[VIDEOS] Karachi Crowd Watch!

Aly

Local Club Regular
Let's see if always complaining of being "ignored" karachites could even muster up crowds in the high profile matches which feature teams other than their own teams. or like always we would have to put up watching those ugly empty seats, dark stands and the fugliest roof top of national stadium barring semis, finals and home team matches!

Come on guys at least learn something from your sister indian cities like Mumbai, Calcutta, Bangalore, Chennai etc and try to celebrate such occasions like all such huge cities do

At the moment one could only see you asking for more and more for your city and failing miserably to justify it :)

Come on the stadium's capacity is just 35000 and you all saw how even a way smaller city like Fsd kept filling almost 25000 people every day of the tournament :)

Hell unlike us they normally don't even charge you a dime to watch it and yet you fail to reach the stadiums...ab kya bus ka kiraya bhi dain tum logon ko? :D

Just heard on TV that there is a ticket price.

Can anyone tell what is the ticket price?

Let's see if always complaining of being "ignored" karachites could even muster up crowds in the high profile matches which feature teams other than their own teams. or like always we would have to put up watching those ugly empty seats, dark stands and the fugliest roof top of national stadium barring semis, finals and home team matches!

Come on guys at least learn something from your sister indian cities like Mumbai, Calcutta, Bangalore, Chennai etc and try to celebrate such occasions like all such huge cities do

At the moment one could only see you asking for more and more for your city and failing miserably to justify it :)

Come on the stadium's capacity is just 35000 and you all saw how even a way smaller city like Fsd kept filling almost 25000 people every day of the tournament :)

Hell unlike us they normally don't even charge you a dime to watch it and yet you fail to reach the stadiums...ab kya bus ka kiraya bhi dain tum logon ko? :D

only thing failing here is your miserable post. Karachi crowd have always proved how much they love their cricket and cricketers, it has always been capacity crowd for FB T20 specially for the evening match. Ofcourse you cant expect a full stadium for the afternoon match, that is just scheduling in a busy city like Karachi.

We dont need to learn anything from Indian cities who boo national players from opponents team, if that is what you need, tune in to CLT20.

the price is only for the executive sitting, its still free for many stands.

Ticket price from 20 rupees to 100 rupees.

BTW We will only see full stadium in big matches like Semis and Final. Karachi people don't even come in int'l test matches. Most of the markets are open even in holidays means they prefer to work rather than going to watch cricket in such a humid and hot day.

only thing failing here is your miserable post. Karachi crowd have always proved how much they love their cricket and cricketers, it has always been capacity crowd for FB T20 specially for the evening match. Ofcourse you cant expect a full stadium for the afternoon match, that is just scheduling in a busy city like Karachi.

We dont need to learn anything from Indian cities who boo national players from opponents team, if that is what you need, tune in to CLT20.

1- I don't know what you have been watching previously but if the past t-20 tournaments in karachi are anything to go by then rest assured that all you will be watching is only a couple of stands being reasonably filled in the evenings as long as it's not home team or semis/ final matches ( with Sundays being slightly better than the weekdays )

2- yeah right while indian crowds normally only boo the opposition you guys actually have the ability to stop even domestic matches by climbing onto the roof tops and throwing stuff onto the players and field, remember the last t-20 held in khi? :altaf

I dont know what you were watching man, I was at the stadium last time and they were jam packed. Its obviously a bigger stadium then the rest so dont be fooled by some empty seats. Its simple maths really, Karachi will always get more crowd then any other city even if its never full capacity.

As for crowd trouble,

1) it didnt happened last time,
2) if you are worried about player's security, the pests that hovered the players last year in Lahore were alot more dangerous. Go check the highlights and you'll see the no. of times play was held up because of the pests

Ticket price from 20 rupees to 100 rupees.

BTW We will only see full stadium in big matches like Semis and Final. Karachi people don't even come in int'l test matches. Most of the markets are open even in holidays means they prefer to work rather than going to watch cricket in such a humid and hot day.

Even here in fsd we have separate holidays for business community and the rest of the people so in reality the city remains open all throughout the week yet we didn't have any problem in filling our stadium

I think your later comment about the general laid back and dead attitude of the khi crowd is more relevant in this case

I hope PCB learns it lesson this time around and regardless of that continuous tug of war between khi and lhr, holds the tournament in some sports loving city the next time

I think both khi and lhr should not be included in the picture for a considerable amount of time now, as far as t-20 tournament is concerned

^LOL, show your hatred elsewhere, atleast dont make mockery of a watch thread.

I dont know what you were watching man, I was at the stadium last time and they were jam packed. Its obviously a bigger stadium then the rest so dont be fooled by some empty seats. Its simple maths really, Karachi will always get more crowd then any other city even if its never full capacity.

As for crowd trouble,

2) if you are worried about player's security, the pests that hovered the players last year in Lahore were alot more dangerous. Go check the highlights and you'll see the no. of times play was held up because of the pests

Lmao just the fact that you consider khi stadium the biggest of all shows your bias and Delusional mind :)))

1- lhr stadium is the biggest capacity wise

2- the total capacity of national stadium is much smaller than the entire population of karachi, its only 35000 ( with even iqbal stadium of fsd catering to 25000 people despite having a population of only 8000000) and fact that you guys can't even fill it properly most of the times just goes to show the kind of dead attitude you have

Just read the post of runner up, who is also a karachite btw, for that matter

2- as for comparing the scheduled stoppages caused by sprays with those caused by complete mayhem, so the less said the better :facepalm:

Just read the above post of a karachite for that matter

Lets say we accept ur Fact

But plz tell me do we make it as a basis of Hosting the tournament?

Doesnt the National T20 Tournament deserve to played in each and every major City of Pakistan?

Dont the people even as low as 10,000 per match deserve to watch it Live?

Or do u want each and every Tournament to be held in Faisalabad?

crowd is lower than what I expected but lets give them another day or 2 to see if the crowd improves. You would expect people to turn up in big numbers considering Karachi's population.

Lets say we accept ur Fact

But plz tell me do we make it as a basis of Hosting the tournament?

Doesnt the National T20 Tournament deserve to played in each and every major City of Pakistan?

Dont the people even as low as 10,000 per match deserve to watch it Live?

Or do u want each and every Tournament to be held in Faisalabad?

Lol ironically at least I am advocating some sort of standards here

What happens in reality though is that both khi and lhr keep hosting it all the time

I am the one who is against this monopoly here and yet you question me?

and it would be insane to even think that it can happen in a city like fsd all the time, all I am asking is to spread it all over the major test centres and not just in lhr and khi ( which is all that is happening right now )

Lol ironically at least I am advocating some sort of standards here

What happens in reality though is that both khi and lhr keep hosting it all the time

I am the one who is against this monopoly here and yet you question me?

and it would be insane to even think that it can happen in a city like fsd all the time, all I am asking is to spread it all over the major test centres and not just in lhr and khi ( which is all that is happening right now )

Half ur posts suggests otherwise but anyways i do agree on the bolded part

Its a Sunday, a major team is playing. I expected a better attendance.

Big city people definitely a lot more jaded, OP makes a fair point.

V disappointing.

lol its has not even gone through all 3 matches of its first day and people are already complaining

this looks to me more of a rant thread about Karachi than a crowd watch

Pathetic topic really. I wouldn't have said so if you had stuck to the topic, but you're hatred is pretty much evident from your posts. If you cant support cricket in the city which needed it the most due to the ongoing turmoil, then really ive not got much to say.

Some people nowadays, prefer their own self or city-based welfare than national welfare.

And stop calling yourself a PAKISTANI, and go and call yourself rather a Faisalabadi.

and remember the shift of venue was decided recently so there is not much awareness tbh. people might just start planning to visit the stadium now that the buzz is on..

Even though OP is a well known windup merchant.... he does have a point in this case.

Khi walo stop bitching at the OP and goto the ground :)...

All the stands seem empty save a couple.
Maybe things will improve for the Eagles vs Zebra match.

and remember the shift of venue was decided recently so there is not much awareness tbh. people might just start planning to visit the stadium now that the buzz is on..

Excuses, excuses and more excuses ...for heavens sake even faisalabad tournament was decided so randomly and yet you saw the crowds

This two men and a dog phenomenon is not a recent one in the bigger cities, we all have seen it in the past T-20s

Good point.

Pathetic topic really. I wouldn't have said so if you had stuck to the topic, but you're hatred is pretty much evident from your posts. If you cant support cricket in the city which needed it the most due to the ongoing turmoil, then really ive not got much to say.

Some people nowadays, prefer their own self or city-based welfare than national welfare.

And stop calling yourself a PAKISTANI, and go and call yourself rather a Faisalabadi.

^^ POTW right here guys. :)

just saw the glimpse of the last match and must say the crowd attendance was abysmal really!

The OP could've have rephrased his words. The subject is genuine but his post reeks of regional bias.

Home team will always be the biggest crowd puller. Also add to the fact that cricketing activity was close to nil in Fsd so it was expected that people would throng to every match.

If anything, it's the PCBs fault for scheduling every major tournament in either Lahore or Karachi

The OP could've have rephrased his words. The subject is genuine but his post reeks of regional bias.

Home team will always be the biggest crowd puller. Also add to the fact that cricketing activity was close to nil in Fsd so it was expected that people would throng to every match.

If anything, it's the PCBs fault for scheduling every major tournament in either Lahore or Karachi

Exactly, his point might be right but like you said his post clearly is filled with regional bias(it is sad that other posters can't see the clear bias in his post) and it seems like he is hurt that Karachi is getting to host the tournament

well with around 20 million people you would think they would be able to fill a 32000 stadium

why would you say something like that? instead of just saying learn something from Faislabad, or Lahore, or Pindi. and i agree with you, usually National stadium is empty unless Karachi Dophins are playing (even thn you will notice empty seats). why not just say "learn something from you brother and sister from Lahore, Pindi, Faislabad"?. you have mentioned " smaller city like Fsd kept filling almost 25000 people every day of the tournament :)" <--- this comparison would have been enough.

remember this tournament is played in Paksitan, this is not IPL.

I am sure the grounds will fill up as the tournament goes on, today was just the first day and i can guarantee that it will be a full house when Karachi Dolphins play :afridi

well the crowd has been disappointing

imo pcb shd have held it in pindi or multan

well the crowd has been disappointing

imo pcb shd have held it in pindi or multan

I would have preferred Multan as well but i am sure the crowds in Karachi will swell up as the tournament goes on and when :kd play

Too many teams. Should be 8 maximum otherwise the talent is spread too thinly with few crowdpullers/big names.

Yo
why would you say something like that? instead of just saying learn something from Faislabad, or Lahore, or Pindi. and i agree with you, usually National stadium is empty unless Karachi Dophins are playing (even thn you will notice empty seats). why not just say "learn something from you brother and sister from Lahore, Pindi, Faislabad"?. you have mentioned " smaller city like Fsd kept filling almost 25000 people every day of the tournament :)" <--- this comparison would have been enough.

remember this tournament is played in Paksitan, this is not IPL.

You got the wrong idea, I was strictly talking interms Of huge metropolitan cities with enormous population, luckily or unfortunately there is No such city in Pakistan except karachi itself!

Could some of the Karachi PPers perhaps explain why they feel that the turnout was poor today at the NSK despite the free entry?

Even moin khan or rashid latif tournaments are better advertised and supported by crowd as compared to the PCB tournaments barring big matches in NSk. But one should think and come out wid a formula rather than the usual display of attitude and arrogance.

Could some of the Karachi PPers perhaps explain why they feel that the turnout was poor today at the NSK despite the free entry?

1. Dengue :akhtar
2. Laziness
3. Advertisment (Seriously most ppl didnt even new its being played in Karachi)

Don't buy that 'people don't know its happening in Karachi' excuse really.

We don't live in the 50s anymore.

Got to admit with the OP that roof on the karachi stadium is one of the most ugliest things in world cricket. seriously ever since i was young the roof has been the same old rusting colour.

on the crowd numbers. Karachities need to pull there finger out and attend the matches, previous 2 tournaments have been packed and excuses like people had work won't work

The security situation in Karachi might also be a reason why people didn't show up but i am sure the crowd will start coming in as the tourney goes on

Don't buy that 'people don't know its happening in Karachi' excuse really.

We don't live in the 50s anymore.

Not selling it just an observation
If the crowds dont start piling in after about 2 days into the Tournament then scratch it off of the list

As for crowd trouble,

bhai chor day he is bitter like that always taking digs at Karachi and Urdu speaking people . Now watch him come and dfend himself by telling us about his link with both .

I can say worse things to defend my city like Sri Lankan team attacked in Lahore but i know , at the end of the day , i am just making my own country look bad .

Karachi main bhi phela hoa hai although not as severe as Lahore

It is advised to take a bottle of Mospel with u to National Stadium :akhtar

woo hook another Karachi v Punjab thread

In come the Fawad Alam fans

I can say worse things to defend my city like Sri Lankan team attacked in Lahore but i know , at the end of the day , i am just making my own country look bad .

How are you defending Karachi by saying that? Seriously how :danish

Even moin khan or rashid latif tournaments are better advertised and supported by crowd as compared to the PCB tournaments barring big matches in NSk. But one should think and come out wid a formula rather than the usual display of attitude and arrogance.
this !

we broke the national anthem record in Karachi , did we not :afridi

poor advertising is definitely one of the factors if not the only factor

The security situation in Karachi might also be a reason why people didn't show up but i am sure the crowd will start coming in as the tourney goes on

Yep I would say that could be a major factor.

Not selling it just an observation
If the crowds dont start piling in after about 2 days into the Tournament then scratch it off of the list

Am sure NSK will be packed by the time of the KO rounds :)

Tomorrow their will be a lot more people because of :iamlegend :malik

And wait till Thursday when the home team plays, with their lovely captain :afridi

Yep I would say that could be a major factor.

Am sure NSK will be packed by the time of the KO rounds :)

it has to be ..... warna kachi ho jaaye gi :sami

but people will come to see :afridi

wish :akhtar was playing

too many pointless matches..

14 teams! just doesnt make sense.

but dont worry.. crowd WILL come.

Well ATM karachi aint really the safest city to be outside and about it..

Lmao just the fact that you consider khi stadium the biggest of all shows your bias and Delusional mind :)))

1- lhr stadium is the biggest capacity wise

2- the total capacity of national stadium is much smaller than the entire population of karachi, its only 35000 ( with even iqbal stadium of fsd catering to 25000 people despite having a population of only 8000000) and fact that you guys can't even fill it properly most of the times just goes to show the kind of dead attitude you have

Just read the post of runner up, who is also a karachite btw, for that matter

2- as for comparing the scheduled stoppages caused by sprays with those caused by complete mayhem, so the less said the better :facepalm:

Just read the above post of a karachite for that matter

LOL, you are so stupid, the words cant even describe. I meant the rest as in the rest of options you were putting forward as a subsitute for Karachi, not Lahore ofcourse which was chalked off because of dengue.

scheduled stoppage of play?? LOLOLOL! please go and watch the highlights again, there were numerous held ups and the sprays were obviously scheduled in innings break, not after 3-5 overs. You dont have a leg to stand on here

I can only laugh at some of the hatred dished out in this thread, so typical yet so disappointing :facepalm:

Maybe because there are other means of entertainment available to people in Karachi as compared to smaller cities which barely has anything, so they get excited to watch a cricket match.

Even for the evening game there were many empty seats today this is what happens when you give your national tournament to undeserving cities

At least the DON is happy :jm

As I've said elsewhere, this tournament should stay away from Karachi/Lahore for sometime. We can reach out to smaller cities like Multan/Rawalpindi with this event if it is organized properly.

Empty seats bla bla! We have all sorts of problems in our country and some jokers are making issue of a staduim not being jampacked.

I am not from Karachi but like any other pakistani city it's dear to me. Instead of making stupid and hatred comments you should praise the people who showed up and praise the organisers for preparing everything at such a short notice.

This is one of many reasons that we are in present mess. We can't live together without attacking eachother, verbally or physically.

It is an epic organizing failure to shift this tournament first to Lahore and then to Karachi. No planning, no strategy, no vision whatsoever

Empty seats bla bla! We have all sorts of problems in our country and some jokers are making issue of a staduim not being jampacked.

I am not from Karachi but like any other pakistani city it's dear to me. Instead of making stupid and hatred comments you should praise the people who showed up and praise the organisers for preparing everything at such a short notice.

This is one of many reasons that we are in present mess. We can't live together without attacking eachother, verbally or physically.

1st sensible post from a non karachiite.

The best post in this thread and some greats points made in it :14::14:

Guess which crowd this is????

Faisalabad ... :)))

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/VnPQBr7Bb4I?version=3"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/VnPQBr7Bb4I?version=3" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></object>

Spot on!
:19::14:

@kkmix Whats wrong with it?

yaaar ... Aly loves Afridi, him being from Faisalabad would love the fact his city loves Afridi so much that they only come to see one man, they don't give a damn about the team ... haha saare Faislabadi aise hi hote hain kya?

Aly is jealous of lala :afridi

Let me give you a free advice if you ever go to Faisalabad don't ever say that because you will get bamboozled with jugtan

On topic let's not make it Lahore vs Karachi vs Faisalabad lets just leave it to Pakistan.....rants are fine but i don't get why should we be biased against each other Pak roxxxxx as simple as that!

maybe something similar to this might help to bring in the crowd, Turkey did it to curb the violence, PCB can try this to bring in more crowd. you never know, this experiment might work. i am sure many Pakistani female would love to watch thr fav cricketers in action, but they avoid going to stadium just because of our frustrated brothers in the crowd.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/EkB3Xm8giK4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

BY SUZAN FRASER, Associated Press

ANKARA, Turkey — Turkey tried a new approach to curbing crowd violence at soccer games – kick out all the men but let women and children attend for free.

Under new rules approved by Turkey's soccer association, only women and children under 12 will be admitted to games involving teams sanctioned for unruly fan behavior.

On Tuesday, Fenerbahce handed out free tickets and more than 41,000 women and children attended the game against Manisaspor in Istanbul. Women formed long lines around Sukru Saracoglu stadium, some carrying babies in the team's colors, for an opportunity to watch the club.

Before the game, Fenerbahce and Manisaspor players tossed flowers at the fans. The visiting team was greeted with applause, instead of the usual jeering, the Anatolia news agency reported.

"This memory will stay with me forever," Fenerbahce captain Alex de Sousa said. "It's not always that you see so many women and children in one game."

Manisaspor midfielder Omer Aysan added: "It was such a fun and pleasant atmosphere."

The fans were searched by female police officers.

"This really is a historic day," Yasemin Mercil, a female member of Fenerbahce's executive board, said before the game. "For the first time in the world, only women and children will watch a game. The women know all the chants. The same anthems, the same chants will be sung."

In July, Fenerbahce was ordered to play two home games without spectators after its fans stormed the field during an exhibition game against Ukrainian champion Shakhtar Donetsk. Fans also attacked journalists for what they regarded as critical coverage of a match-fixing investigation involving the league champion.

This week, the federation changed its rules to allow women and children at the games.

Fenerbahce President Aziz Yildirim is among 30 suspects detained in the match-fixing case, and the club faces the threat of being stripped of its title and possible relegation. It also lost its chance to play in the Champions League this season.

Some women showed support for Yildirim, wearing T-shirts emblazoned with his photograph.

"We have to thank the ladies for coming to support us," Fenerbahce defender Joseph Yobo told Lig TV. "It's difficult playing without the fans."

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/09/20/turkey-soccer-ban-men-barred-stadiums_n_972085.html

[/B]

Let me give you a free advice if you ever go to Faisalabad don't ever say that because you will get bamboozled with jugtan

On topic let's not make it Lahore vs Karachi vs Faisalabad lets just leave it to Pakistan.....rants are fine but i don't get why should we be biased against each other Pak roxxxxx as simple as that!

lol ... that was the whole point of the thread ... that you missed :ahmed