Which side will win the ICC Champions Trophy 2025?

Are India really that bad? I'm not sure if Indian posters are right or acting like that smart kid from my class who always said that his paper went poorly. And then he would end up with an A and I would end up with a C.

It's an aging team with a number of key stars at the end of the line. But they are still a highly professional unit. How fit Bumrah is will have a huge effect on their chances.
0-3 Not even in the wildest imagination i expected. Same way India lost to Srilanka in a ODI series after 26 years or so. They are breaking some great records like this oflate under Nohit sharma. So it is logical to expect such a performance. They keep reinforcing it with their performance like they failed in the domestic against no name bowlers.

Rohit's selfless intent drama is all about hiding his fitness issues by bashing bowlers in pp and getting out soon after pp as he cant run and stay longer.Kohli can't rotate the strike against the spinners as shown in lanka series. After a long time England bowlers are looking good in both departments. So it not easy for both players to get away.
People don't understand this. Rohit can't bat full 50 overs. His fitness is crap. Now reflex is also shot. It is going to be one embarrassing campaign.

Dubai is a terrible venue for India. India would have been favorites if we were playing the entire tournament was in Pakistan. At least Srilanka would have been a better option.

In fact Dubai works better for Pakistan than Pakistan grounds.

So on conditons no one is clear favorite. I would say Aussies favorite on their mental toughness. Rest it is an open lottery

People don't understand this. Rohit can't bat full 50 overs. His fitness is crap. Now reflex is also shot. It is going to be one embarrassing campaign.
I think even gambhir knows the dismal result ahead.that's y he is making every t20 win as scoring point over no hit and his best friend agarkar.

Rohit's selfless intent drama is all about hiding his fitness issues by bashing bowlers in pp and getting out soon after pp as he cant run and stay longer.Kohli can't rotate the strike against the spinners as shown in lanka series. After a long time England bowlers are looking good in both departments. So it not easy for both players to get away.
You know you make a good point about Rohit that I didn't think about before.

Kohli truly has nowhere to hide. His struggles against left arm spin are also well-known.

You know you make a good point about Rohit that I didn't think about before.

Kohli truly has nowhere to hide. His struggles against left arm spin are also well-known.

Against balls that turned away in ODIs (leg breaks, left arm breaks, doosras , chinaman googlies etc.)

Kohli (2012 -2019)

Average 94.3, strike rate - 100.0

Kohli (2020 - )

Average - 37 , strike rate 82.

A very average player of away spin when at one point he was elitest of the elite away spin players.

Zaheer Khan predicts 2025 Champions Trophy semi-finalists

The prestigious ICC Champions Trophy is all set to return after a gap of eight years, with the 2025 edition being played across Pakistan and UAE. The tournament is scheduled to begin on February 19 and will see eight of the world's top teams competing for the iconic Champions Trophy. Meanwhile, former Indian bowler Zaheer Khan has made his predictions for the semi-finalists.

India, who have been in brilliant form in the limited-overs format in recent years, entered the tournament as the favorites. They have reached the knockout stages of every ICC ODI event since their 2011 World Cup victory. Zaheer expressed his confidence in India and named his other three picks.

“There’s no doubt in the fact that India will be in the Semi-Finals; apart from them Australia might be seen, New Zealand has always done well in these tournaments. My fourth pick will be South Africa, who have also been promising in white-ball cricket,” said Zaheer Khan while replying to a query from CricTracker during a media interaction arranged by Lucknow Super Giants.

Australia has lost Cummins, Hazlewood and Marsh due to injury... Still think that they will win the event without them????

South African are without Anrich Nortje and Gerald Coetzee . Pakistan without saim and India will be without Bumrah .

So injury are part of the game .these are not an excuse

Australia has lost Stoinis as well now. Stoinis has announced immediate retirement from ODI cricket meaning he is unavailable for Champions trophy also.

Another set back for the world champions.

Australia has lost Stoinis as well now. Stoinis has announced immediate retirement from ODI cricket meaning he is unavailable for Champions trophy also.

Another set back for the world champions.
Eh who cares about this rubbish dying format.

Wtc and ashes is where it's at. That's quality cricket.

Anyone other than Australia or India will be a surprise , Australia were trash in first 2 WC.games but they won and those two games now seem from a different tournament.

India were losing the Wt20 final for 35 overs and last 25-30 mins turned it upside down.

So Ind v Aus the likely final in Dubai

پاکستان reaching SF will be an achievement

Australia are simply not that good this time. Yes, I know its Australia, they have the mental toughness to rise above it in pressure situations. But let's be real, look at their team. No Warner, No Cummins, No Hazelwood, No Marsh, No Cam Green, No Stoinis. It's not the same team.

They will not win. They may not even make the semi-finals.

For me, it’s in the following order :-

1. South Africa
2. New Zealand

No need to mention reasons for the above two. A very empty looking trophies cabinet for both and a tournaments history full of heart breaks

3. Afghanistan
It will mean so much to their country.

4. Bangladesh
Would be their first major tournament.

5. Pakistan
Home team and given the recent form, it will do wonders to boost the morale of the nation and will go a long way in establishing Pakistan as the 2nd biggest cricket market in the future. Still, Pakistan has no dearth of high profile trophies in their cabinet with the last one being in 2017 itself.

6. England
Win or lose, one of the biggest markets in cricket still. Last trophy came a couple of years ago only.

7. Bharat
Win or lose, will remain the #1 cricket market. Last trophy came months ago.

8. Australia
Every time Australia wins a tournament i feel cricket loses. Not their fault they habe

Afghanistan

Pakistan

Bangladesh

India

In that order.

SENA teams could not care less lol.

I think Pakistan needs to stick to the plan of batting first—chasing is not their cup of tea. But back in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 we mainly focused on chasing and it worked.

yv3dgYH.jpg

I think Pakistan needs to stick to the plan of batting first—chasing is not their cup of tea. But back in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 we mainly focused on chasing and it worked.

yv3dgYH.jpg
All depends on which opposition you are playing on which pitch. Don't think these numbers tell much because they are a combination of results in multiple countries.

For me, it’s in the following order :-

1. South Africa
2. New Zealand

No need to mention reasons for the above two. A very empty looking trophies cabinet for both and a tournaments history full of heart breaks

3. Afghanistan
It will mean so much to their country.

4. Bangladesh
Would be their first major tournament.

5. Pakistan
Home team and given the recent form, it will do wonders to boost the morale of the nation and will go a long way in establishing Pakistan as the 2nd biggest cricket market in the future. Still, Pakistan has no dearth of high profile trophies in their cabinet with the last one being in 2017 itself.

6. England
Win or lose, one of the biggest markets in cricket still. Last trophy came a couple of years ago only.

7. Bharat
Win or lose, will remain the #1 cricket market. Last trophy came months ago.

8. Australia
Every time Australia wins a tournament i feel cricket loses. Not their fault they habe
I think one thing every cricket fan will celebrate is Australia being eliminated. If they won't win another ICC trophy for 20 years the game will be better off because of it. But obviously that won't happen.

Huh? I don't celebrate it? I want aus to win.

Cricket loses its value if Australia and By extension India( to a lesser extent as well as England) are not the teams to beat.

But Australia is definitely the top dawg.

Huh? I don't celebrate it? I want aus to win.

Cricket loses its value if Australia and By extension India( to a lesser extent as well as England) are not the teams to beat.

But Australia is definitely the top dawg.
That's because you're an Australian fan.

Anyone who is a cricket fan and isn't an Australian fan hates Australia with a passion.

That's because you're an Australian fan.

Anyone who is a cricket fan and isn't an Australian fan hates Australia with a passion.
They don't hate Australia. They admire them. For a time being, England from 2017-2019 was viewed in a similar regard and India is viewed in a similar regard on home pitches only.

Classic WI, Classic Australia, 2017-2019 England, 2023 Home den India are the top 4 strongest teams in the history of cricket.

Hence having a certain amount of fear against them and relishing in achieving victory over them is common practise.

But I haven't met anyone who hates Australia. Fear is the better word.

They don't hate Australia. They admire them. For a time being, England from 2017-2019 was viewed in a similar regard and India is viewed in a similar regard on home pitches only.

Classic WI, Classic Australia, 2017-2019 England, 2023 Home den India are the top 4 strongest teams in the history of cricket.

Hence having a certain amount of fear against them and relishing in achieving victory over them is common practise.

But I haven't met anyone who hates Australia. Fear is the better word.
You can ask any Indian or Pakistani fan here. Most will tell you the same thing. Australia's domination in cricket goes back decades. They have caused some kind of major heartbreak to every team's fans going back generations. For the 80s Pak fans, it was the 1987 World Cup. For the 90s Pak fans, it was the 1999 World Cup. For the 2000s Pak fans, it was the 2010 T20 WC,. For the 2010 Pak fans, it was the 2021 T20 WC. For some, it was all of these!

Similarly, for Indian fans, there's the 2003 WC, 2008 BGT, and the biggest one of all: the 2023 WC final.

Its the same for NZ fans, England fans.

ICC Champions Trophy: Not Australia or England, Muttiah Muralitharan picks THESE arch-rivals as favourites

Legendary spinner Muttiah Muralitharan has picked last edition finalists, India and Pakistan favourites for the forthcoming ICC Champions Trophy.

The fever of the Champions Trophy is slowly gripping fans as the tournament will return on February 19 after more than seven years.

The top eight ODI sides will compete for the coveted trophy, including India, Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Afghanistan, Bangladesh and defending champions Pakistan.

As fans and former cricketers predict the top contenders for the marquee event, Muralitharan has rooted for India and Pakistan as favourites for the tournament.
"See, there are favourites, but you can't be assured that this team will win. India and Pakistan will be favourites. Pakistan because of home conditions, and India is also a top team in these conditions," Muralitharan told ANI.

yv3dgYH.jpg

Team chasing the total in the last 5 years

TeamMatwin %
India3865.79
Australia3164.52
Pakistan3060
Sri Lanka3458.82
Bangladesh3158.06
West Indies3357.58
New Zealand3652.78
Afghanistan2352.17
England2846.43
South Africa2839.29

All depends on which opposition you are playing on which pitch. Don't think these numbers tell much because they are a combination of results in multiple countries.

Excluding zimbabwe/ireland and other associates. this is the stat i see for the last 5 years while batting first

TeamMatWonLostWin %
India34211061.76%
Australia30181260.00%
South Africa27161059.26%
Pakistan179852.94%
New Zealand22101045.45%
England28121642.86%
Sri Lanka40162240.00%
Bangladesh29101934.48%
Afghanistan1751129.41%
Ireland102720.00%
Netherlands112918.18%
Zimbabwe2031515.00%
West Indies211204.76%

Last 5 yeasr chasing against sides other than Zimbabwe/Ireland/Associate nations

TeamMatWonLostWin %
India35221262.86%
Australia29181162.07%
Pakistan2515960.00%
Bangladesh26141153.85%
Sri Lanka27141151.85%
West Indies27141351.85%
Scotland21150.00%
New Zealand32151546.88%
South Africa23101343.48%
Afghanistan1771041.18%
England2491337.50%

Last 5 yeasr chasing against sides other than Zimbabwe/Ireland/Associate nations

TeamMatWonLostWin %
India35221262.86%
Australia29181162.07%
Pakistan2515960.00%
Bangladesh26141153.85%
Sri Lanka27141151.85%
West Indies27141351.85%
Scotland21150.00%
New Zealand32151546.88%
South Africa23101343.48%
Afghanistan1771041.18%
England2491337.50%
So basically South Africa shouldn't be chasing

He is one of Pakistan's best fast-bowlers. He can't and won't be removed from the team.
Are SA taking Nortje with them hoping to just play him in a game?

If he’s not fit, HE’S NOT FIT! Stop repeating the same mistakes again and again!!!

For me, Pakistan are the favorites followed by India and new Zealand.

This is based on the assumption that the said teams will put their best foot forward and bring their A game.

Are SA taking Nortje with them hoping to just play him in a game?

If he’s not fit, HE’S NOT FIT! Stop repeating the same mistakes again and again!!!
How do you know how serious the injury is? If it was a serious enough injury he would have been ruled out.

As long as India don't win the trophy and as long as it is a good tournament, I am happy.

Indian fans do not know how to be humble, unless they lose.

:qdkcheeky

Was Shaheen ruled out of the 2022 World Cup? Kissey paagal samajh raha hai?
Oh excuse me, I didn't know every injury was the same and had the same effect. Shaheen had a knee injury. Which was exacerbated by the dive he took in the final. Comparing a knee injury to a minor side strain is absolutely stupid.

You guys are the only reason why he is still relevant. He somehow turn it around against you even in his worst form. Whole country go gaga over him for few years.
It's worse for us as fans. Even when he's not in form, he scores against us. It would be especially embarrassing if he does it now considering where he is at this point of his career.

Oh excuse me, I didn't know every injury was the same and had the same effect. Shaheen had a knee injury. Which was exacerbated by the dive he took in the final. Comparing a knee injury to a minor side strain is absolutely stupid.
What excuse you? What minor side strain? The guy pulled out of the match and didn’t bat. They are contemplating to bring in a 16th man into the squad, why would they do that if this is minor and they don’t feel it’s much worse than they are actually portraying?

- He pulled out of the match because he didn't know how serious the injury was and didn't want to risk it before a major ICC tournament.
- Whenever a player has an injury minor or major, a player is called up to the squad for him as cover.
- If he was injured and out of the tournament THEY WOULD SAY THAT. Have you even bothered to read the news reports or are you going by stuff people forwarded you to WhatsApp?

- He pulled out of the match because he didn't know how serious the injury was and didn't want to risk it before a major ICC tournament.
- Whenever a player has an injury minor or major, a player is called up to the squad for him as cover.
- If he was injured and out of the tournament THEY WOULD SAY THAT. Have you even bothered to read the news reports or are you going by stuff people forwarded you to WhatsApp?
Chall bhai main bhi idhar hoon, tuu bhi idhar hai. Dekh lete hain kya hota hai.

Kevin Pietersen names his semi-finalists for Champions Trophy 2025

Former England batter Kevin Pietersen predicted his semi-finalist teams for the forth-coming ICC Champions Trophy 2025, set to begin on 19 February in Pakistan.

While sharing his thoughts in a recent interview, the flamboyant batter confidently named arch-rivals India and Pakistan as top contenders for the title.

However, Pietersen surprisingly ruled out England and Australia as the semi-finalists due to their recent form and injury concerns.

“I mean, this is so hard. It really is. But with Mitchell Starc pulling out today, I’m gonna say India, Pakistan, South Africa, and New Zealand,” said Pieters

Former England batter Kevin Pietersen predicted his semi-finalist teams for the forth-coming ICC Champions Trophy 2025, set to begin on 19 February in Pakistan.

While sharing his thoughts in a recent interview, the flamboyant batter confidently named arch-rivals India and Pakistan as top contenders for the title.

However, Pietersen surprisingly ruled out England and Australia as the semi-finalists due to their recent form and injury concerns.

“I mean, this is so hard. It really is. But with Mitchell Starc pulling out today, I’m gonna say India, Pakistan, South Africa, and New Zealand,” said Pieters

India, Pak and NZ can't all qualify 🤣

Pakistan former fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar predicted the two finalists of the ICC Champions Trophy 2025:

“I am hopeful that Pakistan will defeat India on February 23,”

“If Pakistan defeats India and New Zealand in the Champions Trophy, the Green Shirts will have already won half the tournament.”

“I believe that both Pakistan and India should also meet in the final of the tournament.

“If Afghanistan’s team demonstrates maturity and their batsmen show patience, they could deliver surprising results.”

Looks like KP didn't check the groups.

Pakistan, India, and NZ are in the same group. So, all 3 can't be in semi.

Since the 2023 World Cup Afghanistan have won four out of their five bilateral series. Are they dark horses for the Champions Trophy?

1739739340733.png

In Sha Allah Pakistan will defend their title as longest reigning champions of the trophy.

P.S. need to make Pepsi font smaller on jersey. How is it 5 times bigger than the font saying Pakistan.

I would've said Australia but they are now missing many of their main players. So, they may not win it.

New Zealand may win this. Pakistan are the dark horse. Let's see.

Agreed, Nz has the best squad, if only they had Boult too they would have been number one contender.\

Duffy looks average.

Unless you mean boult from 2015.. he is a liability for NZ. Especially in big matches.
Cost NZ the 2019 world cup final conceding around 70 off 10 on a 240 pitch.

we are better off without boult in knockout matches

Unless you mean boult from 2015.. he is a liability for NZ. Especially in big matches.
Cost NZ the 2019 world cup final conceding around 70 off 10 on a 240 pitch.

we are better off without boult in knockout matches
What about his performance in semi finals vs India and the WTC final? I don't think he is a choker, has good share of performances in big matches.

Mohammad Yousuf, during an interview with a local media podcast:

"It’s tough to pick a favorite. It’s a big tournament, and momentum can shift at any time. For me, New Zealand looks like the most balanced side."

"They have a well-rounded squad suited for subcontinent conditions. Their lineup includes three quality fast bowlers, good spinners, and a solid top six in batting. Their wicketkeeper is an all-rounder, and they have two spin-bowling all-rounders as well. India also has a balanced squad."

"Pakistan has the edge because they are familiar with the conditions. However, they must play calculated cricket throughout the tournament."

"I am very excited, like any other Pakistani. After 29 years, Pakistan is hosting an ICC event."

"If Pakistan reaches the final, they will have the advantage of playing at home. I hope the team performs as well as the PCB has worked on revamping the stadiums. Kudos to the PCB for completing these renovations in just six months."

"We have played on turning wickets recently, so we need to find the gaps against spinners, rotate the strike, and minimize dot balls. In the tri-series final against New Zealand, we struggled to dominate their spinners in the middle overs. With five fielders inside the 30-yard circle, there are always scoring opportunities."

"If the pitch is double-paced, a total of 300 will be competitive. However, if it's a flat track, teams should aim for scores between 350 and 400."

I don't care who win it as long as India don't win it.

:qdkcheeky

Very similar feelings here. Don't really care who wins as long as Bangladesh get beaten mercilessly by all the teams and keep going down the rankings.

Hopefully, they'll be forced to play qualifiers for next World Cup and flop there as well.

:shakib

This CT is India's to lose. They look like the best ODI team right now and are also ranked number one. Just decimated a full-strength English team 3-0 at home.

The only team that could have seriously challenged them in CT is Australia (but they are now seriously weakened by the absence of their celebrated pace trio Cummins, Starc, and Hazelwood).

Perhaps the only other teams that can challenge India now are New Zealand (a balanced team with no real weaknesses) and South Africa (remember they were not at full strength during the tri-series).

Pakistan only has an outside chance relying as always on individual brilliance from 1 or 2 individuals on a given day (just like that unexpected partnership in the tri-series game against RSA). PCB could have selected a better team but they have just been too stubborn to heed sane voices. There are at least three undeserving players in this team. Khushdil, Faheem, and Usman are all mediocre players. Tayeb can give you a decent 30 or so but he is not someone who can win you a game with his batting lower down the order.

We lack genuine batting or bowling all-rounders at 7 and 8. As such the tail is too long. Needed another specialist spinner and opener. Death bowling is also a huge concern.

Do not discount Afghanistan on these pitches. They almost beat Australia in the last World Cup; only denied by a freakish knock by Maxwell. RSA and English batsmen's struggles against quality spin are well-documented. Afghanistan might beat one of these two teams.

So it may well be that these 4 teams make the semis. India, New Zealand, South Africa and Afghanistan.

Above said as a Pak fan, I am still hoping that Pakistan can at least make the semis.

Very similar feelings here. Don't really care who wins as long as Bangladesh get beaten mercilessly by all the teams and keep going down the rankings.

Hopefully, they'll be forced to play qualifiers for next World Cup and flop there as well.

:shakib
Losers like Ban have this coping mechanism. No wonder their cricket reflects their country. Pathetic bunch. Disgrace they are in this CT instead of WI SL or even Zim.

Naseer Hussain in an interview with Sky Sports has named India to be favorites to lift the ICC CT 2025 owing to their balanced squad and quality spinners.

wow. From glorifying Eion Morgan's revolutionary approach to this. English fans are pessimistic about their chances. Understandable. But i think England is still a very good side on road pitches which is what they will get in Pakistan.

Afghanistan is gonna prevail this time.

I think flat pitches don't suit them. Don't see them winning it.

I think England or NZ may win it eventually. Pakistan also have a chance if they can go to semi.

Aussies are depleted. But, you can never rule out Aussies.

I think flat pitches don't suit them. Don't see them winning it.

I think England or NZ may win it eventually. Pakistan also have a chance if they can go to semi.

Aussies are depleted. But, you can never rule out Aussies.
What do you think the chances of India winning this trophy?

Can't see them winning back to back. They won 2024 World T20. I don't expect them to win another ICC trophy anytime soon. :inti

I think one of the SENA nations will probably win it. NZ, Aussies, or England.

Losers like Ban have this coping mechanism. No wonder their cricket reflects their country. Pathetic bunch. Disgrace they are in this CT instead of WI SL or even Zim.

You got triggered.

BTW, BD entered CT fair and square. It was not gifted to them. They didn't get preferential treatment from ICC like India do.

:inti

NZ is best team going to the tournament but favourite always not win the trophy.

You got triggered.

BTW, BD entered CT fair and square. It was not gifted to them. They didn't get preferential treatment from ICC like India do.

Triggered by Ban LOL ! No team in the CT is scared of Ban. Infact all of them want to hammer Ban and get a NRR boost that will help them if theres a 3 way tie Ban ecluded of course.

If post #143 (written by you) is not called "being triggered", I don't know what is.

Then again, some of you Indians love to redefine definitions as you see fit. Just like little children.

Can't see them winning back to back. They won 2024 World T20. I don't expect them to win another ICC trophy anytime soon. :inti

I think one of the SENA nations will probably win it. NZ, Aussies, or England.
Oh man please stop predicting India losing, you always reverse jinx it.

If post #143 (written by you) is not called "being triggered", I don't know what is.

Then again, some of you Indians love to redefine definitions as you see fit. Just like little children.

Well thats the reality. Has Ban won anything at all in any ICC event ? Copium by Ban fans - sympathize with them. Passionate fans with a perenially underachieving Ban cricket team. :qdkcheeky

Please do not engage in any personal conflict... STAY ON TOPIC

Anyways, I think Kiwis and India have a better chance to win this event

Well thats the reality. Has Ban won anything at all in any ICC event ? Copium by Ban fans - sympathize with them. Passionate fans with a perenially underachieving Ban cricket team. :qdkcheeky
Under-achieving means they are capable of achieving more. That is not the case here. They are over-achieving given their talent.