Waqar Younis Coaching Performance Thread

saadsahabjee

Tape Ball Star
So we got what we wanted i.e Waqar younis as the coach

Now lets analyse his peformance from today ------ :moyo

Match ---------------------------------------------- Result

1st Test against Srilanka 2014 ---------------------------- Srilanka won by 7 wickets.

Disappointed that he's had no effect at all on Misbahs tactics. He talked the talk when he was in the commentary but so far his stints as a coach have done nothing to change that defensive mentality. Too early to judge the performances of the bowlers, need to give time in that regard.

However, I do have a feeling that it is Moin Khan who is still calling the shots as the 'boss' and if that is the case this will not end well.

Junaid showed hints of getting some swing back, if catches had been taken who knows, guess you can credit waqar for that, otherwise none of the coaching stuff have come out well in there first game, but its just that: the first game

Let them do there 2 years

Rubbish like I said when he got reselected

but it will be too early to even say this, so I will come back and laugh after the WC 2015 when Pakistan cricket will be at its worst

akhtar and yousuf will eat him alive in the post match analysis...does any one have a link to that show....i really enjoy when yousuf and akhtar start berating their own players

Junaid showed hints of getting some swing back, if catches had been taken who knows, guess you can credit waqar for that, otherwise none of the coaching stuff have come out well in there first game, but its just that: the first game

Let them do there 2 years

Buddy that wasn't really swing. All the deliveries were barrel straight.

It was the angle and the situation that produced the edges.

Junaid still needs to improve.

Waqar should get really strict with the players on their performances. The bowlers can barely bowl a decent yorker. There was only one good yorker I saw the whole game which was by Junaid to get Mahela out. Captain wise ask Misbah why we lost. He knows due to his stupidity we lost a game which should not have been lost. Make the batsmen play positive. Drop players who are doing their own thing. Make them play for the team. Peter Siddle was a huge was of the Aussie bowling lineup but was dropped due to his decreased pace. We must get strict with these guys. PCB needs to warn Misbah that if he does win the Australia series and the New Zealand series he will no longer be the test captain.

Let Waqar build up the ammo he needs to make major changes. If there is any coach, it is Waqar who as the balls to make decisions.

Last time he was the coach half the team was caught because of involvement in fixing also when players llike fawad,misbah were available he instead picked the worse available players possible for the test side .Those players include legends like imran ffarhat , kamran akmal , umer amin , azhar ali etc .

umer amin made 40 runs in 4 innings with and averge off 10

farhat made 118 runs with an avg of 14.75

azhar made 152 with an avg of 21

kamran bhai made 24 runs in 6 innings wwith and avg off mighty zinger 4.

Later in that tour wahab and amin were caught taking money from some guy in a jacket and we all know wwhat happened with the trio.

so with these qualities i expect him to take pakistan on top in something atleast.

Waqar to me comes across as an uninspiring coach who brings nothing original to the game. I would rate Mushtaq higher than him.

:waqar is not good enough to be a bowling coach . He can be a consultant at best , and Pakistan have made him head coach.

He is tactically dumb , even when he was captain.

He just came back. You gotta cut him some slack. That being said, he is just a coach. He can only offer advice, but the rest is up to the team to execute the plans laid out by strategy-maker, Allahu Alim.

The blame-game on coach has been going on since 2007 [after Bob Woolmer - May he rest in peace].

Ironically, the players in the team since 2007/2008 still part of the team's squad, but coach come and go.

The problem is not coach, rather it is players. Don't deflect the blame on coach just because Pakistan team failed to perform. A coach is not holding bat for Pakistan team nor bowl for Pakistan team either.

He talked the talk when he was in the commentary but so far his stints as a coach have done nothing to change that defensive mentality.

If I recall it right then Waqar himself was defensive in earlier go as well. Why he will become different this time?

Just a general comment and I am not talking about his match. I didn't really see this entire test and also this is just one match.

He just came back. You gotta cut him some slack. That being said, he is just a coach. He can only offer advice, but the rest is up to the team to execute the plans laid out by strategy-maker, Allahu Alim.

The blame-game on coach has been going on since 2007 [after Bob Woolmer - May he rest in peace].

Ironically, the players in the team since 2007/2008 still part of the team's squad, but coach come and go.

The problem is not coach, rather it is players. Don't deflect the blame on coach just because Pakistan team failed to perform. A coach is not holding bat for Pakistan team nor bowl for Pakistan team either.

If a coach can do nothing , why Hire him ?

If I recall it right then Waqar himself was defensive in earlier go as well. Why he will become different this time?

Just a general comment and I am not talking about his match. I didn't really see this entire test and also this is just one match.

Mustaqh or even :saqi would have been better. Posters here not realizing that :waqar made several tactical mistakes in his previous stint as coach. He was poor as a captain also.

If a coach can do nothing , why Hire him ?

Coach job is to coach. At the end, it is up to players who are on the ground. If students do not want to study, that doesn't mean blame on teacher due to some students not wanting to study.

If there is any coach that can improve this team is Geoff Lawson. Desi coaches don't have the balls to make tough decisions. It's better to bring in a guy who is passionate about coaching.

Waqar Younis ------------- 2014

1st test ------------------- lost

2nd test------------------ lost

1st odi -------------------- won

2nd odi ------------------- lost

3rd odi ----------------------lost probably

Not his fault what is going on today but I just don't how Pak can benefit from him being the head coach. He can add value by working with the fast bowlers but that is about it.

Can Anyone Answer This?

When WAQAR YOUNIS was TV COMMENTATOR last year,in every match he criticized Captain and Coach , saying MD HAFEEZ is NOT a TOP ORDER batsman and he should play at 6 or 7.

At that time i posted that Mr Waqar Younis will forget all these things when he will become coach,if again.

Now he is coach again,so have he really changed his mind and suddenly thinks that Hafeez is good enough Batsman to play in TOP-3 ?

When WAQAR YOUNIS was TV COMMENTATOR last year,in every match he criticized Captain and Coach saying MD HAFEEZ is NOT a TOP ORDER batsman and he should play at 6 or 7.

At that time i posted that Mr Waqar Younis will forget all these things when he will become coach,if again.

Now he is coach again,so have he really changed his mind and suddenly thinks that Hafeez is good enough Batsman to play in TOP-3 ?

The selectors don't have the guts to make certain changes so Misbah's spot is safe, Afridi will continually get selected as a bowler and Ajmal has to play (but none of the spinners deserve to get dropped).
So you get an unbalanced side and then from that unbalanced side you find that Hafeez is the only option for a top order spot.

Then why Waqar was crying when he was commentator???

Because back then he wasn't involved in selection and wasn't forced into a position where he had to help select an unbalanced team. So he could point out the obvious.

Hafeez is not a batsman and will never be one.

Similarly

Waqar was never a coach and will never be.

Can't believe all the blame waqar is getting !

No coach can set this team right because we have the most medicore captain followed by a bunch of incompetent jokers who are just not fit for international cricket !

1st test SL ------------------- Lost

2nd test SL------------------ Lost

1st odi SL -------------------- won

2nd odi SL ------------------- Lost

3rd odi SL ----------------------Lost

1ST T20 AUS ------------------ Lost

Coach job is to coach. At the end, it is up to players who are on the ground. If students do not want to study, that doesn't mean blame on teacher due to some students not wanting to study.

teacher needs to change his teaching method also and not be un interesting and monotonous.

When WAQAR YOUNIS was TV COMMENTATOR last year,in every match he criticized Captain and Coach , saying MD HAFEEZ is NOT a TOP ORDER batsman and he should play at 6 or 7.

Waqar needs to asked this.

add another one in the list

1st odi Aus -------------------- Lost

BTW Grant Flower must be thinking he could have done a better job with Zimbabweans! They beat Aus in a game and played some spirited cricket after Grant joined Pakistan.

If there is an iota worth of hope to improve Pak's batting then it lies in one and only one thing!

Waqar MUST be replaced with Dean Jones. Period!

1ST ODI Aus .............................. Lost

Rest of the series looking bad

2nd odi aus ------------------- Lost

What should Pakistan do to win a game??? Team is in absolute shambles.

Waqar looks comfortable with that massive pay cheque & doesnt seem to give a damn about our performances !

Very disappointing !

Another addition to the 'lame duck' coaches that we have had over the years. :inti :dav

ok who is next in the line? Lets try Dean Jones or Tom Moody this time!

You would do better with Dean Jones or Tom Moody I reckon. Great players do not always make great coaches.

Awful

hack of a coach

said from day 1 if he comes back, pak cricket will be done and dusted after the WC, the popularity will be at a all time low and pak will be the equivalent of zimbabwe

he's getting $ and that is the only thing he cares about

what would be interesting would be a list of everyone supporting his appointment. there were only a few of us that were skeptical of it.

i dont even mind the w/l record so far, he hasnt had that long at the helm, but i would want to see some signs of a change in intent, whether its strategy or selection. so far theres been very little sign of that. the batting order seems as haphazzard as it always has been. instead we're seeing an arguably more aggressive stance by the batsmen, and sure enough, as some of us have always thought, the lac of talent has inevitably shone through - its clearly a misjudgement of strategy for the given talent pool.

You would do better with Dean Jones or Tom Moody I reckon. Great players do not always make great coaches.

Even the most of the fans in PP were supporting Tom Moody but i thin k he wasn't interested for this job and it looks like PCB isn't interested in Dean Jones :(

Even if team had won few games still I would be against Waqar , he is just not good enough , this is not a secret. Anyone who has seen his captaincy would know what I am talking about.

2nd odi aus ------------------- Lost

3rd odi aus ------------------- Lost

good for tests...
Pakistan odi problems are deep rooted and not coach specific.
I say this with complete confidence that not one batting position in the odi line up is secure...
by this i dont mean they are all crap: its mean we have to think of most of them as work in progress - yes, even the guys with 100 odis/

The guy simply hates Umar Akmal, dont know what logical reason he had to sit him out in first two games. Its a battle of egos all over again and with Moin Khan into the mix, it is a recipe of disaster

HE's a disgrace, awful coach.

With Dav we would have a much better chance, he was a great bowler but as a coach he is a fraud, he just wants $$$$ and that's all.

Waqar is full of ego , he is obstinate . How can such a person coach a volatile side like Pakistan ?

The amount of hate Misbah fans have against Afridi's cricket, and the amount of hate Afridi fans have against Misbah's cricket, combine those two and multiply it by 10, and I have such a feeling about Waqar's coaching skills.
What an absolute disaster, this guy's coaching has been.

Forget about improving the team's batting or fielding or crafting a smart and effective playing strategy, this guy cannot identify and groom an intl level fast bowler in so many years !!

Yet he loves to indulge in selection matters.

Seriously, if he comes to my face while indulging in selection matters, I will ask him, Who the heck are you??
He may say, I am a former fast bowler, and a current coach.
I would tell him, then look at our fast bowling force and have a little shame before I yell at you to go back and perform your primary duties that you were hired for.

Waqar should be sacked ASAP in my opinion.

The guy simply hates Umar Akmal, dont know what logical reason he had to sit him out in first two games. Its a battle of egos all over again and with Moin Khan into the mix, it is a recipe of disaster

I am not a fan of Umer Amal either but it boils my blood when Waqar tries to act as a selector and attempts to block Umer Akmal from entering into the playing squad.

Seriously, the quality of our current pace bowling attack is a big hard slap on the face of Waqar Younus's coaching skills while he is busy acting like he owns the entire team.

Pakistan have won 3 and lost 9 odis under Waqar since he took over as coach

No, its not about how many we won and lost ..... it's about the quality of our current fast bowling.

This guy has literally killed it.

His performance should also be assessed at the conclusion of the WC along with the players. It is only fair.

I have said earlier here also.i believe the only thing you can learn from him is reverse swing.other than that, he is useless.

He hasn't even taught reverse swing though lol. He's just eating a big fat paycheck.

i dont blame waqar for this, its all sethi or zaka, whichever of those *(pick your noun of choice) gave him a contract when he has no coaching credentials or successful experience, and ran off for some mysterious unknown reason the last time he did coach.

he horrendous. no planing, either long term for he team, or short term in each game. selections or deplorable, strategy is non existent and confidence and team cohesiveness seems to be absent too.

he should go back to being a bowling coach. and sharyar and his puppet masters need to be hung.

He concentrates on the fitness aspect of the players. He is out of his depth when it comes to tactics and match planning.

I enjoyed the Pakistani team of 2010-2011 headed by Waqar, which was the last generation of Pakistan cricket that played the flamboyant brand of cricket it is renowned for. Perhaps that had a lot to do with the players that we had - Amir, Asif, Afridi in prime form, Umar much better than he is today, a prime Gul, Wahab doing well, Hafeez playing the best cricket of his life, Razzaq's final stand etc.

However, he has looked really poor in this stint, and has failed to inject any energy into this team.

what can coach do when your players drop key catches

it could have been less than 250 had those catches been taken

Further i saw improvement in wahab riaz's bowling

that 154kph bowl really stunned dhoni!!

what can coach do when your players drop key catches

it could have been less than 250 had those catches been taken

Further i saw improvement in wahab riaz's bowling

that 154kph bowl really stunned dhoni!!

R u Drunk bro? our bowling has become sh*t

look at the performance today , a coach jobis to polish the skills but seems like sir waqar has some other motives. MHK was 100 times better than him.