WI vs SA 4th Test Preview and Match Discussions [27/04/05]

Status
Not open for further replies.

GamBiTT

Tape Ball Star
Runs
I am in the thinking of writing a small application that I want to use to analyze matchup between international team based on player ratings. The ratings that I have chosen to first try this are the ICC Player Ratings. Write now, I am just trying to simulate and plan the stats that I may use. Following are the Ratings of both the SA and WI squads from which the playing XI would be chosen for the 4th test. Also, there is team comparison below which compares the batting and bowling strength of the teams using various characteristics.

WIvsSA4thTest042905.GIF

- Notice that even though WI matches SA quite well in the batting department, primarily because of Lara's heavy influence on the batting average, there is NO comparison in the bowling. WI bowling is full of absolute novices with little experience and performance to speak of; hence, WI have been thrashed quite harshly in this test series yet. I expect this trend to continue, especially with Pollock's return to the team.

* Please give your feedback on what other stats based upon ratings would be of note when comparing the two teams.

Interesting. These are the best ratings available so you chose the right one. Would be interesting to see how Pakistan compared with India before the 1/1 series (not well I would imagine).

I would recommend using the top 6 batsmen rather than 5 since imo the 6th is as important as the 5th.

Windies v South Africa 4th test @ Antigua

Starts tomorrow live on Sky Sports. Polly set to return for SA in place of the injured Nel. Windies will look to salvage some pride like last year against England on the easiest batting track in the world.
I still reckon the proteas will win. Polly will rip em apart like Nel. He is too good for them.

lara will score 500 and match will be drawn