,Jadeja would have bowled 4 overs of spin

Thats what Chahal did

People are going on in hindsight when Chahal bowled badly in ODIs. No one could have predicted this

There is no such thing as 4 balls remaining so let’s not come on to check. This is unprofessional. The rule is, if the ball hits your helmet, the game will stop for a concussion Test. This didn’t happen, the umpires didn’t stop the game because they are blind, senile as it is or where just trying to get on with it. The BCCI doctors couldn’t care less either.

For once I wish Indian fans would call a spade a spade!

Yes coz you know better than them. Why would they let go an inform batsmen for remainder of the series :))

These incompetent doctors didn’t know that they had to rush on to the pitch for a concussion Test...so how can we trust their professional expertise?

People are behaving that a batsman being replaced with a bowler. I mean Jadeja was in better bowling form than Chahal in ODI series and hence the later got dropped from last game. So if he was fit, why would Indian team replace him with Chahal? Lol

Raman Lamba got hit on head, went back to dressing room and then went to coma after couple of hours. So late concussions do happen as head injury takes time to show signs.

India is a solid T20 team and dont need to cheat to win games. The fact that Jadeja is out of remaining t20 games and perhaps from 1st test proves the point of the extent of his injury.

There is no such thing as 4 balls remaining so let’s not come on to check. This is unprofessional. The rule is, if the ball hits your helmet, the game will stop for a concussion Test. This didn’t happen, the umpires didn’t stop the game because they are blind, senile as it is or where just trying to get on with it. The BCCI doctors couldn’t care less either.

It was unprofessional from doctor and he has been slammed for that

But when last did you see a stoppage with 4 balls to go.

Yes they should have independent ICC doctors in all matches

It was unprofessional from doctor and he has been slammed for that

But when last did you see a stoppage with 4 balls to go.

Yes they should have independent ICC doctors in all matches

People are behaving as if a batsman being replaced with a bowler. I mean Jadeja was in better bowling form than Chahal in ODI series and hence the later got dropped from last game. So if he was fit, why would Indian team replace him with Chahal? Lol

Raman Lamba got hit on head, went back to dressing room and then went to coma after couple of hours. So late concussions do happen as head injury takes time to show signs.

India is a solid T20 team and dont need to cheat to win games. The fact that Jadeja is out of remaining t20 games and perhaps from 1st test proves the extent of his injury.

These incompetent doctors didn’t know that they had to rush on to the pitch for a concussion Test...so how can we trust their professional expertise?

Can you show me the rule where it says they have to go immediately? I cant find

People are behaving as if a batsman being replaced with a bowler. I mean Jadeja was in better bowling form than Chahal in ODI series and hence the later got dropped from last game. So if he was fit, why would Indian team replace him with Chahal? Lol

India is a solid T20 team and dont need to cheat to win games. The fact that Jadeja is out of remaining t20 games and perhaps from 1st test proves the extent of his injury.

India has 9 of its last 10 T20 games. But but...

He has injured his hamstring. Everyone can see that this is a coverup on behalf of India to make their ‘concussion’ fraud claim look legit.

Why would they care?There's a series to be won and we'll be missing an in form batsman

Its okay man....you were predicting India will win 3-0 anyway. So chillax :srini

To be honest this was very uncomfortable to watch. I would have preferred to lose than substitute Chahal in for Jadeja like this. The closest to this I've seen was Sangakkara and Jayawardena switching captaincy during a series to avoid over rate. This is kind of worse. Ganguly and Dhoni would have never done this.

Why would they care?There's a series to be won and we'll be missing an in form batsman

This is the problem with this generation. Azhar, Ganguly and even Dhoni wouldn't have pulled this. We play with self respect.

To be honest this was very uncomfortable to watch. I would have preferred to lose than substitute Chahal in for Jadeja like this. The closest to this I've seen was Sangakkara and Jayawardena switching captaincy during a series to avoid over rate. This is kind of worse. Ganguly and Dhoni would have never done this.

Finally! Someone with a respectable view on this.

So Jadeja is missing the whole series. Why?

Did you read all of it before calling people dirty cheats?

Australians were complaining that Chahal wasn't a like for like replacement. But does India even have a like for like replacement in their squad?

Chahal was the closest. Jaddu had already batted.Only the remaining part is seen

Because apparently there is a thing called delayed concussion...which happens when the team India doctor tells you that you have a concussion in the dressing room...on the orders of Kohli and Shastri

Just like Langer told Smith in ashes

Do you really understand the meaning of Delay concussion or just posting for the sake of it

Rules are there to be broken. India was well within their right to have a replacement. Was it against the sportsman spirit to let jadeja continue batting and replace him with Chahal later? Yes! Was it against the rule? No!

The thing why so much mayhem is here because India benifited from the concussion replacement.. It it was the other way around we are discussing here how Aussie well in their limit to use concussion substitute.

Indian physio Nitin Patel's absence on the field of play just after Ravindra Jadeja got hit on the head by a Mitchell Starc bouncer in the final over of the innings is a "breach" of concussion protocol, feels former India batsman-turned-commentator Sanjay Manjrekar. Jadeja, who had also suffered a hamstring injury, was replaced by Yuzvendra Chahal, who got 3 for 25 to guide India to a 11-run victory in the first T20 International against Australia in Canberra on Friday. "There is one important breach of protocol that has happened," Manjrekar said after the match on Friday.

"I am sure the match referee will raise with India but one of the main things with that protocol, the moment you get hit on the head, they (physio) have to spend time with the batsman out there, asking how he feels."

"The physio (Nitin Patel in this case) has to come in and there are a certain set of questions that need to be asked. With Jadeja, it just happened, there was hardly any delay and he continued playing," Manjrekar said.

In fact, former Australia cricketer Tom Moody also raised doubts about the severity of Jadeja''s injury since it didn't require medical attention.

"I have no issue with Jadeja being substitute (sic) with Chahal. But I do have an issue with a Doctor & Physio not being present after Jadeja was struck on the helmet which I believe is protocol now?" asked former Australia cricketer Tom Moody, who is now a coach and a commentator.

Manjrekar on his part said that Jadeja continuing to bat didn't give any massive advantage to India as they added only nine runs after that but the credibility of his injury can be questioned.

"He added just 9 runs, it wasn't a massive advantage. But after that (hit), there should have been at least 2-3 minutes where India support staff should have come out. And then it would have looked a little more credible."

However, Manjrekar agreed that match referee David Boon had no option but to allow India a concussion substitute.

"I would say one thing though, David Boon had no choice but to give India the concussion substitute because he would not have the courage to say he wouldn't allow it because, at the time of impact, no attention was given," he said.

"He had to give the concussion substitute once the request was made."

Manjrekar said that while the rules are made with good intentions, some thought needs to be put in so that teams don't misuse it.

"After this, there is going to be a lot of thought given to concussion substitute and the whole concept, because we, as players, there are rules made with good intentions, but we're masters at just trying to find a loophole in the rule to our own advantage.

"Whether India took advantage, I don't know but there's something that ICC will start looking at," Manjrekar said.

Manjrekar believes that ICC will have a look at the fact that the physio didn't come out to attend Jadeja.

"You know what ICC or referee will have a problem with this is there was no visit by the physio, nobody came, no time was taken to see him, he carried on playing."

The concept of like-for-like replacement can also be questioned since Jadeja had a hamstring injury.

"ICC will also make sure no team uses it unfairly, I am not suggesting India used it unfairly and got an unfair advantage. They want the like-for-like replacement. In this case, Jadeja, with the hamstring, is not the same bowler, as Chahal was," Manjrekar said.

https://sports.ndtv.com/australia-v...ch-of-protocol-feels-sanjay-manjrekar-2334434