[VIDEOS] Fakhar Zaman - Pakistan's most frustrating batter?

Babar Azam:

“We know when Fakhar is playing its a different ball game. So he played his natural game and all the pressure is on their team. Good to see him."
Probably burnt out ... He should have been given the much needed time off against Afghanistan series and Nepal match..

Would have been ready for the WC , poor planning as always from team management... Now if he fails against NZ or Eng they need to stick with him,,,

That may be true, but he's literally the only modern era batsmen that Pakistan has lol. Him and chacha.

Everyone else is beyond spineless and stuck in 1980's

Agree on that, I'm just saying people should manage their expectations. He doesn't play through the line like the best modern day hitters, but at least he has some natural aggression and a good eye for the ball. Worth picking him in the hope that he will have one of his good days, on those he can smash just about any bowler.

He makes up the runs if he sticks in and his sr eventually exceeds 100 easily

Babar never makes up those runs. Rizwan makes up those runs only if the side is minnow, otherwise naw.

The most frustrating thing for me is the way Fakhar has been handled this tournament. Shouldn't have been dropped. He might have clicked earlier and we would've won that game.
He has issues with his knees hence why he didn't play a game earlier or two.

Fakhar should have never dropped for any world cup game. He can win the match for Pakistan on his day but imam is completely apposite .imam can score 70-80 or hundred but still Pakistan can lose the game .
Fakhar>>> imam

IF fakhar keeps his form like he did against Bangladesh, we will see Imam sitting on the bench for a long time or may be even dropped from the squad as well.

Forget his aggression. His stance might be ungainly, but there is something very watchable about the way his hands move through most shots.

He may take Pakistan into the semifinal with another couple of his special knocks. Hopefully, he would be able to take out his frustration on the opposition bowlers.

jo bhi ho jigar hai is banday may. Only one who doesn’t have a meltdown in big games when it matters.

Not Big Bobby B
Not Rizzie bro
Not Junior Afridi

But it’s the Fauji bhai Fakhar Zaman who has been the greatest fighter and the most heroic character in this team for the last half a decade

What an effort tonight from him so far!

Absolutely thrilled to see him bat like this.

Hats off to you bro.

The only match winner, big match player.

He was screwed by Babar and Rizwan in T20s.

Alas it ain't any cause nonetheless put a lot of World class players to Shame

I was surprised not seeing this dude in the Pak side. Then someone said he was ill, some said out of form. But such dasher at the top you persist with. He will have his failings due to such unorthodox technique but most wickets flat in ODI’s especially in tournaments, so he will do well. Something Pak missed first 5 games having a genuine big hitting aggressive opening batsman.

Everyone wanted him dropped but to Babar’s credit he kept playing him against huge public pressure, then he did drop him but brought him back.

PCT's dressing room politics
Questions need to be asked about whether Fakhar was fitter earlier in the tournament or not.

He has said that he could have played if needed - so why didn't he? Why wasn't he picked?
PCT'S dressing room politics

Ha ha ha funny. With the cricketing acumen the mgt and Babar have I won’t be surprised if this was indeed the moment..

Questions need to be asked about whether Fakhar was fitter earlier in the tournament or not.

He has said that he could have played if needed - so why didn't he? Why wasn't he picked?

Hilarious to say considering all the people wanted him kicked to the curb after his struggles for 10 innings or so and forgetting he had 3 centuries in a row prior.

If he came back sooner and failed, it would have been why is he coming back into the side? What has he done to earn it? He keeps failing, his technique has been exposed and bunch of friendship dosti comments about why he is back.

At the end of the day, taking a couple of weeks ago has really helped Fakhar be in a better mental position after all his struggles & criticism and who knows if he had any lingering knee issues that were making his struggles worse but he seems fully healthy physically & mentally right now.

The guy just played one of the greatest clutch innings in WC history for Pakistan. Incredible if they end up making the semis.

At the end of the day, taking a couple of weeks ago has really helped Fakhar be in a better mental position after all his struggles & criticism and who knows if he had any lingering knee issues that were making his struggles worse but he seems fully healthy physically & mentally right now.
At the end of the day Imam-ul-Haq was playing ahead of him, that itself had its own issues and problems.

A struggling and 75% fit Fakhar over Imam-ul-Haq any day of the week for me.

Easily his best ever ODI hundred

The 197 v SA went through a lot of different phases..he wasn’t fluent in his first 50-70 balls.

This innings was a bloodbath from the 2nd Boult over. He seriously took down Trent Boult right from the outset!

UNlorwK.png

Has anyone noticed any subtle changes in his technique? His hitting style looks looks messy and and his balance still looks off. So maybe he just needed a mental break to regroup.

He’s worked on something . The two sixers he hit back behind Phillips was something not seen often . What a player !

This is why I've always been very forgiving of Fakhar's lean patches.

Other players I wouldn't tolerate such prolonged losses of form.

But with Fakhar, I'm happy to give him 15-20 failures. Don't care. Why ? His best day is far better than any other Pakistani batsman.

His best day wins not just matches, but big matches and tournaments. The other riskless accumulators simply cannot do that.

He's had time to sort himself out, and looks much better at the crease.

UNlorwK.png

Has anyone noticed any subtle changes in his technique? His hitting style looks looks messy and and his balance still looks off. So maybe he just needed a mental break to regroup.
@Asad T Thing is he's always been ungainly at the crease.

These homespun techniques with lots of moving parts makes it difficult to maintain consistency.

However today I thought he looked better against deliveries on legstump. In Asia Cup he couldn't get the ball off the square unless it was a short, wide delivery. Against spin he was totally bogged down.

However we better remind ourselves it's Bangalore. Any batsman worth their salt should fill their boots here. Let's see whether Fakhar can maintain this.

@Asad T Thing is he's always been ungainly at the crease.

These homespun techniques with lots of moving parts makes it difficult to maintain consistency.

However today I thought he looked better against deliveries on legstump. In Asia Cup he couldn't get the ball off the square unless it was a short, wide delivery. Against spin he was totally bogged down.

However we better remind ourselves it's Bangalore. Any batsman worth their salt should fill their boots here. Let's see whether Fakhar can maintain this.
weird analysis. Just because it’s Bangalore, it doesn’t mean you will hit 11 sixes! Fakhar did today what Warner did the other day.
Proper batters with proper techniques enjoyed like Williamson, Babar, Imam, Rachin, Abullah were not able to grab the match by the throat like Fakhar did.
On consistency, the guy averages 46, which is one of the highest in the world.

weird analysis. Just because it’s Bangalore, it doesn’t mean you will hit 11 sixes! Fakhar did today what Warner did the other day.
Proper batters with proper techniques enjoyed like Williamson, Babar, Imam, Rachin, Abullah were not able to grab the match by the throat like Fakhar did.
On consistency, the guy averages 46, which is one of the highest in the world.
I'm a big Fakhar supporter, not taking anything away from him at all. He deserves the longest rope from all of our batsmen because he has a gear the others lack, and a big game mentality that's rare amongst Pakistani cricketers.

Having watched him for 6.5 years though, I've learned he needs conditions to go in his favour.

He's terrific on pitches with true pace and bounce - he scored 193 in Joburg vs SA in 2021 where batsmen got excellent value for strokeplay much like Bangalore - which is arguably the best batting venue in India as IPL fans can tell you especially with its short boundaries.

However on slow stopping wickets or any surfaces offering a bit of movement like those SL pitches in Asia Cup I've also seen him struggle massively. Since 2021 his SR against spin also declined.

Just looking at an overall average of 46 isn't particularly useful in telling you about the ebbs and flows of a players' form, how they perform in certain conditions over others etc.

My point is just temper your expectations of Fakhar. He will have innings like this and then a 10 match dip where he can't hold a bat. However his best day will win us more matches than the best days of our riskless accumulators (like a certain "King").

Today we have witnessed one of the finest hundreds in World Cup history.

126 not out
81 balls
11 sixes
8 fours
155.55 strike-rate

Fakhar Zaman is the Player of the Match

IMG-20231104-WA0087.jpg

Fakhar's presence seems to have made Pakistan more spirited.

Before him, they were down and out.

why does Babar not like these kinds of players in his sides as a captain and that too batting ahead of him?

Is it because he feels they steal the limelight from him if they fire? Or they make him look timid in comparison?

What a stunning assault by Fakhar, treat to watch. I’m sure he would have helped chased 400 if we got full game. Pakistan’s trouble has always starting slow with Imam, Fakhar is a must have at the top. True match winner and big match player on his day.

Doesn't just apply to Fakhar, but shows how PCB mismanages our assets. Playing him non stop burned the poor guy out and he couldn't perform.

But comes back a different player after recharging his batteries.

I'm a big Fakhar supporter, not taking anything away from him at all. He deserves the longest rope from all of our batsmen because he has a gear the others lack, and a big game mentality that's rare amongst Pakistani cricketers.

Having watched him for 6.5 years though, I've learned he needs conditions to go in his favour.

He's terrific on pitches with true pace and bounce - he scored 193 in Joburg vs SA in 2021 where batsmen got excellent value for strokeplay much like Bangalore - which is arguably the best batting venue in India as IPL fans can tell you especially with its short boundaries.

However on slow stopping wickets or any surfaces offering a bit of movement like those SL pitches in Asia Cup I've also seen him struggle massively. Since 2021 his SR against spin also declined.

Just looking at an overall average of 46 isn't particularly useful in telling you about the ebbs and flows of a players' form, how they perform in certain conditions over others etc.

My point is just temper your expectations of Fakhar. He will have innings like this and then a 10 match dip where he can't hold a bat. However his best day will win us more matches than the best days of our riskless accumulators (like a certain "King").
The word average implies “average”
Of the ebbs and flows. I

The term "average" signifies the consolidation of highs and lows, simplifying comparisons. It's essential to recognize that beneath a batter's average lie strengths and weaknesses, which is entirely typical. Additionally, I cringe when I see folks dismissing a player's performance based on removing specific situations from their batting average, which is is illogical, as it inherently represents a blend of varying data points. Like “if you remove their performance in Asia, then X happens”.

Of the ebbs and flows. I

The term "average" signifies the consolidation of highs and lows, simplifying comparisons. It's essential to recognize that beneath a batter's average lie strengths and weaknesses, which is entirely typical. Additionally, I cringe when I see folks dismissing a player's performance based on removing specific situations from their batting average, which is is illogical, as it inherently represents a blend of varying data points. Like “if you remove their performance in Asia, then X happens”.
I think even if Fakhar is only good on flat pitches, that’s okay. Most pitches nowadays are pretty flat and most of the world’s best and most explosive batsmen are flat track batsmen. Every side needs some players who can take advantage of good batting conditions and put up explosive innings.

Just include a couple class batsmen on your side who can play in really tough conditions when those kinds of pitches show up every once in a while.

Doesn't just apply to Fakhar, but shows how PCB mismanages our assets. Playing him non stop burned the poor guy out and he couldn't perform.

But comes back a different player after recharging his batteries.
Yeah this I agree with. Seems like he probably should’ve been dropped/forced to rest earlier. He looks amazing ever since he’s come back from being dropped and injury.

I think Shaheen Shah needs some rest as well after this World Cup, but I know the Australian Test Series is coming up.

Of the ebbs and flows. I

Good point
Fakhars batting has been as refreshing as qdk and Markham, both who have flattered to deceive in recent years
We could say the same about maxwell , although he was injured tonight

I think even if Fakhar is only good on flat pitches, that’s okay. Most pitches nowadays are pretty flat and most of the world’s best and most explosive batsmen are flat track batsmen. Every side needs some players who can take advantage of good batting conditions and put up explosive innings.

Just include a couple class batsmen on your side who can play in really tough conditions when those kinds of pitches show up every once in a while.
I was purely making a comment around the usage of the statistical concepts.
If he’s only good on flat tracks, then we need to prove that others are not , right? Babar Imam Saud Rizwan enjoyed this ground and would have enjoyed today as well but they are not capable of doing what Fakhar did. Let’s be honest.
All batters are better on flat tracks, it’s about whether you’re brutal and ruthless.
Fakhar, Rohit, Warner, Head, QDK and players like this can completely deflate you on a flat track. That’s the difference

Though it's hindsight but every layman knows Fakhar can be a beast and not playing him against AfG was criminal, no way Nabi would have bowled ten overs for 26. Sack Mickey Arthur and his cronies

And if he failed. Babar would have been crucified and every man and their nan, would claim they knew more than Babar. Its a gut call, some pay off, others go horribly wrong.

Some posters were criticizing Babar for opting to field first. As you said, these decisions can sometimes go either way.

Having said that, Babar’s captaincy leaves a lot to be desired.

Everyone wanted him dropped but to Babar’s credit he kept playing him against huge public pressure, then he did drop him but brought him back.
This is what people forget! From May, when his bad form started, until October 6th when he was finally dropped, Fakhar averaged 18 @ 66 SR across 11 innings. His highest score during this time was 33 runs. He was legitimately playing like one of the worst openers in the world at this time.

I very specifically remember many people on this forum calling for him to be dropped not just from the team but from the squad. People were saying he was washed up, depleted, would never be the same again, etc. He really did get more chances than any other Pakistani batsmen that I can remember and I’m glad he was persisted with. Maybe in the long run, him being dropped and having some time away from the side is exactly what he needed cause he has looks amazing now.

Part of the reason why our team selection looked so bad is because some of the players who were playing well and were in the World Cup plans, like Fakhar Zaman, literally entered horrible form at the worst possible time during the Asia Cup and World Cup.