[VIDEOS] Ihsanullah's express pace at the international level - Performance watch

Ramiz Raja on Ishanullah:

"In my opinion, Pakistan should let Ihsanullah play. He has already proven himself in the Afghanistan series in UAE, and it's unlikely that he has suddenly fallen behind the line. Furthermore, he has done nothing wrong and possesses a unique talent for generating extra bounce, which gives him added comfort and confidence in a winning environment"

"I fail to understand the logic behind keeping Ihsanullah out of the lineup and pushing him so far back that he may not even get a chance to play. He clearly possesses a talent that is visible to all, and therefore, I believe he should be given a fair opportunity to showcase his skills on the field"

Ah yes, the biggest yes man to Babar the captain when he was chairman, now has miraculously got the courage to call him out. Fantastic.

Shahid Afridi puzzled by Ihsanullah's non-selection

"Ihsanullah bowled very well during the series against Afghanistan in Sharjah and therefore, it is unreasonable to not play him against New Zealand"

Didn't get a game on 3 lahore pitches which had something for seamers, now probably will get one on a pindi Highway.

Ah yes, the biggest yes man to Babar the captain when he was chairman, now has miraculously got the courage to call him out. Fantastic.

Theek hai. Also not a bad idea to space out bowling resources. Ihsanullah played the whole PSL then Afg series. Rotation is nice let him rest and revv up.

It's 4 overs.

We aren't asking for him to play every game, but to not be selected at all is beggars belief.

Maybe he's getting pasted in the nets? Who knows.

first win series than experiment.

we still have odi series left

And he can’t help you win the series?
What kinda thought process is that.

to win the series play your best team.

Just cause he is on the bench people think he is better.

Zaman, Harris and shaheen should play first and win the series.

Better to play him in a crunch match and see if he has the temperament to perform under pressure than play him in meaningless encounters or against minnows. Pakistani selectors and management have zero knowledge about player development.

Kudos to India for encouraging and giving a young bowler like Arshdeep Singh the final over of a match against quality teams.

This is mind boggling but then I don’t expect the expected from Babar. Guy is an absolute dud.

everyone does, if we lose, you would be the first one to whine. The result of the series matter

I wouldn’t. These games are as meaningless as they can be. Ideal situation to give your bench strength the chance to shine.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I was looking forward to see <a href="https://twitter.com/ihsanullah150?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ihsanullah150</a> bowl in NZ series but he has been benched.<br>Ihsan <a href="https://twitter.com/thePSLt20?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@thePSLt20</a> ka aur Afghanistan series ka sabse acha bowler tha.<br><br>Everyone was enjoying his fast & furious bowling & celebration.<br>We should groom Ihsan instead of destroying his confidence.</p>— Mohammad Amir (@iamamirofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial/status/1649087011418980352?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 20, 2023</a></blockquote>

He can only replace Haris Rauf which is not going to happen.

Why not? He can replace anyone for a match or two. No one's talking about replacing someone permanently. We play more than enough T20s. Everyone should get games.

He is better than Copied Version of Malinga.

copy version of malinga looks innocuous but has tended to bowl very well in high pressure situations in PSL. u can teach skills, but if someone has the temperament it should be nurtured.

also he pbly has the lowest arm of any fast bowler in internationals at least, its not easy to get under him to hit aerial to full pitched balls.

ihsanullah should have played ahead of haris or shaheen however, to gain experience.

So, he's fit, he's in the squad, yet hasn't played a single match.

Bizarre to say the least. What are they saving him for.

Imagine him in Australia or South Africa - what a scary thought for batters.

I just hope PCB takes good care of him and manages him properly.

Ihsanullah gave a fine performance against Afghanistan, in fact he was the find of the series. But he has suddenly taken a back seat to Zaman Khan.

Zaman Khan is good but he is no way near Ihsanullah. Zaman Khan vs Ihsanullah is a no brainer. Yet here we are it is Zaman Khan who is playing with Ihsanullah on the bench.

He is not needed in this T20 series. Let him play in the ODI series and stake a claim for the WC spot.

Quite sure we will see him in the ODI series, and they are trying to keep him injury free in their own bizarre way.

The lad has made both the T20 and ODI squads immediately, you don’t do that if the captain does not have confidence in your abilities.

copy version of malinga looks innocuous but has tended to bowl very well in high pressure situations in PSL. u can teach skills, but if someone has the temperament it should be nurtured.

also he pbly has the lowest arm of any fast bowler in internationals at least, its not easy to get under him to hit aerial to full pitched balls.

ihsanullah should have played ahead of haris or shaheen however, to gain experience.

Tbh Haris currently is remembered only for getting butchered by Kohli. Despite bowling well in t20s up to that point. Despite bowling really well in that game up to those 2 deliveries.

It’s those big moments that define the legacy of cricketers- all the good done in t20 series, ODI series (unless it’s something really crazy), PSL, BBL etc are forgotten.

Nobody remembers how awful Kohli was before that knock for the last year or more either.

Up to him to set the record straight at the big events coming up.

What a gem!

Can we hide him somewhere and disallow him from playing any sort of mickey mouse leagues.

Really need him for the ODI WC and Australian tour this year

Ihsanullah's first over. Rapid, unplayable

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/jpxzm5" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

He is better than Haris Rauf imo. His accuracy is better than Rauf’s and pace is almost the same.

He is playing under a captain who will bring the worst out of you and will unknowingly destroy your confidence so I won’t say he performed poorly today

He got rattled when Chapman and Neesham went after him. Hoping he learns from the experience

Ihsanullah did a little stare and fake aggression throw to Chapman in his first over in order to scare him

Chapman laughed

And then chapman laughed when he scored a hundred and won his side the game

Ihsanullah did a little stare and fake aggression throw to Chapman in his first over in order to scare him

Chapman laughed

And then chapman laughed when he scored a hundred and won his side the game

On this road and short boundary it was a win for any bowler to go for less than 10 runs an over.

The Rawalpindi ground should be banned from hosting. It is destroying the confidence of proper bowlers.

On this road and short boundary it was a win for any bowler to go for less than 10 runs an over.

The Rawalpindi ground should be banned from hosting. It is destroying the confidence of proper bowlers.

Same for Batsman too. It’s making them overconfident

He might've not produced the goods yesterday but I was still impressed by his performance. I wanted to see if he could make decent batsmen uncomfortable on a flat surface and he proved that he can do that.

He just needs to sort out his no-ball issues.

He is better than that fraud Naseem. Should be first choice in all three formats in my opinion.

Most Pakistani fast bowlers are like soda bottles. They make a huge pop but there is nothing inside.

Let’s see how much mileage he has compared to the rest but he should be persisted with for now.

Ihsan needs more game time.

Simple.

You give him game time, then judge.

Pacer Ihsanullah is making ODI debut today. Shaheen Shah Afridi gave the ODI cap to Ihsanullah earlier

Looked very nervous and missed his hard length. Needs a run to find out whether he can quickly adjust to the demands of international cricket

Building up pace but no real problems for NZ

Ms1ktp6.png

Building up pace but no real problems for NZ

Ms1ktp6.png

Its a shame that we protect Rauf by bringing him first change, and give Ihsanullah the brand new ball. Its our culture to give youngsters the much harder tasks.

Seniors on the other hand remain in their comfort zone.

Looked very nervous and missed his hard length. Needs a run to find out whether he can quickly adjust to the demands of international cricket
Nobody quickly adjusts to demands of international cricket. Nobody. Whether you are Tendulkar or Ponting or Akhtar.

We need to be patient with Ihsanullah. This lad is red hot if used properly.

Ihsanullah speaking to the PCB:

“My idol was Waqar bhai. I used to watch Shoaib bhai’s videos a lot. He hit everyone on the head and broke the stumps. So, I tried to replicate him"

“My home’s condition was very bad. So my father told me to go to UAE and work as a labourer as cricket wasn’t happening. I replied ‘I want to play cricket, I want to play and will show you’. So now he is very happy,”

Much better with the older ball. Good come back.

Hard length is key for him. No swing so no use for him to pitch it up.

Pinto is the worst pitch to debut a pacer in Pakistan its a pancake masquerading as a cricket pitch.

Average pace of 140 is nothing to get excited about.

I was under the impression this guy is our nortje and is regularly cranking it up 150kph.

He should be fine. He has talent to burn.
My only concern is he seems to be a very nervous lad/Loses his cool at times.

He has to play in as games as possible as part of strategy. He lacked rhythm today and will take some pounding before he starts to look the part in ODIs

I did not see him bowl earlier in the game today however, this was not the pitch to judge him. When I saw him bowling later in his 7th over, I got mixed reaction. He bowled some good yorkers along with some erratic bowling. Let’s see how he bounces back in the next game in Karachi if selected. The ball swings more under Karachi’s heavy evening atmosphere with some breeze behind the bowlers.

People got excited because he is tall and has good pace.He is still raw.Hopefully he will get better as he plays more cricket.Pakistan pitches are a graveyard for fast bowlers.If the ball doesn’t reverse than it is very hard to take wickets

Quite fascinating to see how new tearaways just pop up every year in Pakistan...equally astonishing to watch the speed at which these raw pacers are fast tracked into international cricket.

So now he has to compete with Haris for the older ball?

Good management is to play players in his positions where they can best succeed. Experienced players can and should shoulder the burden of new challenges, like Rauf with the new ball. If experienced players just keep doing what they’re doing, they themselves will not develop.

Ihsanullah would have been better served coming on as first change. Just like Saim and Mo Haris would have been better served coming in as openers in t20s. Sometimes senior players need to be less risk averse, and help younger players play in familiar positions.

We had a nothing t20 series against NZ B , but what did we really learn or solve long term? Nothing. The same has happened here, where Haris Rauf could have been tried as a new ball option. It’s clear that post Mo Amir, Shaheen is the only sure fire new ball option we have. Why not try Haris properly in this of all series?

Average pace of 140 is nothing to get excited about.

I was under the impression this guy is our nortje and is regularly cranking it up 150kph.

I was thinking the same. I thought he was faster than this.

And he is an absolute terrible fielder too.

When are we ever going to find a 150k+ pacer.

Umar Gul in a recent interview:

"It's still early for him. He [Ihsanullah] has emerged from the domestic side and transitioned into T20 cricket, where he showcased his skills. Although he has prior experience in domestic cricket, including one-day and four-day games, playing a different format like ODI requires a different approach. While he has demonstrated his prowess in T20s with his rapid pace and aggressive bowling, we need to observe his performance in the upcoming ODI series and the World Cup to gauge how well he can adapt and prepare for the challenges ahead"