[VIDEOS] Karachi Crowd Watch!

But NSK is in serious need of renovation, on that I have to agree with OP. It does look ugly. I don't know what PCB and KCB do with the money. Away and home fixtures would seriously benefit every1. Now is the time to do something.

lol come to think of how unsupporting to other teams we are , it is :)))

Well the maintenance and facilities is non existent at NSK

Few things i observed today on my visit with Family

Parking / Management is an issue
Every damn Seat had bird poop on it as there was zero maintenance
Gentry is something that will keep most families away

NSK is in a sad sad state :(

Ofcourse being a Karachi Match we saw capacity crowd with more ppl waiting outside
as todays entry was FREE

Security seemed solid enough Rangers and Police were present to control any unfortunate situation that may arise

PS: Awam is crazy over Afridi :akthar

Well the maintenance and facilities is non existent at NSK

Few things i observed today on my visit with Family

Parking / Management is an issue
Every damn Seat had bird poop on it as there was zero maintenance
Gentry is something that will keep most families away

NSK is in a sad sad state :(

Ofcourse being a Karachi Match we saw capacity crowd with more ppl waiting outside
as todays entry was FREE

Security seemed solid enough Rangers and Police were present to control any unfortunate situation that may arise

PS: Awam is crazy over Afridi :akthar
Good to hear that the security was good cause that was the main concern i believe for most Karachites

Security is always tight during cricket matches. As far as condition of NSK, I agree that there is a need of major repair work. I hope they will fix it when there is any hope of Int'l Cricket.

Good crowd for the :kd game and hopefully they turn out in big numbers for :rr vs :fw quarter final game especially considering :kd has a game right after the :rr :fw game

Every one one PP was quick to criticize the Karachi crowd(and rightly so) but you guys should also give credit where its due, the crowd was awesome today evening

Every one one PP was quick to criticize the Karachi crowd(and rightly so) but you guys should also give credit where its due, the crowd was awesome today morning

today morning the stadium was 99.99% empty. there were no more than 50 people watching :rr vs :mt

Wow what brilliant pictures!
A great sight to invite cricket back into Pakistan

Good crowd for the :kd game and hopefully they turn out in big numbers for :rr vs :fw quarter final game especially considering :kd has a game right after the :rr :fw game

today morning the stadium was 99.99% empty. there were no more than 50 people watching :rr vs :mt

insaftak, welcome. did you watch karachi v islamabad match?

yes.

was great crowd for :kd game and I hope they turn out big for other teams tomorrow too. It was a stupid move by PCB to not have :kd game earlier. karachi should have played their first game on the first day and that would have helped them get more fans to show up for other teams too.

how do you rate afridi inning, was it good, exciting, or minnow bashing one. bowling was he lucky? your insight is useful.

Afridi is always exciting.

This Islamabad team has no talent in it's rank. their one decent player Imad wasim (who also isn't that good) wasn't playing.

It would be interesting to see how he does against a stronger side like :ss and :rr to an extent.

lol karchi crowd is like typical indian crowd, no show unless big players r there. event like these should be held in centers where they have strong cricketing culture.

This is why Shahid Afridi should play for every team in every game. :afridi

Baws comment on a Baws player.

I feel the same way about The Joker. I feel he should feature in every movie, every scene.

Awesome croud..really enjoyed a lot yesterday in the stadium!!!! whole karachi was cheering for our very own Shahid Afridi :)

I will blame PCB for seriousely pathetic timings.who can go and watch matches in 12 in afternoon.only students can go after bunking their classes i guess.there should be atleast 2 games in the night so that crowd can turn up

There are 2 matches after school timings, not a valid excuse.

Its not as if NSK was packed for other night matches.

But yesterday, atmosphere was electric, and Afridi also delivered.

it shouldn't be hosted at karachi for at least 5 years for such a pathetic turnout. time to give the smaller cities a chance, even towns.

you missed it yesterday didnt you. ofcourse, and you going to miss todays match too. shame really, because i like to see your blood burn when lala performs.

Afridi is always exciting.

This Islamabad team has no talent in it's rank. their one decent player Imad wasim (who also isn't that good) wasn't playing.

It would be interesting to see how he does against a stronger side like :ss and :rr to an extent.

did u forget afridi chummi to kallis

How have the crowds been for the other Karachi team (the one without Afridi)? If decent, suggests that in future the format should be home and away fixtures. If not, suggests the pulling power of stars (in this case Afridi) is the main draw for fans.

And stop bashing Karachi citizens. No-one is obliged to watch cricket matches and shouldn't be used as a stick to beat anyone. Its up to people what they do with their spare time/cash and up to admistrators to make it an enticing prospect.

Any predictions for tommorrow's semis you "khisyani billis ' who were very conveniently ignoring my original post posts in which I very clearly mentioned that crowds would indeed be good for the home team matches?

So what do you guys predict about the semis crowd now that the home team is out of the tournament already?

#cough cough, choke choke!

Any predictions for tommorrow's semis you "khisyani billis ' who were very conveniently ignoring my original post posts in which I very clearly mentioned that crowds would indeed be good for the home team matches?

So what do you guys predict about the semis crowd now that the home team is out of the tournament already?

#cough cough, choke choke!

As expected Ascher comes out of his hole after Karachi gets knocked out and thinks that the crowd turn out might not be much for the semi. but don't worry Aschr the crowd will InshaAllah show up for the semis as well(maybe not a full house but still expect a good crowd)

Anything lesser than a full house would be a real shame and would just authenticate the perception that karachites have a very narrow minded approach toward the game and that instead of appreciating Pakistani cricket they just support thei own city!

I mean if we dont count the two dolphin matches, I am quite sure that the crowd presence would have been better even if this tournament was taking place in india

Anything lesser than a full house would be a real shame and would just authenticate the perception that karachites have a very narrow minded approach toward the game and that instead of appreciating Pakistani cricket they just support thei own city!

I mean if we dont count the two dolphin matches, I am quite sure that the crowd presence would have been better even if this tournament was taking place in india

Are you watching CLT20? Have you seen the crowds when an IPL team isn't playing? Your a loser.

1- first make Cl free for all (as is the case in Khi ) and then talk 2 me

2- most of the Indians are crazy for stars ( especially sub-continet ones ), something which isn't the case with club teams

3-even in those matches the turnout was way better than what we are seeing in Khi

A really poor turnout for the first semi final with the stadium almost totally empty when play started.

Can someone let me know how much the tickets are?

All I know they first announced something 50 to 100 rupees but later they allowed free entries in all general stands. I am damn sure there is no ticket price for today and tomorrow. Last time in Karachi it was free entry too.

Extremely disappointing crowd for the semi-final.

If the tournament was held in Lahore, Rawalpindi, Faislabad, Sialkot, Multan or hell even Peshawar, than the crowds would have been great (or full) everyday even if there was a small ticket price.

A really poor turnout for the first semi final with the stadium almost totally empty when play started.

Can someone let me know how much the tickets are?

Just came from the National Stadium entrance (local time 3:45).There were heavy crowds at the gate. Decided to turn back then as I had already gone there yesterday.

what can you guys expect when karachi was awarded few days before that the tournament was shifted from lahore to karachi

its not karachites fault, its the management fault, if nobody knows there is faysal bank tournament coming how can anybody know, even if he knows, it needs popularity, many karachites dont even know what this tournament is

instead of giving this tournament on khairaat, karachi should be awarded the tournaments properly, because of dingee mr president on last day to shift tournament to karachi

PCB is not giving national stadium any matches whether international or domestic, what can you expect from it now??, PCB head quarters in lahore, all cricket tournaments in lahore and then money spent on cricket in lahore, even karachite cricketers are neglected in national side

karachites love cricket, there is no doubt abt it, just watch how many people turn up in the night ramadam tournaments

also matches should have been held in the evenings and nights instead of hot temperatures of the day.

also to be bring fairness in this tournament, the matches should be held on home and away bases, it will cover the whole pakistan not just the punjab province

even multan(population few thousands) stadium gets more games a year than karachi(20 million population)

lol the khi crowds will be more pissed than ever after the humiliating defeat our team had to face yesterday, don't think many ppl will turn up 4 the current match. There is a lil chance that they might come in eve.

Been terrible.

Even the Karachi matches when the crowd was decent, people just left after Afridi got out.

This is the first semis day in all the t-20 tournaments when the stadium is so thinly filled!

Shame, shame!

Crowd has build up a little for the second semi but still disappointing, btw Aly try not disappear this time if the crowd swells up

after today's disappointing crowd PCB announces free entry in general enclosure for Final

karachi fans are like indian fans, begin to cry when it doesn't go their way :sachin

They need to support this tournament as teams from PAKISTAN are playing and not only from karachi. The commies have been disgraceful too

I have to admit that the crowd response has been nothing short of abysmal throughout. Karachi must not be given the rights to host a major domestic tournament for the next three years at least. Too much cricket has evaporated interest among the public.

Let Pindi, Sialkot, Hyderabad, Gujaranwala etc. be given a chance act as future hosts. The crowd response will be phenomenal there I bet :)

karachi fans are like indian fans, begin to cry when it doesn't go their way :sachin

They need to support this tournament as teams from PAKISTAN are playing and not only from karachi. The commies have been disgraceful too

Actually it is you who is acting like an Indian fan, crying about everything from the crowd to the commentators

TBH Karachi's crowd hasn't been THAT bad today,yes its still disappointing but not as bad as some people are making it sound

iss tournament is ki jaan tou aap ne nikaal di :kd

log kia khaak dekhaiN ? :afridi

:snack:

Yes, Karachi Crowd was bad and only came to see :afridi in action. They didn't bother showing up for a lot of games.

Was this the poind of all these 3 pages? :23:

Your hate for karachi saddens me!!

What's wrong with him stating a fact that the crowds have been disappointing?

The easy and rather ignorant way of some seems to be call someone a hater if they dont agree with what the other person is saying.

I'm genuinely quite sad that the crowd attendance has been so abysmal this tournament. Seriously thought that the stadium would have been jam packed in every game prior to the start.

Then again, the PCB is to blame for rubbish maintenance and marketing and the Government fuelling political violence and not clearing up the situation. Sigh...how incompetent and corrupt our government and Cricket Board are :(

Why the heck Zardari,Miandad wanted this to be held in Karachi in first place?They knew the last tournament was held here in Karachi as well didn't they? It should have been held in Faisalabad or Multan if not Lahore.All blame goes to Zardari and Miandad for forcing PCB to stage this event in Karachi.

I would have preferred the tourney be held in Peshawar, Hyderabad or Multan. Punjab Province already gets a decent amount of cricket and there have hardly been any matches in Multan.

Problem is that the PCB is so incompetent that they can't be bothered to maintain the cricket stadiums (especially those outside Punjab) and they can't be bothered to hire sufficient staff. Stingy, corrupt lot they are, one wonders where Ijaz Butt and other PCB officials stash the money :asif

The easy and rather ignorant way of some seems to be call someone a hater if they dont agree with what the other person is saying.

with all due respect to u saj bhai..not a single sensible person here is denying that Karachi crowd sucks in this current T20 tournament, .but if you look at OP's previous posts on this same thread or his original post, you can clearly notice the regional hatred.

And what's wrong with you who cant call a spade when he sees one?

OP may have a point here but almost all of his posts reeks of regional bias, its simply impossible to ignore it. More so, plenty of members have been using this thread to rant about Karachi and its crowd, you cant expect proper reasoning with this attitude honestly.

So you saw the crowd running home as soon as Afridi got out, big deal! was it the first time? is it unique to Karachi? lol. I've seen that myself happening in international matches, forget a domestic tournament. There is already a video posted about the same thing happening in Faisalabad, so why shoot down Karachi only?

Then there is this myth about Karachi crowd not coming to stadiums? its so not true. I myself was there in 2008 and 09(I think), the atmosphere was electric. Decent crowd throughout the tournament and there were 30,000+ in attendance for the knockout stage. You should check videos of that event, it might surprise you.

The crowd really has been very disappointing this year but there are a number of reasons for it

1) Security condition of the city

2) Overkill. Simply too many t20s in a calender year. And I'm not talking about super8s only, Rashid Latif holded a club based tournament last year and Moin Khan also hosted a similar event this year. Then there is Asghar Ali Shah tournament. T20 cricket has long and rich history in Karachi as opposed to other cities, hence not a fair comparison to Faisalabad who only got to see international players in action after many many years.

3) Plenty of other modes of entertainment available. Yes it may sound rude but its a fact!

Enough reasons to not host this tournament in either Lahore or Karachi again for atleast 2 years. From both the business POV and betterment of the sport, PCB needs to host this tourney in other cities.

I would have preferred the tourney be held in Peshawar, Hyderabad or Multan. Punjab Province already gets a decent amount of cricket and there have hardly been any matches in Multan.

Problem is that the PCB is so incompetent that they can't be bothered to maintain the cricket stadiums (especially those outside Punjab) and they can't be bothered to hire sufficient staff. Stingy, corrupt lot they are, one wonders where Ijaz Butt and other PCB officials stash the money :asif

Peshawar and hyderabad both don't have either the infrastructure ( floodlights being the most important of them ) or the right environment ( terrorism in case of Peshawar and below average ground/ hotels in case of Hyderabad ) to host such a major domestic tournament.

The only real options are Faisalabad, Rawalpindi and Multan..though while the multan's stadium is too faraway from the main city, the relationship between the administration of pindi stadium and PCB wasnt very hunky dory, last time I checked!

OP may have a point here but almost all of his posts reeks of regional bias, its simply impossible to ignore it
I've not read every single one of his posts, as you obviously have.

So you saw the crowd running home as soon as Afridi got out, big deal! was it the first time? is it unique to Karachi? lol. I've seen that myself happening in international matches, forget a domestic tournament. There is already a video posted about the same thing happening in Faisalabad, so why shoot down Karachi only?

You remind me of some of those Indian fans who won't have any constructive criticism of Indian cricket and it's cricketers. Instead they take it personally and won't even reason with and look at the issues. Instead of talking about what is being discussed, they take it "personally" and have this "how dare they" attitude.

I think if you get your head out of the sand and look at what some of us are saying then you will actually realise that people want cricket to succeed in Pakistan WHEREVER IT IS PLAYED. And want to see packed stadia, families enjoying themselves, cricketers performing in front of full houses and it's rather pathetic and sad to see such a high profile tournament being played in front of 50 policewalas and a few fans.

I don't buy the other entertainment theory idea. The locals showed that they could be bothered to turn up when Karachi were playing.

Heck it's free entry, people should be desperate to get into the ground. I'm not joking that if the PCB had this tournament in England and it was free entry, every match would be a sellout and there would be thousands locked out.

Enough reasons to not host this tournament in either Lahore or Karachi again for atleast 2 years. From both the business POV and betterment of the sport, PCB needs to host this tourney in other cities.

I disagree, Lahore should be given a chance to host it soon.

And don't take this personally as an anti-Karachi post which I feel you may do. I would be disappointed with the crowds if they turned up in such poor numbers irrespective of where it was being played.

Lets hope there is a good crowd tomorrow, as Pakistan cricket and both teams deserve it.

lol, you got it completely wrong. I wasnt defending this Afridi-idolism (I'm one of his biggest critics), that is not the point. What I did wanted to point out which perhaps you misunderstood is that we see similar crowd reactions in other cities too, and that is not limited to domestic games only. Is it good? ofcourse not but a problem prevalent among many Pakistanis so lets dont single-out Karachi crowd for this.

Dont worry about my head, it is where it is supposed to be and I'm well aware of what the masses are saying. But there are few posters including OP ofcourse who have some regional bias which supersedes their objectivity. And its not unique to this thread either, I've been here long enough to see the trend.

And if you cant digest the other entertainment stuff, you need to be here in Karachi to know it better. T20 is not an overnight phenomenon here that people will flock to stadiums irrespective of the quality of play. And what is this comparison with England to Karachi? I dont see the connection at all.

As for Lahore, they hosted it last year and this year too, it went to Lahore first up without any discussion whatsoever about the problems of Rawalpindi. Why should they be hosting it every year? why limit htis tournament to Karachi/Lahore only and not reach out to other cities?

If problem was Karachi , the stadium would not be filled for Moin Khan tournament that too when recent violence was at its peak !

The lack of maintenance of NSK and other stadiums as well as lack of advertising has led to poor crowds . Only a few days before the venue was changed from one city to another . Karachi should be thanked for stepping up with almost no preparation .

But no , we are too busy blaming Karachi even before the tournament started . Refer to the LCCA guy Khawaja Nadeem or whatever his name is , maybe he along with others should have promoted the tournament and the fact that the venue had been changed . Wherever the tournament is played , it is happening in Pakistan and Pakistanis will be coming to watch it lekin aise hi waqtoN sab ka taasub saamne nikal ke aata hai . Learn to think beyond your regions and your cities !