[VIDEOS] No handshakes between Pakistan and India?

I am quite sure you are over the moon now that your team has won the el classico of cricket.

Its time to celebrate, instead you are involving yourself in petty fights.
But refusing to shake hands with the opposition wasn't a good look. That was the only part that seemed petty. It's not like the Pakistani players showed arrogance or caused an incident like we saw in the India vs England match. :inti

Against spirit of sportsmanship’: India under fire for post-game snub after Pakistan thumping

India’s victorious captain Suryakumar Yadav defended his team’s decision not to shake hands with the defeated Pakistan players, saying that it was taken in alignment with their government and cricket board.

India thumped Pakistan by seven wickets in a Group A Asia Cup clash in Dubai which ended on a bitter note as Indian players headed into their dressing room without a customary handshake.

Pakistan, in protest, refused to attend the post match ceremony as tensions flared in a match which was the first between the bitter rivals since May’s military action.

The cross border clashes were sparked after an attack in Pahalgam in Indian Kashmir in April which killed 26 people, with India blaming Pakistan.

New Delhi resisted the calls to boycott the match and cleared the team to play Pakistan only in multi-national events.

We are aligned with the government and Board of Control for Cricket in India,” said Suryakumar after scoring 47 not out as India chased down a modest Pakistan target of 128 in 15.5 overs.

Left-armer Kuldeep Yadav led India’s spin rout with 3-18 as Pakistan were restricted to a below-par 127-9 in 20 overs.

Pakistan’s head coach Mike Hesson said he was disappointed with the Indian players’ refusal to shake hands.

We were ready to shake hands at the end of the game,” said Hesson. “We are disappointed that the opposition did not do that.

“We went over there and they were already gone to the changing room, so that was obviously a disappointing way to finish the match.”

Hesson said that the decision not to send captain Salman Agha to the post match ceremony was “just in the flow of the things”.

“The team manager Naveed Cheema lodged a protest with match referee Andy Pycroft after the match,” said Pakistan’s team management in a statement after the match.

“The behaviour of Indian players was against the spirit of sportsmanship,” it added.

That is why skipper Agha was not sent to the post match ceremony.” India, with two wins from two, are nearly through to the next Super Fours stage of the tournament with their final group match against Oman on Friday.

Pakistan play UAE next on Wednesday and despite the defeat to India are expected to make the next stage.

Source: Fox Sports

Did we see any tweet or social media post about war and politics from seniors like rohit, kohli, bumrah, babar.
These young players are equally involved in indulging theirselves in politics by tweeting and giving statement in media.

The policy of BCCI is very clear and straightforward for Pakistan circket from long time back, they do not want to give any chance to Pakistan cricket to earn through their name directly or to improve thereselves.

Now india has already started playing 5 test match series in Eng/Aus and even at their home, while PCB keen on cancelling ODI and converting them to T20s (even in T20 we are not good) with weak teams.

The mentality of our players was very down and dusted for no reason. It should be India who should be underpressure as they face heavy backlash when they dont perform against Pak. But our players feel more pressure for no reason

Jaahil asie hi kartay hai, jang haar jao, tou paani band kar dou, mulk main deshatgardi hou tou Pakistan say cricket khelna band kar dou, aur jabb u-turn lay key khel lou to baadh mein haath nahi milana, common sense ki baat hi nahi rahi.

You know the Indians are butt hurt about the 6 - 0 beating when posters like joshila came running in here to post his bakwas after the win..

Jaahil asie hi kartay hai, jang haar jao, tou paani band kar dou, mulk main deshatgardi hou tou Pakistan say cricket khelna band kar dou, aur jabb u-turn lay key khel lou to baadh mein haath nahi milana, common sense ki baat hi nahi rahi.

Jang lmao....konsa jang :yk

Agar sach me asli 'jang' hua toh phat ke chaar ho jaani hai tumhari , jaise 4 baar hui thi between 1948-1999. Bas baatein karwa lo ....

Against spirit of sportsmanship’: India under fire for post-game snub after Pakistan thumping

India’s victorious captain Suryakumar Yadav defended his team’s decision not to shake hands with the defeated Pakistan players, saying that it was taken in alignment with their government and cricket board.

India thumped Pakistan by seven wickets in a Group A Asia Cup clash in Dubai which ended on a bitter note as Indian players headed into their dressing room without a customary handshake.

Pakistan, in protest, refused to attend the post match ceremony as tensions flared in a match which was the first between the bitter rivals since May’s military action.

The cross border clashes were sparked after an attack in Pahalgam in Indian Kashmir in April which killed 26 people, with India blaming Pakistan.

New Delhi resisted the calls to boycott the match and cleared the team to play Pakistan only in multi-national events.

We are aligned with the government and Board of Control for Cricket in India,” said Suryakumar after scoring 47 not out as India chased down a modest Pakistan target of 128 in 15.5 overs.

Left-armer Kuldeep Yadav led India’s spin rout with 3-18 as Pakistan were restricted to a below-par 127-9 in 20 overs.

Pakistan’s head coach Mike Hesson said he was disappointed with the Indian players’ refusal to shake hands.

We were ready to shake hands at the end of the game,” said Hesson. “We are disappointed that the opposition did not do that.

“We went over there and they were already gone to the changing room, so that was obviously a disappointing way to finish the match.”

Hesson said that the decision not to send captain Salman Agha to the post match ceremony was “just in the flow of the things”.

“The team manager Naveed Cheema lodged a protest with match referee Andy Pycroft after the match,” said Pakistan’s team management in a statement after the match.

“The behaviour of Indian players was against the spirit of sportsmanship,” it added.

That is why skipper Agha was not sent to the post match ceremony.” India, with two wins from two, are nearly through to the next Super Fours stage of the tournament with their final group match against Oman on Friday.

Pakistan play UAE next on Wednesday and despite the defeat to India are expected to make the next stage.

Source: Fox Sports
Under fire? from whom?

I have been to Kashmir stayed in Srinagar. Can you step into Srinagar?

N
Thats like me saying i have been to azad kashmir and can u step in azad kashmir.

But i have been to india, and i made sure i spat there before returning back. Can you?

Not Just Pakistan Players, Team India Didn't Shake Hands With Even Match Officials: Report​

Whenever India face Pakistan in any cricket tournament, it becomes the talk of the town due to the cut-throat competition between the two teams. However, the story took a different turn on Sunday when the two teams played the Asia Cup 2025, Group A match in Dubai. In the game, India thrashed Pakistan by seven wickets, showcasing their dominance over Salman Ali Agha-led side. However, after the match, the Indian players refused to take part in the customary handshake with Team Pakistan and quickly rushed back to the dressing room.

Pakistan players were seen waiting for Team India to shake hands but Suryakumar Yadav and co decided to avoid any kind of friendly interaction with them. All this was done as a symbolic protest against Pakistan for the Pahalgam terror attack in April, where 26 tourists lost their lives.

However, Pakistan players were not the only one who got ignored by Team India. In process of avoiding the interaction with Pakistan, the Indian players also ended up ignoring the match officials. According to a report by the Times of India, match referee Andy Pycroft was waiting for the Indian team to shake hands before leaving the ground. But, in haste, he also got ignored.

It was also revealed that Pycroft had already informed Pakistan about India's intent, with Salman Ali Agha also being suggested to avoid approaching Suryakumar or other Indian players for handshakes.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), in a statement, said that skipper Salman was asked by the match referee during the toss not to shake hands with Suryakumar. The decision by India has been called 'unsportsmanlike', with the PCB deciding to officially lodge a protest.

PCB confirmed the decision in a statement, which read: "The match referee Andy Pycroft had asked captain Salman Ali Agha, at the time of the toss, not to shake hands with his Indian counterpart. The Pakistan team management has lodged a protest, calling the behaviour against the spirit of sports."

Source: NDTV

Not Just Pakistan Players, Team India Didn't Shake Hands With Even Match Officials: Report​

Whenever India face Pakistan in any cricket tournament, it becomes the talk of the town due to the cut-throat competition between the two teams. However, the story took a different turn on Sunday when the two teams played the Asia Cup 2025, Group A match in Dubai. In the game, India thrashed Pakistan by seven wickets, showcasing their dominance over Salman Ali Agha-led side. However, after the match, the Indian players refused to take part in the customary handshake with Team Pakistan and quickly rushed back to the dressing room.

Pakistan players were seen waiting for Team India to shake hands but Suryakumar Yadav and co decided to avoid any kind of friendly interaction with them. All this was done as a symbolic protest against Pakistan for the Pahalgam terror attack in April, where 26 tourists lost their lives.

However, Pakistan players were not the only one who got ignored by Team India. In process of avoiding the interaction with Pakistan, the Indian players also ended up ignoring the match officials. According to a report by the Times of India, match referee Andy Pycroft was waiting for the Indian team to shake hands before leaving the ground. But, in haste, he also got ignored.

It was also revealed that Pycroft had already informed Pakistan about India's intent, with Salman Ali Agha also being suggested to avoid approaching Suryakumar or other Indian players for handshakes.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), in a statement, said that skipper Salman was asked by the match referee during the toss not to shake hands with Suryakumar. The decision by India has been called 'unsportsmanlike', with the PCB deciding to officially lodge a protest.

PCB confirmed the decision in a statement, which read: "The match referee Andy Pycroft had asked captain Salman Ali Agha, at the time of the toss, not to shake hands with his Indian counterpart. The Pakistan team management has lodged a protest, calling the behaviour against the spirit of sports."

Source: NDTV
Lol

The match Officials were there to help India. Why snub those becharey?

Pycrofts career is on the line here. And mcc is very strict with the cricket code of conduct
How do you know the MCC officials are currently not under BCCI’s payroll?

It’s not 2003 when Australia were the big dogs of cricket, and BCCI was getting all of Asia (including Pakistan) to lobby against them.

The iconic Mohammad Amir umpire

This guy umpire’s nowhere. I’ve hardly ever seen him in league’s or other ODI/Test matches

Yet somehow he’s don’t more India/Pak games than anyone else I can remember!
Masudur Rahman - Bangladeshi umpire and no wonder @sweep_shot didn't said BCCICC buy the Bangladesh People's.

Hahaha nice excuse Rana. This is why Pakistan had lost the match.

:klopp :kpp

Going forward the PCB needs to be firm on some things when they agree to play India:

-the Umpires have to be ICC elite panel and not from Asia. This includes umpires from Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. No chance.

-the broadcast team must consist of a 70/30 ratio predominantly non Asian.

Thats like me saying i have been to azad kashmir and can u step in azad kashmir.

But i have been to india, and i made sure i spat there before returning back. Can you?
Srinagar was capital of undivided kashmir poK was a peripheral part. Understand the difference

How do you know the MCC officials are currently not under BCCI’s payroll?

It’s not 2003 when Australia were the big dogs of cricket, and BCCI was getting all of Asia (including Pakistan) to lobby against them.
Naa MCC is independent, BCCI can never have influence over them. Thats why BCCI tries hard to have its own version of MCC.

MCC is the one that protects the traditions and laws of cricket.

Why play a team in the first place if you don't respect them enough to shake their hands ?

This looks a coordinated response after Yadav was flamed by the cyber-nats for shaking Naqvi's hand the other day.

Exactly , if you’re willing to share a field to play then don’t embarrass yourself later for refusing a simple handshake lol

The team were clearly given instructions on how to behave and what to say .

Naa MCC is independent, BCCI can never have influence over them. Thats why BCCI tries hard to have its own version of MCC.

MCC is the one that protects the traditions and laws of cricket.
Icc runs cricket mcc can do jack to bcci

I honestly think Pak should worry about the fragile state of our own cricket than the shenanigans of other teams.

We batted first on a pitch renowned for being good for chasing under lights.

We played 4 spinners that’s 16 overs of spin and not one spinner is yet world class. We had at least 3 newbies who looking at their technique might not even be there in a few months. This is a hotch potch strategy trailer made to flop.

Handshakes are irrelevant when we embarrass ourselves so spectacularly

I don’t understand this . Didn’t India already had plan not to shake hands . Andy must have just conveyed not to shake hands . It’s not like he was the one to ask both teams don’t shake hands ? I’m not getting this . If one team doesn’t want to shake hands what can the Match referee do ?

Honestly if Pakistan didn’t have such an incompetent government and thus an incompetent cricket board they should not have even played with India.

India is definitely a better cricket team but if your opponent is getting instructions from their government not to shake hands before and after the match then what was the point of playing in the first place ? It’s a sports game and cricket is supposed to be played in good spirits especially once it has concluded.

A reminder that India have not played Pakistan in the Test format for the past 18 years.
We don’t have to play them in these meaningless Micky mouse matches either.

The only criteria where they can meet them can be in an ICC tournament because of the draw - that too should only be in the knockout stages but till then that should be it until everything is sorted at the political level.

This Pakistan government should have some self respect for itself - humiliating the players like this is not on.

I don’t understand this . Didn’t India already had plan not to shake hands . Andy must have just conveyed not to shake hands . It’s not like he was the one to ask both teams don’t shake hands ? I’m not getting this . If one team doesn’t want to shake hands what can the Match referee do ?

I agree that Pycroft was just being used as a messenger - that the Indian cricket team were not going to shake hands come what may.

Easy to make him a scapegoat but the next match referee will have the same instructions.

Like I said above we have a cricket board that looks unorganised that didn’t see what was coming because money comes first and self respect comes second.

I agree that Pycroft was just being used as a messenger - that the Indian cricket team were not going to shake hands come what may.

Easy to make him a scapegoat but the next match referee will have the same instructions.

Like I said above we have a cricket board that looks unorganised that didn’t see what was coming because money comes first and self respect comes second.
Yes . What’s the fuss about . Match referee can’t force the team to shake hands . Then the game should have been just called off . Which isn’t possible

Finally caught the ending of the game from the replay. Looks like a third-class move. They literally closed the dressing room door while Pak players were loitering in the field confused about what to do. It looked so cheap.

Why play then. This is typical of the Modi-type BJP moves. Safeguard their rich friends and commercial interests but do some rubbish that is then propagated by their lapdog media and Rs 2 social employees as some swag move. Biggest losers and the team looked like clowns here.

Honestly if Pakistan didn’t have such an incompetent government and thus an incompetent cricket board they should not have even played with India.

India is definitely a better cricket team but if your opponent is getting instructions from their government not to shake hands before and after the match then what was the point of playing in the first place ? It’s a sports game and cricket is supposed to be played in good spirits especially once it has concluded.

A reminder that India have not played Pakistan in the Test format for the past 18 years.

The only criteria where they can meet them can be in an ICC tournament because of the draw - that too should only be in the knockout stages but till then that should be it until everything is sorted at the political level.

This Pakistan government should have some self respect for itself - humiliating the players like this is not on.

Yes. I think Pakistan shouldn't play India if India do not show respect.

Not shaking hands is highly disrespectful.

Personally, I don't have an issue with no handshakes. But why did match referee toed Indian govt stance that was disgusting. If PCT feels really bad about it then they should focus on defeating India instead of whining about this episode.

If this doesn’t go through

What will the PCB do?
Mr. Naqvi speaks of sportsman’s spirit. There is one Faheem Ashraf in your team who spews venom on social media and makes vile comments. Have you ever tried to teach him the codes of spirit?

The Indians are well within their rights to not associate with such men. Just like you have claimed, the Indian team too will always keep their nation first. And rightly so.

Don't play victims mentality as we already know your nation reality.

:klopp :kp

Mr. Naqvi speaks of sportsman’s spirit. There is one Faheem Ashraf in your team who spews venom on social media and makes vile comments. Have you ever tried to teach him the codes of spirit?

The Indians are well within their rights to not associate with such men. Just like you have claimed, the Indian team too will always keep their nation first. And rightly so.

Don't play victims mentality as we already know your nation reality.

:klopp :kp
Did you bother to see what all nonsense Indian cricketer were posting back then?

It's obvious reaction, given the circumstances. Indian's have always been crybabies, own intelligence is non-existence and failing again and again. Unable to provide proof and trying to destabilize and sabotage Pak internally. Instead of that man up either boycott everything or just play the game as it should be.

Personally, I don't have an issue with no handshakes. But why did match referee toed Indian govt stance that was disgusting. If PCT feels really bad about it then they should focus on defeating India instead of whining about this episode.

Match referee is Andy Pycroft. Why did he get involved in this? LOL. He is from Zimbabwe.

Did he get paid by India to do this antic? That's the only explanation I can think of.

Did you bother to see what all nonsense Indian cricketer were posting back then?

It's obvious reaction, given the circumstances. Indian's have always been crybabies, own intelligence is non-existence and failing again and again. Unable to provide proof and trying to destabilize and sabotage Pak internally. Instead of that man up either boycott everything or just play the game as it should be.
None of Indian active player Posted anything who are the part of this team . Our players won't sake the hand with a team which having like Faheem. Got it.

,:klopp :kp

Thoughts of Shoaib Akhtar regarding the handshake controversy:

"I'm speechless. It is disheartening to see and I don't know what to say. Hats off to India. Just don't make things political. Cricket match hain isko political mat banao. Hum ne acchi statement di hai aapkee liye. Hum bohut kuchh bol sakte hai. Hoti rehte hain ladayi jhagre, ghar me bhi ho jaati hain. (Don't make a cricket match political. We have said nice things about you. We can say a lot of things about the no handshake. Fights happen, even inside your house. Forget it, move on. It is the game of cricket, shake your hands, show your grace.)"

"Thik kiya Salman Ali Agha ne, wo nahi gaya post match mein, good (Salman Ali Agha did the right thing, he did not go to the post match ceremony, good)."

A game of cricket is not war—it's entertainment, something people watch at stadiums or from their homes to enjoy. The mere fact that these Indian cricketers played the match against Pakistan makes a mockery of the innocent lives that were lost. And after playing a full game of entertainment, they choose to "protest" by refusing to shake hands with their opponents? What kind of childish behavior is that? Who were they trying to fool?

I praised these jokers during the match, but I take all of that back now. Every single one of them is a loser in my eyes from this point forward.

In a recent Asia Cup match in Dubai, a controversy arose when the Indian cricket team did not shake hands with the Pakistani team after their victory. This action, led by captain Suryakumar Yadav, has raised questions about potential penalties for breaking cricketing traditions.

According to the ICC's "Spirit of Cricket" preamble and Code of Conduct (Article 2.1.1), this could be considered a breach of conduct. While no official sanctions have been announced, a penalty ranging from a warning to a small fine is possible.

Suryakumar Yadav stated that the team's actions were based on directives from the Indian government and the BCCI. In protest, Pakistan's head coach, Mike Hesson, expressed disappointment, and the team formally lodged a complaint, while their captain refused to attend the post-match ceremony.

In a recent Asia Cup match in Dubai, a controversy arose when the Indian cricket team did not shake hands with the Pakistani team after their victory. This action, led by captain Suryakumar Yadav, has raised questions about potential penalties for breaking cricketing traditions.

According to the ICC's "Spirit of Cricket" preamble and Code of Conduct (Article 2.1.1), this could be considered a breach of conduct. While no official sanctions have been announced, a penalty ranging from a warning to a small fine is possible.

Suryakumar Yadav stated that the team's actions were based on directives from the Indian government and the BCCI. In protest, Pakistan's head coach, Mike Hesson, expressed disappointment, and the team formally lodged a complaint, while their captain refused to attend the post-match ceremony.
All the posters need to read this.

This is why Andy Pycroft has been critisized here by Pcb and rightly so

I'm glad he put GOI under the bus lol. Is there a link to this new bro.

Here’re some of my thoughts:

1. I personally believe even if you have a beef with another country, if you are playing the match still, do that within both the laws and spirit of the game. Go shake hands, the players don’t have anything to do with Pahalgam terrorists.
I read that the Pakistani team queued outside the Indian dressing room after the match for a handshake but the Indian team had already gone into the change room by then. I felt very bad after reading it, but I’m old fashioned I guess.

2. It’s ok to dedicate your victory to whoever you want to. But be prepared that the other side may do the same sooner or later.

3. Sports and politics have forever been linked, no matter how much you try to convince yourself otherwise. Boycotting South Africa by the whole world, boycotting of Israel by Islamic countries, governments controlling cricket boards in multiple countries, players standing for causes they believe in, and many more. Ratify the playing conditions to include the new world reality and have participating teams sign off on those explicitly mentioning the new changes and related penalties of not adhering to those playing conditions.

4. If you are going to pull off something like this which is not the norm, inform the other team through whatever channels so they know. Again, the other team has just come to play cricket and did that, just like you did. It serves no purpose to either humiliate the players or create unnecessary confusion- they are not part of anything you are protesting against. Again, communicate with the opposition players or management directly or indirectly, they will appreciate it. Remember, the boot may be on the other foot one day, how will you feel if someone treated you like this.

While I understand why, it’s very sad that I can no longer enjoy the game of cricket that I once used to be able to. It’s a pipe dream to want to see a cricket game between India and Pakistan happen without a political clout all over it in the foreseeable future. I do wish I could see one, one day!

This is NOT an invitation to debate politically and start more spats on which country is right or wrong, we have enough political threads going on in the Cricket Forum already.

Thoughts of Shoaib Akhtar regarding the handshake controversy:

"I'm speechless. It is disheartening to see and I don't know what to say. Hats off to India. Just don't make things political. Cricket match hain isko political mat banao. Hum ne acchi statement di hai aapkee liye. Hum bohut kuchh bol sakte hai. Hoti rehte hain ladayi jhagre, ghar me bhi ho jaati hain. (Don't make a cricket match political. We have said nice things about you. We can say a lot of things about the no handshake. Fights happen, even inside your house. Forget it, move on. It is the game of cricket, shake your hands, show your grace.)"

"Thik kiya Salman Ali Agha ne, wo nahi gaya post match mein, good (Salman Ali Agha did the right thing, he did not go to the post match ceremony, good)."
LOL what does India care about Agha going to the presser or not. India cricket team smashed Pak cricket team, that is what matters, keep crying over a handshake!

Gautam Gambhir shared following thoughts regarding the no-handshake incident:

"Cut down on social media, stop reading the noise. Your job is to play for India. Don’t forget what happened in Pahalgam. Don’t shake hands, don’t engage — just go out, show your best, and win for India."

"Good win. There is still a lot of cricket left in this tournament. This match was important as we wanted to show solidarity with the victims and their families and what they went through during the Pahalgam attack. More importantly, we want to thank the Indian army for their successful Operation Sindoor. We will try to make our country proud and happy."

"This match (against Pakistan) was important because as a team we wanted to show our solidarity towards the victims of the Pahalgam attack. More importantly, we want to thank the armed forces for their successful Operation Sindoor. And I am sure we will try and make the country proud and make the country happy."

Rashid Latif and Shoaib Akhtar opinions on no handshake saga:

Rashid Latif: "Wars have happened before too, but we have always shaken hands. These things will remain a blot for a lifetime."

Rashid Latif: "In his interviews, Sunil Gavaskar talks about Javed Miandad, but he never says they didn’t shake hands. We represent our countries, but I personally think what happened was not right."

Rashid Latif: "Your reservations in terms of war or the Pahalgam attack are legitimate. But when you come to the ground, play the sport the right way."

Rashid Latif: "If Pakistan is involved in the Pahalgam attack, then catch those who are responsible."

Rashid Latif: "‘Jung hi kar lete, woh bhi nahi ki puri tarah se’ (India should have fought the war, but they didn’t even do that properly). India should have fought the war, they should not have backed out."

Rashid Latif: "To hide their own mistakes, a lot of things are being done politically. What happened on the ground was not correct."

Rashid Latif: "I personally did not like it and the Indian team left a wrong impression."

Shoaib Akhtar: "Match ko political na banao (Don’t bring politics into sports)."

Shoaib Akhtar: "Hats off to India, well done. We are talking good things about you, but we can say things also. Show your grace, do the handshakes. Fights happen in every house, but that doesn’t mean you take it to the next level."

"Cut down on social media, stop reading the noise. Your job is to play for India. Don’t forget what happened in Pahalgam. Don’t shake hands, don’t engage — just go out, show your best, and win for India."

"Good win. There is still a lot of cricket left in this tournament. This match was important as we wanted to show solidarity with the victims and their families and what they went through during the Pahalgam attack. More importantly, we want to thank the Indian army for their successful Operation Sindoor. We will try to make our country proud and happy."

"This match (against Pakistan) was important because as a team we wanted to show our solidarity towards the victims of the Pahalgam attack. More importantly, we want to thank the armed forces for their successful Operation Sindoor. And I am sure we will try and make the country proud and make the country happy."
This is a very slippery slope in my opinion. Say they lose the next game, or any game against Pakistan in the future, will they be disrespecting the Pahalgam victims? Don’t tie the respect with the result of a cricket match. This will bite you in the backside sooner or later.

A

Any rule in cricket that says opponents have to shake hands

Rashid Latif and Shoaib Akhtar opinions on no handshake saga:

Rashid Latif: "Wars have happened before too, but we have always shaken hands. These things will remain a blot for a lifetime."

Rashid Latif: "In his interviews, Sunil Gavaskar talks about Javed Miandad, but he never says they didn’t shake hands. We represent our countries, but I personally think what happened was not right."

Rashid Latif: "Your reservations in terms of war or the Pahalgam attack are legitimate. But when you come to the ground, play the sport the right way."

Rashid Latif: "If Pakistan is involved in the Pahalgam attack, then catch those who are responsible."

Rashid Latif: "‘Jung hi kar lete, woh bhi nahi ki puri tarah se’ (India should have fought the war, but they didn’t even do that properly). India should have fought the war, they should not have backed out."

Rashid Latif: "To hide their own mistakes, a lot of things are being done politically. What happened on the ground was not correct."

Rashid Latif: "I personally did not like it and the Indian team left a wrong impression."

Shoaib Akhtar: "Match ko political na banao (Don’t bring politics into sports)."

Shoaib Akhtar: "Hats off to India, well done. We are talking good things about you, but we can say things also. Show your grace, do the handshakes. Fights happen in every house, but that doesn’t mean you take it to the next level."

Rashid and akhtar can whine all they want want

Indian team or BCCI has conveyed to match referee that Indian team will will not shaking hands with Pakistani team. This probably was done to avoid any embarrassment during the live telecast where Agha or someone from Pakistan comes forward to shake hands and Indians ignore them. Match referee would have conveyed the same with PCT, exactly as it should be. I personally don't agree with ICT decision not to shake hands, this outrage from PCT is really stupid. Match referee has done what he is supposed to do, convey message from one team to another. He did not make the decision or influence in anyway

This is a very slippery slope in my opinion. Say they lose the next game, or any game against Pakistan in the future, will they be disrespecting the Pahalgam victims? Don’t tie the respect with the result of a cricket match. This will bite you in the backside sooner or later.
this was also very premature. I can see some point of it if India has won the asia cup. this is just a league match which does not even matter as both teams will go to next round.

It’s not even that. Say they win the Asia Cup. So is the respect part only for one match, the whole tournament, or forever? Where do you draw the line? Tying a tragedy to the result of a cricket match at whatever stage or level doesn’t make sense to me.

So by playing against Pakistan, they were showing solidarity to the army and Pahalgam victims? Only an idiot could utter this level of stupidity.

Your army was sleeping when 3 guys came and killed bunch of people. You are showing them solidarity by playing us?

So, if Pakistan had won they were showing solidarity to the 3 unknown freedom fighters?

ICC Set To Deal Pakistan Big Blow In Handshake Row Over 'Wrong' Demand: Report

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is all set to reject Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chief Mohsin Naqvi's demand to replace Andy Pycroft from the panel of match referees for the ongoing Asia Cup 2025. The request was made following the controversy surrounding Indian players not shaking hands with Pakistan cricketers during their match on Sunday. The PCB accused match referee Pycroft of breaching the 'Code of Conduct' after he allegedly told Pakistan captain Salman Ali Agha not to shake hands with India captain Suryakumar Yadav during the toss, and requested the ICC to intervene.

However, according to a report by Cricbuzz, it is unlikely that the ICC will accept the request. The report added that the dominant view within the ICC is that Pycroft did not play a major role in the controversy.

"The general view is that it would set a wrong precedent to change a match official at the demand of one member when, prima facie, he had no serious role in the controversy," the report stated.

The ICC reportedly believes that all Pycroft did was convey a message to the Pakistan skipper in an attempt to avoid any public embarrassment. The ICC is also unwilling to remove the match referee, as the prevailing view is that doing so would set a bad precedent.

"The appointment of match officials is done by the ICC, in association with the local body — in this case, the ACC — but it is unlikely that the world body will pay much attention to the demand," the report said.

The ICC's decision could have major repercussions, as Pakistan has allegedly threatened to boycott their Group A match against UAE if Pycroft is not removed. He is the appointed match referee for that game. If Pakistan decides not to play the match against UAE, they will be eliminated from the Asia Cup 2025.

If below is true
"The ICC reportedly believes that all Pycroft did was convey a message to the Pakistan skipper in an attempt to avoid any public embarrassment"

and its still not correct but then it doesn't explain why Pakistani players were still looking to shake hands.