Where does India stand in the US v Russia conflict over Ukraine?

I imagine this is not a comfortable time for India as Russia is an old time ally but the US relationship is also important....

I am more interested to hear what the indians think of Putin recognising Donetsk and Luhansk as independent states, since they are part of Ukraine?

https://www.financialexpress.com/defence/russia-ukraine-as-war-clouds-loom-india-look-to-balance-its-ties-with-the-us-and-russia/2441732/

Russia has recognised the ‘sovereignty’ of Luhansk and Donetsk. These two regions had declared their independence from Ukraine in 2014. Russia insisted on implementation of the Minsk Agreement which guaranteed autonomy to the Donbas region. But Kiev was lacklustre in taking the proposal further. However, Ukraine’s President Volodymyr Zelensky miscalculated the move assuming that NATO will deter Russia from taking any action. Ukraine is paying the price for the half-hearted commitment of NATO. The Western threat of sanction is not enough to dissuade Russia from declaring the two regions as independent states. Russia’s President Vladimir Putin has ordered its defence ministry to send peacekeeping forces in the region to secure it from a possible Ukrainian onslaught.

In his speech last night, President Putin stressed on two points: Russia’s historical role in creating the state of Ukraine in the last two centuries, and ulterior motives of NATO’s eastward expansion. “Russia is unwilling to accept the sovereignty of Ukraine to the extent that it can make a choice of joining NATO,” says an expert.

Sharing his views with Financial Express Online, Prof Rajan Kumar, School of International Studies, JNU, says, “France, Germany and the US condemned the Russian recognition as ‘a unilateral violation of Russia’s international commitments and an attack on Ukraine’s sovereignty’. They are likely to impose harsh sanctions on Russia, and raise the issue in the UN Security Council. President Putin appeared prepared to bear high economic costs for the security of Russia.”

“With new developments, Europe has entered a new phase of insecurity and crisis. The Minsk II agreement has become meaningless now. France and Germany have lost their credibility as negotiators. They will be under pressure to take tough measures against Russia.

Ukraine will never agree to the decision of Russia to recognise its territories as sovereign states. If it sought to reclaim the Donbas region by force, war was inevitable. The politics in Ukraine and Russia will become more conservative with the influence of security forces in decision-making,” Prof Rajan opines.

Yes. “At a larger level, developments in Ukraine will have direct bearing on the ongoing Western negotiations on Iran and Afghanistan. Russia will be far more assertive and rigid in its stances on these issues. NATO’s inability to take decisive measures against Russia will embolden China to ignore US threats in Taiwan and the South China Sea. New Delhi will find it increasingly difficult to hedge its interests. Moscow will become far more dependent on Beijing in the years to come. One may expect a military agreement between the two powers very soon,” Prof Rajan says.

These are some questions that Col Rajinder Singh (retd) has addressed while sharing his views with Financial Express Online.

“Its manoeuvrability will be badly affected. Therefore the question has very wide ramifications, bordering military, economical, strategic and Geo-political connotations. Its impact would be worse than Covid-19. India would be hemmed between trusted old friends, Russia on one hand and newly acquired strategic partner, the US on the other.”

“It will not only lead to sour relations with the two opposing blocks but also isolate India in the comity of nations. India would. Thus, become a “Strategic Infirm”, dampening its desire to be a global player,” Col Singh, a renowned author and a defence analyst explains.

According to the former Indian Army officer, “The Ukraine war would badly affect the defence and security of India. Firstly, it would delay or choke Russian military hardware, like the S -400 air defence system, needed for defence forces of India. Russia might refuse to provide other accessories for weapon systems acquired in the past. Even France and USA would be annoyed at Indian neutrality and stop further supply of weapons imported from them. Non availability of reserve -supply would undoubtedly impact military capabilities.“

Secondly, “With USA and western attention engaged with Russia and Ukraine, China might like to exploit the situation to capture Daulat Beg Oldie (DBO) – Siachen region in Eastern Ladakh to safeguard its CPEC project. Pakistan might join China in this military adventure. A two front war could put India at a very big disadvantage due to reduced military capabilities. In such a scenario, it is anybody’s guess as to what would happen to J&K?”

“It is no gain saying the fact that the West and USA would levy sanctions against Russia, This would impact Gas Supply to EU from Russia. USA being well – wisher of Europe, it will compel Saudi Arabia and other OPEC nations of Middle East to divert their oil export to Europe. This would cut down Indian petroleum needs and reduce economic growth besides affecting military capabilities. Further, MNCs of USA & West might withdraw their funds invested in Indian markets, thus further hampering economic growth,” Col Singh opines.

In his opinion, “Poor economic conditions and reduced military capabilities might bolster the spirits of separatists from J&K to the North east. There is a danger of destabilisation of India, leading to secessionist movements. It might seem a far-fetched argument but possibility cannot be ruled out.”

Finally, “India must pray that Russia does not invade Ukraine because it threatens to initiate a World War. It has serious repercussions for the unity of India. This is why India must become Self – reliant (Aatma Nirbhar) in defence capabilities and hope for the Ukraine crisis to blow over,” Col Singh concludes.

Probably neutral.

In a binary decision though, we will lean toward Russia because of the massive military relations we have with them.

The unfortunate geopolitical reality is that the world is now getting polarized - China vs USA.

India will have to realign itself closer to US and away from Russia since Russia, like Pakistan is now under the clout of China. There is no way as of now that India can hold by itself against China and Russia is not going to help us to the extent US will against China.

The 2 dependencies we have on Russia is arms and support at the UN. Arms are slowly being procured from western sources (higher cost) and increase in indigenous development. UN support will need to replaced by USA again at a much higher cost.

The unfortunate geopolitical reality is that the world is now getting polarized - China vs USA.

India will have to realign itself closer to US and away from Russia since Russia, like Pakistan is now under the clout of China. There is no way as of now that India can hold by itself against China and Russia is not going to help us to the extent US will against China.

The 2 dependencies we have on Russia is arms and support at the UN. Arms are slowly being procured from western sources (higher cost) and increase in indigenous development. UN support will need to replaced by USA again at a much higher cost.

Until about a year ago I used to believe the same thing. But after India acquiring S-400 and installing it near Pak border I realized India's stance towards China. India won't say a peep against China, I'll be highly surprised if Indian establishment takes any real step towards antagonizing China. Of course, Indian propaganda mouthpieces bark a lot on domestic tv/internet but nothing more.

And I think this shows how smart India are (in comparison to Pak establishment). India won't gain anything by taking sides.

Let's see.

india abandoning russia would be a long term mistake. India needs multiple allies, sole reliance on the USA will be problematic in the long term. India is lucky however that given its lack of geopolitical influence over any of the parties involved they can sit this one out without no one really noticing.

Until about a year ago I used to believe the same thing. But after India acquiring S-400 and installing it near Pak border I realized India's stance towards China. India won't say a peep against China, I'll be highly surprised if Indian establishment takes any real step towards antagonizing China. Of course, Indian propaganda mouthpieces bark a lot on domestic tv/internet but nothing more.

And I think this shows how smart India are (in comparison to Pak establishment). India won't gain anything by taking sides.

Let's see.

Its not India about confronting China. Its the other way round. Seasonally, China mobilizes its army across the LAC and checks our defences to extract concessions. We cant handle this on our own I think.

I imagine this is not a comfortable time for India as Russia is an old time ally but the US relationship is also important....

I personally do not feel Indians have much to lose here, this is one of the rare circumstance where Indians come out on top by staying neutral.

Americans need Indians and Vise Versa to counter China, both do not want the Chinese dominating the Indian Ocean and will not allow it, such as the Malacca straight Choke points etc. So even if Indians buy more weapons from Russia, there will be condemnations from US but Zero sanctions, in other words, Indians get to have their cake and eat it too..

As CJ said above, this is not India's fight, so Indians will stay out of it. Will the Russians be more closer to the Chinese ? Yes, especially now. However Russians still view the Chinese with a deep level of suspicion as they have gone to war in the past over land border disputes and Chinese copying the Su-27 and selling it as cheap knocks offs like the J-10 and J-17s etc have not gone down well in Moscow as it is a threat their defense exports.

Russia needs India very close to them to counter act China, when the Chinese get too comfortable, Russians will open up their defense technology like they already have with the Brahmos, Nuclear Submarine tech etc... The Nuclear Submarine tech which no country has ever offered to India except the Russians shows how close their relationship is, it helped India make their first indigenous nuclear reactor for the submarine in 2006 and now more nuclear submarines are being constructed in India from what the Indian engineers and scientist learned with the assistance Russians provided.. Putin also recently visited India just before the whole Ukraine fiasco to confirm that both countries have a strong ongoing relationship.

The wonderful world of politics, there are friends for reasons, friends for seasons and never friends for life.

P.S. Last point I must add is the S400 is a cause of concern, as the Chinese may pressure the Russians to give them source codes for the Indian S400s to nullify it and Russians may give in...

From my personal experience, I have seen more Russian influence in donetsk. Most people spoke Russian and it was easy to mingle with them because i was accustomed to Russian culture since I was in the east side.

Luhansk is a bit different case. Haven't stayed there for long enough to give a proper picture so won't comment on that.

From my personal experience, I have seen more Russian influence in donetsk. Most people spoke Russian and it was easy to mingle with them because i was accustomed to Russian culture since I was in the east side.

Luhansk is a bit different case. Haven't stayed there for long enough to give a proper picture so won't comment on that.

Vladimir Putin said whole of Ukraine actually have same culture as Russia, in fact they are same people many say?

So do you think it’s fair that Donetsk and Luhansk get independence even if they are Ukrainian territoriets under international law?

Vladimir Putin said whole of Ukraine actually have same culture as Russia, in fact they are same people many say?

So do you think it’s fair that Donetsk and Luhansk get independence even if they are Ukrainian territoriets under international law?

In my opinion, This should go back to 1922 under which accordance donetsk, Luhansk, dnipropetro and others have constituted as entity (as Ukraine) in the soviet union. If they agreed to lose sovereignity, then they should be protected. Otherwise, Russia will have a strong claim.

It will depend upon the agreement in 1922 which was signed by then bolsheviks.

That should be regarded as starting point instead of 1991.

Someone may correct if my information is wrong because my history knowledge in Ukraine during the bolsheviks era isn't that strong and I couldn't find material even in Russian libraries regarding this.

India has no choice but to stay mute.

Soviet era has gone. Russia continues to sells weapons because benefits them, along with the odd drill to keep Indians happy. Russia however understands India is in the US camp for their South Asia policy against China. Neither country really cares for India.

India's trade with US and its allies - $300 bn (maybe even more)

India's trade with Russia - $10 bn (maybe even less)

India stands nowhere. It has no relevance in geopolitics despite the myth of its economic prowess.

Nope
We should remain neutral.

In the cold war era, our main enemy was Pakistan which was relatively smaller and was not leading either camp
Now, our main enemy is China which is much larger in size and leading the camp against its adversary USA. Add to that your capability is dependent on Russia which is now strictly under the aegis of China

Unless you tell me there is a way we can handle China on our own (with a now questionable Russian support), it would not be possible to stay neutral. To the extent, I would say it would be outright stupid.

Coz China hates India and Russia is upset with it too. India feels it needs a superpower to suck up to balance the power against the said countries and Pak too. It is an eastern country always licking the boots of the west.

India stands nowhere. It has no relevance in geopolitics despite the myth of its economic prowess.

Frankly, they will happily take and accept that. Mind your own business, be irrelevant in your opinion But at the end of the day, Nuclear powers don't need a superpower in case of end game

Ukrainian envoy calls upon PM Modi to contact leaders of Russia, Ukraine to stop conflict

Ukraine’s envoy to India on Thursday urged the Ministry of External Affairs to activate high-level dialogue involving Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the leaders of Ukraine and Russia.

The request came minutes after Russian President Vladimir Putin ordered a “special military operation” targeting Donbas in Ukraine. The order was quickly followed by multiple large explosions in various cities of Ukraine, which at present hosts approximately 18,000 Indian citizens.

The envoy said the goal of the Russian military operation was to “destroy” the Ukrainian state. This is the second such request from Ukrainian diplomats based in South Asia. Ahead of Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan’s arrival in Moscow on Wednesday, a similar request for intervention and mediation was made by Markian Chuchuk, the Ukrainian ambassador to Pakistan.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) of Ukraine said Russian forces had begun attacking the country from multiple directions.

“Our partners should immediately enact a package of new sanctions. We also call on friendly capitals to continue strengthening Ukraine’s defence capabilities by providing weapons and military equipment,” said a statement from the MOFA, describing Ukrainian efforts as a “joint response” of the world. Shortly after President Putin announced a “special military operation” against Ukraine, the capital city Kiev reported loud blasts targeting certain facilities on the outskirts of the city.

Videos showed the blasts lighting up the city. Indian students residing there said they could hear multiple blasts taking place in the city, which holds a substantial Indian population as well as Indian restaurants and businesses.

https://www.thehindu.com/news/inter...-ukraine-to-stop-conflict/article65079889.ece

New Delhi: Ukraine's envoy Igor Polikha sought India's urgent intervention as armed conflict with Russia started this morning, saying, "India is a very influential global player… We are asking for a strong voice of India". Pointing out that the situation may get out of control, Mr Polikha said Prime Minister Narendra Modi is "one of the most powerful, respected" world leaders. "You have a privileged, strategic relation with Russia. If Modi ji speaks to Putin (Russian President Vladimir Putin), we are hopeful he will respond," he said at a press briefing in New Delhi.

Mr Putin ordered a "special military operation" this morning after weeks of escalated tension between Russia and its smaller neighbour. Russian tanks and other heavy equipment crossed into several northern regions, separatist controlled areas in eastern Ukraine which Russia formally recognised as independent nations, and the Kremlin-annexed peninsula of Crimea in the south.

"India should be much more actively engaged, given the privileged relation India has with Russia. Not just for our safety, but of your own citizen's safety too, we need intervention of India," Mr Polikha said, pointing to the 15,000-plus Indians currently living in Ukraine, whom the government is trying to evacuate.

In his speech, Mr Polikha also referred to India's history and mythology to trace its role in diplomacy and the non-aligned movement.

"I'm dealing with India from my young student years and I know a lot about your history of diplomacy. You had such bright guys… like Chanakya, or a he is otherwise called, Kautilya, approximately 2500 years back when on the major parts of Europe, there was no civilization," he said.

He also referred to the Mahabharata, saying even before the war, there were active attempts to solve the conflict. "India was among the architects of the world famous five principles, "Panchsheel... That's why at this moment we are asking, pleading the support of India," he added.

"Putin has just launched a full-blown attack. They must stop Putin now. It is a case of blatant aggression… the Russian statement is cynical. They are not just attacking military installations but we have suffered civilian casualties," he said.

Calling the conflict unexpected, Mr Polikha said for weeks, their President has been "repeatedly asking for bilateral negotiations with Russia, but (there was) no response". "We do not want protocol statements, it means nothing. We need support from the whole world," he added.

India has already called for de-escalation of hostilities, saying unless it is checked, it can "spiral into a major crisis" that can severely destabilize the region.

"We express our deep concern over the developments, which if not handled carefully, may well undermine the peace and security of the region," India's Permanent Representative to the United Nations, TS Tirumurti has said.

"We call for immediate de-escalation and refraining from any further action that could contribute to a worsening of the situation. We call on all parties to exert greater efforts to bridge divergent interests," Mr Tirumurti said.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/if-...voy-to-india-2786561#pfrom=home-ndtv_bigstory

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will speak to Russian President Vladimir Putin tonight amid the crisis in Ukraine, sources have said. Russian military operations started against Ukraine this morning and the former Soviet republic has asked for India's intervention.
Currently, the Prime Minister is hosting a meeting of his top ministers at his official residence to discuss the economic impact of the Russia-Ukraine crisis and ways to mitigate the impact of rising crude oil prices.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh have already reached his residence. Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and other officials will also attend the meeting.

Russian forces fired missiles at several cities in Ukraine and landed troops on its coast on Thursday, officials and media said, after President Vladimir Putin authorised what he called a special military operation.

Meanwhile, Ms Sitharaman too said she will be meeting PM Modi to discuss the situation arising out of the Russia-Ukraine conflict. Asked whether there will be a meeting with the PM on the Russia-Ukraine issue, she said, "definitely".

Markets have been rattled by Russia's attack on Ukraine. The 30-share benchmark Sensex crashed over 2,700 points today in line with global meltdown amid the Ukraine invasion by Russia.

Earlier, the Indian embassy in Ukraine said that special flights arranged to head to Kyiv to pick up Indian nationals were cancelled as the country's airspace was closed.

India is now looking for alternative routes to evacuate its citizens form Ukraine after an Air India flight turned back or Delhi due to the closed Ukrainian airspace.

Meanwhile, high-level meetings are being held at the Ministry of External Affairs to work out contingency plans and find alternate evacuation routes, said sources.

More Russian-speaking officials have been sent to India's embassy in Ukraine and are being deployed in countries neighbouring Ukraine, sources in the MEA said.

The Indian embassy has also issued a set of guidelines to students and others who live in the country. Kyiv was among the cities targeted by Russia.

The Indian embassy warned that citizens "traveling to Kyiv, including those traveling from western parts of Kyiv, are advised to return to their respective cities temporarily, especially towards safer places along the western bordering countries."

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pm-...raine-crisis-2786786#pfrom=home-ndtv_bigstory

Russia is India’s defense partner and USA the economic partner.
Stay neutral and get the citizens out.

Russia supported India when India scrapped article 370 on Kashmir

India should stay out from this Ukraine dispute. India's enemy is China not Russia. Good thing is even USA understands that - hence gave India CATSAA waiver on defense purchases

Diplomacy is about national interest. Not grandstanding. Russia has been India's most loyal ally. No point ruining relations bcoz of what happening thousands of miles from India . Especially when EU is still hesitant on imposing tough sanctions on Russia to avoid economic fallout

In the Russia-Ukraine war India will be forced to take a side. Either it will have to stand with America or Russia. With IK having tea with the Russian's shows us Pak's position. He is not interested in snuggling up to Biden unlike most leaders are. India can forget Russia if it upsets Putin.

As for the Saudi and Emirates India is welcome to them. I would rather have the Chinese, Russians and Turks in my corner then the useless Arabs.

Frankly, they will happily take and accept that. Mind your own business, be irrelevant in your opinion But at the end of the day, Nuclear powers don't need a superpower in case of end game

Insecurity is strong with this one. ‘Mind your own business’ in a thread asking for an opinion on India.

I clearly said a few words that hit hard with citizens of the ’fastest’ and ‘incredible’ growing economy, not!

Honestly, Indians on a Pak forum complaining is the biggest irony.

Lets not forget Modi begging Isreal, USA, and UK to join forces against China.

Love it to the max.

Well we have the quad where India, Japan, Australia and Amercia have joined forces to counter China in our region.

This quad is a joke. If/when China enters in Taiwan (and even Indian :)) ) territory nobody says peep.

The way 'Muricans abandoned Ghani the fleeing-thief-rat and Zelenskyy the Zionist-rat should be a clear warning to all their present and future so called "allies".

Real alliance against China / Russia is the AUKUS.

By same logic: China (Russia) should put their own puppet ruler in Mexico and put some nukes pointing towards USA :)) and USA should accept it with eyes closed. Why not?

This quad is a joke. If/when China enters in Taiwan (and even Indian :)) ) territory nobody says peep.

Bookmark this quote - Taiwan is a red line. If China goes in, it will be China vs Nato, most likely transpire to a world war 3. Biden has said this on record, Taiwan is a no go zone.

The reason for this red line is that China absorbing Taiwan makes it enormously powerful viz-a-viz USA (keyword: "TSMC", one of the top 3 semiconductor company in the world).

Insecurity is strong with this one. ‘Mind your own business’ in a thread asking for an opinion on India.

I clearly said a few words that hit hard with citizens of the ’fastest’ and ‘incredible’ growing economy, not!

Honestly, Indians on a Pak forum complaining is the biggest irony.

Lets not forget Modi begging Isreal, USA, and UK to join forces against China.

Love it to the max.

Are Bhai

Mind your own business’ was not meant for you - it was for India's stance as minding their own business and not going eitherway

I am not going to comment on your other childish comments, I've been here for many years - you don't know who I am but whatever suits you

As for Modi - learn abut enemy as well, I doubt India has ever begged for support. Their stance is always been bilateral talks, which I agree. As for begging, we know who does that very clearly

India on Friday abstained on a US-sponsored UN Security Council resolution that deplored in the strongest terms Russia's aggression against Ukraine. New Delhi said dialogue is the only answer to settling differences and disputes and voiced "regret" that the path of diplomacy was given up.

The resolution did not pass as permanent member Russia used its veto. In the 15-member UN Security Council, the resolution received 11 votes in favour and three abstentions, including by India, China and the UAE.

As India tries to maintain a tough diplomatic balance on the Russia-Ukraine war, it used strong words on Russia's actions but stopped short of voting against it.

Before the vote, the US had dialed up pressure on India to commit to a stronger response to Russia's Ukraine invasion.

On Thursday, US Secretary of State Anthony Blinken, speaking to Foreign Minister S Jaishankar, had stressed on the importance of a "strong collective response" to condemn what America called Russia's "premeditated, unprovoked and unjustified attack on Ukraine".

Hours later, India stayed firm on its stand at the UNSC vote, and later issued a sharp Explanation of Vote that called for a return to the path of diplomacy.

"India is deeply disturbed by the recent turn of developments in Ukraine," India's Permanent Representative to the UN, Ambassador TS Tirumurti, said, explaining India's abstention.

"All member states should honour principles of international law and UN Charter, as these provide a constructive way forward," said India, asserting that it had maintained its "consistent, steadfast and balanced position".

The statement called for respecting sovereignty and territorial integrity of states and immediate cessation of violence and hostilities - words conveyed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to Russian President Vladimir Putin in a phone call on Thursday.

Sources said by abstaining, India has retained the option of reaching out to relevant sides in an effort to bridge the gap and find the middle ground, with an aim to foster dialogue and diplomacy.

An earlier draft of the resolution had proposed moving the resolution under Chapter VII of the UN Charter, which provides the framework within which the Security Council may take enforcement action. However, this was dropped in the final version that was put to vote, said sources.

NDTV

The Indian Air Force has decided not to deploy its combat jets in a multilateral air exercise in the UK next month in view of the situation arising out of the crisis in Ukraine.
The announcement by the IAF to not send its aircraft for the 'Cobra Warrior' exercise came just three days after it confirmed its participation in the drills from March 6 to 27 at Waddington in the United Kingdom.

“In light of the recent events, #IAF has decided not to deploy its aircraft for Exercise Cobra Warrior 2022 in UK,” the IAF tweeted.

Though the IAF did not clearly mention the reasons for the pull-out, it is learnt that the deepening crisis in Ukraine following the Russian military attack in that country prompted the decision.

The announcement by the IAF came hours after India abstained from voting on a UN Security Council resolution on the Russian military aggression against Ukraine.

Official sources said by abstaining from the resolution, India retained the option of reaching out to all relevant sides to find a middle ground and foster dialogue and diplomacy to resolve the crisis.

On Wednesday, the IAF had announced that it will participate in the 'Cobra Warrior' exercise with a fleet of five Tejas light combat aircraft (LCA).

The IAF said the exercise 'Cobra Warrior 22' is aimed at providing operational exposure and sharing best practices amongst the participating air forces.

It said the exercise will be a platform for the indigenously developed Tejas aircraft to demonstrate their manoeuvrability and operational capability.

"The exercise is aimed at providing operational exposure and sharing best practices amongst the participating air forces, thereby enhancing combat capability and forging bonds of friendship," the IAF had said.

NDTV

Why should India voice their opinion in favour of Ukraine ?

- Ukraine raised Kashmir issues at the UN against India,

- Sold weapons to Pakistan,

- Did not raise a peep when China was trying to occupy Galwan and causing issues.

Now that they get an butt whooping they are crying for India's help lol :)).

Russia is India's tried and tested ally (although I do wish India stops buying junk Russian fighter jets).

Russia came to India's aid during the liberation of Bangladesh, have never spoken against India on Kashmir at the UN ..

Bad luck Ukraine you not getting any help from the Indians.. saaawwrrryyy

Amid Ukraine evacuation efforts, special Air India flight in Romania

Ukraine Crisis: Thousands of Indians are trying to return home with Ukraine under attack from Russia

A special Air India flight landed in Romania on Saturday morning amid India's efforts to bring back citizens stuck in Ukraine via alternative routes. The flight - AI-1943 - left from Mumbai at 3:25 am. The flight is expected to return to Mumbai at 4 pm on Saturday. Union Minister Piyush Goyal will be at the airport to recieve people who are returning.

In the latest advisory on evacuations, the government urged Indians in Ukraine on Saturday to not leave for border posts without coordination with officials concerned, stressing that "the situation is sensitive". Those in the western parts of the country with access to water, food, accomodation and basic amenities are "relatively safer", the statement said, adding that people in eastern parts of the country should "avoid all unneccessary movement".

Earlier this week, Russia had recognised two rebel regions in Ukraine as independent in prelude to a full-scale invasion on Thursday. The Kremlin stepped up attacks on Ukraine by land, water and sea from north, south and east, reports have said. Ukrainian capital Kyiv is under threat with heavy firiing reported in outskirts as Russia advances. Ukraine President Volodymyr Zelenskyy in a late-night video address called for people to join the fight and defend the capital.

Meanwhile, while the airspace remains closed in Ukraine amid Russia offensive, India has been planning evacuation via alternative routes. Romania, Poland, Slovakia Republic and Hungary have been asked for help.

About 16,000 Indians are in Ukraine. Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday spoke to Russia's Vladimir Putin expressing concern for the safety of citizens.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/india...853362275.html

Why should India voice their opinion in favour of Ukraine ?

- Ukraine raised Kashmir issues at the UN against India,

- Sold weapons to Pakistan,

- Did not raise a peep when China was trying to occupy Galwan and causing issues.

Now that they get an butt whooping they are crying for India's help lol :)).

Russia is India's tried and tested ally (although I do wish India stops buying junk Russian fighter jets).

Russia came to India's aid during the liberation of Bangladesh, have never spoken against India on Kashmir at the UN ..

Bad luck Ukraine you not getting any help from the Indians.. saaawwrrryyy

But AFAIK, Ukraine does maintenance etc for Russian. I think the reasons above are not valid for any invasion POV. They have good relations and this is not like there is hatred but India always remains safe in such situations

Ukraine economy is a volatile one. It relied on Russia for far too long for soft bail outs. I have lived in Eastern Ukraine and most people are pro Russian where they believed that their life in soviet union was much better than the current scenario.

Most people are poor and finds it hard to find foods. The rosy picture of Ukraine is very different in reality.

Western Ukraine was very different though.

New Delhi: Ukraine's President Volodymyr Zelenskiy on Saturday tweeted he had spoken to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking "political support", shortly after Russia praised India's decision to abstain from a vote at the United Nations to condemn its invasion.
President Zelenskiy said he briefed PM Modi about the course of the Russian assault with more than 1 lakh invaders. Russia's mission to India tweeted said it was "highly appreciative" of India's "independent and balanced" position.

By abstaining from the UN Security Council resolution on the Russian attack on Ukraine, India retained the option of reaching out to all relevant parties to find a middle ground and foster dialogue and diplomacy to defuse the crisis, government sources were quoted as saying by news agency PTI on Saturday.

Though India abstained from voting on the resolution, it called for respecting "sovereignty and territorial integrity" of states and sought immediate cessation of "violence and hostilities", in comments that the sources said reflected a "sharper tone" and criticism of the Russian offensive.

At the crucial UN Security Council session on Friday, Russia used its veto power to block the US-sponsored resolution deploring in the "strongest terms" Russian "aggression" against Ukraine. Besides India, China and the United Arab Emirates too abstained from voting.

While abstaining from voting on the resolution, India issued an 'Explanation of Vote' (EoV) after the vote in which it called for "return to the path of diplomacy" and sought immediate cessation of "violence and hostilities".

India also told the UN Security Council that it has been in touch with all parties concerned and urged them to return to the negotiating table.

"The contemporary global order has been built on the UN Charter, international law, and respect for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of states," India said in the EoV said.

"All member states need to honour these principles in finding a constructive way forward. Dialogue is the only answer to settling differences and disputes, however daunting that may appear at this moment," it said.

Noting that it is deeply disturbed by the recent turn of developments in Ukraine, India urged that all efforts are made for the immediate cessation of violence and hostilities.

The sources said India's call for respecting the sovereignty and territorial integrity of states and seeking an end to the ongoing "violence" is reflective of its criticism of the Russian action and a subtle change in its overall approach.

In India's three previous statements at the UN Security Council on the Ukraine crisis, there was no reference to the need for respecting the "sovereignty and territorial integrity" of states.

The sources said India has maintained its "consistent, steadfast and balanced" position on the matter that dialogue is the only answer to settle differences and disputes.

In the 15 member UN Security Council, the resolution received 11 votes in favour of it, Russia opposed it and India, China and the United Arab Emirates abstained from the voting.

The draft resolution demanded Russia to immediately stop its attack on Ukraine and withdraw all its troops.

Since Russia vetoed the resolution, it was not passed.

NDTV

Ukraine President telephones Indian Prime Minister requesting for help and an Indian lady sitting on news channel goes India is a Super Power. Really?

Thank Vajpayee government for making India a nuclear power in 1998 else we would have met Ukrainian fate.

As much as i like Vajpayee jee, Indian made atomic weapons (fission weapons) back in 1974 and exploded them.

What we did in 1998 was to explode a higher yield device and a hydrogen bomb(fusion weapon)

We also accelerated our weapons program to have a credible deterrence.

If India does not support America here then it can forget about the American's supporting them in the coming war with China. This is a very simple thing to understand even for an idiot like Modi.

Its not our fight. Time to stay neutral.
That is the most useless response one can give when inconvenience seems to triumph over the truth.

If you think that this where India must choose to be neutral, then why don’t we have equal and level bilateral relationships with both Israel and Palestine republic? Or recognize Taiwan’s nationhood?

Under modi india has lost both its soul and its family jewels.

That is the most useless response one can give when inconvenience seems to triumph over the truth.

If you think that this where India must choose to be neutral, then why don’t we have equal and level bilateral relationships with both Israel and Palestine republic? Or recognize Taiwan’s nationhood?

Under modi india has lost both its soul and its family jewels.

How is India involved in Ukraine? Whats our stake there? Why should we choose a side? India has already said we want a diplomatic solution.

Relations with Israel only began in 1991-92. The fake Nehru Gandhi family kept no diplomatic relations with Israel.

India has done taken the best course, to stay neutral and not involve itself in a fight between nato and russia.

How is India involved in Ukraine? Whats our stake there? Why should we choose a side? India has already said we want a diplomatic solution.

Relations with Israel only began in 1991-92. The fake Nehru Gandhi family kept no diplomatic relations with Israel.

India has done taken the best course, to stay neutral and not involve itself in a fight between nato and russia.

No good is going to come from staying neutral thus essentially siding with a corrupt murderous dictator like Putin.

If India can't make a simple basic stand that a sovereign country's borders shouldn't be violated by another country, then she is useless and unprincipled.

A lot of EU countries too didn't jump in immediately condemning/putting sanction on Russia over invasion until their population pressured them. So let's not act as if everyone else has been right from the get-go on this issue.

However, unfortunately people here don't care enough about Ukraine or they just lap up what their dear supreme leader feeds them. So current government has literally no incentive to condemn Russia. They are our military supplier, although looking at how they're faring in Ukraine, it seems we need to reduce our dependence on them massively and quickly.

Anyway to the point. India will be non-aligned. This is why India isn't considered a global player despite having nuclear weapons and one of the biggest armed forces in the world, because the dispensation is simply not fit enough to take a stand on international issues.

A lot of EU countries too didn't jump in immediately condemning/putting sanction on Russia over invasion until their population pressured them. So let's not act as if everyone else has been right from the get-go on this issue.

However, unfortunately people here don't care enough about Ukraine or they just lap up what their dear supreme leader feeds them. So current government has literally no incentive to condemn Russia. They are our military supplier, although looking at how they're faring in Ukraine, it seems we need to reduce our dependence on them massively and quickly.

Anyway to the point. India will be non-aligned. This is why India isn't considered a global player despite having nuclear weapons and one of the biggest armed forces in the world, because the dispensation is simply not fit enough to take a stand on international issues.

India isn't a global player, it is just a massive customer base. We will exploit it as best we can, and Indians will rejoice like they did with their ill fated joy at being part of the Big 3 in cricket.

Apparantly the Indian gov and it's main propaganda media channel not on same page here. The TV channel clearly supporting Ukraine.

Thats their opinion. But India has taken the right path. Stay neutral in conflicts that dont concern you.

How is this any different from US invasion of Iraq or Libya? Or US reaction during the Cuban missile crisis?

India isn't a global player, it is just a massive customer base. We will exploit it as best we can, and Indians will rejoice like they did with their ill fated joy at being part of the Big 3 in cricket.

Pakistan is the last country to decide what India us or isnt. Neither will pakistan be able to exploit India.

Regards to UK, well dont think a community which is only 1 per cent of UK is going to decide UK's policy. No matter how much they try to portray themselves as being influential.

Oh and India isnt part of Big 3. Its the one and only big ONE.

No good is going to come from staying neutral thus essentially siding with a corrupt murderous dictator like Putin.

If India can't make a simple basic stand that a sovereign country's borders shouldn't be violated by another country, then she is useless and unprincipled.

Oh really? This is violation of sovereignty? What about NATO invasion of Iraq.and Libya? Breaking Yugoslavia?

Correct. India is not a global player, it’s just a large consumer market. India doesn’t manufacture anything that is worth its salt, but does export cheap and unreliable labour. So yes, the West is exploiting the Indian consumer base. This is the precise reason why Modi begs Westerns countries to lift immigration limits on Indians; rightly so, seeing as how many Indians are fleeing ‘incredible’ India as it is.

Same mistake as before, again not taking a side even when asked to , Nehruvian of Modi.

While it’s ok to be neutral but should had supported the western block when even EU finally took a side, shakes my head.

Same mistake as before, again not taking a side even when asked to , Nehruvian of Modi.

While it’s ok to be neutral but should had supported the western block when even EU finally took a side, shakes my head.
Thats so naive almost cute. 70% of your defense equipment comes from Russia. They have us by our balls if you want India to act smart.

Take a side and risk our own strategic and security goals?

Thats so naive almost cute. 70% of your defense equipment comes from Russia. They have us by our balls if you want India to act smart.

If India would completely join the west and abandon Russia, NATO will be willing to replace that entire 70 per cent with western equipment.

But we lose our strategic independence.

It is not about stake, it is about democracy, it is about truth, and it is about standing up to tyranny. It is what is central to just about every aspect of hinduism.

and we are very much involved, if the world abstains from russian incursion into ukraine, we sure should not expect any sympathy or support from the rest of the world when the inevitable chinese incursion into india.

Give a base? You want us to be a US stooge?

Giving a base to US may be the last resort.

You already gave a base to US invasion a long time ago. Soft power base which is always the strongest. US base = UK base via the English language. The Empire Strikes Back.

what exactly are you bringing to this conversation other than stupid distractions? because india has adopted english as a de facto primary language aside from regional languages, that means that we have surrendered our sovereignty?

by that standard you consider south africa a dutch colony? or bangladesh a colony of the state of west bengal?

i understand the urge to be a troll when there is little else to do. consider getting a library membership or a hobby. or both.