What do you do for a living?

What do you do for a Living?

1 more semester left, becoming a computer/electrical engineer... I hope i can find a full time job it's kinda tough these days.

Working for a IT company in London but so fed up and want to start something my own ...

Any business idea for low cost startup ?? Please share

Working for a IT company in London but so fed up and want to start something my own ...

Any business idea for low cost startup ?? Please share

Start something that you have experience in.

Re: What do you do for a Living?

To all the engineers in Pak - what is the scope like this in this field? Especially Telecom electrical engineering?

Is it easy to find a job in the mid east with a BEng?

Not for me. Asking for a friend.

To all the engineers in Pak - what is the scope like this in this field? Especially Telecom electrical engineering?

My friend did the same degree from Pakistan and he has struggled to find a decent job in Pakistan and he ended up in UAE completely changing his field

Well that kinda Sucks.

The stars were in alignment.

As expected PP is ruled by Students (47%). And 2nd is IT people. :D

I would like to hear more about your work please, since i am in my first year of Information technology majoring in business information systems and i have no clue what kind of jobs i am gonna end up with. Yours look pretty relevant.
Thanks

I work for the government in the area of tax compliance. Not something that was an intended career path, but the work's fine.

The field is a mess.I wouldn't advice anyone to take up telecom engineering in Pakistan.I know quite a few people including a cousin of mine who are struggling to find jobs in this sector{still unemployed} .There is just too much saturation and the industry on the whole is on the decline.Last year when I was giving my NUST entrance tests, the merit for telecom engineering was the lowest, I believe.That should give you an idea about its future.
If your friend has other options, tell him to reconsider.Electrical power is on the high at the moment.He should definitely give it a thought.
Edit:However if he still wishes to pursue this career path tell him to get it from NUST {if in Pakistan}, at least he will have a better chance at getting the available jobs.

The field is a mess.I wouldn't advice anyone to take up telecom engineering in Pakistan.I know quite a few people including a cousin of mine who are struggling to find jobs in this sector{still unemployed} .There is just too much saturation and the industry on the whole is on the decline.Last year when I was giving my NUST entrance tests, the merit for telecom engineering was the lowest, I believe.That should give you an idea about its future.
If your friend has other options, tell him to reconsider.Electrical power is on the high at the moment.He should definitely give it a thought.
Edit:However if he still wishes to pursue this career path tell him to get it from NUST {if in Pakistan}, at least he will have a better chance at getting the available jobs.

Thanks. He has already completed the bachelors though so no turning back now I'm afraid.

Extremely difficult to get a full-time job in UK. Many such as myself struggle to get work with at least 25 hours a week. I work in a retail department which is about 15 hours a week but its not really making my life any better but nothing I can do as its the best things I can get so far. Jobs are difficult to get especially for young people is a serious problem.

Employees require experience but how can you get experience when no one gives you a job? - perfect Catch 22.

Extremely difficult to get a full-time job in UK. Many such as myself struggle to get work with at least 25 hours a week. I work in a retail department which is about 15 hours a week but its not really making my life any better but nothing I can do as its the best things I can get so far. Jobs are difficult to get especially for young people is a serious problem.

Employees require experience but how can you get experience when no one gives you a job? - perfect Catch 22.
Spot on.

This is where :corleone helps

Worked in a health assessment company (where I am during the summer) while also working at a law firm with an entry level position. I have a year left for my law degree then plan to become a full time lawyer.

Great , can you throw some light on what you write.

I write for a research consultancy mainly and so topics vary as per clients order - usually political issues. I have also written for a few political and sporting sites, a popular political blog (top 10 award winning one) and so on.

Was doing a PhD - dropped that as I don't want to be an academic (yet - also topic didn't sustain my interest). Will Insha-Allah do MPP next year (will be 2nd masters) and then maybe to a PhD later part time in a different area.

interesting. how many years have you been in it and whats the scope of it in Karachi if you don't mind.

Its been two year...there r around 8-10 institutes that do full fledge research so opportunities are limited but the work is pretty interesting n there is room for development but in Pakistan, Karachi is the financial hub so u may not find opportunities elsewhere

Interesting. How would you say the salaries are for someone with a couple years of experience. Competitive side? don't have to give an exact number but lets say in relation the MT programs at corps like shell, engro etc which pay around 5-70k a month.?

thanks!

Interesting. How would you say the salaries are for someone with a couple years of experience. Competitive side? don't have to give an exact number but lets say in relation the MT programs at corps like shell, engro etc which pay around 5-70k a month.?

thanks!

These institutions are mostly like "Sathia companies" so the pay is a bit lessar than compared to MTO programs but since the competition is tough n there is high demand for experienced analyst u eventually grow in terms of salary. 2 year experience guys is getting some whr around 50k-70k but the experience of working in research is worth alot more...u learn new things each day!!! I also try to make money on my own by investing in stocks too using the gained experience and contacts :)

Will love to assist u n others if u hv further queries :)

thanks!

salary also depends on firms u r working for..if u ur working for buy side institutes than the pay will be a little lessar compared to sell side :)

These institutions are mostly like "Sathia companies" so the pay is a bit lessar than compared to MTO programs but since the competition is tough n there is high demand for experienced analyst u eventually grow in terms of salary. 2 year experience guys is getting some whr around 50k-70k but the experience of working in research is worth alot more...u learn new things each day!!! I also try to make money on my own by investing in stocks too using the gained experience and contacts :)

Will love to assist u n others if u hv further queries :)

well my background is that im working in the US for a few months and will prolly work till june next year before moving back to khi. im more into corp finance rather than equity research or markets though get some exposure to it and have a good grasp on it due to studies and general interest. So am open to a career in it. lets see where it goes. in any case I will likely have a long term career in finance regardless of which subsector.

what would be your comment on the recruiting aspect? is it still sifarish and getting the foot in the door at these firms through ****** or is there some fair and proper recruiting process. ofcourse recommendations help anywhere.

thanks for the replies man :)

well my background is that im working in the US for a few months and will prolly work till june next year before moving back to khi. im more into corp finance rather than equity research or markets though get some exposure to it and have a good grasp on it due to studies and general interest. So am open to a career in it. lets see where it goes. in any case I will likely have a long term career in finance regardless of which subsector.

what would be your comment on the recruiting aspect? is it still sifarish and getting the foot in the door at these firms through ****** or is there some fair and proper recruiting process. ofcourse recommendations help anywhere.

thanks for the replies man :)

If you hv good writing, analytical skills and good at numbers...u can do good in our sector...Recruitment in Research department is highly on merit because firms can not afford any person who is not sharp or do not have good finance concept...The only problem coz of limited opportunities is "in order to be called for an interview or considered for the post, you need contacts in the industry or u can do internship to get a chance"...Corporate Sales is also another department u can consider working for

Soon to specialize in Commercial Law in sha Allah.

About to graduate in commerce in about 3 months InshaAllah. Right now indisicisive as to which field I should opt for further studies as in whether I should go for Investment or some other similar in category. My specialization is in Accounting and Finance though.

Experts from similar fields are free to shower their advices as I need them :)

About to graduate in commerce in about 3 months InshaAllah. Right now indisicisive as to which field I should opt for further studies as in whether I should go for Investment or some other similar in category. My specialization is in Accounting and Finance though.

Experts from similar fields are free to shower their advices as I need them :)

If you are from Karachi, investment field has a decent scope. If your writing, analytical and research skills are good you can make ur career in investment field. Banks are always a safe and decent option you can try getting into their Management Trainee programs!!!

A Chartered Accountant by profession, worked in a big 4 for around 7 odd years before moving to industry in Finance.

[MENTION=3292]Little Master[/MENTION], I believe you live in the UAE. If yes, can I get job-based advice from you privately?

Shifted to a new job, still a Social Media Manager though.

So, [MENTION=135445]Strike Rate[/MENTION] , tell me the exact nature of your job uncle!

My job, it sucks in the way that it's 9-10 hours continuous work, mostly monitoring and troubleshooting of networks, under the watch of your manager.

Can't use social media, code, or enjoy cricket.. plus shifts!

So, [MENTION=135445]Strike Rate[/MENTION] , tell me the exact nature of your job uncle!

My job, it sucks in the way that it's 9-10 hours continuous work, mostly monitoring and troubleshooting of networks, under the watch of your manager.

Can't use social media, code, or enjoy cricket.. plus shifts!

I can understand your situation young boy but you will get there at top through the hard work you are currently doing my job is a little different because i am my own boss :p i run a little business at the moment and my job is just to keep any eye on boys that work for me i own a couple of computer shops.

[MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] i get bored sitting here so i used to spent lot of time on cricinfo that was my fav timepass but the day i found PP i give up on CI

I can understand your situation young boy but you will get there at top through the hard work you are currently doing my job is a little different because i am my own boss :p i run a little business at the moment and my job is just to keep any eye on boys that work for me i own a couple of computer shops.

In Pakistan?

Being your own boss is the best thing. I have those entrepreneurship germs as well, planning some ventures with friends.

Well I guess I found someone who could guide on setting up a sales biz! Like getting stuff at good rate, then selling for profits! Imports and supply chain ;-)

In Pakistan?

Being your own boss is the best thing. I have those entrepreneurship germs as well, planning some ventures with friends.

Well I guess I found someone who could guide on setting up a sales biz! Like getting stuff at good rate, then selling for profits! Imports and supply chain ;-)

Yes im in Pak you should start it at small level as a part time earning opportunity because if you are in Pak too i know how hard it is to earn just through 1 job and you need to save something too for the future when you become an uncle like me :P btw if you want to get into import biz i will recommend you starting from electronics stuff import from china because demand is really high here and people like cheap china stuff that they can afford. You can start your own small setup or you can use resellers.

Are you in a small city? If so i will recommend you start offering CCTV services (there are already many provider in big cites thats why i asked are you in small city). CCTV demand is really high at the moment in pak every xyz shop school building small hotel etc owners are looking for it.

Yes im in Pak you should start it at small level as a part time earning opportunity because if you are in Pak too i know how hard it is to earn just through 1 job and you need to save something too for the future when you become an uncle like me :P btw if you want to get into import biz i will recommend you starting from electronics stuff import from china because demand is really high here and people like cheap china stuff that they can afford. You can start your own small setup or you can use resellers.

Are you in a small city? If so i will recommend you start offering CCTV services (there are already many provider in big cites thats why i asked are you in small city). CCTV demand is really high at the moment in pak every xyz shop school building small hotel etc owners are looking for it.

Hmmm, CCTV.. well I'm looking to target stuff that I really know about. Targeted computer stuff, like GPUs, SSDs, aimed at a specific market.

How can one get into retail biz of graphics cards and other enthusiast-related computer stuff? Considering one don't have a huge capital... does one buys first and then sell? Or the stuff can be gotten from dealers and paid-for later?

Hmmm, CCTV.. well I'm looking to target stuff that I really know about. Targeted computer stuff, like GPUs, SSDs, aimed at a specific market.

How can one get into retail biz of graphics cards and other enthusiast-related computer stuff? Considering one don't have a huge capital... does one buys first and then sell? Or the stuff can be gotten from dealers and paid-for later?

CCTV isn't that hard for people who know about computers it's easy money these days in pak you know because of security situation everyone is getting it even in small cities middle class families are getting it for their homes so demand is really high and china made camera and equipment is cheap and installation/setup isn't a big job. Well coming to your point about retail biz on computer stuff actually you will have to make a name in market first so dealers start trusting you and that way you can pay them later but you can't do it from the start you know in our market SAAKH is the keyword but you can always start with a minimum investment but always make sure get into the stuff that you can sell easily in the market or the demand is high even if profit is low because otherwise apni investment be phasao bethoge big profit ke chaker main.

CCTV was just a rough idea from my mind for your otherwise there are many other things you can get your hand on for example china made tablets are easy money to in our market these days specially in small cities. Remember it's always easy to target small city users in this field because there are already big dogs in big cities and people love the idea of getting stuff easily in their own city at an affordable price.

CCTV isn't that hard for people who know about computers it's easy money these days in pak you know because of security situation everyone is getting it even in small cities middle class families are getting it for their homes so demand is really high and china made camera and equipment is cheap and installation/setup isn't a big job. Well coming to your point about retail biz on computer stuff actually you will have to make a name in market first so dealers start trusting you and that way you can pay them later but you can't do it from the start you know in our market SAAKH is the keyword but you can always start with a minimum investment but always make sure get into the stuff that you can sell easily in the market or the demand is high even if profit is low because otherwise apni investment be phasao bethoge big profit ke chaker main.

CCTV was just a rough idea from my mind for your otherwise there are many other things you can get your hand on for example china made tablets are easy money to in our market these days specially in small cities. Remember it's always easy to target small city users in this field because there are already big dogs in big cities and people love the idea of getting stuff easily in their own city at an affordable price.

Yeh, I guess retail is not possible for now. Requires loads of capital.

Thanks for the ideas! Will hit you up if I have any query in future ;-)

I write for a research consultancy mainly and so topics vary as per clients order - usually political issues. I have also written for a few political and sporting sites, a popular political blog (top 10 award winning one) and so on.

Was doing a PhD - dropped that as I don't want to be an academic (yet - also topic didn't sustain my interest). Will Insha-Allah do MPP next year (will be 2nd masters) and then maybe to a PhD later part time in a different area.

Really sounds good :)

I am the baws. Pretty much. :asif

I have two factories and a ship yard, my father has retired because of old age :inti so right now he has handed me the power after graduation. We have a garments printing industry, glass tempering business and ship breaking.

Not a self made man but a abbu jaan made man. :butt

I am the baws. Pretty much. :asif

I have two factories and a ship yard, my father has retired because of old age :inti so right now he has handed me the power after graduation. We have a garments printing industry, glass tempering business and ship breaking.

Not a self made man but a abbu jaan made man. :butt

So you made your money the old-fashioned way.

By the way, if you had a sugar mill, a desi ghee factory, and a stake in construction, you could be the Bangladeshi Nawaz Sharif. Think about it.

So you made your money the old-fashioned way.

By the way, if you had a sugar mill, a desi ghee factory, and a stake in construction, you could be the Bangladeshi Nawaz Sharif. Think about it.

We had a ghee factory, soyabean and a palm oil refinery and a cement factory, but sold our share to another company.

Now only have 20% share, 10% my brother owns and 10% me. :inti

We had a ghee factory, soyabean and a palm oil refinery and a cement factory, but sold our share to another company.

Now only have 20% share, 10% my brother owns and 10% me. :inti

Your brother and you are starting to sound dangerously similar to our esteemed rulers.