Which one?

Quick Single

Local Club Star
Salam,

I'm am planning to buy an AS bat from Asad bhai, he has sent me the following pics which one do you guys think I should go for.

I am an right handed opener, and need a light bat.

JazakallahKhair.

walaikumsalam QS bhai if i were u i would go 4 1 of the 2.7lbs bcoz der not heavy or not as light as 2.6 as though ders not much different between the 2 weights in 2.7 u can still b able to hit d boundary as well as stroke play

I would go for 2.9 bat for myself but your looking for a light bat so go for 2.7 second frm right side. That one looks the best out of three lights ones although this doesnt always mean best looking one performs best. I just like the shape of it and I think i should perform pretty well and it does have the best and straightest grains.

Salam,

Thank you for all your input guys I really appreciate it.:)

CD bhai, did Asad bhai tell you which ones play the best out of these bats or are they all good bats performance wise?

JazakallahKhair.

I'll echo everyone else's words and say that the 2.7 on the right side looks damn good.

Mind if I ask how much these are running you?

Sorry for replying late QS Bhai!

Had been thinking about this for whole night yesterday and spoke to Asad Bhai as well regarding this and bhai I now say that go for 2.7 lbs one on right. I had been looking at these pictures since yesterday and bhai the grains on that heartwood looks superb and the profile/shape is as good as the yellow grip one. The edge size etc is same as that.

Actually all of these bats are hand pickup by Asad Bhai and he choses the ones that look and perform very well!

If you have any more question(s) feel free to let me know

JazakAllah Khair

Sorry for replying late QS Bhai!

Had been thinking about this for whole night yesterday and spoke to Asad Bhai as well regarding this and bhai I now say that go for 2.7 lbs one on right. I had been looking at these pictures since yesterday and bhai the grains on that heartwood looks superb and the profile/shape is as good as the yellow grip one. The edge size etc is same as that.

Actually all of these bats are hand pickup by Asad Bhai and he choses the ones that look and perform very well!

If you have any more question(s) feel free to let me know

JazakAllah Khair

JazakallahKhair CD bahi, inshallahin the coming week I will make the purchase. Agian a special thanks for sorting all this out for me, I really appreciate this. :)

^because we talk in proper English not "da, wat, anserd etc" type :)

Heartwood basically is the "darker" wood you see in the pictures. It is basically middle of the tree.

No worries bro was saying for your betterment:) Aadat chorri muskil nahe hai :)

I don't have enough knowledge when it comes to heartwood but I think it makes the ball "ping" more again not too sure, sorry

Any of those four bats will play well.

big for their weight and all that.

Are you sure all those bats are top grade or Grade 1?

Cant be sure about Number 1 bat but number 3 is no way Grade 1. The bat is almost half redwood and has to be Grade 2/3 at the best.

Even bat number 1 is looking more and more Grade 2/3 the more I look at it.

THink whoever is selling these bats is upgrading the Actual grading - so selling grade 2/3 bats as Grade 1.

125 pounds is still a lot of money for such a bat. Rather get something with AS stickers on it- At least u will be sure what grade it is.

Or go for MB SHer or something.

whats your max budget BTW??

Salam,

CD bhai told me that Asad bhai was a good genuine bloke so I don't think he would try to trick a customer, and he also told me that the second one was AS LE so it must be G1.

My max budget is around £130.

Can someone please share there opinions on whether they think it is G1 or has been upgraded.

JazakallahKhair.

Cant be sure about Number 1 bat but number 3 is no way Grade 1. The bat is almost half redwood and has to be Grade 2/3 at the best.

THink whoever is selling these bats is upgrading the Actual grading - so selling grade 2/3 bats as Grade 1.

125 pounds is still a lot of money for such a bat. Rather get something with AS stickers on it- At least u will be sure what grade it is.

LOL..can you prove that number 3 is not a grade 1? I think it would be great to prove before making false accusation towards one person.

Quite poor from a respectable person on this forum who is saying the person is upgrading his stock!

A while ago someone on this forum said that Salix is a grade 2 as well LOL

Yeh I trust Asad bhai because if CD bhai has had good experience than I don't think he would do something like this.

Also if it wasn't a grade 1 then the non-heartwood grains would never have been this straight and evenly spaced!

Sorry I don't agree with you. if i go with your theory then many pros who use 2 tone willow are using Grade 2/3. well if that is the case i 'll buy Grade 2/3 and don't bother with any other grades. what matter to me is performance and the reason i buy a bat which performs well even if looks ugly.
with stickers u can hide so many things knots on the back or at the shoulder or filler on the back side, so if the face is good then would u say it is grade 1.
I just can't believe people like you come up with some big statements implying that the person who is selling it doesn't know any thing.
what would u buy for £125?
Also Please let us know How many years experience you have classifying/grading Willow

All these bats will play well as far as I can see as they have a lot of wood for such a low weight

Regards

Mana

calm down friends. Dont mean to start a fight.

As I said in the beginning of my previous post Grade 1 or 2 or 3 doesn't mean the bat will or will not play the best.

A really good friend of mine had a small cricket factory (back in India) and I used to visit their place all the time. have seen hundreds and thousands of bats go through. I am talking 15-20 years back- used to stay away from actual manufacturing area (Too hot and not as much passion for it) and sip on free cold drinks in the small and lesser hot office. Almost all of it was made for export (stickered for different brands or unstickered to be marked as another Indian company).

Grading of the English willow as done by JS Wright (UK) is mostly on cosmetic basis. Most subcontinent companies use the same standard - they just make bats from already marked Grade 1 willow cleft as grade 1 bats and so on and so forth. So most of the good looking straight grained bats come through as Grade 1, then grade 2 etc.

Some companies do the grading on basis of performance.

A lot of professional players dont care as to how the bat looks but rather how it plays. Some of them take their time and feel a lot of bats with mallets etc - other just pick whatever is given to them. After using and going through a few bats in the nets most keep a few good ones aside for games etc. By that stage it might be a bat with 30 grains or one with 6 grains.

Personally I dont care much for what grade the bat is - needs to feel good and good ping.

Maybe Grade 1 (lookswise- straight grains) are harder to come by and now they are classifying half redwood bats as grade 1- but somehow I dont think so. grade 1 only have thin redwood along the edge. 1 cm or 2 at most but not half the bat - ever!

Hope this explains my viewpoint. I would like to hear yours - without the angry tone :-)

Bhai

Due to studies and other stuff I have not been able to buy it yet but inshallah in the next couple of weeks I will. And I will post full review here when I get it inshallah.