[VIDEO] PM Imran Khan's Press Conference at United Nations Headquarters

I don’t remember the last time any Pakistani PM defended and stood up for Pakistan like this.

Watched it and feel so good that a competent person is representing us and explaining our side of the story to the world.

[MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] [MENTION=43583]KingKhanWC[/MENTION] and others:

What are these stories about Modi winning 58-42 against Imran in the UN? Is there any truth to this, or are these simply rumours?

[MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] [MENTION=43583]KingKhanWC[/MENTION] and others:

What are these stories about Modi winning 58-42 against Imran in the UN? Is there any truth to this, or are these simply rumours?

Can you provide any link?

Nope, that's why I'm feeling that it's all baseless lol. Came to hear about it through a friend who said he received something of that sort on Whatsapp. But I'm almost sure it's just typical Whatsapp trash lol.

Its very hard to push a vote in UN without any notice, ti even get an issue to be discussed in UN is a huge headache.

"I never have begged to anyone"
"This issue will not die down.You will see"
Love how is maintaining a correct position about comparing Modi with Nazi ideology and when the curfew is really lifted in Kashmir it will be his "I told you so moment".He is persistent and India is irritated by that.
I remember when Nawaz under great pressure in 2016 just barely mentioned Kashmir and it was only once..

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Tuesday highlighted the plight of eight million Kashmiris who are suffering "in an open jail" under a lockdown in India-occupied Kashmir and warned against the possible massacre of residents once the curfew is lifted.

The India-occupied region has been facing a clampdown since August 5, when the Indian government revoked Article 370 of the Indian constitution, stripping it of its special status.

Thousands of people, mostly political leaders, have also been reportedly detained or arrested since the move.

The premier, during a press conference in New York, shared his conversations with various people he met in the city, who had relayed their stories of not being able to contact their relatives and family members.

"We know of mass arrests. We know that the entire leadership of Kashmir — even those leaders who were pro-India — are now in jails, somewhere in India.

"We know that young people, boys have been picked up. We know that [even] hospitals aren't functioning," he said.

"My whole point of coming here was to highlight this. This is unprecedented in this day and age."

The prime minister said that India's claim that this is an internal issue and that the world should stay out of it is "nonsense".

He reminded the media that there are 11 UN Security Council resolutions recognising the fact that Kashmir is a disputed territory which give the right of self-determination to the people of Kashmir through a plebiscite.

He said that the fear now is that the BJP-led government are set on changing the demography of the region, an action tantamount to "war crimes" under the Geneva conventions.

He said that a bigger worry was regarding what will happen after the curfew imposed by India in occupied Kashmir is lifted.

"I fear that after the curfew is lifted, there would be a massacre [of Kashmiris] by the 900,000 Indian troops deployed there," said the premier.

"What will happen when the curfew in Kashmir is lifted? Post the loss of lives, do you think the people of Kashmir will accept the status quo? There’s a likelihood of a massacre and the world community will be responsible [for it]," he added.

"Once a conflict starts between two nuclear armed nations, it goes beyond our hands. I have said this to the Indian people too. And it is madness to allow this situation to deteriorate further."

"I also fear that whatever happens in Kashmir, India would blame Pakistan for it," he added, referring to India's blame on Pakistan for the February attack on its military convoy by a Kashmiri boy.

"I went on air and said if you give us any proof, we will take action. Before any proof could come, the Indian jets arrived; they bombed us," he said.

The premier regretted that following retaliation by Pakistan Air Force which downed Indian jets and captured their pilot, the peace gesture shown by Pakistan to immediately return the airforce officer was "taken as weakness".

The prime minister reminded all those listening that Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who subscribes to the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) ideology, was responsible for the massacre in Gujrat.

"Unfortunately, India today is governed by a racist, Hindu supremacist party RSS which was once banned in India [...] Just google it and you will find that [Benito] Mussolini (former Prime Minister of Italy) was their hero."

"When I came to power, I called Modi and said that we have similar problems. I told him that our problem is poverty above everything [...] but there was no response [...] they tried to push us into the blacklist of the FATF," said the prime minister.

"Their agenda came forward on August 5," he added, referring to the day when Modi issued a presidential decree revoking Kashmir's autonomous status.

PM Imran said that Modi had remarked that "Pakistan should stop terrorism" but questioned the state terrorism on the part of India and asked what the justification for jailing eight million people was.

"What is happening to Kashmiris, is also a responsibility of the United Nations," he said urging world leaders to not remain bystanders to the suffering of so many.

"If ever the Security Council were to move it is now," the premier declared.

"Eight million people are locked inside for 50 days [...] this has the potential to reach the unthinkable."

"For what purpose was the UN established?" he asked, expressing his disappointment over the lukewarm response shown thus far by the global community over the issue.

"How can the global community remain silent when eight million people are being treated worse than animals?" he asked.

"To be absolutely frank, I am disappointed by the international community. If eight million Europeans or Jews or Americans were put under seige [...] well even if eight Americans had been put under siege [...] you can imagine the reaction."

"Over one billion Muslims are watching this unfold. But where is the world community? This will have repercussions and will create radicalisation. I am flagging this right now."

"After the UNGA we’ll have an OIC summit. We’ll gather all Muslim leaders. The only reason why Kashmiris are subjected to this is, they’re Muslims. That’s why it’s important for the Muslim world to take a stance. Otherwise, this will lead to radicalisation."

https://www.dawn.com/news/1507117/p...esses-disappointment-over-worlds-indifference

Well done Imran Khan! May Allah help you and help the Kashmiris.

looking forward to see Modi Press Conference.

I am waiting for Modi's speech on climate change....imagine that.....Mr Modi what's your take on climate change?? Mujhay nahi lagta environment change ho raha hai, bus hamaaray sehnay ki shakti kam ho rahi hai....jaisay jaisay hamari umr barh rahi hai hamain shardi jyada lag rahi hai :)) :))

I bet Hindutuva are wondering when this guy will give up. A great press conference that brings home the atrocities and abuses in Kashmir.

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Tuesday said that US President Donald Trump had asked him to help defuse tensions with Iran, adding that he had already spoken with Iranian President Hassan Rouhani in an attempt to mediate.

While addressing a press conference in New York, the premier said: "I immediately spoke to President Rouhani yesterday after the meeting with President Trump, but I can't say anything right now more than this except that we're trying and mediating."

Tehran and Washington have been at loggerheads since May last year when Trump abandoned a 2015 nuclear deal and began reimposing sanctions on Iran in a stated campaign of "maximum pressure".

The United States blames Iran for an attack on the world's biggest crude oil processing facility in Saudi Arabia on September 14 and has said they will present evidence to back that up.

Prime Minister Imran said that prior to arriving in New York he had visited Saudi Arabia and spoken to Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman who also asked him to talk to Rouhani.

When President Trump was asked about Imran's remarks, he said the premier would like to mediate, adding: "we have a very good relationship and there's a chance that that could happen".

"A lot of people would like to get us to the table. We'll see what happens but so far we have not agreed to a meeting," Trump said on a possible meeting with Rouhani while they are both in New York this week.

Plight of 8 million Kashmiris
During the press conference, Prime Minister Imran highlighted the plight of eight million Kashmiris who are suffering "in an open jail" under a lockdown in India-occupied Kashmir and warned against the possible massacre of residents once the curfew is lifted.

The India-occupied region has been facing a clampdown since August 5, when the Indian government revoked Article 370 of the Indian constitution, stripping it of its special status.

Thousands of people, mostly political leaders, have also been reportedly detained or arrested since the move.

The premier shared his conversations with various people he met in the city, who had relayed their stories of not being able to contact their relatives and family members.

"We know of mass arrests. We know that the entire leadership of Kashmir — even those leaders who were pro-India — are now in jails, somewhere in India.

"We know that young people, boys have been picked up. We know that [even] hospitals aren't functioning," he said.

"My whole point of coming here was to highlight this. This is unprecedented in this day and age."

The prime minister said that India's claim that this is an internal issue and that the world should stay out of it is "nonsense".

He reminded the media that there are 11 UN Security Council resolutions that recognise the fact that Kashmir is a disputed territory and give the right of self-determination to its residents through a plebiscite.

He said that the fear now is that the BJP-led government are set on changing the demography of the region, an action tantamount to "war crimes" under the Geneva conventions.

He said that a bigger worry was regarding what will happen after the curfew imposed by India in occupied Kashmir is lifted.

"I fear that after the curfew is lifted, there would be a massacre [of Kashmiris] by the 900,000 Indian troops deployed there," said the premier.

"What will happen when the curfew in Kashmir is lifted? Post the loss of lives, do you think the people of Kashmir will accept the status quo? There’s a likelihood of a massacre and the world community will be responsible [for it]," he added.

"Once a conflict starts between two nuclear armed nations, it goes beyond our hands. I have said this to the Indian people too. And it is madness to allow this situation to deteriorate further."

"I also fear that whatever happens in Kashmir, India would blame Pakistan for it," he added, referring to India's blame on Pakistan for the February attack on its military convoy by a Kashmiri boy.

"I went on air and said if you give us any proof, we will take action. Before any proof could come, the Indian jets arrived; they bombed us," he said.

The premier regretted that following retaliation by Pakistan Air Force which downed Indian jets and captured their pilot, the peace gesture shown by Pakistan to immediately return the airforce officer was "taken as weakness".

The prime minister reminded all those listening that Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who subscribes to the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) ideology, was responsible for the massacre in Gujrat that took place in 2002.

"Unfortunately, India today is governed by a racist, Hindu supremacist party RSS which was once banned in India [...] Just google it and you will find that [Benito] Mussolini (former Prime Minister of Italy) was their hero."

"When I came to power, I called Modi and said that we have similar problems. I told him that our problem is poverty above everything [...] but there was no response [...] they tried to push us into the blacklist of the FATF," said the prime minister.

"Their agenda came forward on August 5," he added, referring to the day when Modi issued a presidential decree revoking Kashmir's autonomous status.

PM Imran said that Modi had remarked that "Pakistan should stop terrorism" but questioned the state terrorism on the part of India and asked what the justification for jailing eight million people was.

"What is happening to Kashmiris, is also a responsibility of the United Nations," he said urging world leaders to not remain bystanders to the suffering of so many.

"If ever the Security Council were to move it is now," the premier declared.

"Eight million people are locked inside for 50 days [...] this has the potential to reach the unthinkable."

"For what purpose was the UN established?" he asked, expressing his disappointment over the lukewarm response shown thus far by the global community over the issue.

"How can the global community remain silent when eight million people are being treated worse than animals?" he asked.

"To be absolutely frank, I am disappointed by the international community. If eight million Europeans or Jews or Americans were put under siege [...] well even if eight Americans had been put under siege [...] you can imagine the reaction."

"Over one billion Muslims are watching this unfold. But where is the world community? This will have repercussions and will create radicalisation. I am flagging this right now."

"After the UNGA we’ll have an OIC summit. We’ll gather all Muslim leaders. The only reason why Kashmiris are subjected to this is, they’re Muslims. That’s why it’s important for the Muslim world to take a stance. Otherwise, this will lead to radicalisation

https://www.dawn.com/news/1507117/p...ating-with-iran-after-trump-asked-him-to-help

Imran is too astute. Day by day his stature is only ever increasing. Kashmiris must feel very very happy that a great man like Imran has taken up their cause. Even secular Indians like me are happy for them in all honesty. Kudos to potentially the greatest leader from South Asia ever (apart from being the greatest cricketer from this region) challenging the likes of Quaid and Nehru.

Words without actions don’t matter

UN designated terrorist sitting in Pakistan and probably getting presidential security
Mujahideen and Jaish groups roaming freely and ready to infiltrate into india

And Imran says he wants article 370 to be re instantiated. He basically has no say in indian constitution but he demands it.

Lift the curfew and see what happens. Who says that? It’s justifying indian stance.

UN designated terrorist sitting in Pakistan and probably getting presidential security

And Imran says he wants article 370 to be re instantiated. He basically has no say in indian constitution but he demands it.

Lift the curfew and see what happens. Who says that? It’s justifying indian stance.

So you are going hold hostage 8mn because they dont want to be part of your country? That is called a war crime!

He said multiple times that give proof of infiltration? hope India can give it now if they have.

Imran is too astute. Day by day his stature is only ever increasing. Kashmiris must feel very very happy that a great man like Imran has taken up their cause. Even secular Indians like me are happy for them in all honesty. Kudos to potentially the greatest leader from South Asia ever (apart from being the greatest cricketer from this region) challenging the likes of Quaid and Nehru.
Are you being sarcastic by comparing him to with great leaders?

Please read I mentioned 'potentially'. Imran is just 1 year in office and obviously nowhere near the aforementioned leaders just yet. But if he continues like this, he can reach great heights for sure. I see him as Justin Trudeau of South Asia. A liberal leader and a role model for people to look upto.

You have to file a resolution for a vote which never took place. There is no need for this either as the UN resolutions are clear, Kashmir is disputed land and doesn't belong to India. The next step would be sanctions but too many nations are making easy money from the billion plus Indians and wont want to sabortage this.

Talking about it will not satisfy Kashmiris. Some form of action needs to be taken to stop all the violence in IoK. Modi will just come up with his usual drivel if one can understand what he's on about!:sarf2

He was brutal in his take down. I cant wait for Modis next press conference(lol)

Take Down. LMAO.

Hardly anyone is bothered with Imran's utterances. By his own admission, international community has not bothered.

He has been throughly ignored.

It's a great PR for Imran for the people back in Pakistan who is probably starting to ask question whether for pti gov, it's kashmir or Pakistan the first priority. It'll give him a few more days time before this euphoria will wore off and people will start to question again about his commitment towards his own nation.

So holding 8mn people hostage is not a crime?

Hostage? Lol.

8mn? Who gave that figure?

Whats the total population of J and K? How many are non muslims or Shias or tribes like Bakarwals or Gujjars? Are they involved in separatism?

Hostage? Lol.

Whats the total population of J and K? How many are non muslims or Shias or tribes like Bakarwals or Gujjars? Are they involved in separatism?

If India likes to boast about being a democracy why doesn't India let them vote? Who are you to decide what the citizens of Kashmir want to do?

So did UK let Irish,Spain let Catalans,Turkey let Kurds, vote to separate. Violent separatist terrorist religious extremist movements are not allowed anywhere in the world

Who were the sunni muslims of valley to decide that hindu pandits cant live there?

J and K is a part of India. So i have more say in it than any pakistani.

Hostage? Lol.

Why don't you lift the ban and we will find out? Your criminal fascist will burn for his crimes against humanity.

So did UK let Irish,Spain let Catalans,Turkey let Kurds, vote to separate. Violent separatist terrorist religious extremist movements are not allowed anywhere in the world

Who were the sunni muslims of valley to decide that hindu pandits cant live there?

Having your forgotten Scotland

Fantastic PC by Imran Khan, continues to spread awareness regarding Kashmir and exert pressure on Modi and his team of extremists.
For Imran this is a long game that he will ensure will continue to make strides.

Why don't you lift the ban and we will find out? Your criminal fascist will burn for his crimes against humanity.

I said, ban on mobile phones will be lifted when GOI wants, not when pakistanis want.

Its amusing that a pakistani is talking of crimes againist humanity, when their heroes and Ghazni,Ghori,Abdali and co. And who didnot punish anyone for the genocide of Bangladeshis and who by the admission of their own PM trained Al Qaida and Taliban and who by admission of their own former president and army chief trained terrorists against India. And i can go on and on and on.

Speaking to some of my Kashmiri colleagues at work, things are dire in Kashmir at the moment.

In order to make a phone call from outside, you need to ask someone to conf call in India, no internet etc

India shining indeed.

I said, ban on mobile phones will be lifted when GOI wants, not when pakistanis want.

Its amusing that a pakistani is talking of crimes againist humanity, when their heroes and Ghazni,Ghori,Abdali and co. And who didnot punish anyone for the genocide of Bangladeshis and who by the admission of their own PM trained Al Qaida and Taliban and who by admission of their own former president and army chief trained terrorists against India. And i can go on and on and on.

Man, your comments are pure entertainment.

Do you want to talk about rape, killing, and murder of innocent Kashmiri by Hindustani army.

I am loving every bit of his press, the way he tries to expose fake democracy. wether he achieve his goals or not atleast he tried to heighlight what is wrong with our neighbours and most importantly neighbour do not like it which shows what he ia trying to do.

Speaking to some of my Kashmiri colleagues at work, things are dire in Kashmir at the moment.

In order to make a phone call from outside, you need to ask someone to conf call in India, no internet etc

India shining indeed.

MashaAllah shining democracy.

I am loving every bit of his press, the way he tries to expose fake democracy. wether he achieve his goals or not atleast he tried to heighlight what is wrong with our neighbours and most importantly neighbour do not like it which shows what he ia trying to do.

Sir Pakistan saying India is fake democracy is not washing with most of the world. Ofcourse it looks otherwise on a Pakistani forum.

Also Indians here are replying because we are engaging with Pakistanis, else whatever Imran Khan says doesnot affect India or Indians in anyway.

Another joke, It does not effect India, yet Pakistan is on Indian media 24/7, why because RSS wearing Kahaki chadi buy it.

What a joke. hahaha

Sir Pakistan saying India is fake democracy is not washing with most of the world. Ofcourse it looks otherwise on a Pakistani forum.

Also Indians here are replying because we are engaging with Pakistanis, else whatever Imran Khan says doesnot affect India or Indians in anyway.
Have seen enough of their reaction on social media and youtube evenn on pakistani news channels.

Another fun fact, Indian politician talk about Pakistan 24/7, want to send every Indian who say the word "Pakistan" to Pakistan.

But it doesn't affect India or Indians anyway, lol

Another fun fact, Indian politician talk about Pakistan 24/7, want to send every Indian who say the word "Pakistan" to Pakistan.

But it doesn't affect India or Indians anyway, lol

And Doctor sahb says we dont care.

India shining indeed.

Its not unique to kashmir. Even the north east had their fair share of such environment when extremism was high. It's a safety measure that every govt should take.

Inconvenience is better than losing lives.

Its not unique to kashmir. Even the north east had their fair share of such environment when extremism was high. It's a safety measure that every govt should take.

Inconvenience is better than losing lives.

Oh you believe that? lol

Another fun fact, we are told daily that Pakistani are the most gullible people on earth.

But, India elected a RSS goons.

Oh you believe that? lol

Another fun fact, we are told daily that Pakistani are the most gullible people on earth.

But, India elected a RSS goons.

I am from north east. And we have gone through this phase. I don't need to read media as we have faced it every day during 90s where curfews were imposed.

Another fun fact, hahah..

We are told daily by Indian that Pakistani are backward thinking nation.

What does over 600+ million Indians do? They elected RSS religious goons.

I am from north east. And we have gone through this phase. I don't need to read media as we have faced it every day during 90s where curfews were imposed.

Sure that is why Modi Ji imposed curfew.

This joshila guy tries so hard to make India look good but its futile. The fact is India claims to be a democracy but Kashmir has been under lockdown for almost 2 months. You guys can say it's for security or whatever else to make yourself justify it but it dosen't change the FACT, you are holding more than 8 million people against their will.

So we are doing it 2019 because others may have done it in the past. Is that your only defence?

This joshila guy tries so hard to make India look good but its futile. The fact is India claims to be a democracy but Kashmir has been under lockdown for almost 2 months. You guys can say it's for security or whatever else to make yourself justify it but it dosen't change the FACT, you are holding more than 8 million people against their will.

These so called claimed FACTS are relative. That's your opinion only unless with some absolute theory, you can prove it.

So the 8m Kashmiris are not in lockdown?
Are they liberated then?

Have you forgotten Scotland? Still waiting

Make India look good?

Can you name 10 countries that agree with the Pakistani view on India?

The pakistani view on India is largely ignored, i do not need to make India look good. You are taking exchanges on a online forum too seriously.

Another fun fact, Khaki chaddi wearing RSS supporters from provide one Muslim country to show me 10 countries that support Pakistan’s narrative.

Hahaha, pure absolute entertainment, hahaha

So the 8m Kashmiris are not in lockdown?
Are they liberated then?

Place is under curfew. Depending upon the severity of the places, the level of curfews will also be different. While in some places, schools are even opened but at other places, it will be locked down where disruption by extremists are higher. No curfew will trigger loss of lives of common people who will be caught up as collateral between army and extremists.

In 2012, imposing curfew was late in parts of north east where there were clashes going on. It resulted into loss of many lives.

As I said, it's not an ideal situation. But inconvenience is always better than losing lives. And curfew doesn't mean it is a complete lock down. It just means, there will be different levels of restrictions.

PK is not holding 8mn hostage against their will. Your little fascist is. One day he will quite literally burn, and when he does us Kashmiris will celebrate

Awww. May be you didnot realise, world does not work as per the whims of pakistanis.