Why is Mohammad Hafeez back in the T20I squad? He adds nothing to the team

DRsohail

he will be playing tomorrow against srilanka...but why ?and what is the way u drop someone from t20 squad then bring him back.i dont think hafiz aids any value to our t20 unit.we have wo matches without him,injustice to umar amin and co.ALLAH sa bhi nahi dartay ye inzi awr sarfarz.

probably because of his “incredible record against the left hander” which sri lanka possess in abundance

Pakistan fans and I have been complaining about this guys inclusion for years and yet he continues to be included. Its only a matter of time until he is excluded from the team. But from the looks of it, this will happen once he retires.

Cos strange to play someone just for ODIs. Especially a batsman. If Hafeez failed in the CT, he'd be out entirely. Since he did alright, he got back his selection in T20s.

Think he'll be chucked out of both ODIs and T20s after his performance in the recent ODI series.

Cos strange to play someone just for ODIs. Especially a batsman. If Hafeez failed in the CT, he'd be out entirely. Since he did alright, he got back his selection in T20s.

Think he'll be chucked out of both ODIs and T20s after his performance in the recent ODI series.

pun intended? :yk2

Hafeez is currently Number 1 all rounder in the world, according to ICC odi Ranking. Which explains his inclusion in ODI side. Bowling Wise Hafeez is a crafty bowler that take wickets and also contains (hopefully he is able to clear his bowling action) As a bowler and late middle-order bat Hafeez is good enough to make the cut. As just a batsman Probably not.
In CT final Hafeez did the late acceleration. Although Indians were hoping for a late collapse to keep Pakistan under 300 or even 270.

Hafeez is currently Number 1 all rounder in the world, according to ICC odi Ranking. Which explains his inclusion in ODI side. Bowling Wise Hafeez is a crafty bowler that take wickets and also contains (hopefully he is able to clear his bowling action) As a bowler and late middle-order bat Hafeez is good enough to make the cut. As just a batsman Probably not.
In CT final Hafeez did the late acceleration. Although Indians were hoping for a late collapse to keep Pakistan under 300 or even 270.

but he does notlike to come late in the order.

He's still a good T20 bat even if his bowling is banned but I think we should look for alternatives in ODIs. He's not good enough to play as a batsman alone and it looks like he won't be bowling again.

When where how :danish

moha.jpg

I mean the overall record is poor but since 2014 it's just.... :uak

Only in Pakistan would a 36 year old with such a pathetic record keeping on being selected.

View attachment 76951

In T20s averages don't tell much but impact tells more about a player and Hafeez has played some good innings but yeah I do agree with you. Hafeez as a batsman alone is a liability. Umar Amin should be played ahead of him.

Very hard to make impact in T20s with a SR of 102, unless he bats on alien pitches.

If he has been selected for his bowling then I hope he will bat in the lower-order.

There is no rational behind selecting the likes of Hafeez and Malik in T20s. This format should be kept aside to test out new captains and players. Giving players like Hafeez won't do us any good in this format especially considering his record is completely dismal.

Hope his action gets called illegal

His continued selection is bad for Pakistan in the long term.

Destroys the balance our batting line up

If he could control his ego and bat lower then maybe we could stomach him, but he refuses to do that and the captain and coach aren’t man enough to boot him down

Double wicket maiden against the gains of SL. Talk now! There is a reason why he is the no. 1 allrounder

Wasn't he reported for suspected action recently? Why is he allowed to bowl?
His wickets should be considered as run out.

Double wicket maiden against the gains of SL. Talk now! There is a reason why he is the no. 1 allrounder

this is what most of us just watch,,will be banned soon dont worry,and he will not be having the option to do it against the struggling side.no team plays over 37 yeras old in t20 these days except pakistan and that too against the struggling srilankan side.

[mention=79064]mmhs[/mention]

He is very good at managing numbers - on merit, he was my MoM yesterday (haven't seen the match, but double wicket maiden followed by a ~30* in critical situation). He'll manage stats smoothly - but the key here is he can manage those who matters, rather I say those who matters are managed to interpret his stats to justify his inclusion.

Besides, he has very good understanding of his limitations - plays exactly to serve that. We made lots of fun about Afridi being batsman who can bowl, bowler who can bat, all-rounder, specialist motivator .... MoHa is doing exactly the same, but no one even noticed that, because the guy is cunning manipulator; could have been a brilliant Captain had he been better cricketer. I wasn't surprised at all in his moving down to No. 4 at Ahmedabad T20, after BK showed his skills with new ball in previous match and PAK experienced the Motera dew in D/N T20s. All this after that Amir drama which earned him lots of claps from the "masum" heart here.

And, his biggest strength is that, guy is very much thick skinned - he was called twice, banned once; still when his spot was in question went back to chucking and now he has the balls to say this (in other thread) about his bowling. He took the chance of journalists maintaining standard press conference norms (no one was going to ask him point blank regarding his action in 1st 2 ODI) and bluntly bullied all in open media. He has used his fitness perfectly in past to play or sit out selectively and has changed his role based on where he is playing.

I won't be surprised, if he opts to bat at 6/7 in NZ, only to come back at 4 against ZIM (?). At his pomp, the guy has a 25/70 sort of stats outside Asia (in ODI, you'll be surprised with Test figures including his innings of 96, 12 years back), which includes a Bradmanish series in Mughabe's ZIM - now at 40+, Inzi is ready to carry him for 2 more years as specialist bat in a WC in UK - you can't beat a man with so many aces under the sleeve.

Great thing about Hafeez is that he can bat as opener, middle order, and lower order. He has a superb strike rate and average. His bowling is also magnificent. He can excellently play all 3 formats of the game. He is truly the #1 all rounder in the world. I wouldn’t be suprised if he is a talented wicket keeper.

his trike rate in t20 is 102 in the last two years with 11 average,

Funny you don't find Inzi apologists like [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] in threads like these, but in the off chance Inzi makes a good decision these same people will be writing 500 word long posts praising Inzi the revolutionary.

He should quit 20/20s given his age.

Still useful batsman and he can be handy for ODIs but that is dependent on his bowling - needs to clear the Test.

How much does Babar average against the same team?

i will come with stats just wait busy atm,,,,,will have to c what he does against tnetop team despite 17 years of experince..he is a leech ,,,dont bring babar azam here he is just for 2 years and has scored more are about equal hunreds than this cunning man.

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] Hafeez has performed. I don’t need your incorrect “stats” to prove it.

i will come with true stats don,t run away,not just to prove u wrong and thats not my intentions but to let u know the reality.

he will be playing tomorrow against srilanka...but why ?and what is the way u drop someone from t20 squad then bring him back.i dont think hafiz aids any value to our t20 unit.we have wo matches without him,injustice to umar amin and co.ALLAH sa bhi nahi dartay ye inzi awr sarfarz.
Sarfraz is even worst selection for T20 team.

Funny you don't find Inzi apologists like [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] in threads like these, but in the off chance Inzi makes a good decision these same people will be writing 500 word long posts praising Inzi the revolutionary.

Hafeez was probably selected for his off-spin against Sri Lanka's left-hander dominated batting.

Every selector makes a mistake from time to time, but Inzamam's good decisions far outweigh the bad. He has injected young blood into the national team with the likes of Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Usman Shinwari, Rumman Raees and many others.

Hafeez was probably selected for his off-spin against Sri Lanka's left-hander dominated batting.

Every selector makes a mistake from time to time, but Inzamam's good decisions far outweigh the bad. He has injected young blood into the national team with the likes of Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Usman Shinwari, Rumman Raees and many others.

With his remodeled and soon to be banned action he looks a passenger in the LOI teams. He is not good enough to play as a batsman alone. Hope Inzi is reading that.

Don't you think someone playing for 20 years in 500+ Internationals, playing 5 WCs and leading national team for almost half a decade doesn't know this?

Super innings today under pressure, yet another one to add to the long list....

Gave inspiration to the other players

His calming presence radiated from the changing room onto the pitch. Shadab could not have hit that 6 unless the legend himself was watching on.

hafiz average in last 12 t20I 22.6 with mighty strike rate of 106 and two wickets....lolllzzzz

God. This guy adds nothing to our team, yet the management see his "experience" and decide he's too good to not play. What makes it worst is that he is taking a place of a younger player such as Hussain Talat, Agha Salman and Zafar Gohar.

He was abysmal in the PSL. It's mind boggling how he keeps getting selected. Even Yousuf was dropped from T20s when he was at his peak and this guy is not even near Yousuf as a batsman.

Hafeez as a cricketer was unfortunately born in the wrong era, a master batsman of his calibre deserved to have been around in the 70s or 80s to showcase his exotic talents against Holding, Marshall, Roberts, Garner, Lillee, Thomson, or even in the 90s against Ambrose, Walsh, Donald, Pollock, McGrath, Gillespie, Lee - as I'm not sure the modern day quicks challenge him as a player, Dale Steyn aside maybe.

I think Hafeez is there to coach the coaches.

I think he is Mickey Arthur's go-to guy when the coach is struggling to inspire the team.

Hafeez as a cricketer was unfortunately born in the wrong era, a master batsman of his calibre deserved to have been around in the 70s or 80s to showcase his exotic talents against Holding, Marshall, Roberts, Garner, Lillee, Thomson, or even in the 90s against Ambrose, Walsh, Donald, Pollock, McGrath, Gillespie, Lee - as I'm not sure the modern day quicks challenge him as a player, Dale Steyn aside maybe.

MK, I think even in those eras he would have been too good. It would have been like taking candy off kids for him facing those bowlers.

It's nonsense to even ask this question.

There are some unanswered questions, which can never ever be answered by any human. Those are unsolved mysteries, like

Why does things fall down, why can't they go up?

What happens after we die?

Why do people say my girl friend broke my heart? When heart is just used for pumping the blood, whereas it's the brain that senses vision, recognizes, has memories about someone.

Why does hair on the crown area fall, but never on the backside of the head?

Why is Mohammed Hafeez back in the team? This is also one of the unsolved mysteries. Scientists (Data Scientists, Data Analysts) are doing research, immense research day and night. Unfortunately, these scientists have no clue whatsoever, as to how it works.

Even ICC is confused, How is Mohammed Hafeez back to bowling?
They've tried decoding his bowling many a times, but the king keeps coming back.

There is a reason, he's called A PROFESOR. Knows exactly as to how to play with students(ICC, PCB, Medical labs, doctors, Laboratory equipments, Fans)

Just like Shahruk says in Raees"Aa raha hoon main" and Salmaan says in Tiger Zinda hai, "Dum hai toh roklo"

Hafeez a combo of Salman and Shahruk would've said after clearing the test,

"AA RAHA HOON MAIN, DUM HAI TOH ROKLO"

And Pakistan fans and ICC be like Amir Khan in PK , "Bhagwan hai kahan re tu?????😢😢😢, Aye Khuda hai kahaan re tu??😢😢😢"

A mystery indeed.He didn’t exactly set the world on fire in the PSL and his past international record speaks for itself.

Mickey Arthur wants flexibility in the squad, he's one of the better offspinners in the system. Do you blame Mickey Arthur he wants multiple options in his bowling line up. I really don't understand some of this hate. It's a strategic move to carry him in the 15 man squad.

Remember when he used to average 18? In the 80s and 90s, he would not have averaged even 8.

Mickey Arthur wants flexibility in the squad, he's one of the better offspinners in the system. Do you blame Mickey Arthur he wants multiple options in his bowling line up. I really don't understand some of this hate. It's a strategic move to carry him in the 15 man squad.

It's a series against Zimbabwe and the weakest Aussie team in history. Why wouldn't you experiment and take a younger off spinner from the system?

I agree with you. Would have been reasonable to take Bilal Asif or agha Salman in instead of hafeez. But then it would also be reasonable to take Mohammad Asghar or Hassan Khan instead of Nawaz and Mohammad Irfan or Usama Mir instead of shadab Khan. Would you agree?

I have read many theories on MoHa, myself tried to add few; but honestly I have never thought in this line and I must salute you sir that finally, someone could demystify the puzzle - you might be spot on here.

That perfectly explains his performance of 2013 series in ZIM or this upcoming series there - only the recent time ZIM quicks challenge him as a player to reach greater heights - mentally, emotionally & skill wise.

In the past Misbah haters blamed him for Hafeez continuous selection..who will they blame now..Sarfraz maybe?

And still no Gohar or Asghar. Inzi the revolutionary strikes again.

Oye hoye Feez phir wapis aa gaya hai. Allah khair karay. Only in Pakistan is a 37 year old selected in t20s.

It's like the Zimbabwe T20 tri series never happened when it seemed Billy Stanlake could've dismissed Hafeez with an orange.

View attachment 76951

[MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] actually called Hafeez a good T20 player :))) :)))

Which good T20 player has these numbers?

Never seen you critizce a single Inzi selection. So in your world he is the perfect selector.

More gems from you. :salute

I love hafeez in uae and Odis but in t20s he does not deserve a place. He did not do anything at psl and rightly was dropped. We need some big hitters or batsman who rotate strike smartly, invest in hitters like Sohail akhtar for t20.

He's really awful in T20I's. Should have been dropped.