[VIDEO] Inzamam-ul-Haq "in action" at the 1997 Sahara Cup

Saj

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/rrRjB6Jn4CA" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Heaven knows what would have happened if Inzi had "middled" that fan with his bat.

I have heard that the guy who he went to beat up just called him 'aloo' or something loool

:)) Thank God Inzy is not on here or Youtube when it comes to Indian comments. :inzi

Good old days lol, now you get people whining even over a bloody finger gesture. :facepalm: :kohli

I have heard that the guy who he went to beat up just called him 'aloo' or something loool

I was there!! It wasn't like that honestly. The fan wasn't calling him aloo, he was abusing Inzi, his family, talking dirty stuff about his wife, about Pakistan as well. Besides, he was on that loudspeaker microphone, which makes things worse. Yes, Inzi lost his cool, but anyone in his position would've. Canadian Security should be the ones help responsible for allowing a microphone in the stadium. That fan was louder than the announcer.

Inzi was a french fries when shaved......

aloo with that beard only :inzi

epic name though :D

I was there!! It wasn't like that honestly. The fan wasn't calling him aloo, he was abusing Inzi, his family, talking dirty stuff about his wife, about Pakistan as well. Besides, he was on that loudspeaker microphone, which makes things worse. Yes, Inzi lost his cool, but anyone in his position would've. Canadian Security should be the ones help responsible for allowing a microphone in the stadium. That fan was louder than the announcer.

Very interesting.

I'd heard something similar that the guy was abusing his family, not just calling him aloo.

This can be the only logical explanation. I doubt Inzi would be that stupid to retaliate in this manner over some insignificant aloo comments.

So the retard actually deserved more.

abusing family members is a NO GO...

remember what Zidane did to that Italian chump??? that's why

but i think that was preplanned move by the italian camp coz everyone knew it was gonna end up in penalty shootouts.......and they guess Zidane might do that if provoked like that

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKLnYr5avFc

One thing about Inzi which i loved apart from his legendary batting is the fact he would not take crap from anyone. He would have killed Cork had Stewart and others not intervened.

And who can forget his leading the team off the field and forfeiting the test match when darrell hair accused us of ball tampering at ovalgate, Most Pak captains would have folded and accepted the penalty runs but not Inzi, he did not take any crap.

He was talking a lot of crap on loud speaker and that's max that looser will ever achieve in his sad life: a petty Indian who talked crap on loudspeaker

It seems like that this footage is from a documentary. Could somebody tell me what it is called? Similar narrator and sounds to the Empire of Cricket documentaries.

What would have been worse is if Inzamam was hungry. It's (un)fortunate that Inzy had eaten a few keema aloo parathas before the innings.

And who can forget his leading the team off the field and forfeiting the test match when darrell hair accused us of ball tampering at ovalgate, Most Pak captains would have folded and accepted the penalty runs but not Inzi, he did not take any crap.

Indeed. It is remarkable that Inzi told the PCB Chairman, team manager and other senior govt officials to take a hike when everyone was ordering him to go back to the pitch and resume play.

I remember that day. Shahryar Khan was an absolute disgrace. A complete pushover, walkover, no bone, no spine in his body. He showed no anger, emotion at the fact that the umpire just branded his entire team as cheats.

Indeed. It is remarkable that Inzi told the PCB Chairman, team manager and other senior govt officials to take a hike when everyone was ordering him to go back to the pitch and resume play.

I remember that day. Shahryar Khan was an absolute disgrace. A complete pushover, walkover, no bone, no spine in his body. He showed no anger, emotion at the fact that the umpire just branded his entire team as cheats.

That is exactly why :inzi bhai was a legend!

IK had the bad habit of cursing own team mates and in start it troubled inzi a lot..
and he promised he would never do such thing to new players when he'd be senior..

IK had the bad habit of cursing own team mates and in start it troubled inzi a lot..
and he promised he would never do such thing to new players when he'd be senior..

Agree with the first point. Despite many young players being under an extremely large amount of pressure at the time, he still felt the need to curse them or shout at them harshly whenever they did something wrong.

In addition, I believe that it is a popular misconception that Imran Khan was Pakistan's greatest captain. I believe that like nearly all captains there is a real man leading the team and in IK's case it was :jm. He was the brains behind IK's captaincy.

On the second point, :inzi always did seem to protect the youngsters in the team. Despite being a powerful and extremly large man he never seemed to diplay much anger towards the youngsters if I recall correctly.

Agree with the first point. Despite many young players being under an extremely large amount of pressure at the time, he still felt the need to curse them or shout at them harshly whenever they did something wrong.

In addition, I believe that it is a popular misconception that Imran Khan was Pakistan's greatest captain. I believe that like nearly all captains there is a real man leading the team and in IK's case it was :jm. He was the brains behind IK's captaincy.

On the second point, :inzi always did seem to protect the youngsters in the team. Despite being a powerful and extremly large man he never seemed to diplay much anger towards the youngsters if I recall correctly.

This is a very popular saying that it was Miandad who was the real brains, tacticians behind Imran Khan's captaincy/ Yes no doubt Imran had the people skills, PR/media skills and the ability to use the carrot/stick approach with the difficult individuals in the team and enforcing discipline, authority on the team but history might have been different if Miandad had not helped Imran out tactically.

Miandad who unfortunately lacked terribly in man management suffered in his captaincy and later in his coaching stints. Akhtar in his autobiography criticized him and said all he was interested was in protecting his own job and if that happened at the expense of the players under him then so be it.

Maybe not the best results esp in wc's but he was the best leader i've seen as pak captain

As for the fan he should have just said bismillah and ate him

This is a very popular saying that it was Miandad who was the real brains, tacticians behind Imran Khan's captaincy/ Yes no doubt Imran had the people skills, PR/media skills and the ability to use the carrot/stick approach with the difficult individuals in the team and enforcing discipline, authority on the team but history might have been different if Miandad had not helped Imran out tactically.

Miandad who unfortunately lacked terribly in man management suffered in his captaincy and later in his coaching stints. Akhtar in his autobiography criticized him and said all he was interested was in protecting his own job and if that happened at the expense of the players under him then so be it.

I agree. The reason why Miandad had limited success in his captaincy was because of these reasons:

Firstly, :jm was too protective of his captaincy and would rather put his team's reputation on the line than to have the captaincy removed from him. In addition, in my opinion he was an extremely bitter person who constantly resented the fact that Imran replaced him in the captaincy role in '83 I believe. Despite knowing this, Imran Khan raised the idea that Wasim Akram should become the new captain in 1993 and the selectors even dared to abide by his statement. Due to his bitterness and protective nature, Miandad claimed that IK had always despised him and that he was trying to remove Miandad from the captaincy again. However, I believe that all Imran Khan was trying to do was look to the future knowing that Miandad would only have a few years left in him. As a result of his second removal Miandad's form eventually declined. However, I feel a slight bit of sympathy towards him because he always had to adopt the captaincy whenever nobody else was available or during tough times but once these players returned or the time period was over, the captaincy was snatches away from him again.

Secondly, Javed always did have problems with man-management. From the Youtube videos of his captaincy and also when he wasn't a captain, it is evident that he would always support his players and would speak up for them whenever the going got tough. E.g The support he gave to Aaqib Javed when he bowled bouncers to Devon Malcolm during the '92 series in England and also when Wasim was bowling bouncers but was too young to argue and so Javed Miandad stepped in to support his young bowler. This is something I believe Imran had. Rather than supporting his players whenever they made a mistake, I've seen a number of videos where he would scream at the player or curse them for their mistake which would inevitably lower their confidence levels. However, the quality that Imran had was that he would always support his players in the media and speak highly of them outside of the matches which signified that rather than just shouting at them for no reason, he shouted at them because he wanted them to do well and improve their abilities. However, Miandad couldn't do this because he wasn't very effective at speaking to the media and back of his overall man-management skills.

Finally, another reason why I believe Javed Miandad had limited success in captaincy was because he never really had the backing of his players and selectors. This is despite having a huge amount of awareness of the game and also being able to read the game extremely effienctly and so therefore incorporate completely new strategies and ideas which did actually work.

inzi would have eaten him alive :inzi he rarely got angry but when he did he made sure they knew :afridi

Very interesting.

I'd heard something similar that the guy was abusing his family, not just calling him aloo.

The Aloo-gate it made famous by the media. But honestly, it was far from truth. It was about a fan with a microphone abusing an international player, while security were eating chips and listening. He wasn't only abusing in Pujabi/Hindi, but also in English. Obviously when it came to abusing family members and wife, anyone would've done what Inzi did. Security should be held responsible. Since that game, microphones were not allowed anymore in the stadium.

Doesn't anyone here think what Inzamam did was completely unprofessional for an international player? No doubt that fan was a *****, but then again for a cricketer to do what Inzamam did that day (that too during a scheduled international match) was totally unprofessional. He should have just informed the security so that the fan could be ejected from the stadium. By taking matters in his own hand, Inzamam embarrassed himself and his own team.

Inzamam look a nice guy overall, his conduct (bar this incident) throughout his career has always been exemplary. But on this occasion he made a big mistake.

Doesn't anyone here think what Inzamam did was completely unprofessional for an international player? No doubt that fan was a *****, but then again for a cricketer to do what Inzamam did that day (that too during a scheduled international match) was totally unprofessional. He should have just informed the security so that the fan could be ejected from the stadium. By taking matters in his own hand, Inzamam embarrassed himself and his own team.

Inzamam look a nice guy overall, his conduct (bar this incident) throughout his career has always been exemplary. But on this occasion he made a big mistake.

Well it could have been a serious police case but Inzamam was guilty of assault and in the west no matter what the provocation is it is a very serious offense to raise your hand on another individual except in self defense.

Re: Inzamam ul Haq "in action" at the Sahara Cup

Inzi had the cahonnes which most of our modern day players don't seem to have. Inzamam the legendary ul Haq.

Good old days lol, now you get people whining even over a bloody finger gesture. :facepalm: :kohli

Weren't you the one crying about how SA didn't play in spirit of the game just for some verbal banter vs the Pakistani 'brothers'? And here advocating a player beating up fans as something 'good'?

Doesnt matter when the fan is a low-life freak, Even if Inzamam was jailed for that i'd say it would have been totally worth it..

Inzamam should be glad that the fan was convinced by Indian cricketers to not to press charges else he would have been in jail.Players get abused everyday on the field.You complain to the security and get the fans evicted.Attacking a fan is classless and criminal.Inzy was otherwise a gentleman cricketer.But may be the poor performance of Pakistan in that series had brought down his patience threshold.

http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?204309

Canadian Indian Shiv Kumar Thind spoke about his scuffle with Inzamam to Outlook. In Canada for four years, Thind works as a shipping agent at the Tromar Corporation which specialises in making trophies. Excerpts:

Did you abuse Inzamam?

No. We and Vicky, the person who shared the hailer with me, never abused him. In the first match we kept calling Salim Malik 'Budda'. After he got his 50 he raised a fist towards us. We didn't mind it. We were pulling Inzamam's leg as well. We called him 'aloo'. We said 'don't keep your hand on the hip' etc.

Are you really injured?

I am bruised all over. My shirt got torn. But most of all I feel hugely insulted. How can someone just slap and assault me and get away with it?

Did they try to contact you?

Yes. Someone named Farid came. He's attached to the Pakistani team and he offered me $10,000 to drop the charges. Before that he said he would give me three VIP tickets. I told him I had enough money to buy tickets. Then he said he would give me a T-shirt. I told him I would buy him one. After the match they took me to the Indian dressing room where Sachin, Azhar, Jadeja and others spoke to the two of us, Vicky and me. Azhar said, ' Jane bhi do, kabhi admi patience kho deta hai '. Sachin and Azhar both said they would touch our feet to stop us from filing a complaint. I told Sachin that I could give my life for him but that I would still file a complaint. I told them that even if the prime minister of India told me to forget it, I wouldn't. Then Jadeja piped up, 'if you people had been in India tab dande se mana lete '. We got upset at that and left. The Indians were more interested in a patchup than the Pakistanis. They said they would have to go and play in Pakistan. And that the board might even call off the tour.

Vicky made up with Inzamam.

I am not one of those who will go and hug and take a photograph with someone who has insulted me.

Did you press charges for money?

No. Some people have been calling up to say that I am asking for $80,000. That is wrong. Since I don't want any record against my name, I am taking every step after a great deal of thought. I will be taking every step after contacting my lawyer David McGrath.

http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?204308

Inzamam defended himself in the Karachi daily

Dawn saying, "I had not gone into the stands to have a fistfight with him. I had just gone to ask him why he was abusing me. On the contrary, he attacked me with his megaphone and what I did later was purely to defend myself."

brave inzi speaking the truth, which we didn't know...cameras lied

Canadian Indian Shiv Kumar Thind spoke about his scuffle with Inzamam to Outlook. In Canada for four years, Thind works as a shipping agent at the Tromar Corporation which specialises in making trophies. Excerpts:

Did you abuse Inzamam?

No. We and Vicky, the person who shared the hailer with me, never abused him. In the first match we kept calling Salim Malik 'Budda'. After he got his 50 he raised a fist towards us. We didn't mind it. We were pulling Inzamam's leg as well. We called him 'aloo'. We said 'don't keep your hand on the hip' etc.

Are you really injured?

I am bruised all over. My shirt got torn. But most of all I feel hugely insulted. How can someone just slap and assault me and get away with it?

Yes. Someone named Farid came. He's attached to the Pakistani team and he offered me $10,000 to drop the charges. Before that he said he would give me three VIP tickets. I told him I had enough money to buy tickets. Then he said he would give me a T-shirt. I told him I would buy him one. After the match they took me to the Indian dressing room where Sachin, Azhar, Jadeja and others spoke to the two of us, Vicky and me. Azhar said, ' Jane bhi do, kabhi admi patience kho deta hai '. Sachin and Azhar both said they would touch our feet to stop us from filing a complaint. I told Sachin that I could give my life for him but that I would still file a complaint. I told them that even if the prime minister of India told me to forget it, I wouldn't. Then Jadeja piped up, 'if you people had been in India tab dande se mana lete '. We got upset at that and left. The Indians were more interested in a patchup than the Pakistanis. They said they would have to go and play in Pakistan. And that the board might even call off the tour.

I am not one of those who will go and hug and take a photograph with someone who has insulted me.

No. Some people have been calling up to say that I am asking for $80,000. That is wrong. Since I don't want any record against my name, I am taking every step after a great deal of thought. I will be taking every step after contacting my lawyer David McGrath.

Ya we believe him. :93:

Did you abuse Inzamam?

No.
We and Vicky, the person who shared the hailer with me, never abused him. In the first match we kept calling Salim Malik 'Budda'. After he got his 50 he raised a fist towards us. We didn't mind it. We were pulling Inzamam's leg as well. We called him 'aloo'. We said 'don't keep your hand on the hip' etc.

Are you really injured?

This low life freak is a damn liar!!!!
PERIOD!!!

I was present there at that time and I swear to Allah he abused, and talked really crap stuff about Inzi, his family and his wife.
Inzamam never gets pissed like this, he is a calm guy. Yes, raising his hands was wrong, but the whole crowd could hear what this idiot was saying. What was the security doing at that time? NOTHING!!! There were desis in security, they know what he was saying on micrphone, and to be honest even using that stupid loudspeaker is annoying when you are in a stadium. Why did the security take any action?

This low life freak is a damn liar!!!!
PERIOD!!!

I was present there at that time and I swear to Allah he abused, and talked really crap stuff about Inzi, his family and his wife.
Inzamam never gets pissed like this, he is a calm guy. Yes, raising his hands was wrong, but the whole crowd could hear what this idiot was saying. What was the security doing at that time? NOTHING!!! There were desis in security, they know what he was saying on micrphone, and to be honest even using that stupid loudspeaker is annoying when you are in a stadium. Why did the security take any action?

Why didnt Inzy asked the security to eject him?

Inzamam should be glad that the fan was convinced by Indian cricketers to not to press charges else he would have been in jail.Players get abused everyday on the field.You complain to the security and get the fans evicted.Attacking a fan is classless and criminal.Inzy was otherwise a gentleman cricketer.But may be the poor performance of Pakistan in that series had brought down his patience threshold.

No fan in history had a microphone in hand abusing a cricketers and talking about him doing some stuff with his wife.
As an indian, you would blindly defend another Indian (just like you defend even the negatives of BCCI as if you are on their payroll), but what is wrong: is wrong. Seeing is believing and I saw some low life Indian fan personally abusing a gentle giant. We know through media that Inzi doesn't get mad over anything. So it has to be something really crap for him to get pissed. For once put your 'neutral cap' on, and look at the situation.

Why didnt Inzy asked the security to eject him?

Unfortunately security were incompetant....it is Canada, there aren't many anyways. But there was security on the gate, why did they allow a microphone, specially when there were complains from a lot of people that this Indian fan's taunts and loud abuses are annoying. YES!! Fans were annoying, from both sides infact.

Remember the sight of Inzamam Ul Haq going into the crowd and confronting an abusive fan in the 1997 Sahara Cup? Well, turns out there was more to the infamous story than Inzamam getting riled up for being called “aaloo” (potato). Waqar Younis, Inzamam’s former Pakistan teammate has revealed that besides the “aaloo” chants, what really infuriated Inzamam were some inappropriate comments directed towards Mohammad Azharuddin’s wife.

In the second match of the series, Inzamam, while fielding near the boundary, entered the crowd and got into a scuffle with a spectator of Indian origin. After being escorted back to the ground, Inzamam grabbed a bat and went after the spectator again, almost connecting with his wild swing. However, as Waqar revealed, it was Inzamam standing up for Azharuddin because of which the former batsman decided to take matters into his own hands.

“Yes, there was someone calling him ‘aaloo’. But also, what exactly happened [was that] there was someone in the crowd who was not very good to Azharuddin’s wife – I think they were just talking some rubbish – and Inzi being Inzi, he didn’t really like it. And as I was mentioning, the friendship off the field between these two teams’ players was outstanding, it was amazing, they had a lot of respect for each other,” Waqar said on ‘The Greatest Rivalry’ podcast.

Waqar revealed Inzamam’s act stemmed from the friendship he and the rest of the Pakistan players shared with each other. Inzamam, who usually used to field in the slips, Waqar said, had been paying attention to the chants and asked permission to change his fielding position. Things escalated though when he asked the 12th man to get a bat and that is where Waqar and the rest of the Pakistan team realised what was going on.

“You know we used to play hard on the field, but when it comes to the friendship, we used to really look out for each-others’ back,” Waqar said.

“And what happened [was] because someone was really being rude to Azza’s wife and Inzi just, I don’t know what happened to be very honest, he just decided, he asked, I think Saleem Malik was captain [Ramiz Raja was the Pakistan skipper], he asked Saleem to move him to that fine-leg third-man region, and that’s where he went. And he just asked for the 12th man to bring the bat, and he just gave it to him, and he just ran up the stairs in the scaffolding and brought it down.”

Inzamam was banned for two ODIs for the incident but Waqar revealed the biggest takeaway from the incident was how India and Pakistan’s players had each other’s back despite sharing the fiercest of rivalries on the field.

“Inzi had to suffer, Inzi had to apologise and they went to court for that particular incident and Azhar had to come out, which was very nice of Azharuddin, who had to come out and talk to that Indian guy, the guy was Indian I think, and talk to him and sort out that issue out of the court,” the former Pakistan quick said.

“It was sad and it was ugly what happened, but what I’m trying to say here, is you know when it comes to watching each other’s back, both teams have people or players who really love each other’s company.”

https://m.hindustantimes.com/cricke...fan-in-1997/story-gO6D4KLgtteRXxnErhictN.html