Who is Joining "Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Now" Thread

PTI leadership is in contact with lots of people and we will see more of them joining PTI soon. Imran Khan is scheduled to address a jalsa in sargodha on 24th and people from there are also going to join PTI.

Will update this thread when i hear anything about marvi, javed hashmi and shah mehmood qureshi.

Thanks bro, you are already doing a fantastic job.

Sent from my X10i using Tapatalk

Imran khan saying anyone can join PTi,But ticket will be given only to Honest ones.

Taking Hanif Abbasi in PTI will be a big loss of credibility. Hanif abbasi is know to switch sides whenever he feels there's somebody who's going to get the power soon. He was with Jamat-e-Islami (MMA) and then he joined PML N before the elections. Now he's thinking of joining PTI. I'll convey my message to my friend awab that taking up somebody like Hanif abbasi will ruin the credibility of PTI.

you make a good point but I think at this point leadership has decided to make a compromise with non-corrupt and those that declare their assets. Do talk to awab alvi.

iffi%20174.JPG

The Ex. Political Agent of North Waziristan Agency joins Pakistan Tehrek-e-Insaf in the meeting with the delegation of PTI KPK leading by Mr. Asad Qaiser Provincial Chief PTI KPK along with the members of Provincial Rabbatta Committee Mr. Zafar Ullah Khan and Syed Mushtaq Hussain Shah Bukhari at his residence here in Peshawar.

In the meeting Mr. Asad Qaiser thanked and welcomed him to PTI and hope that Mr. Khalid Masood will utilize his energies for the promotion and will help to project the cause of PTI in masses. Mr. Khalid Masood has intended that I will fully utilize this revolutionary platform given by PTI and will try to mould the masses to toughen the ideology and the vision of Imran Khan.

http://www.insaf.pk/News/tabid/60/a...litical-Agent-North-Waziristan-joins-PTI.aspx

If PTI can get Javed Hashmi and Shah Mahmud Quraishi, it will be bigger than all these new people combined.

I am waiting for these two to switch sides

I agree with WLFC - Hanif Abbassi joining PTI would be more of setback (in my view)

If PTI can get Javed Hashmi and Shah Mahmud Quraishi, it will be bigger than all these new people combined.

I am waiting for these two to switch sides

getting Javed Hashmi and Shah Mehmood Qureshi basically means getting most of south punjab and parts of sindh.

Exactly!!

It would be near impossible to get sindhi votes without getting support of some PPP leaders, combined with sindhi nationalist parties. Sindh, for me, is the hardest province to get for PTI, coz PPP's hold on it is very strong.

Javed Hashmi would be a big blow to PML-N in punjab.

Two critical people

Exactly!!

It would be near impossible to get sindhi votes without getting support of some PPP leaders, combined with sindhi nationalist parties. Sindh, for me, is the hardest province to get for PTI, coz PPP's hold on it is very strong.

Javed Hashmi would be a big blow to PML-N in punjab.

Two critical people

If you listen to Javed Hashmi's interview today it seems he wants to ditch PML(N). He basically said everything PTI supporters want to hear. Check it out here

http://pkpolitics.com/2011/06/21/khari-baat-21-june-2011/

There are also rumors of Imran Khan and Javed Hashmi meeting again. I have got my fingers crossed.

Tahir anwar Wahala brother of Zahid anwar wahla who is president of PML(N) district Vehari. anyone willing to bet Zahid anwar Wahla is next to jump the ship like Qazi Khalid's (ex mayor of district attock) son Qazi akbar joined PTI.

Azad Kashmir elections coming up. How is PTI doing in AK? I havent heard of any AK politicians jumping ship yet

In 5 years time, Insaftak would be informing you that I too have joined PTI :D

Imran said
Nation will hear a good news in coming few days!
Any idea INSAFTAK, what it can be, may be about some famous politician joining PTI?

I'm now officially joining PTI.............open ur arms.......embrace me

*runs away saying "whats that smell"*

UPDATE: Ex-MNA & Federal Minister Raey Azizullah from Chichawatni joined PTI

x2_6caf864

Press Release

The Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Mr. Imran Khan will visit Mardan tomorrow evening and address a public meeting at MNA Khawaja Muhammad Khan Hoti’s Hujra. The occasion would be the joining of the one of the most notable family of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. On the occasion Nawabzada Umer Farooq Hoti would formally join the PTI. Besides him the following would also join the PTI:
1. �Mehraab Gul, Oversees Coordinator, PPP Afghanistan
2. �Shakir Zareen Gul nephew of Ex-MNA Zargul Khan, District Mansehra
3. �Shahzada Nisar Jillani, PPP candidate for MNA, District Chitral
4. �Saeedullah Khalil, Ex-Nazim, University Town Peshawar
5. �Noor Muhammad Khan Aryana
6. �Haji Abdul Ghafar Mohmand from ANP
7. �Ikramullah Khan, agriculture expert, Kurab house, Mardan
8. �Fatteh ali khan & Farooq Khan from ANP, district Buner

Chaudry Rizvan
Central Media Cell

http://insaf.pk/Forum/tabid/53/forumid/56/tpage/1/view/topic/postid/114693/Default.aspx#114693
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf
0333 539 1610

INSAFTAK BHAI
Is khwaja muhammad khan hoti also joining PTI or their party will make coalation with PTI?

Prime Minister should be held accountable under Article 6 of the Constitution, Imran Khan

Islamabad (July 26, 2011)

The PTI Chief was addressing a press conference at the party’s Central Secretariat in Islamabad. During the press conference, senior politicians from Attock and belonging to PPP, PML(N) and PML(Q) announced their joining of PTI.

The PTI Chief said that by repeatedly defying the orders, the government is in open defiance of the Supreme Court. The government’s consistent defiance of the Supreme Court is leading to anarchy in the country. If the orders of the Supreme Court are not implemented, why would other government organizations such as the police respect the judgments of the lower courts. The drift towards anarchy and chaos has to be arrested before it is too late. Criminals are on the rampage in Karachi and the law of the jungle prevails. We cannot and will not sit silently. It is time for the Supreme Court to hold the Prime Minister accountable under Article 6 of the Constitution. He stated that the PTI would defend the independence of the Superior Judiciary at all costs.

The PTI Chief welcomed the new political entrants to the party and said that the doors of PTI are open to all decent and honest politicians irrespective of their past political affiliations. He said soon more senior political leaders would be joining the PTI. He said the Tsunami of change would soon sweep the self serving rulers from power. Pakistan is on the brink of change. And, if the rulers continue to defy the will of the people expressed through their massive participation in the PTI’s "Hakumat Hatao Mulk Bachao" tehreek, the rulers would be swept aside through people’s power.

The PTI Chairman said that the protest demonstrations in Islamabad during the month of Ramadan would prove to be memorable events in forcing the government out of power and the nation should expect a new beginning after Eid.

The leaders that announced joining the PTI are:

1. Malik Sohail Kamrial, Ex-Naib District Nazim, Attock son of Malik Lal Khan of Kamrial – 2 times MNA on PML (N) ticket.

2. Qazi Khalid Mahmud, Ex-Tehsil Nazim (PML-Q), District Attock.

3. Sardar Mohammad Ali – Ex-MPA, PML (Q).

4. Sardar Mumtaz Khan – PP Candidate, PML (N).

5. Ejaz Hussain Bokhari, Ex-MPA, PML (Q) and former Vice Chairman Distt. Council, Attock.

6. Mushtaq Kiani Ex-MPA, PML-Q formal Minister of housing.

http://www.insaf.pk/News/tabid/60/a...-Senior-politicians-from-Attock-join-PTI.aspx

Thts a great great news if it happen! Khwaja muhammad khan hoti is a seasoned politican and has a big vote bank in KPK.

PTI on the rise! Is there any other party which people are joining in such high numbers. Everyone knows now that PTI is the real deal.

@ Xohaib

Most of these guys were already rumored to be linked with PTI. Glad Imran khan invited them to Islamabad and show the media the growing strength of PTI.

INSAFTAK BHAI
Is khwaja muhammad khan hoti also joining PTI or their party will make coalation with PTI?

Looks Like NDF is merging with PTI under Imran Khan.

It's official

IK%20pic.jpg

Zardari, Nawaz biggest culprits to the nation :Imran Khan

MARDAN: Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf will eliminate corrupt elements once it comes into power, said Imran Khan while terming Asif Ali Zardari the biggest culprit, followed by Nawaz Shahrif and easyload baba—an apparent taunt aimed at Azam Hoti .

Addressing a grand meeting in Mardan on Wednesday at the residence of Ex-MNA and ex-federal minister, Khwaja Muhammad Hoti , PTI chief while declaring the above mentioned persons as biggest culprits to the nation, opined that public is being thrown into sea of inflation by these elements. He said Mardan was one of the few cities where people are politically aware and the youth of Mardan have decided to stand for change for the sake of Pakistan.

‘A new Pakistan is going to be build. A Pakistan that will be free in true sense; free from slavery of America, a Pakistan that was established in the name of Islam’, Imran Khan vowed. The meeting was arranged on the occasion of inclusion of Omar Farooq, the son of Khwaja Muhammad Hoti, into PTI. The meeting was attended by thousands of people mostly youth from Maran and adjacent districts. Lauding the inclusion of Omar Farooq in PTI, Imran Khan said he and his father deserve a praise for their clean political career and termed the decision of Omar Farooq as the right one at a time when the country is surrounded by corrupt politicians and needs clean people.

Imran said that the current wave of attacks and destruction in tribal areas will be stopped by Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf and for the purpose his party is striving hard, adding that current rulers were slaves of America. He claimed that his party will end this slavery when comes into power followed by elimination of corruption from the country, adding that Pakistani public is paying a high price for corruption of current rules in the shape of sky-rocketing inflation. The cricketer turned politicians claimed once is party comes into power it will bring all the foreign direct investment into Pakistan as the expatriate Pakistanis were the biggest asset for Pakistan, expressing his confidence, Imran said these expatriates have full confidence in PTI . He said one day instead of brain drain from Pakistan, the Pakistanis in foreign countries will come to Pakistan for seeking jobs. Imran also expressed anguish over non-taxpayers saying they have a big role in increasing inflation in Pakistan, opining that these big fishes in Pakistan who do not pay taxes will be netted by PTI once it comes into power.

He said Pakistan needs new system, fresh blood in politics and an independent Pakistan that takes independent decisions. Imran on the occasion also announced that soon Khwaja Muhammad Hoti will also join PTI.

Addressing on the occasion Omar Farooq expressed his full confidence in the leadership of Imran Khan and said every worker will be onboard with party leadership. The central joint secretary of PTI, Atif Khan, Provincial president Asad Qaiser, Provincial information secretary Zahid Hussain also addressed the meeting while Pakistan People’s Party activist Shahzad and Peoples Party worker Mehrab Gul also announced joining PTI.

http://insaf.pk/News/tabid/60/artic...ith-other-prominent-politicians-join-PTI.aspx

Looks like another case of youth convincing their elders to ditch the old status quo parties.

Great for Pakistan. IK maybe a novice but his heart is in right place and he brings hope to the common man.

I wish India had someone like him to tak eon the corrupt politicians...

PTI gaining a lot of strength in KP. But its still weak in the other provinces. I hope PTI's leadership has good plans in place for winning seats in other provinces as well.

Great for Pakistan. IK maybe a novice but his heart is in right place and he brings hope to the common man.

I wish India had someone like him to tak eon the corrupt politicians...

and we on the other side of the border wish we have someone like this guy to fight for us against corruption. This guy is a hero to all sub-continent people.

S3500274.JPG

PTI gaining a lot of strength in KP. But its still weak in the other provinces. I hope PTI's leadership has good plans in place for winning seats in other provinces as well.

PTI needs to do something in Sindh. Probably the worst organization in Sindh.

Do you still have Naeem ul Haq as the President for Sindh...what a legend that man is.

Yes Naeem ul Haq runs things in Sindh.

Under him we have improved a lot in Sindh but that doesn't say much. I think his appearance on that TV show has helped PTI in Sindh. The weird politics of Sindh.

Popularity of PTI draws KP notables in

Bureau report
Saturday, August 06, 2011

PESHAWAR: Growing popularity of the Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) has attracted many prominent personalities to the party during the current year and raised the hopes of the party leadership for better results in the next general election.

The PTI chief Imran Khan has been so encouraged by the inflow of technocrats and politicians in his party that he foresees a clean sweep in the upcoming polls. The newcomers say they were impressed by Imran Khan’s stance on national issues and are confident that he is the one who can steer the country out of crises.

“Whoever doubts that Tehrik-e-Insaf will clean sweep the next election, they can bet on it,” an overconfident Imran Khan said after announcing dissolution of the party’s Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) chapter on August 2 in Peshawar. However, he made it clear that the bet must be dinner, not money.

“Imran Khan to a dear friend in Islamabad: “I’ve been saying PTI will sweep the next election, now if you’re a betting man, put money on it,” a twitter message apparently posted by a PTI supporter said.

Polls show his party’s popularity has precipitously increased. Growing number of important personalities joining PTI has also added to the party’s strength but many believe that the claim of a sweeping victory appears unconvincing. Some say Imran has misread the political situation.

Among the people who joined PTI are Rustam Shah Mohmand and Maj General (R) Tajul Haq who announced their affiliation with the party on March 9. The former has served as Pakistan’s ambassador to Afghanistan, chief secretary of KP (formerly called NWFP) and commissioner Afghan refugees.

“It’s a party that stands for truth,” Rustam Shah said when asked what prompted him to join the PTI. He said Imran Khan’s leadership was another factor that attracted him to the party. Tajul Haq, hailing from Nowshera district, has retired as Inspector General Frontier Corps.

Another prominent personality, Justice (R) Burhanuddin, joined the party some nine months ago. He was recently assigned by the party chairman to head a provincial organising committee that will prepare ground for holding intra-party elections within three months.

Dr Abdul Mateen, former vice chancellor University of Peshawar, who has specialised in economics, is said to have joined the PTI now. But a senior party member said he had been with the PTI since its inception in 1996 but remained inactive. Khalid Masood, a retired bureaucrat, was brought to the party fold in June.

“These people are mostly experts in education, foreign policy and health. They are the brain of the party and will be tasked to make policies for us,” said a senior leader of PTI Zahid Hussain.

To a question about fielding them in elections, Zahid Hussain said the party would look into that possibility. “They can be sent to the Senate,” he added. He claimed that the PTI had two to three candidates in every provincial assembly constituency, suggesting that they would be able to field candidates in all constituencies.

Some politicians who could be candidates in the next election have also joined PTI. Zafarullah Marwat, a former member of the provincial assembly, joined the party in July, Zahid Hussain said.

Omar Farooq Hoti announced his affiliation at a public meeting on July 27 in Mardan. He is the son of Khwaja Muhammad Khan Hoti, former federal minister and a dissident MNA from the Awami National Party. Omar Farooq is likely to get the party ticket in the next election from his native Mardan.

“The party will decide about allotment of tickets,” Omar Farooq said. “We are trying to make a winning combination. We have popular support and now we are working on finding appropriate candidates,” he added.

Omar Farooq said he was impressed by Imran Khan since long. He said he liked the PTI chief’s stance against corruption and the US drone attacks. He said his father, Khwaja Mohammad Khan Hoti will also join the party after Eidul Fitr.

Dr Mehr Taj Roghani, a paediatrician who served as provincial health minister in the Pervez Musharraf-led military government and her husband Dilawar Shah Roghani have also joined the PTI. Zahid Hussain said a number of politicians including former or current MNAs and MPAs were expected to join the party in future.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=61364&Cat=7&dt=8/6/2011

Hello Insafer's - found any strong candidates in Pindi? Or will it again be a PML(N) sweep?

other than General Qayum in Chakwal that was some six months ago. I haven't heard of any names but we will wait & see what cards PTI is holding.

as for PML(N) sweep in Rawalpindi. That's not happening.

other than General Qayum in Chakwal that was some six months ago. I haven't heard of any names but we will wait & see what cards PTI is holding.

I agree, PPP-PML(Q) to give strong competition. :P

Epic epic epic video of Imran Khan speaking in Punjabi.

[utube]FMWXRXUJEZo[/utube]

Listen from 0:50 onwards to see what he has to say about Pakistani generals.

Gen. Qayum has joined PTI? He was always a PPP man. Served as Benazir's security advisor during her terms as PM

@ ahsan88

seen that video before. there is a reason pti supporters think only Imran Khan is capable of putting a leash on establishment.

@ottoman

Is this the same General that was running Steel mills during Musharaf regime. I might be mixing them up.

@ottoman

Is this the same General that was running Steel mills during Musharaf regime. I might be mixing them up.
Yup. He's the same individual. He was former Chairman of the Pakistan Ordnance Factories and later went on to head the Steel Mills.

You can often see him on tv nowadays as a political analyst. If reports of him joining the PTI are true, it'll be a huge boost because he's very popular in the Chakwal area.

Islamabad—A prominent activist of PPP and close associate of legendary ideologue of the party in 1970s, Shaikh Mohammad Rashid, Major (Retd) Khalid Mehmud Shaikh has announced to dissociate from the party and joined Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaaf (PTI).

In a statement he said the current leadership of the PPP has sidelined time-tested old workers of the party such as Dr Israr, Naheed Khan, Safdar Abbasi and hundreds like them. The time-servers dominate the political scene while the sincere workers have lost all say.

He said, our family and clan made great sacrifices to promote cause of the PPP for the sake of Pakistan but now the country is in the grip of lawlessness, poverty and corruption.

The ill-conceived policies of the ruling party have paralysed politico-economic life of the country.

Khalid Mehmud Shaikh said, PTI Chief, Imran Khan and his party are showing to the people the way to get rid of a failed government and save Pakistan.

http://pakobserver.net/detailnews.asp?id=108746

Epic epic epic video of Imran Khan speaking in Punjabi.

[utube]FMWXRXUJEZo[/utube]

Listen from 0:50 onwards to see what he has to say about Pakistani generals.

cant watch it, its says the video is private.

on another note, im a little disappointed that the pti are taking on all this scum from the ppp, now that theyve become disenfranchised with their own party.

i still think anyone who had anything to do with benazir and now zardari has already amply demonstrated their lack of integrity,and i wouldnt want anything to do with them.

also, are there any official polls at all? i wonder what the perceived probability of pti winning the next election would be at this point.

the polls suggest PTI's popularity has increased a lot now the question is if PTI is able to get it's voters out on election day.

Can you become some sort of Overseas Pakistani member?

PTI needs to do something in Sindh. Probably the worst organization in Sindh.

There is nothing PTI can do in Sindh. In fact nobody can do anytyhing in Sindh.

Sindhi will never vote to anybody other than Sindhi and people in Karachi will always vote to MQM.

we are not looking for help, we are looking for proper governance.

has Imran even successfully governed a mohalla, let alone a whole country?

Thats a bit of a naive logic...so you are saying Zardari has been a politician since childhood...lol he was a cinema owner not so long ago.

the polls suggest PTI's popularity has increased a lot now the question is if PTI is able to get it's voters out on election day.

are they leading the polls? 'increased' doesnt mean very much.

despite my reservations about who is joining the party, i very firmly believe they are the only hope that pakistan has.

i cant understand the criticism of imran as being someone with no gubernatorial experience, its an irrelevant questions when none of the parties standing have demonstrated any satisfactory or competent degree of governance.

the only relevant point i can see is who is best placed to govern the country in the best way, given the options; and on that basis, from a point of view of honesty and integrity at the very least, theres simply no second choice.

AZ said:
we are not looking for help, we are looking for proper governance.

has Imran even successfully governed a mohalla, let alone a whole country?

Going by your logic, no one has. Therefore all are on a level playing field on this front, so what else you got?

Great and inspirational speech from Imran Khan in his Jalsa in Islamabad:

[utube]IOuUbzsWMkY&feature=related[/utube]
[utube]L5uX6pKQshw&feature=related[/utube]

:imran :imran :imran

@insaftak
What about 20th august dharna?
My cousin was/is coming specially for rest of dharnas from england

I have to say I never believed in Imran. I still have my doubts but he is by far the best man for the job. His analysts have been proven right too many times for these people to not be running the show. No one has been more spot on, on the Afghanistan saga than this party.

However I still feel they need to reduce their reliance on Imran Khan and create a proper party.

Inshallah next elections are less than two years away and hopefully PTI will become more than just a king maker.

Can you become some sort of Overseas Pakistani member?

not sure about Oz but they have quite a few fundraising events and membership drives in Dubai...been to a couple as well.

Thats a bit of a naive logic...so you are saying Zardari has been a politician since childhood...lol he was a cinema owner not so long ago.

so the answer to my question is....

Going by your logic, no one has. Therefore all are on a level playing field on this front, so what else you got?

No.

Thanks, got it. :)

I have to say I never believed in Imran. I still have my doubts but he is by far the best man for the job. His analysts have been proven right too many times for these people to not be running the show. No one has been more spot on, on the Afghanistan saga than this party.

However I still feel they need to reduce their reliance on Imran Khan and create a proper party.

Inshallah next elections are less than two years away and hopefully PTI will become more than just a king maker.

Spot on

I doubt there's a dharna today. The previous ones didn't really set Isloo on fire did they?
A sit-in in Ramadan wasn't a great idea to start with anyway :p

these dharnas have achieved there mission.35k people in ramzan,enough

PESHAWAR: The Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) has launched strenuous efforts to strengthen the party in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) in a bid to clinch maximum number of seats in the next general elections.

It has prepared a three-pronged strategy that chiefly focuses on bringing popular but ‘clean and credible’ politicians into the party fold to win maximum number of seats. The PTI has seriously been working on how to seize on the growing popularity of the party.

Asad Qaiser, chairman of the working committee for KP, said the party had been encouraged by a positive response equally from people and politicians, including sitting and former members of the National Assembly and provincial assembly.

“This response shows the policies of Tehrik-e-Insaf have widespread approval among the people, who see its leadership capable of steering the country out of the current crises,” he said. The strategy includes setting up a robust oganisational structure at the grassroot level, strengthening Insaf Student Federation (ISF) and launching a hunt for credible politicians who could win seats.

Asad Qaiser said the party had made great progress in persuading sitting and former members of the National Assembly and KP Assembly to join the party. Also, he added, some former nazims had joined the party while others had shown their willingness to come into the party fold.

“In the southern region of KP, a group of 10-12 sitting or former MPAs and MNAs are ready to join the PTI,” Asad Qaiser claimed. He said seven to eight “electable politicians” in Peshawar valley and Hazara each and four to five in Malakand division had agreed to join the party.

He avoided naming the politicians expected to join the PTI. It was unclear as to who exactly are going to join the party. “The process of bringing politicians to the party has almost been completed,” he insisted. Most of the politicians who are joining the PTI are independent but some belong to the Pakistan People’s Party, Awami National Party and Pakistan Muslim League, he added.

Arbab Dost Muhammad, cousin of the Federal Minister Arbab Alamgir and Arbab Khizar Hayat are set to join the PTI. They are likely to announce their affiliation with the party in September at a public meeting that is expected to be addressed by Tehrik-e-Insaf chief Imran Khan.

He said some of those joining the PTI had held cabinet slots and enjoyed political clout in their respective areas. Qaiser said his party would not compromise the party’s ideology and policies as PTI stance on judiciary, war on terror and corruption had won it credibility and popularity.

“We make it clear that we will accept only those politicians having unblemished careers. We have no place for the corrupt,” he said. The second point of the strategy is focused on ISF, the students’ wing of the party. Its performance has encouraged the Tehrik-e-Insaf in recent months, and it sees an opportunity in strengthening it. It was learnt that ISF mobilised a great number of supporters to attend the recent Islamabad sit-in that has raised the faith of the party leadership in its strength.

“We want to focus more on ISF and the youth wing in an effort to strengthen them. We believe they can play the main role in boosting the party,” Asad Qaiser said. The last part of the strategy is completing the party’s organisational structure.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=63544&Cat=7

I said we will sweep KPK some 8 months ago after watching this video of Imran Khan addressing ISF in Peshawar and recent news from KPK are proving me right on that.

[utube]rWkQExs1maY[/utube]

Nah like you said K-P should be PTI's. ANP Ghaddars are finished....as are the so-called 'Islami' Parties

i also said this long time ago that PTI will make govt in KPK, since iam from KPK, so i know how it is there rite now
you guys will see they will win by more than 2/3 in KPK.

KPK should be PTI's under normal circumstances.

But rigging is a major issue in our elections. And rigging, is what I am worried about the most

KPK should be PTI's under normal circumstances.

But rigging is a major issue in our elections. And rigging, is what I am worried about the most

Rigging is a concern for sure but if you have strength on grassroots level you could counter it a bit. We will probably have to keep our eyes opened on election day.

There was news the EC would be using "electronic thumb identification" to counter rigging and bogus votes. Any truth in it?

Worry not PTI'ers - no rigging.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2011\08\20\story_20-8-2011_pg7_10

NEWS ANALYSIS: The wait for next elections may be worth it —By Fahd Husain

ISLAMABAD: If you are desperate to have early elections in Pakistan, don’t hold your breath. Hint: the reason is not political.

There are those like Mian Nawaz Sharif who are demanding snap polls. There are others like Imran Khan who say each passing day with this government in control is a disaster. And of course, President Zardari wants to stick it out till the last so he and his boys have got the final details of the electoral battle plan stitched up like a Hugo Boss suit.

Then there’s the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP). And it may have the final say.

Here’s why: The deadline for the publication of the final electoral rolls is March 24, 2012. This essentially means if you want to have a shot at having the freest and fairest elections possible in Pakistan, you have got to wait till this date. It just so happens that the crucial Senate elections, which will give the PPP a majority, are also scheduled for the same month. Game, set, match, Zardari?

Possibly. But this political game of checkers should not diminish the significance of a quiet but extremely crucial exercise underway in a building situated on Islamabad’s famous Constitution Avenue. No, I’m not referring to the Presidency, or the Parliament, or in fact the Supreme Court. It’s the Election Commission, and it may hold the key for a successful election which has eluded Pakistan since 1970.

Organising an election for a population of 180 million is not exactly child’s play. Add to that the addiction of the politicians and the military to steal cheeky singles (and doubles) on the electoral crease, and you have a mission impossible on your hands. To make this a bit more possible, a grand exercise was launched by the Election Commission to set new rules of the game. The result of marathon consultative sessions with major political parties was a document titled “Five-Year Strategic Plan 2010-2014”. But here’s the bitter reality: Such reports published on glossy papers rarely translate into actions. It doesn’t help that the Election Commission suffers from a credibility-deficit because of having been used as a political handmaiden by all governments.

Could it then be that it is actually working towards holding free and fair elections, shorn of political gerrymandering? Is goldilocks finally going to sit in the chair that’s just right while the big brown political bears hunt in the woods?

The answer may surprise you. Let’s start with some bad news. Of the 81 million people on the electoral rolls in the 2008 elections, 37 million turned out to be “unverifiable”. Here’s the sordid breakdown: Invalid CNIC 2,140,015; Duplicate CNIC entries 2,491,090; Duplicate MNIC entries (old ID cards) 6,496,301; MNIC does not exist in NADRA database 11,056,775. If you had a dollar for each suspect electoral roll entry in the last election, you too could have been the proud owner of a chateau in France.

Translation: the electoral system stinks.

Well now the Election Commission is trying to conjure up a big air freshener. Step one: ECP handed over the electoral rolls from the last election to NADRA for verification. Step two: NADRA confirmed 37 million names could not be verified. Step three: NADRA deleted all these 37 million names. Step four: NADRA then added 36 million new names from its own fresh data to the electoral rolls. These 36 million were those people who had got their CNICs made after the last elections. Result: the updated electoral roll list is back to around 80 million names.

Enter a new player – the Census boys. It just so happens that the census is underway this year. The last one was held way back in 1998. The ECP played smart and hitched the census bandwagon like a happy camper. Starting tomorrow 211,000 people will fan across the country to go door-to-door for one phase of the census exercise. ECP has given these people forms through which they will re-verify the electoral rolls. By September 30, 2011 this exercise should be complete. Voila! Pakistan may have a list of all eligible voters.

And these voters will have a privilege no Pakistani voter has ever had before – they will be able to vote anywhere in Pakistan, not just in their home constituency. Here’s how this new system will work: If the permanent address on my CNIC is, for example, in Islamabad, but my temporary address is in say Karachi, but I’m actually now living in Mardan, no worries. I will have a choice. I can either vote in Islamabad, or Karachi or Mardan. Say I choose Mardan. This would mean that even though I’ve always voted in an Islamabad constituency, this time I get to choose a Hoti from Mardan in that constituency.

As if SIM portability was not enough, now we can enjoy voter portability. For free.

Those of you who are in the habit of casting votes in three different places, under different names, you may now have a new challenge on your hands. Breaking the system is what Pakistanis do best, and we may yet do it, but it helps to make it a bit more difficult to do. So you are a party loyalist and you love your candidate so much that you want to vote again and again and again. Come next election, however, when you go to the polling station, you might be surprised to see your photo staring back at you from the electoral roll list with the presiding officer. Okay so you have a twin, and the two of you have fooled your teachers all through school, so a presiding officer would hardly be a challenge. Except your teacher never had magnetic ink. This presiding officer will stick your thumb in this ink and then get a fingerprint next to your name on the list. Now you are in the database, and can be tracked through computer if you’ve just voted in Murree and a few hours later are dutifully standing in line to cast your vote in Islamabad too.

Will all these cool electoral gizmos work? Hard to say. What is clear though is that a serious attempt is being made to have a solid election. The four provincial election commissioners have been appointed by a parliamentary consensus as per the requirements of the 18th Amendment. Even the opposition is calling this a great step forward. The incumbent Chief Election Commissioner retires in March next year, and his successor will also be appointed through a consensus mechanism. This perhaps is one more reason why the opposition might want to wait for elections till after a new guy comes in. If the final electoral rolls also get thumbs up from the major political stakeholders, we may just have what it takes to conduct a free and fair election – or something near to that.

But all said and done, the government and the military always cast a dark shadow over the Election Commission. The biggest challenge for both of them would be to keep their hands off the electoral process, resist the urge to pressure the ECP or conduct pre-poll rigging, and wait for the voters to deliver their judgement on voting day. If this is achieved, we may have a truly successful election. Then the losers can huff and puff all they want, they won’t be able to blow this electoral house away.