[VIDEOS] Talent Spotter: Mohammad Haris

Highlights of his innings

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 75.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/tnb19r" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Proper talent!

Bit slow dont u think?

The senior Pakistan opener/wicket keeper batsman who is also the world’s 2nd ranked T20i player scored 37 off 35 today. Four boundaries and no sixes in his innings

I would say Harris played at a rapid pace in comparison

The senior Pakistan opener/wicket keeper batsman who is also the world’s 2nd ranked T20i player scored 37 off 35 today. Four boundaries and no sixes in his innings

I would say Harris played at a rapid pace in comparison

Did he win the game for his side? Seems he has a lot to learn from the senior batter in the Pakistan line-up.

DHDM 128/7 (20)

SYST 134/5 (19.2)

Sylhet Strikers won by 5 wkts

PLAYER OF THE MATCH
Imad Wasim

Did he win the game for his side? Seems he has a lot to learn from the senior batter in the Pakistan line-up.

DHDM 128/7 (20)

SYST 134/5 (19.2)

Sylhet Strikers won by 5 wkts

PLAYER OF THE MATCH
Imad Wasim

Well, he won Pakistan the games against South Africa, Bangladesh and played his role in the Semi final against NZ too

So I don’t think he has to learn anything from the senior pro.

💯
It's not rocket science to figure out he likes pace on and a swing to the legside. Most sides have worked him put after a few knocks. He's been found out.

He played 2 good innings and we hyped him to the moon and back.

He can play the ramp shot something that most Pakistani seniors can't.

Well, he won Pakistan the games against South Africa, Bangladesh and played his role in the Semi final against NZ too

So I don’t think he has to learn anything from the senior pro.

One thing Haris can do is focus on 3-4 day domestic games and learn how to build an innings. He must pile tons of runs before being considered. We dont really want a T10 specialist.

We don’t really need a T10 specialist?

We most certainly need players who can play quick fire cameos and cause damage in short spells to shift momentum. That’s what Harris did against South Africa. He shifted the entire batting momentum in a HUGE game

We don’t really need a T10 specialist?

We most certainly need players who can play quick fire cameos and cause damage in short spells to shift momentum. That’s what Harris did against South Africa. He shifted the entire batting momentum in a HUGE game

If Harris wants a fruitful career he must learn how to score a hundred. These little cameos wont take him too far I am afraid. If I was him I would develop a game plan to score a 150+ in an ODI.

Well, he announced himself at the World Cup and he will not be dropped from Pakistan now. BPL contract followed. He’s a big, big draw for the Pakistan fans in the PSL. More contracts and opportunities will follow

Harris needs to carry on the way he is. He is a gem of a cricketer

Should continue to bat the way he does.No point playing defensively when that's not his game.

A product of age-group cricket, Haris, who played the ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup in 2020, took the HBL PSL by storm last year as he smoked 166 runs at a strike-rate of 186.51 in five matches. His strike-rate in the Powerplay was almost a run better (187.32) and he smashed a boundary every third ball.

Haris, who turns 22 on 30 March: “It is very important to anticipate so I am continuously reading the fields. I see which two fielders are outside the circle and that helps me predict what two to three balls the bowler is looking to deliver and that is how I plan my shots. Like, if the bowler has positioned a deep square leg, I know that a bouncer is on the cards. Thankfully, the success rate to date is around 80 per cent for me.

“You need a strong and solid technique to be aggressive and attack the bowler. For me it is about dominating the bowler no matter who he is.”

He should be selected if Kamran Akmal is in the selection committee

Is that even a question?

He is the best T20 batsman in the current squad, and he will add more value to the side if he is selected in the ODI XI and Rizwan competes with proper middle order batsmen

“Allah has fulfilled my wish to open batting with Babar bhai,” shared Haris. “I am very excited about it. Hopefully, I and Babar will start opening batting for Peshawar from tomorrow in exhibition match. I wish to have a longer time with him.”

Haris speaking in an interview

So Saim Ayub won’t play or bat at 3?

Babar is such a….

Is that even a question?

He is the best T20 batsman in the current squad, and he will add more value to the side if he is selected in the ODI XI and Rizwan competes with proper middle order batsmen

ODI batting is impossible for Haris. He is more suited to T10

Unless he picks up his average and actually starts scoring some heavy runs, he shall remain an average player in my books.

ODI batting is impossible for Haris. He is more suited to T10

Unless he picks up his average and actually starts scoring some heavy runs, he shall remain an average player in my books.

Yeah unfortunately I don’t think you quite understand modern cricket

Your expectations are too high from a guy who probably has never ever batted for more 15 overs in a competitive game in his life. This is not stick cricket.
1384d26099aa62d74a6a9a1d694e8f8a.jpg

Your expectations are too high from a guy who probably has never ever batted for more 15 overs in a competitive game in his life. This is not stick cricket.
1384d26099aa62d74a6a9a1d694e8f8a.jpg

It’s not Test cricket either. The shorter/shortest formats are short for the sake of entertainment value. That’s why it really doesn’t matter if the player can bat for long periods. What matters is if they can maximise the damage inflicted to the opponent in a small amount of time.

Do you not understand T20 is not a smaller form of 50 over cricket? Is that something you need to be taught in 2023?

Besides, the one player who according to you is the best for this format is clueless on how to extend the length of his innings when it comes to Test cricket on roads. So he was rightfully dropped.

Try and understanding cricket, also the purpose of each format.

A 29-ball 50 for Haris in the exhibition game.

[MENTION=131470]gazza619[/MENTION]

29 balls is quite a long time at the crease. Longer than Mohammad Rizwan lasts in Test cricket these days boss

[MENTION=131470]gazza619[/MENTION]

29 balls is quite a long time at the crease. Longer than Mohammad Rizwan lasts in Test cricket these days boss

If your standard is an exhibition match where Iftimania hit 6 sixes in a row then thats OK.

Each to their own but I rather have a guy who scores 55 off 38 balls than 25 off 11 balls.

If your standard is an exhibition match where Iftimania hit 6 sixes in a row then thats OK.

Each to their own but I rather have a guy who scores 55 off 38 balls than 25 off 11 balls.

Ifti has been piling runs everywhere for 3-4 months now. What are you on about mate? Keep up

Ifti is not some new young exciting talent , he has been around for long time and again and again he has proved himself to be a failure at international level and a prolific run scorer at low level domestic level. Same is the case with guys like khushdil and Asif, Pakistan should move on from these guys.

Ok, but what’s the point of picking a new talent in his position? Who is the new talent?

Ifti doesn’t get the easy way out like Babar and Rizwan do in the powerplay

So who do you suggest?

Daren Sammy about Haris

Locally, we have Mohammed Haris. I mean, look, I said it, you needed him when I was in Australia watching the World Cup, I said, you got to have him playing. The energy he brings at the top of the inning.

Daren Sammy about Haris

Locally, we have Mohammed Haris. I mean, look, I said it, you needed him when I was in Australia watching the World Cup, I said, you got to have him playing. The energy he brings at the top of the inning.

Good T10 batter. 20 overs are too long for him.

If he can do damage in 10 overs then that's fine.

Oh yaar T20 is not 50 over cricket divided into 4/10ths

It requires a different approach

The problem is his inconsistency though. Even if he makes a 10 ball 25, you still need 2-3 other batters to perform to make a winning score. That is not a definition of a match winner.

Not a great start to his PSL - Haris out early

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/b4ww2y" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

My concern about him is that he becomes a wild slogger.

He's better than that and needs to build innings not just come in and slog wildly.

This is what you call strike rate. Beautiful little cameo from Haris
4de32dc8eb4a5e353ab15e73899b4085.jpg

As I said he is more suited to T10.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Every time I bat with you it’s a dream come true. Babar Bhai my skipper forever❤️ <a href="https://t.co/Xd6MpbjUox">pic.twitter.com/Xd6MpbjUox</a></p>— Muhammad Haris (@iamharis63) <a href="https://twitter.com/iamharis63/status/1627187545800048640?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 19, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Started off very well Haris

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/h4bv57" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

10 off 5
18 off 9

These innings aren't going to hurt the opposition.

He's better than this.

I said it many a times. 20 overs is way too long for Haris. He is suited to T10

The problem is his skipper seems to be happy with this, as he mentioned in the post-match press conference.

Cant blame Haris then.

Not just the skipper but many fans on this forum also seem satisfied with Haris.

Cant blame Haris then.

Not just the skipper but many fans on this forum also seem satisfied with Haris.

Therein lies a problem.

I want to see 50s from him in T20s.

These 10 or 15 runs innings mean nothing to me.

When Babar and Rizwan go slow people complain and when Babar gives license to Haris to attack they complain can't win.

Cant blame Haris then.

That's our standards for you these days.

Excitement at 18 runs scored.

That's our standards for you these days.

Excitement at 18 runs scored.

To be honest, those 18 runs were breath-taking!

The problem with Haris and Haider also is how to stop in the middle to take stock. Maybe one or 2 dots or a single etc - just to allow themselves time to calm down.

To be honest, those 18 runs were breath-taking!

The problem with Haris and Haider also is how to stop in the middle to take stock. Maybe one or 2 dots or a single etc - just to allow themselves time to calm down.

It's 18 runs as an opener.

It will not change the course of the match or frighten the opposition.

He needs to play a Guptill like innings then he will prove his worth

Not in a million years! No Pakistani batter has the skill set to play like that.

Haris’s ceiling is to make a 20 ball 40. Or a 35 ball 60.

Not in a million years! No Pakistani batter has the skill set to play like that.

Indeed. In fact nobody who has played for Pakistan over the last decade could do what Guptill did.

40 off 21 balls against IU.

Can't really criticise him for that. He gave his side a good platform but was let down by his team-mates.

Hasn't Fakhar Zaman played any Innings like that

Yeah, Fakhar Zaman is the only one. Which is why Fakhar Zaman should be playing every LOI for Pakistan, even though he may be at his worst form, until the day he retires.

Like i said a few days ago, 20 ball 40 is ceiling for Haris.

When you score a 20 ball 40, you are relying on at least 3-4 other batters as well to make a good team score.

Babar Azam heaped praise on his current opening partner at Zalmi, Mohammad Haris, and explained how different he is from his opening partner in the national T20I side, Mohammad Rizwan.

"I enjoy with every player. You have to enjoy but perform too and play according to the requirements of the situation. There are times that I struggle so Rizwan steps up and vice versa," he said.

"Haris is a youngster and has a different style. He tries to dominate the opponent and the way he is giving us a favourable start is great. But he needs improvement as he gets out at 40 and I am trying to guide him and I hope there will be good results," he added.

That ball from Shaheen was too good for him and probably would have been too good for many batters.

Poor kid had his bat smashed first ball and then had his stumps second ball.

The bat smash probably unnerved him a little bit too. Not ideal on the first ball of the game. Sublime delivery regardless though.

No shame in getting cleaned up by Shaheen in the first over of a t20.

Why did the captain shield away from taking strike first up?

If Haris wants to open in international cricket he better get used to facing Shaheen's. No better place than PSL to get that experience in.

Babar could have faced up to him but it's really not a big deal either way. PSL is just tamasha at the end of the day and not a patch on test cricket.

Haris out early - could it be because he was moved from his opening slot?

Had a another shocker today needs to learn fast or else he will be going down the Haider Ali route

He looks to be a flashy but limited batsman having similarities to Asif Ali capable of hitting boundaries but not going on and playing longer innings.

Disappointing PSL8 so far:

Innings 7
Runs 117
Average 16.71

Good strike rate of 174 but the runs figure should be higher.

He is following Haider Ali.He wants to hit a six every ball but it doesn’t work like this in cricket.

He is fine

He will win you a game. A crunch game. Like he did in the SA game

Believe in him

He is fine

Believe in him

You remember that innings that Phil Salt played in Lahore for England that everybody was really impressed with? The one where we were lamenting, “Oh why don’t our batsmen play like this?!?!”.

Salt has a pretty inconsistent record with England. However, the management back him, because they’re committed to a certain brand of cricket. Same for Crawley in the test team.

Then, when we get a similar type of player in our team, the moment he fails (whilst trying to play bravely), the pitchforks come out.

It’s like fans want to have their cake and eat it too.

And so I back your view. Haris has the type of attitude and approach that can be very effective for us in t20 cricket.

Also, he needs to open w/ Saim. Babar needs to do the right thing.

You remember that innings that Phil Salt played in Lahore for England that everybody was really impressed with? The one where we were lamenting, “Oh why don’t our batsmen play like this?!?!”.

Salt has a pretty inconsistent record with England. However, the management back him, because they’re committed to a certain brand of cricket. Same for Crawley in the test team.

Then, when we get a similar type of player in our team, the moment he fails (whilst trying to play bravely), the pitchforks come out.

It’s like fans want to have their cake and eat it too.

And so I back your view. Haris has the type of attitude and approach that can be very effective for us in t20 cricket.

Also, he needs to open w/ Saim. Babar needs to do the right thing.

Exactly

Trust the boy. He is one of the few who will probably make it to England’s squad as a batter from the Pakistan side

He is fine

Believe in him

I will believe in him when he scores tons of runs in a domestic season.

It is difficult for me rate players based on T10 or T20