[VIDEOS/PICTURES] The sorry state of Pakistan sports journalism

He holds clout because he works for a big channel who happens to be the owner of the biggest franchise in the PSL.

And that indeed is where the problem lies.

They think they own the PCB, they think they can misbehave, they think they can do whatever they want to.

PCB are too blame also

Because of lobbies and political pressures, some of these journalists are not only being allowed in the room but also given first preference to ask questions where they bad mouth our captain

PCB are too blame also

Because of lobbies and political pressures, some of these journalists are not only being allowed in the room but also given first preference to ask questions where they bad mouth our captain

Case in point:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Question "you've been unable to win any of the last 8 Tests at home. Do you think you should step down as Test captain?"<br><br>Babar Azam "it's the white-ball series now. The Test series is finished. If you have a question about the ODI series, ask it"<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvNZ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvNZ</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1612075652307361793?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 8, 2023</a></blockquote>

If Babar has an iota of self respect and a desire to take ownership of the teams results, he should step down as captain.

Only in Pakistan will you find individuals clinging on to the captaincy even tho the team is losing left, right and centre

Isn't this what these mafia want?
Karachi media mafia wants to somehow push Sarfraz on the captaincy seat.

One can't just keep running away from the field, if there is trouble fight it out.

Guess this tweeter does not classify as a journalist but it does show the quality of info which people can believe and be misled by

DAg95ln.png

Former PCB CE Wasim Khan speaking in an interview about Pakistan media:

"I kind of got an understanding, right from the beginning, that it was going to be tough. And unfortunately that didn't let up. Throughout my whole three years in Pakistan, cricket, as I say, there's certain media elements. I would call it envy, probably call it jealousy.

"The fact is that there was a certain culture that existed with the media through previous regimes. But I came from a different school of thinking. My view was that you have cordial your relationships with media, but if they expected me to be giving them inside tracks and inside information on a daily basis, that's not how I worked.

There were also lots of perks and privileges that certain elements of the media were getting prior to me arriving such as trips to Dubai and various other places. And it was done as a sense of protection.

So we - Ehsan Mani and I - looked at that. Ehsan had been a former president of the ICC, a hugely respected guy, very professional individual, who took me to Pakistan.

We both looked at it and we said, why are we spending money on this? Just to keep them happy? So, they write nice stories about you? Because a lot of these people as well, they're not actually sports journalists, they are just journalists.

So when they deal with sensationalism and when they deal with looking to make stories rather than report on stories, it's because they don't have the journalistic backgrounds to write in cricket.

So their bread and butter is scandal, bread and butter is sensationalism."

Am pretty sure some of these guys in India now are on PCB tickets which makes no sense and also speaks volumes on the integrity of the journalists themselves. No wonder we see such weak questioning of Pakistan team in pressers.

Fans are also to be blamed aswell as they back such journalist.

Ijazz Butt was also targetted and he was a guy who did not pay heed to these journalists. Infact, he fired alot of staff of PCB that were of no value and he had the whole media against him too.

Wasim Khan had to deal with alot of media hate, that is very true

Fans are fans.

They expect news and also what they like to hear.

But for PCB to sponsor journalists to turn the new their way is not right.

The current situation right now is we have one veteran journalist thanking PCB for updating the central contracts to move certain individuals up a category, as if they personally gain something from it. The same journalist was behind the sacking of PCB’s media manager.

Zaka Ashraf and Sethi will go down on their knees when it comes to journalists.

Gutter jorunalism....but pl=ayers need to show better sense, time they invested in appointing minders. Aalso, time they give up on smartphones and use nokia 3210.

This bad journalism is rubbing salt into the wounds of having a rubbish team! Can't we do anything right? :facepalm:

How is it that only the Pak media has access to player's private calls or texts ? No other country has this much private player info known or posted publicly anywhere..
The PCB guy forwarded it to a journalist who thought it would be a good idea to show it on TV.

Thats very unprofessional and ridiculous of a cricket board to do it.. Players are employed by PCB yes but have a right to privacy.. Some of the PCB board members are a joke. Whoever leaks info on the players or the team should be outed and fired from their job

Former PCB CE Wasim Khan speaking in an interview about Pakistan media:

"I kind of got an understanding, right from the beginning, that it was going to be tough. And unfortunately that didn't let up. Throughout my whole three years in Pakistan, cricket, as I say, there's certain media elements. I would call it envy, probably call it jealousy.

"The fact is that there was a certain culture that existed with the media through previous regimes. But I came from a different school of thinking. My view was that you have cordial your relationships with media, but if they expected me to be giving them inside tracks and inside information on a daily basis, that's not how I worked.

There were also lots of perks and privileges that certain elements of the media were getting prior to me arriving such as trips to Dubai and various other places. And it was done as a sense of protection.

So we - Ehsan Mani and I - looked at that. Ehsan had been a former president of the ICC, a hugely respected guy, very professional individual, who took me to Pakistan.

We both looked at it and we said, why are we spending money on this? Just to keep them happy? So, they write nice stories about you? Because a lot of these people as well, they're not actually sports journalists, they are just journalists.

So when they deal with sensationalism and when they deal with looking to make stories rather than report on stories, it's because they don't have the journalistic backgrounds to write in cricket.

So their bread and butter is scandal, bread and butter is sensationalism."
And people got groomed by these journalists and fell for the crap, when all along they wanted free holidays from the PCB. You can see with the whole regime change and its relationships with so called journalists and TV stations that are now effectively nationalised.

Great deflection tactic by Babar’s PR team to avoid the ‘conflict of interest’ scandal

The biggest scandal since the 2010 spot fixing scandal in PCB’s history!
Which part is deflection?

Am pretty sure some of these guys in India now are on PCB tickets which makes no sense and also speaks volumes on the integrity of the journalists themselves. No wonder we see such weak questioning of Pakistan team in pressers.

It won't be a surprise looking at the state of Indian journalism.

I have never developed an interest in something apart from cricket. Grew up watching the sport and the love for the game has remained ever since.
I go to work, come back, don't have many friends so try to follow cricket updates daily.

So on my YouTube, I regularly get recommendation of videos of many sports journalists in the country. Maybe my standard of evaluation is a bit high, as I went to a good school and a top 20 University in the world but Pakistani sports journalists are the most pathetic and unprofessional people I have ever encountered/watched/heard.

The question that a Pakistani journalist asked to Virat Kohli about "pleasant moment" after the 2017 CT Final is a classic example of how much nepotism/incompetence prevails in that field.

Even on the YouTube channels that many have started now, they are just talking crap all the time. Never do any research, make a dozen factual errors and are just very casual with their work. Plus, the barameter with which they judge our cricketers they do not apply on themselves.

It's just a sad state of affairs.

This is boiling my blood.
I would take a leave from here for today otherwise might get banned for language.

To everyone unnecessarily criticizing Babar and our team, are you guys happy now? If this was a Half decent country, this journalist would be in jail and this channel suspended.

Can you guys even imagine an Indian sports journalist leaking Virat or Rohit's personal WhatsApp message? That journalist would be filtered out and boycotted indefinitely.

We don't boycott anyone- be it crooked politicans, tainted 90s cricketers, pathetic sports journalists. No wonder we as a country are in a sad state.

I would take a leave from here for today otherwise might get banned for language.

To everyone unnecessarily criticizing Babar and our team, are you guys happy now? If this was a Half decent country, this journalist would be in jail and this channel suspended.

Can you guys even imagine an Indian sports journalist leaking Virat or Rohit's personal WhatsApp message? That journalist would be filtered out and boycotted indefinitely.

We don't boycott anyone- be it crooked politicans, tainted 90s cricketers, pathetic sports journalists. No wonder we as a country are in a sad state.
How does someone get access to What's App messages. Unless they have access to the mobile phone?

What is this allegation that Rizwan and Inzimam ul Haq own a marketing company that gets player's big ad contracts. The only pre requisites from the big companies are they are currently playing in the Pak team.

Ok here is the explanation from the host of the show, Waseem Badami

In summary:

Waseem Badami is saying that just before the start of the show, 5-10 minutes before, a clip was sent by Zaka Ashraf in which he is saying that he himself is giving you that screenshot that he wants us to put that screenshot on air so Waseem Badami is saying that if that person is taking the responsibility and also giving us the permission to put it on air, we have to put it on your so that's why they use that screenshot on show. Asking for apologies now.

Ok here is the explanation from the host of the show, Waseem Badami

In summary:

Waseem Badami is saying that just before the start of the show, 5-10 minutes before, a clip was sent by Zaka Ashraf in which he is saying that he himself is giving you that screenshot that he wants us to put that screenshot on air so Waseem Badami is saying that if that person is taking the responsibility and also giving us the permission to put it on air, we have to put it on your so that's why they use that screenshot on show. Asking for apologies now.
If our caretaker Prime Minister has even the slightest of concious, he would sack Zaka Ashraf ASAP after this

These idiot journalists are making baba coming out smelling of roses. Crux of the matter is his a pathetic captain these last 3 games should be his last.

Respect for Azhar Ali on giving it back to the toxic, desperate journalist. At least Babar has achieved something of note in his life, which is a hundred times better than the armchair critics going after him, literally personally.

These idiot journalists are making baba coming out smelling of roses. Crux of the matter is his a pathetic captain these last 3 games should be his last.
Im happy for Babar to be sacked based on cricketing outcomes. He has been a poor captain across formats and his own form with the bat his poor. He has made selection choices overruling the advice of others and they have failef miserably.

He deserves to be sacked as his position is untenable.

However our media and board is manufacturing issues because they are conspiracy theorists. They would rather believe ( or make us believe) that Pakistab cricket could flourish but external factors are bringing it down.

This covers up the actual fact that the whole system rotten from top to bottom and allows them to keep pocketing brown envelopes.

Respect for Azhar Ali on giving it back to the toxic, desperate journalist. At least Babar has achieved something of note in his life, which is a hundred times better than the armchair critics going after him, literally personally.
Azhar is very humble guys, only sane person from this pannel talk sensible things .all others experts and so called journalist have hidden agenda .

In my opinion this is a clear deflection tactic

They know that the PCB is about to open an investigation into the ‘conflict of interest’ scandal today, and this could lead to some extremely shocking revelations.

The best thing to do now is to make a massive issue out of a non issue and defend Babar at all costs

what did azhar said? is there video clip of it?

He questioned the journalist and asked if you've taken permission before posting. To which the douche journalist replied it's his job to share information if he receives it i.e. leak out any dirty laundry that's available.

He isn’t supposed to ask the journalist, he should have asked the host. The host is the producer of the show and it was his decision to run with it.

The crux of the matter is that Babar and Rizwan refused some betting company to be associated in PSL. This is revenge from crooks for that

They know that the PCB is about to open an investigation into the ‘conflict of interest’ scandal today, and this could lead to some extremely shocking revelations.

The best thing to do now is to make a massive issue out of a non issue and defend Babar at all costs
What non-issue? This is a serious breach of privacy. I get it that you have to investigate. Why not wait till the WC is over? What if they reach semis then what,? Everything goes back to normal. This is pathetic. Atleast wait for the WC to be over

How do you know Babar and Zaka haven’t already agreed to leak this?

It’s Babar that was looking helpless when RL made the claim. So Babar wouldn’t mind if his reputation is in tact with a clear message stating that Babar didn’t even try to contact the chairman

The issue isn’t this, the issue is RL spreading lies

The crux of the matter is that Babar and Rizwan refused some betting company to be associated in PSL. This is revenge from crooks for that
Right so Babar and Rizwan are justified to give favours to their agency by picking a 75% Saya Corps national squad for the World Cup?

Shahid Afridi not happy with the way this chat has been leaked.

Good response by Afridi but
I remember in 2013, M. Yousaf and Shoaib Akhtar used to mock Afridi left, right and centre for not retiring and being a burden on the team.

His response was that when he will retire, unlike M.Yousaf and Shoaib Akhtar, he would come on tv and talk "positive" about the team so that the teams moral goes up. I still remember the response word to word in Urdu.

Now, sits on a tv show with the same M. Yousaf and has only negative things to say about the team and Babar Azam. Does unnecessary criticism all the time. Yeh bhi bakwas harkat hai.

That would have worked as a theory except that the journalist in question is a well-known Babar Azam hater, not known for doing any favours to Babar.

Yeah I wouldn’t be surprised if the campaign launched against the journalist in question is once again by the management company

It’s the same people going up in arms for Babar that have always done so in the past 2-3 years. Coincidence? I think not!

Babar, Rizwan and Inzamam need to be investigated for the allegations that they were selecting players in exchange for commissions
But can you not see the strong deflection campaign right now?

They want to eliminate Zaka Ashraf because of a leaked text message that basically clears the air between PCB and Babar.

InshaAllah Zaka and the PCB stays strong and get on with this investigation with sincerity. They are doing their level best for this investigation to not go ahead!

Babar, Rizwan and Inzamam need to be investigated for the allegations that they were selecting players in exchange for commissions
Investigations should be done behind closed doors not a trial by media.

The thing is our players are dumb and lack any IQ. Now if this was any other country people will think twice about dealing with these type of gutter journalists. But our players will continue to engage.

If the stories that Zaka ok'd the Babar Azam screenshots to be made public are true, then this just highlights the incompetency of the hierarchy of Pakistan cricket.

Yeah I wouldn’t be surprised if the campaign launched against the journalist in question is once again by the management company

It’s the same people going up in arms for Babar that have always done so in the past 2-3 years. Coincidence? I think not!

I know you have some personal dislike for Babar/Rizwan - Each to their own but to big-up this journo known for his sub-standard reporting is taking it to another level.

But can you not see the strong deflection campaign right now?

They want to eliminate Zaka Ashraf because of a leaked text message that basically clears the air between PCB and Babar.

InshaAllah Zaka and the PCB stays strong and get on with this investigation with sincerity. They are doing their level best for this investigation to not go ahead!
umm no.

Issue was about Problem A, and even in Law, when you have found one law being violated, you concentrate on charging the other party on that law and not try to create Problem B, Problem C or Problem D. Because everyone knows, if you start making made up problems, or made up violations, the whole case gets weak and destroyed.

What happened was, some journalist and people like you always wanted to find dirt on Rizwan, Babar and co. They found something, which was indeed an issue and hsould had been investigated, but because Your/Their neyat was not to solve the issue but go on a witch hunt, thus many more things were made up and the other party also ended up doing many violations.

This is why i told you on day 1. Issue is about conflict of interest, concentrate on that, keep discussion to that. But when things went on to other things, now the whole case will be ruined.

Standard stuff:

Spout rubbish
Put in the public domain
Get found out and proven wrong
Beg for forgiveness

The thing is our players are dumb and lack any IQ. Now if this was any other country people will think twice about dealing with these type of gutter journalists. But our players will continue to engage.
The problem is that PSL teams are affiliated to various media outlets and players feel that they have to keep those journalists happy just to keep on their good side.

Pakistani sports journalists have always had this issue to tap into cricket’s popularity and media appeal and sadly the gullible Pakistani cricketers have allowed this for way too long.

There has to be a considerable distance between the stars and the media. You cannot get too close to them and I don’t mean it in a disrespectful way but yes a journalist is just a journalist and is nowhere near the sports stars unless they really earn it over a period of time like maybe Harsha Bhogle and even he knows his limits and doesn’t try to flex his media popularity or use his inside sources for cheap publicity.

This is precisely why we had an incident where Dr Naman humiliated Shoaib Akhtar on live air. As much as so respect Dr and admire his cricketing knowledge he will never ever be 1/1000th of Shoaib Akhtar in popularity and influence.

Their media and journalists are lot worse it's just that BCCI and the players are a professional unit and don't let such stuff leak out

I dont understand all this meltdown about the leaked whatsapp message.

Firstly, Babar didn't claim that he has been trying to contact Zaka and not getting a response. It was Rashid Latif who made this claim. So the whatsapp msg leak did not tarnish Babr'a reputation or credibility any which way. Secondly, all that the msg said was that Babr said he did not contact Zaka. This is not a personal message but a work related message. There was nothing scandalous in it.

This issue is between Rashid and PCB which needs to be proved by them. Babar is just named in the controversy and not a direct party in it. PCB clarified it with Babar and put it out in public. If the msg was about Babar's personal life then it would be ethically wrong. Everyone just making a mountain out of a molehill. Somehow this looks like a diversion tactic to divert the conflict of interest scandal.

Actually no.

In the 2000s, sports journalists used to have a lot of influence as they were really close to the players. It was a two way relationship. The players used to leak out "spicy" news to these journalists and in return, the journalists would always back those players on tv and newspaper.

Afridi and Malik played for 20+ years precisely because of this reason. They always had the media backing.

Shoaib Akhtar hitting Asif with a bat was leaked to the media by Afridi. In today's time, such news would never be leaked.

Now times have changed, cricketers are associated with management companies who dictate the journalists these players can give interviews to. It's a very formal relationship with the journalists.

They don't leak out "spicy" news to sports journalists as they don't benefit in any way from whether sports journalists are on their side or not. People have stopped taking sports journalists seriously.

Every news that comes to the media comes directly from the PCB now. Problem in the current scenario Is that the board is beyond incompetent.

I dont understand all this meltdown about the leaked whatsapp message.

Firstly, Babar didn't claim that he has been trying to contact Zaka and not getting a response. It was Rashid Latif who made this claim. So the whatsapp msg leak did not tarnish Babr'a reputation or credibility any which way. Secondly, all that the msg said was that Babr said he did not contact Zaka. This is not a personal message but a work related message. There was nothing scandalous in it.

This issue is between Rashid and PCB which needs to be proved by them. Babar is just named in the controversy and not a direct party in it. PCB clarified it with Babar and put it out in public. If the msg was about Babar's personal life then it would be ethically wrong. Everyone just making a mountain out of a molehill. Somehow this looks like a diversion tactic to divert the conflict of interest scandal.
If there is no backlash about a professional message being leaked, then tomorrow we would also accept personal messages being leaked.

The most simple thing would have been for Zaka Ashraf to say Babar never called me. What was the need to give "proof". It just looks massively unprofessional.

Then after the World Cup was over, Babar could have clarified himself.

If there is no backlash about a professional message being leaked, then tomorrow we would also accept personal messages being leaked.

The most simple thing would have been for Zaka Ashraf to say Babar never called me. What was the need to give "proof". It just looks massively unprofessional.

Then after the World Cup was over, Babar could have clarified himself.
In fact if they wanted people to hear from the horses mouth the Pakistan team media manager could have taken video bite of Babar clarifying the same and posted it on YT which is anyways the favourite pastime of the team. All this chaos could have been avoided. I agree its unprofessional but people claiming Babar was victimized by leaking is message makes no sense as the msg does not hurt him in anyway. Also why is Rashid Latif silent now after making that claim. He needs to come forward and prove his claim which was the root cause of all this hallagulla.

Babar now has very good leverage due to public backlash

He can get the PCB to appoint him captain for the next 2 years or any other favors in return for him clarifying that his consent was involved in showing the WhatsApp message

Sports Journalism in Pakistan is a stuff of amateurs , there is no credible sports program in Pakistan, the journos don't have an iota of etiquette to ask players important and relevant question infact most of print media is done on heresay, Man made stories and blah blah even in electronic media there are perceptions and personal likes like some journos use to blindly propagate Shahid Afridi and belittle players like Younis Khan and Yousuf, a journo does a score program where he shows 2 day old game news and invite some Tom Dick and Harry for garbage analysis.

As far as former players being sports anchor or analyst are concerned they are a lost cause and any person who has free time or doesn't have any value of time, watches them. From Javed to Waqar to Misbah to Basit to Tanveer all are fussy and confounded

Sports Journalism in Pakistan is a stuff of amateurs , there is no credible sports program in Pakistan, the journos don't have an iota of etiquette to ask players important and relevant question infact most of print media is done on heresay, Man made stories and blah blah even in electronic media there are perceptions and personal likes like Majid Bhatti use to blindly propagate Shahid Afridi and belittle players like Younis Khan and Yousuf, Yahya Hussaini does a score program where he shows 2 day old game news and invite some Tom Dick and Harry for garbage analysis.

As far as former players being sports anchor or analyst are concerned they are a lost cause and any person who has free time or doesn't have any value of time, watches them. From Javed to Waqar to Misbah to Basit to Tanveer all are fussy and confounded

As far as I can tell Fakhar Alam seems quite reasonable, intelligent and fair.

Otherwise don't use social media etc myself so can't say.

Private messages of Babar Azam being broadcasted on television without his consent.

View attachment 138443

Babar Azam, is actively seeking advice and considering the option of pursuing legal measures against those who leaked his private conversation with a senior official from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) last month.

Insider information suggests that before his meeting with the PCB head at Lahore's National Cricket Academy (NCA), Babar Azam engaged in consultations regarding the possibility of taking legal action in response to the breach of his privacy.

As I said in another thread, nobody cares about moving the country forward.

It’s all about taking advantage of your fellow countrymen for a quick buck and shot to cheap fame.

The journalists, PM who appoints his chamcha as PCB chairman, PCB admins, board of directors, ex players, players not getting selected etc etc

We fail at cricket like with everything else because of our corrupted values, ethics and morals.

How many cricketers sold their career and the success of Pakistan winning games for a few quid? Mostly everyone is willing to stab anyone they see in the back.

The journalists as well have their favorites based on which guy’s agent or family is paying and whose isn’t.

Looks like Babar will be making a move aginst the leaking mafia.

Pls go ahead and do it. Take a break from cricket and the all important tour down under, put ur foot on the throat of this journalists and the leeches in PCB.

Australia will thrash this team without Babar in their own backyard , rmb last time it was only him and Rizwan doing the scoring , rest all are just sitting ducks for short ball.

Look at this journalist who misunderstands Zahid for Irfan Niazi. He is not even aware of the player's name. Do these guys not watch the cricket before coming to the presser and asking questions, with no homework done before?

View attachment 7M6I3Lm-8pyle7V_.mp4

Babar Azam's jibe on journalists who wrongfully use his name for creating hypes:

"Some people use my name for creating hypes. So I say, well if they do get happy from my name and if it helps them in earning their bread and butter then no worries. Let it be so"

Babar Azam's jibe on journalists who wrongfully use his name for creating hypes:

"Some people use my name for creating hypes. So I say, well if they do get happy from my name and if it helps them in earning their bread and butter then no worries. Let it be so"

Reminds me of Talha Anjum's 'Agency' lyrics

Wo hath Kaatay phir bhi hum khila rahay
Doodh aasteen ke saanp ko pila rahay

Hahaha I know whom he pointed his aim at.