"We wanted to take advantage of Mohammad Hafeez's form by playing him as an opener" : Sarfaraz Ahmed

"The Asia Cup is gone and it's in the past, we're not thinking about it. We're thinking about the Test series, the morale is high and we're in a different frame of mind so we hope we will do well insha'Allah"

"The 2014 series was a long time ago, the teams are different now and we have lost Younis and Misbah bhais, we have some new faces but we'll try our best to win this series"

"This Australian team has a few different players with a couple of debutants, but they have some players who have been regularly playing ODI cricket. It looks like a good team, their batting is a bit inexperienced but they have experience of playing Big Bash and otther leagues"

"We played against Lyon in 2014 but at the moment, he's a different bowler and has a lot of wickets in Asia. We have made plans regarding him in the batting meeting and hopefully we'll execute them"

"We have no issue about shaking hands before the match, we spoke about it before the presser. It's a very good sign and insha'Allah we will do it tomorrow"

"Everyone has input on the squad, I am happy with it. The team looks very balanced and I am hopeful of our good performance"

"The more Test cricket you play, the more you adjust to it but unfortunately, we haven't played much Test cricket recently. However, we have a block of 8 Tests coming up so hopefully the boys will get used to it and adjust to the long format"

"The batsmen will have to take responsibility here, in the past we've always made big runs here which backs up the bowlers. Our batsmen will have to convert 50s into big hundreds. Hopefully the hard work that we have done in training will pay off and make big runs which will give the bowlers something to bowl at"

"The SL series was my first Test series, this is now my 3rd series. In that one, we made a lot of costly errors but I have learnt from that and hopefully we will be able to take advantage of that and take the team forward. The first target is to perform well in these two Tests and to win the series"

"Yasir Shah was unfit during the England tour but he's been playing FC cricket regularly and has worked hard, he has bowled brilliantly in the nets during practice. He is our main bowler and I am hopeful that he will perform as he has done in the past and will win us matches. Hafeez bhai has performed well in domestic cricket so he was inducted in the team. We also wanted to take advantage of his form by playing him as an opener and he also fulfills the role of a fifth bowler which improves the team's balance. Hopefully he will carry over his form from domestic cricket and win us matches"

Shockingly braindead decision to have Hafeez opening. So much better suited to the middle order with his skillset

Pathetic decision. Hafeez should have been no higher than six.

Sarfaraz providing the material and labour for his own coffin, even helping in digging the grave. :facepalm:

This could be last series for him and Mickey.

I think it will be the last series for Micky and Sarfraz. Bowling attack looks weak and batting suspect as normal.

Expecting Lyon to have a field day against our pony batting line up

Hafeez will do fine as an opener, better than Imam.

But he will be THE BEST if he bats at 4/5/6... New ball is not something he should be playing often.

Are you really serious Sarfi? Hafeez is a welcome addition but at number 6 rather than 1/2. This is a regressive step :facepalm:

Yeah, play Hafeez on dead placid wickets and new players like Usman Slahuddin in England and South Africa, way to go .

I did mention it earlier that it makes sense to have Hafeez on the Test squad. In UAE, he should still be able to put up runs and hopefully still be useful with his bowling.

However, its disappointing that Bilal Asif is going to be in the lineup as well. Having another specialist spinner along with Yasir and Hafeez and Pakistan would most likely run through the Australia lineup.

What an absolute disgrace😡😡
I believe Mickey is not happy with having to accommodate Hafeez again but has no choice & to make matters worse he’s gona open 🤦🏽*♂️

Hafeez will actually succeed as openers and all nay sayers will eat their words and hang their heads in shame.

Hafeez has great capabilities to succeed as a Test opener. He’s brilliant!

Hafeez will actually succeed as openers and all nay sayers will eat their words and hang their heads in shame.

Hafeez has great capabilities to succeed as a Test opener. He’s brilliant!

Lol what brilliant thing has he done for us in the last 5 years.

So we are now accommodating a player who’s not been part of the last couple of squads and moving every other batsmen’s position around

Is it me or does it seem as the think tank including Sarfraz has no clear strategy in place for this test series

From placing all the reliance of Wkts on Yasir to bringing back Hafeez the thinking is diabolical to say the least

Seems like the selectors, management and captain have gone crazy in the last few months. I am really confused by what is going on.

So was Hafeez's form not known when the side was announced originally?

Hafeez has a 52.75 average with 3 hundreds and 8 fifty's in 17 Tests in UAE. He obviously shouldn't play in England/New Zealand/South Africa/Australia but he's a beast in Asia.

Hafeez has a 54.56 average when opening in UAE. So... yeah, maybe everyone shouldn't complain about this too much.

If people want to complain about anyone opening, it should be Imam. Considering he's not an elite batsmen, can't bowl and isn't a particularly elite fielder, he is simply not that valuable and Azhar should be opening with Hafeez and using another middle order batsmen like Usman in the lineup.

Hafeez wants to play as an opener so let him open. At least he won't complain later on.

Poor vision from Inzi and Co. Hafeez will probably score big in this series on wickets where the ball does not rise above knee high.

The issue is that we have the SA tour coming up and most probably based on his performance in the UAE, selectors will be forced to put him in the squad for SA where he is a sitting duck. Steyn will be licking his lips.

If Hafeez was in such good form then why did Inzi, Mickey and Sarfraz leave him out of the Asia Cup? :inzi

That's the whole point. with an average of 54 in UAE, he will probably do well but then there will be no excuse to discard him for the SA series. We all know what Steyn and Co did to him in the last series.

What a turnaround for Hafeez in the span of a few weeks - from being on the verge of retirement to now first choice opener in the Australia series :13:@Abdullah719 @Saj

What a waste.

Although i am not a fan of Hafeez, he could have done good things for Pak at 6 in ODI + tests. He is good against spin and a stroke maker.

Are they trying to keep Hafeez happy? Or are they guarding Azhar Ali? Not sure what is happening.

Hafeez walks back in the test team & that too as an Opener!!! Only in Pakistan 🤷🏽*♂️🤦🏽*♂️
This guy has some serious connections...

How can you not pick Fawad Alam. How can you not pick Fakhar in playing 11. A t20 slogger is in the most precious format of cricket called asif ali. Why they not playing faheem ashraf to develop him. What happened to zafar gohar a left arm spinner. Test cricket is about specialists and not Odi and t20 team.

I cant understand what has gone wrong in Mickey Arthur planning and Sarfraz thinking. How can you not develop fakhar in this format? An off spinner is missing, and spin coach is missing someone like Ajmal would have been a great asset for pakistan in the long run.

Pretty average test team i hope we can draw the series.

This is probably a move by sarfaraz to end hafeez’s career one for and all. He wants send him up the order while sarfaraz himself hasn’t even been able to play in his own position.

Much better he opens than any other spot. Him opening allows us to play our better prospects down the order. Way worse if he took the no.6/5 spot where a middle order bat will play (e.g. Babar or Haris).

Him opening really is sacrificing him for the team. Mickey knows Hafeez will do better down the order. But more important to get Azhar back into form with him approaching mid 30s, will probably get more mileage as a middle order bat.

He's in really for his bowling, as there's very few experienced spinners. Mickey didn't play two spinners against SL for that reason, little experience hence he thought he'd go with the fast bowlers which had international experience.

Find it funny people blame Hafeez for his position, he's ready to bat anywhere. He's even demoted himself down the order when he was captain. It's not so much that, it's more he can't take the middle order slots of the potentially more talented batsmen. Openers however, there's not exactly much competition. And with his added bowling, generally for most his test career despite the poor average in Eng, SA etc.,, he's been of more worth than all the openers for the last 20 years or so since Anwar except for the brief time Azhar Ali opened. Opening is just tricky for our bats, most like being down the order, milking the spinners. Azhar's probably the first Pakistani batsman I've seen in a long while who actually looks like someone who plays pace better than spin and suits up the order than down. Problem is he's ageing too.

Sarfraz is losing the plot at an alarming rate. Batting, captaincy, and now letting back in senior stooges who probably pressured him to let it slide. Ofc Mickey, Inzi, and Sarfraz, all 3 are blamed, but this guy is def not innocent.

Called it back in 2014 that he won't be the inspirational no ** lead from the front guy, and now he's going above and beyond to prove it.

Bechara Usman got dropped as well, getting the Fawad Alarm treatment.

I'll silently protest this selection by not watching this series. I will make them pay :amir3

Hafeez as an openner in uae is good option.
But i will hope hafeez fail miserably. So we as a fan can enjoy end to his career

Hafeez has a 52.75 average with 3 hundreds and 8 fifty's in 17 Tests in UAE. He obviously shouldn't play in England/New Zealand/South Africa/Australia but he's a beast in Asia.

Hafeez has a 54.56 average when opening in UAE. So... yeah, maybe everyone shouldn't complain about this too much.

If people want to complain about anyone opening, it should be Imam. Considering he's not an elite batsmen, can't bowl and isn't a particularly elite fielder, he is simply not that valuable and Azhar should be opening with Hafeez and using another middle order batsmen like Usman in the lineup.

Nice.. So play the beast in UAE and take all the young guns like IMAM, USMAN, SAAD ALI to england and SA so once they fail there bring back the beast when coming back to UAE... Shoaib Malik scores a test double ton in UAE sums up the level of pitches here, who cant even put bat on ball even during his primetime when they go to Aus/Eng/Nzl..

UAE is a dead placid wickets, even then there hafeez has still lost his wickets no. of times for a little early swings on the sun dried pitches...

What a waste.

Although i am not a fan of Hafeez, he could have done good things for Pak at 6 in ODI + tests. He is good against spin and a stroke maker.

Are they trying to keep Hafeez happy? Or are they guarding Azhar Ali?

Not sure what is happening.

Are they trying to keep Hafeez happy?
Yes indeed, because it is the only place where he can score some runs to prove himself and others that he is an opener.

Or are they guarding Azhar Ali?
because of the question above, it will turn out to say they want to guard Azhar ali. But he is who scored a double ton in Aus opening the innings which only a handful of players around the world achieved that feat.

I feel Mickey is clueless when it comes to playing tests in UAE...His theory of team selection is deeply skeptical.

This is probably a move by sarfaraz to end hafeez’s career one for and all. He wants send him up the order while sarfaraz himself hasn’t even been able to play in his own position.

lol not sure being sarcastic or real.

Hafeez wanted to open and he paid it off. Kudos to him for that, but not sure if it's in Pak's interest long term especially with the SA series coming up.

Why do people speak without having any knowledge of cricket? Simple reality is Hafeez is and always was a good choice in Asia so I would always play him in Asia and he should have been in the Asia Cup squad where he was missed massively and Pak had to rely on Sohail and Fakhar to bowl 10 what stupidity was that?

Hafeez problem comes in oversees conditions so yeah sure drop him there. I would also say that play him in ICC tournaments as the conditions there becomes Asian like due to the over use of the same pitches for all matches. Hope this clarifies for those who have no idea about cricket and how different pitches affect players.

Waste of time hai yaar. Anyone can score in UAE. This was a good chance to introduce Fakhar in the lower middle order.

I get where you’re coming from, but the thing is the rest of our batsmen are such snails that I’m not really completely averse to him opening in the UAE. Atleast he bats with some intent. Overseas is a different story, obviously

Its not just that, He is a good all round player and essential 3rd spin bowling option in UAE. Otherwise there will have to be overs from Sohail or Fakhar and we saw what happens then in Asia Cup. We need to win where we can first which is in UAE think about overseas tours outside Asia when it comes to it.