[VIDEO] Shahid Afridi, a senior’s “send off” to Saif Badar [Shahid Afridi's apology Post#37]

Theo_14

Post of the Week winner
[VIDEO] Shahid Afridi, a senior’s “send off” to Saif Badar [Shahid Afridi's apology Post#37]

I am all for sledging and aggression; it’s what makes cricket exciting.

However, the manner in Afridi did that “send off” to a emerging player was completely embarrassing and uncalled for; if anything it encouraged Amir to do the same.

Thoughts on the send off?

Despicable from Afridi. Good bowling but terrible attitude. He is a mediocre 40 year old spinner who had just got smashed for two boundaries. Have some humility fgs.

I'm fine with Amir doing it. Fast bowlers are prone to get angry due to the extra energy they use.

Embarrassing for Afridi but if Badar is upset by it, he needs to man up. Don't need any emerging snowflakes

I missed it. Any videos?

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.140%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/66amv/grpo" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>.

Thank. :salute

Even Amir came on later to do the same thing. Poor Badar must be close to a breakdown, yesterdays drop catches and today this.

I feel for that young lad out there!And what's more surprising is Mr. Amir is imitating the same action again. Is this how a senior(Ex.captain) motivates the upcoming players from his nation? Unnecessary aggression and celebrations. Good that this kind of a player is not in the national team anymore.

He needs to take lessons from the true beast :rahat

l don't mind it, the people crying about it wouldn't be able to hide their joy if he did it to Kohli, Hafeez, Misbah etc. Saif is not a small baby who needs you to coddle him, he is someone that grew up watching Afridi ergo he should be aware that you never cut him off a good length. Afridi is within his rights to point him in the direction of the nets.

Afridi rightly annoyed that Saif is the new PP youngsta darling. He wants us to know that this youngsta darling is still 16 :afridi

He needs to take lessons from the true beast :rahat

l don't mind it, the people crying about it wouldn't be able to hide their joy if he did it to Kohli, Hafeez, Misbah etc. Saif is not a small baby who needs you to coddle him, he is someone that grew up watching Afridi ergo he should be aware that you never cut him off a good length. Afridi is within his rights to point him in the direction of the nets.

True it could build his character but it could also shatter his confidence as these are the players he looks up to. Giving such a send off to a local newbie (wouldn't have minded it if it wasn't a Pakistani player) is not the same as doing it to seasoned veterans such as Kohli, Misbah etc.

Yesterday even after the dropped catches Malik and co were encouraging him to not take it too hard as he looked really dejected. It is a domestic league after all and the point is to give these local youngsters confidence and guidance. But I guess it is too much to expect from self absorbed superstars like Afridi and Shehzad.

Nothing wrong here.

Still more passionate than newcomers.

People want it to be sissy cricket or what? what is this mentality people are afraid of hurting new player feelings. lol.

Nothing wrong here.

Still more passionate than newcomers.

People want it to be sissy cricket or what? what is this mentality people are afraid of hurting new player feelings. lol.

Nothing to do with passion, was just insulted and his ego hurt that a newbie hit him for a 4 and a 6.

A very poor display of behavious by the senior Pro.

Saif Badar should take it as a challenge and become a bigger player than Amir and Afridi. He most certainly has the ability.

I hope he reads Pakpassion and sees how many people support him.

Koi baat nahi chalta hai.

It was so harmless. People need to grow a thick skin.

People here need to grow up. It’s part of the game.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Still love you Shahid bhai❤️ <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/legend?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#legend</a> <a href="https://t.co/BhscumlPz0">https://t.co/BhscumlPz0</a></p>— Saif Badar (@imSbadar) <a href="https://twitter.com/imSbadar/status/972500416062685184?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 10, 2018</a></blockquote>

Giving a 18 year old kid a send off... pak players become lions in this micky mouse cup. & cats against Starc/Kohli

Well maybe there was more to that than met the eye on camera, which is what the boy was trying to clarify through his twitter account.

Haha people love making a mountain out of nothing. Afridi is a passionate player and anyone who gets hit for two boundaries and then gets the player out will be pumped up.

To suggest he should have been more reserved since it was a youngster is ridiculous. Saif started well but got out and was probably gutted about that. His confidence might be low but it can be built up off the field or by his captain. Not by an opposition player in the middle of a game.

You don't want to treat someone with kid gloves just because you are a new comer. I have no issues with Afridi reacting that way. However, I wish it was Afridi tweeting something about it instead of Saif. Just something to encourage the youngster outside the game.

what's wrong with this. only wrong I can see here the bowler name is Afridi.

True it could build his character but it could also shatter his confidence as these are the players he looks up to. Giving such a send off to a local newbie (wouldn't have minded it if it wasn't a Pakistani player) is not the same as doing it to seasoned veterans such as Kohli, Misbah etc.

Yesterday even after the dropped catches Malik and co were encouraging him to not take it too hard as he looked really dejected. It is a domestic league after all and the point is to give these local youngsters confidence and guidance. But I guess it is too much to expect from self absorbed superstars like Afridi and Shehzad.

Shatter his confidence :))

We've all heard worse playing gully cricket or in the back garden, this is absolutely nothing.

Giving a 18 year old kid a send off... pak players become lions in this micky mouse cup. & cats against Starc/Kohli

I mean look at Wahab Mustache Riaz. The guy was literally crying on the ground and could not even complete his quota of overs when he last faced a good Int. sides. something never change. This league just makes some mediocre players look like world beaters. but to be fair Afridi did genuinely bowled really well. full credit to him. It's not just Saif even the likes of Malik so called player of spin had no clue.

BTW his bowling Vs Pollard was superb. anybody have full video [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">One of the best balls of the Pakistan Super League. Shahid Afridi to Kieron Pollard <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL2018</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KKvMS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KKvMS</a> <a href="https://t.co/HtYI3BjMeC">pic.twitter.com/HtYI3BjMeC</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/972496215735717888?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 10, 2018</a></blockquote>

Shatter his confidence :))

We've all heard worse playing gully cricket or in the back garden, this is absolutely nothing.

It's different coming from a gully mohalla player than your idol. Anyway, he seems to be apologizing for being given that send off on twitter, so all is good.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Still love you Shahid bhai❤️ <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/legend?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#legend</a> <a href="https://t.co/BhscumlPz0">https://t.co/BhscumlPz0</a></p>— Saif Badar (@imSbadar) <a href="https://twitter.com/imSbadar/status/972500416062685184?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 10, 2018</a></blockquote>

LOL this response by Badar actually makes Afridi look even worse

He is going to face a lot worse if he gets to international cricket (Qdk - Warner)..... the PSL is good way to separate the wheat from the chaff, if this send-off makes Badar cry then son better find another career.

But those two boundaries of Afridi were CLASS.

Give this kid to a competent coach ASAP. He has not developed since u19 days due to the exemplary tutelage of Mr. Aquib Javed the legend killer.

I thought it was a bit harsh on the kid.

However it could be the making of him also.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Im sorry what happened that was momentum of the game..I always support my youngester.Good luck</p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/972632472059080704?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 11, 2018</a></blockquote>

That's fine but why is he apologising at 4:37 AM :moyo

Charlie Parker become Charlie Parker when Joe Jones threw a symbol at his head. Parker cried himself to sleep that night as he was laughed off stage. He practiced for a year and performed the greatest solo the word has ever seen. Saif Badar is fortunate that cricket is even softer than jazz so Afridi only pointed at the dressing room. Had this been any other sport not so strictly governed, he would have hurled the ball along with some unsavory words to him. Saif Badar can approach this in two ways.
1) Allow it to feed his desire to prove the Afridi’s of the world wrong. Come back next PSL and cement his place in the Pakistan national squad.
2) Realize that his beloved “idol” has embarrassed him on a global stage and queered him to a corner he cannot escape. Mentally disintegrate and never achieve his potential.
Let’s see what Saif Badar is made of.

Don't see a problem here. If he can't take such a mild send off then he will not survive international cricket.

Lala is class as usual. Apologized to a nobody publicly.

:sa

Haters gonna hate.

Lala remains great.

Poor stuff from Lala but understandable as it was in the heat of the moment. At least he apologized so that's good.

imo he did it with in the limits nothing wrong with that.u all acting like if saif is a child n needs special protection, dnt make a big deal out of it. if players have to survive off field attitude against teams like aus n india they have to learn to have a thick skin.

Overblown, not a fan of Lala, but was entitled to do what he did and dealt with it maturely afterwards.

But question is why did afridi did that to saif?

Because he's fully entitled to show his emotion on the cricket field? his age or opposition doesn't change that. I don't support softening up the game of cricket. People treat sendoffs as some premeditated evil, it's just a spontaneous momentary rush of blood. If it isn't physical and it isn't verbally unacceptable (racism etc), then it goes by my book.

Same fans who crib about senior junior culture being hypocrite here and crying about Lala giving a send off to some guy.. It’s sports if this guy can’t handle such a thing he shouldn’t be in the team.. Good on Lala for still being so passionate.

I don't see what's so wrong about this. Either we as cricket fans have become too sensitive and want to see a bunch of sissies running around or I'm asking for too much. I think as a cricket fan, I like a rush of adrenaline, some action on the field. If I wanted to watch some mannered blokes appreciating each other for every move, I'd have gone and watches women's Chess. But I chose cricket. And this is something I would expect from an aggressive leggie. Just go and watch the highlights of how Warnie would treat young batsmen, even tailenders! Yes, the same Shane Warne all of you worship.

And anyway, I personally am of the opinion that this type of response will only do good for Badar. This is going to drive him to prove the naysayers wrong.

People tend to get emotional at night and some often re-think over their actions over the day spent. It´s normal. :akhtar:asif

Question is, did Afridi get a fine or not? If I'm not wrong, you're not allowed to send off a player like the way Afridi did.

The youngster must be feeling over the moon right now!

Perhaps he couldn't sleep all night due to the feeling of guilt.

Perhaps he woke up to pray tahajud and reflected on his actions.

Perhaps Afridi's account is managed by some one living in Australia.

Perhaps the secret behind Afridi being forever 16 is that he never goes to sleep.

It was natural. He smacked a glorious six of him.

But Amir had no business doing that. Horrible.

Nothing wrong with this. It happens in sport. Hopefully Badar is played up the order.

Badar
Maqsood
Malik
Pollard

That would be a brilliant line up.

Its an act of cowardice to be honest because they know the batsman has no reply There should be a fine n points for anyone displaying such cheap tactics

The best players dont need to resort to low tactics such as this Ambrose never uttered a word but his physique, stare and quality of his bowling were enough to intimidate the opposition

Its like kicking a man when hes down

This league is bringing out the worst in players who usually acts like kittens n wouldnt say boo to intl teams but are acting like tigers against domestic players For god sake you have players like rahat ali n sami showing false bravado and acting all big and allmighty This shows you everything you really need to know tbh

Question is, did Afridi get a fine or not? If I'm not wrong, you're not allowed to send off a player like the way Afridi did.

Exactly.

Why arent people talking about it?

Isnt this a breach of code of conduct? Asking the batsman to leave by pointing Fingers towards the pavillion/stands after dismissing him?

Why wasn't Afridi fined? Now he has even appologised for it hence admitting his guilt.

People don't see below the surface. With that send off Bandar was accepted as equal by international stars like Lala and Amir.

People don't see below the surface. With that send off Badar was accepted as equal by international stars like Lala and Amir.

I see...so it's kind of an initiation then. That makes sense

Haha alot of us are like that :yk

And some, like yourself, spend the day thinking as to what they did the last night. :yk3

Maybe if other players started showing some passion like Afridi, Amir and even Shehzad, it would spice things up and actually litigate more than 100 people come to watch the games live....

The funny thing is that if Afridi received that sort of send-off from an opponent, he'd be the first to complain.

Maybe if other players started showing some passion like Afridi, Amir and even Shehzad, it would spice things up and actually litigate more than 100 people come to watch the games live....

Passion without performance is just delusional bullying. I'm sure if the shoe was on the other foot they would be the first to whine. At least Afridi has got a few wickets of has beens, youngsters and TTFs. Amir and Shehzad have done nothing.

I love the comments about afridi whining and complaining if the roles were reversed. Nothing better to really drive your argument home other that baseless hypothetical scenarios...

Anyway - tell me this. Which Pakistani player has done anything of note in the PSL 2018 on a consistent basis? Specially players who you wouldn’t deem “has been” or “TTFs”...

The level of bowling and specially batting has been atrocious in this PSL. The fielding has been pretty good, but the general poor level of cricket, coupled with the fact that players couldn’t care less results in the empty stands which we have seen all tournament.

At least if the players could act as if they care, and invest a bit more efforts in the game, the standard of cricket may be driven up to something a bit more watchable

I love the comments about afridi whining and complaining if the roles were reversed. Nothing better to really drive your argument home other that baseless hypothetical scenarios...

Anyway - tell me this. Which Pakistani player has done anything of note in the PSL 2018 on a consistent basis? Specially players who you wouldn’t deem “has been” or “TTFs”...

The level of bowling and specially batting has been atrocious in this PSL. The fielding has been pretty good, but the general poor level of cricket, coupled with the fact that players couldn’t care less results in the empty stands which we have seen all tournament.

At least if the players could act as if they care, and invest a bit more efforts in the game, the standard of cricket may be driven up to something a bit more watchable

The standard of cricket has nothing to do with the crowd attendance in the PSL. Those who can afford to attend, do come, whatever the quality of cricket.

Shaheen Afridi just knocked Afridi’s middle stump off. He thought of celebrating but changed his mind last sec out of respect.

Damn these youngsters are making Shahid’s send off to Badar send off even worse.

Shaheen Afridi just knocked Afridi’s middle stump off. He thought of celebrating but changed his mind last sec out of respect.

Damn these youngsters are making Shahid’s send off to Badar send off even worse.

..... Or did Shaheen refuse to celebrate because he thought he would be disrespected by Afridi too?

The standard of cricket has nothing to do with the crowd attendance in the PSL. Those who can afford to attend, do come, whatever the quality of cricket.

The standard of cricket has nothing to do with crowd attendance - wow.

Ok. The quality of the product you are selling has nothing to do with how many people buy the product..

Great...

:afaq

..... Or did Shaheen refuse to celebrate because he thought he would be disrespected by Afridi too?

Yea Shaheen didn’t celebrate because he thought Afridi would start beating him with his bat if he celebrated getting Afrdi’s wicket...

In fact - have you heard the horror stories of what Afridi has done to anyone who dared celebrate his wicket in the last 20+ years...

...the horrrroor....

Spot on.

Some folk just will not have anything negative said about some players. They live in cloud cuckoo-land.

Shaheen thought to himself, "i can't disrespect someone a year younger to me".

The funny thing is that if Afridi received that sort of send-off from an opponent, he'd be the first to complain.

Seniority is earned and is the result of many years of body of work. Saif Badar can give sends off to anyone else once he is more established in his career

Yea Shaheen didn’t celebrate because he thought Afridi would start beating him with his bat if he celebrated getting Afrdi’s wicket...

In fact - have you heard the horror stories of what Afridi has done to anyone who dared celebrate his wicket in the last 20+ years...

...the horrrroor....

We have seen many times in cricket and this PSL players reacting whilst bowlers celebrate; ala Wahab v Shehzad / Wahab v Rahat without the “beating someone up with the bat.”

To avoid such alterations; knowing Shahid Afridi’s nature (as history and yesterday) evinces; Shaheen did well, very smart.

Shaheen thought to himself, "i can't disrespect someone a year younger to me".

Seniority is earned and is the result of many years of body of work. Saif Badar can give sends off to anyone else once he is more established in his career

Just because you are a senior player it doesn't mean that you cannot receive a send-off. I don't recall seeing any rule in the laws of cricket saying senior players cannot receive a send-off.