[VIDEOS] Is Babar Azam the right choice as ODI captain for Pakistan?

Is Babar Azam the right choice as ODI captain for Pakistan?

Forget captaincy I’m having my doubts if he should even be in the team as a player. His snail paced and stat padding inning’s has ruined pakistan batting culture and has imbedded a negative mindset for every new player that plays for pakistan. His safety first approach cricket has crippled pakistan and left us them in
doldrums

Main results​

As skipper at this World Cup, he has looked like a 'dead man walking'.

It will be interesting to see that after he is sacked as ODI skipper, will they keep him as skipper in other formats.

Babar this WC has looked like a school kid who has been put up against university students in ivy league. More hype than substance

our team isnt the best in the tournament but we definitely underperformed and i place at least 70% of the blame with Babar. His poor poor (add as many as you want and still might not be enough) understanding of the game and strategy coupled with his stubbornness made sure that first we selected an inferior squad (people like Hasan and Nawaz had no business being there) and then ensured that we employed the most braindead tactics each and every time we played. He captained like it was a 20 over game where he actively captained the first and last 10 overs and for the middle 30 he just didn’t care or was clueless or whatever. Always rated him as the worst captain we ever had but he really outdid himself this time.

What a way to get Pakistan out of the tournament.

This guy had the chance to drop Shadab as injury related, and bring Abrar from the reserves. BUt he is too stubborn and decides to keep an injured Shadab in the squad and ends up selecting 4 pacers on an indian wicket.

Basically, Babar wanted to keep shadab in the squad cause he can bat :facepalm:

The biggest lunatic of a captain.

Oh and plus, he didnt bother starting with Ifti in the overs.

This guy had the chance to drop Shadab as injury related, and bring Abrar from the reserves. BUt he is too stubborn and decides to keep an injured Shadab in the squad and ends up selecting 4 pacers on an indian wicket.

Today for Williamson when he entered he placed a 4th slip instead of a 1st slip 😂😂, the ball edged to 1st slip and went for a boundary .

What a legend, has 4th slip but no 3rd, 2nd or 1st for a new batter.

Today for Williamson when he entered he placed a 4th slip instead of a 1st slip 😂😂, the ball edged to 1st slip and went for a boundary .

What a legend, has 4th slip but no 3rd, 2nd or 1st for a new batter.
i didnt even bother to watch the game because i know the stupidity this guy would be involved in. Just tuned in now.

I was dreaming Pakistan wins a nail bitter against NZ lol.

i didnt even bother to watch the game because i know the stupidity this guy would be involved in. Just tuned in now.

I was dreaming Pakistan wins a nail bitter against NZ lol.
Brother this guy had 2 chances to get williamson out, and didn't.

The 1st one was randomly removing 1st, 2nd and 3rd slip but keeping 4th slip for some reason, even though the pacers are targeting that outside length.

The 2nd one was now bringing in 1st slip and removing the leg side fielder against a spinner even though williamson was targeting that area.

The result what could have been a catch went for another boundary 😂😂

This WC has been a true reflection of Babar and Pakistan's ability against full strength teams.

Forget captaincy I’m having my doubts if he should even be in the team as a player. His snail paced and stat padding inning’s has ruined pakistan batting culture and has imbedded a negative mindset for every new player that plays for pakistan. His safety first approach cricket has crippled pakistan and left us them in
doldrums

Main results​

Exactly!!! He is similar impact less player like Azhar

He is more into friendship than team performance.

Babar should be hand-over banned for 10 years for being stubborn to keep his friends for his own interest rather than team. Such an useless player with highly over-rated. As I said earlier every top team has at least 4-5 better batsmen than Babar.

Last chance for him to show what he is made of. Not that i have high hopes but a fighting century here is the least that should be expected of him.

Babar as captain vs Babar as batter, we need to differentiate.
When you are captain it is linked as your performance has a big impact on that of the team. One of the reasons NZ did what they did today was because of how Williamson battled injury to play and ensured they get a big platform. That’s always a big boost to the team.

Babar has been exposed as a captain out of his depth. He has zero proactive bones in his body. His reputation in ODIs has been built on beating minnows n B/C sides.

He cant think out of the box he constantly let's the game drift.

He was only given the captaincy because he's our best player not because he is a natural captain.

He has no tactical acumen and the personality of a rock.

This fake Babar aura his fanboys created comparing him to Imran coz of his W/L ratio has come crashing down.

Whilst statistics may not show it . Babar is one of our worst captains we've had.

Started well then he's gone into his shell.

Over to you Fakhar it seems.
Typical babar just playing for his stats will crawl to his 50 and when the run rate gets out of hand will implode. Typical snail paced innings when you need to chase keeping run rate in mind. Shocking

Pathetic approach today. The selfish approach will cost us the fakhar wicket.

This guy doesnt even have the personality to captain a club cricket team. He is a low intellect person who can not use his brain for once.

I was expecting Abrar to play today but nahi dheet pana zindabad. Karachi kings management was visionary.

Pathetic approach today. The selfish approach will cost us the fakhar wicket.

This guy doesnt even have the personality to captain a club cricket team. He is a low intellect person who can not use his brain for once.

I was expecting Abrar to play today but nahi dheet pana zindabad. Karachi kings management was visionary.
why you guys expecting cant you remember that Abrar is in reserves lol he cant be selected

Shadab is injured now
i don't that is that bad of an injury...but for them to sideline Shaddy they need to send an official request to icc and then icc is gonna see if its doable or not...it depends on the injury i think like how severe it is

What a horrible display of selfishness, mediocrity & statpadding. Completely crippled whatever Fakhar is trying to do from the other end. It's become so hilarious & out of control that even foreigners are calling him out. Is it shocking? No, not to me. I always expect this from the guy who has no clue what's the meaning of game awareness. The guy is only obsessed on maintaining his ranking, his freaking "60 average" & then cutting cakes for it.

What shocks me is how even now so many people want to defend this epitome of overhyped balloon which has been burst embarrassingly in front of the entire world.

i don't that is that bad of an injury...but for them to sideline Shaddy they need to send an official request to icc and then icc is gonna see if its doable or not...it depends on the injury i think like how severe it is
They didnt even try replacing him because Captain thinks Shadab Khan is still more valuable as a batsmen.

Babar as captain vs Babar as batter, we need to differentiate.
Please don't try to defend his absurd selfishness at least today. The rain as expected has arrived & if the target gets readjusted it will be only due to him that Pak will be forced to chase even a larger asking rate than what they were chasing.

Former all-rounder Abdul Razzaq speaking during the Geo News programme 'Harna Mana Hai":

"Virat Kohli also performed well after leaving the captaincy,"

Pacer Muhammad Amir also commented on the ongoing debate:

"Only one word — bad selection — for the World Cup team,"

Now Former all-rounder Abdul Razzaq speaking during the Geo News programme 'Harna Mana Hai":

"Virat Kohli also performed well after leaving the captaincy,"

Pacer Muhammad Amir also commented on the ongoing debate:

"Only one word — bad selection — for the World Cup team,"
Did Amir cared to name the replacements for

Imam
Shadab
Nawaz
Rauf
Hassan
Usama
------------
That's 6 players is there any backup or replacement available for these 6 players, now don't answer with rellu kattas like Imad etc

All those who are out for the head of Babar including the clueless fans and the out of touch ex-cricketers, I want to ask a few questions
1. Who is your go to guy if not Babur?
2. A captain is as good as your team. Agreed that there are a few scenarios where he could have done better, but how is he at fault when u have other batsman playing like a scared mouse and bowlers bowling absolute trash.

Sorry but just frustrated as an Indian fan as I was hoping for an IND vs Pak semi final .. but anyway there's always a next time

After today's defeat and departure from the World Cup, post-Babar era has officially begun (LOI formats).

I feel Fakhar should be the captain.

We have given Misbah many chances in Odi and t20! We can give Babar too

ODI captains from the main teams - with 40 or more matches as captains.

1699740521224.png

Pakistani ODI Captains with 20 or more matches as captain.

1699740682393.png

Dhoni was very consistent as a LOI captain, he was head and shoulders above Babar, we faced full strength Aussies and Saffers in bilateral during his era..

His captaincy is untenable. He should resign as captain from all formats. I would even drop him from the Limited Overs side with instructions to work on his power game, strength training and to show that he has reinvented himself for the modern T20 and ODI format.

ODI Captains since October 30, 2020
(When Babar lead in his 1st ODI).

1699741114546.png

Pakistani ODI Captains with 20 or more matches as captain.

View attachment 139039
Babar’s stats compared to all others before him are flawed

All others before him didn’t captain during franchise cricket taking up 60% of the calander year, and b/c international teams touring them.

Babar’s stats against proper teams would be interesting, I don’t think he has won an ODI as captain against a single full strength side of SENA and India. He might have won 1 against NZ at the beginning of the year but lost the series 2-1 at home.

All others before him didn’t captain during franchise cricket taking up 60% of the calander year, and b/c international teams touring them.

Babar’s stats against proper teams would be interesting, I don’t think he has won an ODI as captain against a single full strength side of SENA and India. He might have won 1 against NZ at the beginning of the year but lost the series 2-1 at home.

ODI Captains since October 30, 2020 (When Babar lead in his 1st ODI).

1699741395440.png

ODI Captains since October 30, 2020 (When Babar lead in his 1st ODI) vs main teams.

Interestingly the ranking of the captains is almost the same as the final standing in the WC tables after the league matches. Arrows indicate the 4 semi-finalist.

1699741722752.png

Inzamam-ul-Haq during a TV show on Samaa about Babar Azam's Captiancy:

For captaincy, the first qualification is to lead from the front. Alright, he is leading through his performance, so he has this first qualification. He is the world's number 1 player in the whole world, and I have seen him as first player in each format, the way he is performing is excellent—whether in T20s, ODIs, or test matches.

Now, for captaincy, we people hurry too much. As I said, we should give time to selectors, coaches, and even boards. Similarly, we should give time to the captain. We start demanding results from the first day. Every human, like when I started batting, in the beginning, I made mistakes, and if I make mistakes, then I'll learn. Without mistakes, nobody can learn, and nobody is perfect. So, Babar Azam is also a very good captain, and he has game awareness. The more he captains, the better he will become. People should keep this in their minds.

People give the example of Imran bhai. Imran bhai did captaincy in the World Cup in 1983, did captaincy in 1987 World Cup, and won in 1992. So, there is a need for time. I am not saying... people will say..., Give Babar Azam two World Cups, and the third will... I mean, captaincy comes after doing it. We think of changing the captain quickly, but by doing this, you can't settle anyone.

For captaincy, the first qualification is to lead from the front. Alright, he is leading through his performance, so he has this first qualification. He is the world's number 1 player in the whole world, and I have seen him as first player in each format, the way he is performing is excellent—whether in T20s, ODIs, or test matches.

Now, for captaincy, we people hurry too much. As I said, we should give time to selectors, coaches, and even boards. Similarly, we should give time to the captain. We start demanding results from the first day. Every human, like when I started batting, in the beginning, I made mistakes, and if I make mistakes, then I'll learn. Without mistakes, nobody can learn, and nobody is perfect. So, Babar Azam is also a very good captain, and he has game awareness. The more he captains, the better he will become. People should keep this in their minds.

People give the example of Imran bhai. Imran bhai did captaincy in the World Cup in 1983, did captaincy in 1987 World Cup, and won in 1992. So, there is a need for time. I am not saying... people will say..., Give Babar Azam two World Cups, and the third will... I mean, captaincy comes after doing it. We think of changing the captain quickly, but by doing this, you can't settle anyone.

4 years is enough time for a captain to show what he has got. Sadly Babar doesn't have it to take the team forward

These words just proves inzi isn't and and has never been fit for the cheif selector role.

Show me one game this worldcup where babar lead from the front, don't even talk about "best batsmen in the whole world" what world does inzi live in

These words just proves inzi isn't and and has never been fit for the cheif selector role.

Show me one game this worldcup where babar lead from the front, don't even talk about "best batsmen in the whole world" what world does inzi live in
Yeah I don't get this "number 1" crap anymore. What the hell is wrong with these guys? Where is he number 1 at the moment? Also how & when did he exactly lead from front? It's so ridiculous & disappointing to hear specially from a man who has 20000 international runs! I don't think he is delusional. I think he is simply protecting his own interest. His nephew & businesses partners are Babar's best mates, so obviously he will make all sorts of laughable claims to make Babar look good at a period when Pak cricket is going through arguably their worst phase ever (performance wise).

Mickey is once again forced to defend Bobby and said that Bobby was still "learning". Bobby has captained PAK internationally more than anyone not named Imran or Misbah. Is that not enough experience as captain?

When they do the review of this World Cup, they should be honest enough to identify what the biggest, most pressing issue is. And it is not the batting or even Bobby's, admittedly average, captaincy.

Apart from NED and BD matches, PAK have bled runs in the first 30 overs of bowling innings and only taken 2 wickets on average. This has been the biggest issue for PAK and all other issues are minor compared to that horrendous bowling record upfront.

Babar should relieve himself of this burden. Captaincy in Pakistan is not for someone like Babar who is soft in nature. He needs to let go of it and just focus on his batting.

So since Babar took over captaincy

*We beat Zimbabwe 2-0

*We beat South Africa 2-1 away

South Africa was going through patch

*We Lost to England 3-0 away

*We beat Australia (B Team) 2-1 home
No starc No Mitchell No maxwell No Warner and no Cummins

*We beat West Indies 3-0 Home

*We Beat Netherlands 3-0 Away

*We lost to newzealand 2-1 Home
Full strength newzealand

*We beat newzealand 3-0 Home
Newzealand comeback with their C team with main bowlers missing

*We just about to beat Afghanistan 3-0

Give this Schedule to any captain of the past if not better he will gave you same results

unfortunately ICC RANKING don't measure the quality of the team and will award same amount of points regardless if your playing Uganda or india

And player of the year are based on these rankings

I remember at one time rashid was number 1 ranked on the icc ranking without even playing a single test nation team

Babar Azam is at the top of the chart when it comes to scoring centuries as the captain of Pakistan.

phULgy4.png