[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Usman Khan, The Karachi-born batter

Hightlights of a superb 100

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/T_D6OuComH4" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>

He has two T20 centuries already despite only playing a handful of games.

Thats more than Ifti, Khushdil, Asif Ali and Shan.

He's flown under the radar so far but should be invested in.

Two centuries in 19 games is extraordinary.

Agreed. I didnt even know about him before today.

He scored a ton in the BPL against Azam Khans side ( azam scored a ton in the first innings) but nobody bothered posting about it :))

Hope he gets the backing to make the most of his audacious attitude and hitting.

How did he do in other 17 games , any consistency ?

Great knock but with the technique this guy has I really hope he is not considered for Pakistan after this one whirlwind inning. Saim, Azam and Abdullah Shafique are far better options.

Looks like a right handed Venkatesh Iyer. Superb knock, but I guess he was dropped twice today.

Intent was brilliant

He wanted to smash every ball

I just hope Pakistan can now finally move on from Babar, Rizwan and Shan taking up the batting spots from 1 to 3.

Muhammad Haris, Saim Ayub, Fakhar Zaman and Usman Khan should be competing for batting in the top 3 for Pakistan in T20Is.

He seems not international level. Would be glad to be proved wrong. Great innings today.

He didn’t look the part in the first few overs.His technique didn’t look good but he redeemed himself.He was hitting the ball sweetly.Too early to judge him.Don’t know if he can perform on quick pitches with bounce and swing.

Need to assess him after he's played more innings.

A great innings today but he shouldn't be picked for Pakistan based on just this innings.

I can almost certainly gaurentee he will be dropped for Shan in the play off or after the first play off

He has two 50's some 30 and a 40.

But a lot of single digit scores too.

Despite this its still hugely impressive.
That is more than what Asif Ali / Khusdil Shah could ever dream of.

It may be that Usman Khan has no contacts higher up. Will be surprised if he gets a chance anytime soon.

It was not a very pleasing or eye catching knock. A lot of cross bat swipes, dropped catches early on in the innings and late in the innings. I doubt if he can repeat the same against better bowling attacks.

If you watch his press conference, he was too honest in it about politics in cricket etc and that will probably be the first and last nail in the coffin for his career... watch his presser to understand the man and any hoenst players struggles where they have to sit out the whole season for parchis like shan...

It was not a very pleasing or eye catching knock. A lot of cross bat swipes, dropped catches early on in the innings and late in the innings. I doubt if he can repeat the same against better bowling attacks.

I thought he was exceptional against spin. I want to see a bigger sample size, but he looks like a good prospect for the No.4 position in t20s.

Given that the next t20 WCs are nowhere near Australia for the next few years, he's most definitely a future Pakistan middle order prospect.

However, again, we need to see his performances across a number of games.

I also want to see him score quickly again. Don't have to even be 50s, I'd love to see him hit 40s at a rapid clip.

In reply to a poster above who called Azam a scam:

How in the world is Azam a scam? A scam that won his team three matches in a row? A scam that absorbs pressure, builds an innings and then transforms his innings to go big at the right time with the most insane shots on display? A scam that is actually intelligent? We could use a few “scams” like that in our team honestly.

As for Asif Ali, the less said the better.

If you watch his press conference, he was too honest in it about politics in cricket etc and that will probably be the first and last nail in the coffin for his career... watch his presser to understand the man and any hoenst players struggles where they have to sit out the whole season for parchis like shan...

Tbh he’s a very poor bat. No way near international material at all. He is late ion anything above 120kph.

Bro, for t20s thats the kinda intention and hunger you want... plenty of guys got many games, like haider ali, qasim akram, shan, and they failed to impress, this guy got 1 game and he tonked it all over, hia jittery start was due to pressure once set he killed it single handedly... thats the kinda machomen you need in t20s not kbushdil types and stat padding openers we currently have... he showed promise, give him a run, he scores keep, fails then back'cha go to the domestics kiddo.... simple... our national t20i team has too many slow passengers...

I agree he needs to be given chances but it doesn’t change the fact he’s a poor batsmen. I will be happy if he proves me wrong.

Great century from Usman but it was the flattest of highways. Let's see if it's just a flash in the pan

in the post-match conference, the hard hitting batsman, who is settled in UAE and plays franchise cricket over there, seemed hesitant to commit to Pakistan.

"You know how uncertain conditions are in Pakistan. No one knows what will happen next. If you score in one match and don’t perform in next two matches, people start criticizing you. If you perform in another country, only then Pakistani consider you good enough. I will continue to play the way I am doing right now," Usman said.

"I didn’t get a chance to play at a higher level in Pakistan. I used to be in second XI tournaments all the time despite performing. I have played as a local player in UAE and performed well. When you don’t get opportunity to play first-class in Pakistan, you are bound to move to another country," he added.

in the post-match conference, the hard hitting batsman, who is settled in UAE and plays franchise cricket over there, seemed hesitant to commit to Pakistan.

"You know how uncertain conditions are in Pakistan. No one knows what will happen next. If you score in one match and don’t perform in next two matches, people start criticizing you. If you perform in another country, only then Pakistani consider you good enough. I will continue to play the way I am doing right now," Usman said.

"I didn’t get a chance to play at a higher level in Pakistan. I used to be in second XI tournaments all the time despite performing. I have played as a local player in UAE and performed well. When you don’t get opportunity to play first-class in Pakistan, you are bound to move to another country," he added.

I can see why he never got much of an opportunity I mean look at his technique he looks a tail ender was being rushed for pace by a 40 year umaid Asif.

Could not replay his heroics in the Qualifier - out for a stop-start 29 (28)

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/pa9lma" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

LQ innings showing it isnt an easy wicket to bat on... leta see a bit more of him... and obv when a dude is trying to be gory and terminate the bowling, things wont look pretty....

Couldn’t get a 100 this time.

Lahore has some big boundaries for sure. Even Babar Azam will struggle here.

Azam Khan has good hitting abilities and will win the match.

Wild slog in the final to be out for 18

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/x4f62e" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Speaking in an interview, Usman Khan:

“In Pakistan I felt like nobody was looking to me and I wasn’t getting a chance, so I wanted to go somewhere else for an opportunity"

“I came to UAE and have worked hard. I just want to work hard then try to make the UAE team once I am eligible."

“When corona[virus] happened, cricket went down in Pakistan and no-one was asking me to play. I decided to move to UAE for my cricket.

“My dream is not to play for Pakistan. My dream is to play for UAE. I am working hard to do that. One day I want to play against Pakistan to show them my talent. I am waiting for my time.”

“At 3.30pm I got a message from [coach] Andy Flower telling me I was playing,”

“I thought that was the best chance for me. If I could not get the runs that day, maybe the door would be closed for me."

“As we went out to bat, Rizwan told me to play my natural game. I said to him that first I have to settle, then I will play my game. I watched a couple of balls, then went for it.

“When I got that hundred, Haider and Andy Flower told me they would help me play in other leagues, too,”

“Andy has worked so hard with me, and I am very grateful to him. He has helped me hit at a strike-rate of 200, and has told me he will try for me in other leagues, too.”

“When I spoke to Andy [Russell, the national development manager for UAE cricket], I said I would make a double hundred,”

“After I made 150 [in an earlier match], Andy said, ‘You still haven’t made 200.’ I said, ‘Don’t worry, there are still four matches left, I will do it.’ Luckily, I did.”

Yaar yeh kya namuna hai?

This guy delivers interviews as if he’s dropping pipe bombs all the time

Yaar yeh kya namuna hai?

This guy delivers interviews as if he’s dropping pipe bombs all the time

Isnt it refreshing to see an unhumble, non cake cutting, not down to earth Pakistani cricketer?

One day I want to play against Pakistan to show them my talent.

What a dehati comment that is. And your dream is to play for those big timers the UAE?!! Okay Usman, whatever you say...

How different is he from those Pakistani players who are now playing in the USA and will soon be eligible to play for the USA?

Why do people get so upset by Pakistanis playing for the UAE?

How different is he from those Pakistani players who are now playing in the USA and will soon be eligible to play for the USA?

Why do people get so upset by Pakistanis playing for the UAE?

Don’t think anyone is upset about him playing for the UAE, he just doesn’t have to give interviews where it comes across as him thinking that he’s Bradman reincarnated. All the best to him for trying to make a living and fulfilling his dream to play international cricket, but his non selection for Pakistan is hardly an injustice.

Apologies if I misunderstood that sentiment.

Jungli players is what i like

Sick and tired of technically and morally correct players. We have quite a few. They bore me.

He’s not Jungli/wehshi like Roy, Butler, Bairstow, Cam Green, Maxwell type

His technique and hitting style is jungli. It’s like he has learned how to bat in a cave or something. All he did was expose how flat the wickets are in Pakistan and runs on these wickets need to be taken with a pinch of salt.

Usman Khan is the kind of guy that would be a gun in these non ECB affiliated Sunday leagues, with owners who have restaurant businesses

How this guy is playing pro standard cricket like PSL is astonishing

He won’t get into the Pakistan team, but he is capable of scoring runs against Pakistani bowlers. He will also get to live in the UAE.

He is making all the right decisions and looking after himself.

If he keeps his form up, expect this guy to be selected soon when Rizwan is made captain.

He looks like a MUCH better player than Imam.

His off-balance shots make him look like a mix of AB de Villiers and Sarfraz Ahmed. He has a good range of shots and isn’t afraid to play on the off-side.

I was shocked at seeing Usman Khan as a UAE player in today's ILT game. What's the reason for his move? believe he scored the fastest 100 in the previous PSL season. This was a talent for the taking.

Less competition, more money, decent salary and living- that is what UAE will offer you and this guy has been smart enough to see and run behind it. If the PCB ignores it, could set a dangerous precedent going forward.

I was shocked at seeing Usman Khan as a UAE player in today's ILT game. What's the reason for his move? believe he scored the fastest 100 in the previous PSL season. This was a talent for the taking.

Less competition, more money, decent salary and living- that is what UAE will offer you and this guy has been smart enough to see and run behind it. If the PCB ignores it, could set a dangerous precedent going forward.
He's a rubbish bat there 1000s better batsmen than him in Pakistan even with our pathetic standards.

He moved to UAE a fews ago and was in PSL as overseas player. Even back than he said he doesnt want to play for Pakistan as they kept ignoring him for so many years.

As for precedent, this has been going on for years since Imran Tahir moved.

There is a bowler called Kaleem Sana. He was in competation for a place in the Pakistan team with Junaid Khan but he moved to Canada and plays there. I think he will feature in the World T20 this year

He moved to UAE a fews ago and was in PSL as overseas player. Even back than he said he doesnt want to play for Pakistan as they kept ignoring him for so many years.

There is a bowler called Kaleem Sana. He was in competation for a place in the Pakistan team with Junaid Khan but he moved to Canada and plays there. I think he will feature in the World T20 this year
Kaleem Sana (pindi) was a 120kph trundler and was no way near Pak team ever , yea I know he moved to Canada in fact I have a friend in Toronto who played with him in some local league.

No he WAS not a trudler. He used to bowl in 130 - 140 kph and was on the radar of the Pakistan selectors.

Him and Junaid Khan were competing and he outperformed Junaid Khan. Eventually Kaleem got injured but moved to Canada in 2014.

Might have become a trudler now, but back than he was a real talent.

Usman was never in the race to compete for a selection in the Pakistan team. He got his limelight due to PSL. Before that, he was unknown.

Agreed.

But now with US and UAE starting lucrative T20 leagues I think the dynamics may change and more players will start to leave.

Half century for Usman Khan in PSL 9 match against Lahore Qalandars. Still going strong, can he be more explosive with the bat? MS certainly needs to press the accelerator here. Currently at 50*(31)

Usman Khan falls 4 short of his hundred 96(55)!

Says a lot when a player who was essentially rejected comes and smashes the team skippered by the national captain.

I've not seen a lot of Usman Khan, but he looks well organised and plays through the line. There's a lot of Pakistani batsmen on show who look better than the ones you usually see turning out for the national team. Shaheen has been rubbish in this tournament, his bowling is all over the place.

Usman Khan was named the Man of the Match for his blistering 96 off 55 deliveries against Lahore Qalandars

1709063460400.png

See a nobody comes in and smashes 90 plus at a very healthy SR. puts Babars century also in question. Its all fake chest thumping.

we lived together for few months, good honest guy and equally good like the players we are playing in T20is. Should get a chance if he score an innings like that again in this PSL coupled with string of good scores as well.

He looks in good touch today, 42 from 27 so far. Compensating for Rizwan's slow sr

And he brings up his 50 from 32 balls. He has scored the fastest 100 in PSL, let's see if he can step on the gas now

VdgApT6.png

It's the Usman Khan Show - Karachi edition!

He scored an unbeatable brilliant century 106*(59) for Multan Sultans against Karachi Kings, after missing out the century in the last game

He has taken only 13 innings to score 2 centuries in PSL.

Vn8SYQw.jpg

People call him a hack. But a hack doesn't get 3 centuries in franchise cricket in 2 years.

What a waste that he has went to UAE.

If we had employed a sensible rotation policy he would have had a few caps by now.

Nice to see he is still in touch with me after getting fame and fortune , really humble guy.
he has really hard done by selection politics.

I think if you add the above mentioned players, plus Adam Khan, Sahibzada Farhan, Haseebullah and Swim Ayub together then Usman still may have more centuries than them combined.

Surely he can still represent Pakistan if he hasn’t played a game for UAE?

to those wondering if he will play for Pakistan, hes already said he has no interest, he wasn't selected for domestics for years, moved to the UAE a few years ago, would be a guaranteed local for ilt20, wouldnt have to worry abt PCB NOC, and would be eligible for ipl gigs too.

good luck to him, but what a sad indictment of the mess that is Pakistan cricket.

to those wondering if he will play for Pakistan, hes already said he has no interest, he wasn't selected for domestics for years, moved to the UAE a few years ago, would be a guaranteed local for ilt20, wouldnt have to worry abt PCB NOC, and would be eligible for ipl gigs too.

good luck to him, but what a sad indictment of the mess that is Pakistan cricket.

Still has a Pakistani passport so doubt he will get an IPL gig? The other Pakistanis that played IPL I think gave up their Pakistani passport or had dual citizenship?

Batter Usman Khan is flying to the UAE today to attend a personal matter. He will miss Multan Sultans' 5 March fixture against Peshawar Zalmi at the Pindi Cricket Stadium.

Usman is scheduled to join the team in Islamabad ahead of the 10 March game against Islamabad United.

What's even funnier is that Shan Masood who has been Pakistan's captain was playing in the same match and didn't look fit to lace Usman's boots. I've seen school cricket teams run more professionally than PCB.