[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Is the end getting close for Azhar Ali's career?

Making Azhar captain was a disaster of epic proportions. Magnificent blunder in so many different ways.

Only a truly incompetent organization can make a decision this bad.

The exact opposite of what I would have expected form Wasim Khan when he was hired

Who else was a feasible test captain? Would you have sent Babar off for his first ever assignment down under?

Lost his hand eye coordination and got to do with slower reflexes. It all reflects in his dismissals.

If Azhar still wants to survive he needs to copy YK and play the ball very late. He needs a few sessions with YK. Only he can tell how to still survive in this phase of your career against quality bowling.

If Azhar won't realize his problem and not find a solution then only Pakistan will suffer. It's nothing unusual even greats like Ponting at some point lost their reflexes to handle world class stuff. White people quit but Asians keep going. Either he quits or needs to find a temporary solution.

Who else was a feasible test captain? Would you have sent Babar off for his first ever assignment down under?

Yeah, I would have. Babar has been playing international cricket for almost 5 years now, and he's 25, not 19. He's easily the best player in the team, why exactly can't he be captain in tests when he's already T20 (and soon to be ODI) captain?

If not, I would have just kept Safraz - his 2019 batting average of 28 is a lot better than Azhar's 13

He probably needs to be dropped, however it would mean shafiq is named captain and retains his spot, which is actually the worse scenario.

The problem is that the pakistan team can only handle one of these 2 passengers (Asad or Azhar). IF Azhar has to be retained captain, they HAVE to drop Asad. If Azhar is dropped, next best option is Asad while Babar finds his feet. I would go for the latter option because Asad looks to be scoring more (easy) runs plus Azhar is sooooo bad in terms of captaincy, that it makes Mohammad Yousuf's captaincy look amazing and I feel that Asad may be able to handle the team better.

However, knowing Misbah, Azhar and Asad are going to stick to the team as long as he is around. So I have no hope there.

The problem is that the pakistan team can only handle one of these 2 passengers (Asad or Azhar). IF Azhar has to be retained captain, they HAVE to drop Asad. If Azhar is dropped, next best option is Asad while Babar finds his feet. I would go for the latter option because Asad looks to be scoring more (easy) runs plus Azhar is sooooo bad in terms of captaincy, that it makes Mohammad Yousuf's captaincy look amazing and I feel that Asad may be able to handle the team better.

However, knowing Misbah, Azhar and Asad are going to stick to the team as long as he is around. So I have no hope there.

Azhar can at least occupy the opening spot and there aren't many options there, whilst there are options available for the middle order and they would do a much better job than shafiq.

shafiq is not the better option, it is the worse one.

Lost his hand eye coordination and got to do with slower reflexes. It all reflects in his dismissals.

If Azhar still wants to survive he needs to copy YK and play the ball very late. He needs a few sessions with YK. Only he can tell how to still survive in this phase of your career against quality bowling.

If Azhar won't realize his problem and not find a solution then only Pakistan will suffer. It's nothing unusual even greats like Ponting at some point lost their reflexes to handle world class stuff. White people quit but Asians keep going. Either he quits or needs to find a temporary solution.

Thing is with YK was his supreme fitness even in his 40s whereas Azhar has a longstanding knee issue. He should've been moved on after South Africa.

Hes not scoring any runs domestically or international level, its not even as though hes even looked like getting out of this rut. Nor has he played a single match winning/saving knock since MisYou retired.

His captaincy so negative and inept as well he offers nothing in that area either.

Is it a wise strategy to find the worst performing player in the team and make him captain ? As if batting alone didn’t have enough pressure for Azhar Ali, he’s now supposed to be a captain who will lead from the front.

I think he had been a brilliant batsmen for Pakistan as an opener. He wasn't given that opener slot properly otherwise he would have been one of the best openers in the world and arguably opened in a Pakistan all time test XI post 70s decade.

Pakistan's Alastair Cook he could have been.

People calling for Asad Shafiq axing are going over the top, I think. He has had mixed results, but is a more certain place in the XI than Azhar, Haris, Imam, Masood. On sustained form, probably the 2nd best test batsman in the side...

We badly need a batsman or two to support Azam, preferably from the ones currently around the team... Abid, Alam, Haris, Shafiq? Someone needs to sustain a 40-50 average..

People calling for Asad Shafiq axing are going over the top, I think. He has had mixed results, but is a more certain place in the XI than Azhar, Haris, Imam, Masood. On sustained form, probably the 2nd best test batsman in the side...

We badly need a batsman or two to support Azam, preferably from the ones currently around the team... Abid, Alam, Haris, Shafiq? Someone needs to sustain a 40-50 average..

The fact is that it's not fair on our domestic players that a player who's averaged in his 30s is still been in the squad for a good few years. There are others that deserve it most notably the likes of Saud Shakeel, Usman Salahuddin, Saad Ali, Zeeshan Ashraf or Zeeshan Malik. Value and reward your domestic performers otherwise then dismantle the whole thing.

If you want go look at the graphic of Asad Shafiq on Howstat.

Let's stop focusing on passable performances and see are there areas where we can do better.

The fact is that it's not fair on our domestic players that a player who's averaged in his 30s is still been in the squad for a good few years. There are others that deserve it most notably the likes of Saud Shakeel, Usman Salahuddin, Saad Ali, Zeeshan Ashraf or Zeeshan Malik. Value and reward your domestic performers otherwise then dismantle the whole thing.

If you want go look at the graphic of Asad Shafiq on Howstat.

Let's stop focusing on passable performances and see are there areas where we can do better.

w1oqg8M.png

Two miserable graphs. One is a senior batsman who turns 34 next month, the other turns 35 in 2 months.

If pakistan wants to play azhar , they will have to drop him down to number 4 /5 , his reflexes arent good enough now for an opener or a one down batsman. Asad should play number 3 for now and haris/fawad at number 6. Thing is pakistan at the moment lack a proper number 6 , i had high hopes from saud shakil but he didnt do much in domestic cricket this. He is a free flowing and elegant stroke maker. For now at number 6 , haris/ fawad is our best bet.

Misbah seems to have a lot of faith in Azhar!

"Azhar Ali has performed as well, he didn't perform in the last 3 matches but he has scored in every country. It is a concern that he is out of form but we are thinking positively"

w1oqg8M.png

Two miserable graphs. One is a senior batsman who turns 34 next month, the other turns 35 in 2 months.

The lines are heading in the wrong direction when the team desperately needs the lines to be heading upwards.

Considering they are both in the mid-30's now (perhaps even older), I don't think its fair to expect them to perform better than they did when the were in their 20's and early 30's.

It's natural for a batsmen's performance to go down at this stage of his career - its also unfortunate that the PCB management never understood this. Azhar / Asad were never going to replicate Younis' performance, they were only just slightly above average batsmen even at their peaks

w1oqg8M.png

They were acceptable performers. Azhar was pretty good for most part of his career still averages 40+. Age has caught up with Azhar

w1oqg8M.png

I feel like slapping that “chumcha” azhar when he keeps say the word “patience”. I’d tell him we’ll be patient once you and asad get your butts back to domestic cricket cause there’s been zero return from your investment. Guys like Fawad would’ve blown you away years ago and would’ve scored 10,000 runs guaranteed.

Nice excel graphs though bro, but there is a good histogram on howstat.

w1oqg8M.png

Brother, if I had excel on my computer I’d do it but what would be a good idea is listing there scores in one column and then placing a benchmark line of 50 and 100, see when they’ve pasted that benchmark over say the last 20 matches. The stats for that will be much more effective.

"Azhar Ali has performed as well, he didn't perform in the last 3 matches but he has scored in every country. It is a concern that he is out of form but we are thinking positively"

It's not been last 3 matches Misbah. More like the last 3 years. He's not out of form. He's in age-related decline and it's time for him to accept that for the sake of the team.

Azhar can at least occupy the opening spot and there aren't many options there, whilst there are options available for the middle order and they would do a much better job than shafiq.

shafiq is not the better option, it is the worse one.

I disagree there. It looks to me there are far better options for opening these days then someone who can play with the tail properly. Shafiq does that very well.

Speaking to the media:

"I know that I haven't been scoring like I should have. While batting, I am feeling very good and in nets I am middling the ball. I had a chance in the last innings, I was set and it was looking easy but the ball stuck in the pitch and I closed the face of my bat and got a soft dismissal. I will try to get set and make a big score, everything comes back to normal after a good score"

"In Bangladesh, at the time I had only 4-5 years experience, now I am more experienced and have played more cricket. When you go to country like Australia without experienced bowlers, it can be difficult. I think I am up for the challenge and my aim is to give my best as a captain and player. I am confident that once the team gets settled, things will be fine"

"When you play international cricket and don't perform, criticism is justified and you should take it positively. I have always tried to give my 100% for Pakistan and tried to give the team a good start and build on that. That hasn't happened for a while and I will try to rectify that as soon as possible. Regarding my prime, when I feel I am not good enough, then there will be no point of playing anymore. I am still working hard and I feel like I can work harder and I'll continue trying and once I get a big score, I think things will come back to normal"

Misbah only back Azhar, so that he can pull the strings of the team with azhar being a mere hand puppet.

Azhar only took captsincy "longterm" as he knew otherwise he could get the boot as a plsyer with his pathetic performances.

I hope he gets two ducks in karach and pakistan win. The last thing we need right now is Azhar been in control for much longer.

Seems like misbah and Azhar will use inexperienced bowlers nonsense excuse all time to deflect away from their own pathetic short comings.

I was his biggest fan but unfortunately looks like its over for Azhar. That knee injury is hampering him massively.

And this loser nothing batsman is imposed on us as captain. Gully mohallah level player.

He will play at least 3 years for sure under Misbah if not another 2 more years.

He is our main batsman just going through tough time , will definitely score after few tests.

I'm on my phone and can't get the exact numbers right now but 'main batsman' sahab averages in the low 20s in the last 2 years AND DROPPING.

He is a pathetic loser only playing because of Misbah's love for him.

Not his fault don't blame him. He has been in a poor form for a while now. He will always be better than useless Shan and other crappy players we play. Blame the shameless Misbah and Waqar, they only made him captain due to their vindictive nature. He shouldn't have been made our ODI captain in 2015 and he shouldn't have been made our Test captain in 2019.

Its clear now that Sarfraz wasn't removed due to his poor performances. Captaincy should have gone to Babar if Sarfraz was removed. Misbah and Waqar and their politics will ruin our cricket again they have already destroyed this decade of Pakistan cricket. They both are Cancer of Pakistan cricket.

He is our main batsman just going through tough time , will definitely score after few tests.
Your “main batsman”

1. Starts to deteriorate at 32,
2. Is incapable of averaging over 30 when he’s 33 years old and then
3. At 34 years of age he averages 16.33.

You think this is reversible?

You don’t see that every year he gets worse and worse?

Allah ka khauf karo aur retire hou jao, bhot hou gaya hai yaar.

Not his fault don't blame him. He has been in a poor form for a while now. He will always be better than useless Shan and other crappy players we play. Blame the shameless Misbah and Waqar, they only made him captain due to their vindictive nature. He shouldn't have been made our ODI captain in 2015 and he shouldn't have been made our Test captain in 2019.

Its clear now that Sarfraz wasn't removed due to his poor performances. Captaincy should have gone to Babar if Sarfraz was removed. Misbah and Waqar and their politics will ruin our cricket again they have already destroyed this decade of Pakistan cricket. They both are Cancer of Pakistan cricket.

He won’t “always be better than Shan Masood”.

Shan averages 30 this year and Azhar averages 10.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Azhar Ali in Test Cricket in 2019<br><br>Innings: 10<br>Runs: 121<br>Average: 12.10<br>Hundreds: 0<br>Fifties: 0<br>Highest Score: 44<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvSL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvSL</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1207564069710041088?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 19, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Misbah only back Azhar, so that he can pull the strings of the team with azhar being a mere hand puppet.

Azhar only took captsincy "longterm" as he knew otherwise he could get the boot as a plsyer with his pathetic performances.

I hope he gets two ducks in karach and pakistan win. The last thing we need right now is Azhar been in control for much longer.

1 duck already, am sure another one on its way in 2nd inns.

Seems like he'll have to be forced out as he won't step down himself.

Who will force him out? He was hand picked by Waqar and Misbah. They won't throw him out as it will expose their decision too. Both Waqar and Misbah's ego has always been bigger than the national team.

Feel desperately sorry fro Azhar. His knee issues have accelerated the decline in his batting fortunes.

Has been a great servant for Pakistan during some tough times but should take the opportunity to retire sooner rather than later.

Who will force him out? He was hand picked by Waqar and Misbah. They won't throw him out as it will expose their decision too. Both Waqar and Misbah's ego has always been bigger than the national team.

Exactly!!!!Azhar will be there at least another 3 years. He has support from Misbah, Waqar Wasim and Man along with PM.
People are just so wishful

This is comical. The guy won't find a place in the Bangladesh Test side based on his performance in the last couple of years. And yet he is the Test captain of Pakistan currently. Misbah either has vested interests or he is dumb.

If he doesnt score in the 2nd innings and Pak looses the test then it will be high time to hang his boots.

The worst thing this new PCB did was appointing a captain who is on terminal decline as a batsman.

Whole reason he asked for captaincy longterm, was so he coild avoid been dropped.

<iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/aeeyi/gfrg" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I should disclose more fully my views on this.

I admire Azhar's determination in trying to grind out a career based primarily on a sound defence without much more. He is quite similar to Australia's Marnus Labuschagne as a mediocre leg-spinner with the concentration to bat for hours on placid wickets.

Interesting one. Have your views on Labu changed or are they still the same? Genuine question

His limited hand-eye coordination is gone. Now, it's equivalent to a district level batsman. He will continue to fail. Get him out of here. But of course the fraud comes in and makes him captain so PCB can't get rid of him quickly even if he fails.

<iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/aeeyi/gfrg" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Look at the head position.
Look at the footwork.
Look at the angle the bat came down.

Woeful.

Interesting one. Have your views on Labu changed or are they still the same? Genuine question
I think Labuschagne was a much younger guy and that his summer playing the County Championship at Glamorgan taught him how to build long innings.

I still think that he is a mediocre batsman who has learned how to cash in against limited attacks. But he is very, very good at doing that.

Look at the head position.
Look at the footwork.
Look at the angle the bat came down.

Woeful.
He was always fairly similar.

Think back to his catastrophic tour of South Africa in 2012-12 or to why Salman Butt - the same age - had been an established international for years by the time Azhar made his debut.

Azhar has basically scored big on dead wickets on one Australian tour, in one Test in England, and often on dead tracks in the UAE.

But his technique never could cope with lateral movement which is why he always struggled in South Africa and mainly struggled in England and Ireland.

The problem now is that whereas his hand-eye coordination was good enough for Asian conditions as a younger man, now it has deteriorated just enough that his technical woes can't be corrected.

That's what age does.

I can't understand why he always tries to play across the line and not play with a freakin straight bat! Specially early on in his innings. Most of his dismissals are because of that angled bat and the attempt to play across the line. Surely someone can tell him that if he is dumb enough to not see it himself?

Shan got a great delivery, but Azhar's dismissal was just awful batting. He was never going to hit that.

His career should be over he's not going to be the batsmen he was few years back. He has gone downhill and will go more. But Misbah won't drop him for few more series atleast or even more especially after making him captain he won't want to be proven wrong so early.

Azhar's highest score in 14 Test innings. He'll be thankful for that dropped catch at short leg earlier...

This is what I would do if I was Mickey Arthur.

I would say the following to Azhar Ali:

"Congratulations on a wonderful year. I've been proud to have you in the team I coach.

It's time for us to look forward and try to plan the next stage of your career.

As you know, you are the same age as Alastair Cook and AB De Villiers. It probably seems strange to you that their careers are coming to an end while you are in such awesome form. But I'd like to talk a little about that.

Misbah and Younis were great servants to Pakistan cricket and they saved us from disgrace. They were the best trainers we had, the fittest players we had. Younis was probably the greatest ever Pakistan batsman. They were brilliant role models to young players like you.

But I'm not sure whether you noticed what happened to them as batsmen when they become older than anyone else in world cricket. They still scored some big innings, especially in Asia, but if you think back to South Africa, to England, to Australia, I think something else happened.

Younis kept his average up, but he failed in 5 innings out of 6 in South Africa, in 6 innings out of 7 in England and in 8 innings out of 10 in Australia and New Zealand.

Think back. It's true, isn't it? You were there, Azhar!

And the consistency of those Younis Khan failures meant that we lost 8 of those 10 Test matches.

This happens to every batsman outside Asia. You reach a certain age and you fail much more often than you succeed, even if your occasional big innings keep your average up.

I'm telling you this Azhar because that is why Alastair Cook and AB De Villiers are at the end of the road. Soon you will be the oldest batsman left in Test cricket.

I know that you are the best batsman in the team. But I also know that sooner or later - I hope much later - this will happen to you.

Like Cook, that's why I'm relieved that you are not the new captain. I know you could do it, but I want you to focus on keeping your batting world class for as long as possible, without the worries of captaincy.

Take every Test series one at a time. As long as you are performing, you will be the first batsman named in the team.

Where I'm different to the people who went before me is that I don't think we can afford for two veteran batsmen to lose form at the same time. I want you as the only older batsman in the team. That's why there is no road back for Salman Butt, even though he is your age. You stayed clean and he didn't, so you are the one who stays as the senior batsman. It's also why there will be no Fawad Alam.

In Australia, many generations of cricketer have been influenced by Ian Chappell, who is a great believer in going out at the top. Don't wait until your performances are declining. When you are not the batsman you used to be, go. Don't wait to be dropped.

That would be great advice for you and every other Pakistan cricketer.

Make the most of your ability and your career. At this late stage, when you are 32, don't bother with the captaincy, just enjoy the time left to you as a batsman.

But once you think you can't guarantee yourself at least 35 runs in 3/4 of your innings outside Asia, that's when it will be time to call it a day."

I know I took a lot of criticism when I started this thread immediately after Misbah and Younis retired in the West Indies.

But hasn't my imaginary advice from Mickey Arthur to Azhar Ali turned out to be 100% accurate?

I know I took a lot of criticism when I started this thread immediately after Misbah and Younis retired in the West Indies.

But hasn't my imaginary advice from Mickey Arthur to Azhar Ali turned out to be 100% accurate?

Pakistan would still be a rubbish test team if Azhar Ali retired when you said.

Azhar only scored 6 and 28 in the second warm-up game for PCB Green. He was out lbw twice also.

Broad and Anderson. This tour is going to a nightmare for him, the way he is getting trapped in front.

I remember in 2016 Azhar Ali had the same problem for the initial tests, where he LBW a few times . He then made am adjustment and the finished the series strongly with a 100 and some other good scores .

I think the same needs to happen here . Otherwise he will be an LBW candidate .

An acid Test for Azhar - if he doesn't perform, this could be the end of it. He is the Captain and he has decided to bat on the toughest of spots - No. 3 ..... and he is on the edge of his career. But, he might be in the wrong side of 30s, he might be struggling with form and reflex, but one this for sure - guy has guts and tenacity while batting. If anyone in this PAK line-up can make a turn around from such form, it's Azhar. If he can do that, still I don't think he has more than two years of Test career left but if he doesn't, I hope he has the guts to step down as Captain, not necessarily retiring from International cricket. Being Captain, he is un-dropable regardless of his performance, but stepping down from Captaincy will make his selection subject to performance - after that, if he can carry for even another 5 years, I can't complain. In any case, there are not many options available.

He didn't have the guts to step down from his terrible stint as ODI captain so I don't see him stepping down as test captain (until things go so bad that he is forced out).

if this was any western country, even if he was the Captain of the national team (which he wouldn't be at this age, Tim Paine is a special sandpaper case) he would be expected to drop himself from the team for the First Test.

Pakistan would still be a rubbish test team if Azhar Ali retired when you said.

No it wouldn’t be a rubbish team. Always for a team to be successful it depends on the team selection first then consistency shown on the players. Backing the right players who has a future. Prime example is Babar being backed by MA in tests after series of failures.

Having said that the first three batting spots are always up vacant in the test team. MA was trying to block that hole moved Azhar to open , he plunged babar in at 3 where he find difficult and not successful and also pushed for Asad to take responsibility as senior and bat at 3 where he failed and continue to enjoy his no.6 position. Then later Haris was rightly appointed to take the lead at 3 , again with his fitness and lack of interest couldn’t make that spot his own.

I believe one of Shan or Imam will be able to fill that no.3 position or Babar himself. I still think Azhar could have achieved more as an opener than he was no.3

No it wouldn’t be a rubbish team. Always for a team to be successful it depends on the team selection first then consistency shown on the players. Backing the right players who has a future. Prime example is Babar being backed by MA in tests after series of failures.

Having said that the first three batting spots are always up vacant in the test team. MA was trying to block that hole moved Azhar to open , he plunged babar in at 3 where he find difficult and not successful and also pushed for Asad to take responsibility as senior and bat at 3 where he failed and continue to enjoy his no.6 position. Then later Haris was rightly appointed to take the lead at 3 , again with his fitness and lack of interest couldn’t make that spot his own.

I believe one of Shan or Imam will be able to fill that no.3 position or Babar himself. I still think Azhar could have achieved more as an opener than he was no.3

You can't be a top test team without 2/3 world class batters. Only Babar Azam is a world class batter. I can assure you Azhar Ali retiring earlier would not have changed the fortunes of Pakistan test team.

In 2020

Babar Azam + Mohammad Rizwan > Kane Williamson + Ross Taylor