Where will Pakistan cricket be in 2024?

Sher Khan

Local Club Captain
I personally think our PSL will become bigger and better. By 2024; I expect that all the matche will be played in Pakistan and the PCB will be milking money from the PSL.

However, in terms of where we will stand as a test team. I predict we will be at number 8 with Sarfraz still as captain, but neither the fans nor the coaches will care about that situation as much as we do right now. I think in general teams will not care about test cricket.

For ODIs and T20s. I think we will have some talented youngsters emerging out of the PSL, and Fakhar Zaman will be our captain for both formats. I think we will drop in the t20 rankings slightly. However Odis we will maintain our current ranking.

I also think Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, West Indies and South Africa will have toured Pakistan by 2024.

What do you predict?

status quo. mostly losses with the odd win which fans will squeeze till time immemorial.

Don't see Fakhar lasting till that time.He may go down the Sarfaraz route.I expect Babar to be the captain in all formats.I see us as a formidable team in 2024 with no baggage like Hafeez,Sarfaraz.

:)) Sarfaraz will not be in the International circuit this time next year let alone 5 years from now.

We'll be like our 2011/12 selves, a pretty solid team. I think some of our talented batsmen will develop and our bowling attack will remain pretty good. Consistent 4th ranked Test/ODI team. 2nd in t2oi.

just like we've been for the past decade... an average team with the ability to surprise every now and then

Shadab, Hasan, Faheem, Babar, Saud, Saad, Shaheen all in their prime years 5 years from now. Things will be brighter Inshallah.

Playing World Cup qualifiers.

We have hearing that for the last 5-7 years. Some 'experts' were even predicting that Pakistan will not qualify directly for CT 2017 and will be playing qualifiers against Uganda, Nepal for WC 2019. :asad1:asad1:asad1

This team is hardly winning tests at home. Our under 19 teams are losing against the likes of Afghanistan and Bangladesh (no offense to their respective fans). Our seniors are struggling to win against Afghanistan and Bangladesh (Asia Cup for instance). These are a few worrying indicators moving forward. Windies won a CT in 2004 (if i'm not wrong) and even they were forced to play a WC qualifier round.
Therefore I would like to be realistic about the future of cricket in Pakistan.

This thread is perfect for [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

He’s probably typing up something right at this very moment on his ‘Notes’ app.

Hopefully, Shaheen doesn't turn out to be a disappointment by that time, particularly in ODIs, where he had an exceptional start.

I am expecting a better future

These are bad times if you are a Pakistan cricket fan.

At-least at the same level if not much worse than today. Maybe our margins of losses will be higher

2023 would have been a better year to choose as we have a world cup in that year

So lets analyse:

Imam - 27, I expect him to be around, will be matured, decent player averaging high 30s.
Babar - 28, going to hit the peak of his career. I reckon he will average 45+ in Tests and ODIs.
Umar Akmal - 32, expect him to be back at some stage. Will still only be averaging in mid-30s though.
Asif Ali - 31, think he will keep making comebacks in LOI.
Rizwan - 30, will be Pakistan's no 1 keeper.
Shadab - 24, will be one of the top all rounders in the world. Maybe even Pak captain in the 2023 World Cup.
Yasir - 36, will be at the end of a great Test career. Mainly performing in SC only.
Amir - 30, I think he will be retiring around that period. I don't see him lasting above 30.
Shaheen - 22, I think he will be a quality bowler. Pakistan's bowling leader at that time.

Azhar, Asad, Haris, Sarfraz, Hafeez, Malik will be retired by then.
Hasan, Fahim, Fakhar will fade out IMO.

Exactly where we are today. Just an also ran side full of overrated players that our fans see as world class.

Scheduling extra games with Zimbabwe, and refusing to play against WI before the CT definitely made a difference.

But congratulations on not being ranked 10th and having to go through qualifiers.

where was Pakistan in 2015? 2012? 2008?

will remain a strong T20 team, middle of the pack in ODIs, and bottom third in tests

team will likely be carrying 2-4 'seniors', being led by a captain whom no one likes, and undoubtedly fans will be shouting "bring back xyz and we will be world beaters"

I expect Fakhar, Babar, Shadab will all have had turns at captaincy by 2024.

Scheduling extra games with Zimbabwe, and refusing to play against WI before the CT definitely made a difference.

But congratulations on not being ranked 10th and having to go through qualifiers.

We are ranked 5th now and just 2 spots behind India. After this present series we might be 4th. I know it hurts :asad2

Hopefully we won't be feeling nostalgic about the Azhar-Shafiq and Malik-Hafeez era, narrating tales of their heroism.

Banter bhai we just beat SA in SA, buhat jal rahi hogi.... jal jal ke raakh nahi hojana :afridi

LOL. I guess I'm living in your head rent free just because of a throwaway comment.

YEH series ka Picture ABHI BAAQI hai merey dost. But you know some fans have gotten into the habit of getting carried away with flukes. Enjoy it my man. I know I enjoyed watching the saffers get their comeuppance for taking the Pakistani batting for granted.

Has to be a better team by then, at least marginally. Its hard to find a worst captain and wicket keeper again. In test will be ranked 6-7 and in ODI around 5. Don't care much about T20.