Which league has the better fast-bowlers - IPL or PSL?

Remind me when exactly did Warner, Kohli, Smith, Bairstow, Buttler, Maxwell, Williamson, Finch, Faf and QDK play the PSL ?

I don't quite remember. :inzi

They have no time bcoz they r preoccupied with bashing indian bowlers on international scene and on domestic T20 GOLD STANDARD IPL...... It's better for them and PSL too.....less infux of foreign players more attention game time scope for local talent no need of Finch 20 odd Maxwell's 2 3 costly runs....... Cummins 50 of 3 overs will be literally to costly to afford.........

Every top tier white ball (barring Starc) international bowler plays in the IPL.

Every top tier white ball international batsman (barring Roy) stay a mile away from the PSL.

But IPL's bowling is sub-standard and PSL's batting is world beating....

You can't even make this up. :vk2

Keep it to PSL and IPL local bowlers mate

Why?

IPL fields more foreigners per team and also better quality foreigners. A bowling attack is made up of the entire lot.

Let me explain with an example,

Kkr gave away 195 runs versus MI.

3 of KKR bowlers were Cummins,Kuldeep and Narine. Top international bowlers.

Andre Russell was the AR.

So is KKR bowling weak because one bowler warrier is very avg bowler?

PSL teams cant field 2-3 international bowlers like many IPL teams do.

All that money, sponsorship, political clout, GOLD STANDARD league only to play one more match in ICC tournaments in comparison to Bangladesh and Sri Lanka

Morgan, Roy, Hales and Munro.

I think these are the only four quality, active international batsmen that play in PSL.

And Morgan always runs away before the Pakistan leg of the tournament.

That is the reality of PSL. A nothing league in terms of batting quality.

No wonder substandard bowlers end up with great figures. We are talking about a league where a glorified tail-ender like Shadab was one of the best batsmen this year.

Did Morgan play this year?

Morgan, Roy, Hales and Munro.

I think these are the only four quality, active international batsmen that play in PSL.

And Morgan always runs away before the Pakistan leg of the tournament.

That is the reality of PSL. A nothing league in terms of batting quality.

No wonder substandard bowlers end up with great figures. We are talking about a league where a glorified tail-ender like Shadab was one of the best batsmen this year.

Vince
Rossou
And no.1 t20 batsman Malan....

I m forgetting anything yes no.2 batsman babar....

M i forgetting anything

Yes 2 bowlers who are in top 10 of t20 ranking....

M i forgetting something......

Yes......the bowler who recently recorded one of the best vitality blast figures plays there

A aussie can tune into the ipl and watch Warner Smith Cummins.

A Saffer can watch ABDV Rabada Tahir

A english fan can watch Buttler Bairstow Stokes Archer

An Afghan can watch Rashid.

A BD fan could have watched Shakib before his ban.

Thats the IPL. Best players of most major teams playing in a league.

Indians can tune in to watch Shivam Dube bowl

Small teams celebrate beating the finalists after getting eliminated in the group stage due to an awful NRR.

Big teams are disappointed at losing semifinals.

That is the difference between the mentality of Pakistani and Indian fans.

When the team becomes mediocre, so do the fans.

I don't know big teams can go down without fighting against host nation just before semis

They have no time bcoz they r preoccupied with bashing indian bowlers on international scene and on domestic T20 GOLD STANDARD IPL...... It's better for them and PSL too.....less infux of foreign players more attention game time scope for local talent no need of Finch 20 odd Maxwell's 2 3 costly runs....... Cummins 50 of 3 overs will be literally to costly to afford.........

They have no time because neither PSL can pay them, nor its considered a league of much consequence.

Sour grapes comment.

Strauss and Lloyd talked about English players be allowed to miss test matches to play the IPL so that their LOI skills improve. Thats how good the IPL is.

Pak can watch Ali Khan Moeen Ali.......u can't just deny Pak link.....ha ha...... But yes whole world watched the GOLD STANDARD shown by bowlers and fielders yesterday only

They hold US and UK passports and play for those teams.

South Africa once chased 434 against Aus in a ODI.

What was the bowling and fielding standards in that match?

They have no time because neither PSL can pay them, nor its considered a league of much consequence.

Sour grapes comment.

Strauss and Lloyd talked about English players be allowed to miss test matches to play the IPL so that their LOI skills improve. Thats how good the IPL is.

England actually looked down on the IPL for a long time, the only reason they allowed their players to go was the money pull was too much, it all changed after the KP saga, english players have hardly set the IPL alight previously so im sure they take as much from the ipl as they'd take from the BBL or PSL

Indian bowlers are so mighty haha did you guys see the susperstar dube or the chucker and overrated Bumrah lol

Pak can afford loosing Amir and Hasan Ali can I say the same about Bumrah and Sami....????

The ans is there

No....

The deliveries to Russell were there to dispatched ....on his day he would have done that.......Cummins showed Bumrah what could have happen to those deliveries......

After that cringeworthy arrogant celebration

What are the TV ratings for this year? You can have all the league setup, players and what not. But none of that matters if the fans don't tune in.

If umrah and Bhuvi is your top bowler than you have a reason to worry ....as per cricinfo stats Umesh bowld 211 balls in 72 innings which are bad balls......the stat is 185 off 80 odd innings

Bumrah and Bhuvi are both doing good these days. Any bowler can have off days. What is there to worry?

Better than beating Sri Lanka and West Indies at home all the time, and then batting like Headless chickens in England and New Zealand

We beat everyone at home. Unlike pakistan where only SL tours for a test series, all teams tour India for tests. So you have mistaken and confused India with pakistan.

Malan may displace root anytime in ODIS......one day or other he will.....get his place......Vince is a ODI and t20 regular.....Jordan is t20 specialist not very long more Eng players play PSL.....And gradually more international players come but PSL has small team and budget just 6 ....teams.......all internationals are not needed too

Joe Root avgs 50 plus in Odis. Dawid Malan wont replace him in a decade.

What’s happened to Indian spinners outside India?

Ball turn nahi ho rahi aapse kya?

A few of you have already got warnings - others will get soon.

Post sensibly.

Saini is 27 Chahar is 28.....khaleel shiraj and others are in their mid 20s........on the other hand u have 20 year olds.........lets see who end up with what

Just wanna say using age as an argument is a poor argument. We do not know how long will our younger bowlers last in international cricket.

Point is their learning curve is high if they lasts they last longer ....longer period......Point to be noted

avesh does not seem appealing. Pathetic bowling. poor speeds. go work out jeez.

he is more of a test bowler though.

avesh khan is so slow that even a power player won't be able to clear him for a six because there is no pace on the ball at all. How is a chump fodder trash like avesh, vinay kumar, chahar etc Even allowed to play cricket? There should be a rule for fast bowlers. Can't get selected unless you can bowl over 135.

people pay money for entertainment. They don't pay to watch trundlers bowl.

Ipl franchisees have to depend on costly imports for pace bowling........

2 teams.....Chennai relied on Curran Hazelwood........another relied on Nortje....Rabada.....no guesses 4 why they spend money on them.........

without them the semblance of any IPL pace attack would be nill........just remove Cummins u see WARRIER P KRISHNA NATRAJAN........this is appaling

Sky now showing repeats of old IPL games .. such overkill

Anyway I flicked the channel hoping to see an old Ashes match and instead caught Sam Curran opening the bowling for some IPL team...

So here are my questions:-

Does Sam Curran open for England in T20’s? How many T20’s has he played for England?

Point is their learning curve is high if they lasts they last longer ....longer period......Point to be noted

While thats true. There is no guarantee our younger players will remain on the path of progression. Like look at Hasan Ali and Amir as examples.

Anyway I flicked the channel hoping to see an old Ashes match and instead caught Sam Curran opening the bowling for some IPL team...

Does Sam Curran open for England in T20’s? How many T20’s has he played for England?

Happens when you have short attention span. Did you happen to catch Nortje and Rabada bowling later on or forget that far ahead, if you had stuck through Sam Curran who by the way is pretty good, you would have caught Hazelwood as well on the other end.

What a strange way to answer my question...

Sam Curran seems unplayable in IPL

Yeah seems a bit strange to me...

I have tried hard to watch IPL games but a couple of things kill it for me...
The commentary and the quality.

What people will say and do for money...

Don’t think England would be playing Sam Curran as an opening bowler just because he was paired up with Deepak Chahar by MS Dhoni.

One thing thats very clear from this thread is a lot of people from Pakistan follow IPL closely.

Avesh Khan featuring in the highest form of world cricket [MENTION=139165]naseem[/MENTION]

S. Curran is a terrific cricketer.

So shadab is an overacting clown for topping the PSL batting charts, being listed on ICC’s top 5/10 bowler and all rounder rankings, and consistently having impact in the field but curran is terrific for doing well in one IPL game?

Nice :)

A terrific cricketer like Shikhar Dhawan is getting overshadowed by youngsters like Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant. That's IPL quality at its best.

Glenn Maxwell has looked like a poor man after coming from a magnificent knock vs England.

Sam Curran is a left arm pacer and India have always struggled against them. One shouldn't forget how much Steyn and Cummins are getting owned in this IPL or even previously.

A terrific cricketer like Shikhar Dhawan is getting overshadowed by youngsters like Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant. That's IPL quality at its best.

Glenn Maxwell has looked like a poor man after coming from a magnificent knock vs England.

Sam Curran is a left arm pacer and India have always struggled against them. One shouldn't forget how much Steyn and Cummins are getting owned in this IPL or even previously.

Topic is about quality of local bowlers of both leagues........I guess Shaw Dhawan are not bowlers mate.

Coming to Dhawan he is gradually decaying .His slow starts have begin to hurt teams. Shaw Pant Iyer are all established IPL names . Nothing new. Sam Curran won't open the bowling for England even if they play on MARS. How both teams depended on foreign pacers yesterday is a matter of shame for GOLD STANDARD pundits and commies.

I won't forget KP's comment WELCOME TO THE GREATEST CRICKET ACADEMY OF THE WORLD...... I mean ......paisa k liye ye kya nahi karega

The dependence on bideshi pacers is glaring....and shameful

Saheen and Nagarkoti Mavi all played in u19 WC.......look where is Saheen.........where are others

Sorry. That doesn't make any sense. I can give you more examples of Indian bowlers who've been handled better in recent past. E.g. Bhuvi, Shami.

There is a reason your fast and even medium fast bowlers hardly last long on the International circuit.

Sorry. That doesn't make any sense. I can give you more examples of Indian bowlers who've been handled better in recent past. E.g. Bhuvi, Shami.

There is a reason your fast and even medium fast bowlers hardly last long on the International circuit.

That Bhuvi who is a doubtful starter in ODIs ........tHAT Bhuvi who bowls 185 poor balls in 70 IPL innings according to cricinfo stats. One Hasan Ali is never a benchmark.. Pak can afford loosing Amir and Hasan........can Ind afford to loose Bumrah and Sami.......the answer we all are seeking in this thread lies there..........

That perfectly makes sense. Pakistan handles its young fast bowlers better than India. Just because India has got 3-4 decent fast bowlers together for the first time in a long long time that doesn't mean you can start making fun of Pakistan who has produced so many fast bowlers in the past and is still doing it. Remember we are talking about fast bowlers here not trundlers. :inti

Sam Curran is a highly rated young AR. A regular with the WC english side.

Yes Sam Curran is a highly rated youngster but A regular with the WC English side? Can you stop making a fool of yourself like Mamoon. How is he a regular for the World Champions. He played 2 ODIs in 2018 and didn't get selected again till 2020 and only played 3 ODIs this year so how is a regular for the World Champions. And he only had played 5 T20s for England that to last year since they have played 3 series of T20 but he hasn't been selected to play. He didn't even get in for ODI series against Ireland this year.

Now waiting for your excuses and random theories to back yourself.

That Bhuvi who is a doubtful starter in ODIs ........tHAT Bhuvi who bowls 185 poor balls in 70 IPL innings according to cricinfo stats. One Hasan Ali is never a benchmark.. Pak can afford loosing Amir and Hasan........can Ind afford to loose Bumrah and Sami.......the answer we all are seeking in this thread lies there..........
Are you sure about these figures? 185 poor balls in 70 IPL innings is not bad at all. That’s about 2.6 bad balls per innings.

I’m beginning to doubt you were ever serious in this thread. Damn, have you been taking me for a ride all this while? If yes, good job. :misbah

That perfectly makes sense. <B>Pakistan handles its young fast bowlers better than India. Just because India has got 3-4 decent fast bowlers together for the first time in a long long time that doesn't mean you can start making fun of Pakistan who has produced so many fast bowlers in the past and is still doing it</B>. Remember we are talking about fast bowlers here not trundlers. :inti

Can you name a fast bowler debuted from Pakistan in last 20 years that has taken over 200 test wickets at average under 30 given that young fast bowlers are handled well by Pakistan?

I say 200 wickets because if they were handled well, they surely won't fade after 25-30 tests.

That perfectly makes sense. Pakistan handles its young fast bowlers better than India. Just because India has got 3-4 decent fast bowlers together for the first time in a long long time that doesn't mean you can start making fun of Pakistan who has produced so many fast bowlers in the past and is still doing it. Remember we are talking about fast bowlers here not trundlers. :inti
Not even pakistanis will agree with this dross.
The only reason pakistan didn't produce a successful pacer in the last 20 years(200+wickets in test) is because they didn't handle their young talents properly.

And secondly if pakistanis can make fun of batsman like sharma and dhawan we are well within our rights to criticise their bowlers.
Chalo ab kat lo.

That Avesh Khan with his laboured run up looks like an unathletic heavy weight boxer. Hope not to see him again in this form. Used to bowl 140+ a couple of years back and was wiry.

Similar story to Munaf.........it seems......india can't handle pacers

Munaf was asked to slow down by Greg Chappel.

Avesh is coming back from injury on top of that no cricket or practice for nearly 6 months.

Are you sure about these figures? 185 poor balls in 70 IPL innings is not bad at all. That’s about 2.6 bad balls per innings.

I’m beginning to doubt you were ever serious in this thread. Damn, have you been taking me for a ride all this while? If yes, good job. :misbah

I know posters like Mamoon would be appealing to u or would maintain your gold standard. If my points are not valid then you won't found any valid point in this thread.......enjoy ur GOLDEN league with GOLD STANDARD bowling and fielding.......that is being displayed in every match..........laughing is good 4 health......laugh ur heart out .......u have plenty masala esp while watching Umesh ball a wayward beamer and Hetmeyer dropping dollies........Kohli bringing renaissance in field........and Rohit RAHUL and co........ Heckling the WARRIERS the AVESHS the SAINIS.......laugh

Can you name a fast bowler debuted from Pakistan in last 20 years that has taken over 200 test wickets at average under 30 given that young fast bowlers are handled well by Pakistan?

I say 200 wickets because if they were handled well, they surely won't fade after 25-30 tests.

The last pakistani fast bowler to take 200 test wickets made his debut in 1989.

Munaf was asked to slow down by Greg Chappel.

Avesh is coming back from injury on top of that no cricket or practice for nearly 6 months.

The list is long....
Aron
Balaji
Pathan
Munaf
Salvi
VRV

The same tradition is going on with Avesh, Mavi....... Saini looked really a better prospect to me but now his performance is fading...... it would be nice if Tyagi Porel are properly introduce to IPL and intt cricket but the signs are not encouraging...

Saheen and Nagarkoti Mavi all played in u19 WC.......look where is Saheen.........where are others

India has a bowling attack of Bumrah Shami Ishant Bhuvi.

They dont need to throw a 20 year old into the mix.

You need 2-3 years of FC experience to play for india.

Thats the Indian system.

Even legends like Dravid had to wait till 23 to make their test debuts

Kohli had played 2 seasons of FC cricket before he was given a India cap.

Just because pakistan is desperate, doesn't mean India is.

The last pakistani fast bowler to take 200 test wickets made his debut in 1989.

Pak don't play the amount of test matches the big 3 plays........ And then they played lionshare of it in UAE dead tracks.....where u don't need pacers........ Rather spinners.....so u will always see the Ajmals the Yasirs getting 200 300 wickets but not any pacer......... Let them play at home.....as I said many poster's wish will be fulfilled once England and South Africa tour Pak next year.......give 5 years just 5 years of test cricket in Pak........Pak cricket will change

The list is long....
Aron
Balaji
Pathan
Munaf
Salvi
VRV

The same tradition is going on with Avesh, Mavi....... Saini looked really a better prospect to me but now his performance is fading...... it would be nice if Tyagi Porel are properly introduce to IPL and intt cricket but the signs are not encouraging...

Aaron still clocks 150ks. Did in last years IPL.

Salvi? Vrv?Balaji? are you even serious? These guys were TTFs and discarded.

Ipl is the best t20 league in hhe world and they have the best talent in the world. Batsmen . spinners or fast bowlers.

India has a bowling attack of Bumrah Shami Ishant Bhuvi.

They dont need to throw a 20 year old into the mix.

You need 2-3 years of FC experience to play for india.

Thats the Indian system.

Even legends like Dravid had to wait till 23 to make their test debuts

Kohli had played 2 seasons of FC cricket before he was given a India cap.

Just because pakistan is desperate, doesn't mean India is.

So u r sure they will have the same impact as Saheen.....when they debut i e if they debut .........in future........I have said earlier that one is a well accustomed test attack ....Ishant having played 97 tests...... Whereas Pak attack is just shaping.......it's not that Pak is desperate but Pak has always infused talent at very young age....... your ISHANT debuted at 19 years of age......if I m not wrong....... It's always something special which induces a board or selector to pick a player .....it's same for Miandad Akram Tendulkar Ishant.......it's same for Haidar Ali Babar Saheen Naseem.........m i forgetting something yes IRFAN PATHAN.....I think he was introduced very young too......WARNER has played for Australia in tests without playing first class........every body will follow the same path it's not written anywhere.........it's that spark that something special which encourages the selectors to give that particular player a chance it's not desperation.........in some leagues players like Banton Naseem Hasnain make their name whereas else u will find WARRIER Avesh Mavi NATRAJAN Krishna struggling to make a name

Pak don't play the amount of test matches the big 3 plays........ And then they played lionshare of it in UAE dead tracks.....where u don't need pacers........ Rather spinners.....so u will always see the Ajmals the Yasirs getting 200 300 wickets but not any pacer......... Let them play at home.....as I said many poster's wish will be fulfilled once England and South Africa tour Pak next year.......give 5 years just 5 years of test cricket in Pak........Pak cricket will change

The UAE phase started in 2009.

What happened from 1989 to 2009?

I tell you how a tradition or real factory is,

India has a tradition of producing world class batsmen,

Gavaskar was the first legendary batsmen, he retired in 87. Within 2 years 1989 Tendulkar made his debut, he was joined by Dravid Ganguly VVS Sehwag then Gambhir.

While these guys were still playing Kohli made his debut, he was then joined by Rohit Dhawan etc.

While these guys are still playing India is trying to get in the next gen of Shaw, Gill, Iyer, Pant etc.

Since 1970s an India is always among the top 3 batsman of the world.

70s-80s Gavaskar
90s Tendulkar
2000s Tendulkar Dravid
2010s Kohli

While Pakistan hasnt produced a fast bowler to carry on the legacy of Imran Khan and the 2 Ws.