West Indies v Pakistan | 2nd T20I | Port of Spain | Mar 30, 2017 | Pre-Match Thread

hadi123

Hafeez has to go. Had enough of him. Riaz should also be dropped, he is rubbish.

1) Ahmed Shehzad - one more chance
2) Kamran Akmal
3) Fakhar Zaman in for Hafeez
4) Babar Azam
5) Shoaib Malik
6) Sarfraz Ahmed
7) Imad Wasim
8) Shadab Khan
9) Hasan Ali
10) Sohail Tanvir
11) Rumman Raees - in for rubbish Riaz

Was Rumman Raees injured? Was really surprise to see him not being included today.

He was the best bowler in the PSL and yet someone like Tanvir was preferred.

Fakhar for Hafeez and Usman and Rumman for Wahab and Tanvir.
Ideally i want Kami and Shezi to be out too but we don't have replacements for them.

Want to build a young team without tried and tested players.

2 Changes:
Fakhar Zaman in place of M Hafeez
Rumman Raees in place of Wahab Riaz

Hafeez OUT, Nawaz IN
Wahab OUT, Raees IN

Shehzad and Tanvir should each get 1-2 more games before Fakhar/Shinwari get a look-in.

Why do you want Nawaz in? Bowling isn't the dept we lack in, we need to strengthen our batting.

Simply because we have too many accumulators and batsmen right now. The likes of Shadab and Imad need to come up rather than be left at #7 and #8. Also, another spinner definitely does not hurt.

I'd play for the next game:

Shehzad
Babar
Kamran
Shoaib
Sarfraz
Shadab
Imad
Nawaz
Hasan
Rumman
Tanvir

Simply because we have too many accumulators and batsmen right now. The likes of Shadab and Imad need to come up rather than be left at #7 and #8. Also, another spinner definitely does not hurt.

I'd play for the next game:

Shehzad
Babar
Kamran
Shoaib
Sarfraz
Shadab
Imad
Nawaz
Hasan
Rumman
Tanvir

why not have fakhar in there? adds variety to a right handed top-middle order

For the title, It's 2nd T20I.

Pakistan will go with same top 7. Wahab/Shinwari/Raees will swap positions every now and then.

If its 1-1 after 2 matches, Hafeez will manage to get injured by the time of third match and will remain unfit for 4th if Pak loses 3rd.

Wahab is playing guys

See the post match confrence on PCB FB , Sarfraz praised him for bowling two over "into the wind", says Wahab deserves praise

Even PP is divided on the value of MoHa - this is why he is National Treasure, priceless. Also, most priceless things are useless in world - Monalisa, The Great Star of Africa, Fabrege Eggs ........... Mohammad Hafeez...........

Its true trolling is an art. This obvious is not even worth it, IMO, Try harder

This is getting boring and repetitive. Try something else for a change.

Hafeez has to be out for sure, but knowing the Pakistani thick tank they will go with unchanged winning side. That is how it has always been.

If we win the 2nd T20 as well and Hafeez still hasn't clicked then he will be given one final chance in the 3rd T20 and as history suggests he would smack a 30-40 in it and reserve his place for the next few matches.

He is blessed in all facets. Moha for prime minister.

why not have fakhar in there? adds variety to a right handed top-middle order

One tailender for another. It's better to have Fakhar at the top.

Shadab and Imad are more explosive and have more slogging potential than anyone in our tuk tuk top 6. Can't hide them at #7 and #8, and both should bat up a bit.

Fakhar replacing Hafeez means Malik all the way down at #5, Sarfraz at #6 where he has no business, and the two better hitters in the side at #7 and #8.

Fakhar should be playing instead of Shehzad, but unfortunately that won't happen unless and until Shehzad fails two more games.

Shadab and Imad are more explosive and have more slogging potential than anyone in our tuk tuk top 6. Can't hide them at #7 and #8, and both should bat up a bit.

Fakhar replacing Hafeez means Malik all the way down at #5, Sarfraz at #6 where he has no business, and the two better hitters in the side at #7 and #8.

Fakhar should be playing instead of Shehzad, but unfortunately that won't happen unless and until Shehzad fails two more games.

Use both, Shadab and Fakhar, as explosive options. Put Fakhar wherever you want, he can be at the top or the middle. Nawaz adds absolutely nothing as his bowling is average and his batting is equal to Wahab.

Suggest an XI.

Also, Nawaz definitely adds something on these wickets and can be far more useful than Wahab Riaz. You're judging him based on a very small amount of games which is extremely unfair. He's had two decent PSL seasons and needs more games, especially in these conditions against a team like WI.

Suggest an XI.

Also, Nawaz definitely adds something on these wickets and can be far more useful than Wahab Riaz. You're judging him based on a very small amount of games which is extremely unfair. He's had two decent PSL seasons and needs more games, especially in these conditions against a team like WI.

Quite frankly I don't care what Nawaz adds to the team in WI as we won't be playing any meaningful matches here. Aside from from the harsh comments, I can guarantee you he will succeed against WI but will he preform against stronger team? I highly doubt he can do anything except keep an economy of 5 and a wicket here and there along with his tailender like batting.

1) Ahmed Shehzad
2) Babar Azam
3) Kamran Akmal
4) Fakhar Zaman
5) Shoaib Malik
6) Sarfraz Ahmed
7) Imad Wasim
8) Shadab Khan (would like him at 7 but won't happen)
9) Hasan Ali
10) Sohail Tanvir
11) Rumman Raees

I dont understand why you rate Imad's batting so highly. I dont think he is much better than somebody like Starc as far as batting ability. Hasn't done enough to be considered a genuine allrounder.

He has an explosive strike of < 100 in ODIs which is poor given the position he bats at.

Hafeez is the weakest link in this T20 side, and Wahab isnt very good either on pitches that don't favor the fast bowlers.

Definitely replace Hafeez with Fakhar and give him a go.

Quite frankly I don't care what Nawaz adds to the team in WI as we won't be playing any meaningful matches here. Aside from from the harsh comments, I can guarantee you he will succeed against WI but will he preform against stronger team? I highly doubt he can do anything except keep an economy of 5 and a wicket here and there along with his tailender like batting.

1) Ahmed Shehzad
2) Babar Azam
3) Kamran Akmal
4) Fakhar Zaman
5) Shoaib Malik
6) Sarfraz Ahmed
7) Imad Wasim
9) Hasan Ali
10) Sohail Tanvir
11) Rumman Raees

That would be my team too and i agree on letting Shadab come in to bat before Imad.

I dont understand why you rate Imad's batting so highly. I dont think he is much better than somebody like Starc as far as batting ability. Hasn't done enough to be considered a genuine allrounder.

He has an explosive strike of < 100 in ODIs which is poor given the position he bats at.

Imad is a good batsman especially in the longer version of the game. He played most of his cricket in diamond cricket ground Islamabad and I have seen him scoring in difficult conditions.
If he is selected in test cricket at some point (though i think there are better options) he will be a better batsman than bowler.

Imad is a good batsman especially in the longer version of the game. He played most of his cricket in diamond cricket ground Islamabad and I have seen him scoring in difficult conditions.
If he is selected in test cricket at some point (though i think there are better options) he will be a better batsman than bowler.

But here, he is being presented as an explosive batsman for the shorter format which he really isn't.

Akmal
Shehzad
Babar
Fakhar
Shoaib
Sarfraz
Shadab
Imad
Rumman
Hasan
Wahab

1) Ahmed Shehzad
2) Babar Azam
3) Kamran Akmal
4) Fakhar Zaman
5) Shoaib Malik
6) Sarfraz Ahmed
7) Imad Wasim
9) Hasan Ali
10) Sohail Tanvir
11) Rumman Raees

Yes I agree with you, and I wouldn't have picked Nawaz for T20Is either.

But with the current options available and for this series specifically, I'd slot him in.

Rest of your XI seems fine.

I'd rather have Sarfraz, Shadab, and Imad at #5, 6, and 7 than have Malik, Sarfraz, and Shadab/Imad there.

Yes I agree with you, and I wouldn't have picked Nawaz for T20Is either.

But with the current options available and for this series specifically, I'd slot him in.

Rest of your XI seems fine.

I'd rather have Sarfraz, Shadab, and Imad at #5, 6, and 7 than have Malik, Sarfraz, and Shadab/Imad there.

Shadab is still a bit of an unknown entity so i will wait a bit to make up my mind about his batting abilities. He does seem to have good potential.

However, if there are 36 runs to score in the last 3 overs of a chase. All things being equal, would you rather send in Malik or Imad? Sarfraz or Imad? I will take Sarfraz and Malik over Imad.

It is incorrect to assume that Imad has more explosive power than Malik or Sarfraz. Shadab may actually end up being a better bet than Imad in terms of striking abilities.

Akmal
Shehzad
Babar
Fakhar
Shoaib
Sarfraz
Shadab
Imad
Rumman
Hasan
Wahab

That's the team I'd go for too but one of Tanvir or Hafeez I'm sure will find a way to keep their place in the side.

Trinidad is another spin friendly pitch so three spinners will be a must.

our odi selection is worse than t20 ..hafeez will surely play all odi....where he has to score just one 20 plus rund and throw 3 to 4 overs ..

i think pak should stick to the same team for the next game, with last chance for wahab and hafiz. more than performance their attitude should improve. they seem thet couldnt care less

That's the team I'd go for too but one of Tanvir or Hafeez I'm sure will find a way to keep their place in the side.

Trinidad is another spin friendly pitch so three spinners will be a must.

Tanvir bowled well in the first game. Frankly he is a much better option than Wahab on these pitches.

can we do something to stop this ttf hafeez from being selected in team again and again..any suggestion...i maean media etc....i will like to take initiative...

17635454_1549924131747580_3938536539146575699_o.jpg

17632256_1549923675080959_5032309731700878837_o.jpg

17632160_1549923928414267_2661849317976749436_o.jpg

17621719_1549924025080924_8192952122190725024_o.jpg

The Windies are so awful that we can play a TTF eleven and still completely demolish them.

I don't know why Windies keep chopping and changing everytime I see them play there are a slew of new names who I haven't seen before.

What happened to Johnston Charles who was giving them good starts in the T20 WC?

What happened to Andre Fletcher?

What happened to Darren Bravo?

What happened to Dinesh Ramdin?

Why did they drop Darren Sammy?

Why did they drop Dwayne Bravo when he is apparently a MVP in T20 cricket?

Where is Jerome Taylor?

What happened to Shannon Gabriel?

Why was Carlos Brathwaite made the captain after just one lucky performance?

If there is one cricket board that is worse than the PCB it is the WICB. It is so sad to see their state, I have always been supremely impressed by the brand of cricket they play (which is actually quite similar to Pakistan off old) but unfortunately their cricket is dying and will be dead if things head this way.

Shadab is still a bit of an unknown entity so i will wait a bit to make up my mind about his batting abilities. He does seem to have good potential.

However, if there are 36 runs to score in the last 3 overs of a chase. All things being equal, would you rather send in Malik or Imad? Sarfraz or Imad? I will take Sarfraz and Malik over Imad.

It is incorrect to assume that Imad has more explosive power than Malik or Sarfraz. Shadab may actually end up being a better bet than Imad in terms of striking abilities.

36 off 3 overs required?

Malik will be an asset in such a situation. However, Sarfraz, with pacers bowling at him? I'd rather have Imad.

Shadab must be backed and promoted to #6, at least against WI. Else we'll never know of his batting position.

And yes, that's why I would have Shadab at #6 and Imad at #7, because I agree that Shadab will be better than Imad when it comes to hitting it a long way.

The Windies are so awful that we can play a TTF eleven and still completely demolish them.

I don't know why Windies keep chopping and changing everytime I see them play there are a slew of new names who I haven't seen before.

What happened to Johnston Charles who was giving them good starts in the T20 WC?

Where is Jerome Taylor?

If there is one cricket board that is worse than the PCB it is the WICB. It is so sad to see their state, I have always been supremely impressed by the brand of cricket they play (which is actually quite similar to Pakistan off old) but unfortunately their cricket is dying and will be dead if things head this way.

Oh mate long story but I'll keep it short.

Charles and Fletcher were terrible in the UAE and were deservedly dropped, though Fletcher is still in the squad as he can double up as a keeper. Evin Lewis has the potential to be better than both.

Darren Bravo called WICB Chairman Dave Cameron a big idiot on Twitter (he's right) after he was given only a Grade C contract. He's refused the contract and is out of contention.

Dwayne Bravo has a hamstring injury. Denesh Ramdin was rubbish and has been deservedly dropped. There's numerous WK-batsmen like Shai Hope, Chadwick Walton and Shane Dowrich with more potential.

Darren Sammy as you remember BLASTED the WICB after the WT20 final and has since been dropped. He was sacked as captain in a 30 second phone call and replaced with Carlos Brathwaite - who's been given the job on the basis of those four sixes and because he's a good boy.

Jerome Taylor's in the squad but has been a declining force in the last few years and isn't getting any younger at 32.

Charles and Fletcher were terrible in the UAE and were deservedly dropped, though Fletcher is still in the squad as he can double up as a keeper. Evin Lewis has the potential to be better than both.

Darren Bravo called WICB Chairman Dave Cameron a big idiot on Twitter (he's right) after he was given only a Grade C contract. He's refused the contract and is out of contention.

Dwayne Bravo has a hamstring injury. Denesh Ramdin was rubbish and has been deservedly dropped. There's numerous WK-batsmen like Shai Hope, Chadwick Walton and Shane Dowrich with more potential.

Darren Sammy as you remember BLASTED the WICB after the WT20 final and has since been dropped. He was sacked as captain in a 30 second phone call and replaced with Carlos Brathwaite - who's been given the job on the basis of those four sixes and because he's a good boy.

Jerome Taylor's in the squad but has been a declining force in the last few years and isn't getting any younger at 32.

What an absolute shambles, make the PCB set up seem like the most professional in the world!

So players are getting dropped left and right because they criticized the chairman and WICB :facepalm:

What Sammy said in the final presentation ceremony should have been grounds for introspection rather than sacking of the person raising the voice.

This is the reason why WI are no longer a force to be reckoned with.

Where is Jerome Taylor?

WI has won two WT20 titles. I wont think they are hopeless in that format.

In ODIs they are poor but Pakistan isnt good either so they would still be a decent competition.

Shadab should continue his dominance on West Indies batting unless they come up with a magical plan against him

Pakistan should bat first after winning the toss if it's a good pitch, the match gets boring when Pakistan bowls first and WI start to collapse, and give a low target which is boring to watch Pakistan chase. I understand that bowling is Pakistan's strength right now but batsmen should be tested as well.
I hope WI win the toss and bowls first so that Pakistani batsmen can prove they can win as well, I hope Fakhar and Rumman play instead of Hafeez and Wahab, and the pitch is flat so we can see a high scoring game.
:salute
we will win though, WI have no chance:imad

I dont think Pak team will make any changes barring an injury for the next game at least.

I would like West Indies to use their pacemen more. In fact I would like it even more of the pitch has some bounce

Highly unlikely Hafeez will be dropped in the 2nd match. If he continue fail he may dropped after 2nd ODI (4 T20+2 ODI).

So players are getting dropped left and right because they criticized the chairman and WICB :facepalm:

What Sammy said in the final presentation ceremony should have been grounds for introspection rather than sacking of the person raising the voice.

This is the reason why WI are no longer a force to be reckoned with.

Sammy since April 2, 2014 (nearly 3 years)

Batting:

0*
0*
20*
12*

Bowling:

3/22 (3 overs)
0/22 (3 overs)
0/17 (2 overs)
0/17 (1 over)
0/26 (2 overs)
0/17 (2 overs)
1/17 (2 overs)
0/14 (1 over)

He's a glorified cheerleader.

1 Kamran.
2 Shehzad.
3 Babar.
4 Fakhar.
5 Malik.
6 Sarfaraz.
7 Shadab.
8 Imad.
9 Hassan.
10 Rumman.
11 Shenwari.

i hope he is called again for chucking otherwise he ain't going any where

bhai wapis agya phir kia hoga? dubara ajayega wo. Allah karay duck pe duck le bs batting main aur wicket bhi na le koi. Ammeen :hafeez

sabr kr test matches main bhi shamil hojia ga sirf aik fifty kr la bus

mujhe lgta hai agr batting main fail hua yahan tou lazmi test main ayega professor. Inzi's message to professor : "Aye ho meri zindagi main tum bahar ban k. Pakistani team main yu hii rehna tum fail ho ho k"

It is in favour of Pakistan cricket that Kamraan and Hafeez do not cash in on the weak Windies side, otherwise they will continue to linger on for the next two three series.

realistic team I'd like to see today:

Shehzad
Kamran
Babar
Sarfraz
Malik
Fakhar
Imad
Shadab
Hasan
Tanvir/Shinwari
Rumman

Got a 7-0 winning streak in LOIs vs West Indies. Will it be 8-0 tonight ?