Jo_Don
Very sporting declaration by Clarke, hope the WI can pull it off. Sammy is looking good with the bat, if he can get the RRR down to about 2.5 then Chanderpaul should be able to pull it off.
Look at his test captaincy record. Has he ever needed to make a sporting declaration?
That's not really the point. The Q is would he do it to go for a win in a situation like this when he is already 1-0 up in the series? I think we all know the answer, don't we? He was pacing his innings in a T20 match for goodness sake. And would he come up the order like Sammy did today to seize the initiative?
rain rain go away, come back when I get paid
The target looks very much on but we have to remember Clarke can go very defensive if he chooses to. It's not easy to score on here against a defensive line and field set.
Windies have to go far it being behind in the series.
Well it's just your opinion. No such similar situation has occured so you don't have any evidence. Don't attribute Misbah's batting style to his captaincy.
And no he wouldn't. Because he's not a naturally attacking batsman. Sammy didn't go up the order just because he's captain.
Good to Sammy going for it (remind everyone how gutless India was out in the Caribbean a few months ago).
Clarkes problem is that they only need 3-4 runs an over. If he goes too defensive, with men all over the boundary then they can get 'em in singles.
Well it's just your opinion. No such similar situation has occured so you don't have any evidence. Don't attribute Misbah's batting style to his captaincy.
And no he wouldn't. Because he's not a naturally attacking batsman. Sammy didn't go up the order just because he's captain.
And how do you know that?
bhai juwa haraam he![]()
Chacha MBA is a good Test captain but still a very defensive one. He would rather go for a draw when 1-0 up in a series than go for a win, in a situation where he could very well lose. Just my opinion. Now don't make me go and dig up facts for you...bc I won't.![]()
Juwa nahi, lottery hai yaar
That's true and IMO that's what he should do. Why risk throwing away a 1-0 lead? It's basically this situation:
A - If you don't declare, the chances of a series victory are 95%.
B - If you declare, the chances of a 2-0 win are 60%, chances of drawing the series are 40%.
Which would you go for?
That's true and IMO that's what he should do. Why risk throwing away a 1-0 lead? It's basically this situation:
A - If you don't declare, the chances of a series victory are 95%.
B - If you declare, the chances of a 2-0 win are 60%, chances of drawing the series are 40%.
Which would you go for?
It works for him but not the fan. That's the reason his success rate as a captain is so high. Everyone talks about how analytical he is with his decisions. But you gotta admit it takes the fun out of the game from spectator and fan POV. Would there be any excitement in this match if Clarke had gone on for another hour or two so a draw was guaranteed? Bc you know that's exactly what Misbah would've done to protect his 1-0 lead.
And I also understand his reasons; he knows that the phase our cricket is going through right now, we have a lot more to lose from a loss than we have to gain from a potential win. But all that doesn't change the fact that he is a defensive captain.
So in your opinion Clarke should not have declared, even though it created all this excitement among all us fans of cricket? I understand that he is essentially lowering his chances of winning the series by declaring, but it is also giving him a chance to go for another victory, and isn't that what any sport is all about?
Rain denied us here. Oh well.
Series now cant be lost. Onward and upward.