[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Pakistan PM Imran Khan inaugurates Kartarpur Corridor

Mages

November 22, 2018: Minister for Information Fawad Chaudhry on Thursday welcomed the Indian cabinet's announcement to commence the construction of the Kartarpur corridor, calling it a "victory of peace".

"It is a step towards the right direction and we hope such steps will encourage voice of reasons and tranquillity on both sides of the border,"

Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi said Pakistan had already informed India of its decision to open the Kartarpur corridor for Baba Guru Nanak’s 550th birth anniversary. "PM Imran Khan will break ground on Nov 28; we welcome the Sikh community to Pakistan for this auspicious occasion," added Qureshi.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi's cabinet decided today to develop the corridor that will enable Sikh pilgrims to visit the Gurdwara Darbar Sahib, located in Kartarpur, Narowal district without a visa, the Times of India reported.
The corridor will connect Dera Baba Nanak in Indian Punjab's Gurdaspur to Kartarpur in Pakistan's Narowal district where the Gurdwara Darbar Sahib — the shrine of revered saint Baba Guru Nanak — is situated, according to the publication.

Earlier today, Foreign Office Spokesperson Dr Mohammad Faisal had said the government will soon announce "good news about the opening of Kartarpur crossing".

In August, Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa had told Indian politician Navjot Singh Sidhu that Pakistan would open the Kartarpur crossing "when [the Sikh community] celebrates the 550th birth anniversary of Baba Nanak", when the latter had visited Islamabad for Prime Minister Imran Khan's oath-taking ceremony. The 550th birth anniversary of the revered Sikh figure is next year.
In September, Chaudhry, in an interview to Hindustan Times, reiterated the offer saying that "[the government] wants to formalise the informal proposal the Pakistan army chief made to Sidhu".

"This is an issue of the ordinary people, Sikhs and other Indian pilgrims, and an issue of faith," the information minister had said in a phone interview. "They shouldn’t suffer and we want to formalise the informal proposal the Pakistan army chief made to Sidhu."
On the Pakistani side, various proposals have been discussed and announcements made since the Musharraf era, but lack of interest by the Indian side has kept the proposals confined to cold storage.

Thousands of Sikh devotees from India visit Pakistan every year to celebrate the birth anniversary of Baba Guru Nanak. This year — for the 549th birth anniversary of Baba Guru Nanak — the Pakistan embassy in New Delhi issued over 3,500 visas to Sikh pilgrims who wished to attend the celebrations that will last for more than a week.

Sidhu took to Twitter to thank Prime Minister Khan for announcing the opening of the Kartarpur corridor.

"Thank you [MENTION=5335]imrankhan[/MENTION]PTI Bhai, we welcome the positive step, it means the world to us," he wrote, addressing Khan. "You’re a gem! This is a great service to mankind. Kudos to you!" He had earlier welcomed the Indian cabinet's decision to develop the corridor, saying the move will "build bridges, burn animosity and will act like a soothing balm for [the] two neighbouring countries".

https://www.dawn.com/news/1447016/indian-govts-decision-to-open-kartarpur-crossing-is-victory-of-peace-information-minister

Good to see this happen but really small steps towards peace - bigger issues needs resolution,

Only cosmetic from GOI before they go back to blame gaming...

Even if bringing Sikhs is more strategical than Hindus (Khalistan movement, etc) Pak govt should be careful that some RAW agents don't sneak in disguised as yatris, Sikhs have a traditional hate of Muslims/Pakistan.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1447588/f...sion-to-send-ministers-for-kartarpur-ceremony

Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi on Sunday welcomed India's decision to send two of its ministers to attend the groundbreaking ceremony of the Kartarpur border crossing, Radio Pakistan reported.

The foreign minister said the Indian response to the peace initiative taken up by Pakistan has been positive.

Earlier, the Pakistan government had invited Indian Minister for External Affairs Sushma Swaraj, Indian Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu besides 17 Indian journalists to the Kartarpur corridor groundbreaking ceremony on November 28.

Swaraj had excused herself from attending the ceremony, citing "prior commitments" but had announced that India's Minister for Food Processing Industries Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs Shri Hardeep Singh Puri will attend the ceremony in Kartarpur Sahib as representatives of the Indian government.

ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER AD

In a late night tweet on Saturday, Swaraj had said, “We hope that the Government of Pakistan will expedite construction of the corridor in order to ensure that our citizens can pay their respects at the Gurudwara Karatpur Sahib using the corridor as soon as possible.”

Lying dormant due to the tense relations between the two countries since 1988, the proposal to construct the corridor providing visa-free access to Sikh pilgrims had been renewed by Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa in August this year.

Qureshi expressed confidence that Kartarpur Corridor would attract members of Sikh community to Pakistan from across the world including the United States and the United Kingdom.

He said the Sikh community will be greeted here amid sentiments of love and would take back positive image about Pakistan and its people.

Even if bringing Sikhs is more strategical than Hindus (Khalistan movement, etc) Pak govt should be careful that some RAW agents don't sneak in disguised as yatris, Sikhs have a traditional hate of Muslims/Pakistan.

We might send some brown Israelis your way too, hopefully you are careful not hard to put a pug on anyone nowadays with our Bollywood make up artists.

Sounds like this is a decision to win some votes in Punjab. One minute the BJP government is spewing hate against Pakistan and the next Modi likens the opening of the Kartarpur corridor to the fall of Berlin Wall lol and talks about bringing the people of India and Pakistan together.

I hope he wins another term, purely for the direction the economy seems to be heading in, but by god Modi and his ministers are are a hypocritical bunch.

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan on Sunday welcomed India's decision to send its two Union ministers to attend the groundbreaking ceremony of the Kartarpur corridor next week, terming it a "positive response".

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pak...inisters-for-kartarpur-corridor-event-1953151

Punjab CM says he won't attend:

Now, Amarinder Singh Declines Pak Invite For Kartarpur Corridor Event
Captain Amarinder Singh said his reasons for declining the invitation were twofold -- not a day passes without Pakistani forces attacking Indian positions, and the ISI is trying to create trouble in Punjab

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pun...-for-kartarpur-corridor-ground-breaki-1953009

Yet Sidhu, his minister will.

Navjot Sidhu To Visit Pak For Kartarpur Border Corridor Ceremony: Report

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/nav...arpur-border-corridor-ceremony-report-1952697

Sounds like this is a decision to win some votes in Punjab. One minute the BJP government is spewing hate against Pakistan and the next Modi likens the opening of the Kartarpur corridor to the fall of Berlin Wall lol and talks about bringing the people of India and Pakistan together.

I hope he wins another term, purely for the direction the economy seems to be heading in, but by god Modi and his ministers are are a hypocritical bunch.

Maybe enkidu has a point, India could be using this to send in spys and terrorists.

Pakistan looks for peace at any given opporutunity but this is a silly move in the current climate.

Is there any major community in the world that doesnt have open conflicts with Muslims ?

Hindus - check
christians - Check
Jews - check
Sikhs - check
Buddhists - check

Is there any major community in the world that doesnt have open conflicts with Muslims ?

Hindus - check ( converted Muslims of India knew that radicalized extremists Hindu would try to make Muslim minority subservient and Muslim majority Kashmir wants nothing to do with India-checked)
christians - Check
(It is Christian who are bombing Muslims land for geopolitical reasons-checked)
Jews - check (Jews have systematically removed and demolished house of Palestine-checked)
Sikhs - check( Sikh are being welcome in Pakistan, but there is huge population in Canada who are against Hindus of India- checked)
Buddhists - check ( Buddhist have killed thousands of Rhoingya Muslims and noble peace prize had to be taken away-checked

Since you have a history of justifying killing of minority by radicalized extremists nationalists Hindus, you might not understand the reply

I do ? and I suppose you have some posts and facts to back that up or I need to just take your word ?

Blaming Muslims of India for the rise of radicalized extremists nationalists Hindus and their behavior seem justification.

How does this work? Anyone can walk through as long as you look like a Sikh?

At the moment Indians who wish to visit the Gurdwara at Kartarpur need a visa - about 3000-4000 come each year. However, Pakistan Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry has stated that once this corridor is open pilgrims won’t need a visa. Really can’t see that materialising though - there are too many practical hurdles to this.

So they will open the gates, construct a bridge from Indian border towards Kartarpur so Indians can go in without visa?

We might send some brown Israelis your way too, hopefully you are careful not hard to put a pug on anyone nowadays with our Bollywood make up artists.

Jews are easily distinguishable from Hindoos and others as well (ears, nose).

Hindus - check
christians - Check
Jews - check
Sikhs - check
Buddhists - check

You're right, many peoples are averse to Truth, it's only natural.

Jews are easily distinguishable from Hindoos and others as well (ears, nose).

You're right, many peoples are averse to Truth, it's only natural.

And just what that "truth" might be .... ?

Pakistan Army Bringing Kashmir, Punjab Terrorists Together For First Time: Amarinder Singh

Amarinder Singh has asked Imran Khan to keep the Pakistan Army under control.

NEW DELHI: Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh has accused the Pakistan army of helping Kashmiri terrorists move into his state and carry out terror attacks in collaboration with local elements. "They are trying to bring Kashmiri terrorists and Punjabi terrorists together... It is not Imran Khan doing it, I am sure, it is his army. So, unless he keeps his army under control, we will have no option but to deal with them," he told NDTV in an exclusive interview today.
The Chief Minister had cited Pakistan's role in terror attacks to reject its invitation to the ground-breaking ceremony for the Kartarpur Sahib corridor on Wednesday.

Mr Singh claimed that Kashmiri and Punjabi terrorists were tying up for the first time under the Pakistan army's patronage, and students were being influenced too. "We have about 6,000 Kashmiris studying in our colleges -- good boys and girls -- and they are no trouble. But we have busted two terror modules in their midst, one with four people and another with two," he said.

The Chief Minister said that while there have been logistical collaborations between terrorists from the two states in the past, this is the first time an "armed tie-up" has come to light. "We came across them in college, saw them pick up weapons, and followed them into their hostels, where we caught them with additional weapons and additional explosives. And this has happened twice. Now, this doesn't mean that all the 6,000 youngsters who're studying here (mean us any harm). They are very disciplined and everything is going fine there, but terror groups are trying to put people in and mix them up," he added.

Mr Singh told NDTV that it pains him to see students do such things when the Punjab government has welcomed them with open arms. "As I said, they are doing a good job. But four or five students among the 6,000 studying here did this," he said.

The Chief Minister said that he could not accept Pakistan's invite to the Kartarpur corridor foundation stone-laying ceremony in good conscience when terrorists from across the border continue to target civilians and security personnel in his state. "While I welcome the Kartarpur initiative, I cannot -- as the chief minister of Punjab -- shift my vision completely to that while terrorists come here and kill our people. I am grateful to Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan for the Kartarpur corridor, but his army has no business doing this here," he added.

Mr Singh, however, said he had no objection to Navjot Singh Sidhu -- a minister in his cabinet -- accepting the invite to attend the ceremony. "Sidhu is not sending contradictory signals, he is a friend of Imran Khan."

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...sing-is-victory-of-peace-information-minister

Navjot Singh Sidhu arrives in Pakistan for Kartarpur corridor groundbreaking

Former Indian cricketer-turned-politician is leading Indian delegation to attend groundbreaking of the corridor which will be held on Wednesday/ Geo News screen grab
LAHORE: Former Indian cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu led his country’s delegation to Pakistan on Tuesday for the groundbreaking ceremony of the Kartarpur corridor to be held on November 28.

The Indian delegation comprising Minister for Food Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Minister for Housing Hardeep S Puri and Sidhu reached Lahore through the Wagah Border crossing where they were received by officials of the Punjab Rangers.

Speaking to journalists upon crossing the Wagah Border, Sidhu thanked Prime Minister Imran Khan for inviting him to the groundbreaking ceremony of the Kartarpur corridor. “The seed that Imran Khan sowed three months ago has become a tree now and me and 120 million Sikhs could not be happier. I want to thank Pakistani prime minister and officials,” he said.

“Karturpur corridor will prove to be a path of peace and instead of 60 years, happiness can come in six months through it. This corridor will be the reason that borders between both the countries open,” Sidhu added.

Sidhu said he has brought a message of love and peace and added, “There are numerous artistes and cricketers in both the countries which everyone loves and there need to be cricket matches between India and Pakistan.”

"Religion should not be seen through the eyes of politics," the former Indian cricketer-turned-politician said. Responding to a question regarding criticism by some Indian ministers of his decision to visit Pakistan, Sidhu said, "I forgive those who criticised me."

"I have been a fan of Imran Khan since I was a child," Sidhu said as he joked and recited verses in Punjabi.

Later speaking in Geo News programme Capital Talk, the minister said that India and Pakistan should hold talks to resolves their issues.

All deadlocks can be ended if there is political will, he said.

When asked about criticism in India for him hugging Pakistan Chief of Army Staff General Bajwa in his last visit here, Sidhu said that he would do the same if he gets the chance to again.

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Wednesday will perform the groundbreaking of the corridor connecting Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Kartarpur area of Narowal district with Dera Baba Nanak in India's Gurdaspur District.

India last week gave the go-ahead to Pakistan’s proposal to build Kartarpur corridor to facilitate Sikh pilgrims wishing to visit the Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Narowal District near the Indian border.

The proposal to construct the corridor providing visa-free access to Sikh pilgrims was renewed by Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa in August this year.

Pakistan will build the corridor from the Indian border to the Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Kartarpur while the other part from Dera Baba Nanak in Indian Punjab's Gurdaspur district up to the border will be constructed by India.

The Gurdwara Kartarpur Darbar Sahib in Narowal district of Pakistan's Punjab province holds religious significance for the Sikh community. It is where Baba Guru Nanak settled down after his travels as a missionary. He lived there for 18 years until his death in 1539.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/219827-na...kistan-for-kartarpur-corridor-ground-breaking

Hindus - check
christians - Check
Jews - check
Sikhs - check
Buddhists - check

Yeah, but geography has a lot to do with this as majority Hindus, Buddhists and Jews etc are confined to only a few countries - one in the case of Jews.

It will be beneficial for the Sikh community. India had to agree to it, they really had no choice after Pak initiated it. India would not want to appear against peace in front of their own people.

Navjot Singh Sidhu arrives in Lahore for Kartarpur ceremony

Former Indian cricket star Navjot Singh Sidhu on Tuesday arrived in Pakistan to attend the groundbreaking ceremony of the Kartarpur Corridor in Nankana Sahib.

He had been extended an invitation for the ceremony by Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi last week.

Prime Minister Imran Khan will perform the groundbreaking of the corridor on Wednesday (Nov 28). The proposal to construct the corridor providing visa-free access to Sikh pilgrims was renewed by Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa in August this year.

Sindhu thanked the prime minister and, while speaking to journalists upon crossing the Wagah border, said that he had brought with him "a message of love and peace".

"Ninety per cent of people in India want bilateral cricket between the two countries," he said while responding to a question. "Art and artists work to bridge gaps between nations," he added.

Later in the day, he arrived at the Governor House in Lahore and was welcomed by Punjab Governor Chaudhry Sarwar. Immediately upon the two greeting each other, Sidhu said in jest to Sarwar: "Which pills have you been taking? You seem to be getting younger while I am growing old."

The humour continued at a joint press conference addressed by Sarwar and Sidhu.

"I welcome Sidhu sahab to Pakistan and the Governor House," Sarwar said in Punjabi. To this, Sidhu responded by saying: "If a Punjabi person does not speak Punjabi it seems as if he is lying."

The governor promised that the governments of Pakistan and India would work towards the resolution of problems faced by the Sikh community.

Referring to the aftermath of an embrace between Gen Bajwa and Sidhu during the latter's visit in August to attend Prime Minister Imran Khan's oath-taking ceremony, which had drawn severe criticism from India's nationalist parties and opposition alike, the governor said: "It was unprecedented that a hug caused such an uproar throughout the world."

"[Prime Minister] Imran Khan has made a historic decision to open the Kartarpur corridor," he added.

The governor expressed the hope that Sidhu will attend the 550th birth anniversary of Guru Nanak and spend the day in Pakistan.

"If Sidhu decides to contest the election from Pakistan's Punjab, it will prove difficult to defeat him," Sarwar quipped at one point.

Sidhu expressed his elation at the opening of the corridor, saying: "After 71 years, a dream will soon be a reality. In opening the Kartarpur border, both governments have opened a new chapter in which many things previously impossible will be possible."

The 4-km-long corridor will connect Dera Baba Nanak in India’s Gurdaspur district with Gurdwara Kartarpur Sahib in Pakistan. The corridor will provide visa-free access to the Indian Sikh pilgrims to the shrine.

Lying dormant due to the tense relations between the two countries since 1988, the proposal to construct the corridor had been renewed by Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa in August this year.

The government had invited Indian Minister for External Affairs Sushma Swaraj, Indian Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu besides 17 Indian journalists to the ceremony. Swaraj and Singh both declined to attend the ceremony. Two other ministers will be attending in Swaraj's place.

Kartarpur is located in Shakargarh in Narowal district of Pakistan’s Punjab province. It is said that Guru Nanak Dev, the founder of Sikhism, had spent more than 18 years of his life there. The Kartarpur Sahib Gurdwara is located on the banks of the Ravi River, about three-four kilometres from the border in Pakistan.

On Monday, Indian Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu and Indian Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh laid the foundation stone of the corridor in Gurdaspur.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1447975

Great ceremony. Watching this live. A great initiative for the Sikh community. It is truly a great step forward for peace.

On a geopolitical angle this is a win for soft diplomacy. Lets hope the Modi can get past some of the baggage he has stuck around his neck.

Hindus - check
christians - Check
Jews - check
Sikhs - check
Buddhists - check

Brother you missed a community.

Muslims - check

This is a great news.

Only people who want conflicts and wars would be annoyed by this.

Great step forward by both governments.

Pakistan have done a nice thing here and played a diplomatic blinder. The Indian government have been pushed into a corner and have come out of this looking rather silly given their repeated u-turns and mixed messages. For example, the Indian minister Harsimrat Kaur went from this:

pXjKlEae.jpg

To this....

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mistrust between India, Pakistan can be removed through message of peace, love: Harsimrat Kaur Badal <a href="https://t.co/f2LRunILHk">https://t.co/f2LRunILHk</a></p>— TOI World News (@TOIWorld) <a href="https://twitter.com/TOIWorld/status/1067747438054789122?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">As 2 ministers present at Kartarpur talk amity, Ext Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj says no chance of a thaw with Pak. A Punjab minister present, but his boss Amarinder warns Pak General Indian Army is ready. Don’t blame Pakistanis if they think we act like headless chickens</p>— Shekhar Gupta (@ShekharGupta) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShekharGupta/status/1067743198783582209?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

In Ind hatred of PK sells, in PK we dont give a monkeys about Ind.

There are some people who see 'agents' everywhere. I've met such Pakistani people in Europe.

But yeah, great majority of people understand the situation and don't hate India.

I think Imran Khan just sealed his legacy with this corridor.

Well done IK, Gen Bajwa and Sidhu for this people to people contact.

People-to-people contact with the Doval's and Yadav's, sounds fun.

There are some people who see 'agents' everywhere. I've met such Pakistani people in Europe.

But yeah, great majority of people understand the situation and don't hate India.

I think Imran Khan just sealed his legacy with this corridor.

Internal terrorism, hydro-warfare, killing Kashmiris, talk of isolating the country at all levels, etc what do you guys need to hate India ? A little nuclear attack ?

People-to-people contact with the Doval's and Yadav's, sounds fun.

Internal terrorism, hydro-warfare, killing Kashmiris, talk of isolating the country at all levels, etc what do you guys need to hate India ? A little nuclear attack ?

As soon as both realise( and we have) that no war can be won and the enemy of both is poverty- we can progress. You are right that Kashmir is the major stumbling block.

Pakistan have done a nice thing here and played a diplomatic blinder. The Indian government have been pushed into a corner and have come out of this looking rather silly given their repeated u-turns and mixed messages. For example, the Indian minister Harsimrat Kaur went from this:

pXjKlEae.jpg

To this....

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mistrust between India, Pakistan can be removed through message of peace, love: Harsimrat Kaur Badal <a href="https://t.co/f2LRunILHk">https://t.co/f2LRunILHk</a></p>— TOI World News (@TOIWorld) <a href="https://twitter.com/TOIWorld/status/1067747438054789122?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

On the plus side. You can now come to pakistan son!!

India slams Imran Khan for ‘politicising’ Kartarpur event by raking up Kashmir

"Pakistan is reminded that it must fulfil its international obligations and take effective and credible action to stop providing shelter and all kind of support to cross-border terrorism from territories under its control," the MEA said.

India on Wednesday expressed its displeasure over Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan raising the issue of Kashmir in his speech during the ground-breaking ceremony for the development of the Kartarpur Corridor. Hitting out at Khan for politicising the “pious occasion”, the Ministry of External Affairs said Kashmir was an integral and inalienable part of India.

“Deeply regrettable that Pakistan PM chose to politicise the pious occasion meant to realise the long pending demand of Sikh community to develop Kartarpur Corridor by making unwarranted reference to J&K, which is integral and inalienable part of India,” ANI quoted the MEA as saying.

The MEA further asked Pakistan to stop supporting cross-border terrorism and letting its soil be used for cessationist activities. “Pakistan is reminded that it must fulfil its international obligations and take effective and credible action to stop providing shelter and all kind of support to cross-border terrorism from territories under its control,” the ministry said.

After laying the foundation stone for the corridor, will connect Darbar Sahib in Kartarpur – the final resting place of Sikh faith’s founder Guru Nanak Dev – with Dera Baba Nanak shrine in India’s Gurdaspur district, Khan said Pakistan wanted a “strong” and “civilised” relationship with India and both the countries could resolve all issues, including Kashmir, with determination.

“I am saying today, that our political leaders, our army, and all other institutions are all on one page. We wish to move forward, we want a civilised relationship. We have just one problem, Kashmir. If a man can walk on the moon, what problems are there that we cannot resolve?” Khan said at the ceremony that was graced by Union ministers Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Hardeep Singh Puri and Punjab minister Navjot Singh Sidhu.

Asserted that the two sides should not live in the past, Khan stressed the need for determination at the leadership level to solve the issues between the two nations. “I assure you that we can solve this problem. But determination and big dreams are necessary. Imagine, once trade begins, once our relationship is fixed, how much both nations could benefit,” he said.

Meanwhile, Union Minister Prakash Javadekar came down heavily on Sidhu for praising Khan, saying at a time when Pakistan was indulging in terror activities, one required to be cautious about the choice of words. “The most objectionable thing in Sidhu’s Pakistan trip is that he referred to various domestic issues which are not done in any diplomatic relations. He praised Imran Khan more than what was due and praised him to the hilt,” ANI quoted Javadekar as saying.

“When Pakistan is indulging in all kinds of terror activities & cross-border terrorism, one needs to be very cautious about it. It is not an enthusiasm or a laughter challenge from Sidhu,” the minister said. Sidhu has also coughed up criticism from BJP and SAD for “disobeying” Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, who has said he had asked the former cricketer to reconsider his decision on going to Pakistan.

On Wednesday, Sidhu congratulated his ‘friend’ Khan for the Kartarpur Corridor initiative and hoped that there would be love and peace between both the nations. He said there had been enough bad blood and that the corridor would be a major opportunity to open the doors of the hearts of the people. “Mera yaar, dildaar, Imran Khan jive (may my friend Imran Khan thrive, live. He has been a good friend and delivered his promise,” Sidhu said.

https://indianexpress.com/article/i...-corridor-kashmir-india-navjot-sidhu-5469452/

As soon as both realise( and we have) that no war can be won and the enemy of both is poverty- we can progress. You are right that Kashmir is the major stumbling block.

it goes way beyond Kashmir.

Enkadu, this extremist mindset is why you don't get along with even your own, let alone with any one else.

Says the Hindoo where more than half of its population is either into virtual slavery (Shudras) or barely recognized as humans (Dalits) as per their "holy" scriptures.

Brother, just look at the middle east. Chaos within the ummah.

Yeah because only the Islamic world you have civil wars, not as if Europeans slaughtered so much during the thirty years war around the 17th century that dozens of regions in Germany were literally emptied, let alone the two World Wars which were basically European civil wars on a larger scale, etc the West has been playing with fire in the Islamic world (whereas no Muslim ever instigated an European civil war) but they'll learn soon that they were basically committing civilizational sati, with the Islamization to come pretty soon.

it goes way beyond Kashmir.

Says the Hindoo where more than half of its population is either into virtual slavery (Shudras) or barely recognized as humans (Dalits) as per their "holy" scriptures.

Yeah because only the Islamic world you have civil wars, not as if Europeans slaughtered so much during the thirty years war around the 17th century that dozens of regions in Germany were literally emptied, let alone the two World Wars which were basically European civil wars on a larger scale, etc the West has been playing with fire in the Islamic world (whereas no Muslim ever instigated an European civil war) but they'll learn soon that they were basically committing civilizational sati, with the Islamization to come pretty soon.

You're blaming everyone else, as usual. Brother, please take a step back and do some self introspection and drop the whataboutery.

Not surprised the Indian govt coming out with the usual rhetoric. IK making them look small and petty. He mentioned Kashmir in a positive way. Pity the Modi govt cant come out into the open to admit they are taking small steps.

You could see why Modi wanted NS as his lapdog- he knew that as soon as IK came onto the scene, he would be made to look small by a more charismatic and better looking guy.

Pakistan’s Prime Minister Imran Khan said his political party and the nation’s powerful military are “all on one page” in wanting to mend ties with arch-rival India.

“We want to move forward, we want a civilized relationship,” Khan said in a speech on Wednesday while opening a border crossing with India for Sikh pilgrims in Punjab. The former cricket star reiterated his July election victory pledge that “if India takes one step forward, then we will take two steps forward toward friendship.”

The loosening of border controls for the pilgrims is “a step towards peace which our region needs,” Pakistan’s Army Chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa said while attending the Kartarpur Corridor ceremony.

The military in Pakistan is the nation’s most powerful institution and has directly ruled the country for large parts of its 71-year-history. Having fought three major wars with its bigger neighbor since the partition of British India in 1947, much of Pakistan’s military thinking is directed by the fear of Indian encirclement, thwarting many attempts at outreach and peace in the past. Both nations routinely accuse the other of supporting cross-border insurgencies.

Kashmir Dispute

New Delhi has so far been reluctant to engage substantially with Islamabad. Previous disbelief in India over Khan’s promises speaks to what analysts say is a fundamental truth about Pakistan. The country’s key foreign and national security policies are decided by Pakistan’s powerful generals, who were accused of engineering Khan’s assent to power -- charges the top brass and the former cricket star deny.

The main dispute is over the contested region of Kashmir that was split during partition and which both nations claim in full.

In September, India’s foreign minister pulled out of planned talks with her Pakistani counterpart after violence flared in Kashmir, which New Delhi blamed on Pakistan-based militants. It would have been the nuclear-armed neighbors’ first senior-level talks in three years. Instead they traded barbs from the United Nations General Assembly podium.

In his speech, Khan said Pakistan’s “only problem” with India is Kashmir, “the resolution of which only takes us two determined leaders across the border.”

Mumbai Attacks
Yet a decade after the Mumbai attacks, India has sought to highlight that the leaders of the militant outfit that carried out the assault, Lashkar-e-Taiba, are still at large and living openly in Pakistan.

A spokesman for India’s foreign ministry said it was “deeply regrettable” that Khan has used the occasion of the pilgrim border opening to make a political statement on the status of Kashmir.

Pakistan must also “take effective and credible action to stop providing shelter and all kind of support to cross border terrorism from territories under its control,” they said.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...kistan-military-wants-to-mend-ties-with-india

Epic meltdown today.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">BIG QUESTION<br><br> Will those in India who are critical of Modi’s hardline Pak diplomacy accept that Pakistan fears his muscular approach?<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ImranWantsModiOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ImranWantsModiOut</a> <a href="https://t.co/QndD4bWAS7">pic.twitter.com/QndD4bWAS7</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1067811019441885184?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Did fear of PM Modi prompt Imran Khan to make a provocative call? <br><br> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ImranWantsModiOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ImranWantsModiOut</a> <a href="https://t.co/xX4uZjCjy2">pic.twitter.com/xX4uZjCjy2</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1067805040612536320?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan betrays India, springs Khalistan surprise. This is terror diplomacy. Why’s pro-Pak lobby silent?<br><br>Join <a href="https://twitter.com/RShivshankar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RShivshankar</a> at 8.30PM on TIMES NOW | <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakTerrorDiplomacy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakTerrorDiplomacy</a> <a href="https://t.co/w6Pv0tuRpd">pic.twitter.com/w6Pv0tuRpd</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1067795035939233793?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Kartarpur Corridor: Pro-Khalistan leader spotted shaking hands with Pak Army chief Gen Bajwa | <a href="https://twitter.com/RShivshankar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RShivshankar</a> with details <br><br> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakTerrorDiplomacy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakTerrorDiplomacy</a> <a href="https://t.co/zQ8ZGGCyI7">pic.twitter.com/zQ8ZGGCyI7</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1067720693008097280?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote>

Epic meltdown today.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">BIG QUESTION<br><br> Will those in India who are critical of Modi’s hardline Pak diplomacy accept that Pakistan fears his muscular approach?<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ImranWantsModiOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ImranWantsModiOut</a> <a href="https://t.co/QndD4bWAS7">pic.twitter.com/QndD4bWAS7</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1067811019441885184?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Did fear of PM Modi prompt Imran Khan to make a provocative call? <br><br> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ImranWantsModiOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ImranWantsModiOut</a> <a href="https://t.co/xX4uZjCjy2">pic.twitter.com/xX4uZjCjy2</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1067805040612536320?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan betrays India, springs Khalistan surprise. This is terror diplomacy. Why’s pro-Pak lobby silent?<br><br>Join <a href="https://twitter.com/RShivshankar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RShivshankar</a> at 8.30PM on TIMES NOW | <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakTerrorDiplomacy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakTerrorDiplomacy</a> <a href="https://t.co/w6Pv0tuRpd">pic.twitter.com/w6Pv0tuRpd</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1067795035939233793?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Kartarpur Corridor: Pro-Khalistan leader spotted shaking hands with Pak Army chief Gen Bajwa | <a href="https://twitter.com/RShivshankar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RShivshankar</a> with details <br><br> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakTerrorDiplomacy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakTerrorDiplomacy</a> <a href="https://t.co/zQ8ZGGCyI7">pic.twitter.com/zQ8ZGGCyI7</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1067720693008097280?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 28, 2018</a></blockquote>

Is this video real or a **** take?

Epic meltdown today.

These Indian "reporters" are a 100 time more cringeworthy than extreme Mullahs. Can't get more cringeworthy than that :facepalm:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="es"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Indian media taking a myopic view is selectively showing Mr. Gopal Chawla meeting COAS. Army Chief met all guests at the venue irrespective of identity. A peace initiative should not be subjected to propaganda. <a href="https://twitter.com/IndiaToday?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@IndiaToday</a> <a href="https://t.co/NMkQ17PhKn">pic.twitter.com/NMkQ17PhKn</a></p>— Maj Gen Asif Ghafoor (@OfficialDGISPR) <a href="https://twitter.com/OfficialDGISPR/status/1067751304641093633?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">28 de noviembre de 2018</a></blockquote>

This region (the SC) is hundreds of years behind western world :facepalm:

A practical solution is required yar.

See France/Germany world war I and WWII.

Need to get over hate. Blame game will never end.
Internal terrorism
Both countries suffered it.
Hydro-warfare
Future wars will be on water. Need to wake up now and find a peaceful solution to a common problem.
talk of isolating the country at all levels,
That's absurd in 2018 (election vote getting speech meme, nothing more). For example: Zionists, Trump and Saudis are trying their best to isolate Iran. It's simply impossible. Lolz, major French/other European companies are still working with Iranis.
A little nuclear attack
To what end?

Great gesture by Pakistanis. Hope we reciprocate in the form of more specialized medical treatment for sick Pak children and resumption of sporting/cultural ties at some level. Soft diplomacy needs to be given a push, let there be more people to people contacts.

[MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] @WhenSultansBowled ;

Please don't take Times Now, Republic TV and 90% of Hindi news channels (never followed Hindi ones but they have a bad reputation) seriously. They are more comedy shows than news channels, ownership is subservient to the ruling power and whatever they do is to benefit BJP/RSS. Even India Today has some war mongering, hateful anchors, chief among them being Gaurav Sawant. In fact the Hindutva sympathizers have infiltrated most of the English/Hindi news channels based in Delhi/Mumbai.

All sane Indians I know boycott these agenda driven paid bigots. I have switched over to Tamil news at home and trust me my mental health has improved a great deal. India is a vast country, English news channels have extremely low viewership (BARC ratings) and regional channels rule the roost. Even there we have so many states and regional languages that these Aaj Taks and India TVs have limited localized presence. Don't assume that most Indians share the same mindset of these North Korea style commando comic channels. Today in every single Tamil news outlet this Kartarpur development got only a fleeting mention and that too in a positive light.

I think Indian media should stop having issues with Khalistani leaders across Pakistan, the capital would be Lahore anyway.

[MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] @WhenSultansBowled ;

Please don't take Times Now, Republic TV and 90% of Hindi news channels (never followed Hindi ones but they have a bad reputation) seriously. They are more comedy shows than news channels, ownership is subservient to the ruling power and whatever they do is to benefit BJP/RSS. Even India Today has some war mongering, hateful anchors, chief among them being Gaurav Sawant. In fact the Hindutva sympathizers have infiltrated most of the English/Hindi news channels based in Delhi/Mumbai.

All sane Indians I know boycott these agenda driven paid bigots. I have switched over to Tamil news at home and trust me my mental health has improved a great deal. India is a vast country, English news channels have extremely low viewership (BARC ratings) and regional channels rule the roost. Even there we have so many states and regional languages that these Aaj Taks and India TVs have limited localized presence. Don't assume that most Indians share the same mindset of these North Korea style commando comic channels. Today in every single Tamil news outlet this Kartarpur development got only a fleeting mention and that too in a positive light.

You are right about The news channels but most regional news channels are biased ,less said about TN the better hopefully you already know where Sun Jaya Raj everyone stand.
Every news channel has a bias no doubt, but I think some newspapers are neutral Indian Express for one and no The Hindu is not neutral.

Nice try to make most indians look good.

I thought we had some real dross but this Fox news type is comical. Your post reassures me to some extent but this sensationalising is a dangerous game as lives are at stake.

You are right about The news channels but most regional news channels are biased ,less said about TN the better hopefully you already know where Sun Jaya Raj everyone stand.
Every news channel has a bias no doubt, but I think some newspapers are neutral Indian Express for one and no The Hindu is not neutral.

Yes most TN news channels have ideological/political bias. But they don't spew venom, hatred and loud nonsense like Times Now and Republic. Try watching Rahul Shivshankar or Arnab Goswami for 10 minutes and you will wonder how they can even be called journalists, our Tamil ones are at least civil and don't encourage Rwanda style campaigns against sections of society.

True ,but manipulation in a loud manner or civil manners is still manipulation.

Amit Shah is very quiet as such ,very civil in his interviews are you saying he is better than agitation leaders of Dravidian parties?

I think Indian media should stop having issues with Khalistani leaders across Pakistan, the capital would be Lahore anyway.

That's India delusion, no Khalistani talks of West Punjab, they aim for Indian parts of Punjab (bigger than the usual definition as well), listen here :

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_HcBSs74M9Y" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

That's India delusion, no Khalistani talks of West Punjab, they aim for Indian parts of Punjab (bigger than the usual definition as well), listen here :

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_HcBSs74M9Y" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Lol ,some.youtube video made by Brits is not what matters ,Lahore was capital of Sikh empire and it shall be that so chill.

True ,but manipulation in a loud manner or civil manners is still manipulation.

Amit Shah is very quiet as such ,very civil in his interviews are you saying he is better than agitation leaders of Dravidian parties?

Let us stick to journos. Manipulation in any manner is bad and FYI I am not even a fan of (biased) outlets like NDTV (especially during UPA rule), Hindu or Quint, Scroll type left wing media. Still if you ask me print medium isn't as biased as the TV/Internet medium, just my personal experience. If you talk about TV medium what Republic/Times Now type channels are doing is spreading hatred in the society and even calling for action against fellow Indian citizens, forget Pakistanis or Bangladeshis. I can never forgive them for being so vengeful against fellow Indian citizens and making them feel less, afterall they too have all rights like us guaranteed by the Constitution. This Rahul Shivshankar clown was even trying to defend the Kathua protests and casting doubt on the rape/murder, such people have no humanity and I can never put them on the same pedestal as the other 'normal' biased journalists.

Lol ,some.youtube video made by Brits is not what matters ,Lahore was capital of Sikh empire and it shall be that so chill.

They're not looking to revive Sikh empire, but to have a nation for Sikhs, two different objectives, and Sikhs are nearly exclusively in Indian Punjab, unless diaspora. That's like thinking that Jinnah would have wanted Dehli as capital of his future Islamic state. He wasn't trying to revive the Mughal legacy but aiming at a nation for Muslims.

Let us stick to journos. Manipulation in any manner is bad and FYI I am not even a fan of (biased) outlets like NDTV (especially during UPA rule), Hindu or Quint, Scroll type left wing media. Still if you ask me print medium isn't as biased as the TV/Internet medium, just my personal experience. If you talk about TV medium what Republic/Times Now type channels are doing is spreading hatred in the society and even calling for action against fellow Indian citizens, forget Pakistanis or Bangladeshis. I can never forgive them for being so vengeful against fellow Indian citizens and making them feel less, afterall they too have all rights like us guaranteed by the Constitution. This Rahul Shivshankar clown was even trying to defend the Kathua protests and casting doubt on the rape/murder, such people have no humanity and I can never put them on the same pedestal as the other 'normal' biased journalists.

I'm sure you are right, but then again I prefer fountain ink to say 9 o clock.debate and don't even know who Rahul Shivashankar is.

Arnab is a businessman, swinging as he wants , very similar to Murdoch without the creativity of course.

Cmon guys, the only way to get India to like us again is if we change our name to Bharatistan, or Hindistan.

They're not looking to revive Sikh empire, but to have a nation for Sikhs, two different objectives, and Sikhs are nearly exclusively in Indian Punjab, unless diaspora. That's like thinking that Jinnah would have wanted Dehli as capital of his future Islamic state. He wasn't trying to revive the Mughal legacy but aiming at a nation for Muslims.

Don't worry always remember ,koi Rahe na Rahe 'Raj karega Khalsa'.

I think we should take enkidu's word on it. He obviously knows more about Khalistan than all Indian posters combined.
Even though the chances are he has probably never seen a Sikh in real life let alone interacted with one.

Sikhs nearly exclusive in Punjab?
Bhai jab kuch pta nahi hai to kyun muh chalane aa jate ho.

The Pakistan High Commission on Wednesday said it has issued visas to over 220 Indian pilgrims to participate in the 310th birth anniversary celebrations of religious leader Satguru Sant Shadaram Sahib, at Sukkur in Pakistan's Sindh province from December 5-16.

Under the framework of a bilateral protocol on visits to religious shrines, Sikh and Hindu pilgrims from India visit Pakistan every year.

Shadaram Sahib, who was born in Lahore in 1708, had laid the foundation of Shadani Darbar tirth, a 300-year-old temple, in Pitafi area of Sindh.
"The Pakistan High Commission has issued visas to over 220 Hindu pilgrims from India to participate in the 310th birthday celebrations of Shiv Avtari Satguru Sant Shadaram Sahib, at Sukkur, from December 5-16," a release from the High Commission said.
Devotees from across the world visit the temple every year.
"The issuance of pilgrimage visas is in line with the Government of Pakistan's efforts for promoting visits to religious shrines and people-to-people exchanges," the High Commission said.

"It also reflects the commitment of the Pakistan government to faithfully implement the bilateral protocol on visits to religious shrines," it said.
Last month, Pakistan had given visas to more than 3,800 Sikh pilgrims to visit the country.
"Pakistan remains committed to preserving sacred religious places and providing all possible facilitation for the visiting pilgrims of all faiths," the High Commission said.

https://www.businesstoday.in/current/economy-politics/over-220-indian-pilgrims-issued-visa-by-pakistan-high-commission/story/297807.html

Pakistan Issues Visas To 139 Indian Pilgrims To Visit Katas Raj Dham

ISLAMABAD: Another group of Indian pilgrims, comprising 139 people, has been issued visas by the Pakistan High Commission in New Delhi to visit Shree Katas Raj Dham temple, in Chakwal district, from December 9-15, 2018. The Pakistan-India Protocol on Visits to Religious Shrines (1974) governs reciprocal visits by Indian and Pakistani pilgrims to designated shrines in Pakistan and India, the Pakistan High Commission in New Delhi said.

Accordingly, a large number of Sikh and Hindu yatrees from India visit Pakistan to observe various religious festivals every year.

Similarly, Zaireen (pilgrims) from Pakistan visit India to pay obeisance at the shrines of various Sufi saints in India.

In November, more than 3800 Sikh yatrees from India were granted visas to visit Pakistan for the 549th birthday anniversary of Baba Guru Nanak.

During their visit, the historic initiative of “Kartarpur Corridor” was launched and the ground-breaking ceremony on the Pakistan side of the International Border was performed by Prime Minister Imran Khan on November 28, 2018 in the presence of the visiting Sikh Jatha from India.

Subsequently, over 220 Indian pilgrims received visas to visit famous Hindu temple, Shadani Darbar, in Sukkur.

These yatrees are continuing their pilgrim.

Katas Raj, is one of the holiest places for the Hindu community in Pakistan.

The temples form a complex surrounding a pond named Katas which is regarded as sacred by the devotees.

Speaking on the occasion, Pakistan’s High Commissioner Sohail Mahmood said that the issuance of visas for yet another group of pilgrims from India was consistent with the Government of Pakistan’s policy of promoting visits to religious shrines and was a reflection of Pakistan’s commitment to faithfully implement the 1974 Protocol.

He added that Pakistan remained committed to providing all possible facilitation for the visiting pilgrims and strengthening people-to-people exchanges between the two countries.

https://www.thenews.com.pk/latest/4...ilgrims-granted-pakistan-visa-to-visit-temple

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Inner voice & what i learnt from the light house of my life - Baba Nanak !!<br>Part - 1 <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/7LihVtLKeB">pic.twitter.com/7LihVtLKeB</a></p>— Navjot Singh Sidhu (@sherryontopp) <a href="https://twitter.com/sherryontopp/status/1073924857442811904?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 15, 2018</a></blockquote>

Will Kartarpur Corridor Lay Road for India-Pakistan Dialogue?

Former Ambassador to Turkey MK Bhadrakumar speaks about the Kartarpur corridor, and India’s relations with Pakistan. He also discusses the situation in Afghanistan, as US President Donald Trump desperately attempts to withdraw from the country.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/iJpk5U9af1g" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

India has been clean bowled by Pakistan on kartarpur. According to him the India has lost plot when it comes to engaging with Pakistan.

The insurgency or uproar in Kashmir is not supported or fumed by Pakistan and it has completely become indigenous where even 14 year young boys are picking up guns.

If there is political will you can go on a very long journey and you can go very far, a good relation with Pakistan or India is the most popular topic of the public opinion in both the countries.

I have lived in that country (Pakistan) and when you go to any shop and they know you are from India they refuse to take the money.

As far as the Pakistani Political elite is concerned, India is no longer a contentious issue there- no one is fighting an election or any bye-poll as India a topic. We (India) look so immature here that even the major political party like BJP and tall leaders drag Pakistan into the Indian Elections.

Pakistan is on a different level now, the discourses in Pakistan are not about India but their discourses are about not missing a chance of a lifetime to optimally make use of their geography, their immense untapped resources with its huge investments coming from China and the primacy that is attached to the Pakistani policies by the international community as evident from the U-turn that President Trump took, its a telling example of everyone wanting to have a relationship with Pakistan.The colossal failure of our policy to Isolate Pakistan which we have now realized is completely unrealistic and a futile effort to even do that.

They (Pakistan) are on a different journey now and I don't think we should have missed it when the first signals came from the Army chief seeking reconciliation with India and I though at that time without acknowledgment that some meaningful back channel conversation would have began.

HIGHLIGHTS
The passenger terminal building will be built at a cost of Rs. 190 crore
50 acres of land has been identified and will be developed in two phases
The complex will have all necessary amenities to facilitate pilgrims

India will construct a "state-of-the-art" passenger terminal building for the Kartarpur corridor at a cost of Rs. 190 crore, officials said Saturday.

The passenger terminal building (PTB) complex will have all the necessary passenger amenities to facilitate pilgrims intending to visit the Kartarpur Sahib Gurdwara, located across the border in Pakistan.

Ministry of Home Affairs has approved a detailed plan for construction of a "state-of-the-art" PTB complex at the Kartarpur Sahib corridor, an official at the ministry said.

The approval came following the cabinet decision in November 2018 to develop the Kartarpur corridor from Dera Baba Nanak in Gurdaspur district in Punjab to the International Border.

The Land Ports Authority of India (LPAI), which is mandated to build and operate integrated check posts along the land borders of the country, has reportedly been entrusted with this work and has been directed to complete the work on a fast track basis, before the 550th birth anniversary of Guru Nanak Dev in November 2019.

The design and quality parameters have been prepared keeping in view the aspirations and religious sentiments of the followers of Guru Nanak Dev, the official said.

Fifty acres of land has been identified for the purpose and will be developed in two phases.

"Phase 1 will be developed over 15 acres for which the process of land acquisition has already commenced," another official said.

The PTB complex to be developed in the first phase is proposed to have a fully air-conditioned building of approximately 21,650 sq metres built-up area.

The PTB complex is expected to be constructed at a cost of Rs. 190 crore, the official said.

The design of the PTB complex has been inspired by the symbol "Khanda" which represents values of oneness and humanity, he said.

The disabled-friendly building will display murals and photographs based on rich Indian cultural values with eye soothing landscaping.

It will have adequate immigration and customs clearance facilities to process the smooth movement of approximately 5,000 pilgrims per day, the official said, adding that the complex will have open areas for kiosks, cloakrooms and adequate parking space.

The passage up to the zero point on the International border will be covered.

In addition, a 300-feet-high monumental flagpole bearing the tricolour will be erected at the International Border, the official said.

The phase II will cover development of a visitors gallery, a hospital, accommodation for pilgrims and expanded amenities.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/ind...tarpur-corridor-2005206?pfrom=home-topstories

Pakistan regrets India's decision not to issue visas to journalists for Kartarpur meeting

The Foreign Office on Wednesday expressed disappointment at the Indian government's decision to not issue visas to Pakistani journalists to cover tomorrow's meeting on the Kartarpur Corridor.

A Pakistani delegation will visit India tomorrow [March 14]. Indian and Pakistani officials will meet at Attari, near Amritsar, according to Indian media. This will be followed by a visit to Islamabad of an Indian delegation on March 28.

Earlier in January, Pakistan had shared its draft of the proposed agreement on the Kartarpur Corridor with India and called for initiation of negotiations for its finalisation. In February, after a bit of wrangling over the venue of the talks, the two countries had agreed in principle on reciprocal visits of officials for negotiating and finalising the agreement.

"Regrettable that India has not given visas to Pakistani journalists for the Kartarpur meeting tomorrow," said Dr Mohammad Faisal, spokesperson of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, on Wednesday via Twitter.

He added: "Hope the #PakKartarpurSpirit and meeting tomorrow will bring a change for the better for people of both countries."

In another tweet, Dr Faisal pointed out that the groundbreaking ceremony of the Kartarpur Corridor in Pakistan last year was covered by more than 30 Indian journalists.

"They also met Prime Minister Imran Khan and were hosted by Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi for a dinner during their stay,"he added.

Earlier this month, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs reaffirmed its commitment to continuing negotiations on proposed Kartarpur Corridor agreement and announced that the two neighbouring countries would exchange visits by their respective delegations.

The announcement came a week after the Indian Air Force (IAF) violated Pakistani airspace following the Feb 14 attack targeting Indian security forces in Indian-occupied Kashmir's Pulwama area.

Two intruding IAF jets were later downed by Pakistan and a pilot was captured only to be released as a unilateral goodwill gesture.

Amidst rhetoric by Indian officials in the aftermath of the attack, Pakistan had called back its high commissioner in India for consultations on Feb 18. The high commissioner returned to India last week as tensions began to defuse after intervention by influential world capitals.

Kartarpur Corridor
The groundbreaking ceremony of the corridor in Pakistan was performed last year on Nov 28. Indian government had sent two cabinet ministers — Minister for Food Processing Industries Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs Shri Hardeep Singh — to participate in the ceremony.

In January, Pakistan had shared its draft of Kartarpur Corridor Accord with India and invited its delegation for a visit for negotiating the document, which would govern operations of the corridor meant to provide visa-free access to Indian Sikh pilgrims to the Gurdwara in Kartarpur Sahib (Narowal district). The corridor is planned to be opened for Sikh pilgrims this year in commemoration of the 550th birth anniversary of Baba Guru Nanak, the founder of Sikhism.

India, however, instead of accepting the proposal on that occasion, insisted on hosting the meeting and asked Pakistani officials to visit Delhi either on Feb 26 or March 7. Although the counter-proposals from Islamabad and Delhi had given the impression of a sort of standoff on the issue, Islamabad had, instead of reacting to the position taken by India in response to its original suggestion, vowed to “take the process forward”.

“We welcome the visit of Pakistan team to discuss and finalise modalities for facilitating visit of pilgrims through Kartarpur Sahib Corridor to India. Follow up meeting can be held in Pakistan, as required,” Indian External Affairs Ministry spokesperson Raveesh Kumar had tweeted on Feb 7, after the March meeting was finalised by the two sides.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1469399/p...ue-visas-to-journalists-for-kartarpur-meeting

Pakistan gives green signal to open Sharda Temple Corridor for Hindu pilgrims

Following the Kartarpur Corridor – a project that connects Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Pakistan’s Narowal district with Dera Baba Nanak in India’s Gurdaspur District – Islamabad on Monday gave a green single to open Sharda Temple Corridor in Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) for Hindu pilgrims, particularly in the neighbouring country.

According to Express News, sources in the ministry of foreign affairs said India’s foreign ministry already sent a proposal to open the corridor in this regard.
“After Kartarpur, a piece of big news is in the offing for Hindus. Some of the government officials will visit the area and will later submit a report to the prime minister,” said the sources at the ministry of foreign affairs.

Sharda temple is one of the most ancient temples of Hindus. This temple is about 5,000 years old which was established in 237 BC during the reign of Maharaja Ashoka. Close to the temple, there is a pond called ‘Madomati’ – its water is as sacred to the community members as the water of Katasraj temple.

“Pakistan has decided to open the Sharda temple. I am going to visit the place in a couple of days. I will also send a report in this regard to Prime Minister Imran Khan. Work on the project will start from the current year after which Hindus in Pakistan will also be able to visit the site,” Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) member of the National Assembly (MNA) Dr Ramesh Kumar told the Express News.

Last year, Prime Minister Imran Khan had performed ground-breaking of four kilometres-long Kartarpur Corridor in Narowal. The ceremony was followed by religious rituals of the Sikh community. The corridor will facilitate the Sikh pilgrims visiting their most sacred sites in Pakistan.

Source: https://tribune.com.pk/story/1936872/1-pakistan-gives-green-signal-sharda-temple-corridor/

Pakistan regrets India's decision to postpone upcoming Kartarpur meeting

Pakistan regrets India's decision to postpone the upcoming Kartarpur meeting [on April 2] "jointly agreed by both sides" on March 14, said Dr Mohammad Faisal, the spokesperson of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, following a statement from India's Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) on Friday.

"The meeting was to discuss and find consensus on outstanding issues," he said on Twitter.

"Last minute postponement without seeking views from Pakistan and especially after the productive technical meeting on March 19 is incomprehensible."

Dr Faisal's response comes shortly after New Delhi said it had "sought clarifications from Pakistan on key proposals put forward by India at the last meeting held in Attari to discuss the modalities of the Kartarpur Sahib Corridor".

The statement by the Indian ministry had added that "the next meeting on the modalities can be scheduled at an appropriate time after receiving Pakistan’s response".

According to the statement by MEA, "India has shared concerns and sought clarifications on reports that controversial elements have been appointed by Pakistan to a committee to be associated with the Kartarpur Corridor." However, it did not elaborate on what 'controversial elements' it was referring to.

On Wednesday, Radio Pakistan reported that the Federal Cabinet had constituted a ten-member Pakistan Sikh Gurdwara Prabandhak Committee (PSGPC) to facilitate Sikh pilgrims after opening of Kartarpur Corridor.

Meanwhile, India has also proposed in its statement that the infrastructure development for the corridor should go forward and "in an expeditious manner."

"India has proposed to hold another meeting of technical experts in mid-April to resolve outstanding issues at the zero point agreed to at the last meeting," the statement further clarified.

According to the MEA, the Indian government "remains committed to realise the long pending demand of the Indian pilgrims to visit the holy Gurudwara Kartarpur Sahib using the corridor in a safe, secure, smooth and easy manner."

Earlier in the day, the FO had invited Indian media to apply for visas to cover the April 2 meeting at Wagha.

"Pakistan welcomes Indian media for the Kartarpur Corridor meeting at Wagah on April 2, 2019. They may apply to Pakistan High Commission in New Delhi for visas #PakKartarpurSpirit," tweeted Dr Faisal.

This was in contrast to India's refusal to allow Pakistani journalists to cover the last meeting on the Kartarpur Corridor held at Attari.

Kartarpur Corridor negotiations
The Kartarpur Corridor is expected to provide visa-free access to Indian Sikh pilgrims to the Gurdwara in Kartarpur Sahib — a small town in Narowal, 4 kilometres from the Pakistan-India border, where Sikhism founder Baba Guru Nanak spent the last 18 years of his life.

The corridor is planned to be opened for Sikh pilgrims this year in commemoration of the 550th birth anniversary of Baba Guru Nanak. The groundbreaking of the project on the Pakistani side was performed by Prime Minister Imran Khan at Kartarpur Sahib on Nov 28, 2018.

In January, Pakistan had shared its draft of Kartarpur Corridor Accord with India and invited its delegation for a visit for negotiating the document

India, however, instead of accepting the proposal on that occasion, insisted on hosting the meeting and asked Pakistani officials to visit Delhi either on Feb 26 or March 7. Although the counter-proposals from Islamabad and Delhi had given the impression of a sort of standoff on the issue, Islamabad had, instead of reacting to the position taken by India in response to its original suggestion, vowed to “take the process forward”.

Earlier this month, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs reaffirmed its commitment to continuing negotiations on proposed Kartarpur Corridor agreement and announced that the two neighbouring countries would exchange visits by their respective delegations.

The announcement came amidst an escalation of tension between the two sides with the Indian Air Force (IAF) violated Pakistani airspace following the Feb 14 attack targeting Indian security forces in Indian-occupied Kashmir's Pulwama area. Two intruding IAF jets were later downed by Pakistan and a pilot was captured only to be released as a unilateral goodwill gesture.

On March 14, officials from Pakistan and India agreed to expedite work to operationalise the Kartarpur Corridor after talks on the matter concluded on a cordial note in Attari, India.

Delegations of Pakistani and Indian technical experts met on March 19 at the the proposed zero points to discuss and finalise the development of the Kartarpur Corridor. It was decided after this meeting that both sides will present surveys and maps for border fencing and developmental work on the Dera Baba Nanak-Kartarpur Sahib corridor to their respective governments.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1472628/p...cision-to-postpone-upcoming-kartarpur-meeting

Another slap on Imran's peace begging face. If there would have ppp then peoples would have titled them traitor so earlier.