Video showing Muslims defending Sikh man in Pakistan goes viral

hafeezrocks

Local Club Star

A YouTube blogger Waqas Shah has showcased interfaith harmony in Pakistan.

He did a social experiment related to the reaction of local Muslims towards Sikhs and other non-Muslims.

The video shows how a Sikh man is harassed on the road by an extremist, but passers-by step forward to defend him.

One of them says: “Even if he (Sikh) is a Non-Muslim it doesn’t matter. He has a right to live in Pakistan.”

While another said: “Pakistan was made for everyone to practice their religion. He should be treated with respect.”

The video is going viral on social media and is being widely appreciated.

According to Waqas Shah, the media never shows the positive side of Pakistan owing to which he decided to make this video.

http://nation.com.pk/snippets/28-Ma...ims-defending-sikh-man-in-pakistan-goes-viral

Good to see so many Pakistani Muslim's coming to defend the Sikh guy in public.

Pakistan Zindabaad!!!!!

Its actually already predefined everything before the videos shoot or this sort of experiments ...there are tons of these sorts of videos social experiments about india as well.......Though everyone love sikhs so i know pakistan also love& respect our sikhs brothers alot.....

I saw this video. Very heart touching. Pakistan's love of Sikhs is very famous. Pakistan also played a very vital role in the Khalistan movement, until eventually some people in the Govt. were bought by India.

Anyway, Hindu's are loved too. Punjabis are welcoming people so I don't expect minorities to be too vulnerable here. Things are changing however with the rise of Wahabbism in the society. Madrassas and Tableeghi Jamaat and guys like Zakir Naik on TV spreading hate, extremism and anger. The first targets will be Ahmedis, then Shia's and gradually move on to Non Muslims. This needs to be stopped while there is still time.

Props to Waqas Shah to try some of his social experiments in Pakistan, the native youtubers/vloggers there weren't creative enough to do it.

If people in Pakistan wake up, they could use youtube to improve Pakistan's reputation.

Props to Waqas Shah to try some of his social experiments in Pakistan, the native youtubers/vloggers there weren't creative enough to do it.

If people in Pakistan wake up, they could use youtube to improve Pakistan's reputation.

Nah they are going to be baised and present a false picture of Pakistan. It's better if people from other countries visit Pakistan and share their own experience.

I love watching the foreigners vlogs when they visit Pakistan as tourists. Actually it is one of my favourite things to do when I'm supremely bored.

I watched one in which this Aussie lad (white not desi born in Australia) visits Lahore (and Pakistan for the first time) during his 3 week university break because his mum and dad live here since the dad is a university professor. His travels along Lahore and up north are really fun to watch and it is interesting to see a foreigner's perspective of the country.

We Pakistanis keep abusing our own country but when a foreigner comes they are all praise for it.

There was another German guy all of whose videos were in German but the only thing I understood was him saying "mega cool" again and again lol

I love watching the foreigners vlogs when they visit Pakistan as tourists. Actually it is one of my favourite things to do when I'm supremely bored.

I watched one in which this Aussie lad (white not desi born in Australia) visits Lahore (and Pakistan for the first time) during his 3 week university break because his mum and dad live here since the dad is a university professor. His travels along Lahore and up north are really fun to watch and it is interesting to see a foreigner's perspective of the country.

We Pakistanis keep abusing our own country but when a foreigner comes they are all praise for it.

There was another German guy all of whose videos were in German but the only thing I understood was him saying "mega cool" again and again lol

:)) I skimmed through his vlogs too. lol so random that we both came across his vlogs, he's not even a popular Youtuber or anything. Skim through this vlog man, the beauty of Pakistan is unmatched.

Haha..

Thanks. Will do

Me too, I love travel vlogs. Do you watch Lord Aleem's videos on Pakistan too? Since you love them too I recommend you search Nora's channel on youtube.

She travelled from Netherlands to Russia, Soviet ruled stan countries, Iran, Pakistan, India, Nepal, Burma and all the way to Malaysia on bike. I found her channel few weeks ago and watched all videos in a week.

It was a good experiment to show the real Pakistan. Unlike some countries we don't go around destroying Sikh temples then blaming it on others. No "ghar wapsi" type silly movements in Pakistan.

MashaAllah, good to see the "real" Pakistan. Minorities must be flourishing in this beautiful environment. :salute

I saw this video. Very heart touching. Pakistan's love of Sikhs is very famous. Pakistan also played a very vital role in the Khalistan movement, until eventually some people in the Govt. were bought by India.

Anyway, Hindu's are loved too. Punjabis are welcoming people so I don't expect minorities to be too vulnerable here. Things are changing however with the rise of Wahabbism in the society. Madrassas and Tableeghi Jamaat and guys like Zakir Naik on TV spreading hate, extremism and anger. The first targets will be Ahmedis, then Shia's and gradually move on to Non Muslims. This needs to be stopped while there is still time.

Yes Punjabis love other Punjabis of differing religions. Thats why we decided we could not live together, divided Punjab into two, and religiously cleansed our respective parts.

Agree and it's very sad. Makes you wonder why Punjabi's are the most divided on communal Lines.

There are various other communities in India where ethnicity binds Hindus and Muslim's.

[MENTION=27435]Zahid87[/MENTION] [MENTION=139547]czar[/MENTION] outside of SC Punjabis get on quite well. A Punjabi from either side of the border will get on much better with each other than with a Pashtun or a Tamil.

Punjab was manipulated very well by politicians and it set itself on fire. The most horrible legacy of Partition.

[MENTION=27435]Zahid87[/MENTION] [MENTION=139547]czar[/MENTION] outside of SC Punjabis get on quite well. A Punjabi from either side of the border will get on much better with each other than with a Pashtun or a Tamil.

Punjab was manipulated very well by politicians and it set itself on fire. The most horrible legacy of Partition.

Its not that simple to say that Punjab, and in the wider context, the whole SC was simply manipulated by polticians. At some level, there were genuine greivances and social problems that were exploited - and thats coming from someone like me, who has an open mind about Partition.

In any case, going back to the original comment. It only came from the fact that the poster expressed that 'Pakistan has a genuine love love for Sikhs'. Which to me is utter nonsense. Pakistan came into being because a large section of the population decided it could not bear to live, or rather live on equal terms with them - manipulated or not.

Its heartening to see that despite everything that is done to divide people, people still know the difference between right and wrong and will defend their fellow citizens and had it been any different, i would have been distraught.

[MENTION=27435]Zahid87[/MENTION] there was some religious tension and hatred for sure but not to the level that we saw in Partition that was a product of political manipulation.

For example the local town near my paternal ancestral village the Hindu and Sikh traders were barricaded in the Old Town and it was burnt down.
But from elders i hear that while there was some tension it was never to that level and during partition u had a lot of dacoits and thugs out as law and order broke down and people acted like animals.

This is very popular story in many eyewitness accounts about people living relatively peacefully with neighbours then during partition the chaos and lack of law and order and the political rhetoric created a poisnous atmosphere.

Probably staged.

I think the first couple of reactions are definitely fake. Both groups saying the same thing 'yeh bhai hai humara' as if the lines were fed to them. The over-aggressive guy in the second scene was the worst. Getting physical without knowing the story and shouting the lines that were given to him.

The guy in the last scene might be a real banda though. :yk2 Actually saying something logical instead of the cheesy cliched scripted lines.

I think the first couple of reactions are definitely fake. Both groups saying the same thing 'yeh bhai hai humara' as if the lines were fed to them. The over-aggressive guy in the second scene was the worst. Getting physical without knowing the story and shouting the lines that were given to him.

The guy in the last scene might be a real banda though. :yk2 Actually saying something logical instead of the cheesy cliched scripted lines.

I don't think it's staged. "Yeh bhai hai humara" is a common typical response in most conflicts when defending someone.

That said, I'm not overly excited by this social experiment either. Basic societal etiquette is not something to celebrate, and something we should be able to take for granted.

Hi ! meet my friend , Internet.

"The land mafia in Pakistan have been targeting Hindu and Sikh shrines besides other historical structures for quite some time. He said that the walls of the historic Sikh shrine are being used to stick cow-dung cakes, which has caused huge resentment among Sikh devotees."

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahom...n-s-land-mafia-target-Sikh-Hindu-shrines.html

Here's another social experiment these guys did. Acting skills and execution have surely improved.

Hi ! meet my friend , Internet.

"The land mafia in Pakistan have been targeting Hindu and Sikh shrines besides other historical structures for quite some time. He said that the walls of the historic Sikh shrine are being used to stick cow-dung cakes, which has caused huge resentment among Sikh devotees."

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahom...n-s-land-mafia-target-Sikh-Hindu-shrines.html

Hi my friend, meet common sense!

There is a big issue with minority bigotry but to use an accepted, racist, bigoted newspaper which is considered as such in the UK too, as your source shows your level of knowledge.

Hi my friend, meet common sense!

There is a big issue with minority bigotry but to use an accepted, racist, bigoted newspaper which is considered as such in the UK too, as your source shows your level of knowledge.

So now you are saying that the story is untrue because the source is also racist ? wow..

''There is a big issue with minority bigotry''

You displaying issues with your comprehension second time in a week. Wow indeed if you'd learnt to read before opening your mouth.

''There is a big issue with minority bigotry''

You displaying issues with your comprehension second time in a week. Wow indeed if you'd learnt to read before opening your mouth.

My comprehension is quite intact but your memory certainly isn't.
" but to use an accepted, racist, bigoted newspaper which is considered as such in the UK too, as your source shows your level of knowledge" - You are implying the news paper for being unacceptable on the grounds of being a Racist and bigoted which again are your prejudiced views and after being in the UK myself , I don't believe I came across that as a popular opinion on Dailymail.

Even though I can overlook the grammatical aspect of incorrect use of "Minority bigotry" , just bigotry would have sufficed, your dissmissal and complete acknowledgement of the facts in the article definitely displays your views succintly

My comprehension is quite intact but your memory certainly isn't.
" but to use an accepted, racist, bigoted newspaper which is considered as such in the UK too, as your source shows your level of knowledge" - You are implying the news paper for being unacceptable on the grounds of being a Racist and bigoted which again are your prejudiced views and after being in the UK myself , I don't believe I came across that as a popular opinion on Dailymail.

Even though I can overlook the grammatical aspect of incorrect use of "Minority bigotry" , just bigotry would have sufficed, your dissmissal and complete acknowledgement of the facts in the article definitely displays your views succintly

Dailymail is an accepted right-wing racist newspaper. Its commonly accepted in England that it is and routinely ridiculed.

Secondly, you accused me of not accepting the Mail's allegations of bigotry, when I clearly did so. My issue was that you're not going to be taken seriously if your source on minorities being discriminated on in Pakistan is from a newspaper who itself spends the majority of its time spouting filth about minorities in UK. Whether they're Muslim or Hindu.

Your comprehension is not intact, its anything but.

Dailymail is an accepted right-wing racist newspaper. Its commonly accepted in England that it is and routinely ridiculed.

Secondly, you accused me of not accepting the Mail's allegations of bigotry, when I clearly did so. My issue was that you're not going to be taken seriously if your source on minorities being discriminated on in Pakistan is from a newspaper who itself spends the majority of its time spouting filth about minorities in UK. Whether they're Muslim or Hindu.

Your comprehension is not intact, its anything but.

So again if your whole premise of not accepting anything I'd put forward is by questioning the credibility of the source then it's a win-win for you.

Focus on the topic, not on other posters' comprehension, etc. No need to make personal remarks.

So again if your whole premise of not accepting anything I'd put forward is by questioning the credibility of the source then it's a win-win for you.

If your source is questionable then obviously your argument is nonsense. This is like me telling you that non-Muslim minorities are not discriminated in Pakistan by using a source from a Wahabi-madrassa run newspaper in Pakistan. It'd be as ridiculous.

Noone will deny that minorities are discriminated against in Pakistan, its a big issue, probably a crucial issue. I have many MANY Pakistani Christian friends so I know how much they have been affected. But if you need to prove YOUR points by using a newspaper that itself splurges daily garbage about minorities everyday then have a word with yourself or improve your googling skills.

I don't agree with that, it depends if the Pak Punjabi is from the cities or the villages, here in America Punjabis get along with other Pakistani ethnicities just as well cause most of us are originally from the cities and share a common cultural "experience", if that makes sense.

The Sikh dude in the video is from Peshawar so the whole "Punjabi affinity" thing doesn't factor into this.

MashaAllah, good to see the "real" Pakistan. Minorities must be flourishing in this beautiful environment. :salute

They may not be flourishing in the sense that we can do much better. However, I have never seen massive genocide of minorities in Pak unlike certain other countries.

I detest these' social experiments'

Its probably staged

Not to say good stuff doesn't happen, but dont belive in crap like this