[VIDEO] "We didn't lose because of one person, we lost as a team": Babar Azam's speech to his team

What do you make od his speech?

Think he meant that our loss was due a team effort!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/b5zko1" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

What do you make od his speech?

Think he meant that our loss was due a team effort!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/b5zko1" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Tell us something we don’t know you will say matey.

Same old repeated nonsense

Lost because of captaincy.

I don't think many fans blame one person - i am assuming he means Nawaz here.

I am just not sure who leaves the last over to the spinner when the opposition is a side that smacks spin for fun.

Not exactly rousing stuff, expected at least a spark
16 runs an over obviously isn't enough to defend

Pakistan lost because of one person, Babar the captain/opener, or Virat Kohli.

Take your pick.

Lost because of captaincy.

I don't think many fans blame one person - i am assuming he means Nawaz here.

I am just not sure who leaves the last over to the spinner when the opposition is a side that smacks spin for fun.

Very clearly as he also specially mentioned him.

What kind of pathetic video is this by PCB? He specifically pointed out Nawaz

Mate, this guy won you 3 matches out of lost situations where the top order just left too much for the lower order to do!

The same Nawaz has picked up Kane, Conway, Kohli, Rohit in the last 12 months since his inclusion in the side. He has bowled magnificently for you.

Did the PCB make an internal video like this when Rizwan bottled the final of the Asia cup for us, and Babar tells him “koi baat nahi tu mera match winner hai Rizwan”??

A culture of making examples out of the quieter, nicer guys!

Babar’s politics sometimes is very subtle and annoying.

Basically saqlain mushtaq made this video to show look at babar captaincy, he is giving fancy speech.

Enough of this dramaybazi babar azam. Stop forcing such videos and cringe speeches

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It was one of those days <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a> <a href="https://t.co/RWcQ3tTxh0">pic.twitter.com/RWcQ3tTxh0</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1584233407793754113?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 23, 2022</a></blockquote>

Its fine to say that behind closed doors.

But these chawals released the video to the public :))

Lol yeah, poor stuff from Babar. If anything is to be critisized it's his captaincy and now he is giving impression of people might think Nawaz lost us the match and he is backing him. He throwed Nawaz to the 'lions' by giving the poor guy last over, especially when he already had gone for 20+ runs earlier.

What kind of pathetic video is this by PCB? He specifically pointed out Nawaz

Mate, this guy won you 3 matches out of lost situations where the top order just left too much for the lower order to do!

The same Nawaz has picked up Kane, Conway, Kohli, Rohit in the last 12 months since his inclusion in the side. He has bowled magnificently for you.

Did the PCB make an internal video like this when Rizwan bottled the final of the Asia cup for us, and Babar tells him “koi baat nahi tu mera match winner hai Rizwan”??

A culture of making examples out of the quieter, nicer guys!

Im guessing you dont understand urdu.

He clearly said to nawaz who was head down wrapped up that dont worry i have belief in you and you will win me games in future

We lost because of Nawaz. Babar singling him out in his speech tells us that he too feels that way. His support of Nawaz is criticism in disguise.

He clearly said to nawaz who was head down wrapped up that dont worry i have belief in you and you will win me games in future

He switched to Punjabi when addressing Nawaz

While video is cringeworthy, and i have issues with babar as the captain.

But to be very honest, My captain, or Our captain gave a good talk here to Nawaz. He has won him games in the past and Babar dropped imad just o have him.

While babar i have issues with your captaincy, but even yet i will back you in this tournament.

Inshallah, we will get out of this and win the next 4 games because we are still the favourites and the better team..

Thankfully our first game was against a good side and exposed our fallings that we can now fix up before the semis.

In Babar Azam I trust. We have 4 more matches guys and we should wake up tomr backing our captain and our team and hoping we pull off the cup from Australia in Australia

Actually, Pakistan played very well and team looks better than India.
It just last 3 overs, Kohli singlehandedly destroyed.

Pakistan middle order looks good.

We lost because of Nawaz. Babar singling him out in his speech tells us that he too feels that way. His support of Nawaz is criticism in disguise.

No, nawaz head was down and he didnt look up.

Babar had to refer him because nawaz was comptely broken.

Its obvious and babar backed him in Urdu.

Im guessing alot of posters dont understand urdu or punjabi here

Game was lost by Babars non existant captaincy, we went through the motions when india were 4 down by just over bowling spinners and letting both Indian batters settle in.

Then later on he decides to give the last over of game to spin with 2 well set batsmen. Nawaz did bowl trash, but Babar is a useless captain.

Even peak Murali or Shane Warne won't defend 16 runs in final over against top sides in this age of T20Is. Spinners shouldn't bowl final over, period. Ajmal, Rashid, Ashwin, Shamsi all have received similar treatment in the past, don't make your spinner bowl the final over especially while defending.

Nawaz is a brilliant bowler who did so well in the Asia Cup, main reason why Pak beat Ind in super 4. Why throw him under the bus?

Lol yeah sure guess what you want

What was the need to mention/point out Nawaz at all?

Did he point out Hassan Ali last year?

Did he point out Rizwan in the Asia cup?

pakistanis fans are like desi aunties, look at the video, its obvious nawaz was feeling it worse than everyone, so babar had to say something, cant ignore the elephant in the room, theres loads of reasons why Pakistan lost and he acknowledged that.

Both Kohli and Pandya are veterans of many close T20 contests, which they had pulled off under pressure at the international as well as IPL level.

They knew exactly how to handle that kind of situation because of so many similar ipl games played by them, and they did pretty well in that situation to pull of this magical win ove Pakistan

No, nawaz head was down and he didnt look up.

Babar had to refer him because nawaz was comptely broken.

Its obvious and babar backed him in Urdu.

Im guessing alot of posters dont understand urdu or punjabi here

I understand Urdu and Punjabi very well, thanks. His head bowed proves he does feel guilty and rightfully so. He is broken because he knows he was match ka mujrim no doubt about it. For what it's worth Babar is also to blame for asking a spinner to bowl the last over.

Babar’s own contribution to the game

0 (1)

Nawaz shouldnt feel like that. A spinner will never be able to defend 15 runs vs Kohli / Pandya in the last over.

Nawaz can keep his head high. Winning or losing is part of the game.

Overall some poor choices led to this defeat.

I thought it was a good speech . We gotta understand that these are sportsmen , not politicians that will look for hidden meaning in the words. Babar was straight and direct, talked to nawaz straight up and told him that he got nawa'z back !. Still don't think that this video should've been posted .

We lost cos of you babs. Golden quack and then rubbish captaincy.

I don’t like his whining at his players when he’s captain too. People wanted sarfraz out cos of his behaviour, babar’s is even worse. Sarfraz used to shout at players, that was just part of his makeup, it was consistent all the way through. With babar he tries to stay calm, then explodes like a spoilt brat.

Very weak character

I'm not going to blame Nawaz at all, until we fix our mediocre batting, this will keep happening. You put up 160 and more often than not, quality teams are going to chase it down.

Proud of the bowlers tonight, they bowled their heart out and fought to the death.

Lol yeah sure guess what you want

What was the need to mention/point out Nawaz at all?

Did he point out Hassan Ali last year?

Did he point out Rizwan in the Asia cup?

he didn tpoint out nawaz, if you understand the local language and saw what had happeend, nawaz head was down, maybe in tears and wasnt looking up as babr adressed them.

Babar said that he has belief in him which is very important to say to your player after such a game.

There is a difference between pointing out someone and backing someone. I understand its the language barrier

They were down and rightfully so. And it was clear as day Nawaz took it the worst in that room, and as Babar spots him he offers his words of encouragement.

Nawaz was one of the worst performances in the match. But there were other things that contributed to this loss, such as the middle order collapse from Pak and the openers not contributing. Also shaheen and haris in the death overs failed.

Hopefully they can repeat the champions trophy performance, all be it in a different format. Remain undefeated and get the trophy.

Nawaz shouldnt feel like that. A spinner will never be able to defend 15 runs vs Kohli / Pandya in the last over.

Nawaz can keep his head high. Winning or losing is part of the game.

Overall some poor choices led to this defeat.

Exactly. That is why I am also blaming Babar for making him bowl the last over. What a terrible decision as Mo Hafeez also says. An awful just awful decision!

he didn tpoint out nawaz, if you understand the local language and saw what had happeend, nawaz head was down, maybe in tears and wasnt looking up as babr adressed them.

Babar said that he has belief in him which is very important to say to your player after such a game.

There is a difference between pointing out someone and backing someone. I understand its the language barrier

Oh chal mama!

This was all for the cameras and social media. Kisko bewaquf bana raha hai?

and which is why his captain backed him and said i beleive in you. Was he suppose to ignore him after how he is feeling?

And had your captain said its my fault, that demotivate all the other guys. Babar doesnt need to say its his fault everyone knows.

Point is move on and not demolorize your guys

Game was lost by Babars non existant captaincy, we went through the motions when india were 4 down by just over bowling spinners and letting both Indian batters settle in.

Then later on he decides to give the last over of game to spin with 2 well set batsmen. Nawaz did bowl trash, but Babar is a useless captain.

This is exactly right. He let it drift too much. In t20 - 12 an over is very very gettable with good players at the crease. He was content with that instead of looking for wickets. It’s the quiet overs, which lost the game. They set up the violent overs

I thought it was a good speech . We gotta understand that these are sportsmen , not politicians that will look for hidden meaning in the words. Babar was straight and direct, talked to nawaz straight up and told him that he got nawa'z back !. Still don't think that this video should've been posted .

Speech was OK. In the end Babar needs to back it up on the fiels. He is not able to do so, its tje bowlers really who produce miracles.

Also you cant let Nawaz sit their like that, at least on of the other guys should be next to him. There is no blame on Nawaz herw that they only pick 3 fast bowlers and force him to bowl the last over vs Kohli.

Cheer up Nawaz, how I wish he plays at least 1 match winning knock.

Seems like a great lad!

Oh chal mama!

This was all for the cameras and social media. Kisko bewaquf bana raha hai?

it was, but nawaz heart broken face can be seen, and babars words to him were geniune. these players wil never show their punjabi on camera, when babar resorted to punjabi towards nawaz that showed his geniune feelings towards him

I'm not going to blame Nawaz at all, until we fix our mediocre batting, this will keep happening. You put up 160 and more often than not, quality teams are going to chase it down.

Proud of the bowlers tonight, they bowled their heart out and fought to the death.

160 was below par considering the amazing start the team was given by Babar and Rizwan I mean after being 60-0 after 6 overs the other batsmen could only score 100 of the last 14 overs.

:moyo

and which is why his captain backed him and said i beleive in you. Was he suppose to ignore him after how he is feeling?

And had your captain said its my fault, that demotivate all the other guys. Babar doesnt need to say its his fault everyone knows.

Point is move on and not demolorize your guys

No we can't just move on so easily otherwise the same mistakes will be repeated. Fierce criticism is what Nawaz should be given but in private surroundings. Matty Hayds should also lay in to Babar too for making Nawaz bowl the last over. Many Pak fans like me and ex players like Hafeez do rightfully hold Babar responsible too. Nawaz should have said that it would be better for one of the other lads to bowl the final over.

Exactly. That is why I am also blaming Babar for making him bowl the last over. What a terrible decision as Mo Hafeez also says. An awful just awful decision!

Tough luck, it was one of those games where you knew that 1 over of spin in the end would make the difference.

But with 28 to get of 8 balls it looked very hard. Those 2 sixes really changed everything.

pakistanis fans are like desi aunties, look at the video, its obvious nawaz was feeling it worse than everyone, so babar had to say something, cant ignore the elephant in the room, theres loads of reasons why Pakistan lost and he acknowledged that.

The message is ok in private but there is no need to release these videos to the public.

they did it before last year as well, after the aus game i think. not hundred percent sure. the PCB media dept is a bit over excitable, me personally, id give the benefit of the doubt to babar and just forget abt today's game.

Tough luck, it was one of those games where you knew that 1 over of spin in the end would make the difference.

But with 28 to get of 8 balls it looked very hard. Those 2 sixes really changed everything.

So Nawaz and Babar both need to hear the criticism. Nawaz a so called spinner is bowling seem up to Kohli for heaven sake!. Methinks Nawaz hardly does anything even if we take the last over outta contention. I absolutely lay in to Nawaz afterwards if was playing.

No we can't just move on so easily otherwise the same mistakes will be repeated. Fierce criticism is what Nawaz should be given but in private surroundings. Matty Hayds should also lay in to Babar too for making Nawaz bowl the last over. Many Pak fans like me and ex players like Hafeez do rightfully hold Babar responsible too. Nawaz should have said that it would be better for one of the other lads to bowl the final over.

bhai, even i hate babar as captain, but there is no point in bashing him during the world cup.

there was no other lad to bowl the final over. You want a bowler to bowl a 5th over?

what has happened has happened and now we are in a tournament. The captain will stay the same so point in crying and just accept what it is and back them till the tournament ends

That was an all time choke job.

A bit of composure and they still win

bhai, even i hate babar as captain, but there is no point in bashing him during the world cup.

there was no other lad to bowl the final over. You want a bowler to bowl a 5th over?

what has happened has happened and now we are in a tournament. The captain will stay the same so point in crying and just accept what it is and back them till the tournament ends

Which is why I say we should have played four pacers vs India. I wanted a pace man to bowl the last over like Naseem or Shaheen.

Sure we have to accept the defeat at the expense of Babar and Nawaz both realizing their major errors.

This was what Michael Hussey did to Saeed Ajmal many years back. That time to we got a spinner to bowl the last over only for him to get spanked repeatedly out of the park. Exact same thing happened again coz we never learn.

Perhaps but also won of those games where in the end everything that could have gone wrong went wrong. Those 2 sixes of Haris, no one saw that coming.

With 28 of 8 it looked done. At that stage it looked like Nawaz would have 20 plus runs for the last over.

But they are hurting now and they should be, tomorrow the focus should be back and aim to win the next games.

What is done is done.

This was what Michael Hussey did to Saeed Ajmal many years back. That time to we got a spinner to bowl the last over only for him to get spanked repeatedly out of the park. Exact same thing happened again coz we never learn.

Look at the positives - at least you didn't drop any catches today.

True. Pakistani death overs when defending a total has been pretty much useless for a year now. Not sure what the solution as Hasnian, Shaheen & Haris have all been taken to the cleaners a few times now at some point.

Looks like Naseem has to do the job now but there is not guarantee he wont be taken apart in the death overs too?

Look at the positives - at least you didn't drop any catches today.

There are none in World Cups only winning matters this loss has knocked any momentum Pakistan could’ve built up the bowlers are the main hope now against South Africa.

Not surprised by the plethora of ignorant takes on this thread. I guess for some people, everything just exists in a vaccumm.

Pakistan should hold their heads up high for the kind of performance they gave today. The fought till the last over. And kept coming back even after India dismissed Babar and Rizwan inside the first 5 overs. In the end, it was a remarkably close game of cricket in which one of the modern day greats of the game stood tall. And that is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of.

Nobody (including Kohli) expected those sixes on the last two balls of Haris Rauf's over to come off as well as they did. They were stunning, instinctual shots that few others could have played in that situation. That's where India won the game.

None of what happened today changes the fact though that Babar's captaincy was absolutely spot-on...including giving Nawaz the last over. Or the fact that Haris Rauf is one of the best and most dangerous bowlers in the world in this format. Or that Nawaz is an exceptional cricketer who will win many matches for Pakistan in the future.

Pakistan should hold their heads up high for the kind of performance they gave today. The fought till the last over. And kept coming back even after India dismissed Babar and Rizwan inside the first 5 overs.

Whether they bat all the way or get out early

Koi farq nahi parhta.

We lost because you're a minnow basher with the brain of an ant. Akmal DNA

Are New Zealand, England, South Africa minnow teams? This is the same that defeated India in a world cup that no other pakstani team has ever done.

It was a close game.

All you can ask is that your team fights hard and Pakistan did that without question. The batting comeback was strong and they had good moments with the ball too. You also have to give credit to Kohli cause he was batting out of his mind at the end.

Pakistan can take a lot of positives from this game and use this experience to get into the knockout stage.

Are New Zealand, England, South Africa minnow teams? This is the same that defeated India in a world cup that no other pakstani team has ever done.

When did Pakistan defeat SA’s main XI? We are playing them soon and will find out

When did we beat England’s main XI?

We clearly beat India and SA last year because of the toss

Cringe.. whoever decided to make a video &#55358;&#56614;&#55356;&#57341;*♂️ & To make it public is absolutely criminal, in fact it shows Babar is a weak captain, should really have ripped into everyone & pointed out the mistakes instead of the usual “there was positives to take from the game “

He should become a model for Primark the cringey clown. He's bottled in every pressure situation bar last year when toss won all the matches

Yeah this is slightly soft from Babar. You have to back your players absolutely no doubt but you've also got to man enough to state where things went miserably wrong.

All Nawaz Rauf and Shaheen had to do at the end was just ball proper deliveries rather than slower ones, leg side, wides no ball etc. This is basic cricket not executed properly. Had Indian batsmen hit boundaries of good deliveries then so be it. But gifting runs by trying to be too extravagant is surely Pakiatan's fault.

Tell us something we don’t know you will say matey.

Same old repeated nonsense

Don't think Waseem or Nawaz were too interested in what was being said :)

Yeah this is slightly soft from Babar. You have to back your players absolutely no doubt but you've also got to man enough to state where things went miserably wrong.

All Nawaz Rauf and Shaheen had to do at the end was just ball proper deliveries rather than slower ones, leg side, wides no ball etc. This is basic cricket not executed properly. Had Indian batsmen hit boundaries of good deliveries then so be it. But gifting runs by trying to be too extravagant is surely Pakiatan's fault.

I guess Babar says that publicly to protect them. But you hope within team errors are recognised so they can be fixed.

Nawaz bowled the worst possible ball for the occasion 3 times in the over. He choked. It was only the extra balls/freebies that got India home in the end.

Rauf probably wishes he hit his yorkers instead of offering length to Kohli to get under as well.

I guess Babar says that publicly to protect them. But you hope within team errors are recognised so they can be fixed.

Nawaz bowled the worst possible ball for the occasion 3 times in the over. He choked. It was only the extra balls/freebies that got India home in the end.

Rauf probably wishes he hit his yorkers instead of offering length to Kohli to get under as well.

Rauf didn't just bowl length in those last 2 balls. He bowled length as slower balls. Easiest deliveries to get under. If he had just bowled 145 pace, there was no way Kohli would have hit 2 sixes back to back.

Not surprised by the plethora of ignorant takes on this thread. I guess for some people, everything just exists in a vaccumm.

Pakistan should hold their heads up high for the kind of performance they gave today. The fought till the last over. And kept coming back even after India dismissed Babar and Rizwan inside the first 5 overs. In the end, it was a remarkably close game of cricket in which one of the modern day greats of the game stood tall. And that is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of.

Nobody (including Kohli) expected those sixes on the last two balls of Haris Rauf's over to come off as well as they did. They were stunning, instinctual shots that few others could have played in that situation. That's where India won the game.

None of what happened today changes the fact though that Babar's captaincy was absolutely spot-on...including giving Nawaz the last over. Or the fact that Haris Rauf is one of the best and most dangerous bowlers in the world in this format. Or that Nawaz is an exceptional cricketer who will win many matches for Pakistan in the future.

Are you kidding me? As I see it, it was one of Pakistan’s biggest chokes ever! This was Pakistan’s game to lose after India were 33-4 in 7th over, 45-4 in 10th over. From that point on they let India make 115 in last 10, including 60 in last 5. And not just Nawaz’s last over- his third over also had 3 sixes scored off him. So yeah, Nawaz not only had a terrible game, but also blame Babar for not rotating his bowlers better which forced him to bowl Nawaz in the crucial last over after his confidence was shot in his previous over.

And you call those two shots instinctive? Kohli knew that Babar had no other bowler left except Nawaz, so they could take on that additional risk. It was rather very calculative shots.

We lost because of two not one people. Nawaz and Babar were the culprits I would argue the hell out off!

They were the main culprits. But Shaheen looked bog average as well. Went for 17 in his 4th which brought India back when they had to get 48 from 3 overs. I am not sure if he is even fit.

Haris Rauf bowled two rubbish balls in the 19th over. No amount of sugar coating can cover that fact.

SSA was poor as well.

Rauf and SSA remain big time chiclets for me. In the last WorldT20- Hassan Ali dropped a sitter but SSA still bowled a rubbish 19th over.

Mentally weak and rubbish are SSA and Rauf

Haris Rauf bowled two rubbish balls in the 19th over. No amount of sugar coating can cover that fact.

SSA was poor as well.

Rauf and SSA remain big time chiclets for me. In the last WorldT20- Hassan Ali dropped a sitter but SSA still bowled a rubbish 19th over.

Mentally weak and rubbish are SSA and Rauf

Kohli played a premeditated scoop and got six. Could just as easily been skied and caught. It's life. Lay off Rauf. He's a diamond

We did lost because of one person & that was Babar.

Played a useless stroke to get out first ball then had a shocker with bowling changes. Every Pakistani knew that keeping Nawaz for lost over will be bad same thing happened in Asia Cup hardly a month ago but Babar never learns such a poor captain.

Time for him to play a match wining knock vs Zimbabar & do some chest thumping

On the speech it seems fine tbh? Don't see anything bad from it. Just trying to rally the troops after a tough loss and get them up for rest of the tournament.

He says we didn't lose due to one person, we all lost.

India has a psychological edge over Pak which is why 90% of the time we lose games to them at crunch moments... similar to how Pak has an edge over Afghanistan.

Pakistan should play four seamers in Australia.Asif only performs once in a blue moon.Play Wasim jnr.He will score more runs than Asif.Hasnain is another option.I know he can be wayward but with his pace and bounce will trouble most batsmen.

India has a psychological edge over Pak which is why 90% of the time we lose games to them at crunch moments... similar to how Pak has an edge over Afghanistan.

Pakistan is a better team than Afghanistan while India has been ahead of Pakistan in recent times apart from a few matches the better team generally wins.

Game was lost in the 17th and 18th over. Blaming Nawaz is idiotic - an off spinner bowling to a well set beast of a batsman; there's no way he's defending 15.

SSA bowled a a terrible 4th over and Kohli played two unreal shots against Rauf.

There's nothing Pakistan could've done to prevent this. Those blaming Babar's captaincy are the same people who would've blamed him for not bringing pacers earlier if he had bowled out Nawaz.

There's no edge that India holds over this bunch. How many times have they played each other in the WC or big tournaments and what's the H2H? If anything, this team has shown on a number of occasions that they are not mental midgets like the Pak teams of the past.

Today's recover after a horrendous start, Asia cup chase under immense pressure, previous T20 world cup chase.

We didn't lose crucial moments today, India deservedly won those on the back of kohli and his supreme form.

Can't blame Nawaz. Have to blame poor selection and weak captaincy.

We will not win an ICC trophy whilst Babar is captain.

Also Rauf not bowling yorkers was pathetic. Mediocre bowling.

Don’t know what some people are ridiculing Babar - he seems to have a very sensible head on his shoulder, appears to be a good communicator and comes across matured and sensible in this video