[VIDEO] "Want Pakistan to become country Jinnah dreamed of" : Imran Khan

PakWarrior

Tape Ball Star
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ez-k0JMQmfw" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Imran promises wide-ranging reforms: 'All policies for the people'

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan on Thursday, in his first public address since his party grabbed a lead in the preliminary General Election results, shared his vision for the country and pledged to safeguard the interests of ordinary citizens.

Khan, in a speech made in Bani Gala that was broadcast via video link, claimed victory, saying that he was thankful to have finally been given the chance to implement the manifesto he had envisioned 22 years ago.

"Thanks to God, we won," he said. "We were successful and we were given a mandate," the 65-year-old cricketer-turned-politician said during a live broadcast, adding that there was "no politician victimisation" in the acrimonious contest.

Addressing outcry by opposition political parties that the elections had been rigged or manipulated, Khan promised to provide them the assistance required to investigate such allegations. In the same breath he dismissed such allegations, terming yesterday's polls "the fairest in Pakistan's history".

"If you think there has been rigging, we will assist you in the investigation if you have any doubts. We will stand by you. I feel that this election has been the fairest in Pakistan's history. If any party has any doubts, we will open up the results of those constituencies for investigation."

He commended the people of Balochistan who voted on election day, despite a suicide attack that left 31 people dead, and the armed forces who provided security for the polls.

Imran's promises

"I want to clarify why I entered politics. Politics could not have given me anything. I wanted Pakistan to become the country that my leader Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah had dreamed of."

"I want to share the kind of Pakistan I envision ─ the type of state that was established in Madina, where widows and the poor were taken care of," he explained. "Today our state is in shambles. [But] all our policies aim to help the less fortunate prosper," he said.

"Farmers are not paid for their hard work, 25 million children are out of school, our women continue to die in childbirth because we can't give them basic healthcare, we can't give the people clean drinking water. A country is not recognised by the lifestyle of the rich, but by the lifestyle of the poor. No country that has an island of rich people and a sea of poor people can prosper," he said.

Although he claimed to have "suffered the worst kind of personal attacks" that any political leader has had to sustain over the last three years, he said "this is all behind me now".

Imran's promises at a glance:

• All policies for ordinary citizens
  • Safeguard tax revenue
  • Decrease govt expenses
  • Strengthen institutions
  • Across-the-board accountability for all
  • Increase youth employment
  • Help farmers, business community
  • Spend money on development
  • Repurpose PM House
  • Address ties with China, Afghanistan, Iran, US, India

"I pledge to safeguard the nation's taxes. We will decrease all of our expenses," he promised.

"Our institutions will be stronger, everyone will be held accountable. First I will be subjected to accountability, then my ministers and so on. Today we are behind [other countries] because there is a separate system for those in power and a separate one for ordinary citizens," he said.

"We are facing governance and economic challenges. Our economy has never been so abysmal. It’s because institutions have not been doing their jobs," he explained.

"People are not investing in Pakistan. Another problem is unemployment, our youth does not have jobs. We will introduce a system that has never been implemented before ─ a kind of governance system that has not been seen before in this country," he promised.

A country that has the highest number of people giving charity, but the lowest amount of tax revenue, he claimed.

"Our government will decide what we will do with PM House. I would be ashamed to live in such a large house. That house will be converted into an educational institution or something of the sort," he said.

"The point is, we have to improve our condition, we have to formulate policies with the business community to increase wealth," he said.

"We will improve tax culture. People will pay taxes because they will see that their taxes are being spent on them. We will help farmers, the business community and help the youth to find jobs and develop their skills. Our money will be spent on human development," he added.

Foreign policy challenges

"Another challenge is foreign policy. No other country needs peace like we do. We will strengthen our relations with China, they have given us a chance by investing in the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor, and we also want to learn how to improve people's lives, drag them out of poverty. Will also learn how to deal with corruption," he said.

"Next is Afghanistan. They have suffered most in the ‘war on terror’, and before that in the Afghan jihad. Peace in Afghanistan means peace in Pakistan," he said, adding that he envisions open borders with Afghanistan reminiscent to those within the European Union.

He said he wished relations with the US to be mutually beneficial, not one sided. Additionally, he said he and his party wanted stronger ties with Iran.

"Saudi Arabia has stood by us in our toughest times. We would like to be a reconciliatory state and help them resolve their inner tensions," he said.

He added that he was very disappointed with how Indian media had, in the days leading up to the election, portrayed him as a "Bollywood villain".

"I am a person who arguably knows the most people in India because of my days in cricket. We can resolve the poverty crisis in South East Asia. The biggest problem is Kashmir, every international organisation has said that there are human rights violations taking place in Kashmir," he said.

"We want to improve our relations with India, if their leadership also wants it. This blame game that whatever goes wrong in Pakistan is because of India and vice versa brings us back to square one," he said.

"This is not how we will grow, and it is detrimental to the sub-continent," he said.

"If they take one step towards us, we will take two, but we at least need a start."

"I pledge to our people that I will introduce a system that is for the masses, all policies will be for the people and not for the elite," he vowed.

"I will live humbly," he promised. "So far we have seen that everyone who comes to power changes. That will not happen with me."

https://www.dawn.com/news/1423029/imran-promises-wide-ranging-reforms-all-policies-for-the-people

Our media anchors are so stupid... "khan sab ne kamar par haath dala hai... jab woh winning streak pe jate hai to ye karte hai"

What is he, a Marvel super hero?

the victory speech coming folks... presenting you the new prime minister of islamic republic of pakistan....

Khan praising the people of Balochistan. Great start of the speech

Jahangir Tareen already sidelined? He is sitting far away from Khan and thats unusual

DjBxAlwWsAId5cu.jpg:large

My cause is bigger then myself i forgive all those who made personal cheap attacks on me. :bow:

Tell me would Nawaz Sharif or Zardari ever be or have been capable of doing a speech like this?

It's not a written speech like Noora he is talking from heart! the paper there is just some key notes

Prime minister house will be turned into some educational institute! Will get a plain house somewhere. Government houses will be used as hotels!

WAZIR-E-AZAM IMRAN KHAN!!

Stock Exchange is already on rise from morning and expecting it to go up even further tomorrow.

literally brought tears in my eyes... this man is made of something else.

He is speaking and saying exactly what I expected from him. Talking about no pm house to be used that says everything about this man. He is not greedy because he wants nothing foe himself.

"Want Pakistan to become country Jinnah dreamed of" : Imran Khan

Great Speech, i really hope he does follow what he says.

He has promised that he will try to convert Prime Minister house into a School and would avoid living there.

He also promises that Governor houses will be turned in to hotels and made to generate Govt revenue.

He said he will try to avoid staying there in Prime Minister house and would go to minister enclave

ALso talking about making sure taxes are paid

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xgB1Z1X7UMo

He is speaking and saying exactly what I expected from him. Talking about no pm house to be used that says everything about this man. He is not greedy because he wants nothing foe himself.

nothing surprising there.

Immy talking about open borders with Afghanistan... bhai kya kar raha hai :danish

that was expected. Already I have thought of investing in Pakistan

There re many overseas Pakistanis some are IK personal friend from UK who wanted to invest in Pakistan if things improve

Indian media portrayed me as Bollywood film villain :))

Also said he wanted open borders with Afghanistan.

It is a great speech so far. I'm not a PTI fan but have to say it has been good so far.

For the first time in my life, I feel proud looking at a Pakistani hukamran.

Speech is live now talking about friendly relation with India and neighboring countries and how he is disappointed that they showed him as villain.

Imran on TV. Man, I remember 2013, when I was at D-Chowk and Islamabad was packed. The optimism, the hope in the air that Pakistan was finally on the way to something great and we were going to a part of that journey, we were that journey.

Now, a lot changed and I disagree a lot with him and his politics but he deserves a chance. I hope Imran remembers those days, what got him here and what were his principles when people got behind him.

I hope he proves me wrong especially on his religious stances of late. The last thing we need is another wave of extremisim in the mainstream.

He has talked a lot about how he wants a prosperous Pakistan and introduce a system of equality and welfare as seen in the west. Now is the time to back that talk.

Best of luck and godspeed.

Best ever speech by head of a newly elected party in Pakistan!

CNN
BBC
Aljazeera
Indian Channels

All showing Khan's speech live!

Hahahaha Immy playing on front foot regarding dhandli

Dhandliiiiiiiiiii [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION].khool do halqa....lolzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Excellent speech.

Mentioned all the important issues.

:ss must be crying at the moment after IK has offered himself to re-check the results.

Haroon Rasheed described personality of IK really well. Khan becomes soft and forgiving toward his opponent only after winning and till victory he remains like a stone. KP is best example wahan Khan ne kisi se be badla nae lya in 5 years.

Guys has anyone seen [MENTION=101697]LegendInzi[/MENTION] he was saying on 26th PTI will be on container shouting dhandli dhandli :)) :yk

#acha sorry

Imran Khan Address, main points:

1. Want to make Pakistan a welfare state, as per Medina.
2. Will make policies to help poor and marginalized communities.
3. Will work towards enrolling 2.5 crore out of school children.
4. Will give clean water.
5. I have forgotten all personal attacks on me, even if you didn’t vote for me.
6. I will not do any political victimization. I will make rule of law and take action across the board.
7. Accountability will start from me and my Ministers.
8. Will fix governance system and have a big economic challenge ahead.
9. Will reduce cost and difficulty in doing business.
10. Will ask overseas Pakistanis to invest.
11. Promises simplicity and austerity. Says will protect tax money.
12. I won’t live in PM house we will make it educational. We will use governor houses for public.
13. Will use hill side resorts for public.
14. Change will start from me and my team.
15. Will give people jobs.
16. We have a bug foreign policy challenge, economic and security challenge. Pakistan needs stability.
17. We will improve relations with China.
18. We will learn poverty alleviation from China.
19. Afghanistan has lost most in War on Terror followed by Pakistan. Both countries need peace.
20. We want to end the fight rather than extend it.
21. I was portrayed like a Bollywood villan in India. But, I understand we need good relations with India, we need trade relations.
22. We need to address human rights issues of Kashmir and the Kashmir issue.
23. I will prove to you we can improve governance here.
24. I pledge that we won’t have protocols.
25. Pakistan’s policies will be made for poor people. Will give rights to people who work in homes.
26. On rigging: this election comission was made by PMLN and PPP. Any party wherever they say has been rigging, we will fully investigate it and any constituency that you want us to open we will open.
27. He thanked everyone