[VIDEOS] How does Virat Kohli get away with these sorts of performances?

I believe Virat Kohli himself should realize that he shouldnt be playing T20Is and retire from it. It would be embarrassing if he is dropped. A player of his caliber should take a such decision himself. He should play a series in front of his home crowd and retire from T20Is.

He shouldn’t get away with these kind of performances

But Pakistanis who use Babar and Rizwan’s stats as T20 openers to compare them with Kohli’s at 3 should not get away from me either!

Why do you make every thread about yourself?

Can you please cut out such comments - takes a lot of energy to edit out etc - Thanks

Virat Kohli has been cooked for 4 years now. Probably longer if we speak strictly of T20 format.

His inclusion (and Rohit Sharma) is a scam.

Babar and Rizwan and a few others get a lot of heat and for good reason.

But what about this?

Mainly because Kohli has achieved more and in his golden years was truly a class atg.

Rn Indian fans want him gone from t20, but in odi last year he scored 5 centuries in a single cup alone.

Yes he's done in t20 cause he's aged but babar and rizwan are supposedly in their prime and playing like crap.

Kohli at 30 is miles superior to both babar and rizwan at 30 and frankly speaking he's still miles superior to the both of them in All formats despite being washed up.

Mohammad Hafeez , via a podcast, reiterates his 'selfish' comments regarding Virat Kohli's 100 against South Africa in the 2023 World Cup:

"No matter who is batting, your intention and way of playing should always be towards winning the game. But if someone is stopping himself not to play big shots in the 90s, I will never take it."

"After 95, if someone is taking five balls to get to his hundred and not thinking of hitting off those 3 or 4 balls, and if the intention gets changed after scoring a 100, why can't I play the same shot on 95?"

"So in that game (South Africa), Virat took a lot of balls to get to his 100 and he was not playing big shots."

Mohammad Hafeez , via a podcast, reiterates his 'selfish' comments regarding Virat Kohli's 100 against South Africa in the 2023 World Cup:

"No matter who is batting, your intention and way of playing should always be towards winning the game. But if someone is stopping himself not to play big shots in the 90s, I will never take it."

"After 95, if someone is taking five balls to get to his hundred and not thinking of hitting off those 3 or 4 balls, and if the intention gets changed after scoring a 100, why can't I play the same shot on 95?"

"So in that game (South Africa), Virat took a lot of balls to get to his 100 and he was not playing big shots."
And his same selfish batting (along with host of others) cost us big time in WC final.

Mainly because Kohli has achieved more and in his golden years was truly a class atg.

Rn Indian fans want him gone from t20, but in odi last year he scored 5 centuries in a single cup alone.

Yes he's done in t20 cause he's aged but babar and rizwan are supposedly in their prime and playing like crap.

Kohli at 30 is miles superior to both babar and rizwan at 30 and frankly speaking he's still miles superior to the both of them in All formats despite being washed up.
Well put. Kohli has a lot of credit in the bank. He has played knocks that our players can only dream of.

A bit harsh but he has some blind followers who keep on backing after these glaring failures

Some Indians believe he is the best batter in World T20 history. That's how he gets away I guess.

He's part of a strong professional unit where someone will always stand up.

Babar isn't. If he doesn't click the entire batting will fold, 90% of the time.

Big difference.

Some Indians believe he is the best batter in World T20 history. That's how he gets away I guess.
Its not about belief , He has been the ATG for T20 outright. The numbers and his match winning performances prove that.
Problem has been the over the last few years he has been taking too much time off cricket for his family and almost never plays T20I giving juniors a chance, He doesnt know what position to play. He will turn up or maybe he has been reading Pakpassion posts and ignored the useless group games to turn up for the knockouts in a big way ;)

He's part of a strong professional unit where someone will always stand up.

Babar isn't. If he doesn't click the entire batting will fold, 90% of the time.

Big difference.

In a sense that is Babar's fault as the team is his but still - imagine Babar with those stats and our fans.

Its not about belief , He has been the ATG for T20 outright. The numbers and his match winning performances prove that.
Problem has been the over the last few years he has been taking too much time off cricket for his family and almost never plays T20I giving juniors a chance, He doesnt know what position to play. He will turn up or maybe he has been reading Pakpassion posts and ignored the useless group games to turn up for the knockouts in a big way ;)

He is a group stage/bilateral specialist. Can't remember if he ever played a decisive innings in a knockout game (like Marlon Samuels did twice).

How is that related to this tournament?

So you are saying Indian fans will say oh well Kohli is so good and yeah its fine he couldn't win us this tournament?

None of us are saying this, Indian fans are absolutely critical of Kohli and Rohit, Jadeja , Dube.
We have Jaiswal sitting down

Man have to give credit to the pundits here, They had predicted correctly that he would suck at this world t20.

Maybe because Kohli was motm in 2014&2016 and played many atg innings in the format while Rizbar haven't done anything like that.

But kohli needs to be kicked out, his time is over
It was not a good decision to open with him. He's an anchor and he should've batted at no. 3 in this WT20.

So you are saying Indian fans will say oh well Kohli is so good Sand yeah its fine he couldn't win us this tournament?
No, we are not okay. As long as he is not performing, fans are also criticizing both Kohli and Rohit.

He is a group stage/bilateral specialist. Can't remember if he ever played a decisive innings in a knockout game (like Marlon Samuels did twice).

Kohli has been pretty bad in this tournament so far, but you are smartly trying to undermine his past performance as if you started watching cricket recently, lol. :LOL:

2014 T20 WC Semi Final: 72 (44) against SA
2014 T20 WC Final: 77 (58) against Lanka (India scored only 130)

2016 T20 WC Semi Final: 89(47) against WI

Kohli is the leading run-scorer (288) in the T20 World Cup knockout matches. 153SR & 144 Avg...Live in your Tamim's world.

Imagine comparing 30 year old Babar with 36 year old Kohli at the fag end of his career

Its like saying Zaheer Khan was better than Wasim Akram bcoz he was highest wicket taker in 2003 WC while Wasim flopped

AT the age of 30 Kohli had 2 POTTs in ICC T20 Worlds . At that age Rizwan was scoring 31 of 42 & Babar scoring 44 of 43

Kohli has been pretty bad in this tournament so far, but you are smartly trying to undermine his past performance as if you started watching cricket recently, lol. :LOL:

2014 T20 WC Semi Final: 72 (44) against SA
2014 T20 WC Final: 77 (58) against Lanka (India scored only 130)

2016 T20 WC Semi Final: 89(47) against WI

Kohli is the leading run-scorer (288) in the T20 World Cup knockout matches. 153SR & 144 Avg...Live in your Tamim's world.

I watch cricket since 1997. I got into cricket due to Shahid Afridi. He used to manhandle Indian bowlers back in the days.

I saw all World T20s. Kohli isn't the best batter. Not even close.

Marlon Samuels wipes the floor with Kohli when it comes to T20 impact. Check highlights of 2012 World T20 final and 2016 World T20 semi-final.

I watch cricket since 1997. I got into cricket due to Shahid Afridi. He used to manhandle Indian bowlers back in the days.

Marlon Samuels wipes the floor with Kohli when it comes to T20 impact. Check highlights of 2012 World T20 final and 2016 World T20 semi-final.
Thanks for the laughs!! :ROFLMAO:

As Munaf Patle wipes the floor with Waqar when it comes to ODI impact:qdkcheeky

Of course Virat Kohli is not the best T20 batter. Marlon Samuels was better

BUt comparing Kohli with Babar & Rizwan is equally ridiculous. Its like comparing Shane Warne with Shadab Khan

Imagine comparing 30 year old Babar with 36 year old Kohli at the fag end of his career

Its like saying Zaheer Khan was better than Wasim Akram bcoz he was highest wicket taker in 2003 WC while Wasim flopped

AT the age of 30 Kohli had 2 POTTs in ICC T20 Worlds . At that age Rizwan was scoring 31 of 42 & Babar scoring 44 of 43
This isn’t a comparison thread by any means. The thread is simply saying why are fans not critical of Kohli’s performances as the numbers are equally bad or worse. Who in this thread said Babar is better than Kohli?

Bcoz Kohli is 36. Most fans don't expect him to perform at the same level as when he was in his prime. This is probably his last ICC event & hence fans are just happy to see him get a farewell event. Of course this should be his last T20 World. If he persist till next T20 World in 2026 then he will get a lot of hate from the fans. Same for Rohit

Fans have higher expectations from SKY, Pant, Shivam Dube

A true Indian fan knows that Kohli is done. The amount of criticism he has faced so far is significantly lesser than Babar. Coz Ind hv qualified to Super8. Usually when a team keeps winning, these performances tend to get overlooked. Only a matter of time that Ind will run out of luck in SF. Epic humiliation awaits Team Ind in SF.

Bcoz Kohli is 36. Most fans don't expect him to perform at the same level as when he was in his prime. This is probably his last ICC event & hence fans are just happy to see him get a farewell event. Of course this should be his last T20 World. If he persist till next T20 World in 2026 then he will get a lot of hate from the fans. Same for Rohit

Fans have higher expectations from SKY, Pant, Shivam Dube
Many fans are critical of his selection. For some fans it’s a farewell for others, they feel he’s hogging a spot and should not have been selected. There are two different opinions. You can have an opinion but to say this is a comparison thread is a comprehension failure.

Please read match thread how crictial are indian fans regarding Rohit and Virat .

But unfortunately they are untouchables at this moment. Only gauti can force them to retire as he will become coach after this World T20.

I have seen Stuart Binny do worse than man handling your batsman in your own home.

And afridi failed against India in every single wc, odi and t20.

Please read match thread how crictial are indian fans regarding Rohit and Virat .

But unfortunately they are untouchables at this moment. Only gauti can force them to retire as he will become coach after this World T20.
Bhai, chalne do na.. both of them nearly got us the World Cup less than 8 months ago.
This tournament is still ongoing, lets see.

Many fans are critical of his selection. For some fans it’s a farewell for others, they feel he’s hogging a spot and should not have been selected. There are two different opinions. You can have an opinion but to say this is a comparison thread is a comprehension failure.
This is standard trope by Pakistani fans. Just drag in India to defend their players. Look at the Haris Rauf incident. Bro got abused by a fan & hiis first instinct was to call him Indian to play the victim card

Which worldcup did Afridi Manhandle Indian bowlers?

That's just how desi culture works. That's why we are not Australia
This is survivor bias example, anything that victor does during the route to victory is the case of the win. People ignore that other losers might have done the same too but couldn't win.
Didnt we win 2011 by having an old ageing Sachin in the team?

This is survivor bias example, anything that victor does during the route to victory is the case of the win. People ignore that other losers might have done the same too but couldn't win.
I think ODI is different we wont 2997 coz Sachin Saurav Dravid werent available for the same.

Nonsense thread. Anyone who saw the match and didn't just follow scorecard knows how the ball was sticking in pitch.

Today was a 160 par score pitch and Kohli got out in 9th over when team was around par run rate trying to hit a six.

The approach of entire Indian batting today was excellent as they were aiming for par +20 from the start. Even though some players didn't get ideal results, nobody fell short on intent.

This thread will bump when Kohli masterclass( Chasing the target) win the game for india in Semifinals

Sachin Tendulkar was legit player in that team, He was outstanding in 2010 and deserved his place in the WC squad. Played a brilliant innings against England & South Africa. His decline started post WC

Nonsense thread. Anyone who saw the match and didn't just follow scorecard knows how the ball was sticking in pitch.

Today was a 160 par score pitch and Kohli got out in 9th over when team was around par run rate trying to hit a six.

The approach of entire Indian batting today was excellent as they were aiming for par +20 from the start. Even though some players didn't get ideal results, nobody fell short on intent.
Ball was sticking a bit, agreed. But it was a 180-190 run pitch. Afghan batting is poor. Eng/Aus/Windies would hv scored 180+ against this Indian attack for sure.

This is standard trope by Pakistani fans. Just drag in India to defend their players. Look at the Haris Rauf incident. Bro got abused by a fan & hiis first instinct was to call him Indian to play the victim card
It's a cricket discussion forum. Do Indians here only discuss their own players? Don't they also comment on Pakistani players? Similarly, Pakistanis can comment on Indian players as well. Naturally, there will be discussions about players from neighboring countries, but this thread wasn't intended to compare their careers as you mentioned.

This thread will bump when Kohli masterclass( Chasing the target) win the game for india in Semifinals
This looks like a pipe dream. Hope to be proved wrong though. (Coz I used to be a die hard kohli fan 5 yrs ago).

He has amazing record in T20 World Cups and bilaterals. This is an occasional tournament where he has been poor. He deserves to be criticised no doubt but he has dominated two T20 World tournaments with bat and was leading run scorer in 2022 one also. He was also the best batter in 2023 World Cup which is why a poor 2024 WT20 won't have any significant dent on his otherwise outstanding career.

It's a cricket discussion forum. Do Indians here only discuss their own players? Don't they also comment on Pakistani players? Similarly, Pakistanis can comment on Indian players as well. Naturally, there will be discussions about players from neighboring countries, but this thread wasn't intended to compare their careers as you mentioned.
Just check the OP

He clearly asks why Babar & Rizwan is getting roasted & not Kohli. That's exactly what a comparison post means

All I m trying to do is answer why. Bcoz you don't expect a 36 year old Kohli nearing retirement to face the same level of expectations as 30 year Babar. Bcoz at 30 you are supposed to be at peak form. Not grinding 44 of 43 against USA !

Sachin Tendulkar was legit player in that team, He was outstanding in 2010 and deserved his place in the WC squad. Played a brilliant innings against England & South Africa. His decline started post WC
Bhai, Kohli has just top scored in IPL and in the last cricket world Cup. He shouldn't be opening in T20Is thats it. They have experimented a lot, its not working and should go down at number 3 and see the magic.

IPL is not the same as T20 World. Look at Shivam Dube. And even then Kohli was clearly struggling in IPL. Basically stat padding heavily but not making much impact

Yashasvi Jaiswal deserved a place

IPL is not the same as T20 World. Look at Shivam Dube. And even then Kohli was clearly struggling in IPL. Basically stat padding heavily but not making much impact

Yashasvi Jaiswal deserved a place
yaar, i am Punjab kings fan .. so I hardly enjoy IPL live on TV :p
I would say let Jaiswal open with Rohit, then kohli, Pant, Sky, Pandya, axar, Arshdeep, siraj and Bumrah.
What has Shivam dube done so far in his tournament?