Will Azhar Ali and Mohammad Hafeez be dropped for the all important Champions Trophy semi-final?

Balance is wrong. Don't need 7 bowling options for 50 overs. Haris sohail needs to come in and maybe shadab.

Only need two from hafeez Fahim iMad and shadab.

We are stuck with azhar as he is a lesser evil than shahzad.

Bhai my team has Haris and Shadab both.

Sarfraz
Fakhar
Babar
Harris
Malik
Fahim
Shadab
Hafeez/Imad (Doesn't matter but whoever plays, he should come in as number 8 for pinch hitting only)
Amir
Hassan
Junaid

Open with Shehzad and drop Hafeez to play Haris.

Problem solved.

Shadab cannot play against England, stokes, butler and Morgan will take him to cleaners. He is not good enough yet with ball or bat to be unleashed against powerful hitters on a small ground.

I would play azhar against England... the only guy who can anchor an innings, which they might need against England bowling

Drop Azhar. The most useless player to ever play ODIs in the history of the sport.

How dare you? You need experience. You need the seniors to guide the youngsters like Azhar guided Fakhar Zaman today. He took all the pressure on his shoulders and allowed Zaman to play his natural game. You might even say that he carried Zaman, who if we are being honest would have been dismissed for duck if an experienced pro was not there to guide him.

Yes. Drop Azhar and use this... XI

1. Mohammed Hafeez
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam
4. Sarfraz Ahmed
5. Shoaib Malik
6. Imad Wasim
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Shadab Khan
9. Mohammed Aamer
10. Hasan Ali
11. Junaid Khan

Perfect!

I would play azhar against England... the only guy who can anchor an innings, which they might need against England bowling

You are 100 % right. We need someone to get 15 from 34 balls and take the pressure off the shoulders of guys like Zaman. Poor Zaman was confused. Luckily, Azhar was there to guide him. Azhar took all the pressure on his shoulders by blunting the ball thus allowing Zaman to play risky shots.
If Azhar had tried to bat at "good" strike rate than Zaman would have been under enormous pressure. Luckily Azhar knew exactly what to do to calm the nerves of Zaman (who let's be honest is far too young to play for Pakistan), and played a sedate innings despite wanting to go on all out attack against the bowlers.

Azhar choose to hold himself back otherwise Afridi's records and AB’s record for the fastest century were in danger. We must applaud him for his selflessness and self-control :yk

You are 100 % right. We need someone to get 15 from 34 balls and take the pressure off the shoulders of guys like Zaman. Poor Zaman was confused. Luckily, Azhar was there to guide him. Azhar took all the pressure on his shoulders by blunting the ball thus allowing Zaman to play risky shots.
If Azhar had tried to bat at "good" strike rate than Zaman would have been under enormous pressure. Luckily Azhar knew exactly what to do to calm the nerves of Zaman (who let's be honest is far too young to play for Pakistan), and played a sedate innings despite wanting to go on all out attack against the bowlers.

Azhar choose to hold himself back otherwise Afridi's records and AB’s record for the fastest century were in danger. We must applaud him for his selflessness and self-control :yk

Are you serious?

So someone slowing down the run rate and playing on 0 after 10 balls and giving the other teams bowlers maidens take pressure off you? With this type of illogical thinking you should look forward to a permanent life long job at the PCB

Are you serious?

So someone slowing down the run rate and playing on 0 after 10 balls and giving the other teams bowlers maidens take pressure off you? With this type of illogical thinking you should look forward to a permanent life long job at the PCB

He was being sarcastic.

:salute

Those who backed this joker, you know who, have no sense of cricket. No matter how good you are technically, it is always wit that wins. I as a armchair cricketer have been against the duo of Mibah and Hafeez, the cancer of LOI cricket, yet the selectors kept on selecting these jokes for years. To make the matter worse, they were handed a leadership role. These 2 have done nothing but scare mongering throughout their career. 2 gundi machlian jinhoun nay poora talab gunda kya. We could have opted for better bats with less experience and now look weher we are.

The same selectroe ruined the career of Ahmed shezad with in and out selection. He came out as an aggressive bat, failed for a while, discarded, brought him back again, discarded again multiple times. No team can be developed with this fill gap and discard strategy. Either DO NOT select or give a proper run.

Now Fakhar has started to bat, I fear that once he failed, they would do it again. Same with Sharjeel. PCB is bunch of buffoons who can't figure out on combination or core of players.

Well said brother

Fakhar
Hafeez
Babar
Faheem
Malik
Sarfaraz
Imad
Shadab
Amir
Hasan
Junaid

What's the worst that can happen. We get Bundled out. But the best that can happen is fakhar and faheem come off and we get a score to defend

The sad thing is that BOTH Faheem and Shadab can't be in same XI because of these stupid players... blame selectors... WE NEED FAHEEM AND SHADAB TOGETHER!!! If Faheem gets drop next match for Shadab, and Azhar doesn't, who even likes Pakistan cricket anymore!!

Are you serious?

But according to the "experts" you need an anchor and Azhar is perfect because he is such a nice guy. Also the person who allegedly recommended him to be brought to the ODI team and to be made ODI captain was a super nice guy and that's all that matters! Who cares if we are at bottom of the rankings?

Here's to my first post on Pakpassion.

Some folks are suggesting:
1. Mohammad hafeez
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam
4. Sarfraz Ahmed
5. Shoaib Malik
6. Imad Wasim
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Shadab Khan
9. Mohammed Aamer
10. Hasan Ali
11. Junaid Khan

Allow me to just disseminate my two cents worth. Even if Pakistan restrict England to somewhere between 270ish (approx) it would make little to no difference, the lineup above would fetch you around 220-230max (on a good day) the balance is all wrong, thus England will expertly exploit the glaring deficiencies; the match will surely be lost. The difference between winning and losing for Pakistan will NOT lie in the bowling facet, rather the batting.

So here is the remedy...

1) Sarfraz Ahmed (confidence)
2) Fakhar Zaman
3) Haris Sohail (must play)
4) Babar Azam
5) Shoaib Malik
6) Mohammad Hafeez
7) Fahim Ashraf (Finisher role)
8) Shahdab Khan
9) Mohammad Amir
10) Hasan Ali
11) Junaid Khan

Pakistan unequivocally CANNOT afford to play Azhar Ali, Imad Wasim and Mohammad Hafeez in the same squad- as it upsets the balance of the team. Imad is merely a bowler, Hafeez is next to useless up the order, but possesses the ability; more utility down the order and to steer the game home. He will definitely score more runs down the order.

It boiled down to Hafeez vs Imad, fighting for the same spot- since the batting will determine the winner, Hafeez is a no brainer out of the two. Haris is an accumulator of runs, he has to play. Thus far, all of the 'new' lads, have shown promise, with that being said, Haris could turn the whole game around with augmenting to the balance of the team. With the aforementioned team, Pakistan has a much greater chance of pulling off an upset.

Penny for your thoughts folks?

Give chance to this playing X1 against england in semi final

Fakhar zaman
Babar azam
Haris sohail
Shoaib malik
Sarfaraz ahmad
Fahim ashraf
Imad wasim
Shadab khan
Hassan ali
Mohammad amir
Junaid khan

Plz look carefully this batting order ...

If we apply this team we will win inshallah and we know imad and shadab are x factor against england team who dont play spin really well .

Give chance to this playing X1 against england in semi final

Fakhar zaman
Babar azam
Haris sohail
Shoaib malik
Sarfaraz ahmad
Fahim ashraf
Imad wasim
Shadab khan
Hassan ali
Mohammad amir
Junaid khan

Plz look carefully this batting order ...

If we apply this team we will win inshallah and we know imad and shadab are x factor against england team who dont play spin really well .

Hi bud, with that lineup you will not exceed 220 runs on a good day. It's a straight 'toss up' between Hafeez and Imad; since the game will be determined by batting, the former has to play, no point restricting England to between 250- 270 and not being able to chase it. Hafeez down the order, along with Faheem could steer the game home for Pakistan.

But according to the "experts" you need an anchor and Azhar is perfect because he is such a nice guy. Also the person who allegedly recommended him to be brought to the ODI team and to be made ODI captain was a super nice guy and that's all that matters! Who cares if we are at bottom of the rankings?

You are guranteed a job at the PCB, hey could you put a good word in for me I could do whatever Wasim Baris been doing for the last 100 yrs

It's sad Haris Sohail has to sit out for awful ODI batsmen like Azhar and Hafeez.

If there's any team Shadab should be played against, it's England. He's the only bowler we have who can spin the ball and will be vital for us during the middle overs. A proper wicket taking option to tackle Morgan/Stokes/Buttler. Can't be worse than Hafeez with the bat. Also a top fielder, brimming with potential. And play Haris in Azhar's place, while opening with Babar (who has opened during his U19 days and before that on a regular basis). This is our strongest XI from the available squad.

And for people backing Hafeez to open, what makes you think he would bat any differently as to how he's doing currently at 4? If anything, he will get out cheaply as he's a total dud against quality pace. Wood will eat him alive. ANYONE at this stage is a better option than Hafeez.

Hafeez should not be dropped if azhar has to be dropped for Haris only not that garbage shehzad.

As much as it pains me to say this but Hafeez the bowler is needed against Eng on Wednesday. His 10 overs gives us the control we need to maneuver the middle of the innings however that being said if it were to me, I'd either open with him or play him @ 7. HAFEEZ SHOULD NEVER BE PART OF THE MIDDLE ORDER.

Also Azhar needs to go, this is not even a question anymore. Last game he took 15 balls to get off the mark in a game were Fakhar was striking at almost 140 and we had a record 8th wicket CT partnership but since he, along with Shafiq are the Langotiya Yaars of Sarfraz, I am pretty certain we will see the same 'winning combination' against Eng. :facepalm:

If the management has any braincells whatsoever then Azhar drops out of the SF with Shadab as his replacement. Hafeez opens with Fakhar and everyone moves up 1 slot in the batting order.

Most changes people are talking about are fine. But they wont change Pak's fortunes drastically. The problem is different. There just isnt enough firepower in the batting.

We will badly need Hafeez's bowling against England. He is our most economical bowler and we will need plenty of tight overs against England. Can't believe people are not able to take that into consideration.

As a bowling all-rounder he is good enough to make the squad.

However, he insists on batting in the top 4 and that is a big no-no. He is unable to bat lower down the order for the sake of the team and is selfish. Hence he must be dropped.

more then azhar its hafeez and Imad need to be dropped. harris and shadab should replace them respectively.

Azhar Ali is a traditional opener and Pakistan needs him at the top to provide stability. Not every player should be like a Sharjeel. Azhar is a fighter and committed player. Has done reasonably well so far. Better than the much loved Babar Azam. Some fans are hopelessly biased against him.

I dont know how Hafeez scored the most runs in the Pakistan Cup 2017? May be he doesnt have it in him to replicate the same at international stage.

I would go with this lineup (Sorry Faheem, he is a great future prospect but against England we dont need 4 fast bowlers unless conditions are very favorable)

Fakhar
Shehzad
Babar
Sarfaraz
Malik
Hafeez
Amir
Imad
Shadab
Hassan
Junaid

I'd open with Babar, he's failing at #3 so might as well try him at the top of the order. He might find some form with the field restrictions in place.

That will also free up the #3 spot where you can slot in Haris.

1) Fakhar
2) Babar
3) Haris
4) Sarfraz
5) Malik
6) Shadab
7) Imad
8) Fahim
9) Amir
10) Hasan
11) Junaid

Yes. Drop Azhar and use this... XI

1. Mohammed Hafeez
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam
4. Sarfraz Ahmed
5. Shoaib Malik
6. Imad Wasim
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Shadab Khan
9. Mohammed Aamer
10. Hasan Ali
11. Junaid Khan

This team has a high chance to beat England.

And for people backing Hafeez to open, what makes you think he would bat any differently as to how he's doing currently at 4? If anything, he will get out cheaply as he's a total dud against quality pace. Wood will eat him alive. ANYONE at this stage is a better option than Hafeez.
Doesn't matter how he bat. Even if he bats worse than it is still ok. But can't keep Sarfraz the run machine to bat at 6. Sarfraz if bats at 4 will give 80-100 at a 100 SR which is very vital, that is what Morgan is doing and successful. Also Faheem should bat above imad as he looks a better batsman than imad.

Thing is even in future we can play only two among Imad, Shadab and Fahim or any other all rounder if we have malik in the team or for that matter haris as they both can ball and there is no need of having 7 bowling options, 6 are more than enough for any team in 50 overs. Even look at England they have 6 bowling options, and there bowlers like Plunkett can hit few sixes down the order or woakes.

The teams which most of you guys are recommending are good but too many all rounders.
We can have three fast bowlers Amir, Junaid, Hassan and we can have Shadab, Imad against non Asian sides and spinning conditions or Faheem for any of those against asian teams and favorable conditions for pace bowling.
Malik or Haris as the sixth bowler.

Problem is our batting so we have to do our best to strengthen it which can not be done by replacing batsmen with all rounders, however can be done by replacing bowlers with all rounders or some bowlers who can bat, but when you have Amir, Hassan and Junaid why would you drop them. So only solution is to have some good 50 over batters in middle order and one solid free flowing opener to accompany Zaman.

Who else can we ask to open when we drop Azhar? Sarfi and Babar are not excellent at that position and it could be risky putting them there... the last thing we want is our BEST batsmen getting out early cheaply to the new ball swing and seam ... if Hafeez gets out early as opener (highly unlikely).. it's no big deal..

Who else remembers when Pakistan was 3 down for 2 runs last year against England lords? Sarfraz batting at 5 made a century? Without a doubt, when Azhar is dropped for next match. Sarfraz should bat at 4.... this the XI we should play (Not risky at all, very sensible, tactical, satistical)

1. Mohammed Hafeez (hit or miss, but opens brilliantly—better than #4 position and Azhar)
2. Fakhar Zaman (obviously)
3. Babar Azam (natural position, changing it could hurt)
4. Sarfraz Ahmed (1 of his only 2 ODI centuries is at #5 position, could craft game plans at this #)
5. Shoaib Malik (obvious middle order batsmen)
6. Imad Wasim (batted brilliantly last year against England, his spin is vital)
7. Shadab Khan (must play talented young spinner against England, good hitter)
8. Faheem Ashraf (helped us chase 341, bowling option, good aggressive batsman, new player so under Shady)
9. Mohammed Aamer (has hit some fifties)
10. Hassan Ali (improved his batting, can hit some boundaries)
11. Junaid Khan (can't bat AT ALL, but respect to his bowling)

Azhar is better option than both Shehzad and Hafeez. If he is replaced with some good opener then its good otherwise he is reasonable than these two.

Azhar Ali has scored more runs and at Better SR than both Hafeez and Baber in this Champion Trophy. But people are only after him.

I'd drop deadwood Babar and Azhar.

Haris and Shadab would already be an upgrade in batting. Plus, our strength lies in spin bowling, and the more options we have of spin, in case the pitch is on the slower side, the better chances we have of upsetting England.

Remember, we are playing no 1 team in terms of batting and bowling since 2015, we need to boost our strong spot (bowling) and hope the batters we have can do enough to chase (or set) a score our bowlers had (or will) managed to set

Babar is awfully out of form (or depth, whatever it is), and Haris has in him to rise up to the occasion in big matches (domestics and WC15). Plus Haris is more suited to play ODI cricket than Babar, who it seems is still undercooked.

I'd definitely drop Babar given his pathetic returns and lackluster fielding all tournament.

1. Mohammed Hafeez
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Haris Sohail
4. Sarfraz Ahmed
5. Shoaib Malik
6. Faheem Ashraf

7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadab Khan

9. Mohammed Amir
10. Hasan Ali
11. Junaid Khan

We will badly need Hafeez's bowling against England. He is our most economical bowler and we will need plenty of tight overs against England. Can't believe people are not able to take that into consideration.

Exactly.....

• Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
    27.3 KB · Views: 166
Azhar and Hadeez must go and make way for Shadab and Harry.

1. Zaman
2. Harry
3. Azam
4. Sarfraz
5. Malik
6. Fahem
7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadad
9. Amir
10. Hassan
11. Junaid

Azam should not open as he has a dot ball issue just like hafeez and azhar let's not be delusional. However he's 22 and has time to improve thus 3 is best for him.

Harry is in for Azhar to open, quality player who can find the singles and drop the bat and steal a run and keep pressure of Zaman to find the boundary on a regular interval.

Sharan would be in for Hafeez, he is essential gaisjt England, he is miles ahead of hafeez as a wicket taker and is no mug with the bat. Confident he would our bag hafeez at this point.

This is the team we need to go for if we have a outside chance of a wok against England.

As a bowling all-rounder he is good enough to make the squad.

However, he insists on batting in the top 4 and that is a big no-no. He is unable to bat lower down the order for the sake of the team and is selfish. Hence he must be dropped.

He has failed badly as an allrounder during this champions trophy. Nothing with bat and ball. should be replaced with Shadab Khan. Who bowls better than him and will bat not worse than Hafeez.

Azhar and Hadeez must go and make way for Shadab and Harry.

1. Zaman
2. Harry
3. Azam
4. Sarfraz
5. Malik
6. Fahem
7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadad
9. Amir
10. Hassan
11. Junaid

Azam should not open as he has a dot ball issue just like hafeez and azhar let's not be delusional. However he's 22 and has time to improve thus 3 is best for him.

Harry is in for Azhar to open, quality player who can find the singles and drop the bat and steal a run and keep pressure of Zaman to find the boundary on a regular interval.

Sharan would be in for Hafeez, he is essential gaisjt England, he is miles ahead of hafeez as a wicket taker and is no mug with the bat. Confident he would our bag hafeez at this point.

This is the team we need to go for if we have a outside chance of a wok against England.

Edited version without the name errors

Azhar and Hafeez must go and make way for Shadab and Harry.

1. Zaman
2. Harry
3. Azam
4. Sarfraz
5. Malik
6. Fahem
7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadab
9. Amir
10. Hassan
11. Junaid

Shadab would be in for Hafeez, he is essential gaisjt England, he is miles ahead of hafeez as a wicket taker and is no mug with the bat. Confident he would out bat hafeez at this point.

This is the team we need to go for if, we have a outside chance of a win against England.

As much as it pains me to say this but Hafeez the bowler is needed against Eng on Wednesday. His 10 overs gives us the control we need to maneuver the middle of the innings however that being said if it were to me, I'd either open with him or play him @ 7. HAFEEZ SHOULD NEVER BE PART OF THE MIDDLE ORDER.

Also Azhar needs to go, this is not even a question anymore. Last game he took 15 balls to get off the mark in a game were Fakhar was striking at almost 140 and we had a record 8th wicket CT partnership but since he, along with Shafiq are the Langotiya Yaars of Sarfraz, I am pretty certain we will see the same 'winning combination' against Eng. :facepalm:

If the management has any braincells whatsoever then Azhar drops out of the SF with Shadab as his replacement. Hafeez opens with Fakhar and everyone moves up 1 slot in the batting order.

Worst ever idea to replace Azhar with Hafeez. Come with some good solution. Azhar has scored more runs with better SR than Hafeez. This shows how bad hafeez is as batsman.

Well we cant make whole sale changes at this juncture of the tournament. Hafeez should play ahead of Imad Wasim as the spin all rounder and bat in the lower order. I dont see Azhar being dropped at this stage and with no better choice we have to stick with him. In short term, the 2 I would replace will be Imad and Faheem

1. Fakhar
2. Azhar ( No other option)
3. Babar
4. Malik
5. Sarfraz
6. Harris S. ( Can bowl few overs of left arm spin if required )
7. Hafeez ( Needs to play ahead of Imad W as spin all rounder)
8. Shadab K. ( Need him against Eng and his energy in field)
9. Amir
10. Hassan
11. Junaid

Blinkered if you think either will be dropped, especially since Azhar has made runs in the games he has played.

And the suggestion that Shehzad hasn't been given a fair run is ridiculous, as ridiculous as the calls for him to return. He is a slow scorer, equally bad at strike rotation courtesy of possessing limited ability.

He seems to barely survive beyond 3 or 4 overs too these days. He carries himself with the status of a far more acconplished player than he actually is.

He is still a good bowler. Yes he chucks but as long as he doesn't get called again, he can chuck as much as he wants.

but he is a tailender with the bat and you cannot afford to carry no.4 batsman as a tailender for what will be some economical overs in the middle. He is far bigger liability in the batting than his good bowling. He makes our batting more weaker than it already is.

Having players like Morgan, Stokes and Moeen Ali in the middle order it will be lunatic to drop the best off spinner in the team which is Hafeez. I would play him as a bowler alone against England. In the long run yes Azhar Ali needs to be thrown out but not at this juncture of the tournament. I will drop Imad W. for Shadab K and Faheem for Harris S. We need to have a stable middle order as Imad at 7 is not cut for the role.

1. Fakhar 2. Azhar 3. Babar 4. Harris 5. Sarfraz 6. Malik 7. Hafeez 8. Shadab K. 9. Amir 10. Hassan 11. Junaid

In that case drop iMad wasim. Both playing the same role - bowling all founders whose batting is limited. Hafeez is an number 7 at best these days.

So true. Imad Wasim I am afraid to say should be a shoe in. He took 4 wickets against England in 5 games but most significantly 1-33 at Econ 3 in the last game. Which means they never became comfortable with him.

That game was in Cardiff.

It's a fantasy to believe Hafeez can open. He has barely been able to put bat to ball recently. He will either block and get out or just get out.

So let's be absolutely clear. Hafeez would play as a specialist bowler.

With a career ODI ave of 36, 4 wickets in his last 10 ODIs, 0 wickets in 5 games in Australia,where he regularly went for 5-6 runs an over.

If he were by some miracle manage to contain rather than give away runs
against England, trying to contain at 4-5 runs an over in modern ODIs is a
recipe for disaster against a side that bat as deep as they do.

He is selected as a specialist bowler not because he is a good bowler, even a decent bowler, but because there is a belief left handers are helpless against him.

So how does he do, not against hapless, spin illiterate Windies batsmen, but
English lefties? He last bowled against England in the UAE in 2012, where he
did not take a single wicket in 4 games.

So let's then ask if we might conceivably manage without Mt Blessed.

What we will have are 30 solid overs from the pace trio who will hopefully click
again. Plus 7-10 from miserly Wasim. If we select Shadab instead of Hafeez
we can have him share the remaining 13-10 overs with Faheem and possibly
Haris or Azhar.

Shadab did well in the warm up against Bangla by Mickey's own admission. He is still raw in ODIs but a very good T20 bowler already. England is a team that likes to take its shots and play aggressively, ie T20 style and Shadab is a potentially ideal sucker punch option against them. Plus he is a valuable batsman who can score fast, and superb fielder.

As for Faheem, he absolutely needs to play. We need his big hitting and fearless attitude if we are to give ourselves a decent chance at scoring big against England. His bowling was useful in the last game, in domestics he has been better than most specialist bowlers, and if there is anything that recent results have shown us it is that we need to start giving more openings to young domestic performers.

It's a no brainer.

Our attack should be

Hasan
Junaid
Amir
Shadab
Wasim
Faheem
Backup Azhar/Haris/Malik

Worst ever idea to replace Azhar with Hafeez. Come with some good solution. Azhar has scored more runs with better SR than Hafeez. This shows how bad hafeez is as batsman.

It is boggles the mind to think we would open with Hafeez. At the peak of his Blessedness he could never play swing. These days he barely looks like he can hold a bat. People who advocate this are trying to hide him in plain sight. Their fantasy is that we cant do without a specialist bowler with ave 36 who has taken a grand total of one wicket against a top side (Aus, Eng, Sa) in his last 10 ODIs. They clearly don't understand that at some point this Pakistani team is gong to have to start scoring runs. The batting doesnt just need an oil change, it needs an entirely new engine.

Doesn't matter how he bat. Even if he bats worse than it is still ok. But can't keep Sarfraz the run machine to bat at 6. Sarfraz if bats at 4 will give 80-100 at a 100 SR which is very vital, that is what Morgan is doing and successful. Also Faheem should bat above imad as he looks a better batsman than imad.

So does it matter how he bowls? How much worse could he get as a bowler?

Here's to my first post on Pakpassion.

Some folks are suggesting:
1. Mohammad hafeez
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam
4. Sarfraz Ahmed
5. Shoaib Malik
6. Imad Wasim
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Shadab Khan
9. Mohammed Aamer
10. Hasan Ali
11. Junaid Khan

Allow me to just disseminate my two cents worth. Even if Pakistan restrict England to somewhere between 270ish (approx) it would make little to no difference, the lineup above would fetch you around 220-230max (on a good day) the balance is all wrong, thus England will expertly exploit the glaring deficiencies; the match will surely be lost. The difference between winning and losing for Pakistan will NOT lie in the bowling facet, rather the batting.

So here is the remedy...

1) Sarfraz Ahmed (confidence)
2) Fakhar Zaman
3) Haris Sohail (must play)
4) Babar Azam
5) Shoaib Malik
6) Mohammad Hafeez
7) Fahim Ashraf (Finisher role)
8) Shahdab Khan
9) Mohammad Amir
10) Hasan Ali
11) Junaid Khan

Pakistan unequivocally CANNOT afford to play Azhar Ali, Imad Wasim and Mohammad Hafeez in the same squad- as it upsets the balance of the team. Imad is merely a bowler, Hafeez is next to useless up the order, but possesses the ability; more utility down the order and to steer the game home. He will definitely score more runs down the order.

It boiled down to Hafeez vs Imad, fighting for the same spot- since the batting will determine the winner, Hafeez is a no brainer out of the two. Haris is an accumulator of runs, he has to play. Thus far, all of the 'new' lads, have shown promise, with that being said, Haris could turn the whole game around with augmenting to the balance of the team. With the aforementioned team, Pakistan has a much greater chance of pulling off an upset.

Penny for your thoughts folks?

While I agree with most of what you have said, I personally think that Hafeez is a cancer to this team and Imad is one of the best talents we have. Yes, he hasn't had a tremendous tournament but he is crucial to the cause of Pakistan winning, especially against non Asian sides. He initiated the damage vs South Africa and got the key wicket is AB who thrives against Pakistan.

Another good thing about him is that he gets wickets in quick succession. Hafeez however has become innocuous ever since the change in his bowling action and Pakistan would be better off playing with 10 men instead of having him in the batting order.

Ok fair call. If that is the case then Shoaib Malik needs to be given the number 4 role. He is old enough to man up to take team forward from that position:
The team will shape as follows:
1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Azhar Ali
3. Babar Azam
4. Shoaib Malik
5. Sarfaraz Ahmed
6. Haris Sohail
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Shadab Khan
9. Muhammad Amir
10. Hasan Ali
11. Junaid Khan

Haris is not a power hitter, and not the idea for No.6 , he ain't gonna get going from the word go.

Who else can we ask to open when we drop Azhar? Sarfi and Babar are not excellent at that position and it could be risky putting them there... the last thing we want is our BEST batsmen getting out early cheaply to the new ball swing and seam ... if Hafeez gets out early as opener (highly unlikely).. it's no big deal..

Suffice to say, none of our batsmen are EXCELLENT at that position. We have to do the best we can with the current squad, keeping in mind the balance of the team. Babar is no stranger to the opening slot, and he can make use of the powerplay overs early on. And our 'BEST' batsman is horribly out of form and getting out cheaply anyway. Sarfraz is our best batsman at 4 so would not like to see him open. Hafeez needs to be dropped, plain and simple.

You are guranteed a job at the PCB, hey could you put a good word in for me I could do whatever Wasim Baris been doing for the last 100 yrs

I will try bhai, but you must practice for the interview. I would recommend that you teach yourself to throw all logic out the window and learn to prioritize seniority and a defensive boring style of play over Pakistan victories. If they ask, you a tricky question just deflect by praising a certain former captain for how honorable, nice, experienced and senior he was :)

So does it matter how he bowls? How much worse could he get as a bowler?

neither his batting nor his bowling is needed for the team... Since the remodelled action how many wickets has he taken and how many scalps of LHB from the top 6 sides in that.. Is he still troubling the LHB that he was good at while chucking? No!!... Having said all this, with him the other issues are poor running between the wickets, by playing dot balls apply pressure on the non-striker who is batting well to throw their wickets because of the applied pressure by this phateechar..

Should be warming the bench and make way for HARIS...

Suffice to say, none of our batsmen are EXCELLENT at that position. We have to do the best we can with the current squad, keeping in mind the balance of the team. Babar is no stranger to the opening slot, and he can make use of the powerplay overs early on. And our 'BEST' batsman is horribly out of form and getting out cheaply anyway. Sarfraz is our best batsman at 4 so would not like to see him open. Hafeez needs to be dropped, plain and simple.

'it's no big deal if our opener get's out cheaply' is surely one of the more original selection arguments you will hear

Yes, it was 1 (15) at some point if i recall, epic anchoring. if azhar is a rock, it is of the kind
that you tie a chain to and lash around someone's foot. before you throw him in a river.

If only we had a captain who thought like you! In the past 5-6 years, we have been fare too aggressive up front and have lost early wickets. If we just keep wickets in hand and have someone who the team can bat around for most of the innings, we can post a good score by hitting out in the last 10 overs of the innings.

We do not need to be over aggressive. I think we got into trouble yesterday because of Zaman. If he had just played sensibly like Azhar was playing, it would have been an easy victory and we would have won by 10 wickets in something like 47-48 overs. I hope we bat more sensible against England. Zaman needs to be told to bat in mature and sensible manner and stop taking so many risks. It almost cost us the game

Pakistan rarely taking risks with changing the batting, if anyone is going to be dropped it will be babar. Hafeez and Azhar are golden selections in team despite being useless batsmen.

I can see Azhar getting dropped but Hafeez will be needed for his bowling so he'll have to stay unfortunately.

Team's batting is the weak link, therefore that area should be reinforced.

MoHa
Fakhar
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Malik
Fahim
Shadab
Amir
Hasan
JK

Imad isn't contributing anything with bat, while his few overs of spin can be shared by Fakhar & Haris (if couple of right handers are batting). This line up has decent batting depth till #10 & plenty of bowling varieties. Besides, it has a perfect blend of left-right batting combo with lefti at 2, 4, 7 & 9.

Among those 2, I'll always pick MoHa as opener than Azhar & press him crazy to get after the bowling. He has more shots, less willingness; while Azhar is opposite - almost like a tail ended when he tries to excelerate. Pressing MoHa can result a quick fire 23 (12), but pressing Azhar will end at 7 (13) at most.

Another option was to open with Babar, but he is low confidence now - should stick at 3.

MoHa
Fakhar
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Malik
Fahim
Shadab
Amir
Hasan
JK

Imad isn't contributing anything with bat, while his few overs of spin can be shared by Fakhar & Haris (if couple of right handers are batting). This line up has decent batting depth till #10 & plenty of bowling varieties. Besides, it has a perfect blend of left-right batting combo with lefti at 2, 4, 7 & 9.

Among those 2, I'll always pick MoHa as opener than Azhar & press him crazy to get after the bowling. He has more shots, less willingness; while Azhar is opposite - almost like a tail ended when he tries to excelerate. Pressing MoHa can result a quick fire 23 (12), but pressing Azhar will end at 7 (13) at most.

Another option was to open with Babar, but he is low confidence now - should stick at 3.

why not drop both? since when did hafeez ever score at SR 200,whether opening or otherwise?
is mohammed amir or hassan ali any less likely to take 23 off the first 12? is hafeez's current
form with the bat better than imads? and you don't think 1-33 of 10 overs, imad's figures against
england in cardiff last time, would be useful?

MoHa
Fakhar
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Malik
Fahim
Shadab
Amir
Hasan
JK

Hafeez at 7 and everyone moves a place up. Chanda rose to fame as a feared striker at Tape Ball Cricket.