What should Pakistan do if Indian players refuse to shake hands in the next Asia Cup game?

• 1. Ignore and move on

Votes: 19 90.5%
  • 2. Protest to ICC after the game

Votes: 2 9.5%

The Bald Eagle

A post-match handshake in cricket is a long-standing tradition that signifies sportsmanship and respect between opposing teams. While there is no specific rule in the official Laws of Cricket or the ICC Code of Conduct that mandates a handshake, a refusal to do so is generally considered to be against the "spirit of the game."

Based on recent events in the Asia Cup, Pakistan has a few options if Indian players refuse to shake hands in a future match:
1. Lodge a Formal Protest: The most direct course of action would be for the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to file a formal complaint with the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) and/or the International Cricket Council (ICC). This is the path they took in the recent incident. The complaint would likely be based on the argument that the refusal to shake hands is a breach of the "spirit of cricket," which is referenced in the preamble to the Laws of Cricket and is a component of the ICC's Code of Conduct.

2. Boycott Post-Match Ceremonies: In the previous incident, the Pakistan captain refused to attend the post-match presentation ceremony in protest. This is a public display of displeasure and a way to highlight the issue without resorting to on-field confrontation.

3. Address the Issue Through a Statement: The Pakistan team management or the PCB could release a public statement to express their disappointment and explain their position. This allows them to control the narrative and communicate their perspective to the media and fans.
4. Seek Mediation: The PCB could request a meeting with the ACC and ICC officials, and potentially the BCCI, to discuss the matter and find a resolution. This approach is aimed at de-escalating the situation and preventing similar incidents in the future.

What are the potential outcomes?
A formal complaint could lead to a hearing by the match referee, who would then determine if an offense has been committed. While there are no specific penalties for refusing a handshake, a player or team could face a reprimand, a fine, or demerit points for "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game," which is a Level 1 offense under the ICC Code of Conduct. The ICC, however, has a history of backing its match officials and may not take significant action, as evidenced by their refusal to remove the match referee in the recent controversy.
Ultimately, while the refusal of a handshake is a break from tradition and is generally seen as unsportsmanlike, the response from Pakistan would likely involve official protests and public statements rather than on-field confrontation.

There is no rule that plyers should shake hands

U cannot lodge a complaint for something for which there is no rule / law

So there is nothing much that Pakistan can do at an official level

Only thing u can lodge a complaint is if Indian player behaves badly or says something abusive. Not shaking hands dont fall in bad behaviour category

So best option is too ignore and carry on

Shaking hands is human decency/courtesy which is missing from many Indians. :inti

Shaking hands in cricket is a tradition.
Bangladesh should not talk about decency. U have the worst behaved players and fans. Like nobody embarrases themselves more than them when they do that disgusting naagin dance

Oh btw Bangladesh did not shake hands with Sri Lankans during the 2023 WC

SO pls keep that nonsense to urself

Protesting about what? There's no MCC rule requiring players to shake hands , it's simply sportsmanship and respect. But with players like Faheem, the Pakistani team doesn't deserve it.

Hear, hear.

Pakistan team should drop their trousers and moon their counterparts. That will stun not just the Indian team but the entire stadium into silence.
Well as much as you would like ur team to be mooned, im sure thats not the part @DeadlyVenom was refering to. The part that was being offered to the Indian side is something that dangles on the front

You seem to know quite a bit about the preferences of the Pakistan team. Speaking from experience?

India are likely to not shake hands because they are petty like that.

Decency is not expected from these sanghis.

Pakistan should just play and go home I guess. Maybe they can taunt Indian team a bit regarding India's Operation Tandoor defeat. :inti
Bangladesh team has decency and they ridiculed other teams with Nagini dance and celebrated the win before the actual result. Tashkin Ahmed photo carrying severe head of Dhoni was publicised every where and that is called decency

On topic, Pakistan should just get on with the game and not let this distract them. Respect is a two way street, if the opposition doesn’t respect you, stop being goody goody and be aggressive on the field.

Kapil Dev said the Pakistanis should focus on the game and the tournament instead of making 'wrong statement '.

When they can't win a game against India, PCB needs to divert the attention from Pakistan embarassing performance.

:klopp :kp

Bangladesh should not talk about decency. U have the worst behaved players and fans. Like nobody embarrases themselves more than them when they do that disgusting naagin dance

Oh btw Bangladesh did not shake hands with Sri Lankans during the 2023 WC

SO pls keep that nonsense to urself
forgetting that certain players refuse to even look at women journalists who are interviewing them. BD also have absolutely no standing to talk anything about decency. They have embarrassed and others with their shenanigans. Just imagine if the BD team had any achievements to back up their big mouth.

Here is what is going to happen and has been already decided behind the scenes:

1. There will be no more political statement by either team. So all the Pakistani fans fantasizing about dedicating it to Pak army or Balochistan etc can keep fantasizing.

2. There will be no handshakes.

There is no scope for any handshakes now, even if Bharatiya players go for it. Pakistan may lose badly on field, but self-respect is something they control.

No need to shake hands with these terrorists. They are evil people and do evil things. That country is evil and their players are evil as well.
Not a single likeable player from evil India.

No need to shake hands with these terrorists. They are evil people and do evil things. That country is evil and their players are evil as well.

True. Killing innocent people and children then thumping their chests on Twitter. Pathetic human beings that have a special place in hell.

That was indian team done on 14 September. Thanks for accepting it. Devadwal hai ase hi knockout karta hai sabko.

:klopp :kp

Pakistani players should focus on playing good cricket rather than thinking about handshake. Respect is mutual if Indian players don't want handshake u also mind your own business and move on..no point of making noise in the social media .it's not a written rule but only a tradition. There is also report coming out in media that Indian captain said if india won the final he won't be receiving trophy from ACC chief who is pakistani.

WIN first.

India has been hammering us non-stop for 12 years. Tables completely turned after 2013.

WIN first.

India has been hammering us non-stop for 12 years. Tables completely turned after 2013.
But you guys won the champion trophy 2017 final. That was some achivement. So saying Indian hammering non-stop since 2013 is not true. :kp

LOL is this still a thing?

If they have a little self respect left, They (PCT) should not even think of shaking hands with the Indians, never!

WIN first.

I think they turned much earlier. But yes gap became bigger.

03-07

W/L - 14-15

First step was 2003 WC after which Ind started regularly beating Pak compared to earlier. Won first ever series vs Pak tests/odis in 2004.

In that period between 03-07 teams were quite evenly matched though.

07-13

W/L - 14-8

Next was post 07 WC when Inzy retired and Youhana and Shoaib followed soon after.

Started with the two wins in the 07 T20 WC then Ind won both ODI and test series. 2011 SF was also won by India.

13-now

W/L - 16-4

13 CT was the first time there wasn't any of the old guard of the 2000s - Sehwag, Gambhir etc

Could argue 25 is beginning of new arc as none of Rohit/Kohli/Jadeja played (and at most they will play one match against Pak in their career - 27 WC)

LOL is this still a thing?

If they have a little self respect left, They (PCT) should not even think of shaking hands with the Indians, never!
Good post. Pakistan have already shown their big hearts and sportsmanship. Now they should just forget about this and never shake hands with these hypocrites again, not even think about this.

Indian players and many Indian posters here are hypocrites. The players play the match which they were supposed to boycott, and the posters here spend more time on Pakpassion than with their families, yet keep barking about why the Indians should not shake hands and mocking Pakistan at every opportunity . Getting sick and tired of them and they should consider themselves lucky I am not admin or Mod here, otherwise wise they would have been kicked out.

What is the overall record between both countries, all 3 formats included as of today?
We all know why that is.

The 2010s and the 2020s Ind has had a better W/L ratio than Pak had over India in the 80s and 90s (when they "dominated").

80s
10-23

90s
18-28

00s
23-25

10s
15-5

20s
7-2

Overall W/L ratio India was always ahead in T20s.

Has surpassed in ODIs.

Tests within this year.

Pakistan not playing has allowed the record to remain. That's fine.

Slow torture as it gets removed 1 match at a time.

What happens when that one thing goes away?

Enjoy this last decade the record remains. At the end of it, the countries will have diverged so much that even Indian fans won't bother trolling Pakistan.

Good post. Pakistan have already shown their big hearts and sportsmanship. Now they should just forget about this and never shake hands with these hypocrites again, not even think about this.

Indian players and many Indian posters here are hypocrites. The players play the match which they were supposed to boycott, and the posters here spend more time on Pakpassion than with their families, yet keep barking about why the Indians should not shake hands and mocking Pakistan at every opportunity . Getting sick and tired of them and they should consider themselves lucky I am not admin or Mod here, otherwise wise they would have been kicked out.

We all know why that is.

The 2010s and the 2020s Ind has had a better W/L ratio than Pak had over India in the 80s and 90s (when they "dominated").

80s
10-23

90s
18-28

00s
23-25

10s
15-5

20s
7-2

Overall W/L ratio India was always ahead in T20s.

Has surpassed in ODIs.

Tests within this year.

Pakistan not playing has allowed the record to remain. That's fine.

Slow torture as it gets removed 1 match at a time.

What happens when that one thing goes away?

Enjoy this last decade the record remains. At the end of it, the countries will have diverged so much that even Indian fans won't bother trolling Pakistan.
Ziada idhar udhar mat ghoom. Seedha sa sawal pucha hai, what is the overall record in all formats? Genuine question.

If they really want they can ask Agha to smile and extend his hand knowing fully well that Surya won’t shake it. Let the hand hang in there a bit until a lots of photos are taken. It can be used in photo ops later and brand india as petty.

After that PCB releases a statement saying something like “it is unfortunate that Indians don’t want to follow basic courtesies to keep this great game’s tradition going. Our players are always open to be the good ambassadors of cricket. Best of luck to India and Pakistan and we hope to win the cup”

If they really want they can ask Agha to smile and extend his hand knowing fully well that Surya won’t shake it. Let the hand hang in there a bit until a lots of photos are taken. It can be used in photo ops later and brand india as petty.

After that PCB releases a statement saying something like “it is unfortunate that Indians don’t want to follow basic courtesies to keep this great game’s tradition going. Our players are always open to be the good ambassadors of cricket. Best of luck to India and Pakistan and we hope to win the cup”
Nothing of this sort will happen.

If it does, PCB will be penalized.

Instructions will be given for no handshakes and no political remarks.

Just don’t shake hands if India don’t want to. There’s no rules about it, sportsmanship is just a friendly gesture it’s not a right. To me though when I play sport not offering a handshake feels like going against my own identity as someone who plays sports. I’m sure there’s probably Indian cricketers out there who felt uncomfortable not giving handshakes despite the situation. Maybe they did it because they felt so strongly about the situation in Pahalgam attacks that they decided to not do handshakes even if it made them personally uncomfortable. There might have even been cricketers that would have done the handshakes regardless and only didn’t do it as they were instructed by the board and their employer not do it

It would be funny if Pakistan won to offer the handshakes and get satisfaction from India rejecting them 😄.

One humiliation wasn't enough? The world is laughing at Pak Cricket. No need to drag pakistan cricket through the mud again! Just ignore and move on ...

Chal kisk munafiqa. Sada jea sawal kitta eh, eh ithe kaani paan shuru o gaya. Patta nahi kithu munh chukk kay ajande nay.
Beta, mere ko punjabi nahi aati.

Tu dekh apna 80s-90s ka highlights YouTube pe in 480p.

I will watch India demolish Pak live in $k lol.

Just don’t shake hands if India don’t want to. There’s no rules about it, sportsmanship is just a friendly gesture it’s not a right. To me though when I play sport not offering a handshake feels like going against my own identity as someone who plays sports. I’m sure there’s probably Indian cricketers out there who felt uncomfortable not giving handshakes despite the situation. Maybe they did it because they felt so strongly about the situation in Pahalgam attacks that they decided to not do handshakes even if it made them personally uncomfortable. There might have even been cricketers that would have done the handshakes regardless and only didn’t do it as they were instructed by the board and their employer not do it

It would be funny if Pakistan won to offer the handshakes and get satisfaction from India rejecting them 😄.
That was very cheap from them. If they genuinely felt for Pahalgam victims they would have never played the match. They would have become even more popular in their country. Now they are just hypocrites in the eyes of many. I personally praised them a lot during the match, but have lost all respect for them now.

It should nt be even matter of Discussion. If Indians dnt want to shake hands , Leave them be. Why making so much fuss about it? That handshake drama was created by BCCI on behest of GOI to give some lollipop to Indian Public majority of which wanted boycott. BCCI hid Behind Govt on Failure to boycott because for them Broadcasters relations are important and Indian Public sentiments mean nothing. Let them be happy over it. We dnt need Handshakes while we wage war at each other

Beta, mere ko punjabi nahi aati.

Tu dekh apna 80s-90s ka highlights YouTube pe in 480p.

I will watch India demolish Pak live in $k lol.
Koi masla nahi, mujhe tabb bhi achi neend ayegi in sha Allah. Yeh entertainment hai. That day India take the lead overall in all formats, I will congratulate you, no worries.

Pakistan thrash India 2-0 to launch their Commonwealth Beach Handball Championship campaign in style
Scores: 26-9 & 34-12

Some pictures of handshakes after the match. Hypocrisy ki bhi seema hoti hai. :inti

IMG-20250919-WA0005.jpgIMG-20250919-WA0004.jpg

Bhaijaan ache se nind le lo Sunday se phle kyk Sunday ke bad 2 din tak nind sahi se ni ayegi :kp

• Haha
Reactions: IAJ
Pakistan thrash India 2-0 to launch their Commonwealth Beach Handball Championship campaign in style
Scores: 26-9 & 34-12

Some pictures of handshakes after the match. Hypocrisy ki bhi seema hoti hai. :inti

View attachment 157977View attachment 157978
i already posted about it. Handshake drama was lollipop given to Indian Public on failure to boycott. Cricket has all the Indian Eyeballs hence the need of drama

It’s JUST A HAND SHAKE! My god when did we become so sensitive and needy?

Move the frick on! Who cares if the opposition shakes your hand or not. Your job is play cricket - do that well and forget about everything else

I know very well ,they care or not so please.... 14 September se thread pe thread bane ja rahi hai. 😂😂😂😉 :klopp :kp
Lol

if you ask me , I dnt give two hoots about Indians not shaking Hands. This Drama is for consumption of Indian Public which wanted boycott but had to settle at these gimmicks

That was very cheap from them. If they genuinely felt for Pahalgam victims they would have never played the match. They would have become even more popular in their country. Now they are just hypocrites in the eyes of many. I personally praised them a lot during the match, but have lost all respect for them now.
I’m with you on this, and believe me, most of us feel let down by the BCCI. We should have boycotted this match against Pakistan. My view is simple: beat your opponent on the field—beat them well—but after that you shake hands. You spend hours competing with someone; that basic courtesy matters.

What Suryakumar Yadav and the BCCI tried to pull in that press conference, as if a quick stunt would distract us from the boycott questions, is pure delusion. No sport is bigger than people’s lives, and certainly not bigger than basic decency or just money.

Now, I don’t know what the exact consequences of a boycott would have been. Both the BCCI and the PCB had the chance to walk away from the tournament, but they didn’t—maybe because of the risk of a ban, I’m not sure.

But this is a cricket forum. We should talk cricket here. Using filthy language about each other’s countries, taking personal digs, mocking someone’s religion, or going below the belt—it’s not right. That only raises questions about our own upbringing.

Pakistan shot itself in the foot by
1. agreeing to not shake hands.. Agha should've extended his hand for a handshake towards Surya. That would have put Surya on the spot and made them look bad.
2. By boycotting the press conference. that was your opportunity to put your point across but they just stayed quiet.

I mean Surya was political in the press conference. No ICC statement was issued.

Pak lacked clarity on what they were trying to achieve.

Win the next match and do what they did. Same ignorance and press conference, no diplomacy and boycott can achieve this.

At this point of time, it's just a drama to increase the viewership of future Pak-Ind games.
If either of the parties were serious about the matter, they would have forfeited the games.

Absurd topic…

Why oh why are we talking like imbeciles…

If our rishtedaar acted like this, what would we do, we’d never look in thier direction ever again especially if we never caused any issue in the first place…

Yet here, known enemy, known motives, known agenda, we go gaga and want hAnDShaKe 🤝, 😩 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

Nothing of this sort will happen.

If it does, PCB will be penalized.

Instructions will be given for no handshakes and no political remarks.
Hw can they be penalized for extending hand for handshake? What part what I said PCB could do was political? It is unfortunate that we don't want to follow traditions, which we are entitled to. But how will pak get penalized for that?

They will press on the Pycroft issue as an excuse.

Nothing doing, they will let it go.

PCB handled it poorly. My stance has always been, Agha should've held his hand out for the handshake, and did press conference put forward his side. By not attending the press conference, he just let the other team run the narrative.
Pretty dumb moves. IMO.

could have just run by chatgpt lol and chatgpt agrees with my views:
TeamB= Pak. This was your 2 minute strategy PCB

What Team B (Pak) could have done better​

1. At the Toss
    • Extend hand politely despite referee’s call.
    • Cameras capture Team A refusing — no words needed.
    • Smile and proceed neutrally to the match.
  2. At the Press Conference
    Instead of boycotting:
    • Attend, keep it calm and minimal.
    • Sample line:

“We believe cricket is bigger than politics. That’s why I extended my hand at the toss. We will always respect the spirit of the game, and our focus remains on cricket.”
    • This leaves Team A looking like the disruptor, while Team B becomes the dignified professional side.
  3. Follow-up
    • Submit an official protest privately through board channels.
    • Publicly stay silent beyond reaffirming sportsmanship.

✅

If Team B (Pak) had offered the handshake, they would have flipped the optics completely. Instead of letting Team A dominate the headlines with political talk, Team B would be remembered for a single, powerful image:

👉
One captain extending his hand. The other refusing.

That’s worth more than any boycott.

✅

• Best Play for Team B:
    • Extend the hand at toss (sportsmanship, tradition).
    • Let Team A’s refusal be captured on camera.
    • Attend press conference → calmly reaffirm commitment to cricket, avoid politics.
    • Lodge formal protest quietly through official channels.

👉
That combination gives Team B the moral high ground, media advantage, and professional credibility — all while leaving Team A looking petty and politicised.