[VIDEO] Matthew Hayden returns as team mentor for T20 World Cup

Australia great Matthew Hayden will be the Pakistan team mentor for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, the Pakistan Cricket Board announced today.

The decision is a continuation of Hayden’s involvement with the national men’s side after he inspired them to the semifinals of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, defeating India, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia in the league matches.

Hayden will join the side in Brisbane on 15 October, the day Pakistan arrive from Christchurch after competing in the T20I series also involving Bangladesh and hosts New Zealand.

PCB Chairman Ramiz Raja: “I welcome Matthew Hayden back in Pakistan colours. He is a proven performer with his credentials acknowledged and recognised world-over. He brings with him wealth of knowledge about Australia conditions and I am confident his involvement will significantly benefit our extremely talented cricketers for the World Cup and future tours Down Under.

“I would like to offer my gratitude to Bank AlFalah who have once again partnered with us on this appointment and hope they will remain connected with the PCB.”

Matthew Hayden: “I am extremely excited to be reuniting with the Pakistan team as their mentor for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia and can’t wait to join the culture again and feel the spirit of One Nation One Passion.

“I have seen how Pakistan have been performing in the ACC T20 Asia Cup and Sunday’s win over India was brilliant.

“I think this Pakistan side has got what it takes to excel in Australia and the conditions will really suit them, both from a batting and bowling perspective. This team has all of its bases covered and I am sure it will light up the World Cup as it did in the UAE last year.

“I feel privileged to be given an opportunity to pass on all my experience and knowledge about all conditions in Australia and can’t wait to be back in the Pakistan dressing room.”

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/jrggyy" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I would rather have Matthew as head coach than Signboard & Yes-man Coach Saqlain who doesn't know anything about coach plus no clue to team strength, planning or situation of the game. We could save extra 2 slots (Saqlain+Yousuf).

Don't know how effective he'll be again. We should've beat Australia in the semi-final with his expertise. Hopefully this time around he shares valuable inside tips.

Great decision. Another masterstroke. Haters can hate on the current management because they have nothing better to do but our team's achieving, looks so happy, and united under the current mgmt.

LOL, what a terrible take. Clearly you are no better than indian fans who used to hate on Ravi. Now they are crying under dravid.

So you are saying Saqlain is a good coach? This guy don't have any say in team selection of game planning. Rather PCB save money using someone to pose for camera. Also M Yousuf should work on grassroot level.

Good decision. His presence had a visible effect on the team in last wt20 and he knows what it takes to succeed in Australia.

Shaun Tait and Hayden in our dressing room

That’s not bad. Tait has been our best bowling coach for a long time

Shaun Tait and Hayden in our dressing room

That’s not bad. Tait has been our best bowling coach for a long time

Could save some $$$$ to get rid of Yousuf & Saqlain. Both has nothing to do or any input.

We dont need a mentor. We need a proper head coach.

If sponsors are dictating who the pcb should hire than allah he hafiz hai is team ka.

Nothing wrong with hiring Hayden as a mentor to give tips to the team.The players playing for Pakistan shouldn’t need coaching,they are not u19.They need to know how to excite their plans based on the match situation.No coach is going to make Asif or Khushdil world class batsmen.Hayden’s knowledge of Australian conditions will be beneficial.

Could save some $$$$ to get rid of Yousuf & Saqlain. Both has nothing to do or any input.

Saqlain is a qualified coach and has been part of WC winning Eng team alongwith stints in NZ and WI.

The team performances have been decent under him.

Saqlain is a qualified coach and has been part of WC winning Eng team alongwith stints in NZ and WI.

The team performances have been decent under him.

He was there as a spin coach not as a head coach.
Also, he has no say in team selection either.

Don't know how effective he'll be again. We should've beat Australia in the semi-final with his expertise. Hopefully this time around he shares valuable inside tips.

He said it himself he’ll support Australia. As if he’s going to help Pakistan beat Australia in Australia

So what does this mean for Mohammad Yousuf? Seems excessive to have a batting coach and a mentor.

If Alfalah are sponsoring then that is fine( but if the money was coming from the PCB then i would be very critical) but these sort of appointments have little or no effect. There is no substitute for Good, hard, Domestic competitive cricket played on good wickets.

So what does this mean for Mohammad Yousuf? Seems excessive to have a batting coach and a mentor.

Who is also having little impact. Our players cant rotate the strike against good bowlers especially spinners before he joined and they still cant.

I remember when they’d be cutting cakes in the locker rooms just because someone scored a 50 :)))

At least this instance makes some sense to have a cake.

Hayden's services will not come cheap. The price tag is close to $100,000 albeit paid by a sponsor according to sports reporters

how does that compare to the other coaches we have?

For me its must to have him with us for the t20 world cup in australia

Matthew Hayden has joined the squad in Brisbane.

I would rather have Matthew as head coach than Signboard & Yes-man Coach Saqlain who doesn't know anything about coach plus no clue to team strength, planning or situation of the game. We could save extra 2 slots (Saqlain+Yousuf).

And a more rile situation to avoid would be to not have this "your idea vs my idea" tussle between Saqlain/Yousuf and Hayden.

You know that typical desi soch by Saqi/Yousuf, "ohh yaar Hayden kia samajhta hai, ignore what he says and listen to me."

Matty gets on well with our lads. I don't know who else should have been team mentor not that the title itself makes much sense:sharjeel

Pakistan's biggest barrier is the language barrier as hardly anyone can hold a full conversation in English and then certain accents would just fly over their heads as well.

They will always need someone to translate to them what the coach/mentor is trying to explain that too depending if the person translating is actually being honest and telling the player exactly what is being said.

Here to pick up free cash

If Pakistan advertise for a position, you expect people not to apply? Not like he came begging for involvement.

Hayden has great knowledge of local conditions. T20 expertise. Played BBL himself until quite recently. Coaching experience. Experience with Pakistan teams/culture. Well connected in Oz cricket + currently involved with CA to assist with any planning/ specialists/ logistics/ insiders/ issues.

If they wanted someone local who can actually help with a) local weather/pitches= tick, b) t20 tournament play/world cups= tick, c) connecting with any officials, extra coaches, executives/CA, even tourist stuff for downtime to switch off away from pressure= tick, d) even technical batting advice= tick then he actually does have something to offer in all those areas.

I would have loved to have a Pakistani mentor, someone like the great Zaheer Abbas.

Good move. Enough with the coaches who are out of their depth. This man probably had a positive influence last year when our openers were more aggressive, and he had the mindset required for success in this format.

Not to mention having an Australian mentor in Australia… you know… definitely helps. He’ll know all about what to expect from each ground.

If anyone has any doubts over his t20 prowess and knowledge:

[utube]6pfY2F3P0jM[/utube]

Good PR stunt Hayden bottled it when it mattered most or maybe our boyzz were unable to keep pace with his mentorship, Hopefully Rizwan will preach him the ways of ascent to righteousness

Excellent news, atleast T20 final spot guaranteed. Good team with a great consultant roped in.

Hayden throws a party for the Pak squad...

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/b99fpg" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I so wish I was an Australian cricketer who made a name for himself.

I could just live off my name for the rest of my life without actually having to do anything but just be there and say words of inspiration

I hope he has a Steve Rixon effect. Just ruthless coaching and expect 100% commitment from players.

I so wish I was an Australian cricketer who made a name for himself.

I could just live off my name for the rest of my life without actually having to do anything but just be there and say words of inspiration

Why only Australian? what has Pakistani legends like Waqar Younis, Younis Khan etc etc has done for Pakistan after their retirements? They didn't do anything & took hefty pay from PCB.

Mentoring in progress

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/fsh298" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Hayden is quite a relaxed jovial character. I'm not sure if he has even coached or mentored his state side The Queensland Bulls. But no doubt he knows the game inside out. Pakistanis are lucky to have him because most Aussie coaches have a reputation of being hard-nosed.

If Pakistan get Ponting (even though they cannot afford him), he will absolutely set them straight.

What about shaoib Akhtar am sure he will put these big headed players straight.

Shoaib will just fall out with the management. He isn’t suited to a professional atmosphere. He is best doing his bombastic talks as an expert

Ponting is a professional coach and a 100+ Test captain. He is the most no nonsense coach cricketer I have seen

Imagine Babar and Rizwan tuk tuking 120 sr as openers under him? They won’t be allowed to enter the dressing room!

Add Justin Langer to that list.

Yeah Langer will be too hard for our boys. You can expect someone to deliver a press conference “coach Saab ne mujhe abusing ki hai, gandi gaaliya di hain”

Whereas Langer probably uses the f word at home all the time for anything

I think Hayden has calmed down a lot since his playing days and because he turned to God. Hayden in his playing days was one of the last people you would want of mess with.

Yeah Langer will be too hard for our boys. You can expect someone to deliver a press conference “coach Saab ne mujhe abusing ki hai, gandi gaaliya di hain”

lol that is so funny 😂😂😂

You are right...Langer will definitely be too hard on them. They might end up mentioning the f-word repeatedly in the post match presentations especially with an English/Australian lady commentator. That will be so embarrassing!

Behind the scenes

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/iibzsc" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

waste of money these mentors... hire a proper bloody coach...

Not sure how much a difference will he make in a few weeks. There were some improvements when he was there in the last T20 WC but when he left our batsmen were back to their bad habits.

thats the thing, if pcb is serious, start at grass root lvls with high end coaches and mentors drama... at international lvl you need coaches who can gauge the squad, come up with strategies on how to go about business... you can bring don bradman, lara, sachin, ponting, kallis, whoever, our boi's will have them walking away deranged on their philosophies rather than learning anything... there is already a vid of haydos seeing if wasim jr can throw the ball out of stadium... ye mentorship hi jo gi.... money wasted...

Call me naive but I find it calming to see Tait and Hayden part of the setup.

Will be interesting to see who we go for when Saqlain's contract runs out next year. Fleming or Flower would be ideal but I'm not sure either of them would accept it.

White skin privileges. Do a bit of cheerleading and praise Pakistan’s “talent” on camera, oversee a humiliating tournament and then walk away with a hefty paycheck and no accountability.

Pakistan is the easiest team to make money from if you are big name white cricketer. PCB will invent a phony position to accommodate you and give you money if you are interested.

White skin privileges. Do a bit of cheerleading and praise Pakistan’s “talent” on camera, oversee a humiliating tournament and then walk away with a hefty paycheck and no accountability.

Pakistan is the easiest team to make money from if you are big name white cricketer. PCB will invent a phony position to accommodate you and give you money if you are interested.

My observation is that Australians are through and through pros. They really give it their all in what they do and dont do anything half@$$ed. I cannot speak to whether Hayden is going to walk away with a hefty paycheck which he does not deserve, but I do know that he will give it his all to help the team and that in my book is good enough.

Sometimes, this white privilege is well earned. If our own guys were as professional, had a good work ethic and produced results, we would be talking about brown privilege, which... of course does not exist. I mean we have had the top brains of Pakistan act as coaches, sometimes more than once and none of them had the same level of success and respect that a foreign coach like Woolmer earned.

My observation is that Australians are through and through pros. They really give it their all in what they do and dont do anything half@$$ed. I cannot speak to whether Hayden is going to walk away with a hefty paycheck which he does not deserve, but I do know that he will give it his all to help the team and that in my book is good enough.

Sometimes, this white privilege is well earned. If our own guys were as professional, had a good work ethic and produced results, we would be talking about brown privilege, which... of course does not exist. I mean we have had the top brains of Pakistan act as coaches, sometimes more than once and none of them had the same level of success and respect that a foreign coach like Woolmer earned.

Coaching in cricket is a bit overrated. At the end of the day it's the player who has to work hard on his game, go to the nets and bat and bowl and have the hunger to learn and practice more of his craft. That was how someone like Terry Jenner worked on Warne. Or look at Zaheer Khan on how a few sessions with Akram changed his approach towards bowling. He spent hours in the nets and learned all the nuisances of reverse swing. Or look at our Imran Khan he learned to bowl the leg cutter from his contemporary Marshall who himself learned it from Lillee during the 1981-82 tour.

If our players still have a school kid attitude then a coach no matter an Australian or a Pakistani won't make a difference.

Coaching in cricket is a bit overrated. At the end of the day it's the player who has to work hard on his game, go to the nets and bat and bowl and have the hunger to learn and practice more of his craft. That was how someone like Terry Jenner worked on Warne. Or look at Zaheer Khan on how a few sessions with Akram changed his approach towards bowling. He spent hours in the nets and learned all the nuisances of reverse swing. Or look at our Imran Khan he learned to bowl the leg cutter from his contemporary Marshall who himself learned it from Lillee during the 1981-82 tour.

If our players still have a school kid attitude then a coach no matter an Australian or a Pakistani won't make a difference.

This was true maybe 20 years ago. You need only look at how Bayliss revolutionized English white ball cricket, Mickey dragged Pakistan kicking and screaming into the modern day and Flower turned the dreadful Multan Sultans into the best team in PSL to understand the importance of coaching in contemporary cricket.

Just like Rameez, you have not kept pace with time.

We need long term engagement from a coaching pro, not a 3 week moonlight gig from a budding chef.

Dont agree with that. Coaches these days are coordinators of analysts, statisticians, whatnot with players and formukalte the strategies and their implementations. This is the sort of modern hi tech stuff that our young players are totally ill equipped for. You need a proper modern coach to do this stuff for us.

What you said is the sort of stuff MIANDAD used to say when he was coach. He believed in sticking with his era and it was not doing us any good. I htink the SaFRICANS and Woolmer in particular revolutionized this aspect of cricket and the franchise cricket has made it mainstream now. Coaches are very very relevant these days in cricket.

Dont agree with that. Coaches these days are coordinators of analysts, statisticians, whatnot with players and formukalte the strategies and their implementations. This is the sort of modern hi tech stuff that our young players are totally ill equipped for. You need a proper modern coach to do this stuff for us.

What you said is the sort of stuff MIANDAD used to say when he was coach. He believed in sticking with his era and it was not doing us any good. I htink the SaFRICANS and Woolmer in particular revolutionized this aspect of cricket and the franchise cricket has made it mainstream now. Coaches are very very relevant these days in cricket.

But great coaches like Woolmer, Watmore, Mickey Arthur etc didn't achieve much with Pakistan cricket.
Too much coaching and analysis will not develop a players own thinking. It's great at junior and U19 level. That's my old school thinking.

But great coaches like Woolmer, Watmore, Mickey Arthur etc didn't achieve much with Pakistan cricket.
Too much coaching and analysis will not develop a players own thinking. It's great at junior and U19 level. That's my old school thinking.

You can ask the players what those coaches achieved. They all swear by Woolmer. Look you are competing against other top 6/7 teams who employ similar coaches now so it comes down to a lot of other stuff such as the adaptability and grass root strength of our players which we all know is not on par with other nations due to our poor domestic structure and bad dietary habits. So its ridiculous to suggest a modern day coach is only effective for us if we win all the major tournaments. Mickey Arthur did pretty good if you ask me because he coached us to the ICCT win. Similarly Woolmer's training had a lot to do with our success in 2009 world cup win.

If we leave it to desi unqualified coaches, or to the players to their own devices, you would not like what happens to our team, trust me!

You can ask the players what those coaches achieved. They all swear by Woolmer. Look you are competing against other top 6/7 teams who employ similar coaches now so it comes down to a lot of other stuff such as the adaptability and grass root strength of our players which we all know is not on par with other nations due to our poor domestic structure and bad dietary habits. So its ridiculous to suggest a modern day coach is only effective for us if we win all the major tournaments. Mickey Arthur did pretty good if you ask me because he coached us to the ICCT win. Similarly Woolmer's training had a lot to do with our success in 2009 world cup win.

If we leave it to desi unqualified coaches, or to the players to their own devices, you would not like what happens to our team, trust me!

I get your point. Poor club and domestic structure plus unqualified local coaches result in undeveloped cricketers at international level.
I'm more of a Test Cricket fan so according to me we didn't achieve any series win in England, Australia or South Africa during these coaches era. We had quite a bit of overseas Test success in the 80s and 90s.

Anyways, I respect your points they are very valid for modern cricket.

I get your point. Poor club and domestic structure plus unqualified local coaches result in undeveloped cricketers at international level.
I'm more of a Test Cricket fan so according to me we didn't achieve any series win in England, Australia or South Africa during these coaches era. We had quite a bit of overseas Test success in the 80s and 90s.

I think the reasons for our past test and current performances have different reasons. we thrive on sheer talent and during the era when it was all about that and skill and maybe some hard work, we did great. when professionalism came into sport in the 90s and onwards, we struggled. But i think more importantly, its our change of focus as a cricketing nation as well. We like our instant cricket. Like you, I am a purist and prefer test cricket but our nation does not enjoy it as much as ODIs and T20s. Our stadia attendance during tests was starting to get low even before international cricket left our shores in 2010 or so, was it?

we schedule 2 tests series mostly. So our players dont focus on it either. But you sure did raise an interesting and unique question. I think any coach we hire, also knows the secret to his success will be our team winning big white ball tournaments and not many will care about how our test team is doing. Under Misbah we did wonders were briefly number 1 in test cricket but our people still talk about world cup wins in 92, 2009, ICCT win in 2017 etc as our fondest memories of cricket. Thats just the nature of our fandom and it bears on our test performances.

.. and thank you for your kind comments.

Don't know but have a feeling Hayden is there for PR exercise not much in that consultation role just sit around offer some tips harp about the talent in the side sip some tea with MoYo Saqi and that's it and now with Hayden as mentor that makes you question what is the role of Moyo is he an asst coach, batting coach or what

I am sure he will do what he can but yeah it is probably not prudent to suggest he will be able to whip out and formulate a world cup winning strategy in what is, at best, an ad-hic assignment.

Indeed the regular coaches are clueless when it comes to planning and strategy then what to expect from Hayden
They knew today it was going to rain and game won't be completed so why not bat first and give batters ideal match practice but 100%sure Saqlain n Co. Have treated these warmup as jokes write off stuff are we fully prepared to take on India don't think so

Seems like Hayden is uplifting the dressing room atmosphere and keeping everyone in training drills in good spirits. Not sure how people can blame Hayden here as it was PCB who approached him for this role.

But Pak needs a long term plan and mentors aren't the answer for it. It was the same situation last year but Ramiz instead went for short term extension/appointment for Saqlain, Yousaf and Tait. Need to hire a proper coaching staff for a good duration of time.

To fix the underlying issues of cricket, nothing is going to get solved without improving the grass root level cricket.

i think we shot ourselves in the foot when the misbah, wasim camp overthrew Arthur. I think Arthur was good for us and he should have stayed. It was pretty poor the way he was unceremoniously dumped. He was working hard and was starting to produce results for us.

Call me naive but I find it calming to see Tait and Hayden part of the setup.

Will be interesting to see who we go for when Saqlain's contract runs out next year. Fleming or Flower would be ideal but I'm not sure either of them would accept it.

i can see pcb getting Danish Kaneria after saqi.... dont hold ur breath on ur wishlist...

i think we shot ourselves in the foot when the misbah, wasim camp overthrew Arthur. I think Arthur was good for us and he should have stayed. It was pretty poor the way he was unceremoniously dumped. He was working hard and was starting to produce results for us.

Mickey was a complete failure in the second half of his tenure. Pakistan lost 24 of its last 34 ODIs in his tenure, lost several Test series and was starting to lose frequently in T20Is as well.

He had to go but PCB did a poor job in replacing him.

Y’all don’t know about the LeBron effect. Having someone like Hayden around who was a) technically sound b) played exactly like how our players should play and c) is an Australian legend offering mentorship in Australia during a tournament taking place in Australia is great for morale at the very least and can give a window into his mind of how to be an aggressive batsman.

Will this make our batsmen able to score 200 in 10 overs overnight? Probably not. But cricket at the intl level is quite a bit of a mental game. And seeing that we made it to the semis and ended the jinx vs India in the last tournament, I’d say bring him again if we can afford it.

Idk if LeBron effect is known by some other name outside of the US, but to give a brief summary, in the NBA, whichever team LeBron is playing for has the rest of the players he’s playing alongside with perform at a higher level when he’s in the team. As soon as he transfers out to a different team, their stats dip back down.

They go from performing at a higher level individually, to performing at a lower level than we he was in the team, again, individually.

If Hayden can have a similar effect on Pakistan in the dressing room, then I’m all for it.