What do you guys think of Nawaz Sharif coming back to power?

GujjarSher

Tape Ball Star
Leader of Pakistan twice in the 1990's. Then exiled until 2007.

Do you think he would be a good leader for Pakistan? Of course he is most well known for having the nuclear weapons developed under him. And construction of Motorway.

He is from Punjab so he does show that province preferential treatment, no doubt about it. And he is corrupt, but then again few politicians are not. But I also think his economic policies might be more beneficial to Pakistan than people think.

What are your feelings on Nawaz Sharif? I'd like to have a thread of healthy debate on this person who could possibly be the next leader of Pakistan. Please try not to devolve into stupid pictures and nonsense.

No time or respect for someone who is willing to put himself above the country's needs.

Selfish, arrogant, tried and tested failure. Muk Muka with Zaradri is more important than Pakistan. Lets Zardari do everything so he can get this turn next time. Shameful behavior! Now he is gathering together all the corrupt people from PPP to win.

The guy is as inspiring as it gets.

Ineffective, foolish and corrupt. Self over country. I wouldn't want this guy back in power. Tbh, he's not much better than all the other hacks, and is often classified in the same pool as Zardari and Altaf. That should end the debate right there.

OP want to have a healthy debate on NS, who is cancer to Pakistan

His last term lasted 2 years. But that was not as bad as q league and PPP terms.

But Right now he is most popular leader.

My family had just come fresh from America after years of earning and saving money, to be greeted with the fact that Nawaz Sharif had freeze all foreign currencies in banks. This is what Wiki had to say about this period, 'When Western countries suspended foreign aid, Sharif responded by freezing the foreign currency reserves to prevent further capital flight, but this only worsened economic conditions. My family waited idly with all their foreign earnings frozen, and then eventually they were paid back at a dismal rate of 20 rupees per dollar.

The guy's as frickin corrupt as they come, I spit on his bald face.

My family had just come fresh from America after years of earning and saving money, to be greeted with the fact that Nawaz Sharif had freeze all foreign currencies in banks. This is what Wiki had to say about this period, 'When Western countries suspended foreign aid, Sharif responded by freezing the foreign currency reserves to prevent further capital flight, but this only worsened economic conditions. My family waited idly with all their foreign earnings frozen, and then eventually they were paid back at a dismal rate of 20 rupees per dollar.

This is exactly what people here don't understand about corruption. Corrupt leaders suck the blood of their own people. People like you and me. The general public pays for their crimes and they have properties all over the world and countless Swiss accounts. That's our public's money they are stealing and keeping for themselves.

How is it that the 'awaam' can so easily forget things like that and entertain the thought of bringing him back.

Sharfu should have finished the cancer off when he had the chance.

In cricketing analogies he would be like bringing back Sami. A tried and tested failure. Move on.

Might be hard to believe for some but he's actually worse than Zardari and Benazir combined. Just as corrupt as the two of them combined coupled with a proven track record of encouraging and supporting religious militancy, screwing over other provinces, often royally, for the gain of Punjab(read Lahore. The rest of Punjab doesn't see a dime of the loot) and allowing his Saudi friends free rein to wreak havoc in Pakistan. Anyone who lived in Pakistan in the late 90s would know just how bad he is.

Yes its very very hard to believe.

We'll see a lot of development work if he comes into power. But that's all he has to offer.

Living in Punjab and spending day to day life here, it's obvious to me these Sharif brothers have no concrete long term plan about governance and improving the life of citizens.

They believe erecting buildings, roads, fly-overs and underpasses is all a nation needs. God forbid they come in power, our economy will be in the dumps and so will our education system. Militancy will be at an all-time high.

The Sharifs are as naive as they get. They have no vision and will prove to be detrimental to this nation.

Yes its very very hard to believe.

Like I said, if you lived through his term as PM, you'd know what I mean. I lived in Pakistan during Benazir's second term, Nawaz's second term(immediately after Benazir's) and the second half of Zardari's first as president and Nawaz was easily the worst out of the three. Between the other two, surprisingly, Zardari is actually the lesser of two evils. Benazir was even worse than her husband. In absolute terms though, off course, all three were/are cancers to the nation.

He has way too much power for someone so stupid. I hope he never comes back into power. He should be banned from contesting elections

Like I said, if you lived through his term as PM, you'd know what I mean. I lived in Pakistan during Benazir's second term, Nawaz's second term(immediately after Benazir's) and the second half of Zardari's first as president and Nawaz was easily the worst out of the three. Between the other two, surprisingly, Zardari is actually the lesser of two evils. Benazir was even worse than her husband. In absolute terms though, off course, all three were/are cancers to the nation.

No Comments then
speechless.png

Agreed. I had the displeasure of being in Karachi when Nawaz Sharif had come in power, and the man's as corrupt as they come. Musharaf was a breath of relief after Sharif's disposal.

I do not think about it because Imran Khan's PTI will come to power after the elections in May.

PML-N have entered an alliance with the murderous militant group SSP. They would allow militancy to go unabated and they would be no better than the current cancers in charge.

Corrupt tried and tested failure.

What's more his party is in cohoots with killers of the LeJ, SSP and others! How can anyone possibly support him is beyond my comprehension.

Corrupt tried and tested failure.

What's more his party is in cohoots with killers of the LeJ, SSP and others! How can anyone possibly support him is beyond my comprehension.

But that's the thing. I personally do not support him, but Nawaz has a lot of support from the common man. Unfortunately the average Pakistani is not very well educated, so if they see a bridge being built or buses being set up, that to them is the hallmark of "good governance."

This is why I won't be surprised at all if Nawaz comes back to power. PML is very popular with the common man in Pakistan.

I did not live in Pakistan during the late 90's but even I know this is true.

As for OP. These roads wont give our people the education they need!

Well to be honest I think Pakistan was better in the late 1990's than it is today. But that's not because of Nawaz really. This was pre-9/11, we had a lot more respect around the world, no terrorism in the country, economy wasn't terrible. The main threat was India and once the nuclear weapons were developed that threat was neutralized.

The problem with MLN is that it isn't a competent party. They don't have the intellectual know-how and technocrats to run a country. You can see this with the way they do things, which is haphazard show-case projects on which they base their election campaigns.

There is no focus on the long game such as education, health, institution building etc. If PML-N forms the next government, I have no doubt that they will do some development projects, mainly concentrated in North Punjab but the fact is, the juidicary, civil service, bureaucracy, universities, think tanks etc will be no better of. When they leave, there'll be more roads for sure, but the same jahiliyat, ignorance and lack of education in our society.

The other issue I have is that they are re-introducing the politics of the 90's: buying MNAs, MPAs and media men, running smear campaigns, allying with whoever and whatever they need to secure votes without thinking anything through.

They are also, to a large extent, even more nepotistic than the PPP. And the thought of Hamza Shahbaz, Maryam Nawaz and Abid Sher Ali being prepared for power after the two Mian Sahiban is not pleasant.

I hope he comes back

Only so Pakistanis learn a valuable lesson.

If he comes back, the country is doomed. I have always maintained that pakistanis are politically the dumbest nation in the world. And if any of these sitting parties into power again, that claim will be reinforced

The Talk/rumours are he is favourite to win.

Make no mistake, he and his cronies are just as corrupt as mr 10%.

Tasavur nailed it, nothing to add really.
Nearly all parties are like business ventures and dynastic enterprises - in fact Western companies are probably more democratic.
They have no ideology, they'll just warm the seats they'll earn by morally reprehensible means and distribute seats to their friends and relatives too, in order to hit the most fruitful lottery possible.
And as they have no vision, their political legitimacy is based either on ethnicity/caste/language/populism or on distributing laptops. They have nothing to offer to Pakistan, if you ask them "how do you see Pak in one decade", nothing - not "better literacy rate, first class universities, ..." absolutely nil.

Concerning :sharif's own "achievements", first of all, thanks for the motorway, bohot ehsaan kiya apne janaab, I mean that's not like someone in power through popular consensus should build motorways for the masses.
Whereas for the nuclear test, said it recently on some thread, but that's a myth. Nawaz Sharif chickened out due to intl. pressure and only resorted to the test when the internal pressure became too strong, see what Dr AQ Khan has to say on Youtube.

But if Pakistanis are masochistic enough to let money-hungry nobodies (I don't call him a "leader", he has the charisma of a depleted tyre) rule them, that's their choice, there are always reasons to commit suicide, even on national scale.

It is on record that he said he is coming into politics for his own business and personal interests, which he stated in the 70s when nationalization took place and thats exactly what he did. HE IS THE WORSE OF THE WORSE CRIMINALS.

but like Wazeeri stated him coming just maybe what the nation deserves, just like they deserved Zadari.

I hope he comes back

Only so Pakistanis learn a valuable lesson.

o bhai kitney lesson parhao gey app? double triple Phd hogayee.

but you are correct, for some reason us Pakistani when it comes to politics, we vote for short term future by electing these haram khor, never able to think for a long term future.

I would have someone shoot me in a target killing in Karachi than see his dream of him becoming a Khalifa of Pakistan become true .

nahi bhai, itna bhi jazbati honay ki zaroorat nahi hai, all you have to do is just vote for PTI :) and you will survive

Tasavur nailed it, nothing to add really.
Nearly all parties are like business ventures and dynastic enterprises - in fact Western companies are probably more democratic.
They have no ideology, they'll just warm the seats they'll earn by morally reprehensible means and distribute seats to their friends and relatives too, in order to hit the most fruitful lottery possible.
And as they have no vision, their political legitimacy is based either on ethnicity/caste/language/populism or on distributing laptops. They have nothing to offer to Pakistan, if you ask them "how do you see Pak in one decade", nothing - not "better literacy rate, first class universities, ..." absolutely nil.

Concerning :sharif's own "achievements", first of all, thanks for the motorway, bohot ehsaan kiya apne janaab, I mean that's not like someone in power through popular consensus should build motorways for the masses.
Whereas for the nuclear test, said it recently on some thread, but that's a myth. Nawaz Sharif chickened out due to intl. pressure and only resorted to the test when the internal pressure became too strong, see what Dr AQ Khan has to say on Youtube.

But if Pakistanis are masochistic enough to let money-hungry nobodies (I don't call him a "leader", he has the charisma of a depleted tyre) rule them, that's their choice, there are always reasons to commit suicide, even on national scale.

This made me LOL. Well said, sir!

Musharraf and Bhai are winning from Karachi , likh ke rakh lo . :shafiq

^^ even a dead person can predict that, Karachi, Hyderabad mein bhai ka raj hoga.

^ And then the same people will moan and cry about target killings and bhatha in karachi. Likh ke rakh lo

Khuda karey yeh roshni mulk ke har konay maiN phele :altaf

Nahi, Karachi aur Hyderabad tak kafi hai, ziada roshni phelaney kay chakar mein circuit overload hojaya ga, karachi mein already bohat andhera hai. :)

on a sane and serious lvl, i cant believe we have ppl that fall for scums like him... the international community must be laughing at us... kasam se i feel bad for him and his followers, that no mental asylum is big enough for them or fit enough for them...

^ Voting is like choosing the way you would like to die

^ And then the same people will moan and cry about target killings and bhatha in karachi. Likh ke rakh lo

It's not their fault.

In Karachi, if they suspect you aren't going to vote for MQM they don't even let you register. A friend of mine was trying to register with their family but they weren't allowed to.

MQM is a Mafia. We'll find out all about it someday. It has controlled Karachi by using it's dirty tactics.

^ I am talking about those who vote for MQM, and then complain about condition of the city. I know some

But that's the thing. I personally do not support him, but Nawaz has a lot of support from the common man. Unfortunately the average Pakistani is not very well educated, so if they see a bridge being built or buses being set up, that to them is the hallmark of "good governance."

This is why I won't be surprised at all if Nawaz comes back to power. PML is very popular with the common man in Pakistan.

True.I just came back from Pakistan and many people believed that he would come to power.Thats scary.

I rate Zardari and PPP more principled and ten times higher than Nawaz...

The difference is that Zardari plunders the money himself and also allows other people to do the same....where as Nawaz does not want anyone else to share with him......:))

Its time for tsunami..

Geo news reported Ganja's Jalsa of Mansehra in their first headline saying him that "Madari circus laga raha hein,awaam hoshyar rahein"...:facepalm:

Imran also had a jalsa in Mianwali today but no mention of it....but to make Nawaz's stupid statement of calling PTI as Jugglars in their headlines again show their partial attitude towards Ganjas..

was pretty big jelsa mansira no doubt however I some doubt in genuine public gather, people were quite, very less appreciation, it could be rented crowd as people were sitting like ducks and shown no sign of joy as we see in Jalsas of IK. However serious competition in KKP for PLM N vs PTI

i dont think you can call that jalsa, they were basically there to announce someone/introduction some amjad guy... it wasnt an advertised/promoted event or anything... it was in mianwali...

o yea, a small gathering to welcome amjad ali khan to PTI...

check out noora's manshera jalsa, public dead quiet and uninterested (patwari jalsa)... mein app se jhoot nahin bolta, sarak banaon ga, helicopter pe yahan aaya aur chakar lagaya helicopter pe app ke shehar ka, lolz....

A night before was was gonna sign the law he made banks open in the middle of the night and got all his and his families money out.Talk about double standards

Did not realise this man was so hated.

Is his brother any better?

Shahbaz is a very corrupt person from what I've heard.

He is a hard worker; I've heard that as well.

But he is just an industrialist. Will do Pakistan no good.

I don't know if you can build an accurate picture about a country from online activity but if it's an accurate indicator then it seems that Pakistan still suffers from massive provincial prejudices. With the power shortage problems and subsequent load shedding I can well imagine the Sharifs using that to show how things were much better during their term. People have short memories.