[VIDEOS] Pakistan drop Babar Azam, Naseem Shah and Shaheen Shah Afridi for second and third Tests against England [Update at Post#99]

Have the selectors made the right decision in dropping Babar Azam,Naseem Shah & Shaheen Shah Afridi?

BouncerGuy

As per reports:

Babar Azam is set to be dropped from the Test squad for the 2nd Test against England following a significant loss to England in Multan. The newly formed selection committee recommended his omission due to his prolonged poor form, as he hasn't scored a Test half-century since December 2022.

Despite public backing from captain Shan Masood and coach Jason Gillespie, the selectors believe Babar would benefit from a break. His struggles have coincided with a turbulent period in his leadership, having resigned as captain after the 2023 ODI World Cup, only to be reappointed and then step down again.

Babar's omission is expected to cause shockwaves in Pakistan cricket, especially given his status as a fan favorite and one of the top batters in the world during his prime.

Shocking to see how far Babar has fallen. But can't say the selectors are wrong in doing this. The guy can't buy a run.
Yes. I am totally in favor of this decision. Babar is mentally down. He needs rest. No point playing him every game so he can fail more and more and put further pressure on himself.

Not a fan of this idea.
If there was ongoing FC cricket for him to get confidence practice then still may be justifiable but you dont drop your proven batters in the middle of a series which is still live.

Take the call in 3rd test if you lose the series if needed

More like a forced break i guess. Even Urooj was talking about a "break" in the commentary box

When you score lots of lots of runs, you reach the level where you become undroppable despite carrying bad form. Though he mostly scored on flat tracks against weaker bowling attacks, Babar Azam reached that level.
It will be a huge decision by selection committee if they drop Babar. I never ever saw a premier player getting dropped due to poor form👍🏻

Usually captain would fight for certain players. Either Shan is okay with their call or he felt he doesn't have any say after losing 6 tests in a row.

When you score lots of lots of runs, you reach the level where you become undroppable despite carrying bad form. Though he mostly scored on flat tracks against weaker bowling attacks, Babar Azam reached that level.
It will be a huge decision by selection committee if they drop Babar. I never ever saw a premier player getting dropped due to poor form👍🏻
Babar does not play for a big team where he can go four years without scoring a century and the team still keeps winning. He is much more integral to Pakistan's success. And right now, he does not seem to be in the right space of mind. Sometimes time away from the game can be a good way to reassess.

He wouldn't have been dropped if his bad patch happened after scoring 75 international centuries.

If the team was winning, they would have carried on with Babar. But if results are not going Pakistan's way, it's a fair call.

He wouldn't have been dropped if his bad patch happened after scoring 75 international centuries.
If the side was losing as much and across formats he would have. Four years without scoring a century is quite pathetic for any elite level batter.

Could be misleading news to evoke a "How can they?" reaction.

Bet he'll play the test after all.

If the side was losing as much and across formats he would have. Four years without scoring a century is quite pathetic for any elite level batter.
4 years?

2020, 2021

Those are the 2 years when the said batsman didn't score an international century.

4 years?

2020, 2021

Those are the 2 years when the said batsman didn't score an international century.
I was referring to test cricket. Should have clarified that I guess.

Just because you're a fan of the said batter doesn't mean you have to get triggered and defend mediocrity.

I was referring to test cricket. Should have clarified that I guess.

Just because you're a fan of the said batter doesn't mean you have to get triggered and defend mediocrity.
2020, 2021, 2022.

Those are the 3 years where he failed to score a Test century. Which is the 4th year?

Triggered? You made a false claim, I merely corrected it. Or do you suggest that I should have agreed with your false claim?

Yea, mediocre players end up with 80 international centuries, second most in history.

Good decision. If the intention is to bring him back immediately for the third test, it might not give the team a fair opportunity to explore other options or allow him sufficient time to regain form. Babar should take a month off from everything and go on a vacation with his family or girlfriend if he has one.

Shaheen should also be dropped for the rest of the series. I don't understand why we dropped him for just one match if the plan was always to bring him back for the England series. Mir Hamza should have played the first test match in the place of Shaheen Afridi.

I think he should have voluntarily taken a break. He needs to get back in the nets, probably play some domestic, if there is any domestic structure in Pakistan and come back. He should keep himself away from media and allowed to focus on his game. He is a special batter, the best Pakistan have produced since 2000. Probably not acknowledged because if you look at previous GOOD lineups for Pakistan there were other star players as well. YK and Inzi and Yusuf.
Unfortunately for him he is the only talked about player in the team, sometimes too much media and attention can go against you.

Shocking to see how far Babar has fallen. But can't say the selectors are wrong in doing this. The guy can't buy a run.
This has happened because of the management. Too much undue pressure on him - captaincy, politics and inconsistency. I would partly blame Babar as well, he should have stayed away from captaincy, focused on his game.
Look at Root and Kohli. They were both captains but left because they wanted to focus on batting.

I think It was Naqvi's call. Naqvi hired selectors who were willing to make this decision and out vote Shan and Gillespie who are refusing to drop non performing players.

Not a good idea unless he is dropped and given some time to play domestic cricket. He already showed his form in the Champions Cup, so I don’t know what’s wrong with him. He keeps throwing his wicket away to random, easy deliveries. I hope he isn’t underperforming just to help his buddy Rizwan get the captaincy. The PCB is making him a scapegoat to justify the loss in the first Test and is anticipating bad results in the second match.

Usually captain would fight for certain players. Either Shan is okay with their call or he felt he doesn't have any say after losing 6 tests in a row.

I read that the captain and the coach are both excluded from the selection panel, which doesn’t seem like the best idea given that it’s the captain and coach who have to manage the players and work with them on a daily basis.

Hope it actually happens, nobody is above the team. Nothing against Babar but he has to perform or leave the spot for other deserving playerslike Huraira, Kamran Ghulam etc.

Not a good idea unless he is dropped and given some time to play domestic cricket. He already showed his form in the Champions Cup, so I don’t know what’s wrong with him. He keeps throwing his wicket away to random, easy deliveries. I hope he isn’t underperforming just to help his buddy Rizwan get the captaincy. The PCB is making him a scapegoat to justify the loss in the first Test and is anticipating bad results in the second match.
If you see since test series against Australia, Babar is the worst performer amongst all main batsmen. No one is making him scapegoat, he has failed to score 50 in a test match since years

Very poor from PCB if it happens.

Seems like anti babar brigade will do anything to remove him. His exclusion would be the most shocking and stupid decision from PCB.

If you see since test series against Australia, Babar is the worst performer amongst all main batsmen. No one is making him scapegoat, he has failed to score 50 in a test match since years
He is clearly not performing well but look at his FC records. He was never a good player in longer format. Despite his struggle in his initial test career he somehow managed to perform well but again he is trapped in same phase.

He will never be a good test player. He is an excellent player of ODI format only.

If Babar is to be dropped, then give a chance to the No. 1 batsmen from domestic cricket, either Kamran Ghulam or Sahibzada Farhan. If they don’t want to give them a chance and are still dropping Babar, then there’s something suspicious going on. They want someone weak to fill his position so that it doesn’t get permanently occupied by a performing player, allowing Babar to easily make a comeback.

So social media claims were right all along.

What about the other claims of Ghulam, Noman etc. all failing 2 km fitness tests in Multan?

Who will replace Bobs then ?

2020, 2021, 2022.

Those are the 3 years where he failed to score a Test century. Which is the 4th year?

Triggered? You made a false claim, I merely corrected it. Or do you suggest that I should have agreed with your false claim?

Yea, mediocre players end up with 80 international centuries, second most in history.
My bad. It was three years, not four. Still doesn't take away from the fact that it was a prolonged run of awful form that you don't expect from an elite level batter.

Never called him a mediocre player. But the fact that you thought I said that clearly shows you're triggered. Like I said, just because you like a player doesn't mean you have to stand-up for mediocrity and give justifications. For three years the said player was playing purely on reputation.

We couldn't save Babar from Indian propaganda

Seems like reaction from social media trolling.

Babar Azam has failed for just 9 matches. A player of his class should get full series.

Just before that he had scored big daddy century v NZ. Just 1 year back he was scoring in all formats.

Since there is no other FC cricket to play, it would be huge loss for PCT if Babar is dropped.

You need player of his calibre who can lift his game anytime. Team would also benefit from his experience.

This has happened because of the management. Too much undue pressure on him - captaincy, politics and inconsistency. I would partly blame Babar as well, he should have stayed away from captaincy, focused on his game.
Look at Root and Kohli. They were both captains but left because they wanted to focus on batting.
Yes I think that has played a role. But Babar himself has been on a downward trajectory as a batter since last year's ODI World Cup. You also have to question his decision-making in taking back the captaincy, which only ended up making things worse.

Expect now a new thread on how India was instrumental in threatening Babar Azam into bad performances!
What’s India got to do with this? And why are you guys so interested. Honestly. If my country was doing as well as India is now, I would not spend time analysing some next team!

It’s time to evict the squatters living in your head!

Thread is clearly about babar Azam so talk about him only.
No irrelevant talk now

It's correct decision to drop Babar imho as he didn't improve fitness or change anything technically during sticky period. He was complacent regarding his place in the team. No player is greater than country

Last 18 Test innings , Babar is averaging 20.30 with the bat and not even a half century to show for it.

And this is despite playing his cricket on some of the flattest pitches on this planet.

The slump is much worse than Kohli's who plays on tougher Indian pitches

Seems some back and forth on BA situation

As per a media report

The selection committee and team management are at odds over player selections for the second Test between Pakistan and England.

The team management wants star batsman Babar Azam to stay in the team, citing his experience and belief that he is due for a big innings.

They feel the team should support Babar to help him get back in form.

However, most members of the selection committee think the team needs changes and that Babar Azam, after playing for a long time, should be rested.

Sources in the PCB say that both the captain and coach want Nauman Ali to replace Abrar Ahmed in the team.

The new selection committee has submitted a preliminary report to PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi about their discussions, including their views on resting senior players.

What a disastrous decision this would be. At a time when this rookie team needs experienced players, they are dropping Babar too.
They should drop Rizwan too so all players are rookies at once lol This is exactly how you embarrass yourself in test cricket.

Imam was dropped recently, well he looks like he will be back

Rizwan was dropped recently, he returned after a few games.

Shaheen was dropped in the 2nd Test against Bangladesh, he returned the very next Test v England.

*Whats the common theme in all of these droppings? Besides the fact that they are all highly connected with the PCB hierarchy….

None of them played any 4 day cricket to work on their shortcomings.

Let that sink in….Babar will be the same.

All these changes should occur after the England series ends. England will win no matter what team you put out. I dont want the new guys to get demoralised.

Yeah the new guys should continue to be demoralised sitting on the bench for players who are undeserving

It's the right decision, although I imagined it would happen after the series.

He needs a break.

Ideally, he would go back to domestic cricket to work on his game, but I'm not sure if those games are available to him right now. Let him clear his head and work on his game out of the spotlight for a bit. This will also give Kamran Ghulam a chance to play in his preferred spot.

There should be more changes than Babar though. Shaheen, Saim, Abrar, and possibly Shafique need to be replaced too.

Fully deserved if he's dropped.
You cannot continue to fail on pitches on which other top batsmen are scoring doubles and triples.

If this takes Pakistan cricket forward why not, Shan Masood should be allowed to build his team no matter how many defeats , its good that he is trying to bring stability in this team and infact at 6-0 one cannot be more stable

Game of who’s court the ball is in basically.

The selection committee have the power to not select Babar in the 15-17 man squad.

If they do, Jason Gillespie and Shan then have the power to select him in the XI.

Let’s see how this pans out. I would be shocked if Babar is in the squad but isn’t in the XI

Seems fair decision but poor timing, if taken.
A decision like dropping should be taken either before the series starts or after it ends. May be in the name of taking rest/break etc.

This'll only dent his confidence and make PCB look immature. It'll also put huge pressure on the replacement player.

This'll only dent his confidence and make PCB look immature. It'll also put huge pressure on the replacement player
Oh bhai aur kya confidence de issey?

They gave him 9-10 Tests whilst failing. I don’t recall anyone in Pakistan history being allowed to carry on for this long without a substantial score. Can you name anyone that was given this much time? Even he knows it’s the right decision.

I have no issues getting Babar dropped but it should be Shaan sacked n dropped. Saim is absolute awfull.Abdullah and Saud have bothlet me down as i had high expectations. i dont think dropping him make anything there is no talent coming through. Gulam might deserve a go but he wont do much either.The issue is we cant get 20 wickets on these mediocre wickets.

Mate relax

He will be back in the SA series. Patience. Don’t burn down Pakistan for this decision.

Oh bhai aur kya confidence de issey?

They gave him 9-10 Tests whilst failing. I don’t recall anyone in Pakistan history being allowed to carry on for this long without a substantial score. Can you name anyone that was given this much time? Even he knows it’s the right decision.
I was being reasonable bro 😜.
I know the guy is an average player. He has been always but was projected as next Bradman by the PCB and his PR.

All I am saying that the decision should've been taken before the series, if not then after the series.
But I understand from your perspective. As a Pak fan you would like him to be placed with a deserving player since the series is still alive.

I was being reasonable bro 😜.
I know the guy is an average player. He has been always but was projected as next Bradman by the PCB and his PR.

All I am saying that the decision should've been taken before the series, if not then after the series.
But I understand from your perspective. As a Pak fan you would like him to be placed with a deserving player since the series is still alive.
It’s time for kicks

Enough of the pampering

Seems some back and forth on BA situation

As per a media report

The selection committee and team management are at odds over player selections for the second Test between Pakistan and England.

The team management wants star batsman Babar Azam to stay in the team, citing his experience and belief that he is due for a big innings.

They feel the team should support Babar to help him get back in form.

However, most members of the selection committee think the team needs changes and that Babar Azam, after playing for a long time, should be rested.

Sources in the PCB say that both the captain and coach want Nauman Ali to replace Abrar Ahmed in the team.

The new selection committee has submitted a preliminary report to PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi about their discussions, including their views on resting senior players.
Personally I think it's time to drop Babar and make him reconsider his career choices, work on his fitness and form away from Test cricket. However if the team management are successful in keeping him in the team, then there must be severe consequences for them. If he stays and fails again, then they should all lose their jobs. This culture of supporting your friends over performance cannot continue!

Some players just don't have the mental capacity to captain and perform - Babar is one of them.

Maybe a break is what he needs, but he also needs to switch off from the media, news, etc.

I seriously doubt he will be dropped. I will believe when it happens :bobs

This is so true

There is still 48 hours before the Test match begins

Anything can happen with this guy

Meanwhile, waterboy sarfraz been released from his duties

Best thing for Babar, he should consider calling it quits on red ball cricket and offer his services solely to the white ball game, the best way for him to ease his workload.

“My sources are claiming
"𝐀 𝐏𝐚𝐤𝐢𝐬𝐭𝐚𝐧𝐢 𝐬𝐮𝐩𝐞𝐫𝐬𝐭𝐚𝐫 𝐜𝐫𝐢𝐜𝐤𝐞𝐭𝐞𝐫 𝐫𝐞𝐩𝐥𝐢𝐞𝐝 𝐭𝐨 𝐚 𝐬𝐞𝐥𝐞𝐜𝐭𝐨𝐫, '𝐃𝐨 𝐰𝐡𝐚𝐭𝐞𝐯𝐞𝐫 𝐲𝐨𝐮 𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐭, 𝐝𝐨𝐧'𝐭 𝐚𝐬𝐤 𝐦𝐞. 𝐈'𝐥𝐥 𝐭𝐚𝐥𝐤 𝐭𝐨 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐜𝐡𝐚𝐢𝐫𝐦𝐚𝐧 𝐝𝐢𝐫𝐞𝐜𝐭𝐥𝐲.'"
I can tell the name but ............ 😜

By the way the source is same who told me "THEY ARE BENCHING BABAR”

It’s all going down in Multan

Some players just don't have the mental capacity to captain and perform - Babar is one of them.

Maybe a break is what he needs, but he also needs to switch off from the media, news, etc.
Agreed.
At some point a switch off / reset might be beneficial, burnout happens to the best of players, even in real life.
As an indian fan sometimes I feel he gets too much attention and unresonable flak...maybe because of his name or someone told me recently he is related to Akmals families, or just the fact that pak fans and media wanted him to be compared with VK, SS, KW and JR or so..
I believe Pak are going to tour SAF later in the year and am sure a guy of his experience and class would be needed there.