[VIDEOS] Sarfaraz Khan - Another batting talent from India

This is what upsets me the most.When somebody says X,Y,Z is a future prospect on the basis of IPL performance.
What has Bisla done ?
Why is Manish Pandey still not a part of the national squad ?
Where are Paul Valthaty and Swapnil Asnodkar ?
What is Manpreet Gony doing ?
What about Aditya Tare ?

Where is Shadab Jakati ?
Soon to be added... Sarfaraz Khan,Chahal,Surya kumar Yadav,Bumrah etc etc
IPL success rarely translates into international success be it t20,ODI or tests.It has been 8 years and yet we fail to realize it.

Ye sab team mein ayenge toh Manoj Tiwary,Uthappa,KL Rahul,Hanuma Vihari,Kedar Jadhav kahan jayenge ??

Pretty much this . Please stop hyping players based on 1 inning in a garbage league.

India should send a team to the World T20 with just the best Indian performers of the last 2-3 IPL seasons and see how they fare. Not take into account their names or international pedigree. For eg. if Kohli isn't part of the best 11 statisticially though IPL then so be it.

Would love to see how the team fares

For all we know the team could get a first round knockout but with a WT20 every 2 yrs I feel its worth sacrificing one tournament to see where do these guys stand

That will be a disaster of epic proportions.

If he's half as good as Sarfaraz Ahmed, he'll be a decent player.

If the IPL is the measuring stick for future talent then Sohail Tanvir should be the best bowler the World has ever seen by now.

IPL = no measurement for future success
IPL = Bollywood, Medicore Cricket, Rich men getting richer

If the IPL is the measuring stick for future talent then Sohail Tanvir should be the best bowler the World has ever seen by now.

IPL = no measurement for future success
IPL = Bollywood, Medicore Cricket, Rich men getting richer

is U-19 WC good for judging talent?He was pretty good there at the age of 16

Doesn't look anything special to be honest. His technique isn't really flattering. Slogger, as they say.

Isn't fit at all and unless with that structure he can field he is going to be a burden in International cricket for India as we have considerably improved our fielding.

Excellent innings by Sarfraz yesterday , he showed some real chutzpah for a 17 year old.He should lose some weight if he wants to get in to the national team eventually , right now he looks like a bloated bag of meat.

He is not 17. I remember in Indian forum people were discussing how his father and he cheated his age. He is definitely not 17.

Another kid's parent had complained about his age to the MCA (Mumbai Cricket Association) since his age did not match that of the school records. So, they conducted a bone density test on him.

And guess what? His age was proved to be legitimate. He has undergone six bone tests since 2008.

Played an absolutely rubbish innings of 8(8) when the RR was less than 10.
A lot of mistimed scoops and wild slogs in such a short stay.
One could clearly see that the previous knock had got to him.

Clearly nowhere near Yusuf Pathan let alone :srt

Played an absolutely rubbish innings of 8(8) when the RR was less than 10.
A lot of mistimed scoops and wild slogs in such a short stay.
One could clearly see that the previous knock had got to him.

Clearly nowhere near Yusuf Pathan let alone :srt

Don't judge by a few innings alone.

Admitted.But it works both ways.
I have no problem that he scored only 8.
But his approach was garbage.
He doesnt have a lot of shots and hence resorts to scoops and ramp shots.Very limited ability compared to real talents like Samson,Iyer etc

However, he is very very young (officially) and can improve.This I cant argue much about.

o Come on.
-
45*
-
-
14*

what a talent he is :facepalm:
he is only 17, give him time sooner he will become hack like other IPL super heroes ...

then i hope you remember Ishant sharma,
UNLIKE the pakistani boys, lol ..

Ishant Sharma is the most hardworking bowler in India.Its unfortunate that it has not paid off yet.

He has also won India the Champions Trophy unlike the PAKISTANI BOYS who are huffing and puffing to qualify for it :D

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravindra Jadeja
Ambati Rayudu
Mohit Sharma
Akshar Patel

Some of the IPL finds who did well in ODIs too

Jadeja, Ashwin and Rayudu are not IPL finds. They've been around longer than that.

No one noticed Ashwin till he performed in IPL .Selectors kept picking Harbajan despite Ashwin performance for TN.

So yes Ashwin is find of IPL

He's indian! and indians know how to enhance a batting talent... unless he doesn't have the personality to improve I am sure the indians would make him special .. he has a good hand eye coordination saw him at ease in under 19 world cup and had time for his shots ... if it was pakistan i would assume he would be destroyed by the age of 20 ...

Our MSD replacement . He will be take over the finishers role in the Indian team .

He's indian! and indians know how to enhance a batting talent... unless he doesn't have the personality to improve I am sure the indians would make him special .. he has a good hand eye coordination saw him at ease in under 19 world cup and had time for his shots ... if it was pakistan i would assume he would be destroyed by the age of 20 ...

He knows that if he doesnt improve then he will be left behind and someone else will take their chance. The reality is that he will be competing with around 15 good players for the 4 middle order batting slots
whereas in PK, a young talent is normally wasted because they either lack the intelligence and work ethic to improve their game( Ahmed Shahzed, Umer Akmal, Imran Farhat, Tufeeq Umer etc), and combined with poor domestic pitches and dreadful standards of bowling, they just dont develop.

If it was Pakistani he would destroy himself by age 20.

Fixed :)

He knows that if he doesnt improve then he will be left behind and someone else will take their chance. The reality is that he will be competing with around 15 good players for the 4 middle order batting slots
whereas in PK, a young talent is normally wasted because they either lack the intelligence and work ethic to improve their game( Ahmed Shahzed, Umer Akmal, Imran Farhat, Tufeeq Umer etc), and combined with poor domestic pitches and dreadful standards of bowling, they just dont develop.

If it was Pakistani he would destroy himself by age 20.

Fixed :)

NO what really happens is a batting talent is thrown in as a cure of all pakistani batting woes!! made to play roles hes ill suited for ... dragged to dirt ,,,, miracles then are expected of him and he is constantly reminded how he is a failure based on his talent! and then discarded only to be recalled after a week :P

Or what really happens is, he starts with a bang, then oppositions figure him out, he starts playing random slogs in desperation, and gets demoted down the order, continues whining about injustices and because the fans support their likes blindly; they also start whining about injustices meted to such a player, and everyday
is just constant nonsense about how a great talent was destroyed.

This is what happens in a state with no personal accountability.

The blame game and moving on.

Or what really happens is, he starts with a bang, then oppositions figure him out, he starts playing random slogs in desperation, and gets demoted down the order, continues whining about injustices and because the fans support their likes blindly; they also start whining about injustices meted to such a player, and everyday
is just constant nonsense about how a great talent was destroyed.

This is what happens in a state with no personal accountability.

The blame game and moving on.

lol i guess its a mix and match both the cases mentioned by me and you do happen! and again its mostly to do with no foresight or accountability...

It's funny how we complain about our fast bowling talent the same way you complain about your batting talent. Sarfaraz Khan most likely wouldn't have the right guidance and environment to develop as a competent international-level batsman if he were in Pakistan. Similarly, a lot of young fast bowlers probably don't get the right guidance growing up in India, with more emphasis on line and length rather than speed.

Did well yesterday lets see how he plays on bigger grounds against Pune or KKR.

He played well even on green mambas dished by Bangladesh in u19 WC.. I have high hopes from him.. He can be our finisher for future..

He needs to lose the fat though

The Taximen's Colony in Kurla has worn a busy look since Saturday evening. Friends, neighbours and relatives are trickling in to find out how life has changed for Sarfaraz Khan, the most popular lad of the housing society.

Plonking himself down on the sofa in his modest 1 BHK home, the 17-year-old feasts on the famous chicken pakoras of his locality. "Yahaan ka famous dish hai," he says while keeping an eye on the recordings of his knocks in Royal Challengers Bangalore colours. Keeping him company are his dad, Naushad Khan and younger brothers Moeen and Musheer.

"I never thought I would get to play so many (13) games. I was hoping to get a couple of games before being asked to pack my bags and leave for home. For me, just sharing the dressing room with Virat bhaiyya, AB (de Villiers) bhaiyya and (Chris) Gayle bhaiyya was enough, but I was lucky to get so many opportunities."
The 17-year-old right-hander went out to bat on eight occasions. In all, he tallied 111 runs with a best of 45 not out against Rajasthan Royals early in the tournament. The finisher also had four not-outs to show for his efforts. He averaged a tad below 28 and his strike-rate was a phenomenal 156.33.

Known to be slightly rotund and happy about it, Sarfaraz is serious about his diet these days. But the pakoras keep coming. The general perception has been that he looks fat on screen, but he is actually that plump. "I weighed 84 kg before the IPL. Now, I am 80. My aim is to lose another 5 kg before the next IPL," he says.

And he looks up to none other than captain Virat Kohli. "He is so fit. I have never seen him eat junk food. He is very concerned about his fitness. I saw him eat beetroot and some fruit or vegetable juice in the morning. He keeps eating dry fruits or ragi chips, which he also gifted me," he says before showing off a packet of crisps.

"I too have started following a particular diet. I have stopped eating rice or roti even though I can have rice and just live on roasted chicken and fish," he adds.

Coming back to his cricket, Sarfaraz says he never expected that this IPL would change his luck. "I just wanted to get the feel of being with the big players. I wanted to learn something from them. However, I got a lot of confidence when I hit a 32-ball 80 in one of the practice games and they were happy with me," he says.

The two knocks that made Sarfaraz a sensation were a 38-ball 45 against Rajasthan Royals and a 21-ball 31 against Chennai Super Kings in the Qualifier 2 that RCB lost. "That 45 is my favourite innings. I love watching Rajasthan play and scoring against them gave me a different high," he says.

In the same game, Kohli acknowledged the knock with a namaste. "He said 'namaste ji, kya baat hai ji'. He was very happy. I had a different perception of Virat before joining the team. I thought he must have a lot of attitude and would always be angry which is what people would say or write about him. But he is a different man altogether. A very nice and humble man and a great leader," Sarfaraz adds.

Elaborating his Qualifier 2 knock against CSK, Sarfaraz says, "It was tough one. Daniel (Vettori) sir had said that 130 should be good on this slow and low track. So I played patiently without trying too much," says Sarfaraz.

Talking about his RCB teammates, he is all praise for Gayle, de Villiers, Darren Sammy and Kohli. "Gayle bhai and AB bhai are the most chilled out. I would hang out with them. I took a lot of selfies, especially with Gayle. Even now, he texted me a picture where you can see the back of our jerseys," he adds.

Sarfaraz chatted a lot with his idol de Villiers. "AB is all about power and timing. His bat is not that huge. In fact, he doesn't need a big bat. He was impressed with the shots that I played especially with the 'ulta' shot (reverse sweep with back of the bat). He told me even he was trying to perfect that shot," Sarfaraz reveals.

Not just that, Sarfaraz enjoyed facing one of the world's best bowlers in Mitchell Starc. In the nets, that is. "I thought if I could face Starc in the nets, then I could handle anyone.

He never bowled the short ball as he knew I would play the upper cut," he adds. "Sammy was fun to be with. If the atmosphere in the dressing room was tense, he would crack some joke and everybody would start laughing," he says.

Didn't he find any problems with the language while communicating with the foreign players, especially their accents? "No. I could easily understand what they said," he says.

Every time we saw Sarfaraz on the telly, we saw him furiously chewing gum. "Sir Viv Richards used to chew gum. I am a big fan of his batting. Abba used to tell me how great he was. I watch his videos regularly and seek inspiration from him," he says.

Even as journalists start pouring in for bytes and demand that he stand next to the brand new SUV — a Renault Duster — with his aviators on, Sarfaraz gets all hesitant. "I wanted to buy this for my abba," he says, pointing to the vehicle. As far as sunglasses go, I don't know what people will think," he says before reluctantly wearing his sunglasses.

The youngster doesn't know what is his next plan. "I don't know. Maybe I will go to the National Cricket Academy or get back to normal training at Azad Maidan."

After showing his talent in the IPL, Sarfaraz has set sights on the longer format of the game. "That is important. I want to do better in the longer format. I will work hard this season to make a return to the Mumbai Ranji Trophy side," he concludes.

http://www.dnaindia.com/sport/report-i-want-to-do-better-in-the-longer-format-sarfaraz-khan-2088805

He definitely looked slimmer compared to last IPL season. I am sure he will look more slimmer in coming years.

He has moved to UP Ranji side probably to get a chance early lets see how he does.

Hoping to see him in LOI and T20 team soon. Raina and some seniors are not doing well these days. Given an opportunity for Sarfraz and Manish Pandey.

Sarfaraz is immensely talented, but he's had performances like the one he had against Rajasthan in other IPLs only to not kick on.

Lets see what he does throughout the tournament.

Young Indian batsman Sarfaraz Khan hit his maiden triple hundred in Ranji Trophy as he led Mumbai's fightback against Uttar Pradesh at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday.

Sarfaraz Khan became only the 7th Mumbai batsman to hit a triple hundred in Ranji Trophy. He joins an elite list of Mumbai batsmen that include Sunil Gavaskar, Sanjay Manjrekar, Wasim Jaffer, Rohit Sharma, Vijay Merchant and Ajit Wadekar.

Sarfraz's 301 not out was only the 8th instance of a Mumbai batsman scoring a Ranji Trophy triple hundred. Veteran batsman Wasim Jaffer is the only batsman from the Ranji team to hit a triple hundred twice.

Mumbai were in a spot of bother against Uttar Pradesh as they were 128 for 4 at point in time in reply to Uttar Pradesh's massive total of 625.

However, Sarfaraz Khan and Siddesh Lad rescued Mumbai with a 210-run stand. Sarfaraz ended up hitting 30 boundaries and 8 sixes as he remained unbeaten on 301 from 391 balls. Mumbai secured a 63-run lead but the Ranji Trophy match ended up in a draw. Captain and wicketkeeper-batsman Aditya Tare also chipped in with 97 while impressive all-rounder Shams Mulani shone with a quick 65.

Notably, Sarfaraz Khan had struck the triple hundred against his former Ranji Trophy team. Sarfaraz, who hails from Mumbai, had played for Uttar Pradesh before moving to Mumbai at the start of last season. He had scored 44 against Mumbai at the Wankhede in 2015.

"I was just delighted and would like to thank MCA for giving me another chance. It [century] was due for a long time. I am glad I scored my first century for Mumbai," Sarfaraz told Mid-Day after completing his hundred on Tuesday.

"It was daddy's [coach Naushad Khan] decision [to play for UP]. I still remember when I was leaving for UP and packing my Mumbai Ranji team's clothing, I was literally crying because of my love for Mumbai. I never thought I would play for Mumbai again. I still can't believe I came back and played for Mumbai. It's like a dream."

Sarfaraz has been consistent so far in the ongoing Ranji Trophy season with scores of 8 and 71 not out against Karnataka and 31 against Tamil Nadu in a low-scoring encounter.

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...list-gavaskar-rohit-sharma-1639152-2020-01-22

He has improved his physique a lot if you check the article.
Hopefully he improves more and tries for the middle order!

He is an old school cricketer from teh 80s .I have to say he has missed the bus. With plethora of batting talent around, it is very difficult to identify who would make it in the big stage. India has to do a lot of iteration. It is very hard for yesteryear prodigies to make the cut.

I Remember in the first (or maybe 2nd IPL) there was also a similarly named guy in Shane warnes team who was a fast bowler. Do you know who he was and whatever happened to him?

Kamran khan. He was reported for chucking. Never seen again.

Even if he doesn't make it to the Indian national team, I hope he gets IPL contracts and makes enough money to have a decent life.

Isn’t he a wicket keeper, if I remember correctly from his U19 days?

If so he can still have a breakthrough

Isn’t he a wicket keeper, if I remember correctly from his U19 days?

If so he can still have a breakthrough

2016 batch. Pant was the keeper. Ironically the captain of that side was also a keeper. Isan Kishan. Sarfraz is only 22. Technically he has a chance. But with guys like P shaw, Gill around it is very hard to break through. He needed to stand out like Gill did in his first season. He is still averaging 52 in first class. But List A average is only 36. Just think about it Agarwal is averaing 50 plus in List A at a strike rate of 101. He is still nowhere close to be getting selected. Only way he can walk into Indian side is by adopting lower order role and doing well. All young cricketers should be smart about their career. They should focus on which spot is available and focus on that.

Both Shaw and Gill are top order batsmen. Our middle order is still not sorted out.

Shifting from Mumbai to UP nearly derailed his career before it even took off. Glad he has begun his road back to normalcy.

Or Iyer or Pandey fail.

Iyer should get a longer run now that he has been doing well. With or without Pandey failing he can be replaced even now. Batting position 5. If you ask Gill whether you want to bat at 5 or wait for no.3 spot to open up he would sure say he will want to bat at 5. He is good enough to adapt himself.

Sarfaraz Khan follows up triple hundred with 199-ball double vs Himachal

Sarfaraz Khan was unbeaten on 226 from 213 balls as he completed his double hundred on Day 1 of Mumbai's Round 7 match against Himachal Pradesh in Dharamsala.

sarfarazkhan_0.jpg

Sarfaraz Khan has hit a quickfire double hundred for Mumbai on Day 1 of their Ranji Trophy match against Himachal Pradesh in Dharamsala as the youngster continues his rich vein of form this season.

Sarfaraz Khan got to his 2nd successive daddy hundred, this time an unbeaten 200-plus score in Round of Ranji Trophy at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium. Sarfaraz got to the double hundred mark in just 199 balls as he dominated the Himachal Pradesh bowling attack on Monday.

Notably, Sarfaraz Khan had hit an unbeaten 301 for Mumbai in their previous round against Uttar Pradesh after coming into bat at a crucial juncture. Sarfaraz's big triple hundred helped Mumbai snatch a draw against the hosts.

Sarfaraz Khan has become only the 2nd Indian player after Tamil Nadu's WV Raman to follow up a first-class triple hundred with a double hundred. Raman had achieved the feat with scores of 313 and 200 not out in 1989.

Sarfaraz came in at a similar situation with Mumbai reeling at 16 for 3 in their 1st innings. The 21-year-old began cautiously as he lost his partner Siddesh Lad when Mumbai were on 71.

However, Sarfaraz grew into his attacking self during his 143-run stand with captain and wicketkeeper Aditya Tare who made 62. Sarfaraz, at the time of writing this report, was involved in a 100-plus stand with No. 7 batsman Shubham Ranjane.

Sarfaraz was batting on 226 from 213 balls, having hit 32 boundaries and 4 sixes before bad light halted play during the 3rd session of Day 1 of the Ranji Trophy match in Himachal Pradesh.

Sarfaraz, who hails from Mumbai, had played for Uttar Pradesh before moving to Mumbai at the start of last season. He had scored 44 against Mumbai at the Wankhede in 2015.

Notably, Sarfaraz had become only the 7th Mumbai batsman to hit a triple hundred in Ranji Trophy earlier this month. He joins an elite list of Mumbai batsmen that include Sunil Gavaskar, Sanjay Manjrekar, Wasim Jaffer, Rohit Sharma, Vijay Merchant and Ajit Wadekar.

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...-vs-himachal-pradesh-score-1640632-2020-01-27

Sarfraz has potential to make it to Indian team. In IPL, he didn't live upto the hype. Now, I think he has improved his fitness and that helps him. Hope he consistently scores well and gets into the Indian team.

It’s absurd to conclude Sarfraz of 22-23 yrs age as a failure and missed the bus longtime.

This guy has returned a reformed man with improved fitness and very focussed. 2 big innings is a result of his improved fitness.

Looking at highlights of 2 innings he seems to be playing in V and more tighter defense.
He has rescued Mumbai from 3 top order collapses but one against Karnataka in vain.
He hit straight sixes of fast bowlers and spinners and looks serious talent.

For me he looked very much like srilankan gem Aravinda De Silva who played clutch innings!!! Watch out

It’s absurd to conclude Sarfraz of 22-23 yrs age as a failure and missed the bus longtime.

This guy has returned a reformed man with improved fitness and very focussed. 2 big innings is a result of his improved fitness.

Looking at highlights of 2 innings he seems to be playing in V and more tighter defense.
He has rescued Mumbai from 3 top order collapses but one against Karnataka in vain.
He hit straight sixes of fast bowlers and spinners and looks serious talent.

For me he looked very much like srilankan gem Aravinda De Silva who played clutch innings!!! Watch out

He has admitted to cutting out some instinctive shots. And has obviously improved his overall fitness. He is maturing as person too.

Mumbai needed a batter of his type as it looks like Iyer and Shaw will be busy for some time with team India.

He has admitted to cutting out some instinctive shots. And has obviously improved his overall fitness. He is maturing as person too.

Mumbai needed a batter of his type as it looks like Iyer and Shaw will be busy for some time with team India.

There is something old school about him. Wristy. But he has to have atleast 2 solid seasons like Mayank.
Middle order spot is open both in Tests and ODIs.

Much better option than Pandey in middle order.Can bowl offies too