What's your view of Sheikh Rasheed?

zane_

He has to be one of the most recognized faces of Pakistani politics. His legacy is mixed, at best.

Sheeda Tilli of Raja Bazaar: tarnishing my city's name for nigh on thirty years now. "Dekhain Jee."

He and Mushahid Hussain Syed are to me two of the biggest disappointments in politics: one a worker's son who did his time with the students' unions and then sold out, and the other an upper middle classia with intellectual pretensions who also sold out.

Sheeda Tilli of Raja Bazaar: tarnishing my city's name for nigh on thirty years now. "Dekhain Jee."

He and Mushahid Hussain Syed are to me two of the biggest disappointments in politics: one a worker's son who did his time with the students' unions and then sold out, and the other an upper middle classia with intellectual pretensions who also sold out.

Lol. Any stories about him?

What's your view of Sheikh Rashid?

Our people are suckers for the folky touch. In Raja Bazaar, the Kashmiri shopkeepers are genuinely fond of him. I used to accompany my mother to Raja Bazaar whenever there were arrangements to be done for family weddings etc, and while she was in the stores I would roam around, sampling the street food.

I would ask them about Sheeda and to a man, they were full of praise. One reason was his penchant for dropping by at a different house every morning, and asking for breakfast. Of course during the breakfast they would tell him of their travails, perhaps even hand him a petition. Whether he did anything for them didn't matter. At least he cared enough to eat their breakfast and share crude jokes and aphorisms.

He's an ambitious guy who had hopes of high office. But they saddled him with Railways etc. which is just as well. Can you imagine him as Foreign Minister? The closest he came to that was when he convinced them to let him speak at the UN General Assembly session during the Zia era. Picture that. Sheeda addressing the UN.

Incidentally, while my father was lecturer at Gordon College, Sheeda was a student leader. My father said he was genuinely patriotic, but as usually happens, the higher-ups used him for their dirty work, which may have contributed to making him the cynical opportunist he became. He kept the folky touch of the laborer's son of course.

What's your view of Sheikh Rashid?

Sheikh Rasheed generally comes across the fun-guy of Pak politics. Delivers some hilarious one liners along with generally humorous reading of the political situation in the country in order to remain relevant. But if there ever was a man who was 'all talk and no action' then it has to be him. He defines the phrase.

He is good to listen to but his history is enough to be sure that its all just a drama. Biggest lota ever. Dont like Imran Khan's alliance with him one bit. Never understood what Imran Khan is gaining from him considering his previous statements against Sheikh Rasheed.

An opportunistic charlatan and fraud who would change allegiances at the drop of the hat.

That being said, his longevity and cunning have to be admired.

He seems to have a knack of figuring out what the most popular thing to say would be, and says it.

Straight to the point guy. Makes me lol most times.

A bazaari, low grade and an opportunist politician. Always interesting to listen to, has good entertainment value.

Dont like Imran Khan's alliance with him one bit. Never understood what Imran Khan is gaining from him considering his previous statements against Sheikh Rasheed.

I guess the motive behind IK's alliance is "Enemy of my Enemy is Friend". Besides he is being used as mouth peace for PTI so not a bad move I think. Since SR likes to be in lime light it's win win for both sides. I don't think IK will reward him with some ministry if PTI comes into power. At best he will be used as some sort of 'adviser'.

He said that he will leave politics if the value of Dollars goes below 100 but when it happened he started to raise questions against it.What a joker

I guess the motive behind IK's alliance is "Enemy of my Enemy is Friend". Besides he is being used as mouth peace for PTI so not a bad move I think. Since SR likes to be in lime light it's win win for both sides. I don't think IK will reward him with some ministry if PTI comes into power. At best he will be used as some sort of 'adviser'.

not really. Leaves a bad taste in the mouth for a lot of supporters to have a turncoat in the midst. Good he didnt join officially atleast.

But his utility beyond giving PMLN a tough time on tv shows is negligible

He just agrees with everything Imran Khan says. He's always giving interviews on TV everyday!

In politics more than 35 years.

Has been appointed Minister for 7 times. Was with PMLN for long time. Then won MNA independently and joined PMLQ under Pervez Musharraf.

Claims that their is not a single corruption case against him. Also claims that he has stopped lying since 6 to 7 years before that he was like any other politician.

He did good for Pakistan Railway when I remember correctly.

Exactly he has tremendous development work in Pindi specially in the education sector built alot of colleges was about to complete an alternate route to Islamabad from Pindi which the Noora's have abandoned

A political enigma. Farzand-e-Rawalpindi. Actually I had the (un)fortunate experience of attending one of his mass gatherings at his residence on the eve of 14th August.

He's one of the better politicians out there, he's also got a sense of humor

Even if he's a 'GHQ guy', he's better than many of the anti state people with ethnocentric tendencies

So chuchay khaa k Billi Hajj ko Challi.

I remember years ago he was asked about corruption in general in the country and his own corruption during his minister-ship.

With other statements to condemn corruption, he defended himself by saying ... "nahi ji menay tou bass kar diya hai, 2 ghee ki factoriyan lagwaa li hain, meray liye kaafi hai".

I would have appreciated him, if he had given back to the country ALL of what he stole when he was in power before he would act all saint, and "khadim of awaam".

As soon as I post about NS the Nooras run, but I haven't seen any allegations about SR and corruption. The only allegation is that he likes to get in with people in power but didn't the so called democrats in PML do the same with general Zia.

Sheikh Rasheed.

What do others here think of Imran Khan's puppet Sheikh Rasheed who seems to be on every Pakistani channel boring people to death saying the same thing, repeatedly??. Until a few months before the so called dharna I was a supporter of his. Now just like IK I find him to be annoying and full of himself.

Maybe Sheikh sahib is turning into a laparwah politician?

Sounds like a school kid on the Internet who salivates on their keyboard over the prospect of an indo-pak war.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan minister predicts war with India in October-November <br><br>The war with India this time will be the “last war”, Pakistan railway minister Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed claimed. <br><br>Read: <a href="https://t.co/TOXNRAfT7h">https://t.co/TOXNRAfT7h</a> <a href="https://t.co/M3vglwMcPt">pic.twitter.com/M3vglwMcPt</a></p>— Times of India (@timesofindia) <a href="https://twitter.com/timesofindia/status/1166922252782194688?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 29, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Sounds like a school kid on the Internet who salivates on their keyboard over the prospect of an indo-pak war.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan minister predicts war with India in October-November <br><br>The war with India this time will be the “last war”, Pakistan railway minister Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed claimed. <br><br>Read: <a href="https://t.co/TOXNRAfT7h">https://t.co/TOXNRAfT7h</a> <a href="https://t.co/M3vglwMcPt">pic.twitter.com/M3vglwMcPt</a></p>— Times of India (@timesofindia) <a href="https://twitter.com/timesofindia/status/1166922252782194688?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 29, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Sheikh saab needs to tone it down.

The National Press Club (NPC) in Islamabad on Tuesday placed a temporary ban on the entry and coverage of Federal Minister for Railways Sheikh Rashid in its premises after he allegedly used "insulting" language for a journalist who is undergoing treatment for cancer.

The decision was taken after NPC President Shakeel Qarar met Geo TV video journalist Nasir, who is receiving treatment for cancer at Benazir Bhutto Hospital in Rawalpindi, a press release issued by the press club said.

It said Nasir had informed Qarar that during a recent visit to the hospital by Rashid, a local journalist had directed the minister's attention towards Nasir's illness. At this, the railways minister "uttered insulting sentences which deeply hurt Nasir's sentiments", the press release added.

It was thus decided to place a ban on Rashid's coverage in Rawalpindi and Islamabad and on his entry in NPC Islamabad and the Rawalpindi Camp Office for a week, according to the statement.

While the NPC did not reveal Rashid's exact words, it condemned what it termed the minister's use of "insulting remarks for a video journalist fighting the battle for survival".

The press club appealed to reporters, video and photojournalists to follow the prohibition and also requested press clubs across the country to ban Rashid's entry for seven days.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1503308/s...lub-over-insulting-remarks-for-cancer-patient

I see he’s been given a promotion.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sheikh Rashid, who's the new interior minister, has been replaced by Azam Swati as railways minister. Ijaz Shah has been appointed minister for narcotics control.<br><br>Hafeez Shaikh, who was serving as finance adviser to the PM, is the new finance minister.<a href="https://t.co/jHTLQZ0fGk">https://t.co/jHTLQZ0fGk</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1337312624602718208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Jitna banday badal lo, jab tak Immy ki jelly spine hai, Pakistan ka kuch bhi nahin hosakta!

The man who wasn’t good enough to be his chaprasi is now a federal minister in his government.

Imran’s past views on Sheikh Rasheed are there for everyone to see.

Imran has scammed the nation under the guise of tabdeeli - he has taken his brainwashed cult for a ride.

If they can defend his U-turn on Sheikh Rasheed, they can defend anything.

Shameful.

The man who wasn’t good enough to be his chaprasi is now a federal minister in his government.

Imran has scammed the nation under the guise of tabdeeli - he has taken his brainwashed cult for a ride.

Shameful.

Suck it up loser. As your losers go around trying to kill people with their corona parties IK has changed PK forever.

A fun guy, did not have solid family background, hence not very bold and does not take much risk, hence does not commit big corruption like Sharif and co, but he is "low level corrupt" . Likes to be in news and in the assembly, whatever it take, typical politician .

Suck it up loser. As your losers go around trying to kill people with their corona parties IK has changed PK forever.

I can see the pain.

Sheikh Rasheed as federal minister is not the tabdeeli you had in mind.

Yes, great and amazing change. We all have been dreaming about Sheikh Rashid as the interior minister for ages.

Shameful.

Its amazing how seemingly overnight on Imran's word someone goes from being bad to the next best thing. Even Gwyneth Paltrow and her cleanses have got nothing on Imran.

Sheikh Rasheed has held 15 ministries in 35 years. What has he achieved and what is his track-record? Will Imran care to answer these questions after openly insulting him in the past?

PTI is a disjointed party with no coordination and no vision. You have a delusional leader at the top and an assortment of turncoat, opportunistic politicians who have jumped on the “tabdeeli” bandwagon to serve their own interests and protect their own politics.

But this is what the fate that Imran chose himself when he decided to welcome filth from other parties and align with tried and tested failures from other parties because these politicians have their own vote banks.

PTI has no long-term future. It only exists as long as Imran is alive. Once he is gone, this fake party will crumble and these turncoat politicians will get absorbed by other parties or form their own mini parties.

Sheikh Rasheed will take a few of them with him to his AML, Jahangir Tareen and the fake pir Shah Mehmood Qureshi hate each and see themselves as rivals for dominance in south Punjab and they will probably end up forming their own parties, the likes of Fawad Chaudhry, Pervez Khattak, Firdous Awan will probably go back to PPP etc.

With no proper vision and no genuine succession plan, Imran has ensured that PTI will die with him.

15 ministries in 35 years. What are Sheikh Rasheed’s achievements?

Sheikh Rasheed has held 15 ministries in 35 years. What has he achieved and what is his track-record? Will Imran care to answer these questions after openly insulting him in the past?

PTI is a disjointed party with no coordination and no vision. You have a delusional leader at the top and an assortment of turncoat, opportunistic politicians who have jumped on the “tabdeeli” bandwagon to serve their own interests and protect their own politics.

But this is what the fate that Imran chose himself when he decided to welcome filth from other parties and align with tried and tested failures from other parties because these politicians have their own vote banks.

PTI has no long-term future. It only exists as long as Imran is alive. Once he is gone, this fake party will crumble and these turncoat politicians will get absorbed by other parties or form their own mini parties.

Sheikh Rasheed will take a few of them with him to his AML, Jahangir Tareen and the fake pir Shah Mehmood Qureshi hate each and see themselves as rivals for dominance in south Punjab and they will probably end up forming their own parties, the likes of Fawad Chaudhry, Pervez Khattak, Firdous Awan will probably go back to PPP etc.

With no proper vision and no genuine succession plan, Imran has ensured that PTI will die with him.

It hurt to agree with you but like a broken watch atleast you are right this time, Imran has done some good steps for long term but his appointments has been extremely bad for most part, this wasn't the Tabdeeli Pak Awam wished, others are no good, but before labeling all critical voices as patwaris, It hurt me when PTI supporters given examples of those TTF politicians, how they were worse and what they did, we all know it, we didn't voted for Ik to be better then them, was this his standard, such a shame, I know he needed these turn coats to win election, but considering how much public support he had and how even establishment was pro imran he had a great opportunity to make real difference but so far its far from even satisfactory, no rea changes on they ground specially in education and health sector, hopefully he can still make some difference in his second half. Time is really running out and along with it people support and tolerance.

These turncoat politicians are experts at this game. This is what they have done all their political life.

They didn’t give Imran their vote banks for nothing, they had reassurances that if PTI forms federal government they will get important ministries.

Sugar mafia head JKT and fake pir SMQ had eyes on Punjab chief ministry. When JKT was disqualified by SC, Imran appointed a puppet like Buzdar so that JKT can run the show from behind the scenes.

SMQ was unhappy with this development and his rivalry with JKT became aggressive. These two are now made to sit on opposite ends of the table whenever there is a PTI meeting.

In KP, Pervez Khattak’s corruption as CM because so obvious that Imran was forced to remove him to protect PTI’s already fledging image. That is why he got the useless Defense Ministry.

If Pervez Khattak gets reassurances from PMLN or his former employers PPP, he will jump off the PTI bandwagon in no time.

Hafeez Sheikh is now finance minister, but he was also the finance minister when Zardari was President, and Imran has stated multiple times that PPP government from 2008-12 was the most corrupt in Pakistan history.

So was Hafeez Sheikh helping Zardari steal money or was he clueless? Either way, what sort of finance minister was he?

What is the caliber of Firdous Ashiq Awaan and what credentials and performance has she shown in the past?

Sheikh Rasheed has been rewarded with interior ministry after flopping as railway minister. He oversaw a record number of railway accidents, but Imran has rewarded him with an upgrade.

PTI is a circus show in every nook and corner of the country. Imran has no idea what he is doing or the direction he is going in because he has compromised the foundations and the manifesto on which PTI was built.

The reality is that PTI today is nothing like the party that sold the tabdeeli dream to the masses. It has become a parody of itself.

I can see the pain.

Sheikh Rasheed as federal minister is not the tabdeeli you had in mind.

What mine or yours? I have pain but its related more to dodgy knees, your pain is mental. Who thought he could come on here and give a manifesto on CV and then can't talk about it because the crooks that he supports have made him look a total cretin with their Corona Parties. Your the idiot that wanted Masjids closed but today can't even comment. That is the definition of humiliation

Its a system based on patronage and when you a minority, you have to keep people happy. That is the reason we need a presidential style of govt and suddenly the power of these guys is finished.

Twitter up in arms over Sheikh Rasheed's comment saying govt 'tested tear gas' on protesters

KARACHI: People across social media have erupted in anger over Interior Minister Sheikh Rasheed Ahmad's comments earlier today about how the PTI regime "tested tear gas" on the Islamabad protesters earlier this week, with many saying it was a highly insensitive move on his part.

Sheikh Rasheed was addressing an event in Islamabad Sunday evening when he had said the government "provided a 25% increase in the salaries and used some tear gas as well [since] it was necessary".

"Because, by using the tear gas, it can be tested. [The tear gas canisters] were stashed uselessly. We tested it a little bit, not a lot. We have a lot more stored safely though."

A police officer had died after falling sick due to the intense tear gas shelling fired to disperse the federal government employees demanding a pay raise to deal with rising inflation.

'Shameless'

PML-N leader Mohammad Zubair noted that "in any other country, a statement like this would mean immediate firing of the minister and an apology from the government".

"Shameless is no word to describe."

"What a gross statement," said PPP Senator Rubina Khalid.

'Quite shameful'

A former government officer wrote that the comments were "quite shameful".

"Minister taking credit for brutal assault on government servants who form backbone of the government," wrote Aamir Chaudhry.

"Many people got injured during the exercise and a cop died too," wrote journalist Murtaza Solangi.

'Highly deplorable'

Another user termed Rasheed's comment as "a highly deplorable remark".

Link: https://www.geo.tv/latest/334972-tw...h-rasheed-testing-tear-gas-islamabad-comments

Interior Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed on Sunday said the nation had voted for Imran Khan to hold all the corrupt and money launderers accountable, but "we failed to do so".

Addressing what appeared to be a tell-all presser in Karachi, the minister said that Imran Khan wished to catch all those who plundered national wealth through the legal course of action "but the roots of the mafia in this country are so deep that we couldn't get a hold of them".

Rashid said the opposition should be afraid of the time when people vent out their anger at them.

"People are blaming us for the situation [inflation], but it actually happened because of past rulers," the minister stressed, while admitting "it is our mistake that we couldn't explain it to the people."

He said the initiatives taken by the government including disbursement of health and ration cards were not ordinary measures, however, "we just could not let people realise the importance of such facilities".

He also highlighted that he would not shy away from accepting the country was facing a gas crisis at the moment, adding "it is a reality".

'One-way ticket for Nawaz Sharif'

The minister, while turning his guns on former premier Nawaz Sharif, said the convicted PM had left the country after much drama, adding "probably he is healthy as he did not consult any doctor [in London] since the time he made it there".

Also read: How can a convict become PM, wonders PM Imran

Rashid also accused Sharif of attacking the judiciary and giving statements on the army while sitting abroad. But, according to the minister, it didn't make any difference as "Imran is not going anywhere."

His remarks come a day after Prime Minister Imran Khan had expressed surprise over media reports that self-exiled Sharif was returning home as his (Nawaz’s) conviction could be withdrawn. “How can a convicted person become prime minister of the country for a fourth time?” PM Imran had asked.

'Border fencing to be done through consensus'

Talking about the progress of talks with the Afghan Taliban over the border situation, Rashid said Pakistan wanted the border fencing work to continue through consensus.

"It took a lot of money for this work to be done. We invited the whole world to Pakistan as we want to help the [Afghan] Taliban. They have also assured us their soil won't be used against Pakistan," noted the minister.

Taliban soldiers in Afghanistan had a week ago disrupted the erecting of a security fence by the Pakistani military along the border between the two countries.

Pakistan has fenced most of the 2,600km border des*pite protestations from Kabul, which has contested the British-era boundary demarcation that splits families and tribes on either side.

Afghan defence ministry spokesman Enayatullah Khwarazmi on Dec 19 said Taliban forces stopped the Pakistani military from erecting what he called an “illegal” border fence along the eastern province of Nangarhar.

However, it was reported by Dawn a day ago that Pakistan and Afghan Taliban authorities had overcome the row over border fencing by agreeing that further fencing would be done through consensus.

In his presser, Rashid also informed that there will be a meeting convened tomorrow at 2pm to discuss the Afghan situation. He, however, did not divulge more details of the meeting’s agenda.

Responding to a question, the minister said the [government] had indirect contacts with the banned Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan.

'Talks with Altaf Hussain out of question'

To a question about the MQM, Rashid said he had good terms with the party but there was no possibility of talks with its founder Altaf Hussain.

"There are several cases including ones related to murder and anarchy registered against him, but when it comes to talks, it cannot be held," he added.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1665952/n...t-accountable-but-we-failed-in-it-says-rashid

PML-N leaders are planning to kill me, attacking Imran Khan's long march: Sheikh Rasheed

ISLAMABAD: Former interior minister Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed claimed Sunday that PML-N leaders are planning to kill him, while they are also trying to attack Imran Khan's planned long march to Islamabad.

Speaking during a press conference in Islamabad, Rasheed said that his life is in danger because the Sharif family and other PML-N leaders want to get rid of him.

"I have registered a case against seven people at the secretariat police station as my life is in danger," he said. "I have also written a letter to the top five institutions of Pakistan in which I have stated that if anything happens to me, then these seven individuals, including Nawaz Sharif, Shehbaz Sharif, Hamza Shehbaz, and Rana Sanaullah, must be questioned."The former interior minister said that as soon as PML-N came to power, they removed the names of a hundred people from the Exit Control List (ECL).

"I request the army to scrutinise the list of people who have been removed from the ECL".

He said that the PML-N, soon after forming a government, started transferring all those people who had initiated investigations against them.

"They are coming up with fake cases against [PTI] members which are putting a burden on the judiciary," he said. "Now it's upon the court to serve justice."

Rasheed then criticised Minister for Interior Rana Sanaullah and said that "this man will push this country into a civil war, therefore, he should be stopped."

"How could they make this lunatic person the interior minister of the country," Rasheed questioned. "This man only wants bloodshed."

Speaking about the unfortunate incident that took place at the Masjid-e-Nawabi (PBUH) in Media — where a group of people chanted slogans against Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, Information Minister Marriyum Aurangzeb, and Minister for Narcotics Control Shahzain Bugti — Rasheed said that the incident was regrettable.

Speaking about leaders of other parties, Rasheed said that "Shehbaz Shareef resorted to his flagrant bootlicking of the army 14 times, while Asif Zardari is responsible for spreading corruption in Punjab.

Answering a question about his nephew Rashid Shafiq, who has been arrested at the Islamabad airport upon his arrival from Saudi Arabia in connection with the incident of slogan chanting at Masjid-e-Nabawi, Rasheed said that it is "good" that he has been thrown in jail.

"I am not begging for his bail," the former minister said, adding that it would be good for Rashid Shafiq to stay behind bars for 15 days as it will be his first time in prison."

https://www.geo.tv/latest/414711-pm...tacking-imran-khans-long-march-sheikh-rasheed

Incidentally, while my father was lecturer at Gordon College, Sheeda was a student leader. My father said he was genuinely patriotic, but as usually happens, the higher-ups used him for their dirty work, which may have contributed to making him the cynical opportunist he became. He kept the folky touch of the laborer's son of course.

My father also studied from Gordon College. Sheikh Rasheed was a senior i would guess while his brother was my fathers class mate.

Apparently, Sheikh Rasheed was caught cheating in his exam at Gordon College

Hes one of the worst politicians we have ever had. He does no sensible work. He is a big free loader that goes around near his mohalla and get free breakfast.

My maternal grand father played a vital role in his campaigns and getting him recognized in the early days in rawalpindi. Sheikh rasheed wasnt even allowed to open election offices in certain areas of pindi.

In dhok ratta, he couldnt open an election office due to bashi khan and his threat. Thats when he requested my grand father who than allowed him to open his election office in one of tje portion of their house that faced the main road.

To get votes, what sheikh rasheed used to do was check the voters list and in areas where large joint families lived, he used to call those households and request them to vote for him.

He is all talk nothing else. People claim he made schools and roads, but to be honest, the govt schools he did get made were just third class schools located in mohallas.

His own brother doesnt even support him. He is a failed politician that doesnt get any meaningful or sustainable projects done.

The least he could had done was get the old city areas of pindi cleaned or made them into proper heritage sites like how we walled city of lahore.

I met him many times, personally , when I was a student and he was relatively new national level politician . Very interesting guy , lively , with very good sense of humor . Typical politician and opportunistic but does not have any strong back up, so never been involved in any "significant" corruption and sort of a contended guy, money wise.

Credit goes to him as he gradually progressed from base to a top level politician , being middle class and without having a strong back up.

President of Gordon College Rawalpindi>>> coucilor >>> MNA >>> minister

Generally very well liked in Rawalpindi .

Hes one of the worst politicians we have ever had. He does no sensible work. He is a big free loader that goes around near his mohalla and get free breakfast.

My maternal grand father played a vital role in his campaigns and getting him recognized in the early days in rawalpindi. Sheikh rasheed wasnt even allowed to open election offices in certain areas of pindi.

In dhok ratta, he couldnt open an election office due to bashi khan and his threat. Thats when he requested my grand father who than allowed him to open his election office in one of tje portion of their house that faced the main road.

To get votes, what sheikh rasheed used to do was check the voters list and in areas where large joint families lived, he used to call those households and request them to vote for him.

He is all talk nothing else. People claim he made schools and roads, but to be honest, the govt schools he did get made were just third class schools located in mohallas.

His own brother doesnt even support him. He is a failed politician that doesnt get any meaningful or sustainable projects done.

The least he could had done was get the old city areas of pindi cleaned or made them into proper heritage sites like how we walled city of lahore.

Take out your biased glasses alot of development being done by S Rasheed in Pindi and specifically in Education sectors around 15-20 girls college developed under his tenure

I live in Pindi and i have been to inner Pindi aswell.

The colleges you talk about are crappy colleges. Most of them are made inside gali mohallas. Plus, they are old school structure with terrible fixtures and terrible environment.

Most parents who have money avoid sending their kids to these schools, knowing how bad they are.

You can create 60 school structures in a gali mohalla, it doesnt matter. What matters is the standard of the that school and the kind of education being provided.

Look at how the army makes APS school and than compare it to one of those third class sheikh rasheed govt schools.

Atleast bring it to the level of Sir Syed Public School

Better politician than Noora and zardari mafia, but definitely an opportunist too.

The colleges you talk about are crappy colleges. Most of them are made inside gali mohallas. Plus, they are old school structure with terrible fixtures and terrible environment.

Most parents who have money avoid sending their kids to these schools, knowing how bad they are.

You can create 60 school structures in a gali mohalla, it doesnt matter. What matters is the standard of the that school and the kind of education being provided.

Look at how the army makes APS school and than compare it to one of those third class sheikh rasheed govt schools.

Your essays never stop, if he wasn't then eh would have not been elected again and again.

Let me simplify it for you which will help in you understanding our politics.

Pmln comes to power. Instead of creating bus system for whole rawalpindi, they create and waste all the budget on create only one route.

PTI comes into power. They bring reforms through bills that will improve the lives of the people in the long run.

Who will the people vote for? Offcourse pmln, because political parties and mnas use tangible things to win. Thats what people see and remember, not the intangible.

Also, sheikh rasheed wins as an independent. All he needs is keep his election office open, make phone calls to the locals and just hope for a win.

He roams around, and is approachable in a way where if someone needs govt sifarish he will do it. He makes rubbish schools.

Go to inner pindi and you will the disgusting state of those areas.

I know people in Rawalpindi like him a lot and he has been winning there almost every election, must be doing something right.

Sure, move back to rawalpindi and have your children enrolled in one of his no.x schools if you have that much trust in his election win. :)

Thankfully you admitted he has built schools and they are definitely better than the ones in Larkana Daddu where donkeys are tired

You can make 100 of schools. If they are low quality and made with no planning they are useless.

Like i said before, before praising, would you be willing to send your children to those schools or not

Sheikh Rashid says his life in danger

ISLAMABAD: Former interior minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed on Sunday submitted a complaint with the Kohsar police station informing them that his life was in danger, police said.

In his complaint, Mr Ahmed said some suspicious people had been seen outside his house in F-7/4. “I am a former interior minister and am receiving threats from the incumbent Rana Sanaullah,” he added.

“I am an important opponent of the government and my life is in danger,” he stated in the complaint, and nominated Nawaz Sharif, Shehbaz Sharif, Hassan Nawaz, Hussain Nawaz, Hamza Shehbaz, and Rana Sanaullah in case he was murdered outside or inside a jail.

When contacted, Station House Officer of Kohsar police station Tipu Sultan confirmed that Sheikh Rashid Ahmed had submitted a compliant and legal opinion had been sought from the police prosecution department for further action.

In another complaint, Mr Ahmed addressed to directors generals of ISI, MI, FIA and IB, stating that the interior minister had removed the names of some notorious drug dealers from the ECL list without the permission of the cabinet.

He requested that the illegal act be investigated and the nation be informed about the names of the notorious drug dealers.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1687762/sheikh-rashid-says-his-life-in-danger

You can make 100 of schools. If they are low quality and made with no planning they are useless.

Like i said before, before praising, would you be willing to send your children to those schools or not

It's not a matter of my children a bulk of children are going to these schools which is way better than donkey/patwari being parked in schools in Daddu etc

Sure, move back to rawalpindi and have your children enrolled in one of his no.x schools if you have that much trust in his election win. :)

So why he has won almost every election from Pindi for last almost 40 years

Former interior minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed has said that if there is a war with institutions, then he will stand by former prime minister Imran Khan like a rock because he considers him to be on the right side.

In an interview with a foreign news agency, the Awami Muslim League (AML) chief said that all matters with the army were going well and they were on the same page, but suddenly misunderstandings emerged between them, which should not have happened.

He said that while the Pakistan Army is a great army and supports every elected government, something happened that Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) and Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) left them along with half of the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q). He added that they made a mistake somewhere.

Rashid said that he had been saying for a long time that March and April were important months. He added that he was in favour of reconciliation with the army and efforts were made, but no response has been received so far.

He further said that their only demand is fair and transparent elections. “We are with the army and as long as this government is in power, let it govern,” he added.

The former interior minister said that the public’s sentiments are in front of everyone and the date for the election should be announced till May 31. “If we come to Islamabad then we will not leave without an election date,” he said.

Commenting on the success of the no-confidence motion, Rashid said that he had full confidence in MQM-P, which is why he was confident that the government would survive it. However, he added, the day MQM-P announced support for the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM), the government lost.

He said that he has known the MQM-P for decades and they do not generally make mistakes, but this time they “made a mistake”.

Regarding the incident at Masjid-e-Nabawi, the former minister said that he said that wherever these people (government) goes, the people will express their feelings by calling them thieves. He said that while the numbers were few in Madina, if the rulers go to London, a million people would stage a protest against them and they would have to go in armoured vehicles.

The AML chief said that the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) should not stand against institutions, rather they should work with the institutions to fix the date of the election. “I will play the role of mediator in this,” he said.

However, he added, if there is a war with institutions, he will stand with Imran Khan like a rock. But, he further said, attempt should be made to make peace.

“Rawalpindi is my constituency and all institutions are my constituency; the Pakistan Army is my army, but in this fight, I consider Imran Khan to be right,” the former minister said.

He also made it clear that he does not want democracy to end and the only way to avoid that is by holding early elections. He said that Imran too does not want martial law, rather he wants elections, and is ready for talks and negotiations with the government.

Express Tribune

RAWALPINDI: Former interior minister Sheikh Rasheed on Friday has filed a plea seeking pre-arrest bail after the registration of nine cases in different cities.

According to details, former interior minister Sheikh Rasheed reached the Rawalpindi bench of the Lahore High Court and applied for pre-arrest bail.

It may be recalled that nine cases have been registered against Sheikh Rasheed in different cities while the police have already arrested his nephew Sheikh Rashid Shafiq.

It may be recalled that a case was registered against more than 150 people including Imran Khan, Sheikh Rasheed, Fawad Chaudhry and Shahbaz Gill in the Masjid-e-Nabawi incident.

Earlier, Awami Muslim League chief and the former interior minister had filed a petition at Kohsar police station in which he said that he was also receiving threats from Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah and others.

Sheikh Rasheed said that if I was killed then Nawaz Sharif, Shahbaz Sharif and Hamza Shahbaz should be interrogated, Rana Sanaullah, Hussain Nawaz, Moin Nawaz and Salman Shahbaz should be interrogated.

ARY

So why he has won almost every election from Pindi for last almost 40 years

It's not a matter of my children a bulk of children are going to these schools which is way better than donkey/patwari being parked in schools in Daddu etc

for the last one week I have been going to Sheikh Rasheed schools in rawalpindi for employment related examinations

Anyone of you who sits abroad and sing praises should atleast visit these places before talking.

Sheikh Rasheed schools which are run by the govt dont even have any air conditioning. Students have to sit on wooden chairs, the class rooms and exam halls dont have any air conditioning and only fans are their that only swings humid heat. Even the windows are broken and some of the schools have halls that have a tin shed roof.

Before singing praises, always better to take a visit.

Pathetic stuff, they cant even provide students basic necessities while they use the budget on their own offices.