Was the tag of "2nd Best Team in Asia" too big to handle for the Afghanistan team?

lol dont give me stupid criterias. The no.1 team will be the one winning Asia cup and the 2nd team will be its runner ups.

Its funny how you guys make ur own imaginery no.1s and 2s while a tournament is on going.

If a no.1 (self proclaimed) team is out of the tournament than its not really the no.1 team is it?
Man even the mighty australia had an off day here and there, that didn't mean they were not number 1. Remember when that mighty team lost against BD, which did not even have Shakib, Tamim and Co. I think Ashraful made a 100 that game if memory serves me well - would you be saying that BD was better than Aus because Aus had an off day? lol

Sorry but I can't agree with this comment of yours. This is also why am more of a fan on how NHL does it. They don't just have 1 match final to decide the winner. They have couple of matches and the one that won the most lifts the cup.

Man even the mighty australia had an off day here and there, that didn't mean they were not number 1. Remember when that mighty team lost against BD, which did not even have Shakib, Tamim and Co. I think Ashraful made a 100 that game if memory serves me well - would you be saying that BD was better than Aus because Aus had an off day? lol

Sorry but I can't agree with this comment of yours. This is also why am more of a fan on how NHL does it. They don't just have 1 match final to decide the winner. They have couple of matches and the one that won the most lifts the cup.
I think u are forgetting this is the Asia cup and what we are talking about here is who is the Asia top 1 or top second team.

Seems like Indians are not confident about their own team being Asias no.1 team. If they are, they will surely win it and prove it

WT20 is a bigger tournament. USA qualified but Pak got knocked out. Afghan reached semis. So UsA must be a stronger team than Pakistan then by your logic.

Let me simplify. In that tournament UsA was definitely better than Pakistan. Overall don’t think so.

Apply the same logic here. What is so complicated? Afghan is still the 2nd strongest T20 team in Asia. Will beat Pak 6 /10 times, SL 6/10 times, Bangladesh 7/10 times and India 1/15 times. Makes them the 2nd best team in my book in T20.
Wt20 hogya bhai.

We are talking about Asia Cup and dedicing the best Team of Asia and second best.

Your book doesnt matter. We have an Asia Cup going on to determine the best and second best teams in Asia.

Your whole logic fails, oh dekho bhai, team could be no.1 in Asia, but can also come as no.5 in the Asia cup...

Pakistan has won a grand total of 2 Asia cups in 40 plus years history even when they were supposedly best in Asia. They only reached 5 finals. So they were not even no.2 in many instances going by this. No.1 no.2 ranking is out there in ICC ranking. India has been no.1 since 2022.
Thats why i say, the stories that we listen here about Pakistan being the best in the 90s are highly exaggerated, especailly in ODIs.

In Test, they have won the AstraliaAsia cups i think, infact i think they were undefeated in something similar in tests

Wt20 hogya bhai.

We are talking about Asia Cup and dedicing the best Team of Asia and second best.

Your book doesnt matter. We have an Asia Cup going on to determine the best and second best teams in Asia.

Your whole logic fails, oh dekho bhai, team could be no.1 in Asia, but can also come as no.5 in the Asia cup...
This tournament is not for rankings. If Bangladesh make it to semis or even wins it, will you call it no.1 team in Asia?

They will be Asia cup champions and sure their ranking might come up in ICC but proves nothing.

India is undisputed no.1 adding T20, bench strength, player quality, other format performances. Forget BcCi, $$$ etc. if in super 4 any team defeats India it will still be called an upset only. Sure if the next 2 years India consistently loses etc you will have a point but just 1 game or 1 tournament prove nothing.

Similarly Afghan not making to super 4 is also an “upset” .Still T20 no.2 for me.

Thats why i say, the stories that we listen here about Pakistan being the best in the 90s are highly exaggerated, especailly in ODIs.

In Test, they have won the AstraliaAsia cups i think, infact i think they were undefeated in something similar in tests
ICC rankings tells who is the best. Not Asia cup. India has won 8 Asia cup titles. THey have nothing left to achieve.

This tournament is not for rankings. If Bangladesh make it to semis or even wins it, will you call it no.1 team in Asia?

They will be Asia cup champions and sure their ranking might come up in ICC but proves nothing.

India is undisputed no.1 adding T20, bench strength, player quality, other format performances. Forget BcCi, $$$ etc. if in super 4 any team defeats India it will still be called an upset only. Sure if the next 2 years India consistently loses etc you will have a point but just 1 game or 1 tournament prove nothing.

Similarly Afghan not making to super 4 is also an “upset” .Still T20 no.2 for me.
If bangladesh wins the asia cup, than yes they will be the best team of asia in t20.

It seems like you really are abit worried about your own team. If they are no.1 asian team than they should win it

ICC rankings tells who is the best. Not Asia cup. India has won 8 Asia cup titles. THey have nothing left to achieve.
Lol , now you are holding on to icc rankings?

What stupidity...

So basically we are playing a tournament to determine the best asia team, but according to a poster no we cant use that because of his fear that india can also lose.

Lol , now you are holding on to icc rankings?

What stupidity...

So basically we are playing a tournament to determine the best asia team, but according to a poster no we cant use that because of his fear that india can also lose.
India is considered the world's best team based on ranking and also based on unbeaten run in the world cup. But suddenly a low quality cup will dehrone that should India lose. Logic free argument

If bangladesh wins the asia cup, than yes they will be the best team of asia in t20.

It seems like you really are abit worried about your own team. If they are no.1 asian team than they should win it
Best team is Asia or world is not decided by one single match or tournament. Teams have to do consistently for few years to be the best in the world or even Asia.

BD Certainly can become decent team, they may even win Thai Asia Cup. After all this is t20 and all it takes is few overs to make an impact. But to the considered best in Asia they will need to consistently show some results for few years, I say around Two to three years

AFG has been having issues with batting for long time. They also seem to have stage fright. I don’t think they are top two as of now. May be SL or even Pak if they get their batting sorted out. BD also have a shot at becoming second best provided they show some consistency for few years.

I think u are forgetting this is the Asia cup and what we are talking about here is who is the Asia top 1 or top second team.

Seems like Indians are not confident about their own team being Asias no.1 team. If they are, they will surely win it and prove it
I think you're mistaken about Indians not being confident. A couple years back, you would see a bit of doubt (we knew that we would win but there were some doubts around - you have probably noticed that during even the last T20 WC) - but this Asia cup, no indians thinks that they won't lift the cup. Anything but lifting the cup is a total humiliation. So I donno where you got that info from my guy ...

Best team is Asia or world is not decided by one single match or tournament. Teams have to do consistently for few years to be the best in the world or even Asia.

BD Certainly can become decent team, they may even win Thai Asia Cup. After all this is t20 and all it takes is few overs to make an impact. But to the considered best in Asia they will need to consistently show some results for few years, I say around Two to three years
Best team in asia is decided by a tournament which is being played to award the best team in asia.

Its Asia Cup for f sakes

India is considered the world's best team based on ranking and also based on unbeaten run in the world cup. But suddenly a low quality cup will dehrone that should India lose. Logic free argument
Ranking means ****.

Its the tournament that matters.

Ranking means ****.

No it doesn't lol it will determine who is the Asia cup winner. It won't decide who is the best in Asia. Alcaraz losing wimbledon to Sinner won't make him second rank only in UK but world no.1 rank in the world. That is how illogical this argument is.

Lol so the asia cup winner is not the best team in Asia?

Man the iq levels of the posters on this forum is indeed low

Because you somehow think World is part of Asia not the other way around. Save your lecture about IQ phuleez lol
again, dont even bother to argue for gods sakes.

Asia cup will not determine who the best team of Asia is. lol

Indian fans dont even trust their own team

Ranking means ****.

Correct but that still doesn’t make you a number 1 team. It makes you the tournament champions.

Forget ICC rankings, Number 1 team means a team that is obviously very strong , has no or very little weaknesses, has great bench strength and has been performing consistently over a period of time.

for example if Pak win Asia cup and tomorrow lose to Zimbabwe. Ireland and keep getting blanked in tests and other matches over a period of time , they will still be called defending Asia cup champions- no one can take away the title from them till next edition . However, yes, no one will call them No.1 team. ICC rankings will more or less reflect the same but so will be the general consensus.

What exactly is your argument? Whoever wins Asia cup will be Asia cup Champions- that’s your point? Ok. No disagreement there.

Correct but that still doesn’t make you a number 1 team. It makes you the tournament champions.

Forget ICC rankings, Number 1 team means a team that is obviously very strong , has no or very little weaknesses, has great bench strength and has been performing consistently over a period of time.

for example if Pak win Asia cup and tomorrow lose to Zimbabwe. Ireland and keep getting blanked in tests and other matches over a period of time , they will still be called defending Asia cup champions- no one can take away the title from them till next edition . However, yes, no one will call them No.1 team. ICC rankings will more or less reflect the same but so will be the general consensus.

What exactly is your argument? Whoever wins Asia cup will be Asia cup Champions- that’s your point? Ok. No disagreement there.
The championship makes you the no.1 team. The ranking doesnt lead you to a trophy

He is hoping Pakistan would fluke an Asia cup win so that he can call Pakistan best Asian team lol He has nothing to lose here as he gets facepalmed left right center with each of his custom threads.

Biggest country in Asia is the world - Major

Will never forget this :cool:
I think you are forgetting this is the Asia cup we are discussing and the best and 2nd best team in Asia.

The 2nd best team of asia comments did blew up on your indian faces

He is hoping Pakistan would fluke an Asia cup win so that he can call Pakistan best Asian team lol He has nothing to lose here as he gets facepalmed left right center with each of his custom threads.
Why are you worried? You really think Pakistan can win the Asia Cup?

I dont.

Indians have their heart in their mouth it seems like it

I think you are forgetting this is the Asia cup we are discussing and the best and 2nd best team in Asia.

The 2nd best team of asia comments did blew up on your indian faces
So going by your theory Pakistan is behind uSA in the world ranking. Until you beat USA you are below USA.

I dont.

Indians have their balls in their mouth it seems like it
As i told India has nothing to lose or gain from Asia cup. lol I told this before Asia cup. Nobody would even celebrate winning Asia cup. India has utterly dominated Asia cup for years. Only teams that don't win Asia cups very often would be dreaming about winning Asia cup. Asia cup is well below low quality leagues like CPL, Srilanka premerie league. This tournament should be scrapped given the yawning chasm between teams. Nobody would use this stupid tournament. Real performance is measured in ICC world events where Afghanistan has done better than your team.

As i told India has nothing to lose or gain from Asia cup. lol I told this before Asia cup. Nobody would even celebrate winning Asia cup. India has utterly dominated Asia cup for years. Only teams that don't win Asia cups very often would be dreaming about winning Asia cup. Asia cup is well below low quality leagues like CPL, Srilanka premerie league. This tournament should be scrapped given the yawning chasm between teams.
Like i have said, If India is the best Asian Team currently they will surely come out as winners.

You seem to coming up with your excuses as you dont even trust your own team.

If Asia is well below CPL, than India is well above that right, surely they should win than?

Like i have said, If India is the best Asian Team currently they will surely come out as winners.

You seem to coming up with your excuses as you dont even trust your own team.

If Asia is well below CPL, than India is well above that right, surely they should win than?
It is an insult to use Asia cup to cerfity India is tbe best team in Asia. India will win it

Anyways, India should win it, as you said its a tournament below CPL level and because India is the worlds best according to you, they should than win the Asia Cup.

lets see now.

Anyways, India should win it, as you said its a tournament below CPL level and because India is the worlds best according to you, they should than win the Asia Cup.

lets see now.

So your only interest in this tournament is hoping for INdia's loss as your favorite teams are in hopeless position. You basically root for 3 teams hoping one would upset India. If you think they are Asia's no.1 shouldn't you be confident?

Sri Lanka is playing better cricket especially as batters

But they have always been in our pocket in general when it comes to cricket

Pakistan will InshaAllah reinstate superiority over the Sri Lankan bros!

So your only interest in this tournament is hoping for INdia's loss as your favorite teams are in hopeless position. You basically root for 3 teams hoping one would upset India. If you think they are Asia's no.1 shouldn't you be confident?
where did i said i was hoping for India to lose?
You are a really insecure man.

You yourself said that Asia Cup is a below standard tournament that even CPL is better than it, and i agreed with you. And you think India is the best in the world, and i have said yes, surely a team like India should be able to win a really poor tournamnet like Asia Cup.

WHere did i said i was hoping for India to lose?

You are already worried about imaginary upsets or India not winning the Asia Cup. The insecurity is really high.

where did i said i was hoping for India to lose?
You are a really insecure man.

You yourself said that Asia Cup is a below standard tournament that even CPL is better than it, and i agreed with you. And you think India is the best in the world, and i have said yes, surely a team like India should be able to win a really poor tournamnet like Asia Cup.

WHere did i said i was hoping for India to lose?

You are already worried about imaginary upsets or India not winning the Asia Cup. The insecurity is really high.
Last T20 Asia cup final happened between SL and Pakistan. According to you they are still the 1s and 2nd ranked side in Asia based on that since No Asia cup happened after that?

How can they still be following the same ranks when the tournament is being played currently to determine the new ranks.

Ridiculous.

Whats with the insecurity?

How can they still be following the same ranks when the tournament is being played currently to determine the new ranks.

Ridiculous.

Whats with the insecurity?
what is the shelf life of this imaginary rank you come up with? lol one day , one year, 2 years?

My 2 cents...the were never the second bet team. They were being marketed as such only by the former Pak players who have either been Coaches of the Afghan team in the past or want to be their coaches in the future

PS: reminds me of one such analyst, who predicted that Rashid Khan will be the highest wicket taker in the 2019 ODI WC.
RK gave away 100 runs in one match alone, against England. It so happens, T20 is different than other versions of cricket.

I dont.

Indians have their heart in their mouth it seems like it
Yes, losing to a weaker/ minnow team is definitely embarrassing.

You definitely are in the better position- If you win- gloat and if you lose- “system ko accha karo” “learn from IPL” BCCI,RSS, Modi ki saazish….god knows what nonsense. Wah bhai wah 👏🏼.not falling for it.😁

That comes with 0 expectations from your team. Not a good thing in a larger context 👍

The other Asian teams are ranked 7,8,9.. this is the worst Asia has been in Loi ever
There isnt much in it between 6-10 in T20 ranking. windies at 6 lost 3-0 at home to BD last year, ranking 4th at the time. But the main point is Afg still inst 2nd best in Asia, currently there isnt anyone clearly 2nd best in t20, its Sri Lanka atm based on ranking only.

Forget second best, when SRL had their legends, even IND could not even touch them between the periods of 2000-2014. BD only rivalry is against them is who can do better Nagin Dance.

They helped us this time. We helped them in 2022 by losing against them, they wind up winning the championship.

Forget second best, when SRL had their legends, even IND could not even touch them between the periods of 2000-2014. BD only rivalry is against them is who can do better Nagin Dance.

They helped us this time. We helped them in 2022 by losing against them, they wind up winning the championship.
This is not true at all. SL had an upper hand over us until maybe 2005 .

After that, it was India dominating SL

Between 1997-2014 IND won only one Asia Cup, and back then there were only three good teams.

2007 SRL knocked you right out of group stage of WC. In 2011 WC you did beat them in the Final with your legendary team consisting of Tendulkar. They also knocked you out in 2014 T20 WC.

Afghanistan has always had some shortcomings. They rely too much on their bowling. They should drop freeloaders from their squad first like Karim Janat...

lol dont give me stupid criterias. The no.1 team will be the one winning Asia cup and the 2nd team will be its runner ups.

Its funny how you guys make ur own imaginery no.1s and 2s while a tournament is on going.

If a no.1 (self proclaimed) team is out of the tournament than its not really the no.1 team is it?
So, historically the best Asian sides have always been India and Sri Lanka in white ball, having won 14 Asia Cups between them .

Pakistan were obviously overrated in Asia.

Between 1997-2014 IND won only one Asia Cup, and back then there were only three good teams.

2007 SRL knocked you right out of group stage of WC. In 2011 WC you did beat them in the Final with your legendary team consisting of Tendulkar. They also knocked you out in 2014 T20 WC.
Let me tell you since 2000 india- SL record Where india defeated them

NatWest series 2002( india , Lanka England) - India won

Champion trophy 2002-03 - Share ( Rain saved SL on both day including reserved day)

7 match ODI series 2005 - india won 6-1

4 Match ODI series 2006 - India won 2-1

CB series in australia 2008 ( India , Australia, SL ) - India won the series

5 match ODi series in Lanka 2008-9 - india won 3-1

5 match ODi series in Lanka 2009 - India won 4-1

Tri series in Lanka ( NZ ,india Lanka )2009 - India won. 3 successive series win in Lanka

5 ODI series in india 2010 - India won 3_1 ( 4th consecutive series win over Lanka)

Asia cup 2010 - Win by India

This is just 2000-10 record Where india won more series/ match against Lanka

Kanglu fans know about reality before talking nonsense

Lankan never ever won a test in india so far

Recently Lanka won a bilateral series over india after 27 years .

:klopp :kp

Even out subcontinent, we used to dominate srilanka like 2003 wc, 2002 NatWest series .They were better than us on sluggish pitches especially on their home turf.

Let me tell you since 2000 india- SL record Where india defeated them

NatWest series 2002( india , Lanka England) - India won

Champion trophy 2002-03 - Share ( Rain saved SL on both day including reserved day)

7 match ODI series 2005 - india won 6-1

4 Match ODI series 2006 - India won 2-1

CB series in australia 2008 ( India , Australia, SL ) - India won the series

5 match ODi series in Lanka 2008-9 - india won 3-1

5 match ODi series in Lanka 2009 - India won 4-1

Tri series in Lanka ( NZ ,india Lanka )2009 - India won. 3 successive series win in Lanka

5 ODI series in india 2010 - India won 3_1 ( 4th consecutive series win over Lanka)

Asia cup 2010 - Win by India

This is just 2000-10 record Where india won more series/ match against Lanka

Kanglu fans know about reality before talking nonsense

Lankan never ever won a test in india so far

Recently Lanka won a bilateral series over india after 27 years .

Oh dear @Devadwal yeah there was a period where you guys played SRL continously. However, SRL was quite dominant in tournaments.

India vs Lanka in ICC World Cups

M- 10 , India -5 , Lanka -4 , 1 no result

in T20 they have won World T20 2014 so they have upper hand

India vs Lanka in Asia cup

M -23 , India - 12 , Lanka - 11

ICC events won by India -7
ICC events won by Lanka - 3

Asia cup won by India - 8 , Lanka -6

Now tell me Who dominated Whom?

first of all who even claims to be "2nd Best" that is just downright pathetic and shows the mentality of Afghanistan team. You can never win anything with being content as 2nd best like *** is that and *** is the coaching staff teaching them.

that being said they are equal level as UAE tbf

again, dont even bother to argue for gods sakes.

Asia cup will not determine who the best team of Asia is. lol

Indian fans dont even trust their own team
Then they call it a low quality tournament in advance just incase :ROFLMAO:

Indians rested so called best bowler in history Bumrah from so called high quality test series to play against UAE in so called low quality cup.

Because that high quality series actually needed some rest. Here Bumrah can show up half asleep and still do the job.

No point responding to dumb illogical posts.

Pakistanis get in a twist when we call this a phateechar tournament just because it puts their mediocrity too in the limelight.

I thought Afghan cricket would be finished when Taliban returned. It is to their credit they have hung on for so long despite their limited resources.
It is your misconception.Economically they're getting better. Tourism is on rise in Afghanistan and it's much more peaceful.
American world order is diminishing.

It is your misconception.Economically they're getting better. Tourism is on rise in Afghanistan and it's much more peaceful.
It is disaster tourism that is on the rise. White People making tiktoks to show they are next to Taliban.

Its peaceful because the people blowing themselves up are now in power.

Long term they will sink absolutely everything in the country. Only thing that will maybe prop up cricket slightly is that Afghan Taliban are the only global allies that Indians have so they may give them some money to keep on side.

Indians rested so called best bowler in history Bumrah from so called high quality test series to play against UAE in so called low quality cup.
First produce a decent Pacer who can takes the 200 test wickets. It has been 30 year since any decent pacer debuted in Pakistan cricket .

All are they Producing is grabage trundlers brigades.

It is disaster tourism that is on the rise. White People making tiktoks to show they are next to Taliban.

Its peaceful because the people blowing themselves up are now in power.

Long term they will sink absolutely everything in the country. Only thing that will maybe prop up cricket slightly is that Afghan Taliban are the only global allies that Indians have so they may give them some money to keep on side.
Is is much better than Americans killing the civilians. Indian clout is also weakened.

Then they call it a low quality tournament in advance just incase :ROFLMAO:
Its funny how the indian fans here have no confidence in their own team.

The amount of baak baak they do here, and now when i said the true asian no.1 is gonna be the winner, alot of them are panicking and giving justification.

That local something says its a tournament below cpl but still not confident his team can win, who he also thinks is no.1

So, historically the best Asian sides have always been India and Sri Lanka in white ball, having won 14 Asia Cups between them .

Pakistan were obviously overrated in Asia.

Who were even saying otherwise?

India are Sri Lanka are easily the Top 2 teams in Asia in terms of cricketing legacy and achievements. Sri Lanka has the same number of ICC titles as Pakistan but edges them out due to their Asia Cup successes which are 3x more than Pak. Also SL has played more ICC finals than Pakistan.

Anyone who says Pakistan are the 2nd best Asian team (either on current form or past legacy) are coping as usual.

Who were even saying otherwise?

India are Sri Lanka are easily the Top 2 teams in Asia in terms of cricketing legacy and achievements. Sri Lanka has the same number of ICC titles as Pakistan but edges them out due to their Asia Cup successes which are 3x more than Pak. Also SL has played more ICC finals than Pakistan.

Anyone who says Pakistan are the 2nd best Asian team (either on current form or past legacy) are coping as usual.
Cricket legacy ke bhi ranks hain? Lol

Ok