Why do Indian fast bowlers fade away in their careers?

Bhuvi was never good in ODIs to begin with. A poor series for him is the normal, while for Hasan it is unusual.
People have just started figuring out Hassan.Dont worry, he will get smoked enough in the coming matches.

He is just a conventional bowler who moves it both ways. What do you mean by figure out?

Normally you figure out some unorthodox bowler after while.

He is just a conventional bowler who moves it both ways. What do you mean by figure out?

You can figure out his go to variations .

I have only one question, who was the last pakistani fast bowler who took 200 test wickets?

That's a good one. Shoaib Akhtar wasn't fit enough to get to 200 wickets. Mohammed Asif, well did he give a damn about it?

Then there are hopeless guys like Rahat Ali, Wahab Riaz, Imran Khan Jr etc.

Mohammad Abbas was the leading wicket taker in last 2 Test Series'. Says a lot.

That's a good one. Shoaib Akhtar wasn't fit enough to get to 200 wickets. Mohammed Asif, well did he give a damn about it?

Then there are hopeless guys like Rahat Ali, Wahab Riaz, Imran Khan Jr etc.

Mohammad Abbas was the leading wicket taker in last 2 Test Series'. Says a lot.

Who cares about these stats from the spreadsheet warriors?

200 is just a number. In fact it implies longevity much more so than actual skill.

I would take Akhtar or Asif over Zaheer any day of the week and I'm sure most would too.

200 is just a number. In fact it implies longevity much more so than actual skill.

I would take Akhtar or Asif over Zaheer any day of the week and I'm sure most would too.

I would also take Shoaib if I could motivate him enough to care about fitness & not put on weight like a Sumo wrestler.

And for Asif, I'll never know which side he's playing for.

I would also take Shoaib if I could motivate him enough to care about fitness & not put on weight like a Sumo wrestler.

And for Asif, I'll never know which side he's playing for.

Oh oh ...hold on brother you are rubbing it real hard ..guys will get offended here :shh

I need better reasoning then that. That doesn't make sense. Maybe explain yourself a bit more please.

Bhai Zaheer Khan averages 33 he is no legend lol.

Bhai you are so proud of your bowling, so please tell me who was the last pakistani bowler to get 200 test wickets.

Ismein masla kya hai?

200 is hardly any longeivity debate. Its bare minimum for a world class test bowler.

To list a few, the angles he uses, the pattern of his slow balls and even whether he wilts under pressure or not.If figuring out was only needed for mystery bowlers, why do we have video analysts at all?

I can see that Indian’s are getting rather arrogant & big headed regarding their current fast bowlers..which is understandable because they have been starved of decent fast bowlers since the beginning of Indian cricket.

But remember when ppl talk about fast bowling..the names Sarfaraz, Imran, Wasim, Waqar & Akhtar will always come up. These bowlers will still be discussed in 50yrs, 100yrs from now..I can’t see any Indian bowlers being mentioned in such light.

I can see that Indian’s are getting rather arrogant & big headed regarding their current fast bowlers..which is understandable because they have been starved of decent fast bowlers since the beginning of Indian cricket.

But remember when ppl talk about fast bowling..the names Sarfaraz, Imran, Wasim, Waqar & Akhtar will always come up. These bowlers will still be discussed in 50yrs, 100yrs from now..I can’t see any Indian bowlers being mentioned in such light.

The last of them made his debut in 90s. The present crop of Pakistani bowlers are not that good.

While India after Gavaskar Tendulkar Dravid Sehwag Laxman Vengsarkar Azhar now has Kohli.

Thing is since Waqar no Pakistani fast bowler has stayed long enough to take 200 test wickets. So which bowlers are fading away in their careers.

The last of them made his debut in 90s. The present crop of Pakistani bowlers are not that good.

While India after Gavaskar Tendulkar Dravid Sehwag Laxman Vengsarkar Azhar now has Kohli.

Thing is since Waqar no Pakistani fast bowler has stayed long enough to take 200 test wickets. So which bowlers are fading away in their careers.

Good post, Ind continued batting legacy but Pak bowling couldn't maintain the level set by earlier legends !

Amir and Asif were all set, until they got involved in fixing.

Its in past. The last Pakistani bowler to take 200 test wickets was Waqar Younis, he made his debut in 1989 and retired in 2003. Since then no one. So how come Indian bowlers are fading?

Now they have extra motivation "not to fade away". Longer you stay more money you make in the IPL. Win win situation for BCCI.

Its in past. The last Pakistani bowler to take 200 test wickets was Waqar Younis, he made his debut in 1989 and retired in 2003. Since then no one. So how come Indian bowlers are fading?

Too much talent coming through the system that one doesn't get time to take 200 wickets.

Current generation of indian fast bowlers is better than last and is pretty good.. The next generation should hopefully be the world class ones which we have missed so far.. Let’s keep our fingers crossed..

But.... how many test matches do Pakistan play? Wasim Akram played for 17-18 years and only managed to play 104 tests because PCB only organised 5-6 tests per year and that hasn't changed. India on the other hand plays double the number matches hence why even bowlers like Ishant who average high 30s can manage 200 wickets.

Secondly Pakistan plays home matches in UAE which is a graveyard for pace bowlers. Even ATG pacers would struggle there.

Ufffff...bhai...what I meant was..Ind bowlers start their careers with a bang...then fade.

But

All seems to have changed now..the MRF pace academy investment is paying. The likes of Bumrah & Bhuvi seem to be long term prospects.

Ufffff...bhai...what I meant was..Ind bowlers start their careers with a bang...then fade.

But

All seems to have changed now..the MRF pace academy investment is paying. The likes of Bumrah & Bhuvi seem to be long term prospects.

Bhai i am saying Pakistani fast bowlers are fading as well. Thats why no one has managed to even get 200 test wickets.

The title should be 'medium pacers', India have never really produced an out and out fast bowler and probably never will.

Whatever happened to Stuart Binny I remember he had a dream start to his career by taking 6/4 vs BAN in one game.

Yup the trend is changing a little bit now. Shami, Bumrah, and Yadav have lasted long enough and have not lost their pace either.

Very true. You need to play at least 50 tests to reach 200 test wickets, none of the Pakistan pacers have done that after the retirement of Wasim/Waqar. Shoaib with 46 tests has played the max over the last 2 decades. There have been only 3 pace bowlers in the history of Pakistan cricket who have reached 200 test wickets and they are the legendary trio of Wasim, Waqar and Imran. Pakistan have produced lots of promising pacers and for a country that prides on fast bowling that is a very poor return. In the history of Pakistan cricket only Sarfraz Nawaz has played 50+ tests as an out and out bowler apart from the legendary trio. You can probably add all rounders such as Asif Iqbal and Mudassar Nazar who have 50+ wickets to the list possibly but no other bowler has managed to do so.

On the other hand I see a misplaced sense of superiority in lots of Pakistanis when it comes to pace bowlers. Trying hard to put down Indian bowlers and belittling their achievements. Also a repetitive mention of players who retired 20-30 years ago. Desperate much.

The title should be 'medium pacers', India have never really produced an out and out fast bowler and probably never will.

Being out and out fast isn't a requirement to be labelled fast. Besides, mocking Indians for speed is getting old, specially when the likes of Pandaya are outpacing Pakistan's pace spearhead.

Yup the trend is changing a little bit now. Shami, Bumrah, and Yadav have lasted long enough and have not lost their pace either.

Shami looks like he is just walking with ankle injury every time he bowls but he still manages 140+ in test cricket.

Who was the last bowler to take 200 wickets for India? Ishant Sharma... Lol!! 85 test matches 234 wickets avg of 36 and SR of 66. He must be a legend, considering he has taken 200 wickets.

Sir Andy Roberts got only 202 wickets. But any of the guys posting here wondered why the status of sir has not been given to Ishant? :ashwin

Its not about the number of wickets but the impact you leave on the game that makes you an ATG or a legend. 200 is just a number.

Wonder how Indian and Pakistani fast bowlers fared in tests/ODIs in the last few years. Anyone with the stats?

Looking only at test figures over the current decade, the figure above is pretty straightforward. The bombast from Pakistani fans is shown up for being exactly that, unsubstantiated puffery. Indian bowlers occupy the top three slots with Shami and Bhuvi together at the top with EXTREMELY impressive averages.

Only Amir from Pakistan features in the list with his strike rate as bad as India's third/fourth choice bowler Ishant. With the emergence of Bumrah and deepening of fast bowlers' pool, this trend should hold going forward.

Who was the last bowler to take 200 wickets for India? Ishant Sharma... Lol!! 85 test matches 234 wickets avg of 36 and SR of 66. He must be a legend, considering he has taken 200 wickets.

Sir Andy Roberts got only 202 wickets. But any of the guys posting here wondered why the status of sir has not been given to Ishant? :ashwin

Its not about the number of wickets but the impact you leave on the game that makes you an ATG or a legend. 200 is just a number.

Pakistanis boast of fast bowling Indians boast of batting. Now we have a number of batsman who have scored 5000 test runs and have managed to produce Gavaskar Tendulkar Dravid and now Kohli. Thats a 4 decade long heritage.

How many Pakistani fast bowlers have taken 200 test wickets? The last one was the great Waqar Younis. Thing is this boastfullness of Pakistani fans hold little water today. Your fast bowlers start promisingly and then after sometime for some reason fade away. The last Pakistani bowler to take 200 wickets was a spinner. And Pakistan these days is dependent on spinners to win tests. Kaneria Ajmal now Shah.

Pakistanis boast of fast bowling Indians boast of batting. Now we have a number of batsman who have scored 5000 test runs and have managed to produce Gavaskar Tendulkar Dravid and now Kohli. Thats a 4 decade long heritage.

How many Pakistani fast bowlers have taken 200 test wickets? The last one was the great Waqar Younis. Thing is this boastfullness of Pakistani fans hold little water today. Your fast bowlers start promisingly and then after sometime for some reason fade away. The last Pakistani bowler to take 200 wickets was a spinner. And Pakistan these days is dependent on spinners to win tests. Kaneria Ajmal now Shah.

You forgot the Eng series where Pakistan won two tests and series was drawn 2-2. Pace bowlers were pretty impressive there.

Again, 200 wickets or 5000 runs, these are just numbers. Impact you leave on cricket is what matters.

Even Ishant gets to 500 wickets with his performances after playing 200 matches, its no big achievement. Only thing that can be associated with it is longevity.

You forgot the Eng series where Pakistan won two tests and series was drawn 2-2. Pace bowlers were pretty impressive there.

Again, 200 wickets or 5000 runs, these are just numbers. Impact you leave on cricket is what matters.

Even Ishant gets to 500 wickets with his performances after playing 200 matches, its no big achievement. Only thing that can be associated with it is longevity.

On what quantitative metric do current Pakistani bowlers fair better than their current Indian counterparts? Getting tired of “they are more fearless, more dangerous, more talented, they miss the bat more often etc. etc.”

But.... how many test matches do Pakistan play? Wasim Akram played for 17-18 years and only managed to play 104 tests because PCB only organised 5-6 tests per year and that hasn't changed. India on the other hand plays double the number matches hence why even bowlers like Ishant who average high 30s can manage 200 wickets.

Secondly Pakistan plays home matches in UAE which is a graveyard for pace bowlers. Even ATG pacers would struggle there.

Indian pacers play in seaming paradise in India, while BCCI lays a flat road when Indian batters bat.

How many matches have Pakistan won and lost in the last ten years??

Overall figures
Player Span Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts BBI BBM AveAscending Econ SR 5 10
Hasan Ali (PAK) 2016-2018 46 48 373.2 27 1908 87 5/34 5/34 21.93 5.11 25.7 3 0 investigate this query
JJ Bumrah (INDIA) 2016-2018 73 76 540.1 39 2592 118 5/27 7/111 21.96 4.79 27.4 2 0 investigate this query
Mohammad Asif (PAK) 2008-2010 23 34 565.5 112 1873 71 6/41 9/107 26.38 3.31 47.8 3 0 investigate this query
Aizaz Cheema (PAK) 2011-2012 26 33 326.4 42 1347 51 4/24 8/103 26.41 4.12 38.4 0 0 investigate this query
Mohammed Shami (INDIA) 2013-2018 87 114 1383.3 193 5739 209 5/28 9/118 27.45 4.14 39.7 3 0 investigate this query
Umar Gul (PAK) 2008-2016 174 201 1873.3 203 8486 298 6/42 8/148 28.47 4.52 37.7 4 0 investigate this query
A Nehra (INDIA) 2009-2017 75 75 460.3 17 2880 99 4/40 4/40 29.09 6.25 27.9 0 0 investigate this query
Mohammad Amir (PAK) 2009-2018 105 131 1538.5 268 5662 193 6/44 7/64 29.33 3.67 47.8 4 0 investigate this query
Junaid Khan (PAK) 2011-2017 97 116 1312.4 185 5236 176 5/38 8/151 29.75 3.98 44.7 5 0 investigate this query
Z Khan (INDIA) 2008-2014 111 138 1931.1 304 7359 237 7/87 10/149 31.05 3.81 48.8 6 1 investigate this query
B Kumar (INDIA) 2012-2018 131 146 1333.2 200 5667 179 6/82 8/96 31.65 4.25 44.6 6 0 investigate this query
Mohammad Irfan (PAK) 2010-2016 84 86 706.2 46 3442 108 4/30 4/30 31.87 4.87 39.2 0 0 investigate this query
P Kumar (INDIA) 2008-2012 81 85 812.5 113 3550 111 5/106 7/169 31.98 4.36 43.9 1 0 investigate this query
HH Pandya (INDIA) 2016-2018 72 75 423.1 14 2308 70 3/8 3/8 32.97 5.45 36.2 0 0 investigate this query
MM Patel (INDIA) 2008-2011 50 51 447.3 43 2085 63 4/29 5/120 33.09 4.65 42.6 0 0 investigate this query
Wahab Riaz (PAK) 2008-2017 131 151 1507.4 131 6990 211 5/46 7/134 33.12 4.63 42.8 3 0 investigate this query
Sohail Tanvir (PAK) 2008-2017 100 98 560.0 19 3366 101 5/48 5/48 33.32 6.01 33.2 1 0 investigate this query
UT Yadav (INDIA) 2010-2017 108 140 1539.1 192 6869 202 5/93 7/103 34.00 4.46 45.7 1 0 investigate this query
IK Pathan (INDIA) 2008-2012 44 44 312.5 10 1919 55 5/61 5/61 34.89 6.13 34.1 1 0 investigate this query
Sohail Khan (PAK) 2008-2017 26 34 423.4 59 1807 50 5/55 7/207 36.14 4.26 50.8 3 0 investigate this query
Rahat Ali (PAK) 2012-2016 34 51 787.4 125 2829 76 6/127 7/100 37.22 3.59 62.1 2 0 investigate this query
S Sreesanth (INDIA) 2008-2011 30 42 614.1 65 2725 61 5/75 6/122 44.67 4.43 60.4 2 0 investigate this query

If you look at stats for Pakistani pacers, you would like to forget that series too. Amir averaged 42 per wicket, Wahab averaged 36 while Rahat averaged 51. Sohail Khan was the only saving grace averaging 25.

Woakes averaged 16 in the same series, while Broad and Anderson averaged mid 20s.

That 2-2 draw, remind me who was the highest wicket taker in both the tests that Pakistan won?

One of the factors to ascertain greatness is longeivity. Thats is how long you perform at a great level. These days 200 test wickets is not much.

When all fails fall onto unquantifiable things like Impact Talent etc.

That 2-2 draw, remind me who was the highest wicket taker in both the tests that Pakistan won?

One of the factors to ascertain greatness is longeivity. Thats is how long you perform at a great level. These days 200 test wickets is not much.

When all fails fall onto unquantifiable things like Impact Talent etc.

Longevity doesn't necessarily make you a legend, its the quality of cricket one has played.

Oh bhai. :)) Mohammad Asif, Aizaz Cheema, Umar Gul. Lol. Thes guys left the game ages ago.
None of them can be categorised as current bowlers.
Pakistan’s only saving grace is Hassan that too strictly in ODIs. The numbers look aweful otherwise, especially for a nation that takes pride in fast bowling.

Indian pacers play in seaming paradise in India, while BCCI lays a flat road when Indian batters bat.

Look Indian pace bowlers are better than Pakistan in tests - if that is what you want to hear. I was just addressing Joshila's point about why it's been while since a Pakistan bowler has only taken 200 wickets.

Bowling in India is significantly more friendly for seamers than UAE for the following reasons:

1. SG ball is easier to reverse swing - can be achieved in 10 -15 overs (whereas 30 -40 overs + with Duke and Kookaburra)
2. Uneven bounce and more seam movement as early as day 2/3 following pitch deterioration
3. Faster wickets in India because the pitches are harder than the ones in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

For the reasons above we may not see a Pakistan pacer cross 200 wickets anytime soon. Amir has 95 so far but even I have doubts with him as he bowls defensively and seems far too passive in tests.

Quality cricket for a long time makes you a legend.
Isn’t that the entire premise of the thread too? Had longevity = didn’t fade away.
If you get dropped after taking only a handful of wickets, you essentially faded away for some reason or the other. How many have we seen? Wahab, Rahat, Junaid, Irfan Khan junior and so many others of them

Look Indian pace bowlers are better than Pakistan in tests - if that is what you want to hear. I was just addressing Joshila's point about why it's been while since a Pakistan bowler has only taken 200 wickets.

Bowling in India is significantly more friendly for seamers than UAE for the following reasons:

1. SG ball is easier to reverse swing - can be achieved in 10 -15 overs (whereas 30 -40 overs + with Duke and Kookaburra)
2. Uneven bounce and more seam movement as early as day 2/3 following pitch deterioration
3. Faster wickets in India because the pitches are harder than the ones in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

For the reasons above we may not see a Pakistan pacer cross 200 wickets anytime soon. Amir has 95 so far but even I have doubts with him as he bowls defensively and seems far too passive in tests.

Amir played only 4 tests in UAE. Wahab averages best in UAE and worse in overseas. Your point doesn't make alot sense. Players like Amir only perform when they are playing against india in odi or t20s but apart from that they are pretty avg performers.

Wahab isn't international standard because he's a spray gun so that is a poor example, so he's going to smacked around more on faster wickets. It's actually nonsense to use him and generalise that Pakistan seamers are more successful in UAE than outside Asia.

Better examples would be Sohail Khan (when he was in the side) who averaged 25 in England and 52 in UAE and not to forget currently Amir averages 56 in UAE and 26 in England (which should have been around 20 if it wasn't for dropped catches).

What is there to figure out about Hasan?

What he meant is when a bowler arrives on scene their is s novelty factor associated with him, as the teams play him that factor tends to wear off and players start to figure out the bowler it's upto the bowler to evolve consistently like batsman, by the way he has been hit for over 100 in Odis but that was early in his career.

Wahab isn't international standard because he's a spray gun so that is a poor example, so he's going to smacked around more on faster wickets. It's actually nonsense to use him and generalise that Pakistan seamers are more successful in UAE than outside Asia.

Better examples would be Sohail Khan (when he was in the side) who averaged 25 in England and 52 in UAE and not to forget currently Amir averages 56 in UAE and 26 in England (which should have been around 20 if it wasn't for dropped catches).

Amir’s England average includes his pre-fixing days when he was pretty good. How much has he averaged on come back? I’m sure it wouldn’t be <30.

Whenever someone's questions Pakistan bowling resources Pakistan come up with another great bowler. There was a time when Cheema, Bhatti, Anwar Ali all of them were bowling together and fans were thinking Pakistan main talent khatam hai then suddenly they got bowlers like Irfan, Sohail, Hassan, much improved Junaid, Shinwari and Amir. Shaheen Shah will be Pakistan's next lethal weapon in cricket field.

The reason they aren't taking 200 wickets in test cricket because of the competition. Pakistan selectors have got too many bowlers to choose from just like India have got batsman. Pakistan has a pace bowling culture they will keep producing fast bowlers. Chances of Pakistan producing another Shoaib Akhtar are as good as India producing another Kohli. Don't worry about that.