[VIDEO] Pemra asks broadcasters, advertisers to review biscuit ad following complaints

[Utube]9v8h9MCQgG8[/utube]

The Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (Pemra) has issued an advisory for broadcasters and advertisers urging them to refrain from using themes and content which do not correspond with the nature of the product being marketed.

In an advisory issued on October 5, the authority said that the content of ordinary consumer products, such as biscuits and detergent, being aired on TV channels was not corresponding with the nature of the product.

The advisory comes after some social media users expressed displeasure with an advertisement of Gala biscuit, starring actress Mehwish Hayat, that has been running on TV channels.

"The trend is causing/promoting unrest and behavioral disturbance among viewers being not only in violation of commonly accepted standards of decency but also socio-cultural norms of Pakistani society," Pemra stated, adding that viewers were criticising the regulatory body on social media for allowing satellite TV channels to air such "indecent advertisements".

"Viewers are of the view that airing advertisements regarding general consumer products in such a bizarre manner [...] is unwarranted and needs to be looked into. In addition, complainants are of the opinion that presentation of products in such a manner is wittingly or unwittingly merely aiming to promote consumerism which also requires due consideration by all stakeholders."

The authority urged the Pakistan Broadcaster Association, the Pakistan Advertising Association and the Pakistan Advertisers Society to sensitise their members about the public's concerns and to specifically review the content for the Gala biscuit advertisement by giving due credence to the public's apprehensions and the relevant provisions of the Electronic Media (Programmes and Advertisements) Code of Conduct, 2015.

"All stakeholders are further advised to stop the rampant use of themes/content which do not corresponding with the nature of the products."

https://www.dawn.com/news/1583559/p...ers-to-review-biscuit-ad-following-complaints

The trend is causing/promoting unrest and behavioral disturbance among viewers being not only in violation of commonly accepted standards of decency but also socio-cultural norms of Pakistani society," Pemra stated

If such an ad can cause ‘unrest and behavioural disturbance’ then that says more about the offended viewers than it does about the benign ad.

I dont see any fhaashi or anything vulgur in it but wth would you have dancing in a biscuit ad? Doesn't make sense

I too was surprised too see such wahyaat ad. Seems like some bollywood item number instead of a biscuit ad.

What were the complaints about?

Think women dancing probably in a biscuit commercial - no idea what the issue is.

Is it :

1. Women dancing
2. Women dancing in a biscuit commercial

Ive seen far worse ads but why on earth is there shaadi dancing in a biscuit commercial. I genuinly would have no clue what was being advertised had the OP not stated it was a biscuit ad.

Much ado about nothing.... This will bring more eyeballs to the ad.

On another note though, the music/ lyric accent and set looks more Rajisthani then anything from Punjab or Sindh? So it is really highlighting Pakistan?

Meh Pakistanis don't realize how conservative they are to the rest of the world, compared to Tiktok dances these are really wholesome.

Nothing wrong with the ad it’s pretty decent not sure what the uprising is all
About

I mean whose bright idea was it to sell biscuits by hiring an A lister(who can sell biscuits by just standing and talking) and making her dance so they can sell biscuits :93::79:

Not a fan of the ban, but even more perplexed at the creative team that decided dancing is a great way to advertise a biscuit.

PEMRA bans Gala Biscuit Ad from Airing on TV

Here's the ad guys

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RElslRg3Zrk&ab_channel=RohailHyatt

Is it cheap, cheesy and over the top? Absolutely.

Is it 'indecent'? I wouldn't go that far. Who are these people sitting around in PEMRA and PTA banning everything. What's sad is that the Federal Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Ali Muhammad Khan, also criticized the ad. I don't see what's wrong with it.

At least Fawad Ch stood up and called out people like Ansar Abbasi who have termed this stupid ad as being indecent.

Reading this one might think Pakistan doesn't top lists on searches for adult content. We're nothing but hypocrites trying to portray a warped holier than thou attitude.

No wonder our country is a laughing stock! Pakistanis poori raat mujray dekhkar, subha uth kar, Islam kay taykaydaar bannay hotay hai!

The most hypocritical nation on earth. If hypocrisy was a country, Pakistan would be its capital!

Its a cringey add It should be banned on that basis alone

What has all this dancing and singing got to do with the biscuit anyway?

Surely if ur advertising a product you should be displaying something relevant like its taste, ingredients health benefits etc

This sort of tamasha which has nothing to do with the product should be banned

Surely if ur advertising a product you should be displaying something relevant like its taste, ingredients health benefits etc

How a company promotes its products is not PEMRA’s nor the governments concern. Not liking the ad is a personal choice but banning it for being vulgar is beyond stupid

No wonder our country is a laughing stock! Pakistanis poori raat mujray dekhkar, subha uth kar, Islam kay taykaydaar bannay hotay hai!

The most hypocritical nation on earth. If hypocrisy was a country, Pakistan would be its capital!

Which is why you left Pakistan right? Persecution, hypocrisy, the end of corrupt earnings? I don't understand, you hate every aspect of Pakistan, yet here you are on a Pakistani forum. Stockholm syndrome much?

Every country and every society is hypocritical; you included. When issues such as family values are raised in Pakistan, it is your kind who make the most noise because deep down you support the vices since you have easier access in another 'forward thinking' country.

Ad looks decent by bollywood standards, where suggestive dance moves are considered normal, but good that Pakistan is not adhering to the standards set by bollywood and indians.

Horrible argument. Many people may find it interesting. It is merely a personal matter; the government has no business banning ads. Say I do not like Rooh Afza ad, would be it appropriate if it is banned?

The people decide what they like and what they don’t like.

Which is why you left Pakistan right? Persecution, hypocrisy, the end of corrupt earnings? I don't understand, you hate every aspect of Pakistan, yet here you are on a Pakistani forum. Stockholm syndrome much?

Every country and every society is hypocritical; you included. When issues such as family values are raised in Pakistan, it is your kind who make the most noise because deep down you support the vices since you have easier access in another 'forward thinking' country.

I may love the country more than you but I refuse to paint every rosy. I prefer truth. Unlike you and most Pakistanis, I do not lie to myself. We need to ackenowledge shortcomings if we are to fix them.

Your second paragraph is laughable. You think Pakistan is a righteous and virtuous society? Tell me where else do you find, fake doctors, pilots, teachers, rampant sexual abuse of children and women, severe persecution of minorities, terrorism, zero law and order, garbage-filled streets and roads, bonded labor, highest infant mortality, highest number of honor killings, acid attacks and I can keep on going.

Stop lying to yourself! The west is morally superior than two-bit dirt-poor countries like Pakistan.

I may love the country more than you but I refuse to paint every rosy. I prefer truth. Unlike you and most Pakistanis, I do not lie to myself. We need to ackenowledge shortcomings if we are to fix them.

Your second paragraph is laughable. You think Pakistan is a righteous and virtuous society? Tell me where else do you find, fake doctors, pilots, teachers, rampant sexual abuse of children and women, severe persecution of minorities, terrorism, zero law and order, garbage-filled streets and roads, bonded labor, highest infant mortality, highest number of honor killings, acid attacks and I can keep on going.

Stop lying to yourself! The west is morally superior than two-bit dirt-poor countries like Pakistan.

I prefer the truth too, but you just post vile hatered. And no, my second para was in English. I never claimed Pakistan to be righteous, I merely said all countries and societies are hypocritical. Nothing you have mentioend is exclusive to Pakistan - so save your point unless you have something unique.

Oh, the West is far more hypocritical that Pakistan, way way more beyond your wildest dream. Don't expect me to defend the west when it comes to hypocrisy and family values within society.

No why did you leave Pakistan? Apostasy? Persecution? Or the trail of corrupt earning drying up?

I prefer the truth too, but you just post vile hatered. And no, my second para was in English. I never claimed Pakistan to be righteous, I merely said all countries and societies are hypocritical. Nothing you have mentioend is exclusive to Pakistan - so save your point unless you have something unique.

Oh, the West is far more hypocritical that Pakistan, way way more beyond your wildest dream. Don't expect me to defend the west when it comes to hypocrisy and family values within society.

No why did you leave Pakistan? Apostasy? Persecution? Or the trail of corrupt earning drying up?

You are funny. These things all almost entirely exclusive to Pakistan.

What Pakistani family values are you talking about? The family values which results in 80% of rapes being committed by family members? Or the ones where a girl is murdered for marrying a man of her choice? Or the ones where young girls are forcibly married off to 55 year old foreign-passport holder for the sake of money? Or the ones where wives are killed by their husbands for giving birth to a baby girl?

Not exclusive to Pakistan and wide spread as you make it out. The media are masters are at selective reporting. The one aspect I would say is exclusive to Pakistan is blasphemy laws, but that's about it.

The same level of stats apply in the West. You talk about wives being killed by their husbands in Pakistan, check the stats on domestic crime in the UK alone, devoid of any child!

So I ask again, why do you hate Pakistan so much? You clearly have a chip on your shoulder. This is a rhetorical question, because I can guess, but reality is your opinion of Pakistan is clearly biased for obvious reasons, and as such your opinion of Pakistan is at worst disingenuous, and at best, sensationalist lies.

Not exclusive to Pakistan and wide spread as you make it out. The media are masters are at selective reporting. The one aspect I would say is exclusive to Pakistan is blasphemy laws, but that's about it.

The same level of stats apply in the West. You talk about wives being killed by their husbands in Pakistan, check the stats on domestic crime in the UK alone, devoid of any child!

So I ask again, why do you hate Pakistan so much? You clearly have a chip on your shoulder. This is a rhetorical question, because I can guess, but reality is your opinion of Pakistan is clearly biased for obvious reasons, and as such your opinion of Pakistan is at worst disingenuous, and at best, sensationalist lies.

Come on. Comparing Pakistan to the UK. When wad the last time somebody was killed for honor in the UK? Or killed our belonging to a certain sect? Or killed be for giving birth to a baby girl?

Yes. It is a media conspiracy to defame Pakistan. :)
Why do we have the worst passport if we are such noble people?

I have said many times, I probably love Pakistan the most amongst all of you but I cannot bury my head in the sand. I say things as they are.

Come on. Comparing Pakistan to the UK. When wad the last time somebody was killed for honor in the UK? Or killed our belonging to a certain sect? Or killed be for giving birth to a baby girl?

Yes. It is a media conspiracy to defame Pakistan. :)
Why do we have the worst passport if we are such noble people?

I have said many times, I probably love Pakistan the most amongst all of you but I cannot bury my head in the sand. I say things as they are.

I'm not saying we Pakistanis should bury our head in the sand. I would be the first to say that in order to fix the problem we must accept and acknowledge the problem first.

As for crime in the UK. In the UK you can get killed for being a different colour. You can get killed for having a different political view. Honour killings are rare but do happen, last one off memory being in North London (by a Brit Turk). NHS no longer reveal sex of an unborn baby in areas where ASIANS are large 'minority' such as West and North West London, not because of Pakistanis, but because of Indian Hindus.

The issue is you (as in those who claim to 'love' Pakistan) do not provide any solutions or ideas, just relentless critisim and abuse towards Pakistan. Whether it is Cricket, Politics, or society in general. IK for example, you, claim to love Pakistan yet despise IK.

You love Pakistan right? Then how on earth can one who loves Pakistan criticise IK who is trying to fix decades of corruption which pummeled Pakistan into ruins?

I dont see any fhaashi or anything vulgur in it but wth would you have dancing in a biscuit ad? Doesn't make sense

For the same reason you have sexy women advertising chocolate or yoghurt in western countries. Both men and women get stimulated by sexual imagery and as the old saying goes, sex sells. A while back you had diet coke ads which had images of male model builders stripped to their torso, and no doubt women started buying diet coke in the hope of catching a hunky partner. This is just basic level advertising.

How a company promotes its products is not PEMRA’s nor the governments concern. Not liking the ad is a personal choice but banning it for being vulgar is beyond stupid

If you don't find it vulgar, watch it again at around 25 seconds.

Vulgarity is all relative. For Pakistanis who are guided by Islamic codes of dress or behaviour, the tight clothes and suggestive dancing would probably be considered too explicit. For Brits who have went beyond this moral rectitude over half a century ago, they would probably think she is still wearing far too many clothes. The same ad with the girl wearing a thong would probably have more impact.

Agree, but I would go one step further. Any person who is a parent, that too of daughters, will have a different view.

Family values. The core of stability and prosperity. Education begins at home.

Entirely exclusive to Pakistan, big LOL

80%, where did you get that number, let me do big LOL in advance since you'll come up with some rubbish argument.

Continue with your random blanket statements, either you have never been exposed to different countries or you have a agenda, if I had to pick, it would be religious.

Agree, but I would go one step further. Any person who is a parent, that too of daughters, will have a different view.

Family values. The core of stability and prosperity. Education begins at home.

Even that is relative. Family values differ depending on cultural background. Anglo Brits would have a far more tolerant threshold than Pakistani Brits. Love Island for example, where you get parents viewing their offspring 80% naked cavorting with different partners on tv. It's all a matter of perception.

Very true. But being a parent certainly changes one's view of the world.

Love Island. OMG. I prefer BGT! 😆

80%, where did you get that number, let me do big LOL in advance since you'll come up with some rubbish argument.

Continue with your random blanket statements, either you have never been exposed to different countries or you have a agenda, if I had to pick, it would be religious.

Here's a hint: Does not like people with a sunny disposition.

I doubt that show is watched by parents with their children anywhere in the world

If people are watching the show with family than the family is dysfunctional not British

I doubt that show is watched by parents with their children anywhere in the world

If people are watching the show with family than the family is dysfunctional not British

Contestants are actually in there saying my parents are watching this so I have to be careful. Then you get the parents going out to the island to join their kids in their cozzies and tell them how proud they are.

I find it hard to grasp that a show like naked attraction exists in main stream television. British TV shows are weird. Love Island is teletubbies in front of this one.

This is nothing. There used to be a watershed, adult themed programs after 9PM.

9PM has become 9AM.

Contestants are actually in there saying my parents are watching this so I have to be careful. Then you get the parents going out to the island to join their kids in their cozzies and tell them how proud they are.

WTH is wrong with these people man! Sheer madness

Society is extremely liberal

Is religion dead or not important in Uk, is no one there to stop it (meanwhile some places in US still ban evolutionary theory being shown in kid tv show...)

Religion is neither dead nor important in the UK, but the current state of UK society is no doubt suffering from the lack of religion. However what is important is freedom, Western values of democracy, the right to offend.

Deluded plebs in the UK (and USA for matter) believe they are privileged with such freedom and democracy, though little they realise over 100 nations in the world share the same level of freedom and democracy.

The idea is that there is a 9pm watershed for shows which are family friendly, after 9 anything goes as this is indeed a liberal society. The argument goes if you don't like it, don't watch, which is fair enough. Of course no one really takes notice of 9pm cutoffs anyway, kids can access anything if they want to as the default of most technology is to leave it available, it is up to the adult to put in the safety measures, pin numbers etc.

The advertising board regulators have every right to ban adverts which they feel arent legal honest accurate or truthful in representation of the product

This ad doesnt have anything which you can attribute to representing the supposed biscuit they are advertising

The idea is that there is a 9pm watershed for shows which are family friendly, after 9 anything goes as this is indeed a liberal society. The argument goes if you don't like it, don't watch, which is fair enough. Of course no one really takes notice of 9pm cutoffs anyway, kids can access anything if they want to as the default of most technology is to leave it available, it is up to the adult to put in the safety measures, pin numbers etc.

Just wondering, were you allowed to watch Grange Hill?

After a long time, we have a PM who is the true representative of Pakistanis. Naturally, it is effecting the state institutions who are adopting a more awaami character. Like PEMRA, in this instance, is regulating content according to public sensitivities.

Agreed as long as there is a defined policy about what is permissible to be aired. I don’t think it is correct that an add or any media content gets banned because of few social media complaints.

From my understanding most people in Pakistan have easy access to Bollywood and Hollywood content. Are the restrictions enforced on the availability of these content?

Otherwise, it puts Pakistani products and entertainment industry in a severe disadvantage.

Wish our molvis had made noise about suffering of minorities or Lahore motorway incident as they do as biscuit adverts.

Public sensitivities get hurt by dancing? Must be a really sensitive public that gets offended by dancing on TV but is okay with everything else that is on air at the moment. It's idiots sitting at PEMRA who are on a banning spree and idiots who get offended by an ad like this.

You are right, there should be no hypocrisy. PEMRA should ban other such TV content as well.

Why doesn't PEMRA just permanntly close all channels? I mean after all we are an Islamic country are these drama channels and these news channels really part of our culture or religion? Just ban everything. While we are at it, we should ask the government to ban the sale and production of TV's as these are also unislamic.

What about radio's? We should car manufacturers and sellers to remove radio's from the cars they are selling as this is also unislamic because it plays music.

Internet. We need to ban the internet. Or atleast websites like youtube and possibly this forum and others where unIslamic things are being discussed. Facebook should be banned so many offensive videos are shared on Facebook. Similarly, twitter and Instagram as well. The content shared on these websites could hurt public sensitivities.

Why doesn't PEMRA just permanntly close all channels? I mean after all we are an Islamic country are these drama channels and these news channels really part of our culture or religion? Just ban everything. While we are at it, we should ask the government to ban the sale and production of TV's as these are also unislamic.

What about radio's? We should car manufacturers and sellers to remove radio's from the cars they are selling as this is also unislamic because it plays music.

Internet. We need to ban the internet. Or atleast websites like youtube and possibly this forum and others where unIslamic things are being discussed. Facebook should be banned so many offensive videos are shared on Facebook. Similarly, twitter and Instagram as well. The content shared on these websites could hurt public sensitivities.

You should know the difference between a platform and the content. Thankfully the authorities have more sense and ban only the content.

but the authorities are being biased. If we are talking about Islam and Pakistani culture then we should be banning most, if not all, of the drama's on TV. There is in no place for a TV or a Radio station in Islam unless you're broadcasting Islamic channels. We should either ban all the other channels or just ban the devices to make it easier.

Any scholar of islamic jurisprudence has said this? And which school of thought? Would like to educate myself.

So what you are saying effectively is that PEMRA is actually too liberal. They are letting many programmes slide, when in fact they should be banning most content.

Any scholar of islamic jurisprudence has said this? And which school of thought? Would like to educate myself.

In Saheeh Muslim (1218) it is reported that Al-Fadl ibn ‘Abbaas (may Allaah be pleased with him) was riding behind the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) on the Day of Sacrifice (Yawm al-Nahr) from Muzdalifah to Mina, when some women riding on camel-borne sedan chairs passed by. The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) turned his [al-Fadl’s] head away.

This was prevention and denunciation through action, for if looking were permissible he would have approved of what he did.

So based on this Hadith, Muslim men are not supposed to look at women but then what do you have on TV?

“Tell the believing men to lower their gaze (from looking at forbidden things), and protect their private parts (from illegal sexual acts). That is purer for them. Verily, Allâh is All-Aware of what they do. And tell the believing women to lower their gaze (from looking at forbidden things), and protect their private parts (from illegal sexual acts)” [al-Noor 24:30-31].

In Saheeh Muslim (1218) it is reported that Al-Fadl ibn ‘Abbaas (may Allaah be pleased with him) was riding behind the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) on the Day of Sacrifice (Yawm al-Nahr) from Muzdalifah to Mina, when some women riding on camel-borne sedan chairs passed by. The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) turned his [al-Fadl’s] head away.

This was prevention and denunciation through action, for if looking were permissible he would have approved of what he did.

So based on this Hadith, Muslim men are not supposed to look at women but then what do you have on TV?

“Tell the believing men to lower their gaze (from looking at forbidden things), and protect their private parts (from illegal sexual acts). That is purer for them. Verily, Allâh is All-Aware of what they do. And tell the believing women to lower their gaze (from looking at forbidden things), and protect their private parts (from illegal sexual acts)” [al-Noor 24:30-31].

This talks about not looking at women in their presence. Nowhere it says to not look if it is a painting or a digital representation of a woman. Please give a better interpretation.

Paintings of living beings are also prohibited in Islam. Based on this it can easily be derived that it is not allowed to look at women whether it be a painting, a real person or a digital representation.

I mean I don't understand your point. Just because it's digital does it mean that it's not a real person? So, then is porn allowed because that's also digital

Yes. The country that prides itself as the custodian of Islam is the most barbaric place of earth. As I write, a three-year old has been raped and then stabbed to death in KP.

Paintings of living beings are also prohibited in Islam. Based on this it can easily be derived that it is not allowed to look at women whether it be a painting, a real person or a digital representation.

I mean I don't understand your point. Just because it's digital does it mean that it's not a real person? So, then is porn allowed because that's also digital

I am not a muslim and don't know much about islam. Just want to know your sources so that i can update my knowledge, but so far they are wanting and it is just your interpretation. Was the act of painting prohibited, or discouraged? Was viewing painting prohibited or discouraged? Appreciate if you provide text to support your answers.

Narrated Aisha:
(the wife of the Prophet) I bought a cushion having on it pictures (of animals). When Allah's Apostle saw it, he stood at the door and did not enter. I noticed the sign of disapproval on his face and said, "O Allah's Apostle! I repent to Allah and His Apostle. What sin have I committed?' Allah's Apostle said. "What is this cushion?" I said, "I have bought it for you so that you may sit on it and recline on it." Allah's Apostle said, "The makers of these pictures will be punished on the Day of Resurrection, and it will be said to them, 'Give life to what you have created (i.e., these pictures).' " The Prophet added, "The Angels of (Mercy) do not enter a house in which there are pictures (of animals)."

— Muhammad al-Bukhari, Sahih al-Bukhari

Narrated 'Aisha:
Allah's Apostle returned from a journey when I had placed a curtain of mine having pictures over (the door of) a chamber of mine. When Allah's Apostle saw it, he tore it and said, "The people who will receive the severest punishment on the Day of Resurrection will be those who try to make the like of Allah's creations." So we turned it (i.e., the curtain) into one or two cushions.

Muslim b. Subaih reported: I was with Masriuq in the house which had the portrayals of Mary (hadrat Maryan). Thereupon Masriuq said: These are portraits of Kisra. I said: No, these are of Mary. Masruq said: I heard Abdullah b, Mas'ud as saying Allah's Messenger (may peace be upon him) had said: The most grievously tormented people on the Day of Resurrection would be the painters of pictures. (Muslim said): I read this before Nasr b. 'Ali at-Jahdami and he read it before other narrators, the last one being Ibn Sa'id b Abl at Hasan that a person came to Ibn 'Abbas and said: I am the person who paints pictures; give me a religious verdict about them. He (Ibn 'Abbas) said to him: Come near me (still further). He came near him so much so that he placed his hand upon his head and said: I am going to narrate to yor what I heard from Allah's Messenger (may peace be upon him). I heard him say: All the painters who make pictures would be in the fire of Hell. The soul will be breathed in every picture prepared by him and it shall punish him in the Hell, and he (Ibn 'Abbas) said: If you have to do it at all, then paint the pictures of trees and lifeless things; and Nasr b. 'Ali confirmed it.

— Muslim ibn al-Hajjaj, Sahih Muslim

Narrated Said bin Abu Al-Hasan:
While I was with Ibn 'Abbas a man came and said, "O father of 'Abbas! My sustenance is from my manual profession and I make these pictures." Ibn 'Abbas said, "I will tell you only what I heard from Allah's Apostle . I heard him saying, 'Whoever makes a picture will be punished by Allah till he puts life in it, and he will never be able to put life in it.' " Hearing this, that man heaved a sigh and his face turned pale. Ibn 'Abbas said to him, "What a pity! If you insist on making pictures I advise you to make pictures of trees and any other unanimated objects."

A'isha reported: Allah's Messenger (may peace be upon him) visited me. and I had a shelf with a thin cloth curtain hangin. over it and on which there were portraits. No sooner did he see it than he tore it and the colour of his face underwent a change and he said: A'isha, the most grievous torment from the Hand of Allah on the Day of Resurrection would be for those who imitate (Allah) in the act of His creation. A'isha said: We tore it into pieces and made a cushion or two cushions out of that.

— Muslim ibn al-Hajjaj, Sahih Muslim

I hope this is sufficient for you.

Keep personal comments off this thread

I hope this is sufficient for you.

Looks like Islam in its pure form wants muslims to be zen like, away from any temptations or trappings of worldly desires, which also explains why it is hard to be a perfect muslim.

but this is a poor argument, that just because you cannot follow one rule, you should not follow any rule. Banning the vulgar content and keeping the platform is a good middle ground balancing the moral values of the society while moving on with the times.

Looks like Islam in its pure form wants muslims to be zen like, away from any temptations or trappings of worldly desires, which also explains why it is hard to be a perfect muslim.

but this is a poor argument, that just because you cannot follow one rule, you should not follow any rule. Banning the vulgar content and keeping the platform is a good middle ground balancing the moral values of the society while moving on with the times.

What is vulgar content? According to Islam any content with a woman in it is vulgar. Hence as per Islam all content should be banned as you have dramas, news anchors and ads with women and none of this is allowed in Islam.

If we are going to then step out of the rules of Islam then who defines what middle ground is? What is the basis of this definition. Who defines what is vulgar?

The ad definitely makes no sense but even more stupid is the overreaction :facepalm: Where the hell is fahaashi in this? If you don't like the ad, just bloody move on or change the channel, Ansar Abbasi is so annoying and PTI's Ali Muhammad Khan is joining him as well instead of concentrating on his own work.

PTI's Ali Muhammad is an emotional man who wants too be a super Musalmaan.

What is vulgar content? According to Islam any content with a woman in it is vulgar. Hence as per Islam all content should be banned as you have dramas, news anchors and ads with women and none of this is allowed in Islam.

If we are going to then step out of the rules of Islam then who defines what middle ground is? What is the basis of this definition. Who defines what is vulgar?

The govt (and by extension, the people) decide. If people of your view point become the majority, then they can have their own views implemented. But till then respect the views of the people who are in majority.

I already answered you, that just because some principles of islam are not being followed doesn't mean everything else islamic should not be followed. Why do you have such a binary view? (rhetorical, don't have to answer)

The ad definitely makes no sense but even more stupid is the overreaction :facepalm: Where the hell is fahaashi in this? If you don't like the ad, just bloody move on or change the channel, Ansar Abbasi is so annoying and PTI's Ali Muhammad Khan is joining him as well instead of concentrating on his own work.

around 25-27 seconds. this kind of move was promoted by bollywood and used in many vulgar songs.

PTI's Ali Muhammad is an emotional man who always wants to be a super Musalmaan. This is not the first time he has made such silly remarks. Last time, he opposed minimum marriage age in the NA - saying he will never oppose Islamic teachings. He does not belong in lawmaking.

I’ve got better things in my life then be outraged by a biscuit ad. Tells you a lot about the country’s priorities though. It’s politics starts with banning tv ads and ends with castrations.

The govt (and by extension, the people) decide. If people of your view point become the majority, then they can have their own views implemented. But till then respect the views of the people who are in majority.

I already answered you, that just because some principles of islam are not being followed doesn't mean everything else islamic should not be followed. Why do you have such a binary view? (rhetorical, don't have to answer)

Because it is hypocritical. Either follow or don't follow. Islam isn't like Hinduism where you can pick or choose whatever you want to do. It gives clear rights and wrongs. Provides a clear guidance on what is allowed and what isn't. There are no grey areas. It's all black and white.

This is not hypocrisy ( nothing wrong with hypocrisy btw). This is like a student being able to attempt easy and medium hard questions in an exam, but not being able to attempt the super hard questions. By your logic, you either attempt all questions or none at all, otherwise you are a hypocrite.

Again, Islam is black and white. Either you follow the rules or you don't. You can't a middle ground unlike in Hinduism where you can basically do whatever you want and worship whoever you want and you can make up the rules as you go along.

So it is hypocrisy when you pick the rules that suit you and abandon the ones that don't and again maybe Hinduism promotes hypocrisy but Islam certainly forbids it.